BestMark Mystery Shopping Reviews

BestMark Mystery Shopping
Based on 19 Reviews
Review It

Related Articles

19 ‘BestMark Mystery Shopping’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:
1 Review

THE WORST COMPANY - BEWARE!

Reviewed By Jovonne Bolar on February 9, 2015, Seattle, Washington

Please beware of this company, they look for reasons to disqualify your shop, while using your info you have entered. The surveys, especially the oil shop will take you all night to fill out and if you are one second late, they will cancel your shop. To cutthroat for me, there are way too many shopping companies out there that are not that bad and I do not need to be so stressed out over this little bit of money they give you. No wonder they have a hard time keeping shoppers in my area. They always have shops never filled and go past the due date.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
Meredith
February 17, 2015

Jovonne- It is very unfortunate that you disconnected our first call with you to talk about these accusations, and that you have not returned our following correspondence. We were calling to speak with you regarding the reviews you have posted online, and the inaccurate and slanderous information you have provided the public to support your “claim.”

We have found that in your two years as a shopper with us, you have never actually completed a shop with BestMark. You had, however committed to complete four shops; two were cancelled per your request, and two were canceled due to overdue survey forms.

Most recently, your automotive shop with a shop date of February 6th was actually held for an additional two days because we saw that the survey form was 43% complete. Because it was not submitted by the 10AM survey due date, the shop was canceled on the 7th so it could be reassigned to another shopper. You sent an email response on the 7th at 1PM inquiring about not having access to your profile. As we are not required to do, we graciously put the shop back in your name so you could complete it and get paid. By the 9th the survey was still not completed so we canceled the shop again. We do not cancel shops, resulting in angry shoppers, for no reason; it is in our best interest to keep as many different shoppers in our database as we can, as this provides both BestMark as a company and our clients with various perspectives completing the assignments. The quality editors go to great lengths to contact shoppers to clarify/gather additional information required for a report, as an effort to save a shop so it does not cancel. In fact, it costs us far more time and resources to contact shoppers to gather this information than it would to cancel the shop and have another shopper re-perform it.

The reason there are deadline and deduction policies in place is because we have strict client deadlines to which we must adhere, and we expect the same from our shoppers. If you are having issues submitting a survey or uploading a receipt, we will happily help you resolve the issue. I have checked our phone and email records (which we track all incoming and outgoing inquiries), and not once did we receive any communication from you aside from the email inquiring about your canceled shop, which was promptly responded to. Because we did not hear from you on the third day after your shop, we had to cancel it so we could have another shopper perform it so we could honor our commitment to our client.

March 03, 2015

I just had a similar experience. I unlike the Jovonne person completed several shops with no issue. The last shop, I had to ask questions before the shop because they did not have the information in the first set of paperwork sent to me. After doing all of that I am still not paid the reimbursable amount and am sent a long blurb that was supposed to be on my paperwork, which it was NOT. I took time out of my VERY busy schedule and scanned all 9 sheets of the instructions to prove to the person that the verbiage and instructions they said were there, weren't there. After gong back and forth (16 emails over 8 days) I was told that, " Per the client manager, I will ensure that you are paid the full $70 that you are claiming after the fact. I will then remove you from our active database as clearly this is no longer a fit"

I am so ok with this because I have a full time job, own a business, and work for many more mystery shopping companies. I do it for fun when I have spare time. However, I find it interesting that I am no longer a fit because I am requesting money that was legitimately owed to me. I have never spoken to such condescending people. Whether you know it or not, your Shoppers are your internal clients and you must treat them with respect as well. After this incident I was going to terminate my relationship with them anyway, but found it interesting after proving my point with documentation and emails I am no longer a fit.

Thanks for the little funky $179.00 you paid me for my handful of jobs, and I pray no one else goes through this mess with this company. Something so easy could have been handled better.

ADVICE: Customer Service training, communication training, and get some people with morals.

