GoFundMe.com Reviews

GoFundMe.com
Based on 36 Reviews
Review It

About GoFundMe.com

GoFundMe.com is a crowdfunding website which says they offer anyone the ability to create their own donation page as a safe, legit way to collect donations for life events, projects, and special causes.

To get started with GoFundMe.com, you simply need to create your donation page to tell the story of what you are collecting money for and why, then share it with your friends and family to start collecting donations.

The page you create will have all the tools necessary to collect donations from either debit or credit cards, and you will be able to track visits to your page and review donor information.

You can crowfund through this website in three different ways. First, if you are collecting money for a charity, you can select Charity Fundraising and the donations received by your site will automatically be deducted on a monthly basis and sent to the charity.

Or you can simply make a personal page where the project or event of your choice can be funded. Though you create a deadline and a goal amount of money that you are trying to raise, your page can exist beyond these limits and allow you to collect as much money as people are willing to donate.

Finally, they offer the All or Nothing option, which functions like popular crowdfunding site Kickstarter. This means that if you do not reach the funding amount you designate by the time your deadline rolls around, all donations will result in a refund; or rather, your donors will never be charged.

GoFundMe.com will automatically deduct a 5% fee from each donation you receive. In addition, when you register your donation page, a WePay payment processing account will be set up for you.

When you withdraw your money through the WePay account, a fee of 2.9% plus 30 cents will be administered. It is important to keep the cost of these fees in mind when setting your goal amount.

If you have any experience with this website, please leave your GoFundMe.com reviews below.

36 ‘GoFundMe.com’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:
1 Review

Use Kickstarter Instead!!!

Reviewed By Jason A. White on April 21, 2015

Just found out that Go Fund Me takes a total of 37.9% (7.9% plus $0.30 of each dollar donated. Kickstarter only takes 6%. I cancelled my campaign to raise money to ship donations to El Salvador for people living in absolute poverty and went to Kickstarter instead.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

started

Reviewed By S Abigail Toledo on April 20, 2015

I just started my gofundme page. I hope I, too am blessed with support in my time of need. Thanks and God bless! :)

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

heart transplant

Reviewed By Todd Maxwell on April 17, 2015, St. Louis

I had my first open heart operation in March and the actual transplant will occur in January 2016. The American Heart Association suggested this as a form of fund raising as Medicare will nor even begin to cover it all.

Thank you,

Todd J Maxwell

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

SSN. Why?

Reviewed By Kammy Melendez on April 16, 2015

I just started using the site for a special cause. In my experience, til now, it has been pretty easy to use. However I noticed that We Pay asks for a SSN and THAT I did not like. Why do they need it? I'd rather not disclose this info. Has anybody who has used gofundme had any issues either whether you disclosed this info or not? Please let me know.

I gave it 3 stars because I find it easy to use however I'm still on the site fundraising and the SSN part.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

A CON JOB

Reviewed By Keith Smith on April 15, 2015, Pemberton, Western Australia

I would advise anyone to have nothing to do with this site. I spent days setting this thing up, followed all their instructions and advice, connecfed it to my facebook only to find that they had not connected it to the site. Despite many hours of emails back and forth to their so called "Customer Happiness" site I got absolutely nowhere. Eventualy they just totaly ignored me having scammed me out of $500.
I have four words of advice - STAY AWAY FROM THEM it is a scam

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

They giveth and taketh away ha ha

Reviewed By Mike Burnett on April 11, 2015, Spokane, Washington

My husband had surgery and out of work. My step son started a go fund me page. So far our friends and family donated $500. Most of it was deposited into our account and then they said they over paid us and took it back but that isn't true. I felt very blessed and grateful for they generosity given to us. I have emails out to We pay and to go fund me but no response as of yet. Will re rate if they make it right but as of right now they don't even get one star in my book! SCAMMED

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

Not sure yet

Reviewed By JeanneMarie Selbe on March 30, 2015

My dog needs surgery and I had a friend send me the link, "gofundme". It's not working all that great right now. But if they're going to be taking the large chunk and monies I don't know if that's quite there either. It says that if you don't meet your quota though give all the money back. Does that mean they give back many The money deposited minus the fees?

