VectorVest Reviews

About VectorVest

VectorVest (www.VectorVest.com) founded by Dr. Bart DiLiddo is a stock analysis and portfolio management system.  The software is capable of  sorting, analyzing, and ranking over 15 thousand stocks.

Once the data is collected the software issues buy, hold, or sell signals based on an evaluation of the market alongside a stock's value, safety, and timing.  Ideally, as the trader you act on this information to make the best possible decision and consistently trade for a profit.

Based on the variety and depth of information the software estimates the best strategy for the day/week, showing you whether the conditions are bearish or bullish.  In addition to the charts and tools provided by VectorVest, investors are invited to free online training classes and presentations in the VectorVest University.

There are also free 4hr training sessions in select cities throughout the year, a five-CD seminar video set, and a course workbook (free with an annual subscription), covering all aspects of the software from beginner to advanced levels. In addition, there are many on and offline support groups for VectorVest users.

Related Articles

113 ‘VectorVest’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:
1 Review

If I had a Time Machine

Reviewed By Patrick Garrison on June 28, 2015

If I had a time machine I could be a multimillionaire many times over. Warren Buffet and Bill Gates might get jealous. The reason for this is that the Vectorvest software is great on finding stocks in the past that if you had held them until the present, would yield outrageous returns. Finding one or two of these gets you sucked into testing more and more until one becomes fantastic at stock picking, using 20/20 vision. Unfortunately I don't have access to a TARDIS or Time Tunnel to put myself back to the particular day to make the initial investment. Besides, quantum physics being what it is, my being invested then would change the investment distribution as it existed at that time, possibly skewering it just enough to land me right back in the pauper's house.

The general principle to be aware of is this, assuming, for argument's sake, that Bart DiLiddo came up with an absolutely foolproof way to make money in the stock market. Since any such "systems" often work by exploiting an inefficiency until it becomes widely known, wouldn't it be in his best interest to keep it a secret and become wealthy himself? If he had done so, he could afford to give his system away, not needing the money himself.

Save your money. Another 20 page or so oversized spiel to go in the recycling bucket.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

New user to Vector Vest!!

Reviewed By Peter on January 11, 2015

I have only been using Vector Vest for just over 2 weeks but have known about it for about 5 years. My only regret is that I didn't start using this earlier.
You have to watch the videos even multiple time if necessary to better understand the system.
You cannot expect to be successful at trading unless your willing to spend the time and do market research. This tool has shown me the importance of having proper stop loss and watching confirmed calls and the importance of you stock crossing below the 40 day moving average.
This system does not point you directly to stock that's at bottom that is going to swing up. That's up to me to plug my bottom predictions in. Now I have VV as the primary tool to evaluate these stocks and see signals that show relative timing.
I looking forward to using this system. Now I can adjust my sails. I can only say that the negative reviews I've seen on this forum are from people who shouldn't be trading to begin with. A bunch of amateurs!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
March 04, 2015

Now having used it for the last 60 days I am now up 6% YTD overall. This is a great tool.

Your Comment
1 Review

SCAM

Reviewed By gord Holdaway on July 23, 2014

I tried this vector vest out on a trail bases I followed one of their recommended stocks and sold at a loss when they suggested hold and buy.
why is this company not investigated by security regulators.
I for one will find that answer out.
maybe a class action is needed to be taken against these people.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 4 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
January 11, 2015

That's because you don't know what you are doing. It's not the club, it the clubee!!

Your Comment
1 Review

VectorVest is a great idea generator

Reviewed By bart simpson on March 6, 2014

I use VectorVest to work out which pond to fish in. Once you narrow this down, you still need to know how to fish: how to enter, manage, and exit a trade.

If you haven't learnt how to fish, finding the right pond won't really help you.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

They sell Hope

Reviewed By Thomas on October 29, 2013, WA

VectorVest keeps showing strategies that works great in the past. They find the time period it works best and uses it to fool people in their strategy of the week.
It is like saying if you bought the lottery with the following numbers last week, you would have made 10000% profit.
After using VV for over 10 years, I have not seen better performance compared to buying multiple mutual funds.

If you have the stomach for 40% drawdown, then you can make money on good years with strategies that buys stocks less than $5.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 15 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

Ratings don't correlate with performance

Reviewed By Allen Jones on October 9, 2013, Panama, R. P.