Your Comment
1 Review

Bawhahahaha TOTAL SCAM

Reviewed By Heather Hawley on July 22, 2014

OMG. I filled out application to be secret shopper,, then forgot about it, maybe 7 weeks later I got an email. saying I can go forward and get a assignment if I want to start, so I emailed back sure,, then got next email saying will be receiving assignmentsoon, got assignment, then said you will receive a check , got check in mail for 1740.00, they emailed said please deposit, then after check clears I am to keep 200 use the rest 1540.00 and do my secret shopping as I am to go to walgreens and buy 3 loadable credit catds,,, ect... and report back.. well check never cleared in was a fraudulent check that my back said they had another check with same numbers on it made out for 500. then I emailed them with info and never heard back.. what a waste of my time,,,,, Karma is a bitch

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 5 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
Judi
September 05, 2014

OMG, I certainly appreciate your review for "BESTMARK MYSTERY SHOPPERS", but omg please use a spell check before you actually release anything on the internet again, where did you go to school?

October 28, 2014

Heather- The check you received was NOT from the real BestMark. There are individuals using our company name to send out fraudulent checks and asking individuals to complete wire money transfers. A legitimate mystery shopping company will NEVER ask you to complete a wire money transfer and they will NOT pay you for an assignment prior to completing it. In fact, you should NEVER accept a mystery shopping job from a person or a company unless you have filled out their FREE online application and have researched/called the company to ensure legitimacy. Please view our scam alert for more information at https://www.bestmark.com/scam_alert.htm. You can fill out our free online application at https://www.bestmark.com/become_a_shopper.htm. Give us a call at 1-800-969-8477 if you have any questions! Thanks and happy shopping!

Your Comment
1 Review

Works for Me

Reviewed By Amy Scarbrough on May 9, 2014

Bestmark works for me. I've completed multiple shops without problem. I made a mistake and the reviewers called me and I changed it and they didn't charge me. I will say I wish each shop would pay more. I did one shop that total $5-6 an hour based on my time spent and another for $10 an hour. It's not high pay but they've met all their promises.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 3 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

Something for Little or Nothing!

Reviewed By BEStMARK Independent Contractor on November 13, 2013, NYC

You see, I signed up for fun, but what I realized it that they are running a something for almost nothing business. There shops @ Walgreens should pay $25 to $30. If you are in a store having to visit 3 to 4 sections and then make a $1 purchase and then come home and write a report for an hour and read their fine prints for 15 to 30 minutes and then go into a store for 25 to 30 minutes where is the value in paying $15 that taxes are not even taken out yet. Typically one is making less than minimum wage or like a $1 and that is not right. That is not right at all, and for food shops they should pay for them to be done not just reimburse that is not money. You are just paying us back what we paid. Market Force has paid me up to $30 for shopping @ McDonalds and they reimburse for what they ask me to purchase and it is all done in under an hour or an hour. Now that is Value. Eat Free and get some money to pay a bill with. The negative is they pay once a month but hey when you know you are getting your money + reimbursement it makes all the difference. BEST Mark pay some extra money for the work you are asking and you would have more satisfied campers..... AND I, READ and FOLLOW the rules and have never had an issue with you correcting my work. I am just saying slavery wages should not exists here in AMERICA.!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 9 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

Disgruntled

Reviewed By LGH on November 3, 2013, TX

I am new to Best Mark Shopping and was a little skeptical at first but decided to give it a try to see if I could make some extra cash. I signed up to have an oil change in my area and did everything as stated in the instructions. It takes a "lot" to fill out all the forms to sign up and take the survey. Where I ran into trouble was their uploading of the reciept document was not working. I'm familiar with this feature and have done it numerous times on my computer but it wasn't working. So I tried to call their customer service number and couldn't reach anyone due to "high call volume" so I left a message for someone to call me. Of course no one did. So I then send an email and didn't get a response until 10: 20 a.m. "AFTER" the 10:00 a.m. deadline saying attach the reciept to the email they'd sent and they'd process my survery and reciept.

