VectorVest Reviews

About VectorVest

VectorVest (www.VectorVest.com) founded by Dr. Bart DiLiddo is a stock analysis and portfolio management system.  The software is capable of  sorting, analyzing, and ranking over 15 thousand stocks.

Once the data is collected the software issues buy, hold, or sell signals based on an evaluation of the market alongside a stock's value, safety, and timing.  Ideally, as the trader you act on this information to make the best possible decision and consistently trade for a profit.

Based on the variety and depth of information the software estimates the best strategy for the day/week, showing you whether the conditions are bearish or bullish.  In addition to the charts and tools provided by VectorVest, investors are invited to free online training classes and presentations in the VectorVest University.

There are also free 4hr training sessions in select cities throughout the year, a five-CD seminar video set, and a course workbook (free with an annual subscription), covering all aspects of the software from beginner to advanced levels. In addition, there are many on and offline support groups for VectorVest users.

Related Articles

122 ‘VectorVest’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:
1 Review

It's a scam company that charges your credit car without any authorization

Reviewed By Yukiyumi on October 26, 2016

Be careful with providing your credit card information to this company. They ask to submit your credit card information for a free trial, yet they STILL charge your credit card.

I have registered for a free trial, discovered that it was not compatible with my machine, contacted and canceled my subscription right away (even though it was a "free" trial). They said they have taken care of that, yet my credit card has still been charged.

Beware!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

query

Reviewed By rowena nakamura on September 22, 2016

Useful analysis , I learned a lot from the facts . Does someone know if my company might acquire a sample CO DoR 104 form to use ?

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
2 Reviews

Stock investing ain't easy, but VV makes it so.

Reviewed By Billy on May 13, 2016, New York, NY

I read some of the negative reviews about VV and I felt similarly when I first joined: in fact, I thought they were scammers, I did not do well with the system, I could not get a straight answer from tech support, etc.

Then, after about 6 months, I learned the concept and started losing less money. I manage a large portfolio, so as you can figure out, I stand to loose a lot of money.

After one year of doing this, I started leading a support group and got some one on one advice from other users who really know their stuff and have done very well with the program.

After a couple years of using this program. I don't lose money, but.actually have done OK in this horrible market condition.

Here's how: I set up my own portfolios and turned "Genius" on so that I can see some of my investment strategies happening real time, right before my eyes. I constantly change, delete or create new portfolios in paper money. What i finally realized is that the strength of this system is its ability to choose stocks for you and trade them based on your custom system. You can see how well your strategy works and use the most successful strategies to trade in your real portfolio.

W-O-W Watch-list Winners found RYI (Reyerson Holdings) an amazing stock that just keeps going up and up.I actually made $188,000 in 3 months with a $550,000 paper portfolio using this trading system. This actually happened before my very eyes.

I have now incorporated RYI in my actual portfolio and have been doing very well with it and many other stocks I hove found through Vector Vest.

Bottom line: most of the negative reviews came from people who never learned the system or even gave it a chance. You really need to try it for at least 6 months trading in the paper money portfolios before you can really learn and understand the value and power of this trading system.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 3 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
October 10, 2016

That is a long time to learn how to use this program. I could lose a lot of money opportunities in that time.

Your Comment
1 Review

Vector Vest Proprietary Indicators are Dangerous to your Financial Health.ng

Reviewed By Allan Taylor on April 2, 2016

Not only do they not work, they will lose you money. As often as not the bottom VST Stocks outperforms the Top (recommended) stocks. Also if you follow their buy/sell recommendations you will almost always be trading a lot and losing more money than otherwise. It is well presented snake oil.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

Can't be too good.