I subscribed to VectorVest around 1999. I compared their ratings with performance of the stocks, and found no correlation. That is, their buy recommendations performed no better than the average stock, and their sell recommendations performed no worse than the average stock.
Based on my analysis, I decided that there was no value to VV, and cancelled my subscription.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 18 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

I like it

Reviewed By Mike on September 6, 2013, Alberta

Using Vectorvest has been very profitable for me so far. Grant in, when the market collapses no one will come out ahead unless you have the courage to play the market to the downside, but if it is going sideways or up, or even taking a minor dip, it has leveraged my profits tremendously.

It is highly configurable and I find that very often, when the sell recommendation is given, it is very often the worst time to sell if other indicators are slightly positive. For the prudent investor however it might be good to get out on their recommendation and get into something else to limit potential losses.

I have found their customer service pretty good for the most part but there is one guy on there that is quite a bore and has the articulation of a Homo habilis, but usually they are quite prompt in answering and are eager to help. VV actually encourages the use of the phone in help service.

Their Live Events are interesting, cost effective, relaxed and informative and I attend them whenever I learn of them coming to my area.

They also have a user group in my area which is small but has some long-term members. They are informative and a great way to network and get ideas.

All that being said there are certain basic trading rules and styles which have to be learned by the school of hard knocks and that can take years to learn which style best suits your emotional makeup. Some people are just not cut out to be traders/investors.

I probably wouldn't use this product unless you have at least $5000 to $25,000 to invest at minimum, but you know I still see some people thinking they can make money on buying 25 shares @ $2.00 each. There is no panacea for simple common sense.

One thing I wish they had more opportunities for providing feedback. You are allowed only 5 suggestions. They really ought to open an email-line for unlimited suggestions. I find that frustrating as the easy to understand program has the odd annoyance.

One feature that it really lacks is the ability to reconcile your portfolio. This isn't unlike other online portfolio managers like Yahoo, but when I try and duplicate my real account I often find myself getting the message "you don't have enough cash in the account for that", probably because it doesn't account for recent unposted dividend payments. If you make a mistake you'll never find it because of this lacking feature. They should allow you to overdraft your portfolio, just like any accounting software. Instead they enforce strict rules that prevents you from doing this and that's a pain too.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 29 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
Mike
September 09, 2013

Why don't you just deposit more funds to your portfolio? After all this is a tool and no real world money is involved anyway.

Jack Sprott
November 03, 2013

Mike,
keep going to the "live events" where you meet experienced investors who may share some of their knowledge with you. As you gain experience, you will see that you can do just as well without VectorVest. - Good luck to you!

Your Comment
Guest

Dont give your money to Vectorvest!!!

Reviewed By Danny on July 23, 2013, Boston

I'm Glad I can leave a real review so I can warn people not to get sucked into vectorvest's lies. Don't waist years of your time and thousands of dollars like I did to only find out this company is a huge scam. Vectorvest's business model is to come up with back tested strategies to lure people in with promises of large returns by using their system(timing system, buy/sell system, sure fire success system, yellow brick road system, etc) there is a new system every week once the old system completely fails. They modify their data to make people think they can make money my spending $600 a year for their software. I 100% guarantee you will lose money if you follow any advice/system of vectorvest. I waisted 3 years and lost over 25k and trust me I spent hundreds of hours backtesting and using strict rules(vectorvest rules) to buy and sell stocks. I know I got suckered, at least I learned and now hopefully I can save someone else's heard earned money. As tempting as VV's adds sound, PLEASE to fall for their lies.

Dan

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 89 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 4 Comments
otto
July 30, 2013

TOO good to be true ! Eh!

Old Dude
September 18, 2013

A question really.

Any way for me to test your belief that they change the data used in the back tests? I am using VectorVest and don't want to get scammed

Sandy Scott
September 22, 2013

I agree 100 percent! For example, if the so.called Surefire Success System,
When the system recommends shorting a stock, it has yet to be a stock that Ameritrade allows a short. I would be a couple of Knicks richer had I never subscribed to VV. I do much better on my own.

10 Year VV user
October 29, 2013

VectorVest keeps showing strategies that works great in the past. They find the time period it works best and uses it to fool people in their strategy of the week.
It is like saying if you bought the lottery with the following numbers last week, you would have made 10000% profit.
After using VV for over 10 years, I have not seen better performance compared to buying multiple mutual funds.

