BetterHelp Reviews

About BetterHelp

BetterHelp.com is the online home of BetterHelp, a company who says their goal is to provide their customers with access to quality, professional help when they are facing life's challenges so they can be happier.

The website promises that all the counselors you can be matched with through the BetterHelp website are licensed, board accredited, and qualified with either a PhD or a masters certificate in addition to years of counseling experience. 

How Does It Work?

Customers will sign up for an account and fill out a short questionnaire so you can be matched with a professional counselor who can provide the support and guidance you need. Once you've created your account and been matched with a counselor, you will begin communicating with your counselor via online messages, whenever you need, on your schedule.

Customers can communicate with their counselor on an unlimited basis each week until they feel they have successfully overcome the problem or obstacle they were facing. Customers are welcome to cancel their membership at any time without penalty. 

Cost/Price Plans

Customers can sign up, get matched, and begin speaking to your counselor all for free. Customers who decide to continue with their services will pay a flat fee of $35 per week for unlimited counseling, which gives you the ability to speak to your counselor as much as you need.

Refund Policy

Since BetterHelp allows their customers to pay for services on a week-by-week basis, their website does not detail any overarching or general Refund Policy. Customers who feel they have an issue or complaint that warrants a refund should contact Customer Service and deal with their situation on a case by case basis. 

Customer Service Contact Info

Customers who would like to contact their Customer Service team with questions, concerns, or complaints can do so by submitting them directly to their website through their Contact Us link, by phone at 888-688-9296, or by traditional mail at 440 N. Wolfe Rd, Sunnyvale, CA 94085.

Reputation

The few reviews available for BetterHelp at this time tend to be very positive, and reviewers describe a very professional and beneficial experience which just happens to have the added advantage of being accessible by internet or through your mobile device.

It is still important to understand, however, that BetterHelp does not claim that they are a replacement for professional therapy or counseling. They are an additional or alternative tool that people may use if traditional therapy is difficult to schedule or cost prohibitive, but depending on the issues you are dealing with, you may still be referred to a traditional mental health professional if that's what they feel is best for your needs.  

Is It Safe?

Customers who are concerned with privacy issues are assured by BetterHelp.com that their system is HIPAA compliant to ensure your privacy. They provide banking grade encryption which allows users to be completely anonymous, even to your counselor. 

Competitors and Alternatives?

Online counseling is a fairly new type of service and it doesn't seem as though BetterHelp has many competitors in the market right now.  
    
If you have any experience with this company or their products, please leave your BetterHelp reviews below.

255 ‘BetterHelp’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:
1 Review

Above and Beyond

Reviewed By crackerjacks on August 5, 2016

I signed on with BetterHelp to deal with some social anxiety issues, but what I discovered was that I had some seriously deep-rooted problems that I buried in my past. My counsellor managed to pull those things out and help me learn to deal with them so I could move past them and really focus on improving my life from my core. I feel more at peace than I ever have and I've picked up some amazing techniques to help me cope with my triggers. I received the help I needed and more!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
August 19, 2016

HI Crackerjacks! We're glad that you've been able to work through some things with your counselors that have made you feel more at peace in life. It's comforting to know that a BetterHelp counselor has made such a difference in your life. We wish you the best going forward!

Your Comment
1 Review

Wouldn't let me join

Reviewed By Chloe on July 24, 2016

Wouldn't let me join, it said i didn't fit the right descriptions for online counseling, but it gave me no reason why. like WTF? am i just not the right person, not good enough?!?! and then it said "try another site" try another site??? what the hell?
they said online counseling wasn't right for me.........but ive done it before and it was actually really good, so i thought i would try it again, but NO APPARENTLY IM NOT THE RIGHT TYPE OF PERSON FOR THIS PERFECT LITTLE SITE
well thats stupid, bye, im off to warn people about this site
waste.of.time

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 4 Comments
BetterHelp Team
July 25, 2016

Hi Chloe, please understand that online counseling is a very new form of counseling and is not the best solution for everyone. We encourage you to seek alternate assistance that would be more appropriate to your concerns. If you need immediate help please call 1-800-273-TALK (24 hours hotline) or in case of emergency please call 911.

