GoFundMe.com Reviews

GoFundMe.com
Based on 53 Reviews
Review It

About GoFundMe.com

GoFundMe.com is a crowdfunding website which says they offer anyone the ability to create their own donation page as a safe, legit way to collect donations for life events, projects, and special causes.

To get started with GoFundMe.com, you simply need to create your donation page to tell the story of what you are collecting money for and why, then share it with your friends and family to start collecting donations.

The page you create will have all the tools necessary to collect donations from either debit or credit cards, and you will be able to track visits to your page and review donor information.

You can crowfund through this website in three different ways. First, if you are collecting money for a charity, you can select Charity Fundraising and the donations received by your site will automatically be deducted on a monthly basis and sent to the charity.

Or you can simply make a personal page where the project or event of your choice can be funded. Though you create a deadline and a goal amount of money that you are trying to raise, your page can exist beyond these limits and allow you to collect as much money as people are willing to donate.

Finally, they offer the All or Nothing option, which functions like popular crowdfunding site Kickstarter. This means that if you do not reach the funding amount you designate by the time your deadline rolls around, all donations will result in a refund; or rather, your donors will never be charged.

GoFundMe.com will automatically deduct a 5% fee from each donation you receive. In addition, when you register your donation page, a WePay payment processing account will be set up for you.

When you withdraw your money through the WePay account, a fee of 2.9% plus 30 cents will be administered. It is important to keep the cost of these fees in mind when setting your goal amount.

If you have any experience with this website, please leave your GoFundMe.com reviews below.

53 ‘GoFundMe.com’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:
1 Review

Got nothing

Reviewed By ScoTT SenaTe on July 7, 2016

Tried to put up a GoFundMe page to help offset the cost of testing for a kidney transplant to help me get off dialysis. Just the testing, not even the transplant itself. Without knowing hot to promote the page, or how to get people to think it wasn't some sort of scam, I kept it up for two months and received absolutely NOTHING. Even the Kidney Foundation suggested GoFundMe, but even that made no difference. I am still on dialysis, have been for six years, getting weaker, and don't see how this is going to end in my favor. In about 2 years or maybe less, I will likely become even weaker, less functional, barely able to even get to my treatments, and my body will simply give out from toxin accumulation. GoFundMe? More like GoAwayAndDie.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

Not Very Effective

Reviewed By Jonathan on July 3, 2016

I set up a page attempting to raise money for a project I wanted to get off of the ground, a project I felt would benefit a great number of people. People saw my page, some liked it, some commented, some shared it but no one gave me a dime. On top of that, I felt pitied as one response was “I’ll be praying for you and your family.” I was made to feel like a begging, destitute person, when in reality I was just doing some fundraising. It took a lot for me to swallow my pride and even give asking a shot, but I didn’t receive any payoff for it and ended up coming away from the experience with even less faith in humanity.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

Nice Thought for ones who do need help

Reviewed By Concerned on July 2, 2016

I find Gofundme.com is a great idea if the ones posting are really in need. But how do you know they are telling the truth, Alot of potential scammers that have been given a way to scam alot of people. I know of this personally. I knew someone who asked for thousands of dollars, Claiming poverty and yet what they didn't tell people is that they have no money because they were living way beyond their means. Maxed out credit cards with no job to pay them and not just living expenses. Loan for a vehicle. After receiving the money they asked for felt they needed to upgrade to a brand new vehicle. So If you know the person really does need the money by all means help out, However if you don't know you may be helping someone buy things you yourself can't afford.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

No Controls

Reviewed By Karen Seifert on June 18, 2016

Our rescue provided the money for some surgery on a rescue dog, but the foster put in a Go Fund Me anyway, even though the money is not needed. She wants more money to do things we have been told are not needed and has ignored the difficulties she has created for our rescue. She embellished the paragraph on the dog to make it sound much worse than it is. She is taking donations from people even though the money is already provided, and becoming defiant and confrontational when questioned about it. So easy to scam the public, and there is no way for people to know.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

if i could give zero stars i would.

