Curio Kennel Reviews

Curio Kennel
Based on 11 Reviews
Review It
11 ‘Curio Kennel’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:
1 Review

Terrible Business

Reviewed By Tanner Fry on October 10, 2014, North Hollywood, California

I would also recommend finding another breeder. Liz is very tentative while showing interest in her puppies, but does a fine job of dancing around any important questions regarding the pups health before she received payment and books the dog's flight. Once the dog's paid for/shipped and in your hands, you won't get her 10 minute e-mail response time, but instead, you'll have a sick pup in hand with questions going unanswered for 24-48 hours. She also refuses to help with any vet bill that may come with getting the sick pup she sent to you, healthy. My specific review of this breeder is because of our story that follows -

On August 16th, 2014, I had purchased a miniature shar pei puppy from Curio Kennel, and my sister and I were picking her up from the airport. When we pulled her out of the crate she was shipped in, her eyes were caked over with mucous/dried eye boogers. Her flight from Florida to Los Angeles had been delayed 2 hours, so she spent a 12 hours sedated. She also had a VERY nasally sound to her breathing, but again, I thought she probably had a lot of snot/boogers from being knocked out for so long; I figured because she had such a long trip, it was probably very hard on a little pup at just 10 weeks old.

We kept a close eye on her through the night, and into the next day. That next evening, I noticed an "eye booger" looking thing on her butt, and figured it was from our other male shar pei (who's 3 years old) playing with her. I wiped the "eye booger" off with a piece of toilet paper, and I realized it was MOVING on the toilet paper. It was very obvious it was some kind of worm, most likely tapeworm after googling it. Not a huge deal, as a lot of puppies tend to get tapeworm once or twice, but we figured we'd take her to the vet to just do a complete checkup on our new puppy (even though we hadn't, and STILL HAVEN'T, received her papers from Liz). After her vet visit, she was diagnosed with a very severe respiratory infection, eye infections in both eyes, and an open wound/lump on her front right leg. Obviously we had to move forward with treating our pup, who's name is now Pumpkin :), sooner than later, as a respiratory infection can easily turn into pneumonia very quickly in a puppy. She was prescribed a high dosage of antibiotics, eye "drops" (more like a vaseline), Panacur for tapeworm (which Liz had stated she was on as a puppy in order to rid of any tapeworm-like viruses), a small circular pill that was to take care of her "hookworm" parasite, and they drained the lump on her front right leg. Our vet told my sister and I, not to get our hopes up, but we had some work to do, as her respiratory infection is very severe and will likely turn into pneumonia (often a puppy killer). Total Cost: $511

After her first appointment, I contacted Liz asking for her papers, per our vet's request. Liz stated she had mailed the papers already, and wasn't able to scan a copy to our vet's office because she doesn't keep a copy of them for herself. At this point, I started to feel really uncomfortable dealing with this lady. She wouldn't answer the phone, wouldn't respond to my emails but every other day, and refused to help with our cost at the vet's office JUST 2 DAYS AFTER RECEIVING THE PUPPY. Our vet recommended re-vaccinating her and giving her all the necessary shots a puppy's supposed to get. We agreed and ended up covering the cost.

Pumpkin ended up having 2 follow up appointments, and had to continue antibiotic treatment for almost a month. She has another appointment next week for a check up, but seems to be doing a lot better; I think she's going to make it. :)

I normally don't like to submit poor reviews in lieu of a poor purchase/sale on any type of website, and I probably wouldn't have wrote one if our puppy hadn't made it through all of this, but Liz Cleveland and her husband are crooked. I highly recommend not buying a puppy from this breeder, unless you're looking to go through a string of emotions trying to get your puppy to good health.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

Shiba Inu are their money makers

Reviewed By Zanetta Smith on August 21, 2014

IF you are lucky, and you're picking out anything besides a Shiba, there will be a 50% chance of getting a healthy puppy. Pick a Shiba and you are forcing that over bred girl to have another litter! They won't stop breeding, until there are no suckers left to sell to!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

Mini shar pei

Reviewed By Shannon on June 19, 2014

We purchased the most adorable Miniature Shar pei puppy from Curio kennel, she was shipped to California with all shots and papers. Liz has been tremendous to deal with and highly recommend the for your future purchases. We searched for the perfect puppy and believe they are truly "high class."Thanks again!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
August 21, 2014

Sorry, a mini Shar Pei is NOT a recognized breed of dog! She made up the breed size.

