VectorVest Reviews

About VectorVest

VectorVest (www.VectorVest.com) founded by Dr. Bart DiLiddo is a stock analysis and portfolio management system.  The software is capable of  sorting, analyzing, and ranking over 15 thousand stocks.

Once the data is collected the software issues buy, hold, or sell signals based on an evaluation of the market alongside a stock's value, safety, and timing.  Ideally, as the trader you act on this information to make the best possible decision and consistently trade for a profit.

Based on the variety and depth of information the software estimates the best strategy for the day/week, showing you whether the conditions are bearish or bullish.  In addition to the charts and tools provided by VectorVest, investors are invited to free online training classes and presentations in the VectorVest University.

There are also free 4hr training sessions in select cities throughout the year, a five-CD seminar video set, and a course workbook (free with an annual subscription), covering all aspects of the software from beginner to advanced levels. In addition, there are many on and offline support groups for VectorVest users.

Related Articles

119 ‘VectorVest’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:
1 Review

Vector Vest Proprietary Indicators are Dangerous to your Financial Health.ng

Reviewed By Allan Taylor on April 2, 2016

Not only do they not work, they will lose you money. As often as not the bottom VST Stocks outperforms the Top (recommended) stocks. Also if you follow their buy/sell recommendations you will almost always be trading a lot and losing more money than otherwise. It is well presented snake oil.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

Can't be too good.

Reviewed By Randy on March 24, 2016

My review is geared more towards the company, their ethics and confidence in their own product. I purchased the trial and never even logged in. They acknowledged that I had not used the product. Once the trial was over, my credit card was billed for the monthly charge. I know this was in the fine print, my responsibility, etc.. However, If they had the greatest trading method out there, why would they care about 137.00 from a client that NEVER even tried the product. This type of internet profit, sucking people in to make a quick buck, is not ethical business. If they need that money so bad, their system must suck! Basically, the people leading this company have no integrity.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

The best market timing system I have ever seen

Reviewed By Maria on December 11, 2015

They have an incredible market timing system, model portfolios, back testing facilities, support, and training.
I have learnt more from them in one year than from multiple subscriptions to advisories over 5 years.
I have never come across a more helpful, thorough system.
The best thing is they don't tell you what to do, they teach you and show you the facts and you have to make your own decisions.
If you do the homework, watch their training videos, and put in the effort, they will make you a professional trader.
I cannot give them enough stars.
They don't give you the fish they teach you how to fish.
There is a reason they have been operating since the 1980's

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 3 Comments
Bryan
March 19, 2016

The best system I have come across in 25 years of studying the stock market

Bryan
March 19, 2016

The best system I have come across in 25 years of studying the stock market1

Dan
April 29, 2016

Oh yeah, that review doesn't sound planted or anything.

Your Comment
2 Reviews

Don't waste your money on the trial.

Reviewed By James Brown on October 12, 2015

When they say buy the stock falls, when they say short it the stock goes up. They could do better by using a Ouija Board. You will lose your shirt if you follow their advise. I was so mad when I wrote the first review I misspelled some words. That is how upset they made me !!!!!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

how well did VV see Aug 24 2015????

Reviewed By mark t on September 30, 2015

ok, as S and P went sideways much of 2015, how well did VV give heads up the week before Aug 24th? where S and P/U S equities dropped 8 to 10%.. the red, yellow, green stop light, and daily summary, did it give a good heads up there was good chance of correction? not VV stating in Jan 2015, 2015 may have correction... but the week before Aug 24th? your inputs/ replies to this.. I just signed up.. as S and P tried to retest the Aug 25th lows.. (1867) on Monday.. (Sept 28, 2015).. thanks for you insights those who are VV users now.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

great concept and information, no performance

Reviewed By Harry on September 25, 2015, Dallas, TX

The concept of buying safe stocks, with good value at the right time is GREAT. the format of the product in presenting lots of information is wonderful. The HYPE is that high VST stocks out perform the market. They keep changing systems and touting great back tested performance.

It is easy to set up paper trade portfolios. After much frustration, I decided to set up portfolios with a few auto trader functions for conservative, moderate and aggressive investors and see how it does.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

If I had a Time Machine

Reviewed By Patrick Garrison on June 28, 2015

If I had a time machine I could be a multimillionaire many times over. Warren Buffet and Bill Gates might get jealous. The reason for this is that the Vectorvest software is great on finding stocks in the past that if you had held them until the present, would yield outrageous returns. Finding one or two of these gets you sucked into testing more and more until one becomes fantastic at stock picking, using 20/20 vision. Unfortunately I don't have access to a TARDIS or Time Tunnel to put myself back to the particular day to make the initial investment. Besides, quantum physics being what it is, my being invested then would change the investment distribution as it existed at that time, possibly skewering it just enough to land me right back in the pauper's house.

