BetterHelp Reviews

About BetterHelp

BetterHelp.com is the online home of BetterHelp, a company who says their goal is to provide their customers with access to quality, professional help when they are facing life's challenges so they can be happier.

The website promises that all the counselors you can be matched with through the BetterHelp website are licensed, board accredited, and qualified with either a PhD or a masters certificate in addition to years of counseling experience. 

How Does It Work?

Customers will sign up for an account and fill out a short questionnaire so you can be matched with a professional counselor who can provide the support and guidance you need. Once you've created your account and been matched with a counselor, you will begin communicating with your counselor via online messages, whenever you need, on your schedule.

Customers can communicate with their counselor on an unlimited basis each week until they feel they have successfully overcome the problem or obstacle they were facing. Customers are welcome to cancel their membership at any time without penalty. 

Cost/Price Plans

Customers can sign up, get matched, and begin speaking to your counselor all for free. Customers who decide to continue with their services will pay a flat fee of $35 per week for unlimited counseling, which gives you the ability to speak to your counselor as much as you need.

Refund Policy

Since BetterHelp allows their customers to pay for services on a week-by-week basis, their website does not detail any overarching or general Refund Policy. Customers who feel they have an issue or complaint that warrants a refund should contact Customer Service and deal with their situation on a case by case basis. 

Customer Service Contact Info

Customers who would like to contact their Customer Service team with questions, concerns, or complaints can do so by submitting them directly to their website through their Contact Us link, by phone at 888-688-9296, or by traditional mail at 440 N. Wolfe Rd, Sunnyvale, CA 94085.

Reputation

The few reviews available for BetterHelp at this time tend to be very positive, and reviewers describe a very professional and beneficial experience which just happens to have the added advantage of being accessible by internet or through your mobile device.

It is still important to understand, however, that BetterHelp does not claim that they are a replacement for professional therapy or counseling. They are an additional or alternative tool that people may use if traditional therapy is difficult to schedule or cost prohibitive, but depending on the issues you are dealing with, you may still be referred to a traditional mental health professional if that's what they feel is best for your needs.  

Is It Safe?

Customers who are concerned with privacy issues are assured by BetterHelp.com that their system is HIPAA compliant to ensure your privacy. They provide banking grade encryption which allows users to be completely anonymous, even to your counselor. 

Competitors and Alternatives?

Online counseling is a fairly new type of service and it doesn't seem as though BetterHelp has many competitors in the market right now.  
    
If you have any experience with this company or their products, please leave your BetterHelp reviews below.

243 ‘BetterHelp’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:
1 Review

Excellent

Reviewed By John on July 7, 2016

Can't live without it. I signed up because I was having some issues and now I am so so happy that I did. Worth every penny. If you don't get on well with the counsellor you're assigned you can get a different one until you find one that works for you.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
July 11, 2016

Hey John, thank you very much for your kind review, and we're so glad that you've found a counselor that works for you! And you're definitely correct, we're happy to match our members with another counselor if there first one isn't a great fit. Our team wishes you the very best.

Your Comment
1 Review

Amazing Experience.

Reviewed By Yasmine on July 6, 2016

Very professional service. I was sceptical about how effective BetterHelp would be, but they made the process so easy for me (the app is great!), they're always willing to listen and I was very comfortable saying whatever was on my mind. Feedback and advice was easy to implement, it was explained to me when i didn't fully understand, I never felt judged, my councillor was very open, patient and helpful. I would defiantly recommend BetterHelp to friends & family and people new to counselling that are scared or skeptical.

Thank you:)

P.S. for the people saying it's a scam...maybe they had a different experience than I did, but I wasn't prepared to pay the fees after the trial ended but after my experience I feel it would be worth every penny. I especially appreciated how they were not prolonging the experience just to get me to use their service after the free trial period. Very honest, ethical service.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
BetterHelp Team
July 11, 2016

Hi Yasmine, thank you very much for your kind review, and we're so glad that you've found the app and the service to be so beneficial! Our team wishes you the very best, and thank you for sharing your experience.

August 29, 2016

I was skeptical the site would be useful to me and the issues I am facing. Not only has this been very helpful, but I've found a new hope through the people here as well as a treasure trove of information.
I would recommend this service to anybody.

