Max Workouts Reviews

About Max Workouts

Max Workouts, from creator Shin Ohtake, is a high intensity workout system that claims to be able to get users lean and ripped in just a 90 day program of workouts that only last 30 minutes a day.

This system was designed by Ohtake after 20 years of experience as a competitive athlete, coach, chiropractic soft tissue therapist, and personal trainer who decided that he wanted to make a workout system that would help anyone off their fitness plateau and accelerate results with shorter, more efficient workouts.

How Does It Work?

Unlike other similar workout systems, Max Workouts says that their system takes into account the role of the nervous system in weight loss and muscle gain - if you can stimulate your nervous system with proper training, you can burn more calories and get lean and fit faster.

To begin, you'll receive step-by-step directions of 40 different exercises as well as a 90 day workout schedule that will explain to you exactly what workout to do each day, every day of the three month program.

Cost/Price Plans

Their website says that you can receive the entire Max Workouts program and materials for just a one time charge of $39.95.

Mobile Options

Not applicable.

Refund Policy

The website displays a picture in the sidebar which claims they have a 90 money back guarantee for customers who are dissatisfied or have complaints, but there is no place on the website that details this policy. Customers who are concerned may want to speak to a Customer Service representative regarding the details of this policy before they finalize a purchase.

Customer Service Contact Info

Consumers with questions can either submit a question directly to their website or they can contact them by mail at 35 Miller Ave #304, Mill Valley, CA 94941. Unfortunately there is no published phone number at this time.

Reputation

Unfortunate there is not much customer feedback currently available online regarding this program, and most of the "positive reviews" consumers will find are actually affiliate articles written by people who have the option to earn money from promoting this product. While this does not mean these people don't actually support or believe in this product, it is also not a fully unbiased point of view.

Is It Safe?

There does not seem to be any complaints about this company regarding safety.

Competitors and Alternatives?

There are many other workout programs that make similar promises to this program, such as P90X3, the Insanity 60 Day Total Body Conditioning Program, and Athlean-X.
    
If you have any experience with this company or their products, please leave your Max Workouts reviews below.

Related Articles

4 ‘Max Workouts’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:
1 Review

H.I.I.T is a Hit!

Reviewed By Behr Palomo on May 5, 2015

I am a wildland firefighter and athlete; I have not participated in Shin's Max Workout yet but I am going to check it out.

I would like to respond to the reply that claims his science is "flaky", however. This person goes on to laud their own accomplishments as a marathon runner which for me does not add to their credibility at all. Have you ever seen a professional marathon runner? They are emaciated wrecks! The body is tortured and thin, required to slim down and be super endurance oriented. While it is impressive that a person can do that to their body, I would not use runners at examples of health. If any form of running is healthy, I would look to short distance sprinters over marathoners. Distance running is one of the most detrimental things you can do to your body, especially the way most people do it. I confess I do a VERY small amount of barefoot running as part of my overall fitness regimen but I am extremely careful about form and distance and I would not consider it to be the most effective or beneficial part of my exercise program.

H.I.I.T. has been in my experience one of the most effective types of workout. Short time, minimum risk/exposure (all exercises should be done with body weight or a light weight that is well below your maximum ability) and amazing results in terms of elevated heart rate, respirations, muscle fatigue and recovery times. When on a HIIT program, I have felt incredible recovery times and energy levels. I am looking forward to trying Shin's program and seeing if it fits my needs.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

Flaky Science

Reviewed By Stewartm on December 10, 2014

Not taken the program, up front. But I've been bombarded with enough ads so I'm throwing in my observations.

a) his "science" is flaky (no, raising your metabolism doesn't make you age more slowly, it actually probably if anything ages you *faster*, according to all the scientific material I've read). A slow metabolism may actually be a good thing insofar as staying younger.

b) Getting ripped is all about losing the fat to see the muscles you've developed, and losing weight is all about the calorie in/calorie burned balance. Any program that says that you lose weight/get ripped by replacing LSDs with high-intensity workouts is also scientific BS and moreover anyone who's ever run a marathon or done 100-mile or more bike rides and also run 5ks (I have) knows. Mind you, sure, there are benefits from interval training and high-intensity workouts, but maximum calorie burning is simply not one of them. After you run a 5k, you may be winded and experience muscle fatigue, but you do not feel energy depleted, which is what caloric consumption is all about. By contrast, after you run a marathon or do long bike rides or swims, you *do* know what calorie depletion feels like (in worst cases, 'hitting the wall', 'bonking', etc) and you are well aware of the difference between the two feelings. Also, any marathoner or long-distance athlete will tell you that it's during their LSD part of their training that their experience weight loss, not in the high-intensity speedwork sessions.

