BetterHelp Reviews

About BetterHelp

BetterHelp.com is the online home of BetterHelp, a company who says their goal is to provide their customers with access to quality, professional help when they are facing life's challenges so they can be happier.

The website promises that all the counselors you can be matched with through the BetterHelp website are licensed, board accredited, and qualified with either a PhD or a masters certificate in addition to years of counseling experience. 

How Does It Work?

Customers will sign up for an account and fill out a short questionnaire so you can be matched with a professional counselor who can provide the support and guidance you need. Once you've created your account and been matched with a counselor, you will begin communicating with your counselor via online messages, whenever you need, on your schedule.

Customers can communicate with their counselor on an unlimited basis each week until they feel they have successfully overcome the problem or obstacle they were facing. Customers are welcome to cancel their membership at any time without penalty. 

Cost/Price Plans

Customers can sign up, get matched, and begin speaking to your counselor all for free. Customers who decide to continue with their services will pay a flat fee of $35 per week for unlimited counseling, which gives you the ability to speak to your counselor as much as you need.

Refund Policy

Since BetterHelp allows their customers to pay for services on a week-by-week basis, their website does not detail any overarching or general Refund Policy. Customers who feel they have an issue or complaint that warrants a refund should contact Customer Service and deal with their situation on a case by case basis. 

Customer Service Contact Info

Customers who would like to contact their Customer Service team with questions, concerns, or complaints can do so by submitting them directly to their website through their Contact Us link, by phone at 888-688-9296, or by traditional mail at 440 N. Wolfe Rd, Sunnyvale, CA 94085.

Reputation

The few reviews available for BetterHelp at this time tend to be very positive, and reviewers describe a very professional and beneficial experience which just happens to have the added advantage of being accessible by internet or through your mobile device.

It is still important to understand, however, that BetterHelp does not claim that they are a replacement for professional therapy or counseling. They are an additional or alternative tool that people may use if traditional therapy is difficult to schedule or cost prohibitive, but depending on the issues you are dealing with, you may still be referred to a traditional mental health professional if that's what they feel is best for your needs.  

Is It Safe?

Customers who are concerned with privacy issues are assured by BetterHelp.com that their system is HIPAA compliant to ensure your privacy. They provide banking grade encryption which allows users to be completely anonymous, even to your counselor. 

Competitors and Alternatives?

Online counseling is a fairly new type of service and it doesn't seem as though BetterHelp has many competitors in the market right now.  
    
If you have any experience with this company or their products, please leave your BetterHelp reviews below.

254 ‘BetterHelp’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:
1 Review

21st century solution to therapy

Reviewed By Leigh on April 27, 2017

We can all use someone to talk to know and then. Sometimes we need a professional counselor. BetterHelp has made that easier, more convenient, less expensive, and still effective! BetterHelp is the 21st century solution to therapy.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

Excellent service, valuable help

Reviewed By Gerard on April 23, 2017

I am really impressed by Betterhelp. I was matched with a counsellor very quickly, and the match was pretty darn perfect. My counsellor replies promptly to my offline communications, and the live talking by phone is slick. I have already started noticing an improvement in the issues that got me to go to Betterhelp. Therefore seems like money well spent :)

My experience has been totally positive both with the site and the counselling.

Highly recommended.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

WORSEHelp isn't even "counseling"

Reviewed By TheDude on March 29, 2017

Read their terms of service, they disown any form of clinical counseling that is taken place. i can't even call my therapist "outside" their system. nothing but a cheap knockoff, just a bunch of silicon valley entrepreneurs trying to get rich off people with real problems

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
April 04, 2017

Our team at BetterHelp is really sorry to hear that you're frustrated with our service, please feel free to reach out to our team at contact@betterhelp.com.

Your Comment
1 Review

they're sneaky, they're abusing depressed people

Reviewed By miray on March 28, 2017

On January 10, I wanted to give it a try because there was a one week free trial. When I was enrolling, I was asked to give my credit card details to pay $1 saying that that money is to be sure that everyone was serious about the counselling. I thought that was okay.

