Advance America Reviews – Legit or Scam?

 


AdvanceAmerica.net
from 11 reviews Review It
AdvanceAmerica.net

 

Advance America was established in 1997 and is currently one of the nation’s largest payday loan companies, offering full service operations both at in person locations and online.

Advance America offers a full range of short term financial services, from payday loans to installment loans, MoneyGram services, Visa prepaid cards, auto equity loans, gold buying, and even tax preparation.

You can obtain payday loans from Advance America at their in house locations, as quickly as ten minutes after your application has been approved, or from their online website, and the funds will be direct deposited into your bank account the next day.

Warnings About Payday Loans

Payday loans are extremely controversial. Because payday loans are targeted at people who need cash immediately and have no other means of receiving it, these companies are able to charge high interest rates, with the nationwide average being 390% APR.

Often these high interest rates result in people’s inability to be able to pay back these short term loans on time, which results in a series of fees making it even more difficult for those struggling financially to keep up with it.

Because of this problematic cycle, individual states have created rules and regulations regarding the approval of payday loans and limiting their fees. Some states have outlawed the practice, while others have few regulations that limit payday lenders.

Advance America’s Payday Loans

In an effort to combat the negative stereotypes associated with payday loans, Advance America claims to be committed to following all federal and individual state laws associated with giving payday loans.

Also, they are a member of the Community Financial Services Association of America (CFSA), which is the only national organization dedicated to promoting responsible regulation of the payday advance industry.

As a member of CFSA, Advance America claims that they make sure all their terms, conditions, fees, and payback schedules are as clear and easy to understand as possible, so that their clients have the best chance at successfully paying back their short term loans.

Even though Advance America makes all these assurances, it is still up to those borrowing the money to ensure they know exactly what they are getting into before they accept the terms of the loan being offered to them.

Note: If you’re interested in learning more about Payday Loans check out our detailed guide, “Payday Loans Explained: Should You Ever Get One?” for more info.

 

Would you like to add your review for
Advance America ?
If so, click here
 
Share This Page!

 

Customer Responses, Reviews, or Complaints


Average Rating for " Advance America " is 1.55 out of 5 based on 11 reviews.

  • Rating
      
    gary says:

    July 30th, 2014 at 7:18 pm

    Hi all tried to secure a loan of 6000 was told to go to walgreens to get a vanilla reload network card once i got the card with the 435.00 to call them back got a man by the name of harry gave him the pin # of card he then told me it would take ten minutes to transfer the 6435 .00 to my bank account after about 15 mins he told me their was a red flag on bank accounts in the area i lived in and he could send the money wester union if i paid a 333.00 fee with another prepaid card told i could not do that and i wanted to cancel loan he told me i would have to get a card for 135.00 to do this got me for 435.00 the name of the company is cash advance america pay day loan phone #512-309-5008 why is the better business bureau letting this company stay in business

    REPLY
  • Ce says:

    July 29th, 2014 at 2:15 pm

    Rec’d email from Advance America stating that I have been approved for $3000 installment loan. All I needed was a “guarantee” although they do not “believe in any upfront in form of cash, credit, or debit card.” However, Adam advised that because they are adhering to the FTC ACT, I need to purchase a VANILLA Reload Network Card {$150}; provide him with info from receipt, (not card) before funds would be made available. I am extremely skeptical. Been burned in the past with GREEN DOT Money pak.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Debby says:

    July 24th, 2014 at 8:56 pm

    I don’t know how they get away with this! I have been stupid enough to trust 2 different companies ( after they swore on their children’s lives they were legit) I have been scammed out of $300, I was on the phone crying because they’d taken all my money,they still wanted more! They are heartless! They said they would return my money, never happened! They all seem to have Indian accents with American names, but they will have to answer to a higher power, what goes around comes around!

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Zandra says:

    June 25th, 2014 at 1:43 pm

    I just spoke with a man by the name of Mike. He said I was approved for a loan of $3000.00. I told him I only needed $2000.000. He then said I needed to pay up front $183 to veryify my ability to pay the monthly installments. He then said I would receive it back along with my loan for $2000.00 through Green Dot. I’m not sure if this is legit, but I really need the money. I’m not going to take the chance.

    REPLY

    Trisha says:
    July 20th, 2014 at 8:11 pm

    I’m not a stupid person, but desperate people forget intelligence, I did this just 5 days ago with a different company. So I’m out 260.00 which of course I cant afford and according to Green Dot it is non-refundable. This other company wanted another 395.00 because of my credit report had a non secure on it that had to be paid off. I explained I just gave you the last of my money, I told them I wanted a refund they said no, we will just keep your file open until you come up with that money. Yeah that’s not going to happen. btw stay away from CASH ADVANCE USA, and don’t speak to Mike, Sam Wilson, or any guy with an American name with all have middle eastern accents. The other thing is I got a call from Alex, with some law firm stating that a warrant will be issued for me because a loan company for a loan I supposedly taken out 300.00 loan 2 years ago I didn’t pay off. They, again 2 guys mid eastern accents acting as lawyers in Washington DC, really? I would have to send them 400.00 to not be arrested. Again, that’s not gonna happen. Apparently there are a lot of these companies in our country trying to rip us off. I’m completely broke after being terminated from a company a year ago I worked for almost 17yrs. Haven’t found employment, guessing my age, so I am desperate, but be careful out there. Make sure the company is legit.