If you have the stomach for 40% drawdown, then you can make money on good years with strategies that buys stocks less than $5.
For a prudent investor you may see 10% return which is similar to mutual fund.

Your Comment
Guest

Shameless hype combined with useful data

Reviewed By Cato on May 24, 2013

First off, you have to acknowledge the obvious: Dr. Bart DiLiddo is something of a huckster. His marketing approach is to hype his product to the skies, make ridiculous claims, cherry-pick his results and lure in the unsuspecting and inexperienced. (Let's face it, this crass approach sells a lot better than spewing out complex analyses and stressing risk factors.)

That said, I'm convinced the information provided can be used profitably so long as you de-emphasize high-risk market timing approaches and instead seek to gain the net difference between a beta-adjusted long portfolio of undervalued stocks and a short portfolio of overvalued stocks. In other words, if you design a classic hedge fund (this strategy is where the term "hedge fund" came from).

You can't just do this fire-and-forget. It takes off-line research to skim out VV misinformation, some daily Excel work, risk management techniques, etc. You won't make a lot of money if you neutralize the market delta but you can in theory make a small but steady return and avoid big losses in all market conditions (except bubbles where wildly overvalued stocks just go higher and higher).

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 62 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
Buffalo Bill
June 06, 2013

Use the data not the recommendations and you will do ok

Buffalo Bob
June 16, 2013

The worst part of the VV software is the Home page with the `creepy' looking picture of the creative doctor himself! I am enjoying using the software during a free trial, actually liking a lot of the ridiculous hype, but it's just another tool. One should use many tools in investment analysis.

Your Comment
Guest

Advice from non-traders

Reviewed By Robert Trainer on May 6, 2013, Dover Delaware

Vector Vest has many good features, but lacks a credible staff. From the top down not one person has ever traded for a living successfully for any period time. Most of the people do not know the difference between investing and trading and mix techniques and concepts all the time; No understanding of position sizing methods or how to backtest to determine future performance with a high confidence level or margin of error. The database has a mega survivorship bias that can be easily fixed with the purchase of additional data but is completely ignored because most if not, all, the strategies would end up losers. Extremely old-school thinking and deeply entrenched management, results in really slow improvement rate. For the money you can get much better.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 61 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
TED
June 10, 2013

I imagine the staff is for "how to use VV" and does not need to know stocks..as long as Bart knows how to trade.

Your Comment
Guest

Cheap company

Reviewed By jon fritas on May 3, 2013, ipswich ma

I was two days late in cancelling my trial subscription. They refused to refund my 137.50 on there automatic renewal policy. (read the fine print in their sign up app.) It does state that you will b3 renewed. I just made the same mistake with zacks at the same time zacks returned my 299 very quickly the difference between a good nand bad company. I have filed a complaint with Mass. atty gen. office

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 53 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

Not for everyone

Reviewed By Manoj on April 22, 2013, Dallas

I tried VV for about a year some time ago and I can say it is not worth the money you pay for the use of their system. I get similar but better information free online.

There is no fool-proof way to know future, but one can devise a system of one's liking based on all the information that is out there. One should get charts and quotes from your broker's website. Most large brokers have very good data free. many provide a great amount of research also free.

Save your money and do some work yourself. VV and similar services are people who simply can not or will not do the work themselves.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 52 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
Rainbow pvz
August 29, 2013

Learn all you can from as many sites as you can, however take all w/a grain of salt. Do your own due dilgence, you can be your own stand alone advisor with all info you collect and pull out what -you-surmise-to be the truth about stock you are reviewing. Remember you can be the very best person to know how to assimalate all the information you collect and start with the "CO" web site and read all Notes on Proxy reports. You truly can do it own your own, if still not confident then do Index Funds or go to a discount broker for advise until you learn. Sorry my comments are so long. .

