BetterHelp Reviews

About BetterHelp

BetterHelp.com is the online home of BetterHelp, a company who says their goal is to provide their customers with access to quality, professional help when they are facing life's challenges so they can be happier.

The website promises that all the counselors you can be matched with through the BetterHelp website are licensed, board accredited, and qualified with either a PhD or a masters certificate in addition to years of counseling experience. 

How Does It Work?

Customers will sign up for an account and fill out a short questionnaire so you can be matched with a professional counselor who can provide the support and guidance you need. Once you've created your account and been matched with a counselor, you will begin communicating with your counselor via online messages, whenever you need, on your schedule.

Customers can communicate with their counselor on an unlimited basis each week until they feel they have successfully overcome the problem or obstacle they were facing. Customers are welcome to cancel their membership at any time without penalty. 

Cost/Price Plans

Customers can sign up, get matched, and begin speaking to your counselor all for free. Customers who decide to continue with their services will pay a flat fee of $35 per week for unlimited counseling, which gives you the ability to speak to your counselor as much as you need.

Refund Policy

Since BetterHelp allows their customers to pay for services on a week-by-week basis, their website does not detail any overarching or general Refund Policy. Customers who feel they have an issue or complaint that warrants a refund should contact Customer Service and deal with their situation on a case by case basis. 

Customer Service Contact Info

Customers who would like to contact their Customer Service team with questions, concerns, or complaints can do so by submitting them directly to their website through their Contact Us link, by phone at 888-688-9296, or by traditional mail at 440 N. Wolfe Rd, Sunnyvale, CA 94085.

Reputation

The few reviews available for BetterHelp at this time tend to be very positive, and reviewers describe a very professional and beneficial experience which just happens to have the added advantage of being accessible by internet or through your mobile device.

It is still important to understand, however, that BetterHelp does not claim that they are a replacement for professional therapy or counseling. They are an additional or alternative tool that people may use if traditional therapy is difficult to schedule or cost prohibitive, but depending on the issues you are dealing with, you may still be referred to a traditional mental health professional if that's what they feel is best for your needs.  

Is It Safe?

Customers who are concerned with privacy issues are assured by BetterHelp.com that their system is HIPAA compliant to ensure your privacy. They provide banking grade encryption which allows users to be completely anonymous, even to your counselor. 

Competitors and Alternatives?

Online counseling is a fairly new type of service and it doesn't seem as though BetterHelp has many competitors in the market right now.  
    
If you have any experience with this company or their products, please leave your BetterHelp reviews below.

263 ‘BetterHelp’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:
1 Review

Really helpful

Reviewed By Andy on January 19, 2017

I signed for the free trial and was matched with a counselor straight away. I wrote what was on my mind and my counselor always replies quickly. I've tried real life counseling in the past which helped too, but I quite like the way I can put my thoughts together in a message rather than talking. I'm not sure online counseling will work for all but it's definitely helped me.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

Can't delete my account

Reviewed By Bee on January 17, 2017

I subscribed to Better Help out of curiosity and now I would like to delete my account. I can't find a way to do it, even after searching through the whole site.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
January 26, 2017

Hey there! We're happy to help you, the best way to get in touch with our team is to contact us by email at contact@betterhelp.com. Hope you have a great rest of your day!

Your Comment
1 Review

So glad I gave it a try

Reviewed By Juliana on January 11, 2017

For many reasons, I was skeptical about BetterHelp before I tried it. I wasn't sure if it would actually be effective, and I was worried that I might end up wasting money that I could instead be spending on face-to-face sessions. However, being someone who has avoided counseling for years partially because of fear and partially because of my extremely busy schedule, I have benefited greatly from BetterHelp. My counselor sends me multiple messages per day, and I can respond to them as frequently or infrequently as I want. Sometimes I respond immediately, and sometimes I spend time thinking and reflecting on my own before responding, and having that kind of flexibility is so liberating. I get to take my time writing out thoughtful and well-articulated responses to her questions, which enables me to think deeply about whatever issues we're discussing. When I heard about BetterHelp, I was afraid that I would feel like I was talking to a robot, but it hasn't been like that at all. My counselor has a way of projecting sympathy and humanity through her messages. I'm a working student, and BetterHelp is providing me with exactly what I need right now: easy, accessible, affordable therapy that adapts to my schedule and is done discreetly.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

Sympathy, not substance

Reviewed By FMC on January 11, 2017

I wanted a counsellor who could argue back with me about certain philosophical and emotional beliefs that I have. I felt depressed and hated myself because of them. Sadly, although my counsellor tried to help, all she really did was assert that "It's not your fault" and say she was sorry for me. I didn't need sympathy, I needed an explanation and I didn't get it.

I should admit that, given time, my counsellor may have improved. We talked a lot in the space of a week but I then cancelled my subscription. This is because EVEN THOUGH IT IS CHEAPER THAN NORMAL COUNSELLING, IT STILL COST MY ENTIRE WEEKLY BUDGET AS A STUDENT. What I also found very disappointing is that they did not notify me until they had already started charging me (after a trial); this means I have no money for food this week.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
January 17, 2017

Hey there! So sorry to hear your experience with your counselor on BetterHelp didn't meet your needs. We're happy to help do all we can to make this a more positive experience for you, and to help with any billing concerns. The best way to get in touch with our team is to contact us by email at contact@betterhelp.com. Hope you have a great rest of your day!

Your Comment
1 Review

Very helpful

Reviewed By may on January 10, 2017

Helpful when you feel like you need to talk to someone and get an objective reply. You get advise from an expert, and you have the conversations saved to refer to whenever you need. I will definitely use it again.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment

Leave a Review