BetterHelp Reviews

About BetterHelp

BetterHelp.com is the online home of BetterHelp, a company who says their goal is to provide their customers with access to quality, professional help when they are facing life's challenges so they can be happier.

The website promises that all the counselors you can be matched with through the BetterHelp website are licensed, board accredited, and qualified with either a PhD or a masters certificate in addition to years of counseling experience. 

How Does It Work?

Customers will sign up for an account and fill out a short questionnaire so you can be matched with a professional counselor who can provide the support and guidance you need. Once you've created your account and been matched with a counselor, you will begin communicating with your counselor via online messages, whenever you need, on your schedule.

Customers can communicate with their counselor on an unlimited basis each week until they feel they have successfully overcome the problem or obstacle they were facing. Customers are welcome to cancel their membership at any time without penalty. 

Cost/Price Plans

Customers can sign up, get matched, and begin speaking to your counselor all for free. Customers who decide to continue with their services will pay a flat fee of $35 per week for unlimited counseling, which gives you the ability to speak to your counselor as much as you need.

Refund Policy

Since BetterHelp allows their customers to pay for services on a week-by-week basis, their website does not detail any overarching or general Refund Policy. Customers who feel they have an issue or complaint that warrants a refund should contact Customer Service and deal with their situation on a case by case basis. 

Customer Service Contact Info

Customers who would like to contact their Customer Service team with questions, concerns, or complaints can do so by submitting them directly to their website through their Contact Us link, by phone at 888-688-9296, or by traditional mail at 440 N. Wolfe Rd, Sunnyvale, CA 94085.

Reputation

The few reviews available for BetterHelp at this time tend to be very positive, and reviewers describe a very professional and beneficial experience which just happens to have the added advantage of being accessible by internet or through your mobile device.

It is still important to understand, however, that BetterHelp does not claim that they are a replacement for professional therapy or counseling. They are an additional or alternative tool that people may use if traditional therapy is difficult to schedule or cost prohibitive, but depending on the issues you are dealing with, you may still be referred to a traditional mental health professional if that's what they feel is best for your needs.  

Is It Safe?

Customers who are concerned with privacy issues are assured by BetterHelp.com that their system is HIPAA compliant to ensure your privacy. They provide banking grade encryption which allows users to be completely anonymous, even to your counselor. 

Competitors and Alternatives?

Online counseling is a fairly new type of service and it doesn't seem as though BetterHelp has many competitors in the market right now.  
    
If you have any experience with this company or their products, please leave your BetterHelp reviews below.

260 ‘BetterHelp’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:
1 Review

Sympathy, not substance

Reviewed By FMC on January 11, 2017

I wanted a counsellor who could argue back with me about certain philosophical and emotional beliefs that I have. I felt depressed and hated myself because of them. Sadly, although my counsellor tried to help, all she really did was assert that "It's not your fault" and say she was sorry for me. I didn't need sympathy, I needed an explanation and I didn't get it.

I should admit that, given time, my counsellor may have improved. We talked a lot in the space of a week but I then cancelled my subscription. This is because EVEN THOUGH IT IS CHEAPER THAN NORMAL COUNSELLING, IT STILL COST MY ENTIRE WEEKLY BUDGET AS A STUDENT. What I also found very disappointing is that they did not notify me until they had already started charging me (after a trial); this means I have no money for food this week.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
January 17, 2017

Hey there! So sorry to hear your experience with your counselor on BetterHelp didn't meet your needs. We're happy to help do all we can to make this a more positive experience for you, and to help with any billing concerns. The best way to get in touch with our team is to contact us by email at contact@betterhelp.com. Hope you have a great rest of your day!

Your Comment
1 Review

Very helpful

Reviewed By may on January 10, 2017

Helpful when you feel like you need to talk to someone and get an objective reply. You get advise from an expert, and you have the conversations saved to refer to whenever you need. I will definitely use it again.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

Beyond amazing 100% NOT a scam (The only people who think it is are ones who would provide their credit card info, and click agree and accept on a lot of things without actually reading a word)

Reviewed By Shannon on January 9, 2017

This site is amazing, and I truly hope you will read my review in full if you are considering signing up, because there are a lot of negative reviews by people who were too lazy to read what they were agreeing to, and then complain after the fact.