Your Comment
1 Review

Suspicious

Reviewed By EricT on July 6, 2016

I signed up for a free trial and was assigned a woman, even though I'd asked for a male counselor. Fine. What wasn't fine was the fact that I received two very strange, incoherent gibberish responses from someone claiming to be the counselor.

My suspicion is that this in fact wasn't the counselor at all, but someone they'd outsourced overseas to respond in a scripted manner. However, unlike a script, their replies didn't make sense. It was as if the person on the other end didn't have a grasp of the English language. Periods were in inappropriate areas; there were fragment sentences and, in some cases, the phrases were flat out gibberish.

I voiced my concern on their Facebook page, but instead of addressing my concern, they deleted my comment and blocked me from placing future comments. I had simply written what is stated above.

The final nail in the coffin was when I Googled the counselor's true location and discovered that she didn't have a Ph.D in psychology like BetterHelp.com had claimed. She was a social worker with only a LCSW license. It may me concerned that they had just scraped her information off the Internet, pasted it into their system and then inflated her credentials.

That was the last straw and I cancelled.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
July 11, 2016

Hi Eric, thank you for reviewing Betterhelp. Our support team is happy to address any of your concerns, and you can reach out to them at contact@betterhelp.com

Your Comment
1 Review

Very Helpful. Easy to Use.

Reviewed By Arie on July 6, 2016

I have only been using betterhelp for a little bit, but I've enjoyed it! Sandra, my counselor I got paired with, has been amazing! She's very understanding and asks the right questions to help me understand more. The company itself is great. I got an email from a manager just checking in to make sure I was enjoying it and if I had any questions. I would most definitely refer betterhelp to anyone who has a busy schedule, like myself. It has been so easy and enjoyable to just log on and write back to my counselor whenever, no need for appointments for an amazing service. Keep it up betterhelp!
And thank you!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
July 06, 2016

Thanks so much for your thoughtful review Arie! We appreciate that you took the time to share, and we're glad to hear that working with Sandra has been beneficial so far. We wish you the best!

Your Comment
1 Review

False advertising !!!

Reviewed By Rob L. on July 1, 2016

The website says there is a 7 days trial, so I signed up, a therapist contacted me, asked how he can helps , he asked what is my current problems was and told me be specific, I took all my time wrote out my problems but I waited and waited only to have respond from him said if I wanted a video session ( which is out side of better help's policy, I am sure it would cost some $$$$), He string me along and would not bother give any advice as he focus on starting a phone/video session with me.
This is a scam !!! Total false advertising, you suppose to get a 7days trial to see how you comfortable with the therapist before going further. The therapist didn't even bother give just 1 short advice /comfort just to even make client happy so they can sign up for long term.
So disappointed, I rather pay a little more and get real help than be with this unethical business.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 3 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
July 05, 2016

Hey Rob, we are sorry to hear that you had a negative experience with BetterHelp. Our team is happy to help with any questions regarding your account or your 7 day trial. Please let us know if there's anything we can address specifically by contacting us at contact@betterhelp.com

Your Comment
1 Review

The future of therapy

Reviewed By Sam on June 28, 2016

I've been having in-person therapy sessions for three years now and felt completely stuck. However, now that I have started therapy on Better Help, I have been able to communicate with my therapist in the moment when I'm struggling, instead of having to wait and remember for my appointment the following week. I can message my therapist as my crisis is happening or right after I've had a break thru/panic attack. I love the therapist that I work with. I wish I had found this site a lot sooner!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
July 05, 2016

Thank you so much for taking the time to review BetterHelp. Our team wishes you the absolute best, and hope that working with your counselor and BetterHelp can continue to be a great experience for you Sam!

Your Comment
1 Review

Snowangels48

Reviewed By Laura on June 27, 2016, United States

Betterhelp is the best thing that has happened to me in a long time!! I was hesitant at first, but Andrew's caring, and understanding nature has helped me through some really rough times. Betterhelp is what a lot of people need right now. Keep it up Betterhelp!!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
June 28, 2016

Thank you so much for taking the time to review BetterHelp. Our team wishes you the absolute best, and hope that working with your counselor Andrew and BetterHelp can continue to be a great experience for you Laura!

