BetterHelp Reviews

About BetterHelp

BetterHelp.com is the online home of BetterHelp, a company who says their goal is to provide their customers with access to quality, professional help when they are facing life's challenges so they can be happier.

The website promises that all the counselors you can be matched with through the BetterHelp website are licensed, board accredited, and qualified with either a PhD or a masters certificate in addition to years of counseling experience. 

How Does It Work?

Customers will sign up for an account and fill out a short questionnaire so you can be matched with a professional counselor who can provide the support and guidance you need. Once you've created your account and been matched with a counselor, you will begin communicating with your counselor via online messages, whenever you need, on your schedule.

Customers can communicate with their counselor on an unlimited basis each week until they feel they have successfully overcome the problem or obstacle they were facing. Customers are welcome to cancel their membership at any time without penalty. 

Cost/Price Plans

Customers can sign up, get matched, and begin speaking to your counselor all for free. Customers who decide to continue with their services will pay a flat fee of $35 per week for unlimited counseling, which gives you the ability to speak to your counselor as much as you need.

Refund Policy

Since BetterHelp allows their customers to pay for services on a week-by-week basis, their website does not detail any overarching or general Refund Policy. Customers who feel they have an issue or complaint that warrants a refund should contact Customer Service and deal with their situation on a case by case basis. 

Customer Service Contact Info

Customers who would like to contact their Customer Service team with questions, concerns, or complaints can do so by submitting them directly to their website through their Contact Us link, by phone at 888-688-9296, or by traditional mail at 440 N. Wolfe Rd, Sunnyvale, CA 94085.

Reputation

The few reviews available for BetterHelp at this time tend to be very positive, and reviewers describe a very professional and beneficial experience which just happens to have the added advantage of being accessible by internet or through your mobile device.

It is still important to understand, however, that BetterHelp does not claim that they are a replacement for professional therapy or counseling. They are an additional or alternative tool that people may use if traditional therapy is difficult to schedule or cost prohibitive, but depending on the issues you are dealing with, you may still be referred to a traditional mental health professional if that's what they feel is best for your needs.  

Is It Safe?

Customers who are concerned with privacy issues are assured by BetterHelp.com that their system is HIPAA compliant to ensure your privacy. They provide banking grade encryption which allows users to be completely anonymous, even to your counselor. 

Competitors and Alternatives?

Online counseling is a fairly new type of service and it doesn't seem as though BetterHelp has many competitors in the market right now.  
    
If you have any experience with this company or their products, please leave your BetterHelp reviews below.

243 ‘BetterHelp’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:
1 Review

The Best Help

Reviewed By Kirsten on December 4, 2016

I am amazed. I started using betterhelp on a whim just to see if it was not hokey. It turns out I was matched with a counselor who helped me immensely and I can contact him whenever I need to. I really like that I can write things out and go back and look at my progress and review responses. It has been a great way to do counseling. I highly recommend it.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 4 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

Better Help really helps!

Reviewed By Katie on November 30, 2016

I have had a great experience with my online therapist at Better Help. With my work and home schedule, I struggled to find a therapist that I could see routinely, and when I was in dire need to talk to someone asap, I'd often have to wait days before I could see my therapist.
Better Help has changed all that - I can speak with my therapist when I need to, and can always work around my schedule to talk at times convenient for me. Having someone available 24/7 is so reassuring and helpful. I highly recommend it!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 3 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

Great Help !

Reviewed By Mahalia jackson on November 29, 2016, m.alkhalawi@gmail.com

This is so useful for so many reasons:

1- If you travel a lot, it's not a problem. Your counselor is a message away. Also logistics isn't a problem. You can be in your PJs :)

2- It's easy schedule live sessions, and you don't have to wait a week or two like office appointments.

3- It's affordable. It's the price of a nice dinner which I would treat myself to once a week anyways.

Plus my counselor is super supportive and empathetic. In three weeks, I'm a long way from the emotional mess I was when I started.
Thank You!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

Ripped off!

Reviewed By Jing Soriano on November 29, 2016

I signed up with BetterHelp because they promised a 1-week free trial. I assumed they would advise me or send me an email when the trial deadline nears to ask if I wish to continue or not.

I got the shock of my life when I received an email from them today (my 7th day) saying that my trial has ended and a total of $159.96 was deducted from my credit card.

I immediately cancelled my subscription. In my account page, it's saying "Current Plan: No Subscription"; however, it's also saying "Service is paid until 12/27/2017." I don't have plans to continue availing of their service.