BetterHelp Team
July 25, 2016

You can also check out additional resources here: https://www.betterhelp.com/gethelpnow/

Chloe
August 31, 2016

those are emergency/crisis lines

August 31, 2016

i've actually tried online counseling before, and it helped me a great deal.........so it's a good way for me, don't try to tell me otherwise.........useless site

Your Comment
1 Review

Ebullient over BETTERHELP

Reviewed By Marty on July 23, 2016

E therapy (BETTERHELP) is:

E asy
E ncouraging
E ffortless
E fficient
E ffective
E ducational
E conomical
E xcellent

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
July 25, 2016

Thank you so much for your exceptional (and clever) review Marty! We really do appreciate it.

Your Comment
1 Review

john

Reviewed By john on July 21, 2016

I would like to me a member , but I am not sure because 0f the negative about the service that I have read.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
Chloe
July 24, 2016

dont join

July 25, 2016

Hey John! We're happy to answer any questions you have about BetterHelp before you sign up (or after you sign up), as we're always available for you to get in touch with at contact@betterhelp.com if you have questions.

Your Comment
1 Review

Best option for counseling!

Reviewed By Jen on July 20, 2016

Better Help has been so great! They are very helpful, quick to respond if there are any questions or concerns and most of all they are willing to work with low income which has made this affordable for me. I am so thankful for Better Help, this is PERFECT for the busy person that is always on the go or works a lot. The convenience of being able to sit down and write to your counselor when you have time is so nice, compared to having to drive to an appointment and try to fit that hour in your day for that appointment. I will forever use Better Help! My counselor Kendra Simpson is the absolute best and I've recommended her to quite a few of my friends. VERY affordable and you get much more time (unlimited time) with your counselor than you would with a one hour meeting each week. I love it!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
Jaylina
August 03, 2016

I have been looking into them because it is the best option for me for many reasons. I just can't afford what they are asking because of rent, insurance, and whatever. What do you mean by low income help?

November 02, 2016

Sometimes they are able to offer a discount but you have to ask and show your income and maybe expenses....

Your Comment
1 Review

Just what I needed

Reviewed By Annalee on July 17, 2016

Okay, so let me start this off by saying I can understand how this wouldn't be the best option for everyone. Here are the reasons I'm giving BetterHelp 5 stars.

I've been talking to my counselor for almost a month. I was going to stop at the free trial but I got so much out of that week that I decided to stick with it. The money is quite the chunk out of my paycheck- HOWEVER....there is no "Do these things and I'll see you in a month." like with traditional counseling. I can communicate with my counselor on a daily basis, which is exactly what I need.

At one point, I was dealing with some pretty intense emotions and my counselor responded to me at 2 in the morning to help me through it. That small act showed me how passionate this counselor is about helping others.

I can cancel at any time. There's no huge commitment- just a month-to-month basis. That is one thing you need to know. It may say that it's a certain amount per week, but read the fine print. They will charge you once per month. There won't be any surprises or added stress if you know what to expect.

I can request a different counselor if I ever feel I need to for whatever reason.

I can speak to my counselor from the comfort of my own home.

They sent me a free t-shirt.

I've had huge success in helping myself while having my counselor to communicate with in the process. They do not diagnose, and that's fine- I was diagnosed years ago. I won't go into detail but I have trichotillomania, and this is the longest stretch of time I've gone without pulling my hair out in ten years... It's comforting to know that if I do have a bad day, my counselor is there to help me through it.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
July 19, 2016

Hey Annalee, thank you very much for your kind review! We're glad that our platform and subscription model have allowed you to get the help you were seeking. Sounds like your counselor has been able to make a positive impact on your life, and our team wishes you the very best. Glad you liked the free t-shirt too!

Your Comment
1 Review

Donna Keehn is Keen

Reviewed By GiGi on July 15, 2016

Hi, to the "BetterHelp" Team, on behalf of Donna Keehn: Thank you for those GR8 Accolodes...and yes, I did my research and found them beforehand... but, I, too, [so far] am finding Donna "keen" (haha) in her Craft, although I haven't gotten but one occasion to have received her insightful feedback from our Q's and A's. I'm looking forward to further feedback from her down the road, as our journey develops/as I need a lot of patience along with exceptional expertise in a qualified therapist -and, I feel safe with Donna. I also can say, this new era of "online" counseling/therapy is very interesting; and, I am open to what seems to offer.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
July 19, 2016

Hi GiGi, thank you for your thoughtful review! Our team wishes you the best.

