Advance America Reviews – Legit or Scam?
from 25 reviews Review It


Advance America was established in 1997 and is currently one of the nation’s largest payday loan companies, offering full service operations both at in person locations and online.

Advance America offers a full range of short term financial services, from payday loans to installment loans, MoneyGram services, Visa prepaid cards, auto equity loans, gold buying, and even tax preparation.

You can obtain payday loans from Advance America at their in house locations, as quickly as ten minutes after your application has been approved, or from their online website, and the funds will be direct deposited into your bank account the next day.

Warnings About Payday Loans

Payday loans are extremely controversial. Because payday loans are targeted at people who need cash immediately and have no other means of receiving it, these companies are able to charge high interest rates, with the nationwide average being 390% APR.

Often these high interest rates result in people’s inability to be able to pay back these short term loans on time, which results in a series of fees making it even more difficult for those struggling financially to keep up with it.

Because of this problematic cycle, individual states have created rules and regulations regarding the approval of payday loans and limiting their fees. Some states have outlawed the practice, while others have few regulations that limit payday lenders.

Advance America’s Payday Loans

In an effort to combat the negative stereotypes associated with payday loans, Advance America claims to be committed to following all federal and individual state laws associated with giving payday loans.

Also, they are a member of the Community Financial Services Association of America (CFSA), which is the only national organization dedicated to promoting responsible regulation of the payday advance industry.

As a member of CFSA, Advance America claims that they make sure all their terms, conditions, fees, and payback schedules are as clear and easy to understand as possible, so that their clients have the best chance at successfully paying back their short term loans.

Even though Advance America makes all these assurances, it is still up to those borrowing the money to ensure they know exactly what they are getting into before they accept the terms of the loan being offered to them.

Note: If you’re interested in learning more about Payday Loans check out our detailed guide, “Payday Loans Explained: Should You Ever Get One?” for more info.


Would you like to add your review for
Advance America ?
If so, click here
Share This Page!


Customer Responses, Reviews, or Complaints

Average Rating for " Advance America " is 2 out of 5 based on 25 reviews.

  • Rating
    Kathy says:

    September 21st, 2015 at 10:29 pm

    I got a call from “alex”stating that i was approved for 1000 loan, and before they could transfer it to my bank account how much per month could I afford to pay it back. I said 150. I was then transferred to his supervisor “eric” (btw both heavy Indian accents) who said because of my credit score , I would have to put 150 on a “reloadit” prepaid card as security that he could verify In case i ever missed an installment. I said I can authorize my bank to pay the monthly payments. He said they cant do that again because of my credit rating. Yes, sounded odd to me but i went and bought the card. He asked me for the # on the card so he could verify that 150 was on it and as soon as he did that the 1000 would be in my bank account within 3 hours. He then told me NOT to call and check the balance on this prepaid card. I thought $#^!!!! I started shaking , said ok and hung up. I immediately called the card and put a block on it. Its gonna take me 30 days to get my money back but at least I smartened up in time to prevent these thieves from getting it. Then I went online to check reviews and saw the numerous warnings of this scam. Wish I checked first. That old saying is good advice- if it sounds too good to be true….


    A hill says:
    September 25th, 2015 at 2:34 pm

    I just got this same call today and he’s like can you go to a MoneyGram I’m like for what he said I needed to show that I have at least 250.00. I’m like well not right now he was like ok well then call me back when you get there and I’ll tell you what to do. I hung up and then read your story I don’t feel safe knowing that they have all my information. I mean everything name address and SS# he verified with me.

  • Rating
    Allen says:

    September 10th, 2015 at 3:06 pm

    Today, I received an Email from This email had an attachment with it. When I opened the attachment, I thought my prayers were being answered. It was an approval letter from a company Advance America. It had an Approval number, an amount of $5000, Loan terms of 18 months, Monthly payment $305.00, Interest rate 10%, and it was all on nice company letter head. See my wife has been out of work for the last 2 months after an emergency surgery on her uterus. Money is tight and bills are behind. We are desperate. This sounded great. I called the number listed to Verify my acceptance,716-810-6912,A Man, by the name of Robert Carter, answered the phone. After verifying all m information with him, he gave me a 4 digit # and said it was my account number with them. He then preceded to tell me that the money should be in my account within the hour. I thanked him and hung up. Relief was in sight I thought. I waited 3 hours and nothing. I finally called the number back and Robert answered again. When I asked what was going on with the money, he told me that I was not going to get the money because my credit score was no good. DAAAA… that’s why I was trying for a cash advance. If I wanted to get the money, I would have to pay them an Insurance fee. After asking to speak with a manager, A women got on the phone and started to say the same crap the this Robert guy was. When I told them that I was not interested and that they had better not touch anything in my account, he told me that “he was going to take all my money and I had better change my pin quick.” VERY UNPROFESSIONAL… This company is a huge scam that is praying on people that have fallen on hard times. Shame on them. Please beware.

  • Rating
    PJ says:

    August 19th, 2015 at 3:37 pm

    We got a phone call today from an Indian man saying he would give us a $5,000 loan if we would send him $250.00 first. We started laughing and then told him we knew it was a scam and so then he hangs up.
    These people are trying hard to steal people’s money. He said he was from Please be careful everyone don’t send these crooks any money.