Reviewed By ashley on February 12, 2016

I am leaving reviews everywhere I possibly can to let you know not to go through gofundme or any other website that uses wepay. Its not gofundme that is the problem directly, but wepay in itself. But if you use gofundme you are stuck going through this shit company that will rip you off and try and steal your money. I have lost $200 to this shitty company and their shady practices. they are fraudulent and take advantage of people with no regard to how it may or may not affect them. So dont use this company if you dont want your money stolen and a big fat migraine.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
March 02, 2016

Never use GoFundMe. In there bylaws they state false truths. Say we can and will help u. If someone falsely state or use site wrong.WE BELIEVED IN WHAT THEY HAVE IN THERE RULES, WE WILL BE THERE FOR ANY FALSE RULES BREAKAGE. BACK & FORTH, NOTHING BUT GENERIC B.S. FROM THEM THEN THEY SHUT U DOWN (no access to site) they are as bad as the people that steal. They just reword it..

Your Comment
1 Review

THANK YOU!!!!

Reviewed By Francesca  on January 18, 2016

My son was killed on the road,his friend set up a fund me for my grandsons college fund...the donations did not go to waste my grandson graduated a year early from high school the year my son died went to a good college makes top grades,all without parents in his life.
I am eternally grateful to all who donated I only wished there was a way I could say thank you and the money was served well.

It's a shame people take advantage of this site but for some of us it is pure honesty and gratitude to the site and it's donors

A HUGE THANK YOU !!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 5 Comments
Anne
February 05, 2016

So how much were the taxes on the money? Did you pay both federal and state? Was your 1099 received in a timely manner? Did it effect the Social Security payments for your grandson?

Anne
February 05, 2016

How much were the taxes? Did you receive your 1099 in a timely manner? Did the money effect your grandson's eligibility for Social Security survivor benefits?

Francesca
February 07, 2016

You are assuming I started the fundraiser ,..it was a lawyer friend of my sons..most of the people who donated were my sons friends ..I personally would never ask for money though I donate when I see a tragedy in the newspaper,I urge everyone to make sure they are donating to genuine causes...I genuinely wanted to thank people and give my experience of a fundraiser ....I did not like your attitude please do not attack people before you know the full story,you are assuming everyone is a fraud..I am going through horrendous grief,I like to be kind no matter what......if your attitude is because you have been scammed then I am sorry. ..

phyllis
March 08, 2016

Ms. Francesca, I am so happy to hear that the gofundme site worked for your grand son's. what a blessing it was I'm sure. Sounds like it made life a little more bearable for the kids, and you. I know what it is like first hand to loose my parents and any kind of support in a time like that is most certainly a blessing. Shame on anyone that has a salty thing to say when your grieving the loss of a loved one. Just shame shame on them. The only thing I know to do for someone with such an ugly heart like that is to pray for them because the law states we can't shoot them. Bless you and yours Ms. Fran. Phyllis.

March 09, 2016

Thank you for your kind words,I am very sorry you have experienced the loss of your parents,I just can't stand the thought of anyone going through loss, the pain is unbearable as you know...I just don't know why people just come out with ugly words and attack when they don't know the story, its obviously is a reflection of who they truly are..yes the money was a huge help to my grandson and hopefully because of it he will help make the world a better place...your last line was funny it made me smile..I wish you much joy on life's journey and a safe one...love and blessings france cx

Your Comment
1 Review

shocked to see

Reviewed By cathy busti on January 16, 2016

shocked to see a former co-worker on go-fund me to save her house. The situation she described was so different than reality. She has been fired from her last several jobs because she was always calling off sick or was late for work. She had a windfall of money from insurance from un unrelated incident and burned through that money so quickly, with no eye on the future. This woman is asking people to enable her when actually she needs counseling and help dealing with her narcissistic personality disorder

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 3 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
Torteea
February 03, 2016

I think I know exactly who you are talking about

April 10, 2016

sounds like a "cat breeder: in NY I know of.

