BetterHelp Reviews

About BetterHelp

BetterHelp.com is the online home of BetterHelp, a company who says their goal is to provide their customers with access to quality, professional help when they are facing life's challenges so they can be happier.

The website promises that all the counselors you can be matched with through the BetterHelp website are licensed, board accredited, and qualified with either a PhD or a masters certificate in addition to years of counseling experience. 

How Does It Work?

Customers will sign up for an account and fill out a short questionnaire so you can be matched with a professional counselor who can provide the support and guidance you need. Once you've created your account and been matched with a counselor, you will begin communicating with your counselor via online messages, whenever you need, on your schedule.

Customers can communicate with their counselor on an unlimited basis each week until they feel they have successfully overcome the problem or obstacle they were facing. Customers are welcome to cancel their membership at any time without penalty. 

Cost/Price Plans

Customers can sign up, get matched, and begin speaking to your counselor all for free. Customers who decide to continue with their services will pay a flat fee of $35 per week for unlimited counseling, which gives you the ability to speak to your counselor as much as you need.

Refund Policy

Since BetterHelp allows their customers to pay for services on a week-by-week basis, their website does not detail any overarching or general Refund Policy. Customers who feel they have an issue or complaint that warrants a refund should contact Customer Service and deal with their situation on a case by case basis. 

Customer Service Contact Info

Customers who would like to contact their Customer Service team with questions, concerns, or complaints can do so by submitting them directly to their website through their Contact Us link, by phone at 888-688-9296, or by traditional mail at 440 N. Wolfe Rd, Sunnyvale, CA 94085.

Reputation

The few reviews available for BetterHelp at this time tend to be very positive, and reviewers describe a very professional and beneficial experience which just happens to have the added advantage of being accessible by internet or through your mobile device.

It is still important to understand, however, that BetterHelp does not claim that they are a replacement for professional therapy or counseling. They are an additional or alternative tool that people may use if traditional therapy is difficult to schedule or cost prohibitive, but depending on the issues you are dealing with, you may still be referred to a traditional mental health professional if that's what they feel is best for your needs.  

Is It Safe?

Customers who are concerned with privacy issues are assured by BetterHelp.com that their system is HIPAA compliant to ensure your privacy. They provide banking grade encryption which allows users to be completely anonymous, even to your counselor. 

Competitors and Alternatives?

Online counseling is a fairly new type of service and it doesn't seem as though BetterHelp has many competitors in the market right now.  
    
If you have any experience with this company or their products, please leave your BetterHelp reviews below.

243 ‘BetterHelp’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:
1 Review

Really helpful

Reviewed By Andy on January 19, 2017

I signed for the free trial and was matched with a counselor straight away. I wrote what was on my mind and my counselor always replies quickly. I've tried real life counseling in the past which helped too, but I quite like the way I can put my thoughts together in a message rather than talking. I'm not sure online counseling will work for all but it's definitely helped me.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

Can't delete my account

Reviewed By Bee on January 17, 2017

I subscribed to Better Help out of curiosity and now I would like to delete my account. I can't find a way to do it, even after searching through the whole site.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

So glad I gave it a try

Reviewed By Juliana on January 11, 2017

For many reasons, I was skeptical about BetterHelp before I tried it. I wasn't sure if it would actually be effective, and I was worried that I might end up wasting money that I could instead be spending on face-to-face sessions. However, being someone who has avoided counseling for years partially because of fear and partially because of my extremely busy schedule, I have benefited greatly from BetterHelp. My counselor sends me multiple messages per day, and I can respond to them as frequently or infrequently as I want. Sometimes I respond immediately, and sometimes I spend time thinking and reflecting on my own before responding, and having that kind of flexibility is so liberating. I get to take my time writing out thoughtful and well-articulated responses to her questions, which enables me to think deeply about whatever issues we're discussing. When I heard about BetterHelp, I was afraid that I would feel like I was talking to a robot, but it hasn't been like that at all. My counselor has a way of projecting sympathy and humanity through her messages. I'm a working student, and BetterHelp is providing me with exactly what I need right now: easy, accessible, affordable therapy that adapts to my schedule and is done discreetly.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

Sympathy, not substance

Reviewed By FMC on January 11, 2017

I wanted a counsellor who could argue back with me about certain philosophical and emotional beliefs that I have. I felt depressed and hated myself because of them. Sadly, although my counsellor tried to help, all she really did was assert that "It's not your fault" and say she was sorry for me. I didn't need sympathy, I needed an explanation and I didn't get it.

