Humana Medicare Advantage Plan Reviews

Humana Medicare Advantage Plan
Based on 6 Reviews
Review It
6 ‘Humana Medicare Advantage Plan’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:
1 Review

Atnea and Humana

Reviewed By Linda Maxwell on August 1, 2014, Tempe, Arizona

Humana charge for Medicare but gave me a doctor who is not legal to practice in arizona service is bad

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

No X-ray facilities in network

Reviewed By amous on October 26, 2012, alabama

Mother recently went to Humana Choice plan and found that there was no x-ray facility within 1 hour drive of our area. Several representatives sent me on a goose chase of two different facilities one that had no longer been open and then another 40 minutes away that was someones residence that did not do x-rays. What a joke. After several calls and more than 3 hours on the telephone with many agents, I was then asked to turn around and drive back to where I began my search for the original x-ray facility.

The supervisor I spoke with said she called to assure that they do in fact do the x-rays at this location as I told them I was not driving another 30 minutes to find that they can't do it. Wouldn't you know my gut told me to call the facility myself even after I was told they do the x-ray at that location and they indicated they were only a billing agency and did not do x-rays at this location. My 78 year old mother to this date has not been able to get the x-ray needed.

The mail order pharmacy has screwed up several prescriptions and not mailed ones that have been put in their system for weeks. So far not impressed and the customer service is horrible with automated phone calls, same complaints about caregivers not wanting to be spoken to and no immediate option on phone lines to speak with a representative. I had to listen to the same recording at least 10 times to get to the end when I could actually speak to a live person.

Humana, you need to step up the customer service and surely you should have appropriate network x-ray facility in all areas and someone that ensures your list of network providers are updated as they leave the network. I spoke with more than 5 persons that weren't aware that these facilities were not in their network or closed down. One residence where sent indicated that there father hadn't done x-rays in over 10 years. Hmmm....

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 40 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 4 Comments
John t
January 26, 2013

Just the name Humana turns me away!!

Todd S.
February 25, 2013

Hamana Advantage plans are supposed to act just like medicare, that means no pre-authorizations for needed care, etc. I called Medicare today to file a complaint, one of many. Hopefully Humana will loose their contract and quit scamming people.

An agent that cares!
August 16, 2013

As a United States Navy Veteran i have gotten into the senior business and this is what i have seen in the field. Advantage plans are not fully explained to the customers. If you get real sick good luck with all the out of pocket expenses. Plan F through Medicare is the only plan that provides a no out of pocket expense for medical and hospital by paying your monthly premium plus what social security takes out for Part A and B for your 80%. Although you may need a Part D for your prescriptions you will have the best plan and the peace of mind knowing that you are fully covered. Part D is easily found on the Medicare.gov site. You can put in your specific prescriptions and it will give you options. Stay Healthy on the Advantage plan and it will be a great plan for you. Get sick, well look forward to the bills coming in the mail. Find someone that is genuine and actually cares about you and your plan. I recommend a Plan F if you want peace of mind but be sure to get it before you have a pre-existing condition. Take care America and do the right thing for you and your family.

Don
August 18, 2013

"...you will have the best plan and the peace of mind knowing that you are fully covered."

As an agent specializing in the Medicare benefits markets, I certainly hope this is NOT how you are explaining Plan F to your clients. There is NO PLAN where you are fully covered. And Medicare Advantage plans fill a needed niche in the senior markets. Ignore them and you'll do a segment of your clientele a disservice. You're right though - it's important that the client know about the gaps in coverage and what their exposure is.

Your Comment
Guest

Great sales pitch

Reviewed By Groy on October 21, 2012

I have been in sales for over 50 years and i know from experience that if you pitch something in what may seem like the right way you can and will get someone to buy anything - example the bridge to nowhere! But i always taught my salespeople to be honest with a customer because you would expect to treated the same way. They would and expected to be fired if it came to my attention that they lied to a customer just to make a sale and their commission...

Its really bad today that a lot of selling today is full of lies especially with insurance company . Before you buy into getting a certain plan it pay to ask questions first with your doctor, your local hospital, and your friends or co-workers if they have had any problems with this insurance company. This will save you dollars and lots of headaches- i have blue cross/blue shield for over 20 years and no headaches period!!!! It's your decision and money ---just think carefully before you decide- do your homework!!!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 17 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
November 14, 2014

Nothing sells like "pitching heat." Commission plans generally reward it heavily enough to make it worthwhile. They say "you can pitch heat and eventually get fired with a pile of money in the bank - or don't pitch heat, be broke and get fired for not hitting your numbers.

Your Comment
Guest

Worst customer service!

Reviewed By Vera on August 15, 2012

Do not choose Humana's Advantage Plan! (Unless you really like listening to long recorded messages and talking to software.) When you do get an actual human, you will be talking to a minimum wage employee who is probably terrified of losing their pathetic job. Customer service is only interested in following instructions to update your account information, not in listening to your question.

I had a billing problem with Humana. They deposited all my premium electronic payments, but for 5 months continued to tell me I owed an additional payment. My bank twice faxed them proof of payments and even spoke with them on the phone. It was impossible for me to find anyone in customer service to resolve this problem. Finally I mailed them copies of my bank's proof of payment and threatened to complain to my state insurance commissioner. It took almost a month, but I just listened to a recording that said I had no payments due.

I am having surgery in a few weeks and dread seeing how they screw up payments for that.

Will I be changing providers in October? You bet!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 25 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
February 20, 2014

Favorite word: denied.

Your Comment
Guest

Cannot get out of hospital to rehab or snf

Reviewed By v j farrar on May 8, 2012, fort worth texas

Humana will not answer social workers for 48 to 72 hours delaying hospital discharge and shifting cost burdon to hospital. they delay decisions when patient is ready for rehab or SNF. They either claim they do not have the clinicial information and subsequently find it 3 days later when faced with the proof; they say the service has been approved and then says, "Oops, we made a mistake; it wasn't" after forcing the patient to spend the weekend in the hospital. Their doctor does not honor peer to peer conference requests. In short they shift costs; do not take care of the patient and just want your money. If it is to Humana's advantage not to approve treatment you will not get it.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 20 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
Sylvia Rudek
February 20, 2014

"If it is to Humana's advantage not to approve treatment you will not get it." Exactly and good luck with Humana Maze of customer service designed to eliminate the problems - their members. Pattern of operation. Money not spent on treatment is of financial benefit to Humana. See ABREACHOFTURST.COM - a work in progress - a story of WWII Veteran who suffered a stroke (CVA) ; he needed medically necessary Skilled Nursing care, physical and occupational therapy to continue to recover after initial 12 days of therapy Humana terminated all coverage via Notice of Medicare Non Coverage - all requests to appeal: denied denied denied.

November 14, 2014

Maybe that's why they call it Medicare "advantage." It's to the insurance company's advantage. I figured that when after my first year on Medicare with an "F" supplement, I started getting Medicare Advantage marketing literature and phone calls every day as the first year was ending. They wouldn't market it so heavily if the "advantage" were not there's.

Your Comment

Leave a Review