Reviewed By Randy on March 24, 2016

My review is geared more towards the company, their ethics and confidence in their own product. I purchased the trial and never even logged in. They acknowledged that I had not used the product. Once the trial was over, my credit card was billed for the monthly charge. I know this was in the fine print, my responsibility, etc.. However, If they had the greatest trading method out there, why would they care about 137.00 from a client that NEVER even tried the product. This type of internet profit, sucking people in to make a quick buck, is not ethical business. If they need that money so bad, their system must suck! Basically, the people leading this company have no integrity.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 3 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

The best market timing system I have ever seen

Reviewed By Maria on December 11, 2015

They have an incredible market timing system, model portfolios, back testing facilities, support, and training.
I have learnt more from them in one year than from multiple subscriptions to advisories over 5 years.
I have never come across a more helpful, thorough system.
The best thing is they don't tell you what to do, they teach you and show you the facts and you have to make your own decisions.
If you do the homework, watch their training videos, and put in the effort, they will make you a professional trader.
I cannot give them enough stars.
They don't give you the fish they teach you how to fish.
There is a reason they have been operating since the 1980's

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 4 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 4 Comments
Bryan
March 19, 2016

The best system I have come across in 25 years of studying the stock market

Bryan
March 19, 2016

The best system I have come across in 25 years of studying the stock market1

Dan
April 29, 2016

Oh yeah, that review doesn't sound planted or anything.

October 02, 2016

Quite right, this is not an automatic system or newsletter that tells you what to do. \it is a system that gives you 3 amazing stats on every stock, every day. They estimate the value of the stock to compare with the price. Ever heard of Value Investing. Here is the calculations done for you.
Based on fundamental factors they calculate the inner strength of a company and put that into one simple number. There is you date on the fundamentals done for you.
Thirdly they estimate momentum or timing and that should never be ignored. This includes Technical Analysis.
Those three calculations alone, done daily, make this an very important program. There is more.

Your Comment
2 Reviews

Don't waste your money on the trial.

Reviewed By James Brown on October 12, 2015

When they say buy the stock falls, when they say short it the stock goes up. They could do better by using a Ouija Board. You will lose your shirt if you follow their advise. I was so mad when I wrote the first review I misspelled some words. That is how upset they made me !!!!!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 3 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

how well did VV see Aug 24 2015????

Reviewed By mark t on September 30, 2015

ok, as S and P went sideways much of 2015, how well did VV give heads up the week before Aug 24th? where S and P/U S equities dropped 8 to 10%.. the red, yellow, green stop light, and daily summary, did it give a good heads up there was good chance of correction? not VV stating in Jan 2015, 2015 may have correction... but the week before Aug 24th? your inputs/ replies to this.. I just signed up.. as S and P tried to retest the Aug 25th lows.. (1867) on Monday.. (Sept 28, 2015).. thanks for you insights those who are VV users now.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
October 02, 2016

There are several timing methods on Vector Vest.. The long term is called Confirmed CAlls. These are up or down. The Market Timeng graph show Confirmed call down on July 2nd, 2015 so you would be in confirmed down call territory on August 24th. The Buy/Sell ration went to the favour of Sell on June 24th and did not reverse that all the way through August. The MTI - Market Timing Indicator went below 1.0 from June 25th forward of 2015. Relative Timing - of RT - the measure of momentum went below 1.0 on April 29th. RT went below .95 on June 17th. Below .92 on July 22nd. By August 20th, 2015 the RT went deeper below 1.0 to .84. This is all apparent on the Market Timing graph. For those using the Derby which ranks the 190 stock picking strategies to choose the best you would be seeing the change in the Buy/Sell ratio and the Long stock picking strategies would get into the top to strategies and the Long strategies would drop out of the top 10. So these signals would have told you well before August 24th to get out of long strategies and into short. Lots of advance warning on the market direction.

Your Comment
1 Review

great concept and information, no performance

Reviewed By Harry on September 25, 2015, Dallas, TX

The concept of buying safe stocks, with good value at the right time is GREAT. the format of the product in presenting lots of information is wonderful. The HYPE is that high VST stocks out perform the market. They keep changing systems and touting great back tested performance.

