The Tile App Reviews

The Tile App
Based on 27 Reviews
Review It

About The Tile App

TheTileApp works by locating items that have a Tile inside of, or affixed to, it. The art of multi-tasking has consumed our lives is now accompanied with the popular trend of misplacing our belongings.
 
TheTileApp works by Bluetooth GPS connectivity to a battery operated small square shaped waterproof tile. All tiles have a keyhole for placement on a set of keys, a double sided adhesive for items such as laptops or they can even simply be put into a purse or backpack. 
 
Tiles may be purchased online at www.TheTileApp.com. Special deals are currently available for pre-orders. The pricing is as follows: 1 tile costs $18.95, 4 tiles cost $56.85, 8 tiles costs $113.70, or 12 tiles for $170.55. A shipping charge of $8 is applied to each shipment. In the future each tile will cost $25.00. 
 
Upon receiving the tiles you must first sync them to your Apple device. As long as you are within a 180 radius of the tile, you will then be able to view yourself moving toward the item or perhaps moving further away from it. Each tile has a built in speaker so you may also generate an audio alert if necessary.
 
If you are out of range, the” last place seen” feature will point you to the location of where it was last detected. Should another TileApp user be in range of your tile, it is detected through their app automatically and discreetly. The tile’s location will then appear on your map.
 
This function serves for lost or stolen items as well. By tagging an item as lost or stolen, other tile users, if in the vicinity of the item, will unknowingly be assisting you while trying to locate your item. Even people who do not purchase tiles, but choose to download TheTileApp, can take part in efforts to find items tagged as lost or stolen.
 
The low energy usage of these tiles means you never have to replace a battery. Each Tile lasts a year; at the end of the year you will be sent replacement tiles as well as an envelope to mail back your old ones for recycling. 
 
Currently TheTileApp is only available for individuals with Bluetooth 4.0 Apple products; these include the iPhone 4S, the iPad 3rd generation, the iPod Touch 5th generation. Online reviews submitted by Tile users show nothing but positive experiences had by all. The only complaint came from individuals who possessed an Android phone; this is because their phones are not equipped with Bluetooth 4.0 connection capabilities.
 
Now you can finally leave the stress of losing items, and wasted time searching for your belongings, in the past; this device is a Holy Grail.
27 ‘The Tile App’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:
1 Review

Works on my S5 just fine

Reviewed By Darrelyn Dixon on June 8, 2015

I purchased a set of 4 tiles and so far have only set up 2 of them. I have a Galaxy S5 and the app works perfectly. I even got a notification that the app had turned itself off and when/if I needed to use the app to locate a tile I would have to turn the back on first.

So, I don't see how the app is going to still be running in the background if it isn't active until I need it.

So it DOES work with certain Android devices.

I am very pleased

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
June 08, 2015

Oh......and my order came in less than 10 business days.

Your Comment
1 Review

Should have waited

Reviewed By Bob on January 9, 2015

Usually I never purchase any product until there are a good number of reviews. Thought this would be a good product to give out for Christmas. I received an email that the tiles had shipped Nov 20th
which would be in for Christmas, Well I received them Jan 2 2015.
It was easy to activate the tiles. But to find your keys using the app is useless. The app only says your in range but does send you in the right direction. The sound it emits is much to low to hear if your keys are in a coat pocket or under some clothes. Very disappointed in this product I thought the app would pin point the location much more accurately then it does it only says your in range within 30 ft.
Well that still gives a large area in your home to look.
Hopefully they will improve many features of this product.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

Not Impressed

Reviewed By Not Tech Savvy on January 2, 2015

I received a Tile as a gift for Christmas. I had no trouble activating it, BUT upon testing it around the house, the 'tone' it plays is too quiet and unless you are standing on top of it, it will be hard to locate. I just placed the tile in various places around the house, if it were under something, I don't think I'd find it. Also the 'find it' option does not give me the warm fuzzies. I don't want anyone else looking for my phone, wallet, purse, etc... because they could just leave the tile lay somewhere and take my valuables.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

Ripoff

Reviewed By Comet on January 1, 2015

My husband bought me a pack of 4 tiles for Xmas. One wouldn't activate because it was broken. I went to their web site to try and contact technical support, but they don't let you talk to a human. You have to follow their help files and if that doesn't work (it didn't), you're out of luck. There is no way to get your money back.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

I just waisted $76

Reviewed By Phillip Gapp on December 27, 2014

Nothing worked; including contacting the company. There is no way to access "support." Hopeless. Do not send them a dollar. In the 1980s software companies knew their systems did not work, but published them anyway just before Christmas. They would deal with it latter after receiving millions in sales. This sounds like Tile. the rating is not low enough to score this company.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

I AGREE THIS COMPANY IS A BIG SCAM

Reviewed By Elaine on December 27, 2014

I ordered my tiles and after what I feel to be a reasonable period I reached out to them about my order. I get a response back that I should receive it by the end of the month. Subsequently several months passed, still no order.

