BetterHelp Reviews

About BetterHelp

BetterHelp.com is the online home of BetterHelp, a company who says their goal is to provide their customers with access to quality, professional help when they are facing life's challenges so they can be happier.

The website promises that all the counselors you can be matched with through the BetterHelp website are licensed, board accredited, and qualified with either a PhD or a masters certificate in addition to years of counseling experience. 

How Does It Work?

Customers will sign up for an account and fill out a short questionnaire so you can be matched with a professional counselor who can provide the support and guidance you need. Once you've created your account and been matched with a counselor, you will begin communicating with your counselor via online messages, whenever you need, on your schedule.

Customers can communicate with their counselor on an unlimited basis each week until they feel they have successfully overcome the problem or obstacle they were facing. Customers are welcome to cancel their membership at any time without penalty. 

Cost/Price Plans

Customers can sign up, get matched, and begin speaking to your counselor all for free. Customers who decide to continue with their services will pay a flat fee of $35 per week for unlimited counseling, which gives you the ability to speak to your counselor as much as you need.

Refund Policy

Since BetterHelp allows their customers to pay for services on a week-by-week basis, their website does not detail any overarching or general Refund Policy. Customers who feel they have an issue or complaint that warrants a refund should contact Customer Service and deal with their situation on a case by case basis. 

Customer Service Contact Info

Customers who would like to contact their Customer Service team with questions, concerns, or complaints can do so by submitting them directly to their website through their Contact Us link, by phone at 888-688-9296, or by traditional mail at 440 N. Wolfe Rd, Sunnyvale, CA 94085.

Reputation

The few reviews available for BetterHelp at this time tend to be very positive, and reviewers describe a very professional and beneficial experience which just happens to have the added advantage of being accessible by internet or through your mobile device.

It is still important to understand, however, that BetterHelp does not claim that they are a replacement for professional therapy or counseling. They are an additional or alternative tool that people may use if traditional therapy is difficult to schedule or cost prohibitive, but depending on the issues you are dealing with, you may still be referred to a traditional mental health professional if that's what they feel is best for your needs.  

Is It Safe?

Customers who are concerned with privacy issues are assured by BetterHelp.com that their system is HIPAA compliant to ensure your privacy. They provide banking grade encryption which allows users to be completely anonymous, even to your counselor. 

Competitors and Alternatives?

Online counseling is a fairly new type of service and it doesn't seem as though BetterHelp has many competitors in the market right now.  
    
If you have any experience with this company or their products, please leave your BetterHelp reviews below.

243 ‘BetterHelp’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:
1 Review

Patient centered!!

Reviewed By Sunshine on September 7, 2016

Because I can msg her when ever I am upset it makes me put my emotions into words which starts my understanding of the main issue. Timely replies are great, you don't have to wait days or weeks for your next appt. it's like having daily therapy about what is on your mind at the moment. I like the worksheets to focus my thoughts on a topic. I give the program an A+.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

There when I needed them the most

Reviewed By Mark Turnbull on September 5, 2016

I was skeptical at first. However, my experience has been so overwhelmingly good that I can't thank BetterHelp enough. My therapist is Sara G. and she is the BEST. She responds to my many contacts on a very timely basis and is not only supportive, but makes great suggestions on what I can do to move forward. She is a great health coach.

If you are like me you thought that Internet help was not a good thing, I mean it is the Internet, how could it be. Trust me this is the real deal and it is very very helpful.

I will continue to use this service for a long time, since it has been so helpful in such a short time. I look forward to getting the help and care I need from people that are always there.

And as a side note, I never have to get in the car and drive to an appointment and don't tell anyone but sometimes you can even get counseling in your PJ's ... LOL ... but seriously it works, give it a try.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
BetterHelp Team
September 07, 2016

Hi Mark! We are so incredibly delighted to hear that you have experienced such a great benefit from working with your counselor. We're also happy that you find it convenient and effective. It's true you can get help in your PJ's or anywhere you are! We wish you the best in your counseling work going forward, and appreciate your heartfelt and honest review!

September 12, 2016

Just glad I found you folks and my counselor.

Your Comment
1 Review

Happy

Reviewed By Kim on August 23, 2016

I find it less confronting to have counselling via the computer than face to face. My counsellor is lovely, understanding and genuinely helpful. I've only had a few sessions but I feel this will help me greatly down the road. Thank you Better Help!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
August 26, 2016

Hi Kim! We're so glad to hear that you enjoy the privacy and convenience of experiencing text-based counseling. Thank you so much for giving it a try and best wishes to in your continued counseling with BetterHelp!

