BetterHelp Reviews

About BetterHelp

BetterHelp.com is the online home of BetterHelp, a company who says their goal is to provide their customers with access to quality, professional help when they are facing life's challenges so they can be happier.

The website promises that all the counselors you can be matched with through the BetterHelp website are licensed, board accredited, and qualified with either a PhD or a masters certificate in addition to years of counseling experience. 

How Does It Work?

Customers will sign up for an account and fill out a short questionnaire so you can be matched with a professional counselor who can provide the support and guidance you need. Once you've created your account and been matched with a counselor, you will begin communicating with your counselor via online messages, whenever you need, on your schedule.

Customers can communicate with their counselor on an unlimited basis each week until they feel they have successfully overcome the problem or obstacle they were facing. Customers are welcome to cancel their membership at any time without penalty. 

Cost/Price Plans

Customers can sign up, get matched, and begin speaking to your counselor all for free. Customers who decide to continue with their services will pay a flat fee of $35 per week for unlimited counseling, which gives you the ability to speak to your counselor as much as you need.

Refund Policy

Since BetterHelp allows their customers to pay for services on a week-by-week basis, their website does not detail any overarching or general Refund Policy. Customers who feel they have an issue or complaint that warrants a refund should contact Customer Service and deal with their situation on a case by case basis. 

Customer Service Contact Info

Customers who would like to contact their Customer Service team with questions, concerns, or complaints can do so by submitting them directly to their website through their Contact Us link, by phone at 888-688-9296, or by traditional mail at 440 N. Wolfe Rd, Sunnyvale, CA 94085.

Reputation

The few reviews available for BetterHelp at this time tend to be very positive, and reviewers describe a very professional and beneficial experience which just happens to have the added advantage of being accessible by internet or through your mobile device.

It is still important to understand, however, that BetterHelp does not claim that they are a replacement for professional therapy or counseling. They are an additional or alternative tool that people may use if traditional therapy is difficult to schedule or cost prohibitive, but depending on the issues you are dealing with, you may still be referred to a traditional mental health professional if that's what they feel is best for your needs.  

Is It Safe?

Customers who are concerned with privacy issues are assured by BetterHelp.com that their system is HIPAA compliant to ensure your privacy. They provide banking grade encryption which allows users to be completely anonymous, even to your counselor. 

Competitors and Alternatives?

Online counseling is a fairly new type of service and it doesn't seem as though BetterHelp has many competitors in the market right now.  
    
If you have any experience with this company or their products, please leave your BetterHelp reviews below.

247 ‘BetterHelp’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:
1 Review

Very helpful!!

Reviewed By Stephanie Jones on May 22, 2016

I'm going through a lot of emotional challenges right now. BetterHelp linked me up with a very professional and caring therapist. She is very responsive and helpful. Also, I love the interface for communicating with my therapist.
Thank you BetterHelp!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

Experience with betterhelp please contact me

Reviewed By Shauna on May 18, 2016

HI there, I would ask those of you that are unsatisfied with the service to contact me please. If you are satisfied with the service, I welcome those too. As I would like to know what it is that you like specifically about it, as well as what you do not. I do not work for the company so I am not an employee looking to fix things. I was a client for a brief time actually earlier last year. Tattooedpaws@yahoo.com is my email..thanks!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 13 Comments
bonez
May 21, 2016

This is an email phishing scam. Beware.

bonez
May 21, 2016

The above comment is an email phishing scam (Google it). Beware.

Shauna
May 22, 2016

Get your facts straight. I am looking into class action lawsuit suit. Before you assume, why don't you find out first.

Shauna
May 22, 2016

Typo w lawsuit suit, before you assume auto generated

Shauna
May 22, 2016

It is not phishing scam. Maybe before you assume you know everything, you should find out the information. I am getting unhappy clients together for a possible class action..so..dont accuse people of things you know nothing about.

Shauna
May 22, 2016

Also, how did you google my email and call it phishing scam? I have went on multiple sights to check out reviews from unhappy clients. I have had this email for like 15 years, and there is nothing scam about it...so its interesting where your google comes from. Betterhelp has been long running screwing people over in various ways, looking to put a stop to it. So..Bonez...stop acting like you know everything, because you do not.

smallpet
May 23, 2016

I sent an email about my experience (which is good but not great). I haven't received any response but did get lots of spam over the next following days :-(

Shauna
May 23, 2016

Smallpet, I do check my spam, but I did not see anything from you. I will double check! Thank you for respondingresponding to me and giving me the benefit of the doubt!

