7 Ways to Make Money Online
Without Being Scammed…


It’s estimated that for every one legitimate online opportunity there are roughly sixty scams. The reason is that quite a few people seem to believe that there’s a magic package out there which allows one to make a lot of money on the internet with very little effort, and there’s always a less than reputable website willing to sell it to them.

To be perfectly honest there are many different ways to make money online, and working from home can be extremely rewarding. But there’s a big difference between a legitimate online job or opportunity and the unsolicited offers that often find their way into your inbox.

This is why we’ve put together a list of real ways to make money from home. These are all legitimate companies and methods which allow you to start getting paid for a wide range of activities with little or no investment on your part.

Feel free to explore the ideas on this page, join the discussions & leave your response below, or suggest an idea we haven’t thought of yet…

#1 Get an Online Job…

If you want to earn income at home then you may think the most obvious solution is to get a work-at-home job. Well you’re right! Unfortunately many internet scams specifically target people searching to work at home. To avoid falling for any kind of schemes the best thing you can do is go directly to the source. Find forums or job boards that focus on the kind of work you want to do. For instance there are many legit jobs in the customer service industry.

You can get a job as a customer service representative and earn money by fielding customer’s questions and providing them with support. This type of work will require some brief training and the ability to pass a background check.

If you’re the creative type, you can find work at home opportunities in almost any industry. If you have technical skills such as programming or graphic design, then the door is really wide open. In addition to full time work at home jobs there are a plethora of freelance jobs.

Check out our lists of legitimate work at home jobs below:

#2 Make Money Taking Surveys…

Surveys often get a bad reputation online because many people are confusing legitimate survey companies with other fraudulent online offers. The most important thing you need to look for in an online survey site is that it’s associated with a real market-research company.

There are many false “survey” websites out there that attempt to charge money for survey opportunities, but participation in real market research should always cost you nothing.

In addition, many fraudulent websites claim extraordinary earnings from taking surveys, which is not how real survey companies operate. You should have reasonable expectations and understand that you’re not going to make a full-time income taking surveys.

Big-name brands pay research companies to get their members to take various surveys. Often times they’re looking for very specific demographics which means you may not qualify. The best way around this is to be honest in your profile and sign up with several websites to increase your chances of qualifying.

Check out our list of free online survey companies.

#3 Get Paid to Browse the Net…

With more and more retail and advertising dollars being spent online studying people’s browsing habits has become huge business. Insights into online behavior are worth thousands, if not millions, of dollars to large companies who do business online.

This is why there’s been a significant rise in research firms that study how and why people do certain things online. In order to get this data they’ve developed websites that reward people with gifts and prizes for contributing to their statistics.

One of the most reputable companies offering this opportunity is www.SwagBucks.com. They’ll pay you for doing things online such as browsing, shopping, or even playing games. Any info they collect is anonymous and unidentifiable so your privacy is protected.

Working with Swagbucks will certainly not replace your dayjob, but why not get a little something extra for doing many of the things that you’re already doing anyways?


#4 Make Money With Your Own Website…

If you’re looking to work hard, be your own boss, and create a full-time income for yourself then making money with your own website is the route you’re looking to take. With a website you open yourself up to a variety of income sources, primarily making money through advertising networks such as AdSense or affiliate marketing.

You no longer need to be a computer or programming expert to make money with a website. Services such as blogger and wordpress allow you to quickly create your own website and even host it for free. Keep in mind that you will not make money on your first day, or likely your first month.

Making money with a website is a lot like starting your own business. It can be a lot of work and you often don’t reap the benefits till much later down the line. However, if you’re willing to work hard, have an idea or vision, and have a passion for self-employment then there’s nothing stopping you from succeeding.

Many people get intimidated just by the thought of creating their own website, which is why we put together a step-by-step, easy to follow guide that’ll show you how to do everything from creating your site to earning your first dollar online. Check out our free make money online guide

>> Keep Reading: 7 Ways to Make Money Online Part 2.


Would you like to add your review for
7 Ways to Make Money Online ?
If so, click here
Share This Page!


Customer Responses, Reviews, or Complaints

Average Rating for " 7 Ways to Make Money Online " is 3.79 out of 5 based on 19 reviews.

  • Rating
    adim says:

    October 19th, 2016 at 2:16 am

    i joined an email program not long ago called mooladays and it is a bit scammy as they limit the amount of emails they send you, so it is not really enough even to make the initial payout of $15. Many many scams out there. Be careful people

  • saraphiner says:

    October 18th, 2016 at 5:07 am

    Hi, i’m a tanzanian girl, living in Tanzania,am i qualified to do online jobs? i completed a diploma in information technology,stay at home have nothing to do.who can connect me in doing online jobs? and how can i being paid? please answer me because i’m tired of staying at home and nothing to do.