I finally sent an email stating I was fed up and wanted a refund. The Help group responded and asked should the put it back on my card or via PayPal. I opted PayPal and I am still waiting. After reading all these reviews I see this is how they operate. You either don't get your tiles nor do you get your refund. I agree that a class action should be taken against them because they are a scam artist.

Just disgusted

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

WestSeaDoc

Reviewed By Douglas L. Hom on December 26, 2014, Seattle, Washington

Too soon to tell ... purchased AND RECEIVED (in a reasonable time) but some were for either a gift or for other family members ... will need to see if it works with an Android Phone or not. ... if not, that is not good and is too narrow a market.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
December 30, 2014

I ordered some of these tiles on November 29, I got a transaction confirmation and the charge was put on my credit card. After 8 emails to 'customer service' and their responses, I still have no tiles. The service people just keep sending the same form. One of the poorest companies I've ever done business with online.

Your Comment
1 Review

Customer support team does not exist.

Reviewed By A. Ionescu on December 14, 2014

Purchased 4 tiles, pressed submit. The next page said your order number is: BLANK (no number given), you can use this number to check the status of your shipment. Tried to track shipment with my email address instead, to which i got an automated response that your email is not in our system. The money was taken from my credit card. So I contacted support 8 times. (web form 3 times, email 2 times, twitter 2 times and facebook once). Not a single sign of life. No response what so ever. Now what do I do next? there is no phone number so i guess I am out of luck.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

Scam...or just a really terrible business?

Reviewed By Robb J on December 4, 2014

Since some customers actually have Tiles in their hands, I can't go so far as to call this a scam. It is simply an awful company that has gone way beyond its good grace period. What could possibly be in a Tile that would make them so difficult to manufacture? This is not an automobile with thousands of moving parts. It's not even remotely near an iPhone for complexity. It's a piece of plastic with some fancy doohickey stuffed inside. C'mon Tile! I have been patiently waiting 14 months for delivery, and I'm pretty sure I won't ever get a sniff at my three Tiles. $65 (including shipping) for thre chunks of plastic is some pretty decent coin for those guys - I can just picture them laughing at us right now while they're sipping mai tais from coconuts in the tropics. Joke's definitely on us!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

Scam or just a crappy company

Reviewed By Tad Marrs on November 26, 2014

Ordered 3 months ago. Never received. Now no response from company

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

Not a Scam

Reviewed By Peter Dashnaw on November 19, 2014

I disagree, it is not a scam. Perhaps they were a little premature in their marketing, and even made a few poor calls on the delivery schedule, but this is the world of crowdfunding. Get used to it. Even feature films are turning to this method of producing and distributing their product. A new Star Trek movie is being released in winter 2014, all produced and paid for by crowdfunding.
I have all of my tiles, and I distinctly remember these folks telling me it would take a year or so. My only grievance is the volume of the beep signal is too low, almost inaudible, but I can locate the tile using the app, and I have faith in the company that they will remedy this issue.

Here is a good link to Forbes Magazine that describes crowdfunding.

Relax! Good things come to those who wait.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
Alba Onze
November 30, 2014

Yes, it is a scam - crowdfunding or not - when well funded (now, extremely well funded) shysters keep hyping, and hyping, and hyping without following through. At any point they could have said that "this just isn't working out," and they haven't. Instead, they continue to solicit for funds under the guise of product. Look around - there are far more complex products that have been funded, produced, and delivered for less money and in far less time than this company claims. And because they are privately held, no one gets to see how the founders have been living high on the hog while continuing to scam. If their product is so good, and so on schedule, why haven't they been able to secure legitimate venture financing like so many other start-ups have done?