Shauna
May 23, 2016

I do not see one smallpet:(

smallpet
May 24, 2016

Email scam x 2

Shauna
May 25, 2016

Smallpet, I have looked for your email and do not see it. Calling me a scam because your email filters isn't correct. Or..my fault..if anyone is so worried about me being a scammer...simply do not reply. I have chatted with people that did respond to me, and can tell I am not an automated robot or anything else. Sjeindiana look it up if all u googlers are so smart.

saluki17
May 27, 2016

"Also, how did you google my email and call it phishing scam? I have went on multiple sights to check out reviews from unhappy clients. I have had this email for like 15 years, and there is nothing scam about it...so its interesting where your google comes from. Betterhelp has been long running screwing people over in various ways, looking to put a stop to it. So..Bonez...stop acting like you know everything, because you do not."

I don't think I would want to be associated with a lawsuit led by someone with such a poor knowledge of the English language!

May 27, 2016

Your opinion, if you do not want anything to do with me or it...move on. I know English just fine. It is really fascinating how someone can come on here and seek help for others and be ridiculed for doing so. If you have questions, ask them. If you are leery of something, fine. To call me phasing scam because some Google result gave you the idea I was, then your Google research is wrong. I have had the same email for over 15 years, I did not just make it up to scam people. As for talking about my English, texting these days sometimes makes it hard to get messages across when you are trying to hurry..etc...so don't come at me like i am stupid and do not know English. If you don't want to contribute to.my post...dont, period.

Your Comment
1 Review

Great Resources

Reviewed By Kat on May 11, 2016

I thought this would not work, online counseling, but it is just as helpful and advance.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
June 27, 2016

I have been with Betterhelp for over 3 months now, and no intentions on stopping it in the near future. I was matched with the perfect therapist, and he communicates several times a day and has really helped me through 2 really rough times in my life. I don't know what I would have done without Andrew.

Your Comment
1 Review

A waste of my time

Reviewed By Peter on May 11, 2016

This site actually did nothing for me - good or bad. I decided to at least try the free time, and signed up. After 5 of the 7 days, BetterHelp had said..... NOTHING. Then, on that evening, I get a note saying 'your account has been deactivated' - not by me, by them.

So just don't use them! You are just wasting your time

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 3 Comments
BetterHelp Team
May 12, 2016

Hey Peter- It looks like our support team reached out to you yesterday via email. Please let us know if you need anything by emailing contact@betterhelp.com. Thanks! BetterHelp Team

Elena
June 01, 2016

you have made three transactions from my bank account amounting to $104.36 with out my permission. On top of that i have a learning disability. I wonder what people will make of that? Burn my bank account details and stay the hell away from my bank account all together. Unless you want to see what happens to thieves.

June 20, 2016

Im betting your first response email was not found by you , maybe went into spam and if you didn't respond to that then they would have figured you weren't interested. I also understand that most of us that are here for help have some big issues, I do and we aren't the easiest people to work with.

Your Comment
1 Review

Great App!

Reviewed By Michael Pradith on May 10, 2016

I'm very surprised to see these other comments that they were getting charged before their trial was up. I didn't get charged until the 9-10th day (Probably because the weekend idk). This was my first time seeking therapy, so I was a little apprehensive when someone close to me suggested trying this. The person they connected me with has made a huge difference already. I really appreciate what it is they all do for people in need of help. I have no complaints or concerns at the moment.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
June 20, 2016

I fully agree!

Your Comment
1 Review

A blessing

Reviewed By Reen on April 28, 2016

Betterhelp is a wonderful service. I have been having a really hard time and feel so alone no one to talk to. I have try face to face therapy before and I can't open up to them. My therapist told me I avoid everything and therapy not for everyone. Well I have been working with a therapist here on better-help for a little over two weeks and I been able to say a lot. This Service has been a blessing to me. I can send messages anytime I want how many I want and she responses every day except weekend but I get that. I love you don't have to wait to say what's going on inside. Also there is someone that cares and hearing what you have to say. The only thing that is a little hard for me is when you don't see the person or can't here there voices it's hard to know exactly what there meaning sometime. But other then that this service is amazing. It is helping me change the way I think and handle my problems so I can continue living my life. Thanks betterhelp!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
June 20, 2016

I fully agree with you Reen!

