BetterHelp Reviews

About BetterHelp

BetterHelp.com is the online home of BetterHelp, a company who says their goal is to provide their customers with access to quality, professional help when they are facing life's challenges so they can be happier.

The website promises that all the counselors you can be matched with through the BetterHelp website are licensed, board accredited, and qualified with either a PhD or a masters certificate in addition to years of counseling experience. 

How Does It Work?

Customers will sign up for an account and fill out a short questionnaire so you can be matched with a professional counselor who can provide the support and guidance you need. Once you've created your account and been matched with a counselor, you will begin communicating with your counselor via online messages, whenever you need, on your schedule.

Customers can communicate with their counselor on an unlimited basis each week until they feel they have successfully overcome the problem or obstacle they were facing. Customers are welcome to cancel their membership at any time without penalty. 

Cost/Price Plans

Customers can sign up, get matched, and begin speaking to your counselor all for free. Customers who decide to continue with their services will pay a flat fee of $35 per week for unlimited counseling, which gives you the ability to speak to your counselor as much as you need.

Refund Policy

Since BetterHelp allows their customers to pay for services on a week-by-week basis, their website does not detail any overarching or general Refund Policy. Customers who feel they have an issue or complaint that warrants a refund should contact Customer Service and deal with their situation on a case by case basis. 

Customer Service Contact Info

Customers who would like to contact their Customer Service team with questions, concerns, or complaints can do so by submitting them directly to their website through their Contact Us link, by phone at 888-688-9296, or by traditional mail at 440 N. Wolfe Rd, Sunnyvale, CA 94085.

Reputation

The few reviews available for BetterHelp at this time tend to be very positive, and reviewers describe a very professional and beneficial experience which just happens to have the added advantage of being accessible by internet or through your mobile device.

It is still important to understand, however, that BetterHelp does not claim that they are a replacement for professional therapy or counseling. They are an additional or alternative tool that people may use if traditional therapy is difficult to schedule or cost prohibitive, but depending on the issues you are dealing with, you may still be referred to a traditional mental health professional if that's what they feel is best for your needs.  

Is It Safe?

Customers who are concerned with privacy issues are assured by BetterHelp.com that their system is HIPAA compliant to ensure your privacy. They provide banking grade encryption which allows users to be completely anonymous, even to your counselor. 

Competitors and Alternatives?

Online counseling is a fairly new type of service and it doesn't seem as though BetterHelp has many competitors in the market right now.  
    
If you have any experience with this company or their products, please leave your BetterHelp reviews below.

260 ‘BetterHelp’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:
1 Review

Love it

Reviewed By Ana on January 31, 2017

Better help has been amazing and the therapist that has been assigned to me is very helpful and nice. Definitely recommend

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

They just got my money

Reviewed By Michele on January 22, 2017

Well, they say that you have one free week of consultation. I decided to go for it, why not?! After that week though, i decided to cancel my subscription because i never really used the website and any consultancy at all. What did they do? They still got the money off my credit card!
That is so unprofessional and unethical.
I am giving 2 stars, because i am not saying it is a SCAM, i will wait for them to return my money, otherwise i will be back here and will absolutely flag it as a SCAM!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 3 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 14 Comments
BetterHelp Team
January 26, 2017

Hi Michele! It sounds like you already got in touch with our support team from your post here, but we're happy to help do all we can to make this a more positive experience for you, and to help with any billing concerns. The best way to get in touch with our team is to contact us by email at contact@betterhelp.com. Hope you have a great rest of your day!

Beverly Ritchey
January 26, 2017

I totally agree. The same thing happened to me. I cannot afford to be ripped off like that. Do these people have no concience? I was feeling bad enough before, this doesn't help at all.

BetterHelp Team
January 31, 2017

Hi Beverly, we're happy to help resolve any billing concerns you have. The best way to get in touch with our team is to contact us by email at contact@betterhelp.com.