Your Comment
1 Review

Better in SO MANY ways!

Reviewed By Elle on June 25, 2016, San Diego, CA

Before BetterHelp, I felt stress over getting help to manage my stress.

I knew I needed support, but trying to find a therapist that was affordable, conveniently located, able to fit into into my schedule, and a good match for my needs...it's not easy.

BetterHelp has been amazing. Therapy can be awesome, but it's rarely "convenient" -- BetterHelp has been awesome AND convenient. I've been matched with an incredible counselor who provides immensely valuable insights and resources that truly empower me to meet my goals for personal growth.

Honestly, I was nervous that my issues would be "too much" for online therapy. I kind of held my breath at first, ready to accept if I was told that my concerns were a little too severe for their services. Yet my counselor is extremely skillful and experienced, and I feel very accepted, understood, and supported.

In just a few weeks of using BetterHelp, I find I manage my time differently. I spend more time enjoying my hobbies and taking advantage of personal and professional opportunities to grow, instead of getting stuck on the same issues over and over without anyone to help me break the cycle. My counselor, Donna, has really been instrumental in me getting back on my feet.

BetterHelp is upfront that it is not an appropriate service if you are feeling suicidal or are in immediate danger, and directs the viewer to more appropriate sources.

If you are suicidal or in immediate danger, please call 911 or use a reputable resource, such as LifeLine Crisis Chat at http://www.crisischat.org

For me, the fact that I can write as much as I need and trust my counselor to get to the heart of the matter is absolutely better than I even imagined. I am thoroughly impressed, and extremely thankful!

It's been a long road for me in finding help that works for me. BetterHelp is it.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
June 28, 2016

Our team loved reading your review Elle, and we greatly appreciate that you took the time to write such a thoughtful review! We wish you the absolute best, and hope the your counselor Donna and BetterHelp can continue to be a positive influence in your life!

Your Comment
1 Review

Best thing I ever did!

Reviewed By Farngirl54 on June 20, 2016

I am an abused wife and was an abused daughter. My husband is very controlling and wants to make sure he knows every thing I do. Well I did this after feeling like I was at my end. I didn't have to go anywhere, I didn't have to look into any one's sympathetic eyes. I could just spill my guts and Jessica would respond. She helped me think about my value,( which I have been trained over the years that I have none), that I have a place and should respect myself for who I am and what I have to offer. She is helping me learn to set boundaries on the abuse. I feel safer and stronger and more like living than ever before. It's great to get it out with someone that won't condemn you , but will listen and help.
And if my husband must see what has been said, it's all available to go back and read.
If you are looking for something like this, you have arrived at the right place. Just do it and learn to be healthy and free!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
June 23, 2016

We're so glad to hear that your counselor on BetterHelp has made a positive impact in your life! Thank you so much for sharing, and we wish you the absolute best.

Your Comment
1 Review

Garbage

Reviewed By Mark on June 13, 2016

I signed up for the free trial as a first step to working through my mental health issues. I did the questionnaire and then it asked me to write more stuff to assign me to an appropriate counselor. I poured my heart out for a day and a half and then they just cancel my account out of the blue. I got an email that says that this is not the platform for me and they can't help me and they urge me to seek other forms of help and blah blah blah.

What? I'm not even good enough for a hello? You scumbags.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
BetterHelp Team
June 20, 2016

Hi Mark, we wanted to say that we apologize for any offense or inconvenience, and please keep in mind that online counseling is a very new form of counseling and is not the best solution for everyone. We encourage you to seek alternate assistance which would be more appropriate to your concerns. If you need immediate help please call 1-800-273-TALK (24 hours hotline) or in case of emergency please call 911.

June 20, 2016

Sorry you had a bad experience, I was placed with an excellent counselor and she responded within hours to my first rant. Did you wait until you were assigned a counselor before pouring it all out? I know how easy it is to just keep going , because there is so much bottled up inside and when it starts coming out it almost feels like a volcano erupting. I have been very pleased with the amount of time Jessica has given to reading and responding to me.