Your Comment
Guest

couldn't make any money

Reviewed By rick on April 18, 2013, wyoming

I give it a 3 because I didn't fully test the program, so I can't say it doesn't do any good at all but it didn't work for me. I tried to follow the buy/sell recommendations based on the VectorVest claims to have never missed an up or down market and the ability confirm when the market has turned direction. (I've never missed an up or down market either, after it happened) I can look at the market and tell you it's in an up trend, that's not hard, how long it will stay there is the part that myself or VV cant tell you. It's like playing craps, when you hit a streak you think you have it figured out, but guess what, you don't, but you can confirm the streak ended, afterwords, and is now going the other way.
The problem is it takes a few days for VV to confirm the market up or down and by the time that happens and you buy or sell when they confirm the direction you've missed the gains, so you jump in and guess what... it changes direction and you ride that going against you then VV confirms it's going in the opposite direction and recommends a buy/sell, so you follow the recommendation and get whip-sawed. It's great if the market changes and stays that way for a few months, but with the market fluctuations your in and out, until you decide it's time to stay out. The problem for me was VV three or so days of lag time, it beat the hell out of me.
In their defense I never tried many strategies or put a ton of work into figuring it all out, but based on some of the reviews here that others did I guess I may have saved myself a lot of time. It's a slick looking program and draws you in, but good luck, because all I think in the end that is happening is your chasing the market like a spectator watching a tennis ball!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 44 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

STAY AWAY!!!!!

Reviewed By Daryl Mosely on March 24, 2013, Wisconsin

I worked for this company for a short time. First off, they discard employees right and left. So, don't work for them. I didn't know much about their program, but it sure gave me the creeps. After reading these reviews, I now understand why I had the creeps. Stay away from their product too and warn as many people as you can.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 76 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
Nick
May 24, 2013

This tells a lot about the company !

lynn
August 20, 2013

I think your mad you got let go

Your Comment
Guest

Stock Trade

Reviewed By Raja Kolla on March 22, 2013, Califon, n.j

Their stock analysis and the information they provide is good. But the problem is their recommendation. One day one stock they say sell and next day same stock to hold. How can it be possible. You sell based on their recommendation and the next day same stock is up and they recommend to hold. In fact I lost money with this program.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 59 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 4 Comments
Old Dude
September 18, 2013

I understand your frustration, and was initially baffled by VectorVest. I am someone who actually needs to understand how something works in order for me to accept and use it. So here is what I learned.

VectorVest recommends stocks objectively by using neural networks to analyze a whole bunch of numbers that change constantly. VectorVest does not research the financial health of the actual company. There is good and bad to this approach. The good is that the system is not fooled by, "experts", press releases or rosy predictions of future profits. The bad is that these news items are sometimes accurate.

This is why recommendations can change hourly from sell to hold or buy to hold or even from buy to sell. But these inter-day changes are not a part of the strategies they recommend for buying or selling stock.

Instead their most profitable strategies involving buying only once per day, in the morning after 8:00am or selling at the same time or selling when a stop criteria is met (like a loss of 10% of current value).

The product has worked well for me, but then I am only trying to do better than what I have seen from my mutual funds. So far my returns have been about 75% higher than the mutual funds and so that seems successful to me.

Coolguy
October 07, 2013

Nice to see the world isn't completely full of computer nerds that can't use the grey matter.

Steve
October 19, 2013

People can lose money even with the best "systems", which I seriously doubt this is. Try reading Dr. Elder's books. He is a real Dr. and a real Trader. There are dozens of decent trading books. Have you studied up on O'Neil from IBD, at the very least? Don't give anyone your money if they will only show you backtested statistics, backtesting is nothing like actual trading.

April 13, 2015

O'neil IBD do not have the indicators of buy/hold/sell.
I make my first $300 by using IBD that put those stock on the move shares. I ride on the heavy buying pattern. But sometimes those stocks on the move will still go sideways. One thing good from IBD is their composite rating accuracy.

Now I am using VectorVest trial and to check both IBD and VV can correlates.

Your Comment
Guest

This service is trash!! BIG SCAM OLD MAN IS MAKING MILLIONS

Reviewed By Mike  on March 18, 2013, Austin Texas

Couldn't become a real Doctor so he is scamming innocent people by saying he is Doctor. This is biggest Scam put this guy in jail with Maddoff. I have filled a complaint with BBB. Consumers beware!!!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 56 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 3 Comments
David
March 30, 2013

You are 100% right "He is scamming innocent people" and yes he should go to jail. Not only will you loose your $600 a year subsription but you will also loose your nest egg if you follow any advice or strategy provided by vector vest. 100% scam. Greed at its finest.

Mike
July 03, 2013

David is correct. System is 100% garbage.

Sandy Scott
September 22, 2013

Agree!

