BestMark Mystery Shopping Reviews

BestMark Mystery Shopping
Based on 22 Reviews
Review It

Related Articles

22 ‘BestMark Mystery Shopping’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:
1 Review

Just signed up

Reviewed By ANN on September 14, 2016, allclassywoman@yahoo.com

I have not been accepted as of yet only just signed up but now reading all the negative reviews I'm a little skeptical. I've never done this before, I am self employed and wanted to make a little extra money and to see if this was something I may enjoy.

What I've gotten out of all these comments, seems to be very time consuming paper work.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
Meredith
December 07, 2016

Ann, I will be honest in saying that mystery shopping is not for everyone. Many people go into it thinking it is free money, without having to do any work for it. It is just like getting a grade in school; you will not receive a grade on an essay before you turn the essay in. We have thousands of mystery shoppers who shop for us on a consistent basis and absolutely LOVE it. You can create your own schedule while also being paid and reimbursed for providing your feedback. Many shops are for items and services you would otherwise be paying for (grocery store visits, hair cuts, oil changes, etc.). We provide a lot of information for our shoppers so there is very little room for confusion, as to ensure they are fully prepared to complete shops. The online reports take anywhere from 5-60 minutes, depending on the depth of the shop. Many people absolutely love filing in their free time with mystery shopping!

June 03, 2017

They don't pay for what you do. The better you do your job - the less you get paid. Don't waist your time

Your Comment
1 Review

BESTMARK - GREAT COMPANY

Reviewed By Judi Clark on July 6, 2016

I've read all the negative reviews and I have never had any of the problems people have complained about. Yes, sometimes there are 2 different deadline times listed within the same set of instructions, but since every other Dispatch Assignment Sheet has a deadline time of 10 AM, even if another place in the instructions states 24 hours, I adhere to the 10 AM deadline and there is never a problem. When there are confusing instructions, I call or email the scheduler for clarification. I have had to reschedule a few times and I once completely missed a phone shop, which was later cancelled, but I have found that if I consistently follow the guidelines, BestMark will work with me. One person here mentioned the issue of receipts. As an IC, you should be keeping all of your receipts anyway. Non-reimbursable required purchases are still tax deductible. BestMark is a great company to work with!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
2 Reviews

be aware

Reviewed By sudheer on August 23, 2015, anantapur

ey suck!

I just had a similar experience. I unlike the Jovonne person completed several shops with no issue. The last shop, I had to ask questions before the shop because they did not have the information in the first set of paperwork sent to me. After doing all of that I am still not paid the reimbursable amount and am sent a long blurb that was supposed to be on my paperwork, which it was NOT. I took time out of my VERY busy schedule and scanned all 9 sheets of the instructions to prove to the person that the verbiage and instructions they said were there, weren't there. After gong back and forth (16 emails over 8 days) I was told that, " Per the client manager, I will ensure that you are paid the full $70 that you are claiming after the fact. I will then remove you from our active database as clearly this is no longer a fit"

I am so ok with this because I have a full time job, own a business, and work for many more mystery shopping companies. I do it for fun when I have spare time. However, I find it interesting that I am no longer a fit because I am requesting money that was legitimately owed to me. I have never spoken to such condescending people. Whether you know it or not, your Shoppers are your internal clients and you must treat them with respect as well. After this incident I was going to terminate my relationship with them anyway, but found it interesting after proving my point with documentation and emails I am no longer a fit.

Thanks for the little funky $179.00 you paid me for my handful of jobs, and I pray no one else goes through this mess with this company. Something so easy could have been handled better.

ADVICE: Customer Service training, communication training, and get some people with morals.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
JulieAnne Creasman
October 10, 2015

i agree, very similar! maybe BestMark needs to be shopped.....and then Let go!