They immediately found me a counsellor who was very nice to me. But in 3-4 days I understood online counselling wasn't good for me. So I stopped using their service less than a week.

This week, I realise that they charged me $135 in March. So they started taking my money on March 1, $45 weekly. I immediately canceled my membership and wrote to their customer service. The customer service is offering to pay me the last payment only, that means $45, and adding that they don't check if I get any help or not.

I can understand that they have policies, but I am very sure that I didn't accept to pay $45 weekly, because I don't have that much money! I'm a student, and this is a huuuuge amount of money for me.

The only reason that I gave my credit card information was paying the $1 at the enrolment.

I think they aren't honest. I think they waited for a while and then they gave it a try to get my money, and they could do this for 3 weeks until I realise that I was getting robbed.

Now I kindly ask them to pay $135 back to me. Because they weren't clear about their policies, they're abusing the people who need help, who are in depression.

I could have recommended them to my friends if they didn't do that to me.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 4 Comments
TheDude
March 29, 2017

they are spending boatloads of money on advertising, i can't see how they are profitable

BetterHelp Team
March 29, 2017

Hi Miray, I'm sorry to hear that you're frustrated with the subscription billing process. We're happy to help clarify or resolve any questions you have. The best way to get in touch with our team is to contact us by email at contact@betterhelp.com.

Sally
April 12, 2017

How about instead of clarifying your policy you just give her her money back? It doesn't matter what your policy is, if it's not clearly stated it's deceptive and will cause you to lose people's trust. I was considering signing up, but I'll pass.

April 20, 2017

Our team at BetterHelp is really sorry to hear that you're frustrated, please feel free to reach out to our team at contact@betterhelp.com - we're happy to resolve any concerns.

Your Comment
1 Review

Scammy Business Practices

Reviewed By Justin on March 28, 2017

Started charging me $45 per week without my knowledge. Refused to refund me despite the fact I never used the service after my trial period.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
March 29, 2017

Hi Justin, I'm sorry to hear that you're frustrated with the subscription billing process. We're happy to help clarify or resolve any questions you have. The best way to get in touch with our team is to contact us by email at contact@betterhelp.com.

Your Comment
1 Review

Great thing for lower price

Reviewed By Blah on March 25, 2017

I gave it a try for the free week trial, and thought that the councelor might stall and ask more questions to extend my subscription. But she was great! She did ask more questions, but made me feel like she's truly interested, and gave me solutions to my problems right away.
It might not help every person, but for a skeptical introvert like me, who prefer text over talk - it works like magic. Also I can freeze my account if I feel like I won't be able to interract for a while, and unfreeze it later, so you don't pay for that time you didn't use, if you're a poor student, for example.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 3 Comments
Sagar
March 26, 2017

I quit their plan still got. Charged buddy

miray
March 28, 2017

they don't try to make you extend your subscription. they do it anyway, and take your money. be careful

April 10, 2017

Again we're always happy to help! The best way to get in touch with our team is to contact us by email at contact@betterhelp.com.

Your Comment
1 Review

FRAUDS

Reviewed By Sagar on March 25, 2017

I will sucide as yhese people took away 12000 rupees from my account due to which i cant even buy food if i die i will write a note on your name betterhelp and then you will be destroyed i dont even have money to eat please help me refund it else i will do everything in my means to destroy you you scam

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
March 29, 2017

Hi Sagar, we're happy to help resolve any billing concerns you have. The best way to get in touch with our team is to contact us by email at contact@betterhelp.com. I

Your Comment
3 Reviews

problem with betterhelp they ar cheaters

Reviewed By Daniel on February 15, 2017

I have signed for betterhelp.com for free. i liked consultation and i was close to pay money for furthers, but on that week betterhelp started to sned messages to my phone that 100$ and 200$ and 100$ again takeaway from my bank account. in that moment i turnd to my bank to prohibit my card. that was cost me 200$s. After i send message to betterhelp and they told me there wasnt any bank transfer, but the messages were from them. i send them email (betterhelp) to find a solution for my problem but didnt find any. It is really a problem me because 200$s are a lot of money for a young student

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 3 Comments
BetterHelp Team
February 23, 2017

Hi Daniel, I'm sorry to hear that our subscription billing plan caused you some frustration. We're happy to help resolve any billing concerns you have. The best way to get in touch with our team is to contact us by email at contact@betterhelp.com.