To exercise to lose weight, there is simply no substitute for LSD, and don't let anyone tell you differently.

c) Fat isn't the enemy, and yes, you need it, but it's not necessarily your friend either. And you can't do LSD without carbs. So carbs aren't your enemy either. For those who portray carbs as the fat villain, please explain how that carb consumption 100 years ago was higher than now, and Americans were leaner then than now (and that includes refined sugar, guys!) plus how in other high-carb consumption cultures even today they are leaner.

d) Looking at his testimonial examples, I see people no more 'ripped' than I (subjective appraisal there) even though I follow a workout scheme that differs greatly than this one. Yeah, for those who start from ground zero any program will result in improvements, but I don't see it helping those who might be supposedly spending hours in the gym already and still struggling. Those I know personally who might fit that description are that way because they do nearly all weight training and do *little or no* LSD cardio, and/or don't watch fat/overall calorie intake not the other way around.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 3 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 6 Comments
Alex Pinchuk
February 02, 2015

Can't review the program without at least trying, and you are so wrong in most of your remarks, i wish i can see your "gorgeous" lean body

Stewartm
February 03, 2015

Alex,

You don't need to give a scammer your $$$ in order to validate an exercise or diet program. If a program is scientifically valid, support for it will be found in the scientific literature. Everything I wrote above is scientifically valid and can be independently validated by anyone without giving me a dime. Max Workouts cannot make that claim.

You DO burn far more calories doing LSD than in short, high-intensity bursts; anyone who tells you otherwise is flat-out lying, and so if caloric "burn" and fat loss is an important factor in looking "ripped", then LSD has to be an important part. People are fatter today not because they eat more carbs, not even more refined carbs, than in past years, but because they eat more fat. That is also validated by USDA data (though in truth all such studies I'm aware of appear to lack age-correction factors, which is critical). Raising your metabolism doesn't prevent aging, it probably accelerates it by experimentation done on animal models--from such models the message would be you'd want to SLOW DOWN your metabolism as much as you can in order to stay young. And so on.

As for your last comment--looking "ripped" is relative. To look like a model you need to a) be young; b) have the right DNA, c) control and manage your dietary intake; d) do muscle strengthening and toning weight training, and d) burn about the equivalent of 50 miles a week running in regards to aerobic caloric-burning cardio. That's not a comforting message, it doesn't give you something for nothing like what scammers offer, but it's the TRUTH. Personally, I don't think I look bad (I'm about Lance Armstrong's size and weight and build) but even if you don't think I have a body that satisfies you insofar as 'looking like a model' I think I'm at least in the general category of being in as good of shape as some of the older guys touted by Max Workouts. The people I do know who who are definitely "ripped" (one of them actually is paid to model for gyms because of his looks!!) sure the heck don't use Max Workouts but have their own workout regimens and DO in fact spend several hours working out every day, unlike Max Workouts claims.

Finally, as an amateur athlete, I can tell you--looks and being "ripped" aren't everything and are no indication of overall fitness or ability. Do any bike event, do any running event, and you can see people there who may not have the physique of models but they'll kick your butt.

Elizabeth Walker
February 11, 2015

Firstly, Shin doesn't claim that you'll get "ripped" as you keep saying, he says build lean muscle, which burns calories by itself...which is correct...In all the books I have read, and yes I have read four of his books (unlike someone who just read ads) he doesn't claim you will get ripped...EVER

Eating fat isn't the problem, sugar is. I don't know why you're stuck on old science, you know science "facts" can be outdated too, right? Sugar is either burned immediately, stored for later or stored for EVEN later....depending on your intake amount. And carbs are sugar; 100 years ago, carbs were burned....that's your explanation.
Again, Shin doesn't say don't eat carbs, he says stay away from refined carbs and cool your starchy carbs (in the refrigerator, overnight) before consumption, if you do eat them.

I'm not saying Shin's Max Workout is the only program that gets results, I think anyone that changes to a healthier, low calorie, more natural diet and begins to workout is going to achieve results...I'm just saying that you probably shouldn't comment on something you know nothing about.