  • Rating
    Rob Waddell says:

    September 12th, 2016 at 9:59 am

    The companies that are legit are making out like bandits! If you think back, it’s the same old story, companies take advantage of middle class people, until some government entity calls them on it for being unfair, they are forced to stop manipulating people, then you get to the true nuts, and bolts, of a system that truly is legit, and by that time they already have enough people!


    Andras says:
    October 14th, 2016 at 5:29 pm

    Honestly its absolutely not about middle class Its more about the class under that.Just think about who believe in this sort of thing
    and who is actually even willing to pay money for these “opportunities”…..

  • Lyn says:

    September 11th, 2016 at 1:12 am

    I’d like to make up for the $30k hit I took when I retired from teaching. I can’t even make that much subbing every day, which, BTW is impossible! So far I haven’t been able to find a way to legitimately do that online. If anybody out there has, please let me know. No pyramid schemes please, and I won’t pay the company anything up front, or behind!


    Camliann says:
    September 23rd, 2016 at 2:47 am

    There are a lot of accredited public and private school districts that operate online virtual charter schools. There are lots of part and full time positions open for K-12th grade state certified teachers. Both my kids are enrolled in a virtual school. The teachers are awesome!! It would allow you to work from home and has flexibility that brick and mortar school teachers don’t have. Something to think about.

    Saundra says:
    September 12th, 2016 at 12:29 pm

    Check out www.ets.org. They hire for SAT Scorining (online) and other tests. They pay $15-20 per hour.

  • Rating
    Graham Brown says:

    August 29th, 2016 at 11:30 am

    The section on getting on-line jobs mentions technical creativity such as graphic design and programming but there is no matching category in the collection of links that follows. It’s true that there are plenty of websites dealing with permanent and contract roles but specifically isolating work at home seems problematic.

    I’d be very grateful for any guidance. I’m coming up to pensionable age and I’ve worked in software and systems engineering for 36 years. I wrote my first computer program in 1972. Surely there’s something out there for me!

    Yours has been the most informative site I have found to date on the real world of web commerce from the ordinary person’s perspective.

  • Rating
    Contentious observer says:

    August 29th, 2016 at 12:57 am

    So, from what I have deduced, if you get on enough sites, and keep at it, you can make money… BUT,are you even approaching minimum wage….honestly?
    There HAS to be a better way than being a slave for pennies at a time.

  • Rating
    Fred77.betterthanyoutube.com says:

    August 26th, 2016 at 1:49 am

    If you are willing to view ads for 2hrs. a day. This start-up company named THW Global is in their pre-launch stage. This is a perfect work at home job for stay at home parents, college students or even professionals who are tired of the rat race.
    All that is needed is a smart phone or a computer and
    be at least 18 yrs. old with a HS diploma.


    Lee Stockon says:
    September 28th, 2016 at 6:21 pm

    Can you formally invite me?
    Reply at cdcard2740@yahoo.com I would love to check this opportunity out. I am a retired professional of over 50 years in adverising & marketinf.

    Tiffany says:
    September 22nd, 2016 at 11:22 pm

    Can you formally invite me?

    Jonas says:
    September 13th, 2016 at 7:55 pm

    It says you must be formally invited by a registered user.

    arze says:
    September 2nd, 2016 at 5:35 am

    hi you i try it but the problem is can’t play the video

  • Rating
    Sam says:

    July 26th, 2016 at 2:12 am

    Hi , your site has very valuable information , it is great . I am from South Africa and would like to know more international survey sites . Please help

  • Rating
    Sheila says:

    July 23rd, 2016 at 4:31 pm

    Yes I will agree that the survey’s are very time consuming but it also seems like you really don’t get nowhere. I either don’t qualify or I answer as honestly as possible and I keep getting shipped to having to down load an app and possibly have to pay for it or you download a free one to be able to get a gift card that you were supposed to qualify for and do that survey to finish qualifying to get and then you have to pay for something else like an app or the gold section or the platinum and then it doesn’t say ok your card will be shipped to you it doesn’t end until you get to a point where either you have to purchase something or I just x out if it. There’s only one site that I noticed that at least it ends but not sure if I’ll get what I’m supposed to be rewarded for.


    DH says:
    August 14th, 2016 at 2:03 pm

    You should try pinecone research they pay $3 per survey invite they send you as long as you qualify to sign up with them. Another good one is Opinion Outpost.

  • Rating
    maria says:

    July 17th, 2016 at 5:49 pm

    My review for surveys is poor as well. And I signed with quite a few. The time you spend answering all those ??? for only one point or 25 cents is not worth the time.. or the qualifying questions only to find out you don’t qualify is really bothersome also.