Sagar
March 25, 2017

Its a scam they charhed me 200$ which is 12000 rupees in my country if u die because of this as i dont have money to eat i will definately commit sucide and write a note against better help and term them guilty its a big SCAM THEY DONT LET U CANCEL

March 29, 2017

Hi Sagar, we're happy to help resolve any billing concerns you have. The best way to get in touch with our team is to contact us by email at contact@betterhelp.com. IMPORTANT: Please remember that online counseling is not appropriate for crisis situations. If you need immediate attention please call now 1-800-273-TALK (24 hours hotline). If you or anyone else might be in danger please call 911 or go to the nearest emergency room. Also, please note that this note was not written by a counselor and doesn't constitute as counseling.

Your Comment
1 Review

Convenient, Great People, Affordable

Reviewed By Elizabeth on February 10, 2017

I am very happy with my assigned counselor and the service that I have gotten from BetterHelp. I also love the fact that it is so convenient. It was also surprisingly affordable. There is even an option to check if you're eligible for financial assistance!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

Love it

Reviewed By Ana on January 31, 2017

Better help has been amazing and the therapist that has been assigned to me is very helpful and nice. Definitely recommend

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

They just got my money

Reviewed By Michele on January 22, 2017

Well, they say that you have one free week of consultation. I decided to go for it, why not?! After that week though, i decided to cancel my subscription because i never really used the website and any consultancy at all. What did they do? They still got the money off my credit card!
That is so unprofessional and unethical.
I am giving 2 stars, because i am not saying it is a SCAM, i will wait for them to return my money, otherwise i will be back here and will absolutely flag it as a SCAM!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 13 Comments
BetterHelp Team
January 26, 2017

Hi Michele! It sounds like you already got in touch with our support team from your post here, but we're happy to help do all we can to make this a more positive experience for you, and to help with any billing concerns. The best way to get in touch with our team is to contact us by email at contact@betterhelp.com. Hope you have a great rest of your day!

Beverly Ritchey
January 26, 2017

I totally agree. The same thing happened to me. I cannot afford to be ripped off like that. Do these people have no concience? I was feeling bad enough before, this doesn't help at all.

BetterHelp Team
January 31, 2017

Hi Beverly, we're happy to help resolve any billing concerns you have. The best way to get in touch with our team is to contact us by email at contact@betterhelp.com.

Daniel
February 13, 2017

I have signed for betterhelp.com for free. i liked consultation and i was close to pay money for furthers, but on that week betterhelp started to sned messages to my phone that 100$ and 200$ and 100$ again takeaway from my bank account. in that moment i turnd to my bank to prohibit my card. that was cost me 200$s. After i send message to betterhelp and they told me there wasnt any bank transfer, but the messages were from them. i send them email (betterhelp) to find a solution for my problem but didnt find any. It is really a problem me because 200$s are a lot of money for a young student

BetterHelp Team
February 16, 2017

Hi Daniel, we're happy to help resolve any billing concerns you have. The best way to get in touch with our team is to contact us by email at contact@betterhelp.com.

nik
March 22, 2017

Sorry, I have the same issue- problem is that I don't get any answer on mails!!
I'm tired of paying more for nothing I use, and I will call you, to speak in person with betterhelp.
Michele- did you get your money back?

Michele
March 27, 2017

yes in the end i did, i thought they were not replying to me, but in the end they sent the money back

BetterHelp Team
March 29, 2017

Glad to hear that it all worked out Michele!

Nikola
April 19, 2017

Hi Michele, I'm having the same issue- not using it and already payed 3monthly rates! :(
How did you succeed getting back your money and how much of what you payed did you get back jn thr end?