So I'm thinking great, things should be going smoothly along until I get this email saying they're going to deduct me $2.00 for not sending the reciept on time and would continue to deduct me until it was sent. I truly was upset and responded twice as to how they could penalize me for their system upload not working. I've yet to get a call back after several request to have a customer service agent to call me. I'm not sure if this is a scam or what I'm going to wait and see if I get anything from these people.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 4 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
March 03, 2015

Doesn't surprise me, read my story! They suck!

I just had a similar experience. I unlike the Jovonne person completed several shops with no issue. The last shop, I had to ask questions before the shop because they did not have the information in the first set of paperwork sent to me. After doing all of that I am still not paid the reimbursable amount and am sent a long blurb that was supposed to be on my paperwork, which it was NOT. I took time out of my VERY busy schedule and scanned all 9 sheets of the instructions to prove to the person that the verbiage and instructions they said were there, weren't there. After gong back and forth (16 emails over 8 days) I was told that, " Per the client manager, I will ensure that you are paid the full $70 that you are claiming after the fact. I will then remove you from our active database as clearly this is no longer a fit"

I am so ok with this because I have a full time job, own a business, and work for many more mystery shopping companies. I do it for fun when I have spare time. However, I find it interesting that I am no longer a fit because I am requesting money that was legitimately owed to me. I have never spoken to such condescending people. Whether you know it or not, your Shoppers are your internal clients and you must treat them with respect as well. After this incident I was going to terminate my relationship with them anyway, but found it interesting after proving my point with documentation and emails I am no longer a fit.

Thanks for the little funky $179.00 you paid me for my handful of jobs, and I pray no one else goes through this mess with this company. Something so easy could have been handled better.

ADVICE: Customer Service training, communication training, and get some people with morals.

Your Comment
Guest

BestMark Mystery shoppers

Reviewed By Helen on October 22, 2013, Garden City, Mich

I just started working for them and so far so good. They seem to be nice and honest. I am a business owner myself, I happen to be a book publisher and what I have learned in my 10 years of business, folks will complain even if you completed your job on time and properly that is the customers that is. What I am seeing here with the 1 and 2 star reviews are people who didn't follow the instructions and got docked. It tells you to fill out the survey properly or you could be docked. If you do not confirm a shop before 10 CT the shop will be canceled. There are rules that must be followed and if you don't follow them then this job isn't for you. Don't smear a company because you didn't get the job done properly, on time and to there instructions. If you are at the end of your survey and hit submit, it tells you the amount of questions that must be answered and if you missed any it will tell you. Also double check your reports before submitting. I am confident I will be paid for my completed shops.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 4 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

Expect sub-minimum wage, but fun

Reviewed By Jackie on October 6, 2013, Wisconsin

If, like me, you are good at reading the fine print and are not looking to earn a living but more for a way to not lose/use money you won't get back passing the time, Bestmark has been the best of the mystery shopping services I have worked for. They pay in about a month or less, not all shops require you to purchase something, and you get to sit in new cars and see what will be out on the used lot in 6-10 years (about when I'll be buying a car). HOWEVER, as at least one other reviewer has pointed out, there is about an hour invested in reviewing the paperwork, about two in doing the report, and about an hour on-site collecting data. Four hours for ~$20 is definitely below min wage. That said, I've done mystery shops for less for other companies that only pay via paypal. Bestmark pays via check! And I am still waiting for a check from Amusement Advantage that I am starting to feel has taken advantage of me to the tune of $35 back in early August..... Bestmark pays according to the terms they've set. Just read the fine print before you accept a shop!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 3 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

SCAM

Reviewed By dholt on October 2, 2013, tn

BESTMARK IS A SCAM. They have me in debt to this day.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 5 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
October 28, 2014

BestMark is not a scam; There are individuals using our company name to send out fraudulent checks and asking individuals to complete wire money transfers. A legitimate mystery shopping company will NEVER ask you to complete a wire money transfer and they will NOT pay you for an assignment prior to completing it. In fact, you should NEVER accept a mystery shopping job from a person or a company unless you have filled out their FREE online application and have researched/called the company to ensure legitimacy. Please view our scam alert for more information at https://www.bestmark.com/scam_alert.htm. You can fill out our free online application at https://www.bestmark.com/become_a_shopper.htm. Give us a call at 1-800-969-8477 if you have any questions!