It is easy to set up paper trade portfolios. After much frustration, I decided to set up portfolios with a few auto trader functions for conservative, moderate and aggressive investors and see how it does.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

If I had a Time Machine

Reviewed By Patrick Garrison on June 28, 2015

If I had a time machine I could be a multimillionaire many times over. Warren Buffet and Bill Gates might get jealous. The reason for this is that the Vectorvest software is great on finding stocks in the past that if you had held them until the present, would yield outrageous returns. Finding one or two of these gets you sucked into testing more and more until one becomes fantastic at stock picking, using 20/20 vision. Unfortunately I don't have access to a TARDIS or Time Tunnel to put myself back to the particular day to make the initial investment. Besides, quantum physics being what it is, my being invested then would change the investment distribution as it existed at that time, possibly skewering it just enough to land me right back in the pauper's house.

The general principle to be aware of is this, assuming, for argument's sake, that Bart DiLiddo came up with an absolutely foolproof way to make money in the stock market. Since any such "systems" often work by exploiting an inefficiency until it becomes widely known, wouldn't it be in his best interest to keep it a secret and become wealthy himself? If he had done so, he could afford to give his system away, not needing the money himself.

Save your money. Another 20 page or so oversized spiel to go in the recycling bucket.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 3 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
October 02, 2016

Thankfully VectorVest keeps adding tools so what was good for Bart DiLiddo in the 1980's keeps getting better.
I agree that it is easier to create a system that works in a back test then one that works forward. The market is a wild woman and not easy to pin down.
What if you had a tool - The Derby - that ranked each of the published stock selection systems on a day by day and week by week basis?
This is Bart DiLiddo's master stroke of genius and programming. Each week they publish which of the 190 systems if making the most money that week. The market is now pointing you to use right then, right now you might say.

Your Comment
1 Review

New user to Vector Vest!!

Reviewed By Peter on January 11, 2015

I have only been using Vector Vest for just over 2 weeks but have known about it for about 5 years. My only regret is that I didn't start using this earlier.
You have to watch the videos even multiple time if necessary to better understand the system.
You cannot expect to be successful at trading unless your willing to spend the time and do market research. This tool has shown me the importance of having proper stop loss and watching confirmed calls and the importance of you stock crossing below the 40 day moving average.
This system does not point you directly to stock that's at bottom that is going to swing up. That's up to me to plug my bottom predictions in. Now I have VV as the primary tool to evaluate these stocks and see signals that show relative timing.
I looking forward to using this system. Now I can adjust my sails. I can only say that the negative reviews I've seen on this forum are from people who shouldn't be trading to begin with. A bunch of amateurs!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 4 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
Peter
March 04, 2015

Now having used it for the last 60 days I am now up 6% YTD overall. This is a great tool.

Dan
April 29, 2016

So that was two months' worth. How are you doing now?

Your Comment
1 Review

SCAM

Reviewed By gord Holdaway on July 23, 2014

I tried this vector vest out on a trail bases I followed one of their recommended stocks and sold at a loss when they suggested hold and buy.
why is this company not investigated by security regulators.
I for one will find that answer out.
maybe a class action is needed to be taken against these people.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 7 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 3 Comments
Peter
January 11, 2015

That's because you don't know what you are doing. It's not the club, it the clubee!!

Maria
December 11, 2015

You are lazy you haven't watched their training videos you are playing chess without learning the rules first

October 02, 2016

Maria is right. This is not a snap. Sorry.
There is good training and it is necessary to work your way through those once or twice.
There is good support coaching. it is good to keep in touch with your ideas.
There are local user groups. You can learn by attending.
This is a teach a man to fish type system, not a magic pill.

Your Comment
1 Review

VectorVest is a great idea generator

Reviewed By bart simpson on March 6, 2014

I use VectorVest to work out which pond to fish in. Once you narrow this down, you still need to know how to fish: how to enter, manage, and exit a trade.

If you haven't learnt how to fish, finding the right pond won't really help you.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 4 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
Dan
April 29, 2016

I agree that VV is probably best as an idea generator. Unfortunately it's sold as a magic stock picking system.

October 02, 2016

Sorry Dan, it is sold a system that requires learning, coaching and attending training. It must be used with intelligence, wisdom, training and coaching not alone as a magic stock picking system.