The general principle to be aware of is this, assuming, for argument's sake, that Bart DiLiddo came up with an absolutely foolproof way to make money in the stock market. Since any such "systems" often work by exploiting an inefficiency until it becomes widely known, wouldn't it be in his best interest to keep it a secret and become wealthy himself? If he had done so, he could afford to give his system away, not needing the money himself.

Save your money. Another 20 page or so oversized spiel to go in the recycling bucket.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

New user to Vector Vest!!

Reviewed By Peter on January 11, 2015

I have only been using Vector Vest for just over 2 weeks but have known about it for about 5 years. My only regret is that I didn't start using this earlier.
You have to watch the videos even multiple time if necessary to better understand the system.
You cannot expect to be successful at trading unless your willing to spend the time and do market research. This tool has shown me the importance of having proper stop loss and watching confirmed calls and the importance of you stock crossing below the 40 day moving average.
This system does not point you directly to stock that's at bottom that is going to swing up. That's up to me to plug my bottom predictions in. Now I have VV as the primary tool to evaluate these stocks and see signals that show relative timing.
I looking forward to using this system. Now I can adjust my sails. I can only say that the negative reviews I've seen on this forum are from people who shouldn't be trading to begin with. A bunch of amateurs!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
Peter
March 04, 2015

Now having used it for the last 60 days I am now up 6% YTD overall. This is a great tool.

Dan
April 29, 2016

So that was two months' worth. How are you doing now?

Your Comment
1 Review

SCAM

Reviewed By gord Holdaway on July 23, 2014

I tried this vector vest out on a trail bases I followed one of their recommended stocks and sold at a loss when they suggested hold and buy.
why is this company not investigated by security regulators.
I for one will find that answer out.
maybe a class action is needed to be taken against these people.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 5 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
Peter
January 11, 2015

That's because you don't know what you are doing. It's not the club, it the clubee!!

December 11, 2015

You are lazy you haven't watched their training videos you are playing chess without learning the rules first

Your Comment
1 Review

VectorVest is a great idea generator

Reviewed By bart simpson on March 6, 2014

I use VectorVest to work out which pond to fish in. Once you narrow this down, you still need to know how to fish: how to enter, manage, and exit a trade.

If you haven't learnt how to fish, finding the right pond won't really help you.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
Dan
April 29, 2016

I agree that VV is probably best as an idea generator. Unfortunately it's sold as a magic stock picking system.

Your Comment
Guest

They sell Hope

Reviewed By Thomas on October 29, 2013, WA

VectorVest keeps showing strategies that works great in the past. They find the time period it works best and uses it to fool people in their strategy of the week.
It is like saying if you bought the lottery with the following numbers last week, you would have made 10000% profit.
After using VV for over 10 years, I have not seen better performance compared to buying multiple mutual funds.

If you have the stomach for 40% drawdown, then you can make money on good years with strategies that buys stocks less than $5.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 15 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

Ratings don't correlate with performance

Reviewed By Allen Jones on October 9, 2013, Panama, R. P.

I subscribed to VectorVest around 1999. I compared their ratings with performance of the stocks, and found no correlation. That is, their buy recommendations performed no better than the average stock, and their sell recommendations performed no worse than the average stock.
Based on my analysis, I decided that there was no value to VV, and cancelled my subscription.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 18 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

I like it

Reviewed By Mike on September 6, 2013, Alberta

Using Vectorvest has been very profitable for me so far. Grant in, when the market collapses no one will come out ahead unless you have the courage to play the market to the downside, but if it is going sideways or up, or even taking a minor dip, it has leveraged my profits tremendously.

It is highly configurable and I find that very often, when the sell recommendation is given, it is very often the worst time to sell if other indicators are slightly positive. For the prudent investor however it might be good to get out on their recommendation and get into something else to limit potential losses.

I have found their customer service pretty good for the most part but there is one guy on there that is quite a bore and has the articulation of a Homo habilis, but usually they are quite prompt in answering and are eager to help. VV actually encourages the use of the phone in help service.

Their Live Events are interesting, cost effective, relaxed and informative and I attend them whenever I learn of them coming to my area.