I have sent them a total of 4 messages today, but only got automatic replies.

I NEED A REFUND! THIS IS NOT THE PROPER WAY TO DEAL WITH CLIENTS WHO ALREADY HAVE EMOTIONAL ISSUES.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
BetterHelp Team
December 06, 2016

Hi Jing, we're very sorry that you've had this experience. Please don't hesitate to get in touch with us at contact@betterhelp.com with any billing concerns, issues, or questions that you still have. We're happy to help!

January 09, 2017

What are you talking about? You had to accept when you entered your credit card info that if you didn't cancel before your free trial was up they would charge your card 180$. They then break down what that means (45$/week) AND explain the reasoning behind their doing this. You were clearly just too lazy to read, and now you're leaving negative reviews on a legit company because of your own stupidity. As a patient who's actually gotten amazing help and service your review offends me. Also, word to the wise... Don't provide your CREDIT CARD INFO to a company, if you aren't willing to pay the agreed upon amount. D'UH!

Your Comment
1 Review

surprisingly good

Reviewed By kelsey on November 23, 2016

i really thought this might be a scam. but something told me to just give it a try, and the week free trial allowed me to do so. i recently lost my mom and really needed some guidance. for some reason actual physical appointments i have to commit to showing up for overwhelm me. so being able to have counseling sessions online with no time constraints or requirements is so much better for me. there are days where i just dont feel like leaving my house and i never know what day thats going to be so trying to set appointments and keep them is hard for me, but i can always log on and check my emails, thats not a problem at all. everyone is so helpful, knowledegeable and professional.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

You Literally Have Nothing to Lose

Reviewed By Shayla on November 23, 2016

With free communication your first week, you literally have nothing to lose. I've never had a counselor before, so I was unsure of how I'd feel reaching out to someone and telling them about my insecurities, but it was surprisingly easy. I think it's because I don't know them, so I can be completely transparent.
I love my counselor! She's really been able to help me through some things. I love the accessibility of BetterHelp!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

Professional and Comforting

Reviewed By Nancy Harrison on November 18, 2016

Both my daughter and I have used BetterHelp with great success. We've dealt with our own individual problems, and have improved our ability to communicate with each other. BetterHelp provides a wonderful service at a reasonable price to folks like us who are able to write effectively about our thoughts and feelings.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

They are always there!!!

Reviewed By Tasha on November 16, 2016

I never spoken on a few issues as I did with my counselor. She understands my needs and she is not afraid to tell me if its my fault. She always speaks the truth. I love this app and anytime i have something to say she is there for me. EVERYWHERE AND ALL TIMES. I have been so much happier since I found my counselor. Trust me TRY IT it wont hurt. Thank you

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

Help for the better

Reviewed By Abby on November 11, 2016

I have really been enjoying working with Hillary. I use the app a lot, it is great to have access to BetterHelp anywhere I am. It has only been a few days, but Hillary has suggested some great things for me to do to boost my motivation, and cope with my anxiety.
I think this is a wonderful service. I was in counseling when I was younger, and now that I am older and independent, I learned how expensive counseling can be. I had no idea online counseling was a thing, but it's great and it's affordable. I am so happy I saw your advertisement on Facebook.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

Low Barrier to Entry

Reviewed By Cara on November 10, 2016

I am so glad I tried BetterHelp. I think when you have anxiety or depression the thought of talking to a stranger about your problems is very intimidating but this platform is the perfect in between because it is much easier to share your thoughts via email than in person (and jumping in off the deep end!). It is getting me more comfortable with the idea of therapy and is a great starting point.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

Awesome experience

Reviewed By Amy on November 8, 2016

Can't beat one-on-one, face-to-face, but closest thing to it.

Only advice- watch your subscription! I did not realize we had to pay the weekly subscription monthly- poor reading on my part....but pay attention after the trial ! Enjoy

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

Insane Scam

Reviewed By Alexander on November 8, 2016, Greece

Their services are true, even though horrible at best, you will receive a contact with a so-called certified psychologist, the real scam lies on the free trial though, after a week they automatically charge you 260$+ there is no choice to remove your credit card or cancel your account, only a selection to stop the next payment circle.

Imagine people in financial ruin going there to seek help and getting ripped off their rent payment, it's a disgrace.