Your Comment
Guest

They sell Hope

Reviewed By Thomas on October 29, 2013, WA

VectorVest keeps showing strategies that works great in the past. They find the time period it works best and uses it to fool people in their strategy of the week.
It is like saying if you bought the lottery with the following numbers last week, you would have made 10000% profit.
After using VV for over 10 years, I have not seen better performance compared to buying multiple mutual funds.

If you have the stomach for 40% drawdown, then you can make money on good years with strategies that buys stocks less than $5.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 18 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

Ratings don't correlate with performance

Reviewed By Allen Jones on October 9, 2013, Panama, R. P.

I subscribed to VectorVest around 1999. I compared their ratings with performance of the stocks, and found no correlation. That is, their buy recommendations performed no better than the average stock, and their sell recommendations performed no worse than the average stock.
Based on my analysis, I decided that there was no value to VV, and cancelled my subscription.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 20 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

I like it

Reviewed By Mike on September 6, 2013, Alberta

Using Vectorvest has been very profitable for me so far. Grant in, when the market collapses no one will come out ahead unless you have the courage to play the market to the downside, but if it is going sideways or up, or even taking a minor dip, it has leveraged my profits tremendously.

It is highly configurable and I find that very often, when the sell recommendation is given, it is very often the worst time to sell if other indicators are slightly positive. For the prudent investor however it might be good to get out on their recommendation and get into something else to limit potential losses.

I have found their customer service pretty good for the most part but there is one guy on there that is quite a bore and has the articulation of a Homo habilis, but usually they are quite prompt in answering and are eager to help. VV actually encourages the use of the phone in help service.

Their Live Events are interesting, cost effective, relaxed and informative and I attend them whenever I learn of them coming to my area.

They also have a user group in my area which is small but has some long-term members. They are informative and a great way to network and get ideas.

All that being said there are certain basic trading rules and styles which have to be learned by the school of hard knocks and that can take years to learn which style best suits your emotional makeup. Some people are just not cut out to be traders/investors.

I probably wouldn't use this product unless you have at least $5000 to $25,000 to invest at minimum, but you know I still see some people thinking they can make money on buying 25 shares @ $2.00 each. There is no panacea for simple common sense.

One thing I wish they had more opportunities for providing feedback. You are allowed only 5 suggestions. They really ought to open an email-line for unlimited suggestions. I find that frustrating as the easy to understand program has the odd annoyance.

One feature that it really lacks is the ability to reconcile your portfolio. This isn't unlike other online portfolio managers like Yahoo, but when I try and duplicate my real account I often find myself getting the message "you don't have enough cash in the account for that", probably because it doesn't account for recent unposted dividend payments. If you make a mistake you'll never find it because of this lacking feature. They should allow you to overdraft your portfolio, just like any accounting software. Instead they enforce strict rules that prevents you from doing this and that's a pain too.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 31 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
Mike
September 09, 2013

Why don't you just deposit more funds to your portfolio? After all this is a tool and no real world money is involved anyway.

Jack Sprott
November 03, 2013

Mike,
keep going to the "live events" where you meet experienced investors who may share some of their knowledge with you. As you gain experience, you will see that you can do just as well without VectorVest. - Good luck to you!

Your Comment
Guest

Dont give your money to Vectorvest!!!

Reviewed By Danny on July 23, 2013, Boston

I'm Glad I can leave a real review so I can warn people not to get sucked into vectorvest's lies. Don't waist years of your time and thousands of dollars like I did to only find out this company is a huge scam. Vectorvest's business model is to come up with back tested strategies to lure people in with promises of large returns by using their system(timing system, buy/sell system, sure fire success system, yellow brick road system, etc) there is a new system every week once the old system completely fails. They modify their data to make people think they can make money my spending $600 a year for their software. I 100% guarantee you will lose money if you follow any advice/system of vectorvest. I waisted 3 years and lost over 25k and trust me I spent hundreds of hours backtesting and using strict rules(vectorvest rules) to buy and sell stocks. I know I got suckered, at least I learned and now hopefully I can save someone else's heard earned money. As tempting as VV's adds sound, PLEASE to fall for their lies.