Your Comment
1 Review

Therapy Moving Forward for the Busy Life's of Patients

Reviewed By Hayden A on June 6, 2016, Los Angeles, CA

I do like how Sarah and I are working together so far. It's just the beginning but it's is a positive step towards progress.

Today Sarah and I had a live chat session and I can say I don't care to much for the format. There were a few occasion I lost my place when typing, or I'd start typing and it would move to a previously written area.

Maybe having the chat feature work like the messaging area of the app. Where each time you send something you write it creates a new paragraph. Or blurb.

Besides that so far I am getting a lot out of the service.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
June 13, 2016

Hey Hayden, thanks for your thoughts on the live chat format, as we're always looking to improve. Glad to hear that you're enjoying working with your counselor!

Your Comment
1 Review

I love BetterHelp

Reviewed By Liz on June 6, 2016

Betterhelp is a great ecounseling website. I really like that they have the free 7 day trial. It definitely helped me decide that ecounseling is a great way to talk to a professional.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
June 13, 2016

Thanks Liz! Our team appreciates your kind words, and we're glad that you benefited from the free trial and have decided that e-counseling can work for you. Best wishes!

Your Comment
1 Review

Awesome!!!

Reviewed By bilbi on June 6, 2016

The convenience of talking with a therapist just by messaging from the phone can't be matched. The iPhone app works very well too.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
June 13, 2016

So glad to hear that you've enjoyed using our iOS app, and we're glad that you've benefited from the convenience of BetterHelp. Best wishes from our team!

Your Comment
1 Review

Just what I've been looking for!

Reviewed By Trevor on June 3, 2016

I've never been able to keep a regular therapist because I move around so much. With BetterHelp that's no problem. Plus, I personally feel I can communicate my thoughts and feelings much better in this medium than in a face to face setting. And it's much less expensive than traditional therapy! It doesn't hurt that my counselor is very responsive and helpful. Couldn't be happier!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
June 13, 2016

Thanks for your thoughtful review Trevor, and we're glad that you've benefited from BetterHelp, best wishes!

Your Comment
1 Review

Worst service ever

Reviewed By xindie on May 31, 2016

DONT SING UP THIS COMPANY WILL TAKE YOU MONEY THE FIRST WEEK YOU SIGN UP AND IF YOU GIVE THEM A CALL THE ANSWERING CENTER THAT HAS NO ACCESS TO YOUR ACCOUNT WILL HAVE SOMEONE ( NO NAME , TIME) CALL YOU WITHIN 1 BUSINESS DAY. I WAS CHARGED $90 THE FIRST WEEK I TRY USING THE SERVICE.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
June 01, 2016

Hey Xindie, It looks like our team responded to you this afternoon, regarding your 7 day trial and account. Please let us know if there's anything else you need. Thanks!

Your Comment
1 Review

Very Helpful

Reviewed By Deborah on May 25, 2016

As a therapist myself, and as a person who has gone through therapy in traditional settings, I found betterhelp to be a wonderful alternative. I was matched up with a very competent and supportive therapist, who has been a real blessing to me at this time in my life. She has been very good at keeping in touch, very accessible. I also found things moved very efficiently when I signed up.
It is very nice to have someone there you know you can trust to run things by, to assist you with difficult decisions, to help as you sort through goals and changes in your life.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
June 13, 2016

Thank you for your kind review Deborah, and we're so glad that you're enjoying using BetterHelp!

Your Comment
1 Review

Very helpful!!

Reviewed By Stephanie Jones on May 22, 2016

I'm going through a lot of emotional challenges right now. BetterHelp linked me up with a very professional and caring therapist. She is very responsive and helpful. Also, I love the interface for communicating with my therapist.
Thank you BetterHelp!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

Experience with betterhelp please contact me

Reviewed By Shauna on May 18, 2016

HI there, I would ask those of you that are unsatisfied with the service to contact me please. If you are satisfied with the service, I welcome those too. As I would like to know what it is that you like specifically about it, as well as what you do not. I do not work for the company so I am not an employee looking to fix things. I was a client for a brief time actually earlier last year. Tattooedpaws@yahoo.com is my email..thanks!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 13 Comments
bonez
May 21, 2016

This is an email phishing scam. Beware.

bonez
May 21, 2016

The above comment is an email phishing scam (Google it). Beware.