Your Comment
Guest

Scam, this 'mystery shopper" does NOT pay!

Reviewed By Sarah on August 1, 2013, Stockton, CA

Horrible Experience, they are nice until the shop is completed. NO Pay!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 5 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

Don't Work For Them

Reviewed By EM on July 31, 2013

This organization is very rude and hateful, especially the owner. The QA Editors and Schedulers are really nice; however, I've noticed that their surveys are repitious, and they can't even follow thier own instructions. They cancelled me on a web inquiry and refused to pay me (I wasn't the only one) because the instructions clearly said to make the inquiry 24 hours prior to the shop, and then submit it the next day while monitoring it. I said this on the report, and out of nowhere it was cancelled. I went to the BBB and reported them because they were going to probably deduct pay from my previous shop due to making some errors. Excuse me if I'm not perfect! Then I knew I would have been short $4 on top if it all. I complained to the BBB, and I hope to see the $17 and the $4 soon, otherwise they are committing fraud and breaking the law. They claimed I couldn't read the instructions and threatened to turn me in to the MSPA over it. This business is very unprofessional. Please do not work for them.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 6 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
February 23, 2015

When we design a mystery shopping program with a client, we integrate their company’s standards and behaviors into the overall program scope and methodology. With that, we create specific shop instructions and rules so our shoppers know exactly what our clients are looking for in terms of the mystery shop they are assigned to perform. In the agreements with our clients, we ensure that the information provided by our shoppers is reliable and valid, and aligns with what the original program scope is meant to measure. If a shopper deviates from that program scope and what the shop instructions explained, we cannot use that report and must have another shopper re-preform it. The most common reasons we must cancel a shop are: if a shopper performs the shop incorrectly (does not follow the shop instructions, does not make required purchase, etc.), if the shopper performs the shop on the wrong date, if the shopper visits the wrong location, etc.

In our quality editing process, we go to great lengths to contact shoppers to clarify/gather additional information required for a report, as an effort to save a shop so it does not cancel. In fact, it costs us FAR more money to cancel a shop than it does to approve a shop that did not follow the specifications. We do everything in our power to “save” a shop, however there are instances when we cannot if the shopper did not follow the instructions. It is not true that “you get an email saying you spelled a word wrong and they won't pay you.” All shoppers who successfully complete their shops are paid every other Friday.

Your Comment
Guest

Stay Away From This Company

Reviewed By P D on June 4, 2013, Tyler Texas

Kind of like the first person that left a bad review here, my first shop with them was at a car dealership. I drove 140 miles round trip to get an oil change, spent two hours at the dealership, and paid to much for the service which I normally have done at quick lube places. I got my shop report in on time, then didn't get paid because they said my vehicle had to many miles on it to be eligible to be paid for it. What difference does the mileage make on a oil change anyway? Right? I guess they figure as a customer I was treated differently because I had to many miles on my vehicle. I disputed this fact with them to no avail. Simply put they weren't going to pay me for it. Before I was told this I had done five more shops after this one. So now I'm worried about getting paid for them also. Well while I was on the phone about not getting paid for the oil change shop they told me I did rather well on my other shops and reports and all was fine with them. They then wanted to give me some more shops to do. I told them don't bother if you can't pay me for all the work I've done I can't afford to pay $80.00 dollars for an oil change and drive 140 miles and not be paid for it. So take my name out of your system please. SO STAY AWAY FROM BESTMARK !!!!!!!!!!!!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 15 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 3 Comments
Carolyne Barnes
July 10, 2013

I have just been notified that I have been accepted to work for this company.
Now, I am not sure if I should make a commitment with such reported
experiences! CB Smithville, MS

Sarah
August 01, 2013

They will NOT pay you

October 28, 2014

All you have to do is follow the instructions and you will be paid without issue. The instructions clearly state the mileage and year restrictions for vehicles, which is typically no more than 100,000 miles and older than a 2002. The instructions for oil changes and tire rotations show in bold that you should NOT complete the shop if your vehicle is out of the year and mileage restrictions.