Your Comment
1 Review

Completely corrupt

Reviewed By Laura on July 15, 2016

In a very dark moment of my life, I was looking online for help. The Better Help ad came up, and I clicked it. I'm located in Canada, and the ad was targeted towards me, so I signed up for a trial. I realized that the method didn't really work for me, but because of the stress I was going through at home, I accidentally did not cancel in the free trial timeframe. I did not use any service except one interaction in my free trial period. I was charged $240 Canadian dollars, a heck of a lot more than was advertised. That's when I realized that this is an American company, and I was being charged in US dollars. Not only was my fee for services that were unused, but also it was far, far more money than I realized, and much more than I have for therapy at this time. I asked for a refund, and was only refunded a portion of it. When I inquired why, the company blamed it on the fluctuating dollar. Well, I think that is incredibly deceptive since this company directly targeted me here in Canada, and I had no idea I was being charged in USD. They are extremely unhelpful, suggesting I talk to my bank (???), and saying there is nothing they can do.

Not great for someone already feeling stressed and overwhelmed. Very disappointing from a company who claims its goal is to help people. I don't mind paying for services used, but I didn't use any services, and now I'm being ripped off by a company who tricked me.

What a bait and switch.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 3 Comments
BetterHelp Team
July 19, 2016

Hi Laura, thank you for reviewing Betterhelp. Our support team is happy to address any of your billing concerns, and you can reach out to them at contact@betterhelp.com

Laura
July 21, 2016

I've reached out to them numerous times, as I wrote in my review.

There was no result, and dealing with this just ended up causing me so much stress that I was forced to give up.

Liz
August 25, 2016

This has just happened to me too Laura, I am in UK and was aware it would be $45 a week, so I thought take it week by week to see if it helps, the first day after my trial period and a whole months worth of fees has been taken from my account. No email to ask if I wanted to continue, no warning when I signed up that a full months worth of fees would be taken in one go, the payment options are only there once you are already paid up. I cancelled as I did not want any further payments going out and even though It says I am paid up until 20.09.16, I have no access to my counsellor because I have quit. I am disgusted that they target vulnerable people who are reaching out for help like this! I have emailed them and asked for a full refund and am waiting to hear, so we shall see! They DO NOT make it clear that this is what will happen when you sign up. I expected to pay 1 week and see if I wanted to continue, but to not even be given that option, they are a disgrace. In the time I have had with my counsellor, I could've had that advice from a friend over a cup of tea! I wanted some professional insight! It has put me off counselling for good.

Your Comment
1 Review

Better than In-person

Reviewed By Jennifer on July 14, 2016

We were assigned a counselor who started helping us the same day. By that night we had a loose plan and we are beginning the implementation this week. I really appreciate your team and this online counseling product. It is a much easier and economical way for us to get the help our family needs.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
July 19, 2016

Hey Jennifer, thank you very much for your thoughtful review, and we're so glad that our platform and your counselor have been able to make a positive impact on your life! Our team wishes you the very best.

Your Comment
1 Review

A great resource for people who want help, especially ADHD and anxiety patients.

Reviewed By Mike on July 14, 2016

Personally, I suffer from Attention Deficit Hyperactive Disorder (ADHD) as well as high anxiety. I have a fast-moving brain, which sometimes may have these questions for a therapist, but I find myself unsure of something, and by the time I've met with a therapist a week later, I find myself trying to remember what exactly I was thinking about a few days ago, and having trouble solving that issue.

For people who have trouble overthinking (both hands raised), it's very helpful to have a resource where you get a prompt answer, from someone who is not only keeping your own mental process and personal environment in mind, but also keeps your personal goals for yourself in mind.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
July 19, 2016

Hey Mike, thank you very much for your kind review, and we're so glad that our platform and your counselor have been able to make a positive impact on your life! Our team wishes you the very best.

Your Comment
1 Review

BetterHelp is fantastic

Reviewed By Gracie on July 8, 2016

I would like to add to the positive comments above. I started the one week trial, and was given very clear and realistic guidelines by my assigned counsellor about what to expect.

In that first week, my counsellor and I have some very productive exchanges so I signed up for the yearly subscription (which works out about 1/2 the price of the monthly subscription)

I now message my counsellor from one to three times a week. I am benefitting so much. The writing style of communication is perfect for me, but it might not suit everyone.

Also, they are offering webinars to members now.

BetterHelp is worth every cent. I feel like it is saving my life day by day

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
July 11, 2016

Hey Gracie, thank you very much for your kind review, and we're so glad that you've found a subscription plan and counselor that works for you! Our team wishes you the very best.

Your Comment
1 Review

Credit Card fraud...coincidence?

