BetterHelp Reviews

About BetterHelp

BetterHelp.com is the online home of BetterHelp, a company who says their goal is to provide their customers with access to quality, professional help when they are facing life's challenges so they can be happier.

The website promises that all the counselors you can be matched with through the BetterHelp website are licensed, board accredited, and qualified with either a PhD or a masters certificate in addition to years of counseling experience. 

How Does It Work?

Customers will sign up for an account and fill out a short questionnaire so you can be matched with a professional counselor who can provide the support and guidance you need. Once you've created your account and been matched with a counselor, you will begin communicating with your counselor via online messages, whenever you need, on your schedule.

Customers can communicate with their counselor on an unlimited basis each week until they feel they have successfully overcome the problem or obstacle they were facing. Customers are welcome to cancel their membership at any time without penalty. 

Cost/Price Plans

Customers can sign up, get matched, and begin speaking to your counselor all for free. Customers who decide to continue with their services will pay a flat fee of $35 per week for unlimited counseling, which gives you the ability to speak to your counselor as much as you need.

Refund Policy

Since BetterHelp allows their customers to pay for services on a week-by-week basis, their website does not detail any overarching or general Refund Policy. Customers who feel they have an issue or complaint that warrants a refund should contact Customer Service and deal with their situation on a case by case basis. 

Customer Service Contact Info

Customers who would like to contact their Customer Service team with questions, concerns, or complaints can do so by submitting them directly to their website through their Contact Us link, by phone at 888-688-9296, or by traditional mail at 440 N. Wolfe Rd, Sunnyvale, CA 94085.

Reputation

The few reviews available for BetterHelp at this time tend to be very positive, and reviewers describe a very professional and beneficial experience which just happens to have the added advantage of being accessible by internet or through your mobile device.

It is still important to understand, however, that BetterHelp does not claim that they are a replacement for professional therapy or counseling. They are an additional or alternative tool that people may use if traditional therapy is difficult to schedule or cost prohibitive, but depending on the issues you are dealing with, you may still be referred to a traditional mental health professional if that's what they feel is best for your needs.  

Is It Safe?

Customers who are concerned with privacy issues are assured by BetterHelp.com that their system is HIPAA compliant to ensure your privacy. They provide banking grade encryption which allows users to be completely anonymous, even to your counselor. 

Competitors and Alternatives?

Online counseling is a fairly new type of service and it doesn't seem as though BetterHelp has many competitors in the market right now.  
    
If you have any experience with this company or their products, please leave your BetterHelp reviews below.

255 ‘BetterHelp’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:
1 Review

Help for the better

Reviewed By Abby on November 11, 2016

I have really been enjoying working with Hillary. I use the app a lot, it is great to have access to BetterHelp anywhere I am. It has only been a few days, but Hillary has suggested some great things for me to do to boost my motivation, and cope with my anxiety.
I think this is a wonderful service. I was in counseling when I was younger, and now that I am older and independent, I learned how expensive counseling can be. I had no idea online counseling was a thing, but it's great and it's affordable. I am so happy I saw your advertisement on Facebook.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

Low Barrier to Entry

Reviewed By Cara on November 10, 2016

I am so glad I tried BetterHelp. I think when you have anxiety or depression the thought of talking to a stranger about your problems is very intimidating but this platform is the perfect in between because it is much easier to share your thoughts via email than in person (and jumping in off the deep end!). It is getting me more comfortable with the idea of therapy and is a great starting point.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

Awesome experience

Reviewed By Amy on November 8, 2016

Can't beat one-on-one, face-to-face, but closest thing to it.

Only advice- watch your subscription! I did not realize we had to pay the weekly subscription monthly- poor reading on my part....but pay attention after the trial ! Enjoy

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

Insane Scam

Reviewed By Alexander on November 8, 2016, Greece

Their services are true, even though horrible at best, you will receive a contact with a so-called certified psychologist, the real scam lies on the free trial though, after a week they automatically charge you 260$+ there is no choice to remove your credit card or cancel your account, only a selection to stop the next payment circle.