Your Comment
Guest

Do not fall for it

Reviewed By none on May 2, 2013, west virginia

First time shopper for bestmark-and last time shopper. I was looking to make a few extra bucks and drove to another city for an oil change that was suppsed to be reimbursed-plus a 20 dollar check received. When I submitted my survey, I got an email a few hours later saying my shop was cancelled due to the wrong vehicle used...but it called for a 2008 or later chevy...which was used. I emailed and called and emailed for clarification. However, no one picks up the line or emails you back. I think it may be a scam and will submit to the BBB. Total time lost=4 hours inc. survey which took 1 hour to complete. Do not fall for it.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 12 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
October 28, 2014

This is likely not true; I have only had one issue with an automotive shop and that was because I brought a GMC to a Chevrolet dealership. I was confused because I thought that I could bring ANY General Motors vehicle to the shop, but the assignment sheet did specifically say that I must bring a Chevrolet... I asked my scheduler about it and the client has specified which vehicles qualify for which dealerships... I mean it would be weird if you brought a Chevrolet to a Buick dealership. I assume this was your issue, too.

Your Comment
Guest

Great for extra cash

Reviewed By Experiences Shopper on April 27, 2013

If you have more time than money this is a great opportunity to shop and get paid for it, get free meals, get free oil changes and some cash for other things. It's very simple and if you follow the rules you won't have any of the problems people here have complained about. There isn't any thing dealing with western union or paying money to them. The only ask for your ssn because if you make more than a certain amount they have to turn your pay into the IRS and you'll have to pay taxes on it. But if you just do it every now and then for a little extra cash or a free meal (with a guest of course)

You won't get rich. But doing the shops are great. And if you want to earn more you can do audits.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 4 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

Work for Nothing

Reviewed By Anonymous on March 27, 2013, Charleston SC

I performed a mystery shop and did the online survey as well. I got an email a few days later saying that the shop was cancelled because I didn't do the survey. I went online to see if I could verify that I had done everything and they had removed all records that I had uploaded the receipts and did the survey. I called the office and they said they never received it and they only had records of me looking at instructions.

Needless to say that's the first and last shop with Worstmark I mean Bestmark.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 13 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

ABOUT THE CHECK

Reviewed By Brianna on December 29, 2012

Hi, i'm a little nervous about this check that i received in the mail. Is this a real check. They want me to western union some of the money, keep a certain amount & spend the rest at one of the retail outlets they provided. Is it a scam or is legit??

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 12 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 7 Comments
Jan
December 31, 2012

This is a total scam - please take the check to your bank for more advice about your next move.

anom
April 27, 2013

So not a scam people. I've never had them ask for anything like that.

anom
May 08, 2013

Scam. I rec'd one and the account on the check is closed.

Lisa
May 15, 2013

It's a scam by someone using their name.

Dan
June 10, 2013

Definitely don't do it!

joyce
November 15, 2013

Please don't cash the check. Usually they want you to deposit it in ur bank account, then go to western union send them some of the money and use a fictitious name when u send it and go back the next day to retrieve it and do ur next assignment. I did just what they ask me to do and it was a scam, I wish I had listen when people was telling me that the check was a fake. Well it cost me over $4,000, money I had to pay back to the bank. Call the place that the check was written from and they said that this fraud had been going on for 6 months and the FBI was involved. But I still was out of $4,000. The bank waved the fees because the teller told me the check was good. Then it would have been over $6,000 with bounced checks...

October 28, 2014

The check you received was NOT from the real BestMark. There are individuals using our company name to send out fraudulent checks and asking individuals to complete wire money transfers. A legitimate mystery shopping company will NEVER ask you to complete a wire money transfer and they will NOT pay you for an assignment prior to completing it. In fact, you should NEVER accept a mystery shopping job from a person or a company unless you have filled out their FREE online application and have researched/called the company to ensure legitimacy. Please view our scam alert for more information at https://www.bestmark.com/scam_alert.htm. You can fill out our free online application at https://www.bestmark.com/become_a_shopper.htm. Give us a call at 1-800-969-8477 if you have any questions! Thanks and happy shopping!