Reviewed By Trina Carnacke on July 7, 2016

I signed up for a trial of BetterHelp earlier last month. I didn't find it to my liking (didn't seem like I was actually conversing with the person they'd advertised) so I stopped and asked customer service to close my account, which they did.

A few weeks later, a couple dozen fraud alerts showed up on my credit card. They were all charges to iTunes. I never use iTunes.

When I called up Apple support, they said someone had created an account out of California. BetterHelp is also based in California. That could be a coincidence, but I give out my credit card so few times that it raised a lot of red flags (I usually do PayPal, so everything is consolidated, but BetterHelp doesn't give that option).

It should be noted that BetterHelp is just a tech company that happens to partner (allegedly) with licensed mental health professionals. They store all the sensitive data, and that's concerning, considering my experience.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
BetterHelp Team
July 11, 2016

Hi Trina, thanks for taking the time to review us. We're very sorry to hear that you experienced fraudulent charges on your card, but BetterHelp was not involved. For more information about the lengths we go to protect your privacy, please see our FAQ here: www.betterhelp.com/faq?id=17

July 19, 2016

How do you know you were not involved? Did you conduct an investigation? I think not.

Your Comment
1 Review

Excellent

Reviewed By John on July 7, 2016

Can't live without it. I signed up because I was having some issues and now I am so so happy that I did. Worth every penny. If you don't get on well with the counsellor you're assigned you can get a different one until you find one that works for you.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
July 11, 2016

Hey John, thank you very much for your kind review, and we're so glad that you've found a counselor that works for you! And you're definitely correct, we're happy to match our members with another counselor if there first one isn't a great fit. Our team wishes you the very best.

Your Comment
1 Review

Amazing Experience.

Reviewed By Yasmine on July 6, 2016

Very professional service. I was sceptical about how effective BetterHelp would be, but they made the process so easy for me (the app is great!), they're always willing to listen and I was very comfortable saying whatever was on my mind. Feedback and advice was easy to implement, it was explained to me when i didn't fully understand, I never felt judged, my councillor was very open, patient and helpful. I would defiantly recommend BetterHelp to friends & family and people new to counselling that are scared or skeptical.

Thank you:)

P.S. for the people saying it's a scam...maybe they had a different experience than I did, but I wasn't prepared to pay the fees after the trial ended but after my experience I feel it would be worth every penny. I especially appreciated how they were not prolonging the experience just to get me to use their service after the free trial period. Very honest, ethical service.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
BetterHelp Team
July 11, 2016

Hi Yasmine, thank you very much for your kind review, and we're so glad that you've found the app and the service to be so beneficial! Our team wishes you the very best, and thank you for sharing your experience.

August 29, 2016

I was skeptical the site would be useful to me and the issues I am facing. Not only has this been very helpful, but I've found a new hope through the people here as well as a treasure trove of information.
I would recommend this service to anybody.

Your Comment
1 Review

Suspicious

Reviewed By EricT on July 6, 2016

I signed up for a free trial and was assigned a woman, even though I'd asked for a male counselor. Fine. What wasn't fine was the fact that I received two very strange, incoherent gibberish responses from someone claiming to be the counselor.

My suspicion is that this in fact wasn't the counselor at all, but someone they'd outsourced overseas to respond in a scripted manner. However, unlike a script, their replies didn't make sense. It was as if the person on the other end didn't have a grasp of the English language. Periods were in inappropriate areas; there were fragment sentences and, in some cases, the phrases were flat out gibberish.

I voiced my concern on their Facebook page, but instead of addressing my concern, they deleted my comment and blocked me from placing future comments. I had simply written what is stated above.

The final nail in the coffin was when I Googled the counselor's true location and discovered that she didn't have a Ph.D in psychology like BetterHelp.com had claimed. She was a social worker with only a LCSW license. It may me concerned that they had just scraped her information off the Internet, pasted it into their system and then inflated her credentials.

That was the last straw and I cancelled.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
July 11, 2016

Hi Eric, thank you for reviewing Betterhelp. Our support team is happy to address any of your concerns, and you can reach out to them at contact@betterhelp.com

Your Comment
1 Review

Very Helpful. Easy to Use.