Imagine people in financial ruin going there to seek help and getting ripped off their rent payment, it's a disgrace.

I fell victim as well, asked for a refund, and I'm in a process with my bank to get them blacklisted.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 3 Comments
BetterHelp Team
November 15, 2016

Hi Alexander, It sounds like you've already reached out, but please don't hesitate to get in touch with us at contact@betterhelp.com with any billing concerns, issues, or questions that you still have. We're happy to help!

Jing Soriano
November 29, 2016

Hi Alexander, did you get a refund? I was also shocked to get an email from them saying they deducted a certain amount from my credit card. They're fooling people by promoting free 1-week trial everywhere.

December 18, 2016

You guys are idiots. You sign up to a service with completely understandable billing cycles, don't read the terms, and absolutely blow up when you get charged. You deserve it more than anybody has ever deserved anything on planet Earth.

Your Comment
1 Review

Buyer Beware?

Reviewed By Walter Wilder on November 4, 2016

I signed up for free trial, gave credit card info. Free week expired, I did not use any of the counseling services. My card was charged without further notification for "unlimited" services, $260. I have requested a refund. How ethical is betterhelp.com? We shall see.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 3 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 6 Comments
Bilal Bin Saeed
November 06, 2016

Happened with my just today! Left them an email as soon as I saw the transaction. Did you get your refund?

Cynthia
November 07, 2016

Were you able to get your money back? The same thing happened to me

l r
November 10, 2016

Hi. I have cancelled my trial before it ends (which is on nov 12). I am worried that they may still charge me too. I do not even have that much money in my bank account since I am a student who relies on the allowance from my parents. Did you find anything regarding the deactivation of your account? There's no 'remove account' option. Only cancel plan option.

Walter Wilder
November 15, 2016

Yes i got my refund. I contacted their support and sent an email.

BetterHelp Team
November 15, 2016

Hello everyone, please feel free to get in touch with us at contact@betterhelp.com with any billing concerns, issues, or questions that you have. We're happy to help!

November 29, 2016

Did you get a refund? I'm also victimized today.

Your Comment
1 Review

Off to a good start

Reviewed By Kathleen Maloney on November 1, 2016

The counselor I was paired with jumped right into the heart of the issues I'm struggling with. While the format might feel strange, and may not be suited for everyone, the ability to respond on my time, and being able to really thing through my reactions and responses has been truly helpful. It's only been a week, but so far things seem to be on the right track.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

Something I will Surely Miss

Reviewed By Maddy on October 9, 2016

Honestly, I really love the idea of this as a whole. Betterhelp IS a better help for me. I always feel welcome here. Although money is still an issue, and I did get my discount until this early December 2016, I still wish there is a way for me to extend that discount. But it's okay, I think I may be batter at handling my problems by the end of November. :) Thank you so much Betterhelp team, I Love you!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

Help on the go!

Reviewed By Dina on October 8, 2016

I've been using BetterHelp for about a month now and it's been such a help. I needed help from an outside professional resource and my counselor was just what I needed. Being so busy working EMS this app has been there for me whenever I have an issue or a question. This app saved my relationship.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

Naysayers, you are wrong!

Reviewed By Jenell Gilyard on September 23, 2016

This is a serious case of don't know it until you try it!

Counseling through BetterHelp is not only amazing, but super convenient. I have grown so much using BetterHelp, and I adore Leslie York, my counselor. She just gets it. She is honest, down to earth, and she asks questions that not only help her get to know you, but you get to know yourself.

I am so happy that BH is available. If I am having a bad day, a vent session or just an I need to talk is a click or thumb tap away. I don't have to wait for an appointment or try to get an emergency one.