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

A Blessing For Us

Reviewed By Liza Turley Ingram on February 27, 2015, New Bern, North Carolina

This site has been a blessing to us that I wasn't expecting. After my husband's two illnesses back to back (Oct, Dec, & Jan. in three different hospitals), I used up all of sick days, personal days and vacation days at work. On January 15, I found out I was taken off the payroll and would not be put back on until I returned to work on Feb. 2. That meant little to no paycheck for January. I was researching some information about my husband's illness of Gillian-Barre when I read a story about someone being funded with this disease and what a great help it was to them. As the month drew to an end and I needed money for monthly bills and doctor bills, I was in a desperate situation and I set up this site. I set up my site on Thursday and by Monday, I had money deposited into my account. Within less than two weeks, I had the money I needed to pay our monthly bills. Gofundme has been an answer to our prayers and took the financial worry off of us so I could exert all my energy in helping my husband recover from this dreadful disease. I have used the updates to help show awareness for this disease that is very rare and can happen to anyone. For me, the fees are understandable for the results I have received. Thank you, Gofundme, you have been a blessing to us!!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
March 10, 2015

HOW DO DONORS CONTRIBUTE? Do you have to give your bank information?

Your Comment
1 Review

Utterly Unresponsive and Irresponsible

Reviewed By Joanna Kelley on February 13, 2015, Brandon, Florida

GoFundMe is a crap shoot. They allow anybody, and I mean ANYBODY to use any excuse to collect money. They exert absolutely no control over how that money is spent. Example: I live in Tampa, Florida. A bizarre story recently unfolded about a cat named Bart who rose from the dead five days after being buried alive. A woman named Dusty Albritton was allowed to open an account on GoFundMe to collect money for Bart's medical expenses. The Humane Society of Tampa Bay provided ALL of Bart's medical care and not one thin dime was received from the money collected from Dusty Albritton. After a thorough investigation, the Humane Society determined that Bart was an abused animal and refused to return him to his owner, Dusty Albritton's neighbor. The money donated for Bart's medical expenses are now being funneled into the legal fees incurred by Bart's owner suing the Humane Society for his return, the very people who footed the bill for his medical expenses. GoFundMe has been contacted repeatedly and they do absolutely NOTHING to shut down this woman's account. GoFundMe allows fraud to proliferate on their site and does nothing to make sure charitable causes are indeed charitable and not scams. GoFundMe could care less about the legitimacy of an account as long as they collect their percentage.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 6 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
Ro Cassada
March 06, 2015

Just because there is some fraud doesn't mean it's all fraud. Many people have been helped. And to investigate the incident you are talking about may make the costs go up even more. People expect scams to happen, that is why the public should be careful where they spend their money. By the way, Good Will is not longer a charity. Just FYI.

April 20, 2015

Jacki Harris is using peoples names that have passed & any other she can get away with. She is defrauding many people. Please shut her account down & report her to the FBI.

Your Comment
1 Review

really not sure about go fund me...

Reviewed By Stephane Clement on February 11, 2015, Albuquerque, New Mexico

to me this fund raising site makes no sense...
it relies at first on Facebook, your friends and family.
I am in a tough situation right now.
out of desperation I joined gofundme.
I've got to say I am ashamed of what I have become.
I used to have a comfortable life and now I am at the very bottom.

if I wanted to ask my friends and family for money, I just would do it.
why in the hell would I need GFM to do so???
I can understand if you are raising money for a special cause.
then I guess you friends and family can advertise your cause and their friends can donate and advertise your cause to their friends etc....
but even that is silly I guess...
you could just make a fund raising post of facebook, let your friends know etc.... after all people wouldn't need GFM to donate money...
why would I want a friend to donate/lend me money and have to pay a fee to GFM?????????
anyway just my opinion...
Stephane...

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 5 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
Ro Cassada
March 06, 2015

My family and friends are not able to help me, so why should I rely on Facebook? My friends and family can help raise awareness of my situation on Facebook, and then whoever wants to donate can go to my GFM (If I go this route). I have heard good things from my friends who have used GFM. Which is why I think I will do this. It does sound somewhat expensive, it is more costly then free, but not as expensive as say selling my furniture (which I DO NOT want to do) on eBay.

March 10, 2015

Agree! I don't want friends to know my condition. The fees are too high/

Your Comment
1 Review

Account Deleted Without Explanation

Reviewed By H Williams on January 16, 2015

GoFundMe seemed like such a user friendly site, and campaign set up was easy. Then, without explanation, my account was deleted. I contacted them and got a swift, canned reply from "Customer Happiness" in which he "promised" to help resolve the issue and asked for confirmation regarding my campaign name. I confirmed immediately and got a reply that there is a problem with WePay. I asked for clarification, but got no reply. I do not understand how there could be a problem with WePay given that the only information they have about me is the campaign (which is a medical mission to Guatemala), my name, and my email address. I contacted WePay and after waiting for 20 minutes on hold, the representative could provide no additional insight into the problem.