I should admit that, given time, my counsellor may have improved. We talked a lot in the space of a week but I then cancelled my subscription. This is because EVEN THOUGH IT IS CHEAPER THAN NORMAL COUNSELLING, IT STILL COST MY ENTIRE WEEKLY BUDGET AS A STUDENT. What I also found very disappointing is that they did not notify me until they had already started charging me (after a trial); this means I have no money for food this week.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
January 17, 2017

Hey there! So sorry to hear your experience with your counselor on BetterHelp didn't meet your needs. We're happy to help do all we can to make this a more positive experience for you, and to help with any billing concerns. The best way to get in touch with our team is to contact us by email at contact@betterhelp.com. Hope you have a great rest of your day!

Your Comment
1 Review

Very helpful

Reviewed By may on January 10, 2017

Helpful when you feel like you need to talk to someone and get an objective reply. You get advise from an expert, and you have the conversations saved to refer to whenever you need. I will definitely use it again.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

Beyond amazing 100% NOT a scam (The only people who think it is are ones who would provide their credit card info, and click agree and accept on a lot of things without actually reading a word)

Reviewed By Shannon on January 9, 2017

This site is amazing, and I truly hope you will read my review in full if you are considering signing up, because there are a lot of negative reviews by people who were too lazy to read what they were agreeing to, and then complain after the fact.

First of all, my counselor Erin is fantastic, I signed up for the free trial figuring what do I have to lose, and haven't regretted it for a second. As someone with anxiety, it's been hard for me to get help because I can't stand the thought of actually talking to someone or seeing them in person. I've tried, it just makes things worse.. So for me, having the online interaction is perfect, especially since I can communicate my thoughts easier through written word. Erin has been very kind and understanding and is genuinely providing me with a lot of help and support and is giving me the tools I need to get better. Based on the therapy alone I would give this 5 stars.

NOW, for all those negative reviews you see by people butt hurt at the cost. They either are used to just clicking "accept" without reading, have a short attention span, or simply like to selectively forget things and then complain about it trying to bring down a company that's done so much good.

I signed up for the free trial.. I had to accept when they asked if I was sure that by signing up for the free trial, I agree that unless I cancel, my card will be charged once my free trial has ended. They then break down that it is 45$ / week, and you will be billed monthly for a total of 180$. Simple as that they laid it all out there for you, and you have to accept. It's not hidden in a long drawn out terms of service type blurb.. It's a short section basically saying DUDE ARE YOU SURE BECAUSE THIS IS WHAT WE WILL DO, ONLY CLICK YES IF YOU AGREE. There is zero sketch factor in that. They ALSO tell you exactly how to cancel, and where to click, if you wish to cancel your membership at any time. AND when they ask for your credit card info, they explain that this is done to help avoid people signing up for free trials and clogging up the system with people who will just keep making fake email addresses for more free trials since they do need to pay their counselors and this is not a free service. THEY FREAKING EXPLAIN WHY THEY NEED YOUR CREDIT CARD.. AND THEN ALSO TELL YOU AGAIN THAT YOUR CARD WILL BE CHARGED THE FIRST DAY AFTER YOUR FREE TRIAL ENDS UNLESS YOU CANCEL.

So you see, nothing sketchy.. and those negative reviews you see, are by people who clearly have nothing better to do then to try and damage a good organizations reputation.

Heck, I even got an email a few days into my free trial to ask how things were going, and again was told how to unsubscribe if I wasn't happy with their services, and if there was anything they could do better in the future. Does that sound sketchy to you? Heck no!

Anyways, I've had a wonderful experience so far, it is WELL worth the 180$/month to have unlimited online access to my counselor. For me, it is perfect.

This service won't be for everyone, if you want someone who will respond within 5 mins of your messaging them, or want extreme one on one attention, you should probably find a shrink nearby that you can see in person as a regular patient. However, if you are like me and simply want someone to talk to, that can provide you with some help, teach you coping skills, and be there on a daily basis, this is a great place to go. I highly recommend and hope that everyone considering joining give this a shot.. Be sure to read everything they say, and if you agree with their terms, then try it out. Don't blindly say yes, give your credit card info, and then be upset when they charge your card.

-S

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 3 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

Great, I LOVE it!

