Pimsleur Approach Reviews

About Pimsleur Approach

The Pimsleur Approach (PimsleurApproach.com) is a foreign language course that promises to teach you the basics of your chosen language within 10 days using proven methods created by Dr. Paul Pimsleur and used by the FBI.

When you order the Quick & Simple program, you will receive 4 audio CDs with 8 lessons, each 30 minutes in length, and you are scheduled to listen to only one lesson per day.

The entire program is 100% audio based so it can be listened to in the car, the home, or downloaded and played on an MP3 player. The Quick & Simple program is currently priced at $10.00, with free Shipping & Handling.

What is “The Pimsleur Approach”?

The Pimsleur Approach to learning a foreign language is to teach adults a language the same way babies learn language – orally. According to them, learning language begins with learning sounds and pronunciations, not with grammar rules or vocab lessons.

The Pimsleur Approach works on the idea that you should absorb grammar rules through understanding how conversation works orally, just like you did when you were learning your first language.

The website says that while there are over 1 million words and phrase in the English language, there are only 2500 that we use consistently and that we need in order to communicate with the average American.

The Pimsleur Approach identifies these same language building blocks for foreign languages and only concentrates on teaching you those, so that you can quickly be conversational in your chosen language.

The Cost

The Quick & Simple program does cost $10.00 and comes with a 30 day trial, where you can receive a refund if you return the program in excellent condition. However, you are automatically enrolled to get subsequent programs sent to you.

These subsequent programs, if not returned with 30 days, will cost you 4 payments of $64, or $256, and depending on the language you have chosen, you can receive up to 4 additional shipments.

With each additional shipment, you have 30 days to return those and cancel the charges. You can also call 1-877-802-5283 to cancel future shipments in advance at any time.

Related Articles

399 ‘Pimsleur Approach’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:
Guest

Why?

Reviewed By theguyguy04 on August 11, 2013, Currituck, NC

I didn't buy the program, but from what I've read it's quite possibly the worst piece of s*** out there. First, they charge ya $10, which is a LITTLE too good to be true, then they charge 4 payments of $64, which they TRY to make it sound cheaper by saying the number 64, then they say yo "owe them" money, and if you don't pay them, they hack into your credit card account, and steal about 3x the amount of money they tried to charge you, so don't buy, don't even LOOK at it, just close the tab and try to forget you ever saw it, or you'll be sorry. If you buy it, then death is upon you.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 18 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

Thanks for saving me $$$ and Pain

Reviewed By Nickm on August 8, 2013

Thank you all for the comments. I added the software to the shopping cart and was about to buy, then decided to read the reviews. Your time in writing these reviews is appreciated.

Did the actual program work or was that a joke too. if it works i would be willing to trade Rosetta Stone Spanish for a copy of yours. If its really not a good program then i appreciate knowing that too.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 12 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
Kerry Le Blanc
August 08, 2013

If you want just a passing knowledge of a language then yes this system will suffice, but it's no Rosetta Stone, the grammar rules aren't there, and while it may be true that the FBI uses their program, the agents already have a passing knowledge of the language their learning.

Lynne
August 18, 2013

they are = they're

Your Comment
Guest

It's good

Reviewed By Todd on August 7, 2013, Derby

I'm amazed that people have issues with payments. Not because I think the company doesn't try to trick customers out of money, but simply because Pimsleur has so many reviews specifically about their money-grabbing scheme. Before you buy ANYTHING on the internet, do research to avoid bad products/companies. That's what I did, I found out about the Pimsleur scaming, so I found somewhere else to acquire the audio files for free.

Bottom line is, the actual lessons are brilliant, just don't let the company take you for a mug.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 19 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
Jake
August 07, 2013

or buy from the official company pimsleur.com not from this reseller. It's cheaper and no surprises.

Melanie
August 10, 2013

I got a lot of the French Basic learning and bought it right off the website in downloads which was cheaper. I really loved it. I started brushing up 3 months before we went to France and between Pimsleur and Coffee Break French (a Scottish iTunes foreign language teaching company) I was speaking decent enough French so we could go where no one spoke any English. Though far from being able to do a college lecture on a subject, I thoroughly enjoyed this CDs. I would recommend them to anyone. Please, be realistic. Realize that no one can actually learn a decent conversation in just 10 days. But if you want to learn how to be polite, say "good day", "thank you" and other small sentences to help you around, then give yourself 10 days.