Dan

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 90 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 5 Comments
otto
July 30, 2013

TOO good to be true ! Eh!

Old Dude
September 18, 2013

A question really.

Any way for me to test your belief that they change the data used in the back tests? I am using VectorVest and don't want to get scammed

Sandy Scott
September 22, 2013

I agree 100 percent! For example, if the so.called Surefire Success System,
When the system recommends shorting a stock, it has yet to be a stock that Ameritrade allows a short. I would be a couple of Knicks richer had I never subscribed to VV. I do much better on my own.

10 Year VV user
October 29, 2013

VectorVest keeps showing strategies that works great in the past. They find the time period it works best and uses it to fool people in their strategy of the week.
It is like saying if you bought the lottery with the following numbers last week, you would have made 10000% profit.
After using VV for over 10 years, I have not seen better performance compared to buying multiple mutual funds.

If you have the stomach for 40% drawdown, then you can make money on good years with strategies that buys stocks less than $5.
For a prudent investor you may see 10% return which is similar to mutual fund.

October 22, 2016

Thank You so much..your comment has me making a more informed decision about VV, your experience in using VV cannot be overlooked & not heard. May I ask, do what system do you use now or do you just use your own strategies? Please contact me at melissalowe70@gmail.com

Your Comment
Guest

Shameless hype combined with useful data

Reviewed By Cato on May 24, 2013

First off, you have to acknowledge the obvious: Dr. Bart DiLiddo is something of a huckster. His marketing approach is to hype his product to the skies, make ridiculous claims, cherry-pick his results and lure in the unsuspecting and inexperienced. (Let's face it, this crass approach sells a lot better than spewing out complex analyses and stressing risk factors.)

That said, I'm convinced the information provided can be used profitably so long as you de-emphasize high-risk market timing approaches and instead seek to gain the net difference between a beta-adjusted long portfolio of undervalued stocks and a short portfolio of overvalued stocks. In other words, if you design a classic hedge fund (this strategy is where the term "hedge fund" came from).

You can't just do this fire-and-forget. It takes off-line research to skim out VV misinformation, some daily Excel work, risk management techniques, etc. You won't make a lot of money if you neutralize the market delta but you can in theory make a small but steady return and avoid big losses in all market conditions (except bubbles where wildly overvalued stocks just go higher and higher).

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 62 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
Buffalo Bill
June 06, 2013

Use the data not the recommendations and you will do ok

Buffalo Bob
June 16, 2013

The worst part of the VV software is the Home page with the `creepy' looking picture of the creative doctor himself! I am enjoying using the software during a free trial, actually liking a lot of the ridiculous hype, but it's just another tool. One should use many tools in investment analysis.

Your Comment
Guest

Advice from non-traders

Reviewed By Robert Trainer on May 6, 2013, Dover Delaware

Vector Vest has many good features, but lacks a credible staff. From the top down not one person has ever traded for a living successfully for any period time. Most of the people do not know the difference between investing and trading and mix techniques and concepts all the time; No understanding of position sizing methods or how to backtest to determine future performance with a high confidence level or margin of error. The database has a mega survivorship bias that can be easily fixed with the purchase of additional data but is completely ignored because most if not, all, the strategies would end up losers. Extremely old-school thinking and deeply entrenched management, results in really slow improvement rate. For the money you can get much better.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 61 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
TED
June 10, 2013

I imagine the staff is for "how to use VV" and does not need to know stocks..as long as Bart knows how to trade.

Your Comment
Guest

Cheap company

Reviewed By jon fritas on May 3, 2013, ipswich ma

I was two days late in cancelling my trial subscription. They refused to refund my 137.50 on there automatic renewal policy. (read the fine print in their sign up app.) It does state that you will b3 renewed. I just made the same mistake with zacks at the same time zacks returned my 299 very quickly the difference between a good nand bad company. I have filed a complaint with Mass. atty gen. office

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 53 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment

Leave a Review