Nikola
April 19, 2017

Glad to hear that, Michele! How did you succeed getting your money back and how many of the already payed monthly rates did you get back? I'm habing the same problem- 3months already payed! :(

Nikola
April 19, 2017

Oh my god!!! I didn't see I've posted it each time again when I pressed the button "submit"- so sorry!!!

BetterHelp Team
April 26, 2017

Again, just wanting to reach out to everyone here, we're happy to help resolve any billing concerns you have. The best way to get in touch with our team is to contact us by email at contact@betterhelp.com

April 27, 2017

This reweopedia site is a bit tricky, the ui/ux is not helping and i am not able to modify nor delete my review.

Your Comment
1 Review

Really helpful

Reviewed By Andy on January 19, 2017

I signed for the free trial and was matched with a counselor straight away. I wrote what was on my mind and my counselor always replies quickly. I've tried real life counseling in the past which helped too, but I quite like the way I can put my thoughts together in a message rather than talking. I'm not sure online counseling will work for all but it's definitely helped me.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

Can't delete my account

Reviewed By Bee on January 17, 2017

I subscribed to Better Help out of curiosity and now I would like to delete my account. I can't find a way to do it, even after searching through the whole site.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
January 26, 2017

Hey there! We're happy to help you, the best way to get in touch with our team is to contact us by email at contact@betterhelp.com. Hope you have a great rest of your day!

Your Comment
1 Review

So glad I gave it a try

Reviewed By Juliana on January 11, 2017

For many reasons, I was skeptical about BetterHelp before I tried it. I wasn't sure if it would actually be effective, and I was worried that I might end up wasting money that I could instead be spending on face-to-face sessions. However, being someone who has avoided counseling for years partially because of fear and partially because of my extremely busy schedule, I have benefited greatly from BetterHelp. My counselor sends me multiple messages per day, and I can respond to them as frequently or infrequently as I want. Sometimes I respond immediately, and sometimes I spend time thinking and reflecting on my own before responding, and having that kind of flexibility is so liberating. I get to take my time writing out thoughtful and well-articulated responses to her questions, which enables me to think deeply about whatever issues we're discussing. When I heard about BetterHelp, I was afraid that I would feel like I was talking to a robot, but it hasn't been like that at all. My counselor has a way of projecting sympathy and humanity through her messages. I'm a working student, and BetterHelp is providing me with exactly what I need right now: easy, accessible, affordable therapy that adapts to my schedule and is done discreetly.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

Sympathy, not substance

Reviewed By FMC on January 11, 2017

I wanted a counsellor who could argue back with me about certain philosophical and emotional beliefs that I have. I felt depressed and hated myself because of them. Sadly, although my counsellor tried to help, all she really did was assert that "It's not your fault" and say she was sorry for me. I didn't need sympathy, I needed an explanation and I didn't get it.

I should admit that, given time, my counsellor may have improved. We talked a lot in the space of a week but I then cancelled my subscription. This is because EVEN THOUGH IT IS CHEAPER THAN NORMAL COUNSELLING, IT STILL COST MY ENTIRE WEEKLY BUDGET AS A STUDENT. What I also found very disappointing is that they did not notify me until they had already started charging me (after a trial); this means I have no money for food this week.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
January 17, 2017

Hey there! So sorry to hear your experience with your counselor on BetterHelp didn't meet your needs. We're happy to help do all we can to make this a more positive experience for you, and to help with any billing concerns. The best way to get in touch with our team is to contact us by email at contact@betterhelp.com. Hope you have a great rest of your day!

Your Comment
1 Review

Very helpful

Reviewed By may on January 10, 2017

Helpful when you feel like you need to talk to someone and get an objective reply. You get advise from an expert, and you have the conversations saved to refer to whenever you need. I will definitely use it again.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

Beyond amazing 100% NOT a scam (The only people who think it is are ones who would provide their credit card info, and click agree and accept on a lot of things without actually reading a word)

Reviewed By Shannon on January 9, 2017

This site is amazing, and I truly hope you will read my review in full if you are considering signing up, because there are a lot of negative reviews by people who were too lazy to read what they were agreeing to, and then complain after the fact.