Your Comment
1 Review

Using stolen pictures of dogs

Reviewed By Alicia Keenan Williams on February 7, 2014, Bel Air, Maryland

Before I read all of the terrible reviews (on multiple websites, including the BBB), I contacted Liz about one of her puppies. I asked for a picture of the parents, and she sent me a picture stolen from another breeder. It just so happened that I recently purchased a puppy from the breeder she stole the picture from! When I confronted her, she stopped responding to me.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
August 21, 2014

Doesn't surprise me one bit! She never has any pictures of the puppies with their real moms! There's a picture on Pinterest, of the Dalmatian with the litter of nursing pups. The mom does not have any milk for them. You can tell, because the pup on the bottom left. It is latched onto the nipple and "momma" is not engorged with milk!

Your Comment
Guest

Back yard breeder at best

Reviewed By David Huang on April 26, 2013, Orlando, FL

Curio Kennel may not be as bad as a puppy mill, but it for sure is a back yard breeder. Do your research on google... forums... etc before going with this place. Breeder does not do any genetic testing on her shiba dames and sires.

Breeder is a crock of shit...
"The reason why we have a cream shiba in our breeding program is because cream males produce very bright red pups with very defined white markings. Cream is a recessive gene so even with a cream male we very rarely get cream pups - it has been almost a year since we have even had one. If you use a red sesame male, or a black and tan male - even a red and white male - you will usually get a higher occurrence of red sesame pups and black and tan pups. "

I am sure the AKC would frown upon using a creme Shiba to breed... regardless of it being the dame or sire.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 5 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

Scam

Reviewed By Penny Ferguson on March 10, 2013, yorktown tx

I bought a shar pei from Liz she was more than ready to take my money then scam me on the akc papers she said I would recieve later. I tried to contact her for over a month she has blocked me from everything.. I will be contacting my lawyer soon anything over 300 in Flordia is grnad theft! They knew this puppy was not registerable!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 7 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

We love Curio Kennel!

Reviewed By Anna Sanchez on December 26, 2012, Miami, FL

We purchased a Sharpei puppy from Curio Kennel in 2008. We came across this review page when searching their name to contact them about adding another dog to our family. Our sweet Ruffles has been a wonderful additional to our family. Curio Kennel allowed us to come
out and visit the puppies to choose which one they wanted, and we were also able to interact with quite a few of their adult dogs who all seemed friendly. Our pup was and has always been very healthy. I can't recommend them enough.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 7 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
Zanetta Smith
August 21, 2014

You've got to be a friend of theirs!

August 22, 2014

I had never met them until I bought my puppy from them several years back. I saw your posting above on someone else's review and I have to wonder if you have ever even met or been to their kennel. I met both of the parents of my puppy and saw their other dogs as well. They have quite a few dogs so I don't see any reason why they would "pretend" to own the parents of puppies. I don't know if you've ever been to their Facebook page but there are tons of people, including me, who have posted pictures of their dogs that they've gotten from curio and posted how happy they are with them... And these are real people tied to Facebook accounts, not just random names that can be used in an anonymous online forum. I don't know why you have such a bone to pick with them when you obviously have never met their dogs in person, but I was and still am very happy with the dog I got from them.

Your Comment
Guest

This is definitely a puppy mill!

Reviewed By Animal Lover on December 4, 2012, Cocoa, Florida

I work around the corner from these people and see the horrible conditions these poor dogs are in and are hidden from customers. Animal Control has been called out so many times I've lost count. They just change their name and website and keep on abusing dogs for profit.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 12 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 6 Comments
Mittens
December 07, 2012

Please provide some proof.

Anna Sanchez
December 26, 2012

If the poor conditions are hidden from customers, how did you happen to see them? If animal control has been out and the conditions are horrible, why haven't they been shut down? Florida law requires dogs to be up to date on vaccinations and registered by county... So they must obviously be in some sort of compliance to still be operational! I met 25+ adult dogs during my visit to Curio Kennel... Some of then were in separated areas, some of them were running free on the property. All seemed friendly and happy and I have never had any issues with the puppy I purchased from them. In fact, I found this website because I was googling their name in hopes of contacting them about getting another puppy from them. Oh, and also, when I bought my puppy from them a little over 4 years ago - their name was exactly the same! So I am pretty skeptical of your review in general. I have had nothing but a positive experience with Curio Kennel.. The owners were nice and seemed to have a true love for dogs and the dogs all seemed happy where they were. I think anyone that is interested in knowing more about this breeder should visit for themselves and make their own decision based on what they SEE - not based on some anonymous review online by someone unwilling to even use a real name. It's pretty hard to determine the credibility of an online posting, obviously including mine, but I do have to say that I am pretty passionate about my support for this breeder after purchasing our WONDERFUL Shar Pei Ruffles from them 4 years ago.