Reviewed By Cassandra on December 31, 2016

I've been using betterhelp for just over a month and so far I would totally recommend it. My therapist, Dr. Katie Cowan, is so awesome!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

Helpful and convenient

Reviewed By Francesco on December 30, 2016

Being extremely shy I was never able to contact a therapist, but when I found out about BetterHelp I gave it a try, and I could not be happier! Talking about my problems with someone that can listen and give me advice has helped me greatly, and being able to write to my counselor whenever I need to, without needing to set up appointments, is incredibly convenient.
The first week is free so I I recommend you to give it a try!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

Helpful and convenient

Reviewed By Larisa on December 30, 2016

I have found BetterHelp easy to use. You can have one week free and see how it works for you. Another good thing is that you can discreetly change your counselor if you want. Also you can apply for a discount of 50 % depending on your financial situation.
I find the conversations deep, challenging and thought provoking. They do not just go along and tell you whatever you would like to hear.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
2 Reviews

PLEASE I NEED A REFUND

Reviewed By Mia on December 29, 2016

Kindly refund my money. I wasn't able to check my email and then you have deducted a total of 180 dollars on mu account? I wasn't even planning on doing the counseling and you charged me with an unplanned subscription without any confirmation/contact/invoices. Please refund my money. That was a lot of money and I badly need that. Please consider this and answer my emails.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
BetterHelp Team
January 04, 2017

Hey again Mia! The best way to get in touch with our team is to contact us by email at contact@betterhelp.com so we can resolve any billing confusion or issues you're experiencing.

January 09, 2017

Mia what are you talking about? You had to accept when you entered your credit card info that if you didn't cancel before your free trial was up they would charge your card 180$. They then break down what that means (45$/week) AND explain the reasoning behind their doing this. You were clearly just too lazy to read, and now you're leaving negative reviews on a legit company because of your own stupidity. As a patient who's actually gotten amazing help and service your review offends me. Also, word to the wise... Don't provide your CREDIT CARD INFO to a company, if you aren't willing to pay the agreed upon amount. D'UH!

Your Comment
2 Reviews

Please do a refund

Reviewed By Mia on December 29, 2016

Hello, I am asking for refund. Please notice my message here and me contacting you in your email. I was not planning to continue the counseling and I was automatically charged 180 dollars without any confirmation? If that is how you deal with people, then it is very ironic to say that you're advocating happiness and peace. Please talk with me and help me claim my money back again. This is me asking nicely. Thank you.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
BetterHelp Team
January 04, 2017

Hi Mia, we appreciate your honest feedback and are sorry for any billing confusion. We're happy to discuss any questions or billing concerns that you have with you personally, please feel free to get in touch with us at contact@betterhelp.com

January 09, 2017

Mia what are you talking about? You had to accept when you entered your credit card info that if you didn't cancel before your free trial was up they would charge your card 180$. They then break down what that means (45$/week) AND explain the reasoning behind their doing this. You were clearly just too lazy to read, and now you're leaving negative reviews on a legit company because of your own stupidity. As a patient who's actually gotten amazing help and service your review offends me. Also, word to the wise... Don't provide your CREDIT CARD INFO to a company, if you aren't willing to pay the agreed upon amount. D'UH!

Your Comment
1 Review

One size does not fit all

Reviewed By Alex on December 22, 2016

There are different ways to practice therapy by method and while there are therapists on better help that work using a variety of different methods, there is no method to how you are placed with them. You tell them what you think is wrong with you, there is no diagnostic process of any kind and then they place you with someone. I've already talked to two therapists you are just asking me questions and asking me how I feel about my answers. It's the parody of therapy more than it is actually helpful and when you want to change therapists due to the matching process being a joke, there is a wait. It took no time to find the first flake, but if I want to see someone else it takes two days to find them, bull s****.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
Louisa
December 27, 2016

I was OVER charged a BIG sum of money even though I had nearly quit it (suspended my account) and I am not sure I can get it back?! Extremely worried . £147 !!!! WAAYY TOO MUCH WITHOUT MY PERMISSION HOW.DARE.YOU?!?!?! evil people

December 27, 2016

Hi Alex, I'm truly sorry to hear that you feel this way about your BetterHelp experience thus far. We appreciate your honest feedback. We're happy to discuss any questions or concerns that you have with you personally, please feel free to get in touch with us at contact@betterhelp.com

Your Comment
1 Review

One of the best ways to change your life!

Reviewed By Matthew on December 21, 2016

I started counselling using this website a little over a month ago and I am seriously impressed with everything that's happened so far.

I will address the billing a bit later on.

As for the website itself, and the counselling, you pay less for a lot more in my personal opinion! You start off by answering a half hour survey related to your issues (where you can go into a little detail in a free text box too) before you're matched up with your counsellor within 24 hours.

Once you're matched up, you get to see a little profile of your counsellor, written by them as well as their testimonials from other clients. I was already satisfied at this point as it felt like I was entering into something totally professional and catered towards me.