November 02, 2015

I understand you are re-posting your same review you posted in March. Perhaps you did not see our reply, but I am copying it below for your reference:

Shanese-

I would like to provide clarification on some claims within this review, as there are many details left out regarding the full correspondence with this shopper:

Shop Instructions:
There were no “mystery” instructions for this assignment; all requirements were clearly outlined in your dispatch assignment sheet. The instructions, which you signed off on prior to completing the shop, specifically state, “You must keep receipts of all reimbursable expenses as identified at the top of this Dispatch Assignment Sheet, including gratuities. You will need to upload an image of each receipt to the survey before submit. You will not be reimbursed for restaurant meals if you do not include a copy of the original receipt. THERE ARE A NUMBER OF REIMBURSABLE EXPENSES FOR WHICH RECEIPTS ARE NOT AVAILABLE (TABLE GAMES, POKER, SLOT PLAY, BEVERAGES ON CASINO FLOOR, ETC.). IN ORDER TO BE REIMBURSED FOR THESE EXPENSES, YOU MUST LIST THEM AS A PART OF WHAT YOU SUBMIT IN YOUR COMMENTS TO BESTMARK ON THE FIRST PAGE OF YOUR SURVEY. IF YOU DO NOT DO SO, BESTMARK WILL NOT CONTACT YOU TO OBTAIN THIS INFORMATION AND WILL NOT REIMBURSE YOU AFTER THE FACT - YOU WILL, IN THESE CASES, ONLY BE REIMBURSED FOR THE ELIGIBLE EXPENSES FOR WHICH YOU SUBMITTED RECEIPTS.”

Payment Reimbursement:
You did not follow these instructions in the completion of your shop, therefore we stated we were unable to reimburse the expenses. There was no way for us to know how much you spent without following the above instructions. In an email string with you and a BestMark representative, you stated that you were going to accept full responsibility for the fact that you neither listed your expenses nor contacted BestMark to clarify where the expenses should be listed/submitted. We stated that we were willing to split the $70 difference with you and you would be provided a $35 payment in an adjustment check on 3/6, a solution which we believed to be more than fair. Please note that it is NOT standard for BestMark to pay for expenses incurred for incorrectly completing a shop, but we provided this solution out of empathy for the situation. In follow up correspondence, to which you are fully aware, we stated we wouldn't be corresponding any further and we would be providing you the FULL $70 that you were claiming after the fact.

BestMark did not try to “jack” money from you; the shop instructions were not followed for reporting the reimbursement expenses, and the client had already been billed for what you had/[had not] provided. Just as we provide specific shop instructions to our shoppers and expect those instructions to be followed, we have specific instructions we must follow from our clients. Shoppers who complete and submit assignments that follow the shop instructions have had no problem with being fully reimbursed for their work. Of the 52 shoppers who performed one of these same exact shops in January, you were the only shopper who made a faulty assumption rather than clarifying and erred on the side of omitting required information. We determined that, because of the consistent demand to be fully paid for a shop that was not submitted correctly, it was not a good fit to continue the relationship. Please let us know if you have further questions regarding this matter.

Your Comment
1 Review

THE WORST COMPANY - BEWARE!

Reviewed By Jovonne Bolar on February 9, 2015, Seattle, Washington

Please beware of this company, they look for reasons to disqualify your shop, while using your info you have entered. The surveys, especially the oil shop will take you all night to fill out and if you are one second late, they will cancel your shop. To cutthroat for me, there are way too many shopping companies out there that are not that bad and I do not need to be so stressed out over this little bit of money they give you. No wonder they have a hard time keeping shoppers in my area. They always have shops never filled and go past the due date.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 3 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 4 Comments
Meredith
February 17, 2015

Jovonne- It is very unfortunate that you disconnected our first call with you to talk about these accusations, and that you have not returned our following correspondence. We were calling to speak with you regarding the reviews you have posted online, and the inaccurate and slanderous information you have provided the public to support your “claim.”

We have found that in your two years as a shopper with us, you have never actually completed a shop with BestMark. You had, however committed to complete four shops; two were cancelled per your request, and two were canceled due to overdue survey forms.

Most recently, your automotive shop with a shop date of February 6th was actually held for an additional two days because we saw that the survey form was 43% complete. Because it was not submitted by the 10AM survey due date, the shop was canceled on the 7th so it could be reassigned to another shopper. You sent an email response on the 7th at 1PM inquiring about not having access to your profile. As we are not required to do, we graciously put the shop back in your name so you could complete it and get paid. By the 9th the survey was still not completed so we canceled the shop again. We do not cancel shops, resulting in angry shoppers, for no reason; it is in our best interest to keep as many different shoppers in our database as we can, as this provides both BestMark as a company and our clients with various perspectives completing the assignments. The quality editors go to great lengths to contact shoppers to clarify/gather additional information required for a report, as an effort to save a shop so it does not cancel. In fact, it costs us far more time and resources to contact shoppers to gather this information than it would to cancel the shop and have another shopper re-perform it.