Reviewed By Arie on July 6, 2016

I have only been using betterhelp for a little bit, but I've enjoyed it! Sandra, my counselor I got paired with, has been amazing! She's very understanding and asks the right questions to help me understand more. The company itself is great. I got an email from a manager just checking in to make sure I was enjoying it and if I had any questions. I would most definitely refer betterhelp to anyone who has a busy schedule, like myself. It has been so easy and enjoyable to just log on and write back to my counselor whenever, no need for appointments for an amazing service. Keep it up betterhelp!
And thank you!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
July 06, 2016

Thanks so much for your thoughtful review Arie! We appreciate that you took the time to share, and we're glad to hear that working with Sandra has been beneficial so far. We wish you the best!

Your Comment
1 Review

False advertising !!!

Reviewed By Rob L. on July 1, 2016

The website says there is a 7 days trial, so I signed up, a therapist contacted me, asked how he can helps , he asked what is my current problems was and told me be specific, I took all my time wrote out my problems but I waited and waited only to have respond from him said if I wanted a video session ( which is out side of better help's policy, I am sure it would cost some $$$$), He string me along and would not bother give any advice as he focus on starting a phone/video session with me.
This is a scam !!! Total false advertising, you suppose to get a 7days trial to see how you comfortable with the therapist before going further. The therapist didn't even bother give just 1 short advice /comfort just to even make client happy so they can sign up for long term.
So disappointed, I rather pay a little more and get real help than be with this unethical business.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 3 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
July 05, 2016

Hey Rob, we are sorry to hear that you had a negative experience with BetterHelp. Our team is happy to help with any questions regarding your account or your 7 day trial. Please let us know if there's anything we can address specifically by contacting us at contact@betterhelp.com

Your Comment
1 Review

The future of therapy

Reviewed By Sam on June 28, 2016

I've been having in-person therapy sessions for three years now and felt completely stuck. However, now that I have started therapy on Better Help, I have been able to communicate with my therapist in the moment when I'm struggling, instead of having to wait and remember for my appointment the following week. I can message my therapist as my crisis is happening or right after I've had a break thru/panic attack. I love the therapist that I work with. I wish I had found this site a lot sooner!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
July 05, 2016

Thank you so much for taking the time to review BetterHelp. Our team wishes you the absolute best, and hope that working with your counselor and BetterHelp can continue to be a great experience for you Sam!

Your Comment
1 Review

Snowangels48

Reviewed By Laura on June 27, 2016, United States

Betterhelp is the best thing that has happened to me in a long time!! I was hesitant at first, but Andrew's caring, and understanding nature has helped me through some really rough times. Betterhelp is what a lot of people need right now. Keep it up Betterhelp!!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
June 28, 2016

Thank you so much for taking the time to review BetterHelp. Our team wishes you the absolute best, and hope that working with your counselor Andrew and BetterHelp can continue to be a great experience for you Laura!

Your Comment
1 Review

Better in SO MANY ways!

Reviewed By Elle on June 25, 2016, San Diego, CA

Before BetterHelp, I felt stress over getting help to manage my stress.

I knew I needed support, but trying to find a therapist that was affordable, conveniently located, able to fit into into my schedule, and a good match for my needs...it's not easy.

BetterHelp has been amazing. Therapy can be awesome, but it's rarely "convenient" -- BetterHelp has been awesome AND convenient. I've been matched with an incredible counselor who provides immensely valuable insights and resources that truly empower me to meet my goals for personal growth.

Honestly, I was nervous that my issues would be "too much" for online therapy. I kind of held my breath at first, ready to accept if I was told that my concerns were a little too severe for their services. Yet my counselor is extremely skillful and experienced, and I feel very accepted, understood, and supported.

In just a few weeks of using BetterHelp, I find I manage my time differently. I spend more time enjoying my hobbies and taking advantage of personal and professional opportunities to grow, instead of getting stuck on the same issues over and over without anyone to help me break the cycle. My counselor, Donna, has really been instrumental in me getting back on my feet.

BetterHelp is upfront that it is not an appropriate service if you are feeling suicidal or are in immediate danger, and directs the viewer to more appropriate sources.

If you are suicidal or in immediate danger, please call 911 or use a reputable resource, such as LifeLine Crisis Chat at http://www.crisischat.org

For me, the fact that I can write as much as I need and trust my counselor to get to the heart of the matter is absolutely better than I even imagined. I am thoroughly impressed, and extremely thankful!

It's been a long road for me in finding help that works for me. BetterHelp is it.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
June 28, 2016

Our team loved reading your review Elle, and we greatly appreciate that you took the time to write such a thoughtful review! We wish you the absolute best, and hope the your counselor Donna and BetterHelp can continue to be a positive influence in your life!

Your Comment

Leave a Review