Your Comment
Guest

Less Than Minimum Wage

Reviewed By High Yield Consultant on June 1, 2012, Arkansas

An individual would have to be desperate to do this work. They will give you 1 hour of pre-shop study material(all their specifications as to just what and how you must do everything, including a test) ... then 1 1/2 to 2 hours to complete their detailed shop and driving time, then another hour to complete the actual paperwork submitted online with all the details of the 'shop' written up for them. In my case, it was $15.00 offered for what would have been 4 hours of work plus gas expense out of my pocket. I did not do the 1st shop requested because of this negative financial impact.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 39 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 6 Comments
Gail Duffy
October 11, 2012

I unfortunately did the same thing. I am a shopper, not always a buyer and always a critic. It sounded interesting. After printing 15 pages of questions/instructions and determining the actual time put in (about 4 hours), plus gas and the ink and paper costs, for eleven dollars and fifty cents, I did not complete the first shop. I would be losing money. They still send me shops, however I haven't found any worth responding to.

Kathleen Tighe
October 13, 2012

They are very unfair, even when they send you on a shop with misinformation. Now since I cancelled my next shop, I'm not going to be paid for the shop I did, even with the misinformation.. I don't want any part of them anymore

sigh
April 27, 2013

So not true. They don't send you with misinformation. You have to pay attention. But hey, don't do it. More shop for me

Sarah
August 01, 2013

Bestmark is a Fraud.

Jackie
October 06, 2013

I agree that the earnings are slim, but better than none.... I've had a new outlook on work since being diagnosed with a disability that limits me to full time work or very part time work. The only other available job that has accepted me is piecework at a packaging plant for sub-minimum wage (legal, I believe, if you are on disability or an independent contractor or self-employed). Choosing between factory work fr below min wage or Bestmark, it's Bestmark all the way! I am just being very wary of going over $600 on all my independent contractor work per year, and I'm planning to look into itemizing necessary shop expenses other than mileage!

October 28, 2014

There definitely is a learning curve associated with completing new shops! BUT, once you get used to the shop instructions for each client, the survey forms, etc., the shops actually go rather quickly. AND, you can set up routes for yourself so you can maximize your travel time. I'd suggest reading blogs about how you can become an efficient mystery shopper, as this really does give good tips. The amount of time you mention above can be decreased greatly once you have more experience.

Your Comment
Guest

Nervous about SSN

Reviewed By P F on April 16, 2012

I wasn't sure if this company was legit and wasn't going all the way to MN to check. I didn't want to give out personal info online. Thanks for the reviews.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 13 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
Sarah
June 21, 2012

Was this for the audit section because this is like getting a job and they pay you a whole lot more than $10. Some of the jobs are anywhere from $130-170 to do an audit on a store.

Your Comment
Guest

BESTMARK = not reputable

Reviewed By Anonymous on March 4, 2012, Washington

I mystery shopped for BESTMARK until they docked my pay for a late submission. Their policy is review deadlines are at 10 am, I submitted mine at 10:02 am. Two minutes? You are going to haggle about two minutes. The customer service personnel at Bestmark then berated me when I told them I thought this was bad for business and fostering an unpleasant working relationship. I will not be working for a company that squabbles over 2 minutes, I don't care what their policy is. My policy is work for people you respect, and I don't respect nickel and dimers, and neither should companies looking to hire them to mystery shop for them.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 34 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 6 Comments
My Experience Has Been Good.
July 12, 2012

Hmm. I read the comments above and have not had the same experience. I've been mystery shopping for 2 years and BestMark is one of the companies that I consistently work for.

I can tell you that when you mystery shop, you need to pick and choose your jobs carefully. Some jobs take much longer than others. For example, when I started out, I did grocery store shops for another mystery shopping company. The pay was around $15 which included a $7 reimbursement for a purchase and $8 payment for the shop. However, the survey report was 5 pages long and extremely detailed.