Your Comment
1 Review

Great Help!

Reviewed By Dan on April 27, 2016

BetterHelp has been great. I'm so glad I decided to seek online counseling. At first I wasn't sure it would work like in person does, but it really does if you need someone to listen (or read, in this case), and want to be able to communicate with them at various times throughout the day or week. Couldn't be more satisfied!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

Helpful Service Available Every Day

Reviewed By Ashley Evans on April 25, 2016

This service has been very helpful in sorting out my thoughts and issues. It feels good to know I have someone to chat with about my feelings any day of the week. For me it works much better than weekly in-person counseling because I don't have to wait for the appointment before I can talk through things.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
June 20, 2016

Yes I like just being able to come to the computer and write out what is troubling me instead of having to wait for an appt

Your Comment
1 Review

Bad Reputation = No Business

Reviewed By Adam on April 25, 2016

I just want to say, I was about 5 seconds away from signing up for a "free" 7-day trial, but after reading these reviews, I decided not to. I did see all the ones saying it's a good service, and I really do believe them. Online counseling would be perfect for me, however, it's disconcerting to see all of these instances of shameless money grabs. My job only provides me with a small income, and while I could afford to pay $45 a week, I can't afford to have somebody taking money out of my bank account without notifying me of the transaction date beforehand. It's a shame that even though this may not be the norm, there are enough of those kind of reviews to make me not want to take the chance. Go ahead and comment on this with your generic customer support answer, but I suggest you guys actually take a good look at your business practices. Maybe you would end up making more money from people like me who can't afford to be financially preyed upon.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 5 Comments
BetterHelp Team
April 26, 2016

Thanks for your feedback, Adam. I can assure you that we are not in the business of money grabbing. If you ever decide to give us a try and run into any issues, please contact our support team. Our team is dedicated to helping any customer have a positive experience with us. Any feedback we receive, good or bad, is used to help shape our business practices. Thanks again, Adam. Have a good one!

Ashley
May 03, 2016

You can get a discounted price as well by entering in your income.

Adam
May 03, 2016

That's exactly it though. I shouldn't have to be reassured that I can get refunded if you wrongly take my money. I should be reassured that you wouldn't be wrongly taking my money in the first place. If I ran you over and then paid for your hospital bills, that doesn't change the fact that I ran you over in the first place.

BetterHelp Team
May 12, 2016

Hey Adam -- All charge dates are well documented on everyone's account. Like most people, we forget or overlook things sometimes; That is human nature. Our support team is here to make it right and ensure a positive experience. Again, if you decide to try us out and run into any issues, let us know by emailing contact@betterhelp.com. Thanks! BetterHelp Team

June 20, 2016

I have not been scammed, it has really helped me. I think the ones that feel scammed, didn't understand or didn't communicate well on the finance end.

Your Comment
1 Review

scammed

Reviewed By JEANA SILLIMAN on April 21, 2016

this company is not a legitimate company with clients well being in mind. They scammed me out of $140 even though I cancelled during my trial period. My account is now overdrawn due to the fact that they took money and I never received any counseling, emails or phone calls. I am seriously disgusted with them and think they should do the right thing and fix this. WHAT A SCAM. Do not trust them. I called Tuesday and was told I would get an email with confirmation and called today 6 times and was hung up by the "answering service" 2x. This is a joke,, please if you need help find a legit company and don't sign up for this at all

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 3 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 5 Comments
JEANA SILLIMAN
April 21, 2016

I didn't receive any counseling and now they want to prorate my refund. DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY

BetterHelp Team
April 21, 2016

Hi Jeana, It looks like our support team reached out on Tuesday, as well as earlier today regarding your account. Please check your email and let us know if there is anything else we can do. Thanks! BetterHelp Team

BetterHelp Team
May 12, 2016

Hey Jeana - Just wanted to be sure that our team was able to solve any issues you had. Please let us know! BetterHelp Team

xindie
May 31, 2016

YES SAME THING HAPPEN TO ME. DONT EVEN WASTE YOUR TIME.
THEY TOOK MY MONEY NOT EVEN COMPLETED MY TRIAL PERIOD.
I GOT SOME VERY RUDE ANSWERS FROM THE ANSWERING SERVICE.
EVEN THE SUPERVISOR. I EVEN WAS SUPPOSED TO GET THE 50% OFF

June 20, 2016

I was not scammed, I was helped. Probably saved my life.