An additional problem with GoFundMe is that they do not provide much support to smaller campaigns. Until your campaign raises $500, your campaign is invisible. People searching for your campaign by exact name and zip code will not be able to find your campaign. This is not the case on Indiegogo. One can find all active campaigns, no matter how much has been raised and "activity" related to the campaign (many small donations, page views) contributes to a campaigns ranking.

I regret that I did not go with Indiegogo!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 4 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 3 Comments
Stephanie Villeneuve
January 18, 2015

i made myself on so i can accomplish my dream to go to chool to become a dog trainer and open my rescue center and teach the public about different dog breeds its been weeks now and i have gotten zero donations and i dl it and just re open it but my family is not upportive of my dreams and my goals and i dont have many friends that help how can i get my goals to happen

jay
January 30, 2015

First thing, learn to use spell check (or, you might actually want to go back to school). Then, get a job.

April 03, 2015

Jay, Really???? That was very mean spirited.

Your Comment
1 Review

GoFundMe has made over 23 Million...who's really profiting??

Reviewed By DLL on December 5, 2014

I truly wonder about GoFundMe. They say they've helped raise 580million so far. They charge 7.9% by taking it out of the donated money. 7.9% can be significant to the people trying to raise funds and it can look like a goal was met, but it's missing 7.9%. 7.9% of $10,000 = $790.

I looked into this because I was curious about the fees and then though, wow, if they've raised over 580million, how much have they made?? To figure out what they profit, we'll be nice and presume each donation is by credit card, for which there is a 2-5% charge, with 3-4% being common. So I rounded and said they get 4% and the credit cards get 3.9%. Well 4% of 580million is over 23million!! Quite the business to make so much money off other people's miseries...

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 7 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 6 Comments
Linda
December 18, 2014

Well, I clicked on "yes" it was a good review, but it keeps saying 0 out of 0 people found this review helpful. They are profiting off of people's misfortune, and refuse to let people pay with PayPal that protects their credit card from being revealed. This outfit probably sells the name and credit card info for another 7.9%

Linda
December 18, 2014

If they were legitimate, they would accept PayPal to protect people's credit card info. They probably make money off of selling this info.

Ron
December 30, 2014

I never heard of Gofundme.com until today. A person posted someone requesting donations for his father, sister and himself so they could go from the west coast back to the east coast and return with the son and brother of the three. He is asking for airfare for his sister and father to escort the body of a Marine home. This was the red flag for me, the brother being a Marine. The military pays all cost to see that the remains of military personnel get home to their families. I have never heard where the family pays for this cost. If the Marine died in battle his remains would be sent home via Kalitta Air who has a contract with the military to carry this out. As for me, I need more proof besides someone just posting they need money for this or that on the internet.

Ro Cassada
March 06, 2015

This is why people need to do their own research before they spend their money.

Ro Cassada
March 06, 2015

I still don't see why that is the fault of GFM. They provide a service, they hire employees, they have over head. Even the most popular charities have to pay themselves something. And you do not know if they provide other services with that money either. I just hate all the negativity, I have a genuine need, you make it sound like I'm not going to have a fair shake. Thanks.

April 03, 2015

less than 10% is VERY cheap in the fund raising world. They have fees they have to pay as well. Around 2% of all monies received by them has to be paid to the Credit Card companies, then overhead, staffing, business licenses, fees, insurance, taxes, etc. Overall they do just fine, but they did not 'rake in' 23 million; they helped millions achieve their goals.

Your Comment
1 Review

Bad Experience With Go Fund Me and We Pay

Reviewed By Chasity Radcliff on November 19, 2014, Los Angeles, California

This company, and their use of WePay is one of the worst experiences of my life. There is no real customer support and they will suspend your campaign with no REAL explanation of why. Their reliance on WePay (which i've since researched and now see all the bad reviews) is the biggest detriment. The only real customer service support is emails and chats. Just like every other "start-up" tech company ive taken a chance on, this company has policies that hide them from any real accountability on how they treat their customers. Go with a more established brand (Kickstarter) if possible.

I just felt very used, cheated, and disrespected after trying to use this company for my campaign. Don't believe the slick marketing campaigns!!! VERY BAD EXPERIENCE!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 7 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
December 27, 2014

I have reviewed this Kickstarter in which you reply too and they have a very bad reputation so why would you recomend them

Your Comment
1 Review

Charlie's Fight

Reviewed By Sami Weast on November 5, 2014, Eagan, Minnesota

I started this page for my son who is in the fight of his life. His kidneys are failing. And while yrs I have raised some money my problem is that gofund me put money in my account and then took it back out and did this 2 times with EACH transactions! And each time they CHARGED ME! They charged me when they deposited the money and when they took it back!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 5 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
Dale Leach
December 27, 2014

how can tehy do that and what were their reasons Ide check with your bank

March 10, 2015

I've read ,many reviews and it sounds like a barely legit business.