They also have a user group in my area which is small but has some long-term members. They are informative and a great way to network and get ideas.

All that being said there are certain basic trading rules and styles which have to be learned by the school of hard knocks and that can take years to learn which style best suits your emotional makeup. Some people are just not cut out to be traders/investors.

I probably wouldn't use this product unless you have at least $5000 to $25,000 to invest at minimum, but you know I still see some people thinking they can make money on buying 25 shares @ $2.00 each. There is no panacea for simple common sense.

One thing I wish they had more opportunities for providing feedback. You are allowed only 5 suggestions. They really ought to open an email-line for unlimited suggestions. I find that frustrating as the easy to understand program has the odd annoyance.

One feature that it really lacks is the ability to reconcile your portfolio. This isn't unlike other online portfolio managers like Yahoo, but when I try and duplicate my real account I often find myself getting the message "you don't have enough cash in the account for that", probably because it doesn't account for recent unposted dividend payments. If you make a mistake you'll never find it because of this lacking feature. They should allow you to overdraft your portfolio, just like any accounting software. Instead they enforce strict rules that prevents you from doing this and that's a pain too.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 29 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
Mike
September 09, 2013

Why don't you just deposit more funds to your portfolio? After all this is a tool and no real world money is involved anyway.

Jack Sprott
November 03, 2013

Mike,
keep going to the "live events" where you meet experienced investors who may share some of their knowledge with you. As you gain experience, you will see that you can do just as well without VectorVest. - Good luck to you!

Your Comment
Guest

Dont give your money to Vectorvest!!!

Reviewed By Danny on July 23, 2013, Boston

I'm Glad I can leave a real review so I can warn people not to get sucked into vectorvest's lies. Don't waist years of your time and thousands of dollars like I did to only find out this company is a huge scam. Vectorvest's business model is to come up with back tested strategies to lure people in with promises of large returns by using their system(timing system, buy/sell system, sure fire success system, yellow brick road system, etc) there is a new system every week once the old system completely fails. They modify their data to make people think they can make money my spending $600 a year for their software. I 100% guarantee you will lose money if you follow any advice/system of vectorvest. I waisted 3 years and lost over 25k and trust me I spent hundreds of hours backtesting and using strict rules(vectorvest rules) to buy and sell stocks. I know I got suckered, at least I learned and now hopefully I can save someone else's heard earned money. As tempting as VV's adds sound, PLEASE to fall for their lies.

Dan

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 89 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 4 Comments
otto
July 30, 2013

TOO good to be true ! Eh!

Old Dude
September 18, 2013

A question really.

Any way for me to test your belief that they change the data used in the back tests? I am using VectorVest and don't want to get scammed

Sandy Scott
September 22, 2013

I agree 100 percent! For example, if the so.called Surefire Success System,
When the system recommends shorting a stock, it has yet to be a stock that Ameritrade allows a short. I would be a couple of Knicks richer had I never subscribed to VV. I do much better on my own.

10 Year VV user
October 29, 2013

VectorVest keeps showing strategies that works great in the past. They find the time period it works best and uses it to fool people in their strategy of the week.
It is like saying if you bought the lottery with the following numbers last week, you would have made 10000% profit.
After using VV for over 10 years, I have not seen better performance compared to buying multiple mutual funds.

If you have the stomach for 40% drawdown, then you can make money on good years with strategies that buys stocks less than $5.
For a prudent investor you may see 10% return which is similar to mutual fund.

Your Comment
Guest

Shameless hype combined with useful data

Reviewed By Cato on May 24, 2013

First off, you have to acknowledge the obvious: Dr. Bart DiLiddo is something of a huckster. His marketing approach is to hype his product to the skies, make ridiculous claims, cherry-pick his results and lure in the unsuspecting and inexperienced. (Let's face it, this crass approach sells a lot better than spewing out complex analyses and stressing risk factors.)

That said, I'm convinced the information provided can be used profitably so long as you de-emphasize high-risk market timing approaches and instead seek to gain the net difference between a beta-adjusted long portfolio of undervalued stocks and a short portfolio of overvalued stocks. In other words, if you design a classic hedge fund (this strategy is where the term "hedge fund" came from).

You can't just do this fire-and-forget. It takes off-line research to skim out VV misinformation, some daily Excel work, risk management techniques, etc. You won't make a lot of money if you neutralize the market delta but you can in theory make a small but steady return and avoid big losses in all market conditions (except bubbles where wildly overvalued stocks just go higher and higher).