Your Comment
1 Review

Great Service

Reviewed By Ben on April 18, 2016

I have been using the Better Help service for just under a week and already feeling better about myself. My counsellor is very kind and has given me helpful suggestions and ideas and is also very quick at responding, especially at weekends. I will continue using the service. Highly recommended.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

Free trial still got charged

Reviewed By Jacron on April 16, 2016

I signed up for Betterhelp on their free trial. One of my first questions to their counselor was around their fees - they are expensive, and counseling isn't great if puts you into financial difficulty. He wasn't able to help me, so I cancelled my trial - but I still got billed! I wouldn't trust them again.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 5 Comments
BetterHelp Team
April 19, 2016

Hi Jacron, Please email contact@betterhelp.com to get this sorted out by our support team. We are here to help!
BetterHelp Team

Jacron
April 20, 2016

Fair enough, you guys did help me out, thank you. I think this wasn't the solution for me then, the one star is a little unfair as I don't really have anything else to say one way or the other.

John. C
May 27, 2016

Did you get your refund? Because this just happen to me, I canceled my trial 6 days before it ended and I got charged $280. I emailed them, waiting for their response. Let me tell you, If I don't get my refund I will take legal actions. We cant let these companies take advantage on people with mental disorders.

xindie
May 31, 2016

SAME ISSUE HERE GOT CHARGED ON MY TRIAL. THIS COMPANY IS SCAM. HOW ABOUT PEOPLE THAT DONT EVEN NOTICE. IF IT WAS $20 ETC BUT I MEAN THESE ARE GOOD AMOUNT OF MONEY.

June 20, 2016

Compared to in office appts, this service is cheap. For the amount of time I have already bent my counselors ear in reading and responding, I would have needed months of appts and that would be way more than this and not as fast and responsive.

Your Comment
5 Reviews

A solid alternative... for some

Reviewed By Jimmy on April 12, 2016

Betterhelp offers an interesting spin on the process of talk therapy, convenience and privacy being its true strong points. Talking to a therapist in person can be very unnerving to introverts or sufferers of social anxiety, so Betterhelp's ability to separate the direct human contact is definitely refreshing.

Another key point is the treatment options. You can have live online chats with your therapist, talk on the phone, or simply message each other back in forth in a manner not unlike e-mail. The only problem there is scheduling conflicts: therapists are busy people, typically with lots of patients, so sometimes getting a session in when you really need it can be a challenge.

I personally did not get much out of Betterhelp, but I still believe it to be a viable option worth considering. Trouble is, I can't really pinpoint why Betterhelp didn't work for me. I was okay with the lack of human contact, and my therapist (who was great) got back to me frequently enough to suit me. The prices are very fair, too. But again, don't let this stop you. There is a goldmine of potential in that website. You may find the difference in perspective and approach to be refreshing. I recommend giving it a week or two - dip your toe in the pool and test the waters yourself.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

Perfect for my introvert self!

Reviewed By Gypsygirl on April 12, 2016

This form of counseling has worked perfectly for my personality type. I was a bit skeptical at first, wondering who I would be matched with, and the first counselor was a bomb (in a negative way!). But, the great news is that changing was so easy and simple. My next counselor has provided amazing professional advice and encouragement along my journey. He responds quickly and throughly. I have time to think through my questions and feelings, in the privacy of my own home. When I need to cry for an hour, I don't feel like I am waisting an entire session like face to face sessions! Plus, I am free to communicate on my own schedule. Since I live outside the US and travel to over 10 countries a year, scheduling a 'counseling session' can be difficult. But now it works great. I have found a wonderful fit with BetterHelp.com and Matthew Eubanks.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

Really Life Changing Therapy (in my experience)

Reviewed By Mary on April 11, 2016

I had a genuinely wonderful experience with BetterHelp, and recommend the service to anyone who wants quick, confidential therapy no matter where they are. Whenever I had a bad day or setback, I could email my therapist and she would know just what to say to help me get back into a better mindset, or think about the problem in a new way.