  • Rating
      
    robert says:

    February 24th, 2014 at 3:16 pm

    I needed a loan for $1500 they wanted me to get a money card, with $150 on it. Through up red flags right away, they had all my personal info, bank info everything. I never applied for a loan through them. I asked him legitimate questions, like “why do i need to prove anything if I have a good credit score” and such, he got very nervous and hung up, and tried calling a few more times. The last call I received and said if you do not remove me and delete my info, I will be getting in touch with my local police department. That was the end of that.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    GILBERT WASGINGTON says:

    December 5th, 2013 at 3:59 pm

    I have a man that is offering me a $4000 loan but says that i need to purchase a vanalla reload network card first in order to receive this loan of $4000 @5%…. this is unreal with my credit score!! I am wandering is this ligit or a scam. The name of the company is Advance America Payday Loan. And the persoN I talked to is name James Thompson @ 979-6639-7734. please reply all!!!

    REPLY

    cynthia p. says:
    February 22nd, 2014 at 7:38 pm

    noooo this is a scam!! i hope you didnt follow through with it. if you need money fast its best to get to a loaning company in person, dont do it over the phone or online, because if you think about it you never know whose on the other side, and besides loaning companies usually give you the money first and then you pay it back with interest.

  • Rating
      
    sandra clark says:

    November 29th, 2013 at 8:42 am

    i paid the transfere fee and the insurance for the loan and i never received the loan i need to find ot how i go about getting my money back the was given to them i have the phone number and the contract but i never received the money in my account

    REPLY
  • Cecil Fallon says:

    November 28th, 2013 at 11:10 pm

    I need this loan to pay bills& fix my car.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Curious says:

    November 7th, 2013 at 6:45 pm

    Someone is using this company name or the company itself is a scam artist. The telephone number used is out of Jersey City, NJ the county of Hudson and the name is unlisted. It’s carrier is YMAX Communications Corporation. These individual(s)is some how is linked to the pay lenders and get your name once you apply for a loan. Then ask you get a Green Dot Card for payment. Pertains that your social security number has been red flagged. If America PayDay Loan is legit they will need to put a stop to these individual(s)

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Bob says:

    September 9th, 2013 at 5:33 pm

    I would like to know if it legitimate on my part to buy a greendot.card and put $500 on it. They want my account number and pin after I purchase it. This is advance america and I would like some assurance from somebody who did this if they will actually send my loan amount after getting the greendot card number and pin from me over the phone. Thank you.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Craig Friburg says:

    August 6th, 2013 at 10:37 am

    I had a problem with a company called payday for America. I wired the only 400 dollars I had then while on the phone with them the line goes dead. He was an Indian guy claiming his name was Brian Johnson. If someone gets a call from 909-666-7868

    REPLY

    Terri says:
    August 26th, 2013 at 5:07 pm

    I actually got a call from that same guy but a different number and a formal letter. Did he take your money. I told him it sounded like a scam! I am very unsure about this.

  • BJ says:

    March 28th, 2013 at 1:49 pm

    I am looking for someone who had to put money on a greendot money pack paper card before receiving a loan from them, and did their bank charge a wire transfer fee? Help

    REPLY

    lj says:
    April 10th, 2013 at 12:23 am

    Hello I’m going the same situation I did the greendot money pack paper card then later be told that I had to pay 150.00 wire fee which I didn’t do. The people that I went through number is 818 850 5416. Please if anybody knows anything please let me know.

  • Rating
      
    Vevarae says:

    January 7th, 2013 at 9:51 am

    Up until a few months ago I would have given Advance America a stellar report. We had worked with them several times. However, suddenly my husband and I were both without jobs and I called them to make arrangements to pay out my loan in a timely manner. All was going fine until I had to change the account I was paying them out of… I called and asked to stop the automatice withdrawal that was coming out the next month and to change it to another account. They drew on the old account and it bounced. Then without contacting me at all they charged me with check fraud. Since I had closed the old account, I had no idea they had charged it and not the other account. The amount in the account they were supposed to take it from was so sufficient that I never noticed they hadn’t pulled the small amount we still owed. Not until I received a call from a check fraud company who were getting ready to serve a warrant on me, did I know this was even going on. Now, up until this I received monthly emails from Advance America, I called them monthly and maintained contact, there were no problems. I am extremely disappointed in this company and will not EVER be using them again.

    REPLY

    Xavier says:
    February 4th, 2013 at 9:12 am

    Im interested in getting a loan from these ppl did you have to put money on a card or something in order to get your first loan?

  • Mel says:

    July 12th, 2012 at 11:36 am

    Stay away from payday nation. They are scammers. Charge $1000 for a $500 loan.

    REPLY

    Justme says:
    August 28th, 2012 at 9:39 pm

    Not Advance America…they charge 17.50 in my state for $100.00. In my opinion, if I’m in a bind and need quick cash, I would rather pay that than have a $35 overdraft fee in my checking account. Car title loans are the bad ones.

  • Rating
      
    Mike says:

    July 9th, 2012 at 2:41 pm

    Comparing web marketing and an Online marketing niche is equivalent to researching oatmeal with grapefruits. Oranges and a melon are both berry. Web marketing and an Internet Marketing niche are types of Internet marketing yet as diverse since oatmeal are generally via oranges.

    The definition of ‘niche marketing’ signifies offering an unique product or service to some certain type of purchaser. You’ll find less competing niches compared to an online advertising market. Most niche investing arenas are more ready to accept the most up-to-date promoting strategies, too. Little niche financial markets are certainly not around stored with gurus and also wise males and so are much simpler for the starting marketer to get rid of in to. A distinct segment market place enables you to market your personal niche product or perhaps that of a niche affiliate merchandise. There exists a niche area with regard to everything imaginable. Precisely what it takes to get rid of into a specialized niche a very good idea, an excellent product or service developed by you as well as another individual which will entice selected people, a number of marketing as well as the want to do well.

    REPLY

Add Your Review



Your Comment:

Choose a Rating

Please Write Your ReviewRead Review Guidelines