The counselling itself has been wonderful. It does help that I went into it knowing what I wanted, but the counsellor I have been matched with, Jocelyn Beer, is a joy to talk to. She has been incredibly empathetic, empowering and accurate in assessing and helping my issues. She understands me completely, and she offers so much useful advice. I often find I wake up, read a reply and am stunned at just how much I could take on board from what she has said. She has provided me several worksheets and activities to try and help me break out from unhelpful thinking. It's been a thrilling experience!

The best part is that you have access to your counsellor anywhere as you can use their dedicated app on your phone to access all your messages. All the posts between you are held in one big back and forth, kind of like reading an email chain. It's very accessible. You can type however much you want, whenever you want and know that your replies are strictly confidential. I found the online experience has helped me far more than face-to-face simply because I feel so much more at ease divulging intimate secrets and embarrassing truths about my life when I need to. I don't feel like I need to hold anything back, and it's definitely reassuring to know I have someone who I can trust. I'm sure for some people who may be more vulnerable, this would be the important part of the service!

My counsellor has been responding to me daily and provides me with feedback almost down to each little point I make. She treats me with absolute respect and values me as a human being. Of course, there is a little less feeling of gratification compared to speaking face to face, but they even offer a service to be able to have a chat with your counsellor over the phone, if you need it.

By far the best part about the service is the feeling that the company values your opinion and your voice. I was approached by email by one of the staff who asked me if I had any feedback for the service. I wasn't expecting a reply when I wrote back, but I got a swift reply, they were grateful and addressed my ideas (so I know it wasn't a canned response) It was clear they wanted to pass on my ideas I had about improving the site. They are clearly committed to constantly improving themselves, as after I left a testimonial for my counsellor i've been approached again to offer my feedback. They even offered me a free gift as a thank-you for my testimonial.

I would like to address the issue with the billing. I was told I would only have to pay weekly after the first free week. But like everyone else has said, the full monthly payment came out of my account. I agree with everything people have said, that there needs to be far more clear communication to the customer about what will happen after the first week. Honesty is absolutely the best policy, and I understand why some people feel scammed by this. However, I invite you to look past it. Once you know you will be billed monthly, as long as you are okay with this (which I am, it suits me better, as i'm happy to continue) then you really can't go wrong. I believe that if you do cancel midway into the month the company will refund you for the other weeks not taken up. So you won't be overcharged at the end of it, but it may take a little to get the money you're owed back. I have not yet been through this process, so I do not know what to expect yet.

Regardless I urge you to try and look past this and give BetterHelp a chance! It really is worth every penny! If you do decide it's not for you, you can cancel before the week ends.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

CHEATERS!

Reviewed By Anna Fidor on December 19, 2016

I have submitted for free account on Monday, 11th December before midnight (European zone). They didn't explain that they will take money without permission. This morning they took from my account 45$ dollars. Actually, this amount is still reserved. I have contacted their customer support tea. Even if they claim they we will get a response during the day, I didn't get it.

I have checked TERMS and Conditions section this morning, and it is not mentioned in terms.

This is my worst internet experience.

I also reported this to National bureau for customer protection and tomorrow I am going to send request to VISA.

SHAME ON YOU!!!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 3 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 3 Comments
Anna Fidor
December 19, 2016

Also, I have sent only one message and I conclude by the response that is useless and overrated.

BetterHelp Team
December 27, 2016

Hi Anna, we appreciate your honest feedback. We're happy to discuss any questions you have about our billing procedures or concerns about the quality of your counseling, please feel free to get in touch with us at contact@betterhelp.com

January 09, 2017

What are you talking about? You had to accept when you entered your credit card info that if you didn't cancel before your free trial was up they would charge your card 180$. They then break down what that means (45$/week) AND explain the reasoning behind their doing this. You were clearly just too lazy to read, and now you're leaving negative reviews on a legit company because of your own stupidity. As a patient who's actually gotten amazing help and service your review offends me. Also, word to the wise... Don't provide your CREDIT CARD INFO to a company, if you aren't willing to pay the agreed upon amount. D'UH!