I fell victim as well, asked for a refund, and I'm in a process with my bank to get them blacklisted.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 3 Comments
BetterHelp Team
November 15, 2016

Hi Alexander, It sounds like you've already reached out, but please don't hesitate to get in touch with us at contact@betterhelp.com with any billing concerns, issues, or questions that you still have. We're happy to help!

Jing Soriano
November 29, 2016

Hi Alexander, did you get a refund? I was also shocked to get an email from them saying they deducted a certain amount from my credit card. They're fooling people by promoting free 1-week trial everywhere.

December 18, 2016

You guys are idiots. You sign up to a service with completely understandable billing cycles, don't read the terms, and absolutely blow up when you get charged. You deserve it more than anybody has ever deserved anything on planet Earth.

Your Comment
1 Review

Buyer Beware?

Reviewed By Walter Wilder on November 4, 2016

I signed up for free trial, gave credit card info. Free week expired, I did not use any of the counseling services. My card was charged without further notification for "unlimited" services, $260. I have requested a refund. How ethical is betterhelp.com? We shall see.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 3 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 6 Comments
Bilal Bin Saeed
November 06, 2016

Happened with my just today! Left them an email as soon as I saw the transaction. Did you get your refund?

Cynthia
November 07, 2016

Were you able to get your money back? The same thing happened to me

l r
November 10, 2016

Hi. I have cancelled my trial before it ends (which is on nov 12). I am worried that they may still charge me too. I do not even have that much money in my bank account since I am a student who relies on the allowance from my parents. Did you find anything regarding the deactivation of your account? There's no 'remove account' option. Only cancel plan option.

Walter Wilder
November 15, 2016

Yes i got my refund. I contacted their support and sent an email.

BetterHelp Team
November 15, 2016

Hello everyone, please feel free to get in touch with us at contact@betterhelp.com with any billing concerns, issues, or questions that you have. We're happy to help!

November 29, 2016

Did you get a refund? I'm also victimized today.

Your Comment
1 Review

Off to a good start

Reviewed By Kathleen Maloney on November 1, 2016

The counselor I was paired with jumped right into the heart of the issues I'm struggling with. While the format might feel strange, and may not be suited for everyone, the ability to respond on my time, and being able to really thing through my reactions and responses has been truly helpful. It's only been a week, but so far things seem to be on the right track.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

Something I will Surely Miss

Reviewed By Maddy on October 9, 2016

Honestly, I really love the idea of this as a whole. Betterhelp IS a better help for me. I always feel welcome here. Although money is still an issue, and I did get my discount until this early December 2016, I still wish there is a way for me to extend that discount. But it's okay, I think I may be batter at handling my problems by the end of November. :) Thank you so much Betterhelp team, I Love you!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

Help on the go!

Reviewed By Dina on October 8, 2016

I've been using BetterHelp for about a month now and it's been such a help. I needed help from an outside professional resource and my counselor was just what I needed. Being so busy working EMS this app has been there for me whenever I have an issue or a question. This app saved my relationship.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

Naysayers, you are wrong!

Reviewed By Jenell Gilyard on September 23, 2016

This is a serious case of don't know it until you try it!

Counseling through BetterHelp is not only amazing, but super convenient. I have grown so much using BetterHelp, and I adore Leslie York, my counselor. She just gets it. She is honest, down to earth, and she asks questions that not only help her get to know you, but you get to know yourself.

I am so happy that BH is available. If I am having a bad day, a vent session or just an I need to talk is a click or thumb tap away. I don't have to wait for an appointment or try to get an emergency one.

Try it out if you haven't. You will def be pleasantly surprised. Their customer service is also amazing.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

Awesome

Reviewed By Amy on September 23, 2016

I suffer from severe depression, generalized and social anxiety, as well as grief since my Mother's passing in April. This site is great as I try to heal and my counselor is wonderful! It's very helpful to be able to go to the page anytime I feel the need and type out my thoughts and feelings... that, in itself seems to be helping but then I get the bonus of having an awesome counselor give me advice!! I'm so happy I found this place.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

Changing the world of mental health

Reviewed By Ahron on September 8, 2016

Wow. Having a professional counselor in your pocket is so powerful. It's life changing.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

Surprised

Reviewed By Haylie on September 7, 2016

I couldn't afford therapy at most places near me, so I searched online and found betterhelp.com. At first I was a bit skeptical, thinking "How can they help me online?". But, I've been working with my therapist for about 1.5 months and I definitely notice a difference.I feel less stressed, anxious, and depressed. It's really a great option for anyone looking for affordable help!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment

Leave a Review