The reason there are deadline and deduction policies in place is because we have strict client deadlines to which we must adhere, and we expect the same from our shoppers. If you are having issues submitting a survey or uploading a receipt, we will happily help you resolve the issue. I have checked our phone and email records (which we track all incoming and outgoing inquiries), and not once did we receive any communication from you aside from the email inquiring about your canceled shop, which was promptly responded to. Because we did not hear from you on the third day after your shop, we had to cancel it so we could have another shopper perform it so we could honor our commitment to our client.

Shanese Shields
March 03, 2015

I just had a similar experience. I unlike the Jovonne person completed several shops with no issue. The last shop, I had to ask questions before the shop because they did not have the information in the first set of paperwork sent to me. After doing all of that I am still not paid the reimbursable amount and am sent a long blurb that was supposed to be on my paperwork, which it was NOT. I took time out of my VERY busy schedule and scanned all 9 sheets of the instructions to prove to the person that the verbiage and instructions they said were there, weren't there. After gong back and forth (16 emails over 8 days) I was told that, " Per the client manager, I will ensure that you are paid the full $70 that you are claiming after the fact. I will then remove you from our active database as clearly this is no longer a fit"

I am so ok with this because I have a full time job, own a business, and work for many more mystery shopping companies. I do it for fun when I have spare time. However, I find it interesting that I am no longer a fit because I am requesting money that was legitimately owed to me. I have never spoken to such condescending people. Whether you know it or not, your Shoppers are your internal clients and you must treat them with respect as well. After this incident I was going to terminate my relationship with them anyway, but found it interesting after proving my point with documentation and emails I am no longer a fit.

Thanks for the little funky $179.00 you paid me for my handful of jobs, and I pray no one else goes through this mess with this company. Something so easy could have been handled better.

ADVICE: Customer Service training, communication training, and get some people with morals.

Meredith
March 20, 2015

Shanese-

I would like to provide clarification on some claims within this review, as there are many details left out regarding the full correspondence with this shopper:

Shop Instructions:
There were no “mystery” instructions for this assignment; all requirements were clearly outlined in your dispatch assignment sheet. The instructions, which you signed off on prior to completing the shop, specifically state, “You must keep receipts of all reimbursable expenses as identified at the top of this Dispatch Assignment Sheet, including gratuities. You will need to upload an image of each receipt to the survey before submit. You will not be reimbursed for restaurant meals if you do not include a copy of the original receipt. THERE ARE A NUMBER OF REIMBURSABLE EXPENSES FOR WHICH RECEIPTS ARE NOT AVAILABLE (TABLE GAMES, POKER, SLOT PLAY, BEVERAGES ON CASINO FLOOR, ETC.). IN ORDER TO BE REIMBURSED FOR THESE EXPENSES, YOU MUST LIST THEM AS A PART OF WHAT YOU SUBMIT IN YOUR COMMENTS TO BESTMARK ON THE FIRST PAGE OF YOUR SURVEY. IF YOU DO NOT DO SO, BESTMARK WILL NOT CONTACT YOU TO OBTAIN THIS INFORMATION AND WILL NOT REIMBURSE YOU AFTER THE FACT - YOU WILL, IN THESE CASES, ONLY BE REIMBURSED FOR THE ELIGIBLE EXPENSES FOR WHICH YOU SUBMITTED RECEIPTS.”

Payment Reimbursement:
You did not follow these instructions in the completion of your shop, therefore we stated we were unable to reimburse the expenses. There was no way for us to know how much you spent without following the above instructions. In an email string with you and a BestMark representative, you stated that you were going to accept full responsibility for the fact that you neither listed your expenses nor contacted BestMark to clarify where the expenses should be listed/submitted. We stated that we were willing to split the $70 difference with you and you would be provided a $35 payment in an adjustment check on 3/6, a solution which we believed to be more than fair. Please note that it is NOT standard for BestMark to pay for expenses incurred for incorrectly completing a shop, but we provided this solution out of empathy for the situation. In follow up correspondence, to which you are fully aware, we stated we wouldn't be corresponding any further and we would be providing you the FULL $70 that you were claiming after the fact.