  • Rating
    Alice Smith says:

    July 14th, 2016 at 6:23 am

    I recently started working to earn money on the side and got a job as a content writer for Redgage. It’s been great so far and I hope to continue in multiple different ways.


    Richard says:
    September 2nd, 2016 at 8:46 am

    Hi Marry,

    Sorry for the delayed reply.

    Content Writer is exactly what the name implies. As a content writer you write on any topic you are competent in.

    Clients will usually direct you on what content they need and your task will be to do your research and provide them with the content.

    Some will ask you to write website content in the form of blog posts or articles.

    I hope you can get the feel of what is meant by content writing.

    Mary says:
    July 25th, 2016 at 11:09 am

    Forgive me for my ignorance, what exactly is a “Content Writer”?
    Is it writing on the content of something? But what”
    If anyone knows please respond.
    Thank you!

  • Rating
    Darnell Dallas says:

    July 14th, 2016 at 2:31 am

    What job website can guarantee atleast $100 per day, this is saying that your putting in the maximum eight hour work shift with an hour break or so. My goal is to raise maximum $4000 every month


    Joe Smith says:
    July 19th, 2016 at 5:03 pm

    Sell rainbow vacuums, look for a RGD in your area for max payout.

  • Rating
    BruceS says:

    June 28th, 2016 at 9:43 pm

    I agree the surveys do seem to be a lot of time for not much money and they have you jump through numerous hoops before you are “qualified” to take the survey so I am not a big fan of the survey route.

    However, your review of different methods of searching online for work from home jobs was very useful. Thank you for helping me not waste my time. That I appreciate very much!

  • Rating
    Lindas says:

    June 14th, 2016 at 8:23 pm

    Yes, taking surveys can be tedious /boring at times, But I for one have done very well…I am registered on about 20 sites or more, so there always seems to be points on some site(s) to redeem for PayPal or gift cards each week or so….I keep records of every check, PayPal Deposit, gift card, or free item I get to test and so far this year I have received $1658. I finished 2015 at $2985.. ( I Never use a credit card to access sites and every time I’ve redeemed pts, I’ve gotten what was promised )
    my favorite sites are OPinionOutpost.com, USA TAlks.com, My Survey.com, Myview.com, surveysavvy, pinecone.com, mypoints.com., focsugroup.com.. some have even invited me to online discussions or In Person Panels.focus groups (not too far from my home)—these pay much higher – $35 and up …I recently got $150 for participating in an online discussion over the course of several weeks about automobiles. When people criticize survey sites, I say “you probably aren’t going to the right sites and are probably not patient enough!”…..Sure, I spend a lot of time doing them, but, I am retired, so I ‘ve been very happy with the added income the sites have provided.


    Jaylee says:
    September 3rd, 2016 at 12:14 pm

    thank you for sharing your experience and good sites to use for I too have had little always filling app being I was not eligible even one i received in mail for a over a 1000 dollars to be mystery shopper which to be scam I appreciate your time and info!

    Angie says:
    July 7th, 2016 at 2:15 pm

    thank you for your insight I am going to try some of the sites u suggested maybe I’ll have better luck Thank you again

  • Terri B says:

    June 10th, 2016 at 4:01 pm

    I have been looking and looking for online work. Surveys which ask all the same questions over and over, millionaire crap, be your own boss etc. Every single one is the same and every single one asks for money. Why should anyone have to pay to work? They are all scams and lead good people down a path to less fortune, not more. Beware

  • Bone says:

    June 8th, 2016 at 10:41 pm

    I just started doing the survey thing a few days and I’m finding that I’m not willing to put the time they want for maybe a quarter here or there. I’m sure some are better than others but I think the most frustrating thing is the fact you answer the qualifying questions for a solid 5 or 10 minutes on some only not to qualify. Some straight up lie on survey time. All I’m seeing from this article and feedback is swag bucks is OK. Panda Research is a scam. Still feeling out inbox dollars

  • Rating
    Doris Myers says:

    May 17th, 2016 at 1:29 pm

    My Review on surveys is very poor . I’ve joined about ten of them and they want all of your time, but they don’t want to pay you any money.5 cent 10 cent maybe 25cent you can’t buy a loaf of bread with that.I would like a legitimate Survey on line that would pay more money like maybe five or ten dollars for a survey. I was on Swag Bucks and didn’t get a dime. in fact none of them didn’t pay me any thing. Thank You


    OES says:
    June 16th, 2016 at 10:35 pm

    I recommend mintvine, swagbucks, and pinecone research. Check out “online earn savvy” on youtube, there’s tutorias on how to make money on swagbucks. I spend maybe 2 hours a day with money making sites, but i’m a part of about 20 sites so that’s why. Check out onlineearnsavvy.com and if you still need help, feel free to ask. Swagbucks is actually a lot easier than some sites.