Try it out if you haven't. You will def be pleasantly surprised. Their customer service is also amazing.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

Awesome

Reviewed By Amy on September 23, 2016

I suffer from severe depression, generalized and social anxiety, as well as grief since my Mother's passing in April. This site is great as I try to heal and my counselor is wonderful! It's very helpful to be able to go to the page anytime I feel the need and type out my thoughts and feelings... that, in itself seems to be helping but then I get the bonus of having an awesome counselor give me advice!! I'm so happy I found this place.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

Changing the world of mental health

Reviewed By Ahron on September 8, 2016

Wow. Having a professional counselor in your pocket is so powerful. It's life changing.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

Surprised

Reviewed By Haylie on September 7, 2016

I couldn't afford therapy at most places near me, so I searched online and found betterhelp.com. At first I was a bit skeptical, thinking "How can they help me online?". But, I've been working with my therapist for about 1.5 months and I definitely notice a difference.I feel less stressed, anxious, and depressed. It's really a great option for anyone looking for affordable help!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

Patient centered!!

Reviewed By Sunshine on September 7, 2016

Because I can msg her when ever I am upset it makes me put my emotions into words which starts my understanding of the main issue. Timely replies are great, you don't have to wait days or weeks for your next appt. it's like having daily therapy about what is on your mind at the moment. I like the worksheets to focus my thoughts on a topic. I give the program an A+.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

There when I needed them the most

Reviewed By Mark Turnbull on September 5, 2016

I was skeptical at first. However, my experience has been so overwhelmingly good that I can't thank BetterHelp enough. My therapist is Sara G. and she is the BEST. She responds to my many contacts on a very timely basis and is not only supportive, but makes great suggestions on what I can do to move forward. She is a great health coach.

If you are like me you thought that Internet help was not a good thing, I mean it is the Internet, how could it be. Trust me this is the real deal and it is very very helpful.

I will continue to use this service for a long time, since it has been so helpful in such a short time. I look forward to getting the help and care I need from people that are always there.

And as a side note, I never have to get in the car and drive to an appointment and don't tell anyone but sometimes you can even get counseling in your PJ's ... LOL ... but seriously it works, give it a try.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
BetterHelp Team
September 07, 2016

Hi Mark! We are so incredibly delighted to hear that you have experienced such a great benefit from working with your counselor. We're also happy that you find it convenient and effective. It's true you can get help in your PJ's or anywhere you are! We wish you the best in your counseling work going forward, and appreciate your heartfelt and honest review!

September 12, 2016

Just glad I found you folks and my counselor.

Your Comment
1 Review

Happy

Reviewed By Kim on August 23, 2016

I find it less confronting to have counselling via the computer than face to face. My counsellor is lovely, understanding and genuinely helpful. I've only had a few sessions but I feel this will help me greatly down the road. Thank you Better Help!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
August 26, 2016

Hi Kim! We're so glad to hear that you enjoy the privacy and convenience of experiencing text-based counseling. Thank you so much for giving it a try and best wishes to in your continued counseling with BetterHelp!

Your Comment
1 Review

Very helpful and Affordable

Reviewed By Killian on August 23, 2016

I purchased a month, then discovered I was eligible for a discount due to low economic status. They applied the discount and manually changed my old charge.
They also offer the ability to freeze the account for when you know you won't be using it for an extended period of time.
It's nice having professional advice when you need it.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
August 26, 2016

Hi Killian! It's awesome that you were able to take advantage of our financial aid program. We are proud to provide it. We are also happy that you understand our temporary 30-day hold option, which is great for when you take a vacation for a few weeks or just need a break from counseling for a while. We wish you the very best!

Your Comment
1 Review

Very Pleased

Reviewed By PATRICE on August 16, 2016

Having been in therapy before, I know that $45 a week is equal to, if not well below, the going price for one session. For my $45 I can write in as much and as often as I like in a week, and I have gotten a response within a day every time. My counselor, Ashley Alexander is an LPC, which means she is a licensed clinician. I know that going to school and getting a license doesn't necessarily make an expert, but my counselor is not only qualified she is professional, caring, insightful, and encouraging. Her responses are considered as well as considerate and compassionate. I can wait a day to hear from her if I have to, because I know she will have something good for me. Fortunately, I rarely have to wait that long. In fact, I'm more likely to be the one that doesn't respond quickly. Thanks, Ashley, for your patience and your help!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
August 19, 2016

Hi Patrice! We're so pleased that you were able to have such a positive experience with your counselor! Yes, valid licensure of the counselor is a requirement for them to join our platform, and we verify licenses personally for each counselor we work with on an ongoing basis. Thanks for trying BetterHelp!