I experienced tremendous growth in my 1+ year with the service, and I would come back again if I need help in future. The big thing I wanted out of BetterHelp was to mend some old wounds with my therapy and learn to communicate with them again, and with much work on my part, I have re-built the relationship! If you are honest with your therapist & work hard to put their advice into practice, you can see great breakthroughs and tips to learn and grow as a person and find peace.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

fair and trustworthy

Reviewed By Martin Lukas on April 8, 2016

I used Betterhelp just for one month. During that time I had the chance to talk to an experienced psychotherapist. I found my therapist very qualified, friendly and honest. He always responded very quickly. It was as helpful as online consulting can get. Of course, there are limits to it. But one of the advantages to a face-to-face sessions are that you can better think through what you write. This helped me think more clearly and objectively about what was happening on my mind.
Another great think about Betterhelp is that it is quite affordable and very convenient. You get a fast help without having to go anywhere. Its a great first help if you think you feel you´re not able to handle your situation.
What helped me in the end was something else (vipassana meditation), but Betterhelp was a good starting point. It helped me to define the problem, get an idea how serious it is and what can you do to minimize the effects. Also, the very feeling that you are doing something about it, is helpful by itself.

I found the terms of use fair and pretty strightforward.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

Caring, Compassionate and Understanding Therapist

Reviewed By Marian on April 8, 2016

Yes, I would like to share with others about BetterHelp, which is an online counseling service. BetterHelp has literally helped me in so many positive ways even when the flashbacks and memories of losing my beloved husband to a botched much went sour. It use to be difficult, scary and totally embarrassing talking about losing Samuel even after almost sixteen years of losing him on my actual birthday.

I would recommend BetterHelp to others especially individuals, who do not have either the health insurance or financial resources to see an outside therapist on a regular basis. I know with the BetterHelp online counseling services you can pick out a therapist, who you feel that will relate better with your situation. If you do not feel comfortable with your online therapist you (the receiver of services) have the option of switching to see if him or her will work better with you.

BetterHelp even has an option within their services to provide financial assistance to individuals on a case by case basis. I am receiving financial assistance but without it I wouldn't be able to express self to Katie, my online therapist, for over one year. I did have to take a little break because of my physical health and losing full-time job but I felt comfortable coming right back to where we both left off.

I hope you will give BetterHelp a try and if you do not like it do not feel ashamed to ask questions or switch therapist to get what you need to start making healthy changes in your life. Thanks BetterHelp for not giving up on me and especially Katie J. for making me feel much better about self after losing my husband.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

Help with a convenience factor!

Reviewed By Danielle on April 8, 2016

I couldn't be happier with this site, as well as my personal counselor. I love how convenient betterhelp.com is. I have been able to seek help from a counselor on my time when I am available. It's done through a message board, so I can also go back and see what we have talked about. There is an option for live chats and phone calls as well. The first one of the month is free, and the rest are for a small charge. I have only used the live chat function once, and liked it, but honestly, my needs have always been met just through the message board. I would definitely recommend this site, especially to those who have busy schedules, and just need some help...

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

Amazing

Reviewed By Jose Maldo on April 8, 2016

I am going through a hard time right now and I found help through betterhelp.com Samantha Ruth has helped me though the toughest time in my life. I honestly don't know I would be adjusting without her help! Thank you so much!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

Outstanding service!

Reviewed By Cynthia on April 8, 2016

I have been quite satisfied with this service and my counselor. In fact, I was surprised to find that it really has helped me more than in-person therapy. Being able to clearly write about my concerns and feelings and receive a written response has been very helpful. I have made significant progress and, in fact, I have come completely out of a daunting months-long depression as a result of my relationship with my counselor and our work together. On top of that, I don't have to wait a week to have contact with my counselor and can message her at any time, and her responses are helpful as well as timely. I just cannot say enough about how wonderful my experience has been with BetterHelp and my counselor Patricia Corlew. As for the cost, it is the best money I have spent! Thank you, BetterHelp! Cynthia

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment

Leave a Review