December 01, 2014

Alba,

Good question! Venture capitalists typically want to take a large percentage (40%-50%) of your profits as compensation for the risk they are taking, so it is possible that it was an option the developers considered and rejected, so they opted for Crowd-Funding instead.. Second, most start-ups don’t go public until they have the numbers to show that an IPO is viable. Richard Branson just took Virgin America public a few months ago after several years of operation as a private company. The fact that a company does not go public and offer stock does not portent sinister or malevolent intent to defraud its customer base. I would refrain from making those kind of assumptions with such ferocity. Third, Dell computers bought back all if its stock and took the company private a couple of years ago. Finally, keep in mind that even the venerated Steve Jobs was not the most astute businessman for several years at Apple and he had the company taken away from him. He wasn’t acting with fraudulent or criminal intent, he just needed more time and a little more seasoning, and he did live large, which I don’t see the Tile developers doing, at least not yet.

Your Comment
1 Review

received tiles, happy with them

Reviewed By Ed Boyle on November 11, 2014

After a year's wait, they finally arrived. A short day's dilemma when I didn't received the email confirming my account. It turns out that my internet provider send it to deep spam. So if you have this problem, be sure to dig into your spam folders.

Works as advertised.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

Frustrated and furious

Reviewed By Sandra  on November 9, 2014

Some people have received their tiles i certainly haven't, 13 months so far and emails to them assured me that it was coming in Sept (hey guys Sept has passed its now Nov) and yesterday my reply to another where the hell is my tile email from me got a your email address not registered. Its got to be a scam otherwise they are the most disorganised company in the world. They are an embarrassment and should be closed down. How dare they advertise when they can't even place aged orders. Shocking and disorganised.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

terrible customer service. Vapor Ware?

Reviewed By Jess on October 18, 2014

I paid my money more than one year ago and got a series of emails stringing me along. Then I got an email asking me to confirm my email address, which of course their system was unable to do. So now there is no record of my purchase. When I try to communicate with them by email I got a response saying someone would look at my email in 17 days. I'm beginning to wonder if this is a scam. If other people feel that way should we consider a class-action lawsuit?

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

Tile is the biggest scam ever!

Reviewed By Mark on September 7, 2014

Tile is a piece of crap from day one. Government should step in, the tile is the biggest piece of junk ever can't hear it can't find it and refund crap.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

One More Month

Reviewed By John Last on August 31, 2014

I ordered in August 2013 and today (08-31-2014) I received a notification to confirm my physical address which I did. if not here within 30 days, then I will agree that this is a scam. Will Post again before or at the end of September.

JCL

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 3 Comments
Mark
September 07, 2014

Biggest piece of junk don't buy one a total scam

Jess
October 18, 2014

I think we should organize a class action lawsuit against these clowns. There might not be much to recover but at least it would prevent them from scanning other people

October 18, 2014

I think we should organize a class action lawsuit against these clowns. There might not be much to recover but it might be worth trying

Your Comment
1 Review

Junk

Reviewed By Chris Stephenson on August 14, 2014

I too purchased mine last and have finally received them 20 months later. When purchasing them I was unaware that they only worked off of Bluetooth and you needed to be within 50ft of your lost item to find it. Now that I have them, what a worthless piece of crap! Initial claims stated "you could locate your item anywhere in the world". Hands down worst purchase I've made in my adult life. Bright side, if I loose my keys in my house it will let me know my keys are at my house

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
Dalytile
December 03, 2014

Mine. Never work. Sofware is useless

December 03, 2014

Too late, got me too.

Your Comment
1 Review

TOTAL SCAM , I DONT KNOW HOW THEY GET AWAY WITH IT !

Reviewed By Kevin Mancuso on July 28, 2014, New York, New York

SCAM, YOU WILL NEVER RECEIVE A TILE, ITS BEEN OVER A YEAR. THEY WILL NOT HELP IN ANY WAY. THEY NEED TO BE REPORTED BY EVERYONE WHO HAS BEEN ROBBED.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

The Tile App

Reviewed By John on June 28, 2014

It took a year to receive my product and right out of the box it's a complete fail. Tried contacting customer support and hey gave me a "scripted response" that was worthless.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

SCAM!

Reviewed By Matt McClain on June 26, 2014, San Clemente, California

I ordered two in 2013 and they never delivered. If you go on Facebook you'll see the same thing happened to thousands of others. This company/product is a scam!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment

Leave a Review