Your Comment
1 Review

Very helpful and Affordable

Reviewed By Killian on August 23, 2016

I purchased a month, then discovered I was eligible for a discount due to low economic status. They applied the discount and manually changed my old charge.
They also offer the ability to freeze the account for when you know you won't be using it for an extended period of time.
It's nice having professional advice when you need it.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
August 26, 2016

Hi Killian! It's awesome that you were able to take advantage of our financial aid program. We are proud to provide it. We are also happy that you understand our temporary 30-day hold option, which is great for when you take a vacation for a few weeks or just need a break from counseling for a while. We wish you the very best!

Your Comment
1 Review

Very Pleased

Reviewed By PATRICE on August 16, 2016

Having been in therapy before, I know that $45 a week is equal to, if not well below, the going price for one session. For my $45 I can write in as much and as often as I like in a week, and I have gotten a response within a day every time. My counselor, Ashley Alexander is an LPC, which means she is a licensed clinician. I know that going to school and getting a license doesn't necessarily make an expert, but my counselor is not only qualified she is professional, caring, insightful, and encouraging. Her responses are considered as well as considerate and compassionate. I can wait a day to hear from her if I have to, because I know she will have something good for me. Fortunately, I rarely have to wait that long. In fact, I'm more likely to be the one that doesn't respond quickly. Thanks, Ashley, for your patience and your help!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
August 19, 2016

Hi Patrice! We're so pleased that you were able to have such a positive experience with your counselor! Yes, valid licensure of the counselor is a requirement for them to join our platform, and we verify licenses personally for each counselor we work with on an ongoing basis. Thanks for trying BetterHelp!

Your Comment
1 Review

Absolutely love it!

Reviewed By Maya on August 16, 2016

I love betterhelp because sometimes it's not always easy to find someone to completely open up to. Betterhelp has allowed me to do that. You are matched with a counselor based on your preferences and I feel that betterhelp matches the counselors pretty well. I don't know what I'd do without this app.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
August 19, 2016

Hi Maya! It's awesome to hear that you were matched well with your counselor. That's the foundation of what we do - our matching system. We make an effort to ensure that our clients are matched to the best counselor that meets their needs and preferences, and you're always welcome to change counselors at any time if you'd like to work with the next best match! We wish you the best going forward in your work with your counselor!

Your Comment
1 Review

A Seriously Wonderful Organization

Reviewed By Andy P on August 16, 2016

I discovered BetterHelp in the app store of all places, so I was absolutely skeptical initially. I had been in therapy for the past fifteen years and it had been incredibly difficult finding the right counselor for me due to limitations like pricing, insurance coverage, anxiety, and location, so the idea of speaking with a licensed counselor comfortably from home seemed too good to be true. After browsing their site, reading about them, and analyzing their terms of service with a fine-toothed comb I felt confident in going ahead with the trial service that they offered. Signing up for the service was quick and easy (although I think the form describing your problems and what you are looking for could allow for more specificity), and I was matched with a counselor not long after. The first counselor I was matched with wasn't very helpful and didn't seem very caring, so I was really doubting whether or not this online counseling service is going to work out. But BetterHelp has a feature to let you discreetly dump your counselor and be assigned to a new one. This is incredibly awesome to have, as the service has a tremendous number of counselors from all over the country with different specialties, so you don't have to be stuck with a counselor that you're not compatible with, you can keep searching for the one that's right for you. I was paired with a new counselor before the end of the day, and she was much more knowledgeable and caring, an all-around wonderful person who genuinely cared about helping me. I would also like to note that both times I was matched with a counselor that worked at an office within a reasonable distance, which is something I assume BetterHelp purposely takes into account, so that it would be possible to make an appointment at the counselor's office if you needed more in-depth counseling.