Your Comment
1 Review

SCAMMERS ABOUND

Reviewed By L Ashfield on November 10, 2015

I would give it no stars if allowed. This site allows people to scam the public and allows it to continue even when reported.

This page is classic of their indifference:https://www.gofundme.com/7y898w9c
Gangbanger parents whose child was killed and Mom spent the money for the funeral for a new car. This is all over the news, not speculation and, the site has done nothing even though reported.

I'd never donate a dime to any cause as they aren't vetted obviously or the site just doesn't care, they are making a buck too.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

women claiming insurance wont pay when they did ay it already

Reviewed By Sarah Anne on October 18, 2015

I just saw this women on go fund me account and she is committing fraud on every level claiming that the insurance will not cover it. Someone just reported her but the more reports the better. She has blue cross blue shield who clearly states in this list of coverage's that they do cover the procedure...Here is this lady's account. I can not believe she is doing this. https://www.gofundme.com/u9h4zg Patient #3 – Blue Cross & Blue Shield of Illinois Approved October 13, 2009
Patent #4 – Blue Cross & Blue Shield of Illinois Approved September 25, 2008

https://www.facebook.com/notes/the-biggest-ms-network-ever-20000000-n-more/hsct-insurance-providers-coverage-hematopoietic-stem-cell-transplantation-hsct-/814162248595523?__mref=message

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

Helping My Dream Come True

Reviewed By Richard Rossi on October 17, 2015

I just started a Go Fund Me for my movie I'm making entitled "Canaan Land." I'm learning as I'm going. My first step has been to send direct messages to 500 of my Facebook friends, and also emails to my yahoo email contacts. I've put together my Go Fund Me page with a story of why I'm making movie, utilizing pictures and videos. I like that my vamping doesn't have to have deadline, and that donations are tax deductible. My page may encourage you and trigger your creativity in putting together your Go Fund Me campaign.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

Great website

Reviewed By Ashley mclean  on October 2, 2015

I like go fund me, I just started a page to get money to start an at home job so I can work to stay home and provide for my newborn. It's a great thing, I've had a few generous donations already Hi! check out my gofundme page ! Definitely not a scam if it's being used for the right reasons.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

Study Abroad

Reviewed By Donna J. Berkey on June 25, 2015

Last spring I found out about GoFundMe thru trial and error. I tried using another crowdfunding site a few years ago and it was a total loss. I found this site to be easy to use, and fairly successful. It is up to the person trying to raise money for a cause to make it work. You need to update frequently, send emails. post on Facebook, add pictures, videos, etc...and it relys mostly on your friends and contacts to make the donations to meet your goal. I did a fundraiser for my daughters trip to France with her French class and we managed to raise almost half of the money needed to send her! Again, the money all came from people that we knew thru email contacts, FB contacts and I was continuously asking friends to share with their friends to get the word out. We put up tear offs all over town and beyond to help. This isn't a cake walk...it's a lot of work. But it paid off in the long run for us! I had no issues, no problems setting things up, no problems with WePay, it all came together seamlessly. This isn't a site to just post it and forget it. Your donations come from your friends and their friends. You need to work to make it happen!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

SSN to receive your money you need to supply your SSN

Reviewed By Laurie Conrad on June 23, 2015

If anything happens to my credit while supplying this information I am going to report to everyone about this site.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

That simple

Reviewed By Ashley Burns on June 6, 2015

I agree this site is not safe for customer or donators. Anyone can make up any crock to raise money. And even if you happen to be legit I feel you may become a victim also. My ex set up a campaign on gofundme to help her get in college nothings wrong with that but what if that wasn't true?? How would anyone truely know where their donation is going or what people are using the money donated for. You don't and there are no limits to anything. It's a chance you take GoFundMe gonna get theirs anyway.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
June 18, 2015