Once you get to know each mystery shopping company and the stores they work with, you get a feel for which shops are worth your time and which are not. Also, many times you have to take a few of the less paying jobs first in order to be invited to do the better ones. You need to provide yourself to the shopping company. They want to see very thorough, detailed, well written reports submitted on time. For example, after 2 or 3 grocery shops, that same company started calling me to do online insurance shops which pay well and I love!

Regarding the comment above about submitting a report late, unfortunately, mystery shopping companies are notorious for disqualifying the shop (and not paying you) if the necessary information is not submitted on time, even minutes late. There are two reasons for this. First, every good reputable mystery shopping company STRESSES the importance of careful observation and timing. If they can’t trust the shopper to turn in their report on time, how can they trust the report itself? Next, just like the shopper, the company itself has a deadline to meet. Once a shop report is submitted, the company must review it and qualify it, and they are typically on a deadline as well. If the company cannot get the shop submitted because it was late, the COMPANY doesn’t get paid either.

There are two addition things I wanted to mention. First, you will not get rich mystery shopping but you can make $100 - $200 a week (In goods and services) if you pick and choose your jobs wisely. Never fall for the "Make $1000 with 2 hours work ads...they are just scams"

Laslty, I just wanted to mention that all legitimate mystery shopping opportunities can be found FREE through the Mystery Shopper Providers Association (MSPA) at www.mysteryshop.org. This organization has a free, searchable database of jobs available from their members. In my experience, the only legitimate places to find mystery shopping jobs are either through the MSPA search or searching their member’s website directories.

Never “subscribe” to a service such as Shadow Shoppers. They are basically just providing you the same database that you can access 24/7 for free. I hope this helps.

Want to shop
February 26, 2013

This is very beneficial information. Thank you for sharing.

experienced shopper
April 27, 2013

OMG.. but you had 24 hours to get the shop done and submit. Why wait till the last minute to do the survey. Do it after you have completed the shop. Goodness. Information above not true.

Never Use BestMark
June 13, 2013

At "experienced shopper". Your first comment seemed pretty defensive. And your second comment seemed as if though you took the comment personal. Which makes me think you may just work for BestMark. If so, why not say that you work for BestMark. And by the way, yes, BestMark will nickel and dime you. It's like they look for a reason not to pay you the full amount of the shop.

seriously?
July 31, 2013

you were late end of story they were plain about the rules it doesn't matter how late you were you were late plain and simple. I had this factory that docked points if you were late regardless of how late i got a point for being 5 minutes late once plain and simple they pay you to do work well and on time and they don't want you getting lax or used to doing things late because it does affect their business. just own up to procrastinating and work on not doing it again.

Jla
November 08, 2013

Treated

Your Comment
Guest

BestMark: Secret Shopper

Reviewed By Melanie Ho on September 30, 2011, Santa Ana, CA

As a college student in California with it's declining economy, finding work can be rough. You'll try almost anything to make a few extra dollars here and there. One avenue is being a Secret Shopper or Mystery Shopper. This is basically where companies reimburse you to visit businesses and rate them on their service. Secret Shopping isn't what it used to be though.

Back in the day, businesses themselves would hire shoppers to see if their employees were slacking on the job. Nowadays, you can sign up with companies like BestMark who try to match shoppers with businesses all over your area to "shop."

After signing up with BestMark, you're able to choose how far you'd like to travel to "shop." The three different options available to me within a 50 mile radius was to try out an upscale restaurant in San Diego, purchase a video game at an all gaming store, or pretend to go car shopping. The reimbursement amounts was anywhere from $5 to $25.

Nothing that's going to make you rich but it is a few extra dollars. I'd say that if you have the time to throw away, why not get a little money out of it. But for someone who is looking for real income, this is definitely not the way to go.

I haven't tried any other Secret Shopper sites out yet so nothing to compare it to, but based on BestMark, Secret Shopping is not a way to to support yourself financially.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 35 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment

Leave a Review