    Oceane says:
    May 30th, 2016 at 2:28 pm

    I’m unsure what sites you were visiting, however I can say you DO earn money from a site called swagbucks. You earn points, which then can be redeemed for gift cards or through paypal. You aren’t going to become rich anytime soon by doing this, but it’s definitely not a scam. I’ve already redeemed points for a $25 amazon gift card. You just have to be willing to put the time in. Each point is roughly worth $0.01 which means it takes 100 points to make a dollar. It keeps track of your lifetime earnings, and I’ve made a total of $44.97 so far. That’s not bad for just giving your opinion, and playing a couple of videos here and there. You can also download their app which offers some other opportunities to make some points. Lastly, points can be earned by shopping online. (These take about a month to redeem which I wish was faster, but you still receive points from it so can’t complain much).

    I hope this was informative and of help.

    Orchid says:
    May 23rd, 2016 at 8:56 am

    Thank you for saving me my time.

  • DAN THE MAN says:

    May 10th, 2016 at 1:37 pm

    I am glad I checked out the Reviws! DAN THE MAN


    oscar says:
    May 14th, 2016 at 6:03 am

    hi i want to do this

  • Rating
    Linda Mckinnie says:

    April 27th, 2016 at 6:12 pm

    My review on survey is very positive. I have been doing surveys for a year. I keep very good notes and plan. Surveys can be very profitable with your own system.


    james says:
    October 9th, 2016 at 2:47 pm

    Linda Mckinnie please let us know who you are working with. I haven’t found anyone who pays decent money and doesn’t have me doing all these “qualifying” things (which I rarely “qualify” for. I think there is some ageism going on along with prejudice against people who don’t have a smart phone and don’t play every video machine made. Thanks for any help you can give.

    Misty says:
    May 23rd, 2016 at 6:42 pm

    Hi Linda! My husband works third shift and I can’t sleep when he’s gone. I would love to know what survey site that you use that is profitable for you. Thanks! Misty

    Tiffiany says:
    April 29th, 2016 at 2:33 pm

    I just joined swagbucks yesterday and I have 516 SB so I cashed it in today to see if they really pay out. Who do you do surveys through?

  • Rating
    Miss M says:

    April 23rd, 2016 at 7:29 pm


    I thought there was some good information and feedback from the reader reviews/comments so I gave it a higher rating than I felt inclined to give. I am obviously missing something… The article states “7″ ways to make money online and it stops at number “4″ Is it just me or what… I’d like to know what’s up with that?


    THOMAS says:
    June 23rd, 2016 at 11:52 pm

    MISS M.


    Also, Miss M says:
    May 4th, 2016 at 3:20 pm

    You have to look past and around their ads’ clutter. It’s how they cover expenses being a free site.

    Hello Miss M says:
    April 28th, 2016 at 10:52 am

    Did you see the second page…………. 5,6,7

  • Rating
    Mimipqn says:

    April 19th, 2016 at 6:04 pm

    But surveys again they are nothing but a waste of time!! I know by my own experience you wont make a lot of money from it and only a little if your lucky enough to even qualify, if you dont you wont get paid at all, and even if u do it is nothing but pocket change!! Its a nowhere situation!! Believe it or not but its the truth! Take it or leave it! there are better solutions to this problem be your own boss you just need to find out how to get the money first! Prayer is one of them and keep the faith ask the lord for help and keep asking and trying until he answers your prayers!! If you do good luck to you.

  • Rating
    yas says:

    April 16th, 2016 at 1:42 pm

    Good advise!


    Nick says:
    September 27th, 2016 at 11:09 pm

    Sept: 26: 2016 at 11:25 pm

    The Lord answers pray . I notice that the some of the companies ask for a fee,then you have to pay to start. I think that is a Red Flag. Some of those companies are not open to Barbados. I now trying that surveys and some sites are closed. I did not qualify for one of them. I idea is good, but there is some scam. Check TWGlobal also Empower. Only Cash Survey seems to have a problem. I was searching to make income on the web,but you have to look carefully. I notice you apply surveys and they send you to online Trading and has to start at $ 250 us.thankr for your info. Good info

  • Rating
    Stanley Bates says:

    April 13th, 2016 at 1:42 pm

    You should be on every email in the country; no, in the civilized world.

  • Rating
    Lisa Castor says:

    March 31st, 2016 at 5:12 pm

    It is about time there is a place to find legit online jobs, etc. I love it! Thank you.


Add Your Review

Your Comment:

Choose a Rating

Please Write Your ReviewRead Review Guidelines