Daniel
February 13, 2017

I have signed for betterhelp.com for free. i liked consultation and i was close to pay money for furthers, but on that week betterhelp started to sned messages to my phone that 100$ and 200$ and 100$ again takeaway from my bank account. in that moment i turnd to my bank to prohibit my card. that was cost me 200$s. After i send message to betterhelp and they told me there wasnt any bank transfer, but the messages were from them. i send them email (betterhelp) to find a solution for my problem but didnt find any. It is really a problem me because 200$s are a lot of money for a young student

BetterHelp Team
February 16, 2017

Hi Daniel, we're happy to help resolve any billing concerns you have. The best way to get in touch with our team is to contact us by email at contact@betterhelp.com.

nik
March 22, 2017

Sorry, I have the same issue- problem is that I don't get any answer on mails!!
I'm tired of paying more for nothing I use, and I will call you, to speak in person with betterhelp.
Michele- did you get your money back?

Michele
March 27, 2017

yes in the end i did, i thought they were not replying to me, but in the end they sent the money back

BetterHelp Team
March 29, 2017

Glad to hear that it all worked out Michele!

Nikola
April 19, 2017

Hi Michele, I'm having the same issue- not using it and already payed 3monthly rates! :(
How did you succeed getting back your money and how much of what you payed did you get back jn thr end?

Nikola
April 19, 2017

Glad to hear that, Michele! How did you succeed getting your money back and how many of the already payed monthly rates did you get back? I'm habing the same problem- 3months already payed! :(

Nikola
April 19, 2017

Oh my god!!! I didn't see I've posted it each time again when I pressed the button "submit"- so sorry!!!

BetterHelp Team
April 26, 2017

Again, just wanting to reach out to everyone here, we're happy to help resolve any billing concerns you have. The best way to get in touch with our team is to contact us by email at contact@betterhelp.com

Michele
April 27, 2017

This reweopedia site is a bit tricky, the ui/ux is not helping and i am not able to modify nor delete my review.

May 02, 2017

Ah that's okay Michele, we understand! Please always feel free to get in touch with us at contact@betterhelp.com if you have any questions about BetterHelp's product or service.

Your Comment
1 Review

Really helpful

Reviewed By Andy on January 19, 2017

I signed for the free trial and was matched with a counselor straight away. I wrote what was on my mind and my counselor always replies quickly. I've tried real life counseling in the past which helped too, but I quite like the way I can put my thoughts together in a message rather than talking. I'm not sure online counseling will work for all but it's definitely helped me.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

Can't delete my account

Reviewed By Bee on January 17, 2017

I subscribed to Better Help out of curiosity and now I would like to delete my account. I can't find a way to do it, even after searching through the whole site.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
January 26, 2017

Hey there! We're happy to help you, the best way to get in touch with our team is to contact us by email at contact@betterhelp.com. Hope you have a great rest of your day!

Your Comment
1 Review

So glad I gave it a try

Reviewed By Juliana on January 11, 2017

For many reasons, I was skeptical about BetterHelp before I tried it. I wasn't sure if it would actually be effective, and I was worried that I might end up wasting money that I could instead be spending on face-to-face sessions. However, being someone who has avoided counseling for years partially because of fear and partially because of my extremely busy schedule, I have benefited greatly from BetterHelp. My counselor sends me multiple messages per day, and I can respond to them as frequently or infrequently as I want. Sometimes I respond immediately, and sometimes I spend time thinking and reflecting on my own before responding, and having that kind of flexibility is so liberating. I get to take my time writing out thoughtful and well-articulated responses to her questions, which enables me to think deeply about whatever issues we're discussing. When I heard about BetterHelp, I was afraid that I would feel like I was talking to a robot, but it hasn't been like that at all. My counselor has a way of projecting sympathy and humanity through her messages. I'm a working student, and BetterHelp is providing me with exactly what I need right now: easy, accessible, affordable therapy that adapts to my schedule and is done discreetly.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment

Leave a Review