Your Comment
1 Review

Absolutely love it!

Reviewed By Maya on August 16, 2016

I love betterhelp because sometimes it's not always easy to find someone to completely open up to. Betterhelp has allowed me to do that. You are matched with a counselor based on your preferences and I feel that betterhelp matches the counselors pretty well. I don't know what I'd do without this app.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
August 19, 2016

Hi Maya! It's awesome to hear that you were matched well with your counselor. That's the foundation of what we do - our matching system. We make an effort to ensure that our clients are matched to the best counselor that meets their needs and preferences, and you're always welcome to change counselors at any time if you'd like to work with the next best match! We wish you the best going forward in your work with your counselor!

Your Comment
1 Review

A Seriously Wonderful Organization

Reviewed By Andy P on August 16, 2016

I discovered BetterHelp in the app store of all places, so I was absolutely skeptical initially. I had been in therapy for the past fifteen years and it had been incredibly difficult finding the right counselor for me due to limitations like pricing, insurance coverage, anxiety, and location, so the idea of speaking with a licensed counselor comfortably from home seemed too good to be true. After browsing their site, reading about them, and analyzing their terms of service with a fine-toothed comb I felt confident in going ahead with the trial service that they offered. Signing up for the service was quick and easy (although I think the form describing your problems and what you are looking for could allow for more specificity), and I was matched with a counselor not long after. The first counselor I was matched with wasn't very helpful and didn't seem very caring, so I was really doubting whether or not this online counseling service is going to work out. But BetterHelp has a feature to let you discreetly dump your counselor and be assigned to a new one. This is incredibly awesome to have, as the service has a tremendous number of counselors from all over the country with different specialties, so you don't have to be stuck with a counselor that you're not compatible with, you can keep searching for the one that's right for you. I was paired with a new counselor before the end of the day, and she was much more knowledgeable and caring, an all-around wonderful person who genuinely cared about helping me. I would also like to note that both times I was matched with a counselor that worked at an office within a reasonable distance, which is something I assume BetterHelp purposely takes into account, so that it would be possible to make an appointment at the counselor's office if you needed more in-depth counseling.

I am hoping you find my review if you too are here hoping to discover this service is legit, because it is, and I am incredibly happy to be endorsing it because there are so many troubled individuals out there looking for help that aren't seeing a live counselor for any number of reasons - whether you have misgivings about counseling, logistical or medical issues, or simply are too busy for a formal appointment - you'll be able to get help from an actual counselor in the convenience of an e-mail. Even if you have little to no income, the support staff is wonderful to speak with and can work with you and your limited budget to find a reasonable and affordable fee. I wish you happiness and the best of luck!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
August 19, 2016

Andy - thank you so much for your thorough review of our services! We are so pleased that you were able to find a counselor that's a good fit for you. You're right - we have over 2000+ counselors on out network, and you can change counselors at any time. We have help so many people find the help they need - and we're very glad you're one of them!

Your Comment
1 Review

Counseling by shared life experiences

Reviewed By Ron Grable on August 10, 2016

The counselor has been very helpful to me so far. I feel like each day I get a better understanding of things that have been bothering me for some time now. Some are from my own perspective dealing with LGBT life and some are projected on to me by others in the community. My counselor has been helping to see which are the ones I need to change in my own thinking. Encouraging me to find ways to change those things projected onto me by others. I hope that we can continue to work in the manner that we have been. By sharing stories of our lives and experiences I believe that we can.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
August 11, 2016

Hi Ron! Thanks so much for your thoughtful review. We are glad that you have been matched with a counselor who has been so helpful. Our team wishes you well.

Your Comment

Leave a Review