I am hoping you find my review if you too are here hoping to discover this service is legit, because it is, and I am incredibly happy to be endorsing it because there are so many troubled individuals out there looking for help that aren't seeing a live counselor for any number of reasons - whether you have misgivings about counseling, logistical or medical issues, or simply are too busy for a formal appointment - you'll be able to get help from an actual counselor in the convenience of an e-mail. Even if you have little to no income, the support staff is wonderful to speak with and can work with you and your limited budget to find a reasonable and affordable fee. I wish you happiness and the best of luck!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
August 19, 2016

Andy - thank you so much for your thorough review of our services! We are so pleased that you were able to find a counselor that's a good fit for you. You're right - we have over 2000+ counselors on out network, and you can change counselors at any time. We have help so many people find the help they need - and we're very glad you're one of them!

Your Comment
1 Review

Counseling by shared life experiences

Reviewed By Ron Grable on August 10, 2016

The counselor has been very helpful to me so far. I feel like each day I get a better understanding of things that have been bothering me for some time now. Some are from my own perspective dealing with LGBT life and some are projected on to me by others in the community. My counselor has been helping to see which are the ones I need to change in my own thinking. Encouraging me to find ways to change those things projected onto me by others. I hope that we can continue to work in the manner that we have been. By sharing stories of our lives and experiences I believe that we can.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
August 11, 2016

Hi Ron! Thanks so much for your thoughtful review. We are glad that you have been matched with a counselor who has been so helpful. Our team wishes you well.

Your Comment
1 Review

Above and Beyond

Reviewed By crackerjacks on August 5, 2016

I signed on with BetterHelp to deal with some social anxiety issues, but what I discovered was that I had some seriously deep-rooted problems that I buried in my past. My counsellor managed to pull those things out and help me learn to deal with them so I could move past them and really focus on improving my life from my core. I feel more at peace than I ever have and I've picked up some amazing techniques to help me cope with my triggers. I received the help I needed and more!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
August 19, 2016

HI Crackerjacks! We're glad that you've been able to work through some things with your counselors that have made you feel more at peace in life. It's comforting to know that a BetterHelp counselor has made such a difference in your life. We wish you the best going forward!

Your Comment
1 Review

Wouldn't let me join

Reviewed By Chloe on July 24, 2016

Wouldn't let me join, it said i didn't fit the right descriptions for online counseling, but it gave me no reason why. like WTF? am i just not the right person, not good enough?!?! and then it said "try another site" try another site??? what the hell?
they said online counseling wasn't right for me.........but ive done it before and it was actually really good, so i thought i would try it again, but NO APPARENTLY IM NOT THE RIGHT TYPE OF PERSON FOR THIS PERFECT LITTLE SITE
well thats stupid, bye, im off to warn people about this site
waste.of.time

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 4 Comments
BetterHelp Team
July 25, 2016

Hi Chloe, please understand that online counseling is a very new form of counseling and is not the best solution for everyone. We encourage you to seek alternate assistance that would be more appropriate to your concerns. If you need immediate help please call 1-800-273-TALK (24 hours hotline) or in case of emergency please call 911.

BetterHelp Team
July 25, 2016

You can also check out additional resources here: https://www.betterhelp.com/gethelpnow/

Chloe
August 31, 2016

those are emergency/crisis lines

August 31, 2016

i've actually tried online counseling before, and it helped me a great deal.........so it's a good way for me, don't try to tell me otherwise.........useless site

Your Comment
1 Review

Ebullient over BETTERHELP

Reviewed By Marty on July 23, 2016

E therapy (BETTERHELP) is:

E asy
E ncouraging
E ffortless
E fficient
E ffective
E ducational
E conomical
E xcellent

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
July 25, 2016

Thank you so much for your exceptional (and clever) review Marty! We really do appreciate it.

Your Comment
1 Review

john

Reviewed By john on July 21, 2016

I would like to me a member , but I am not sure because 0f the negative about the service that I have read.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
Chloe
July 24, 2016

dont join

July 25, 2016

Hey John! We're happy to answer any questions you have about BetterHelp before you sign up (or after you sign up), as we're always available for you to get in touch with at contact@betterhelp.com if you have questions.

Your Comment
1 Review

Best option for counseling!

Reviewed By Jen on July 20, 2016

Better Help has been so great! They are very helpful, quick to respond if there are any questions or concerns and most of all they are willing to work with low income which has made this affordable for me. I am so thankful for Better Help, this is PERFECT for the busy person that is always on the go or works a lot. The convenience of being able to sit down and write to your counselor when you have time is so nice, compared to having to drive to an appointment and try to fit that hour in your day for that appointment. I will forever use Better Help! My counselor Kendra Simpson is the absolute best and I've recommended her to quite a few of my friends. VERY affordable and you get much more time (unlimited time) with your counselor than you would with a one hour meeting each week. I love it!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
Jaylina
August 03, 2016

I have been looking into them because it is the best option for me for many reasons. I just can't afford what they are asking because of rent, insurance, and whatever. What do you mean by low income help?