Shauna
May 22, 2016

Get your facts straight. I am looking into class action lawsuit suit. Before you assume, why don't you find out first.

Shauna
May 22, 2016

Typo w lawsuit suit, before you assume auto generated

Shauna
May 22, 2016

It is not phishing scam. Maybe before you assume you know everything, you should find out the information. I am getting unhappy clients together for a possible class action..so..dont accuse people of things you know nothing about.

Shauna
May 22, 2016

Also, how did you google my email and call it phishing scam? I have went on multiple sights to check out reviews from unhappy clients. I have had this email for like 15 years, and there is nothing scam about it...so its interesting where your google comes from. Betterhelp has been long running screwing people over in various ways, looking to put a stop to it. So..Bonez...stop acting like you know everything, because you do not.

smallpet
May 23, 2016

I sent an email about my experience (which is good but not great). I haven't received any response but did get lots of spam over the next following days :-(

Shauna
May 23, 2016

Smallpet, I do check my spam, but I did not see anything from you. I will double check! Thank you for respondingresponding to me and giving me the benefit of the doubt!

Shauna
May 23, 2016

I do not see one smallpet:(

smallpet
May 24, 2016

Email scam x 2

Shauna
May 25, 2016

Smallpet, I have looked for your email and do not see it. Calling me a scam because your email filters isn't correct. Or..my fault..if anyone is so worried about me being a scammer...simply do not reply. I have chatted with people that did respond to me, and can tell I am not an automated robot or anything else. Sjeindiana look it up if all u googlers are so smart.

saluki17
May 27, 2016

"Also, how did you google my email and call it phishing scam? I have went on multiple sights to check out reviews from unhappy clients. I have had this email for like 15 years, and there is nothing scam about it...so its interesting where your google comes from. Betterhelp has been long running screwing people over in various ways, looking to put a stop to it. So..Bonez...stop acting like you know everything, because you do not."

I don't think I would want to be associated with a lawsuit led by someone with such a poor knowledge of the English language!

May 27, 2016

Your opinion, if you do not want anything to do with me or it...move on. I know English just fine. It is really fascinating how someone can come on here and seek help for others and be ridiculed for doing so. If you have questions, ask them. If you are leery of something, fine. To call me phasing scam because some Google result gave you the idea I was, then your Google research is wrong. I have had the same email for over 15 years, I did not just make it up to scam people. As for talking about my English, texting these days sometimes makes it hard to get messages across when you are trying to hurry..etc...so don't come at me like i am stupid and do not know English. If you don't want to contribute to.my post...dont, period.

Your Comment
1 Review

Great Resources

Reviewed By Kat on May 11, 2016

I thought this would not work, online counseling, but it is just as helpful and advance.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
June 27, 2016

I have been with Betterhelp for over 3 months now, and no intentions on stopping it in the near future. I was matched with the perfect therapist, and he communicates several times a day and has really helped me through 2 really rough times in my life. I don't know what I would have done without Andrew.

Your Comment
1 Review

A waste of my time

Reviewed By Peter on May 11, 2016

This site actually did nothing for me - good or bad. I decided to at least try the free time, and signed up. After 5 of the 7 days, BetterHelp had said..... NOTHING. Then, on that evening, I get a note saying 'your account has been deactivated' - not by me, by them.

So just don't use them! You are just wasting your time

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 3 Comments
BetterHelp Team
May 12, 2016

Hey Peter- It looks like our support team reached out to you yesterday via email. Please let us know if you need anything by emailing contact@betterhelp.com. Thanks! BetterHelp Team

Elena
June 01, 2016

you have made three transactions from my bank account amounting to $104.36 with out my permission. On top of that i have a learning disability. I wonder what people will make of that? Burn my bank account details and stay the hell away from my bank account all together. Unless you want to see what happens to thieves.

June 20, 2016

Im betting your first response email was not found by you , maybe went into spam and if you didn't respond to that then they would have figured you weren't interested. I also understand that most of us that are here for help have some big issues, I do and we aren't the easiest people to work with.

Your Comment

Leave a Review