Your Comment
Guest

Pimsleur Italian

Reviewed By j. manuto on July 25, 2013, vista, ca

they conduct business like a flat-out scam. The come on is that it's cheaper than Rosetta Stone. They entice you for the intro, then jam out the entire series in the mail, and try to bill you exhorbitent costs.

Prospective buyers beware.

My advice is go to Costco and get Rosetta Stone aor another reputable language package where you know you can get a fair deal and a full refund if you are not satisfied.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 26 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 3 Comments
Lynn
July 27, 2013

I thought about trying Pimsleur but not now after reading your review and many others that say it is a scam. Thank you for saving me money and headaches.

Litmus
August 02, 2013

Lynn, you miss out then. It isn't a scam in the sense that it doesn't work (because it does)... it is a scam in that it costs a lot more than they claim. But, if you ask yourself if the cost is worth it if it actually works... then you'll probably think you are missing out.

There's also always pirates :P

Victim
August 04, 2013

Same bad experience. When I tried to cancel this reply came back:

"Thank you for contacting Customer Care at Pimsleur Approach. We are sorry to hear that you no longer want to be a part of our Rapid Fluency Program. We are happy to assist you with your request. Unfortunately, we cannot process your request through email...."

It's a scam to capture your billing information -

Your Comment
Guest

It's Awesome!

Reviewed By River on July 23, 2013

Okay, okay, I know it seems some of you have had bad experiences with the Pimsleur Approach software, and before you jump down my throat for loving it, I would like to point out that there are 2 websites that both say they sell Pimsleur Language software, however, only 1 of these actually has the official product. I have had the best experience with www.pimsleurapproach.com, though I wish their site was better set up. If you're going to try the Pimsleur Approach I suggest ordering over the phone because it's much easier to convey exactly what you want (the actual language software) and what you don't (guides and special additions you don't need.)
Alright, now that you know that I'll tell you why I continuously choose the Pimsleur Approach every time I want to learn a new language (and yes, I AM that much of a nerd.) Before I go into specifics, I'm going to tell you that I learned more in a half hour with Pimsleur than I did studying lessons over and over for weeks with Rossetta Stone (supposedly one of the best language learning softwares on the market)
Pimsleur ONLY takes a HALF HOUR out of your day, the software is FUN to use, and EVERYTHING you learn STICKS. I remember making flash cards to study vocabulary for a Japanese test in school; reviewing them day after day until I had them down. But when I found them a week after the test I had no idea what any of them meant. It's been months since I listened to the first lesson in Pimsleur and I can still remember every word it taught me. And what's better? I've talked to actual native speakers who constantly ask me where in Japan I'm from! (which I always think is funny because when I'm speaking English I have a natural southern accent) Pimsleur doesn't just give you the knowledge, it gives you a PERFECT ACCENT! I LOVE Pimsleur and to me it's the only way to learn a language.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 24 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 6 Comments
Lies
July 31, 2013

Wow, SOMEONE works for this company and is shamelessly trying to generate traffic for their website... God, this review is absolutely shameless in its lies!

Clay Simpson
August 07, 2013

This review WAS written by an employee or some paid to write the B.S.

Replay to Awesome!
August 11, 2013

Only who is selling speaks these words! Never have read such a review from the buyers! Scammers!

Paul
August 29, 2013

SCAM, SCAM, SCAM. "If it seems to good to be true..." Nothing more needs to be said. STAY AWAY!

Megumi
October 01, 2013

Your comments are making me excited. I have wanted to try out the Pimsleur Approach for a while, and these ratings are making my day. I can't wait to try it!

person
October 08, 2013

i love the pimsleur aproach. i bought the first one for a dollar off of itunes and instantly it worked. but im flat broke so i found a website that can download them form but it doesnt seem to work anymore. i love the program, it works, and it works well. i also chose japanese and while there are people who have been studying it for weeks or months on end, with the first 10 lessons, i understood not only the words, but the grammer better. the onl reason to complain is the pricing which when u see the results are more than worth it. my problem is i dont have the money to get them as of now

Your Comment

Leave a Review