Your Comment
Guest

Good tools; Best not rely on Buy-Sell-Hold ratings; Still have to check their data

Reviewed By Adam Okhai  on March 17, 2013, Toronto Canada

V V has interesting tools that a user can customize or configure as needed. There is a great deal of info on the site but you need to be careful interpreting the data. Key ratios shown on V V screens are often different from those shown on other sites (I checked with various sites including Nasdaq.com, Yahoo Finance and others) . If V V is using different definitions, V V should make things more clear and alert users. VV could define clearly the terms they use and ALERT users on exactly how ratios are arrived at.

The recommendations ( buy, sell, hold) are best ignored. You need to do your own analysis using whatever valuation approaches you favor . You need to cross-reference or double check the data from V V . This is unfortunate , more so because V V could otherwise be the main only site . I found no matter how diligent I was , I had to cross check data with other financial sites. Unfortunately I made various incorrect decisions before it struck me that V V ‘s data base was somewhat different from that you see on other established services. I did not think I would have to go check ratios and double check VV’s datas. Having to verify data was a huge drawback for me.

There is much useful info available from V V , although I missed some ratios that I like to use for valuation but which are not in the V V charts, e.g. P/B, P/FCF, and trailing P/E ( VV give only forward P/E)

V V does excel in the way you can customize charts , and how you can build and monitor your watchlists. I have not yet found any service or site that offers such detailed customizable charts.  If anyone knows of such a site, I sure would appreciate knowing your thoughts and ideas. (I am resident in Canada and the search tools on the best US online brokers are not available here)

V V seems more suited to traders , OR perhaps for those who are very comfortable with momentum theories and who like technical indicators. Traders and technicians probably make better use of the great deal of the info available on VV .

V V staffers vary: some are EXCELLENT and patiently guide you . Many seem caring. I did not call for help that much, however.

I am no longer a subscriber and I do miss the detailed charts I used . A user can pick any date and pick up price and volume . The portfolio management tools are excellent . I am however looking for a site that does has my hot buttons --- the data I use for valuation.

I have not yet found any service that offers customizable tools and charts that are as good as those you find on V V. So any suggestions, comments and ideas? Would be very helpful and much appreciated.
Adam

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 58 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 5 Comments
David
March 30, 2013

I use stockcharts.com fifty times better then vectorvest. free version is great and the $29 a month subscription can't be beat. free school, free charts. Add fundamental analysis from any free screener to help in stock picks. dont need to waist your money with VV. just remeber to have a plan(your own plan) dont forget to read in the zone by Marc Douglas. Profitable traders take responibility for their decisions.

Adam Okhai
May 06, 2013

Thank you David!
I wish I had see your suggestion earlier. I have been test driving stockcharts.com , and , yes, it is excellent. Thank you for the suggestion. I will likely upgrade to the pro . (2) FINVIZ.com : if you have interest , FinViz is another useful site. It has much of the info value-growth types look for. I have not tried the "Elite" version that at FinViz. Best wishes

rob
June 28, 2013

i find it very useful. i use the dat and the extreme buy/sell recs. I find starting with only analyzing top 50 buys and sorting down from there works very well. don't bother with other tools data awesome.

coolguy
October 07, 2013

Why not buy a subscription, give it a go and create your own trial portfolio without money. Then in six months look at the results before you put the pins in the doll, you could be surprised.

Steve
October 19, 2013

Run from VV. There is a lot of very good and free information available. Online brokers typically have a ton of info, charting, technical analysis, fundamental analysis, etc. Or, you can go directly to charting and TA sites. When I got the 20 page glossy in the mail, my internal warning signals began to blare.

Your Comment
Guest

Cheesy Marketing - Immediate turnoff

Reviewed By Tim on March 3, 2013, Sarasota

Just received a 20 page glossy mailing with all sorts of hype, including a 5-week trial offer for $9.95. Interestingly, NOWHERE in the heap of carefully chosen claims and questionable testimonials did they mention the cost of a regular subscription.....Hmmmmm...pretty sleazy. I can just listen to their big promo meeting...."let's offer a trial short enough not to dissuade people. And, let's charge them something to make them think that they are going to be getting something really valuable for it. Then after we get their first payment, we will flood them with solicitations to be a regular customer at our bend-over rates." I don't think so Bart baby.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 48 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 3 Comments
Alan
March 16, 2013

Well Tim from Sarasota, if you depend on one platform to choose stocks, you can call everyone of them a scam. This is no such thing. A pile of data goes into this program but it continually updates. I use it first then do my own DD on each and every pick, maybe you should try that instead of you're totally negative feedback... By the way, the pricing is readily available, so go back and play in your sandbox...

http://www.vectorvest.com/products/pricingcomp-new.html

tim2
March 26, 2013

rude!