First of all, my counselor Erin is fantastic, I signed up for the free trial figuring what do I have to lose, and haven't regretted it for a second. As someone with anxiety, it's been hard for me to get help because I can't stand the thought of actually talking to someone or seeing them in person. I've tried, it just makes things worse.. So for me, having the online interaction is perfect, especially since I can communicate my thoughts easier through written word. Erin has been very kind and understanding and is genuinely providing me with a lot of help and support and is giving me the tools I need to get better. Based on the therapy alone I would give this 5 stars.

NOW, for all those negative reviews you see by people butt hurt at the cost. They either are used to just clicking "accept" without reading, have a short attention span, or simply like to selectively forget things and then complain about it trying to bring down a company that's done so much good.

I signed up for the free trial.. I had to accept when they asked if I was sure that by signing up for the free trial, I agree that unless I cancel, my card will be charged once my free trial has ended. They then break down that it is 45$ / week, and you will be billed monthly for a total of 180$. Simple as that they laid it all out there for you, and you have to accept. It's not hidden in a long drawn out terms of service type blurb.. It's a short section basically saying DUDE ARE YOU SURE BECAUSE THIS IS WHAT WE WILL DO, ONLY CLICK YES IF YOU AGREE. There is zero sketch factor in that. They ALSO tell you exactly how to cancel, and where to click, if you wish to cancel your membership at any time. AND when they ask for your credit card info, they explain that this is done to help avoid people signing up for free trials and clogging up the system with people who will just keep making fake email addresses for more free trials since they do need to pay their counselors and this is not a free service. THEY FREAKING EXPLAIN WHY THEY NEED YOUR CREDIT CARD.. AND THEN ALSO TELL YOU AGAIN THAT YOUR CARD WILL BE CHARGED THE FIRST DAY AFTER YOUR FREE TRIAL ENDS UNLESS YOU CANCEL.

So you see, nothing sketchy.. and those negative reviews you see, are by people who clearly have nothing better to do then to try and damage a good organizations reputation.

Heck, I even got an email a few days into my free trial to ask how things were going, and again was told how to unsubscribe if I wasn't happy with their services, and if there was anything they could do better in the future. Does that sound sketchy to you? Heck no!

Anyways, I've had a wonderful experience so far, it is WELL worth the 180$/month to have unlimited online access to my counselor. For me, it is perfect.

This service won't be for everyone, if you want someone who will respond within 5 mins of your messaging them, or want extreme one on one attention, you should probably find a shrink nearby that you can see in person as a regular patient. However, if you are like me and simply want someone to talk to, that can provide you with some help, teach you coping skills, and be there on a daily basis, this is a great place to go. I highly recommend and hope that everyone considering joining give this a shot.. Be sure to read everything they say, and if you agree with their terms, then try it out. Don't blindly say yes, give your credit card info, and then be upset when they charge your card.

-S

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 4 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
Mariety
May 05, 2017

Hi! Thank you this was very helpful. Are you still using betterhelp?

May 19, 2017

Hi :)

I am not currently using Better Help. My counselor helped me so much, and I will resume my subscription if ever I'm feeling myself slipping. They gave me the tools I needed to get better and I'm so grateful.

Your Comment
1 Review

Great, I LOVE it!

Reviewed By Cassandra on December 31, 2016

I've been using betterhelp for just over a month and so far I would totally recommend it. My therapist, Dr. Katie Cowan, is so awesome!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

Helpful and convenient

Reviewed By Francesco on December 30, 2016

Being extremely shy I was never able to contact a therapist, but when I found out about BetterHelp I gave it a try, and I could not be happier! Talking about my problems with someone that can listen and give me advice has helped me greatly, and being able to write to my counselor whenever I need to, without needing to set up appointments, is incredibly convenient.
The first week is free so I I recommend you to give it a try!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment

Leave a Review