Your Comment
1 Review

I'm Not Just a Number

Reviewed By Alix on December 14, 2016

I've been dealing with Mental Health for some years now. Unfortunately, local counselors and doctors are currently overwhelmed. I've had trouble getting the help I need and more importantly, when I need it.
BetterHelp asks you what is important to you in a counselor as you are signing up.
I love working with my counselor. When there's an issue, she helps me break it down and take it in baby steps. And then we also get to just chat a bit, which feels less formal and less intimidating.
I personally believe it's worth the time and the money. On that note, you get your first week for free, and my counselor was already helping me within that week. They tend to be able to respond in 24 hours or less from my experience :)

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

Unimpressed based in other's reviews

Reviewed By Lee on December 13, 2016

I was interested in the possibility of accessing a service such as this, but seeing how they have mistreated their clients, debiting them large amounts of money without proper notification has me disenchanted to say the least. All successful strong businesses operate with good ethical treatment of their clientele with customer service as a priority. This practice of billing already vulnerable people after the one week trial seems sneaky and a very low class move. If this company really wants to be successful in the long term then they would be wise to step up their customer service and billing practices and address the concerns that have even aired here. You've already lost a potential client here.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 3 Comments
BetterHelp Team
December 15, 2016

Hi Lee, we appreciate your honest feedback. We're happy to discuss any questions you have about our billing procedures, please feel free to get in touch with us at contact@betterhelp.com

Shannon
January 09, 2017

Lee, please don't base your opinion around the 2 people (TWO) that I've seen so far, complaining about being charged for something they had to agree on multiple times before they could start their free trial. They are people who willingly give out their credit card info to a site without reading anything that is written around it.. In order to start your free trial they clearly break down what you would be charged, and when, and detail how to cancel your subscription at any time.. AND they explain the reasoning behind needing to obtain your credit card info up front (To avoid people scamming fake emails to get unlimited free trials). This company is legit, and they've done a world of good for me. Don't base your opinion on a few negative reviews by people out to try and ruin a good thing.

January 16, 2017

It's completely dishonest to review a service when you haven't even tried it. There are plenty of thoughtless disgruntled people who enjoy writing nasty reviews. I would suggest trying it before reviewing it as I think that it is dishonest otherwise, seeing as how you are negatively impacting a business that clearly has helped a lot of people, myself included. Your review is merely based on this person or that persons negative experience, which I might add you only know the one side of. When people are thoughtless and lose money because of it, they often shift the blame from themselves because its easier when you have someone/thing to direct your anger toward.

If these people had read before just clicking agree they would have known that it says quite clearly and upfront that you will be charged after X date unless you cancel. This is a common business practice for free-trial based services to ensure that there system doesn't get clogged up with people abusing their free-trial policy.

So again, I find your review completely dishonest and inappropriate. I would suggest that in the future you actually try a service before giving it a review, positive or negative.

Your Comment
1 Review

BetterHelp is making counseling available, affordable and responsive

Reviewed By Anonymous  on December 12, 2016

BetterHelp has talented counselors and I have appreciated their online services.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

Very Helpful

Reviewed By nathan on December 8, 2016

Suffering from depression and anxiety that finally became too much to handle and it was extremely nice to have someone to talk to at all times. Laura who I worked with was kind and extremely thoughtful on how to help me and was honest in her help. I greatly appreciate the fact that someone was available to talk after business hours which helped me the most. I would recommend it to anyone.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 3 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

RIPPED OFF $160 FOR NOTHING

Reviewed By sarah on December 7, 2016

I have never been felt so cheated by any sites and its a shame that betterhelp has done this.

I got tricked into signing up for a free trial which they had advertised. I signed up hardly used the service for a 6-7 days and they have charged me today $160, forwhat ? Is this the ethics of this company? to trick people into signing up and then charging them even if they are not using. NEVER EVER WILL I USE THIS SITE AGAIN, If i do not get my refund i will take legal action . Never recommending this service to anyone.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 4 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
December 12, 2016

Hi Sarah, we're very sorry that you've had this experience. Please don't hesitate to get in touch with us at contact@betterhelp.com with any billing concerns, issues, or questions that you still have. We're happy to help!

Your Comment
1 Review

Cheater

Reviewed By Sarah C on December 6, 2016

I signed up with BetterHelp because they promised a 1-week free trial. I assumed they would advise me or send me an email when the trial deadline nears to ask if I wish to continue or not.

They just deducted money from my Paypal - JUST LIKE THAT? Without my approval? Without any warning?

I NEED A REFUND! THIS IS NOT THE PROPER WAY TO DEAL WITH CLIENTS WHO ALREADY HAVE EMOTIONAL ISSUES.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 3 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
December 06, 2016

Hi Sarah, we're very sorry that you've had this experience. Please don't hesitate to get in touch with us at contact@betterhelp.com with any billing concerns, issues, or questions that you still have. We're happy to help!

Your Comment

Leave a Review