TrueCar Reviews

TrueCar
Based on 123 Reviews
Website:www.TrueCar.com
Review It

About TrueCar

TrueCar, headquartered in Santa Monica, CA, is a company that provides new car buyers with transparent vehicle sales data from across the country.  Using truecar.com prospective buyers can see exactly what others have paid for the same vehicles.

TrueCar.com is a free service that provides four data points to help customers negotiate better deals.  Those include: actual dealer cost, factory invoice, average price paid, and MSRP.  What sets TrueCar apart from other pricing websites is that they do not directly sell leads to car dealerships, allowing them to focus on publishing accurate data.

The service is also beneficial to dealerships since it gives them access to market data allowing them to price cars in accordance with customer expectations.

TrueCar also offers customers the option of printing out a no haggle guaranteed pricing certificate.  Car buyers can take these into participating dealerships and purchase the car for the discounted price without any bargaining.

123 ‘TrueCar’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:
1 Review

It's BS

Reviewed By Inseouk Hong on October 15, 2014, Los Angeles, California

It's a sham. I've owned a Acura TL, Mercedes C300, Lexus GS350 and currently Siena SE. I was always able to get a price 10% under invoice price. According to true car these kind of deals don't exist.
They'll have you believe 5% off MSRP is a great deal. 5% off MSRP is a ripoff. I wouldn't be surprised if true car was secretly own and operated by some coalition of auto dealerships to fool the general public into accepting a new guideline of pricing. I absolutely do not trust their opinion of what a great deal is. I'm not even sure I trust what they list as invoice price. I'm digressing here but folks do the foot work. Be nasty with the sales people because they are out to screw you blind. Either way you put it, buying a car is one of the worst investments a person can make. make sure you're getting the best deal by at least visiting 3 dealerships. don't be passive with sales people. also check with brokers too, some of them offer you only what a fleet managers best friend gets. Bottom line. Don't trust true car.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

Where do they get their numbers?????

Reviewed By macy may on July 11, 2014

I WORK for a car dealership and have had several customers show me their "truecar" printouts. When this happens, I go straight to the invoice of the vehicle and show it to them as well as provide any rebates they are eligible for. They are usually about $3,000 UNDER what we can actually sell the vehicles for!!! This is turn pisses customers off and when they go to the next dealership and get the same thing, they will either come back to me and purchase or they are so sick of the pricing game they purchase from the dealer they are at. I HATE TRUECAR!!!! I've been selling for a long time and would LOVE to have one of these Truecar idiots come to my dealership!!! I hope more people realize that Truecar DOESN'T SELL CARS!!!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 6 Comments
Jose Antonio Diaz
August 03, 2014

what dealership do you work at?

k griffy
September 26, 2014

true car is a scam. I have been able to get pricing $1,600 below the "great" true car price. Don't waste your time with these liars.

k griffy
September 26, 2014

He is a true car operative. He places reviews to get people to think true car is legit

k griffy
September 26, 2014

He is a true car operative. He places reviews to get people to think true car is legit

Joe
September 27, 2014

You're a TrueCar hater Griffy. There's no way you beat a real TrueCar quote by 1600 for an "apples to apples" deal. Great service. Dealers hate it because you CAN buy a car behind invoice using this service. Dealers have hold back, incentive monies and other things that make the real invoice less anyway. Just try the service and see what it can do.

October 22, 2014

Joe, True car almost tanked the auto industry a little while back and was slammed with a class action law suit because of it. True car is a sham to get you in the door and if you buy they have your personal information from the request on true car and they charge the true car dealer about $500 when the sale is reported. The dealer in turn pays a sales person a minimum and makes next to nothing on a car. It is going to sink all of the mom and pop dealerships. I hope that you enjoy traveling to buy a car because that is were it is headed with all of the blind faith in true car. The bid dealerships will end up pushing product to make up the lost money on the back end. So be prepared for pushy sales people on accessories and warranty too. While we have all hoped that it would push for transparency in the auto industry it has created a monster where you will lose as a consumer in the end.

Your Comment
1 Review

Worked Perfectly

Reviewed By Joe on June 28, 2014

Service gave me the best price within 100 miles. Dealer honored my certificate exactly as advertised. Amazing service!!!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 3 Comments
k griffy
September 26, 2014

BS. I received a quote from a dealer who assured me they were competitive
I showed up with a signed quote $1,600 less and "magically" they were able to match it. Don't waste your time with these dolts, they barely got through high school.

Joe
September 27, 2014

My TrueCar quote was way better than any quote I could find anywhere else. If you beat TrueCar by $1600 you're an amazing negotiator or a big story teller.

Joe
September 27, 2014

Or did you use your TrueCar quote to get a local non-participating dealer to match TrueCar? I suspect TrueCar sells a lot of cars they don't get paid for that way.

Your Comment
1 Review

Worked Well For Me

Reviewed By Thom on June 21, 2014

Just bought a new Honda. The dealer honored my True Car certificate. I added a few options but the base price was just as promised. Guess it depends on the dealer.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

Don't get your hopes up

Reviewed By Charles on June 10, 2014

TrueCar is simply a lead generator for the auto dealerships. Nothing more. It will probably stay that way if the now chastened CEO hopes to keep a company in business. The Toyota dealer I visited last Saturday was a participating dealer. They simply ignored the TrueCar quote. "I'm not sure where they get their numbers from, but it's not something we see as very accurate." They indicated the TrueCar quote I received was below their price for the car; a statement I still doubt.

As for KBB trade in, I was offered 25% of what KBB said my car was worth on trade. The justification was the local market price.

Overall, no improvement in the car buying process. At the end of the day, you cut the best deal you can and you still walk away feeling as if you've been taken advantage of. Glad I don't buy many cars.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 4 Comments
Jeff
July 16, 2014

Stick with the Costco Auto Program!

k griffy
September 26, 2014

You could not be more right. Sooner or later you will find out true car was set up by dealers to get "dopes" in the door.

John Joyce
October 19, 2014

True Car is a VERY good tool for people buying cars.. It gives you factual sales data of what the same model cars sold for and give you a bargaining position.. You NEVER EVER sign up for true car... you just use it to look what other people paid for their cars.. If you walk in there with the true car quote, the sales people will be angry.. they have kids at home to feed too.. I'm no supporter of sales people but they work and answer questions and drive you around to let you test the cars and try to put you in the car you're looking for.. they DO provide a service.. Start with true car prices and go from there in negotiating and don't mention you saw it on True Car.. It give valuable info... That's all...

October 22, 2014

True Car goes by the word of the "dope" buying the car!!! HOW many of you think that the price on the bottom of your sales slip is what you should report to True Car??? Because THAT is what people are doing!!!! They don't tell True Car that their trade in accounted for $3,000 of that final little price on the bottom. Some people trade, some don't, so they "average" out the 2 and come up with a number from that magical place in never never land. If you want the TRUTH about the price, ask to see the INVOICE...I show all of my customers the invoice as soon as they say the word True Car. PLUS, if you are trading, do the research before hand, but also know that kbb.com and nada.com use the "trade-in" price from the MSRP (the window sticker) price. So if they say they can sell the car for $4,000 off the sticker price, prepare for the trade-in to not be as high as you hoped. Even before I started selling cars 7 years ago, I did my own research and negotiating...and I'm a GIRL!!! (gasp) I've never had a car breakdown on me that I purchased on my own...nor have I ever purchased a new car (cause I don't like to pay for a car what I pay on my mortgage). There ARE good deals out there if you look! I wish I could start a service to help people buy cars and get good deals cause I could save so many people soooo much money that have NOOO idea how to buy a car.

Your Comment

Leave a Review