Ana
March 27, 2013

The monthly cost is in very fine print at the bottom of the free trial contract they want you to sign. I agree you did get fairly rude, which is not making your point convincing. I also recognize that people really get frustrated with the volumes of garbage we get that are going to make a person rich...Isn't that just the first clue anymore that it's a phoney. I have traded my own stocks for twelve years, and can say that I don't see anything that vectorvest has to offer that one can't find on the internet for free. I Totally dislike any setup where you give your credit card and the free offer suddenly turns into taking monthly fees from that card, sometimes they can be very hard to stop no matter how many times you phone and cancel the subscription.

Your Comment
Guest

Very dissatisfied.

Reviewed By Al on February 14, 2013, Can

I subscribed to VV in 2010. I got the 5 disc training set and paid for the autobacktester. I probably spent about 40 hours with the software, backtesting all their recommend strategies and testing ideas. I can tell you the claims they make in their adds are very cherrypicked results and mostly hyped up to attract people like me. Out of about 500 tests i did find a few good strategies so i kept the software. 2011 i went live with an aggressive strategy and used their dew timing system. I stuck with it and lost -30% on the year. I did more backtests and found a more conservative strategy using thier greenlight buyer system with tight money management rules. 2012 lost -25% I thought one more change and i tried their new sure fire success system they claim is their best system ever. I copied their exact settings. 2013 ytd down -10% I went to VV user grp and then it clicked. The room was full of hopefull people wondering why they are all loosing money and looking answers. OMG Im a sucker just like the rest of these people. Subscription cancelled! All hype, just remember that.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 125 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 4 Comments
Jim Collins
February 24, 2013

I'm shocked that you continue to lose money using this program. Especially using the SFS - I'm using three of the SFS strats and they are all up this year in varying degrees. I started the portfolios on Nov. 28th. which was when you were supposed to start the bullish portion of the system. I've been a user for several years, and the program is close to granting me financial freedom.

Jerry Atric
March 18, 2013

I laugh. Do you work for the company or were you paid to say this....?? I've never used VV but checked it out.... the money is a waste, I'm up 30% on my own recognisance and each time I tried to match my strategy with VV. VV would suggest I was doing everything wrong... I say working with VV is your choice... some of the information is bang on, some is questionable... you can do just as well reading up on corps and due diligence on companies plus keeping in touch with global news... you don't need this platform... anyone who is doing well using this platform, already knows what they are doing and really don't need it....

Kenny
October 26, 2013

I have spent the last 4 years actually learning to trade the market and if you will do that you do not need a system. Too many try to sell you a system before you understand moving averages, support and resistance, Bollinger bands, Stochs, Fibs and just general wave rotation of the markets. What I have learned is that it is important to have yourself in position for an anticipated move with a trigger. Then place your stop below the previous low or above the previous high depending upon direction. Know your target will be the next support or resistance. Enter your trade with a trigger, a stop, and target. Voila a simple trading plan when you enter the trade. Use at least a 2 to 1 reward to risk, never risk more than 5% of your total account on any single trade and do not trade counter trend. Do not chase a trade, do not play retracements except for buying opportunities in uptrends or selling opportunities in downtrends. Not trading can be a strategy. Paper trade until you can trade until it becomes as easy as breathing. Then you enter the battlefield with at least a chance. Oh you will need someone to teach you technical analysis and how to actually trade but learn to trade before you look for a system.

April 28, 2015

Your advise is excellent. I would also recommend that the first year you start trading make sure your portfolio never includes at one time more than 6 stocks or etfs (so you can learn to manage your time to actually watch these EVERYDAY. Trading is a not a passive action. Trading requires management every single day (adjusting stops and profit exists every single day - or at least managing them. Also the first year be conservative in your expectations and see if you can at least NOT LOSE ANY MONEY. That is the 1st year goal. The second year you will then understand what you are doing. The key to trading is to really ignore all indicators because all indicators are simply a derivative of price and volume. You can learn all you need to know just by looking at the chart and looking at volume, and candlestick price action, checking the news on the company and the analysts opinions and estimates for the future. Because people buy stocks based on what they think others will do right after you buy in and during the next quarter and year. . People buy s stock expecting (hopeing) that more people are going to buy that stock at a price higher than what you paid for it. Also it puts the odds in your favor to be buying stocks that move with the market trend and to buy only when the general market (vti, qqq, spy, rut) are in line with your stocks trend. 75% of stocks to up and down with the general market.