November 02, 2016

Sometimes they are able to offer a discount but you have to ask and show your income and maybe expenses....

Your Comment
1 Review

Just what I needed

Reviewed By Annalee on July 17, 2016

Okay, so let me start this off by saying I can understand how this wouldn't be the best option for everyone. Here are the reasons I'm giving BetterHelp 5 stars.

I've been talking to my counselor for almost a month. I was going to stop at the free trial but I got so much out of that week that I decided to stick with it. The money is quite the chunk out of my paycheck- HOWEVER....there is no "Do these things and I'll see you in a month." like with traditional counseling. I can communicate with my counselor on a daily basis, which is exactly what I need.

At one point, I was dealing with some pretty intense emotions and my counselor responded to me at 2 in the morning to help me through it. That small act showed me how passionate this counselor is about helping others.

I can cancel at any time. There's no huge commitment- just a month-to-month basis. That is one thing you need to know. It may say that it's a certain amount per week, but read the fine print. They will charge you once per month. There won't be any surprises or added stress if you know what to expect.

I can request a different counselor if I ever feel I need to for whatever reason.

I can speak to my counselor from the comfort of my own home.

They sent me a free t-shirt.

I've had huge success in helping myself while having my counselor to communicate with in the process. They do not diagnose, and that's fine- I was diagnosed years ago. I won't go into detail but I have trichotillomania, and this is the longest stretch of time I've gone without pulling my hair out in ten years... It's comforting to know that if I do have a bad day, my counselor is there to help me through it.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
July 19, 2016

Hey Annalee, thank you very much for your kind review! We're glad that our platform and subscription model have allowed you to get the help you were seeking. Sounds like your counselor has been able to make a positive impact on your life, and our team wishes you the very best. Glad you liked the free t-shirt too!

Your Comment
1 Review

Donna Keehn is Keen

Reviewed By GiGi on July 15, 2016

Hi, to the "BetterHelp" Team, on behalf of Donna Keehn: Thank you for those GR8 Accolodes...and yes, I did my research and found them beforehand... but, I, too, [so far] am finding Donna "keen" (haha) in her Craft, although I haven't gotten but one occasion to have received her insightful feedback from our Q's and A's. I'm looking forward to further feedback from her down the road, as our journey develops/as I need a lot of patience along with exceptional expertise in a qualified therapist -and, I feel safe with Donna. I also can say, this new era of "online" counseling/therapy is very interesting; and, I am open to what seems to offer.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
July 19, 2016

Hi GiGi, thank you for your thoughtful review! Our team wishes you the best.

Your Comment
1 Review

Completely corrupt

Reviewed By Laura on July 15, 2016

In a very dark moment of my life, I was looking online for help. The Better Help ad came up, and I clicked it. I'm located in Canada, and the ad was targeted towards me, so I signed up for a trial. I realized that the method didn't really work for me, but because of the stress I was going through at home, I accidentally did not cancel in the free trial timeframe. I did not use any service except one interaction in my free trial period. I was charged $240 Canadian dollars, a heck of a lot more than was advertised. That's when I realized that this is an American company, and I was being charged in US dollars. Not only was my fee for services that were unused, but also it was far, far more money than I realized, and much more than I have for therapy at this time. I asked for a refund, and was only refunded a portion of it. When I inquired why, the company blamed it on the fluctuating dollar. Well, I think that is incredibly deceptive since this company directly targeted me here in Canada, and I had no idea I was being charged in USD. They are extremely unhelpful, suggesting I talk to my bank (???), and saying there is nothing they can do.

Not great for someone already feeling stressed and overwhelmed. Very disappointing from a company who claims its goal is to help people. I don't mind paying for services used, but I didn't use any services, and now I'm being ripped off by a company who tricked me.

What a bait and switch.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 3 Comments
BetterHelp Team
July 19, 2016

Hi Laura, thank you for reviewing Betterhelp. Our support team is happy to address any of your billing concerns, and you can reach out to them at contact@betterhelp.com

Laura
July 21, 2016

I've reached out to them numerous times, as I wrote in my review.