Elizabeth Walker
February 11, 2015

PS he doesnt focus on the calories burned in the workout, but the calories burned after the workout. you should really read the books and educate yourself xx

Stewartm
February 15, 2015

Ahem...I need to read more? The calories burned due to the rise in metabolism after the workout isn't that much....about 20 calories in a day from an aerobic workout, a bit more but not that much from strength training.

Don't believe me? See here: http://www.webmd.com/fitness-exercise/top-9-fitness-myths-busted?page=2

By contrast, I bicycled 65 miles last Saturday because the weather was warm, for a conservative estimate of a net burn (not total, for this excludes the metabolic rate contribution) of 1950 calories. What do you think would help one achieve or maintain weight loss....a 20 calorie post-workout burn or nearly a 2000 calorie burn?

(Not to mention, I got the 20 calorie burn post-ride metabolic burn as well, and indeed you don't begin to shift from burning mostly glycogen to burning a higher percentage of fat until you've been working out for at least 20 minutes. Short and intense is not an optimal fat-burning strategy in that regards).

There is just so much bogus about this program.

February 15, 2015

Elizabeth,

Shinn is ultimately responsible for his ads. If the ads for Max Workouts make ludicrous statements and claims, then he could tell his advertisers to stop. And his ads DO tell say things like his program is to get ripped and that "everyone else is doing it wrong", instead that his strategy is merely one thing that some find successful in achieving their fitness and physique goals. If it were the latter, I'd have less beef--after all, there are a zillion plans on how to train for and run a marathon (Jack Daniel's, Hal Higdon's, Jeff Galloway's, etc)--and some are best for elite runners, some best for those who simply want to finish, some best for runners prone to injury, etc. But Hal Higdon wouldn't say that Galloway's program was bunk and "was doing it all wrong" when it's obvious that there are lots of people who've succeeded using Galloways "run-walk" program, and vice versa.

(This is why one of the few fitness programs I respect, though I don't follow, is that by Richard Simmons. Unlike nearly all other promoters of exercise equipment or programs, his ads are honest--the people he shows don't look like ripped 20-something models, they look like ordinary people. Indeed if you follow his programs you'll likely drop a few pounds, be fitter, and be healthier. But you won't be ripped or have a body beautiful. I appreciate such honesty).

My science is not "old", it's just correct. We have more than 100 years of American food consumption data, courtesy of the USDA, and indeed back 100 years ago Americans ate more carbs and indeed lots refined carbs and sugar too! (In fact, the reason breakfast cereals had sugar added to them was that during the 1930s there was a similar concern about how much sugar kids were adding to cereal, so the idea was that if you pre-sweetened them they'd add less--it was a sugar minimization idea rather than a sugar addition idea). The fact was that before the mid-1970s you couldn't buy whole grain products but only refined flour products in most venues. We were a nation of sugar and white bread back then. Yet we were thinner, not fatter, back then, as a country.

What happened? Continual decrease in calories burned from daily activities due to mechanization and automation, and continual increase of fat intake. Harkers of the 'low-carb' diet plans all point to the fact that American doctors have advised people to limit fat intake, and jumped to the conclusion that Americans actually DID do just that. But from the USDA data, it's clear that American's dietary fat intake continued to rise despite what doctors advised. Hardee's didn't go out of business now advertising its TripleThick Cheeseburger meals, now did it??

Now, to a last bit--you use the word "more natural diet". The real problem is that our bodies conspire against us. Being predisposed to fatty food and sweet foods *is* "natural"; it's natural because our ancestors didn't have the luxury of food-on-whim and certainly couldn't access high calorie-density foods on whim. Moreover, the dangers that they faced in their lives and probable lifespans meant that heart disease and cancers weren't much of a threat simply because you weren't likely to get to be old enough to die from them. You see the same analogy with feral dogs and cats vs those who are domesticated and taken care of--it's only the latter who, given access to veterinary treatments and good diets, live long enough to suffer arthritis and heart disease and cancers and can live upwards of 20 years old. The feral ones are lucky to live 4-5 years.

Your Comment
Guest

Great program!