Anna Sanchez
December 26, 2012

"Animal Lover" - where do you work and have you actually ever been to Curio Kennel? Providing your real name and contact info would be useful - this way we could contact you about your opinion and also determine YOUR credibility.

Penny Ferguson
March 13, 2013

My name is Penny Ferguson and they breached the contract I had buying my shar pei I paid 1194 dollars for I was told he had AKC papers its been 2 months no papers, no replys to phone calls or emails.. I agree total scam.. At least tell me if the dog isnt pure breed they owe me that muc for the price or at least a discounted price. But dont sell a dog for AKC price when you dont get the papers to prove hes a pure breed.

Zanetta Smith
August 21, 2014

Anna, Dogs "seem" happy, no matter their living situations! All dogs are people pleasers! That's why it's easy for us to train them. Wondering if you really know dog behavior at all??? Look at hoarders for instance. They neglect their dogs, because there are too many to feed and take into the house. Some dogs have broken down and eaten other dogs. Then when finally rescued, they wag their tails and jump all over the rescuers! Why, because they are domesticated and will always show love for their humans!

Seriously, 25+ dogs is WAY too many dogs for a family with a kid. Not to mention the puppies their dogs have, and then the ones they purchase from other breeders!!! All they want, is to breed, so they don't have to work! No one has to prove their name to you! You are not the one they should have to deal with. If you were part of their scamming operation, maybe YOU should prove to us, that you live at their place in Cocoa. Or that you lived in Rockledge before that and who knows before then, that they changed their address, due to people calling them out!

Genus! She said that they are hidden from the customers view! They are visible from her place of business!!

August 21, 2014

They do not care about their dogs! I wish there was a way I could have saved the video of Cinder...supposedly my dogs mother. Then everyone would change their minds about Curio Kennel! She was stupidly alerted by me that Cinder was too skinny too be nursing even just one puppy! She was nothing but skin and bones! I mentioned her in one of many emails to Liz, back in May 2009. But of course she, like any liar, will say there was never a video! I will never forget how she looked and my puppy looked when I got her! That's why I will NEVER stop being free advertisement for Liz!

Your Comment
Guest

Recently bought a puppy

Reviewed By Ashley R. on August 14, 2012, Tampa, FL

We recently purchased a puppy from this breeder and we are very happy with our puppy. She is healthy and very sweet.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 4 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

This is a puppy mill!

Reviewed By Concerned Citizen on April 18, 2012, Cocoa, Florida

The dogs are in tiny pens, bred as often as possible to increase revenue, infested with fleas and god knows what else. Saw a pregnant shiba who's eyes were covered in a yellow mucus, and ears eaten away by fleas. This girl does not care about the animals, just the money.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 14 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
Ashley R.
August 14, 2012

I recently visited this breedr to purchase my puppy (see review above) and did not see any dogs in "pens" - the dogs were kept in large pastures on a big piece of land. I met both parents of the puppy I purchased.

Ashley Kunt
May 22, 2013

You are wrong.

Your Comment
Guest

Good experience

Reviewed By Mitchell on February 25, 2012, Tampa, FL

I brought my daughter to pick out a dalmation puppy at Curio Kennel in Cocoa, FL and we couldn't be happier with the newest addition to our family. We sat and played with the puppies for an hour before deciding on one, and the breeder was very nice and helpful. I just wanted to say thank you for giving us such a sweet puppy, she is exactly what I was hoping for.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 4 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
Liz Price
February 29, 2012

We got our shiba inu puppy from this breeder in may 2011 and dexter will be 1 year this march. We are pleased with how well socialized and healthy he is. We love him and we are pleased with the kennel. Not a scam at all.

Liz Kunt
May 22, 2013

You are wrong.

Your Comment

Leave a Review