There was no result, and dealing with this just ended up causing me so much stress that I was forced to give up.

Liz
August 25, 2016

This has just happened to me too Laura, I am in UK and was aware it would be $45 a week, so I thought take it week by week to see if it helps, the first day after my trial period and a whole months worth of fees has been taken from my account. No email to ask if I wanted to continue, no warning when I signed up that a full months worth of fees would be taken in one go, the payment options are only there once you are already paid up. I cancelled as I did not want any further payments going out and even though It says I am paid up until 20.09.16, I have no access to my counsellor because I have quit. I am disgusted that they target vulnerable people who are reaching out for help like this! I have emailed them and asked for a full refund and am waiting to hear, so we shall see! They DO NOT make it clear that this is what will happen when you sign up. I expected to pay 1 week and see if I wanted to continue, but to not even be given that option, they are a disgrace. In the time I have had with my counsellor, I could've had that advice from a friend over a cup of tea! I wanted some professional insight! It has put me off counselling for good.

Your Comment
1 Review

Better than In-person

Reviewed By Jennifer on July 14, 2016

We were assigned a counselor who started helping us the same day. By that night we had a loose plan and we are beginning the implementation this week. I really appreciate your team and this online counseling product. It is a much easier and economical way for us to get the help our family needs.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
July 19, 2016

Hey Jennifer, thank you very much for your thoughtful review, and we're so glad that our platform and your counselor have been able to make a positive impact on your life! Our team wishes you the very best.

Your Comment
1 Review

A great resource for people who want help, especially ADHD and anxiety patients.

Reviewed By Mike on July 14, 2016

Personally, I suffer from Attention Deficit Hyperactive Disorder (ADHD) as well as high anxiety. I have a fast-moving brain, which sometimes may have these questions for a therapist, but I find myself unsure of something, and by the time I've met with a therapist a week later, I find myself trying to remember what exactly I was thinking about a few days ago, and having trouble solving that issue.

For people who have trouble overthinking (both hands raised), it's very helpful to have a resource where you get a prompt answer, from someone who is not only keeping your own mental process and personal environment in mind, but also keeps your personal goals for yourself in mind.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
July 19, 2016

Hey Mike, thank you very much for your kind review, and we're so glad that our platform and your counselor have been able to make a positive impact on your life! Our team wishes you the very best.

Your Comment
1 Review

BetterHelp is fantastic

Reviewed By Gracie on July 8, 2016

I would like to add to the positive comments above. I started the one week trial, and was given very clear and realistic guidelines by my assigned counsellor about what to expect.

In that first week, my counsellor and I have some very productive exchanges so I signed up for the yearly subscription (which works out about 1/2 the price of the monthly subscription)

I now message my counsellor from one to three times a week. I am benefitting so much. The writing style of communication is perfect for me, but it might not suit everyone.

Also, they are offering webinars to members now.

BetterHelp is worth every cent. I feel like it is saving my life day by day

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
July 11, 2016

Hey Gracie, thank you very much for your kind review, and we're so glad that you've found a subscription plan and counselor that works for you! Our team wishes you the very best.

Your Comment
1 Review

Credit Card fraud...coincidence?

Reviewed By Trina Carnacke on July 7, 2016

I signed up for a trial of BetterHelp earlier last month. I didn't find it to my liking (didn't seem like I was actually conversing with the person they'd advertised) so I stopped and asked customer service to close my account, which they did.

A few weeks later, a couple dozen fraud alerts showed up on my credit card. They were all charges to iTunes. I never use iTunes.

When I called up Apple support, they said someone had created an account out of California. BetterHelp is also based in California. That could be a coincidence, but I give out my credit card so few times that it raised a lot of red flags (I usually do PayPal, so everything is consolidated, but BetterHelp doesn't give that option).

It should be noted that BetterHelp is just a tech company that happens to partner (allegedly) with licensed mental health professionals. They store all the sensitive data, and that's concerning, considering my experience.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
BetterHelp Team
July 11, 2016

Hi Trina, thanks for taking the time to review us. We're very sorry to hear that you experienced fraudulent charges on your card, but BetterHelp was not involved. For more information about the lengths we go to protect your privacy, please see our FAQ here: www.betterhelp.com/faq?id=17

July 19, 2016

How do you know you were not involved? Did you conduct an investigation? I think not.

Your Comment

Leave a Review