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 62 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
Buffalo Bill
June 06, 2013

Use the data not the recommendations and you will do ok

Buffalo Bob
June 16, 2013

The worst part of the VV software is the Home page with the `creepy' looking picture of the creative doctor himself! I am enjoying using the software during a free trial, actually liking a lot of the ridiculous hype, but it's just another tool. One should use many tools in investment analysis.

Your Comment
Guest

Advice from non-traders

Reviewed By Robert Trainer on May 6, 2013, Dover Delaware

Vector Vest has many good features, but lacks a credible staff. From the top down not one person has ever traded for a living successfully for any period time. Most of the people do not know the difference between investing and trading and mix techniques and concepts all the time; No understanding of position sizing methods or how to backtest to determine future performance with a high confidence level or margin of error. The database has a mega survivorship bias that can be easily fixed with the purchase of additional data but is completely ignored because most if not, all, the strategies would end up losers. Extremely old-school thinking and deeply entrenched management, results in really slow improvement rate. For the money you can get much better.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 61 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
TED
June 10, 2013

I imagine the staff is for "how to use VV" and does not need to know stocks..as long as Bart knows how to trade.

Your Comment
Guest

Cheap company

Reviewed By jon fritas on May 3, 2013, ipswich ma

I was two days late in cancelling my trial subscription. They refused to refund my 137.50 on there automatic renewal policy. (read the fine print in their sign up app.) It does state that you will b3 renewed. I just made the same mistake with zacks at the same time zacks returned my 299 very quickly the difference between a good nand bad company. I have filed a complaint with Mass. atty gen. office

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 53 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

Not for everyone

Reviewed By Manoj on April 22, 2013, Dallas

I tried VV for about a year some time ago and I can say it is not worth the money you pay for the use of their system. I get similar but better information free online.

There is no fool-proof way to know future, but one can devise a system of one's liking based on all the information that is out there. One should get charts and quotes from your broker's website. Most large brokers have very good data free. many provide a great amount of research also free.

Save your money and do some work yourself. VV and similar services are people who simply can not or will not do the work themselves.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 52 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
Rainbow pvz
August 29, 2013

Learn all you can from as many sites as you can, however take all w/a grain of salt. Do your own due dilgence, you can be your own stand alone advisor with all info you collect and pull out what -you-surmise-to be the truth about stock you are reviewing. Remember you can be the very best person to know how to assimalate all the information you collect and start with the "CO" web site and read all Notes on Proxy reports. You truly can do it own your own, if still not confident then do Index Funds or go to a discount broker for advise until you learn. Sorry my comments are so long. .

Your Comment
Guest

couldn't make any money

Reviewed By rick on April 18, 2013, wyoming

I give it a 3 because I didn't fully test the program, so I can't say it doesn't do any good at all but it didn't work for me. I tried to follow the buy/sell recommendations based on the VectorVest claims to have never missed an up or down market and the ability confirm when the market has turned direction. (I've never missed an up or down market either, after it happened) I can look at the market and tell you it's in an up trend, that's not hard, how long it will stay there is the part that myself or VV cant tell you. It's like playing craps, when you hit a streak you think you have it figured out, but guess what, you don't, but you can confirm the streak ended, afterwords, and is now going the other way.
The problem is it takes a few days for VV to confirm the market up or down and by the time that happens and you buy or sell when they confirm the direction you've missed the gains, so you jump in and guess what... it changes direction and you ride that going against you then VV confirms it's going in the opposite direction and recommends a buy/sell, so you follow the recommendation and get whip-sawed. It's great if the market changes and stays that way for a few months, but with the market fluctuations your in and out, until you decide it's time to stay out. The problem for me was VV three or so days of lag time, it beat the hell out of me.
In their defense I never tried many strategies or put a ton of work into figuring it all out, but based on some of the reviews here that others did I guess I may have saved myself a lot of time. It's a slick looking program and draws you in, but good luck, because all I think in the end that is happening is your chasing the market like a spectator watching a tennis ball!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 44 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

STAY AWAY!!!!!

Reviewed By Daryl Mosely on March 24, 2013, Wisconsin

I worked for this company for a short time. First off, they discard employees right and left. So, don't work for them. I didn't know much about their program, but it sure gave me the creeps. After reading these reviews, I now understand why I had the creeps. Stay away from their product too and warn as many people as you can.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 76 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
Nick
May 24, 2013

This tells a lot about the company !

lynn
August 20, 2013

I think your mad you got let go

Your Comment

Leave a Review