I know ppl using & blew $500,000 now asking go fund me for money . They smoke , drink & drug No one works
I do know 1 legit member outta 7 that is sick but gets ssd & large settlement
Other ppl have stopped handing hard earned money to these ppl so go FUND ME PAGE STARTED ! Embarrassed as our family name appears on it along w/ another family name - disgusted take maiden name OFF PLZ

Your Comment
1 Review

Go Fund Me, worked for me

Reviewed By Sheila Florence Fairfax-smith on May 11, 2015

My youngest brother passed away suddenly in February 2015. He had no life insurance. I needed money right away to pay for his Homegoing Services. I instated a Go fund me, and family and friends were able to send support immediately. I asked for more than what I needed in hopes of obtaining my actual goal , and it worked. That as well as offline donations covered all of the expenses. Once we figured out the percentages being taken from the online donations , we just closed it out and accepted offline donations. It did work for my family, keeping the deductions in mind.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
June 23, 2015

Did you also have to give social security number? This makes me nervous.

Your Comment
1 Review

Discrimination

Reviewed By Dona Owens on May 3, 2015

I am registering a complaint against GoFundMe's denial of the fundraising effort on behalf of the Baltimore police officers.They are innocent until proven guilty. This is still a democracy although our rights are disappearing at an alarming rate. This is discriminatory and if not unlawful it should be.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 3 Comments
Richard Costa
May 06, 2015

sounds more likeGOo "F" ME . COM

Jose Vides
May 18, 2015

no one cares.

June 10, 2015

Seriously? what the hell is america coming to? looks like go fund me has already convicted them! Its just damn scary to think what lies down the road! I'll bet the Brown family wouldn't have any trouble using it! what with that punk being filthy piece of excrement and a gentle giant. With any luck these dirt bags and their families will need the use of their own site!

Your Comment
1 Review

Scam

Reviewed By Lara Sheila on May 3, 2015

It is a scam and con artists are drawn to it - BEWARE

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

Use Kickstarter Instead!!!

Reviewed By Jason A. White on April 21, 2015

Just found out that Go Fund Me takes a total of 37.9% (7.9% plus $0.30 of each dollar donated. Kickstarter only takes 6%. I cancelled my campaign to raise money to ship donations to El Salvador for people living in absolute poverty and went to Kickstarter instead.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 5 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 5 Comments
Bee Leever
May 02, 2015

Kickstarter does not allow fundraising. GoFundMe has some unreasonable restrictions in their rules. They are anti-constitution as they ignored our 2nd amendment when they conjured up their rules. Does anyone know of another fund raising website that actually cares about everybody and does not discriminate as GFM does?

Lara Sheila
May 03, 2015

Lot of the causes are dubious - esp. those looking for $$$$ to pay funerals

Barley Singer
May 06, 2015

That isn't correct at all. Here is their info on payments.

http://www.gofundme.com/pricing|

Their web site takes 5%.

IN each nation they have a different money processing company. IN the USA it is "WE PAY", who take 2.9% of each transaction and a $0.30 transaction fee.

Here is some Math. If you donate $100, GOFUNDME takes $5.00 and "WE PAY" takes $3.20. That $8.20 of the donation (in this case) going to overhead and transaction fees.

Virginia Thomson
June 03, 2015

That may be what the website says but it's not what they actually do!

June 05, 2015

Virginia, maybe you could provide the math behind your experience as Barley has done above.

Your Comment
1 Review

started

Reviewed By S Abigail Toledo on April 20, 2015

I just started my gofundme page. I hope I, too am blessed with support in my time of need. Thanks and God bless! :)

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

heart transplant

Reviewed By Todd Maxwell on April 17, 2015, St. Louis

I had my first open heart operation in March and the actual transplant will occur in January 2016. The American Heart Association suggested this as a form of fund raising as Medicare will nor even begin to cover it all.

Thank you,

Todd J Maxwell

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment

Leave a Review