Your Comment
Guest

Works like a charm.

Reviewed By Thomas L on February 14, 2013, Houston, TX

I agree with the previous poster Chris G. My father and I have been using VV for several years as active, disciplined traders. This software, as well as all others, are not a "set it and forget it" system. You have to be active, monitor your position, and have stop criteria that you follow religiously. Like anything, you have to put in the work to be successful at it. We make one ETF trade a week every Friday based on the VV recommendation and use the 14 day MA and some other criteria as a stop out. In 2012 with no stop management our portfolio would have still made 42%. Most investors would be ecstatic with that type of return. Our portfolio with stop management gained 260%! That is including being in cash for 9 of the 52 weekly trades! Our best year ever. The local VV group we go to has several investors that have retired 10 to 15 years early, and they contribute it all to VV and their disciplined management. Believe me. You get out of it what you put in to it.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 64 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 6 Comments
Simon
February 14, 2013

I bet 90% of the high rated reviews on this site are left by Vectorvest employees, Just like this one from Thomas L. and Chris G. Lol this review is so fake its funny. This is the only way Vectorvest can get new subscribers. They Hype, hype hype their product and leave fake reviews like this one. I bet if you take away the fake reviews then VV would have a rating of 1 or 2 stars out of 5. Dont fall for these lies people, you're smarter then that! 260%lolololol

Christopher
February 16, 2013

I agree with Simon. Here is a large headline directly from the VectorVest junk mail I received (emphasis added)...
"Say goodbye to guesswork forever! With VectorVesty, you'll always know AT A GLANCE whether to buy, sell or hold any stock..."

And directly on the order form...
"I understand VectorVest allows me to QUICKLY AND EASILY analyze, sort, rank and graph over 8,300 stocks for Value, Safety and Timing using Dr. DiLiddo's proven proprietary formulas..."

And now, here is this "happy customer" above saying...
"This software, as well as all others, are not a "set it and forget it" system. You have to be active, monitor your position, and have stop criteria that you follow religiously. Like anything, you have to put in the work to be successful at it..."

Look, there are upteen market timing methods that would have gotten you out of the 2008 crash. Just follow the 300-day SMA for one example. As for rating stocks, get a free account at TD Ameritrade and use their screeners. Or any of dozens of others. VectorVest charges a high price for hundreds of "systems" of which a few are certain to work at any given time. When you complain, they can always say you should have used that other one. Yes, investing takes work. But why pay VectorVest for things you can get free, while having your intelligence insulted in the bargain?

Thomas L
February 16, 2013

Look "Simon". You shouldn't be so bitter about being a horrible investor. The jealousy oozing from your post doesn't become you. I don't work for, have never worked for, and never will work for VV. If you would have paid the smallest amount of attention to the details of my post you would have noticed I'm out of Houston, TX. VV is located in NC. That would be one hell of a commute. I could care less if you don't believe me about the return I was able to get in 2012. Most people would be curious to ask me what my strategy was to get such a return. So you can lol at me all you want. In fact, while you sit there, lose money, and lol at me I'll be lol all the way to the bank!

JimColl999@yahoo.com
February 24, 2013

Hey Thomas - would be curious as to what you're doing with VV to get that kind of return - way to go - drop me a note if you care to share - Jim - long time VV subscriber - - JimColl999@yahoo.com

padrechristopher@gmail.com
February 27, 2013

Same thing with me. I subscribed to them for a few years but was never successful. Could you help me out? padrechristopher@gmail.com

Eduard
March 05, 2013

Hi Thomas,

I am extremely interested to learn how you trade ETFs. VV does a great job in scanning stocks. But ETFs? I know that there are a handful of ETF strategies in Unisearch but unitl now I have touched them.

Would you mind to share your experience? Thank you!

edpasros@gmail.com

Your Comment

Leave a Review