BestMark did not try to “jack” money from you; the shop instructions were not followed for reporting the reimbursement expenses, and the client had already been billed for what you had/[had not] provided. Just as we provide specific shop instructions to our shoppers and expect those instructions to be followed, we have specific instructions we must follow from our clients. Shoppers who complete and submit assignments that follow the shop instructions have had no problem with being fully reimbursed for their work. Of the 52 shoppers who performed one of these same exact shops in January, you were the only shopper who made a faulty assumption rather than clarifying and erred on the side of omitting required information. We determined that, because of the consistent demand to be fully paid for a shop that was not submitted correctly, it was not a good fit to continue the relationship. Please let us know if you have further questions regarding this matter.

October 10, 2015

I totally agree with the above shopper, even if Bestmark wrote her side.
I too have had problem with BestMark. I was so excited to do my shop. The shop was ended at 10 pm i was expected to have my paperwork in by 10am, then another place in the paper work it said 24hrs.

The next morning was on the way to my 2nd shop, sitting at the stop sign to enter the parking lot of the shop, and i got an email saying the shop was canceled. i have not ever completed a set of paper work yet, but because i confirmed the shop in the wrong place i was canceled. The web site had problems and the button would not activate the confirmation. So I emailed instead and asked for a call to be returned. Which never happened. i was told I never followed through, but when I sent the copy of the email explanation, i never heard back at all.

So first shop lost $35 out of pocket.
Second shop, lost evening time and gas plus i assume i will not get another shop. Fired before even learning their nonhuman procedure.

Best mark have you ever thought about giving new shoppers a probation of a couple of shop to work through a total shop with guidance? Have you ever started a new job with out guidance, then let go because you did things wrong on paperwork before ever completing a project totally? We are not prefect!

I will say, you are the one loosing, because you do even know what you are missed out on, letting me go. I was born to do this...... and dreamed of doing this for years.

Unhappy in North Carolina

Your Comment
1 Review

Bawhahahaha TOTAL SCAM

Reviewed By Heather Hawley on July 22, 2014

OMG. I filled out application to be secret shopper,, then forgot about it, maybe 7 weeks later I got an email. saying I can go forward and get a assignment if I want to start, so I emailed back sure,, then got next email saying will be receiving assignmentsoon, got assignment, then said you will receive a check , got check in mail for 1740.00, they emailed said please deposit, then after check clears I am to keep 200 use the rest 1540.00 and do my secret shopping as I am to go to walgreens and buy 3 loadable credit catds,,, ect... and report back.. well check never cleared in was a fraudulent check that my back said they had another check with same numbers on it made out for 500. then I emailed them with info and never heard back.. what a waste of my time,,,,, Karma is a bitch

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 6 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 4 Comments
Judi
September 05, 2014

OMG, I certainly appreciate your review for "BESTMARK MYSTERY SHOPPERS", but omg please use a spell check before you actually release anything on the internet again, where did you go to school?

Meredith
October 28, 2014

Heather- The check you received was NOT from the real BestMark. There are individuals using our company name to send out fraudulent checks and asking individuals to complete wire money transfers. A legitimate mystery shopping company will NEVER ask you to complete a wire money transfer and they will NOT pay you for an assignment prior to completing it. In fact, you should NEVER accept a mystery shopping job from a person or a company unless you have filled out their FREE online application and have researched/called the company to ensure legitimacy. Please view our scam alert for more information at https://www.bestmark.com/scam_alert.htm. You can fill out our free online application at https://www.bestmark.com/become_a_shopper.htm. Give us a call at 1-800-969-8477 if you have any questions! Thanks and happy shopping!

JulieAnne Creasman
October 10, 2015

Did you read her comment, she did not mention anything about a wire transfer....

No you do not pay for a shop before completing a shop, aLSO, YOU DO EVEN PAY AFTER COMPLETING THE SHOP EITHER.

October 10, 2015

Did you read her comment, she did not mention anything about a wire transfer....

No, YOUR ABOVE STATEMENT ABOVE, THAT you do not pay for a shop before completing a shop, YOU DO EVEN PAY AFTER COMPLETING THE SHOP EITHER.

Your Comment

Leave a Review