First of all, my counselor Erin is fantastic, I signed up for the free trial figuring what do I have to lose, and haven't regretted it for a second. As someone with anxiety, it's been hard for me to get help because I can't stand the thought of actually talking to someone or seeing them in person. I've tried, it just makes things worse.. So for me, having the online interaction is perfect, especially since I can communicate my thoughts easier through written word. Erin has been very kind and understanding and is genuinely providing me with a lot of help and support and is giving me the tools I need to get better. Based on the therapy alone I would give this 5 stars.

NOW, for all those negative reviews you see by people butt hurt at the cost. They either are used to just clicking "accept" without reading, have a short attention span, or simply like to selectively forget things and then complain about it trying to bring down a company that's done so much good.

I signed up for the free trial.. I had to accept when they asked if I was sure that by signing up for the free trial, I agree that unless I cancel, my card will be charged once my free trial has ended. They then break down that it is 45$ / week, and you will be billed monthly for a total of 180$. Simple as that they laid it all out there for you, and you have to accept. It's not hidden in a long drawn out terms of service type blurb.. It's a short section basically saying DUDE ARE YOU SURE BECAUSE THIS IS WHAT WE WILL DO, ONLY CLICK YES IF YOU AGREE. There is zero sketch factor in that. They ALSO tell you exactly how to cancel, and where to click, if you wish to cancel your membership at any time. AND when they ask for your credit card info, they explain that this is done to help avoid people signing up for free trials and clogging up the system with people who will just keep making fake email addresses for more free trials since they do need to pay their counselors and this is not a free service. THEY FREAKING EXPLAIN WHY THEY NEED YOUR CREDIT CARD.. AND THEN ALSO TELL YOU AGAIN THAT YOUR CARD WILL BE CHARGED THE FIRST DAY AFTER YOUR FREE TRIAL ENDS UNLESS YOU CANCEL.

So you see, nothing sketchy.. and those negative reviews you see, are by people who clearly have nothing better to do then to try and damage a good organizations reputation.

Heck, I even got an email a few days into my free trial to ask how things were going, and again was told how to unsubscribe if I wasn't happy with their services, and if there was anything they could do better in the future. Does that sound sketchy to you? Heck no!

Anyways, I've had a wonderful experience so far, it is WELL worth the 180$/month to have unlimited online access to my counselor. For me, it is perfect.

This service won't be for everyone, if you want someone who will respond within 5 mins of your messaging them, or want extreme one on one attention, you should probably find a shrink nearby that you can see in person as a regular patient. However, if you are like me and simply want someone to talk to, that can provide you with some help, teach you coping skills, and be there on a daily basis, this is a great place to go. I highly recommend and hope that everyone considering joining give this a shot.. Be sure to read everything they say, and if you agree with their terms, then try it out. Don't blindly say yes, give your credit card info, and then be upset when they charge your card.

-S

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 3 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

Great, I LOVE it!

Reviewed By Cassandra on December 31, 2016

I've been using betterhelp for just over a month and so far I would totally recommend it. My therapist, Dr. Katie Cowan, is so awesome!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

Helpful and convenient

Reviewed By Francesco on December 30, 2016

Being extremely shy I was never able to contact a therapist, but when I found out about BetterHelp I gave it a try, and I could not be happier! Talking about my problems with someone that can listen and give me advice has helped me greatly, and being able to write to my counselor whenever I need to, without needing to set up appointments, is incredibly convenient.
The first week is free so I I recommend you to give it a try!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

Helpful and convenient

Reviewed By Larisa on December 30, 2016

I have found BetterHelp easy to use. You can have one week free and see how it works for you. Another good thing is that you can discreetly change your counselor if you want. Also you can apply for a discount of 50 % depending on your financial situation.
I find the conversations deep, challenging and thought provoking. They do not just go along and tell you whatever you would like to hear.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment

Leave a Review