Your Comment
1 Review

My orphaned niece and nephew

Reviewed By Ali Fran on October 23, 2014, Pa

I set a fundraiser for the children these parents pass away and I needed emergency funds to pay their legal fees and traveling expensive also they need medical attention no funds yet please help it move forward thanks

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 3 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

What a Crock

Reviewed By Lorrie Owen on October 22, 2014, Phoenix, Arizona

This site is the biggest bunch of scammers anywhere. Any loser can post on this site and beg for money with no accountability by GOFUNDME. I know of a person who posted for money who had no relation to this issue she was "collecting" for. What a crock!!!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 4 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 5 Comments
Cheryl
November 11, 2014

#1 - The site relies on honest people, I would guess. I am one of those honest people, with a real, very legitimate need. I'm not a "loser", a swindler, or a beggar. Maybe go read some of the stories? AND, I hope you are never in need of a little hope from your fellow humans - because if we all thought like you, the world is screwed.

Doug Beaver
November 19, 2014

I'm sorry Cheryl, I think it's great that YOU are not trying to scam anyone, but the big problem here is that GFM is not being held liable or performing due diligence in doing ANY kind of screening process of those asking for money. That SHOULD be step #1 in my opinion. They shield themselves from any direct contact by anyone that would try to criticize them.... they would rather just give you your money back rather than hear the truth from those that were scammed and thus try to improve their process to weed out the fakes and scammers. Not everyone, IMO most, are NOT trustworthy!

Carol Manglos
December 03, 2014

Very nice, diplomatic answer, Doug, to a not-so-very nice comment.

jay
January 30, 2015

True. Can't anyone just say their 2 year old has cancer and a tree fell on their roof? (And the cat and dog have cancer too)

March 06, 2015

Yes, so do your homework, check them out on Facebook. What are they saying on Facebook, is what they are telling their friends what you are reading on GFM?

Your Comment
1 Review

Go Fund Me - Corrin

Reviewed By M Fingers on October 8, 2014

I put up a site for my grandaughter to get $6,000 college dorm fees (she's a straight A student but struggling with transportation to get to/from school). I am very unfortunately unable to pay this AND I live in a different state so i can't drive her.

No funding yet but I am hopeful (& praying).

I would recommend Go Fund Me.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
Lisa Barth
February 20, 2015

So is the 6k for dorm fees or transportation? Does she work?

March 10, 2015

If you have not gotten money yet, pray and don't be shocked when they finish with fees.

Your Comment
1 Review

GoFundMe is a hotbed for scams

Reviewed By c thoma on October 5, 2014

I recently donated some money for my friend but it never got to her. It was run by someone calling themselves Renee Rousell from Australia. GoFundMe obviously didn't vet her very well. She never sent the money to my friend and I suspect this is not the first time she has pulled this. DO NOT USE GOFUNDME!!!!!!!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
Ro Cassada
March 06, 2015

Give it a rest, EVERY where is a hotbed for scams. Even your inbox!

March 10, 2015

You must be a gofundme employee.

Your Comment
1 Review

Older man has problems

Reviewed By Tony mangilo on October 4, 2014

Hello my name is Tony i will be 70 soon i am still working its ok but i dont know how long i can last i only get 540 dollars SS a month if i can pay my house and car off if i cant work i might get buy i would need about 40,000 dollars so i hope i find an angel out there to help me i live in meadville Penn. 278 walnut st 16335 Tony mangilo

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
Ernestine Williams
March 10, 2015

How did you buy a house and car on $540 a month? I get $727. and can't do it. Good luck.

March 27, 2015

Read again he said he was still working.

Your Comment
1 Review

Social security number

Reviewed By Susan McNamara on September 27, 2014

I'm very leery of giving them my as#, but they claim they need it to process donations. Is this true?

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
Kimberly N Mitchell Burnette
October 22, 2014

I set up a account for a friend needing medical help. we raised $215.00 to send her to Vanderbilt hospital for evaluation on kidney transplant. I have been trying for 3 days to collect her money. she leaves for Vanderbilt tomorrow and needs the money. Their website says payment system is down! really for 3 days?

March 10, 2015

I wouldn't do it. Get a pre-paid card that is reloadable or set up a checking account just for this.

Your Comment

Leave a Review