Reviewed By Mike on February 27, 2013

This a great program. I've tried p90x and max workouts. Max workouts is so much better if you are trying to get into shape and build lean muscle mass. I completed to 90 day program and was in the best shape of my life, and ripped! It only takes 30 minutes 6 times a week, which is great compared to most of these insane workout programs. It's based on high intensity workouts with the science behind it to prove it is effective. And it only cost 50 bucks. Shin Ohtake developed the program, so check him out if you are interested.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 6 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

Payment made and information unable to download

Reviewed By M Low on November 10, 2012, Singapore

I was unable to download information after Web payment of USD 39.95 went through on 22 Sep 2012. Tried multiple times and still unsuccessful. Search through Maxworkout webpage and there was no phone contact indicated. I called the bank immediate and they said they can't reverse the payment. Recent bank statement states payment is done. It has been more than a month since my first email to them and no respond. Just sent another email a while ago to have a final attempt to confirm this is indeed a faud and not to be trusted. Since product was never received, perhaps the Maxworkout team who read this email can advise action needed for 100% refund.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 6 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 5 Comments
M. C.
February 14, 2013

He has always responded to my emails.

A Cunha
July 06, 2013

Any updates on this?

Melody
February 27, 2014

At Max Workouts, we support our return policy if the customer is not satisfied with our product. M Low was refunded in full on 11 Nov 2012.

Pierre Gaudette
December 13, 2014

This sounds like Mercola or Atkins BS deadly diets applied in training. Telling people what they want to hear can make you rich: 'don't train much, no yoga, almost no cardio'. Eat FAT makes you FAT+ sick. In fact, Bad eating habits (including trans) kill around 700k Americans a year, while smoking kill around 400K. But a lot more don't die: they are claudicating or in whell chair, handicaped for the rest of their life. Read Dr Roger Mason (surgeon) ''Dr. Mercola Is Another Dumbbell - YoungAgain.org!'' or Phil Plait, 'Bad Astronomy, From the best sources, 1 hour of cardio & resistance training (done alternatively) is healthy and productive. A minimum of 150 min. of cardio/w. Read Edward R. Laskowski, M.D. (Mayo Clinic). Of course, doing 2h of cardio a day will make you age faster (cortisol + oxydation). But going down to 20 min. will, IN MOST CASES, not be enough.

February 15, 2015

PIerre, I agree with much of you write, but I am suspicious about the "fact" that doing 2 hours of cardio will age you faster. At the most, I think that's symptomatic and correlated but not causative.

The biggest culprit for "aging faster" is the common advice given out that "you should raise your metabolism by eating 7-8 small meals a day". I suspect that you do just that, but the catch is that, based on animal models, speeding up your metabolism is likely to accelerate rather slow aging. Calorie-restricted mice outlive their normally-fed peers by twice as long in lab experiments, and (of course) it's slow-metabolism creatures like turtles that outlive high-metabolism creatures like shrews. High-metabolism mice and rats are chosen for cancer experiments precisely because they're so good at growing tumors!

While I am skeptical about references about "Paleo diets" being necessarily healthy....our ancestors didn't have the luxury of selecting what to eat, they ate what was available to them (this also explains food traditions and cultural preferences)) I do note that our ancestors alternated between feasts and periods of hunger. Eating fewer meals a day, or even having fast days, would slow your metabolism but that might be the best strategy to slow aging. I only eat once a day myself and despite me being something of an exercise nut, I'm fine with that schedule and am not going around starved. I also note it's hard practically to eat lots of small meals a day--you tend to overeat (akin to an alcoholic into a bar going into for 'just one sip'). It's easier not to open that bag of potato chips rather than "to just have one..."

So my hypothesis is that many of those ultraathletes (ultramarathoners, triatheletes, and grand tour bicyclists) are told by their trainers to be cramming food into their mouths 24/7. A grand tour bicyclist, for instance, will eat upwards of 6000-10,000 calories a day! Here's an example:

http://www.mensjournal.com/health-fitness/nutrition/the-tour-de-france-diet-how-to-consume-8-000-calories-a-day-20140710

And I submit to you that it's all this correlated eating, rather than the exercise per se, that accelerates aging.

One last thing that alarms me about any program of high-intensity training. High-intensity training is not only hard psychologically to maintain, it's hard on you physically. If you train hard and "max out" all the time, even alternating exercises and workouts, something's likely to break. In my weightlifting I strive for 12 reps or so per set because I see all my powerlifter-type friends who try to "max out" their lifts have back problems, torn rotator cuffs, and other injuries.

Your Comment

Leave a Review