  • staysay says:

    August 5th, 2015 at 11:24 pm

    I have been searching the net seeking a line of credit for a few hundred bucks due to circumstances– I received a call from a man today claiming they had received my inquiry and I had in fact been approved for a line of credit for thousands he asked what terms I would be ok with offered better pay off then the terms I had said were manageable, but then wanted to have me send a pic of my personal check, stating I could write void across the check and they were needing me to verify the person they were sending or wiring the funds were to go into MY account, It seemed a bit sketchy– why not my drivers licence?

  • Rating
    Wondering?? says:

    April 1st, 2015 at 4:59 pm

    Has anyone got a call from 954-354-9348 Advance America Loan Company? I did and also received an email saying I was approved for $5000.00 and to call Christoher Johnson to finalize my loan. I got a loan approval from them explaining their policy and how they work etc. It didn’t seem legit so I hung up. Scam or Not?

  • Rating
    Debra Saunders says:

    January 13th, 2015 at 2:14 pm

    I remembered why I stopped using Advance, paid loan by check, cleared bank and now I have to wait 14 days because of some lengthy clearing process by Advance. It doesn’t take that long for any check to clear. I can’t go to the bank and withdraw the funds for Advance.
    Julio is the only asesst you have working for Advance. I understand the policy and Julio was very understanding about how this effects the customer. Thank goodness, my payday will be closer than you clearing a check that the bank cleared.
    Great way to lose a customer for good.
    On top of that, you get a check instead of cash when you apply for a loan. Why pay with cash? You never have enough cash to serve your customers. Guess my loan will be a permanent paid in full.

  • Rating
    Margie says:

    December 23rd, 2014 at 11:03 pm

    I received an email from a Lisa at Cash Advance America stating I owed money on a 300 loan I took out and if I pay 350 it will be paid in full. I know this a scam. I may have had a loan with them at one time in the past, but it was paid off a long time ago. Where do I turn this person in.

  • Rating
    H.Brawner says:

    December 22nd, 2014 at 12:19 pm

    I was a victum of your company that scamed me for $350. Telling me to go put money on a preloadable card for insurance, and never got my loan. what do you suggest

  • Rating
    Mkhenriques says:

    December 13th, 2014 at 7:26 pm

    I’m an employee of an Advance America in Florida. We will NEVER call you and tell you to transfer funds. We barely use email at our locations. If it involves wiring anything….we do NOT do that. We will NEVER perform any transactions over the phone. EVER. If you need money….we are here for you. We know your situation, we have an awesome tax program that we use for taxes, you can get a Free estimate with us and compare at others. You’re not treated like a number with us but yet a customer. Our atmosphere is different than others, our understanding and customer service skills are more personable than others….it’s a pretty decent company to work for. Every job has it’s challenges bit for the most part….it’s a legit, highly recommended, company that can help you when you need it.

    Do people get upset with our services and fees…..yes. If it’s not managed properly it can become a vicious cycle. Remember… only take what you need, you can ween at anytime. We will always be available when needed.


    H.Brawner says:
    December 22nd, 2014 at 12:21 pm

    So how does one apply for a loan with your company??

  • Rating
    Lucy Carter says:

    December 12th, 2014 at 8:47 pm

    Advance America does NO BUSINESS ON THE PHONE…They will NEVER ask you to go get a prepaid card…or wire money your business. They will call you try to get you to send a prepaid card to them.
    You must go into the loan office and fill out an application…show TWO forms of ID (one a government photo ID)…your pay stubs..and have a valid open checking account. You must have personal references.and at least 6 phone numbers for those references (this includes your home and or cell phone).
    NO ONE will EVER call you and solicit you by phone.
    Only AFTER you have an account with them, will they give you a courtesy call the day before your due date…and they will call you if you are late.
    Advance America is a legitimate payday and installment loan company based in Spartanburg, SC, and have offices around the country.
    If ANYONE calls you and says they are from Advance America, and asks you to wire money or get a pre paid card and send to them to make you eligible for a loan..CALL THE POLICE and report it, or contact Advance America’s corporate office and report this scam at: 135 North Church Street Spartanburg, SC 29306
    Phone: (864)515-5600


    H.Brawner says:
    December 22nd, 2014 at 12:27 pm

    Thank you for this information. I am calling them now

  • Rating
    Hopeful says:

    December 9th, 2014 at 4:31 pm

    I received an email from Advance American located in Michigan. According from Mark Morgan I was suppose to go to a Seven Eleven and get a vouchers showing I had funds to prove good faith, needless to say as desperate as I an never followed thru. The number being used which is suppose to be his direct line is (616) 947-0630 ext. 347. I find it hard to believe that there is heartless people put there that would take what little that we have, regardless of your situation. And yes they were Indian, sorry to say.

  • Rating
    to smart for their ass says:

    October 14th, 2014 at 11:55 am

    advance America are scammers, anyone asking for your money is a complete scam. do not purchase a card or give anyone you money.

  • Rating
    Nicole says:

    September 5th, 2014 at 11:14 am

    I just got off the phone with an advanced America payday loan rep. we were approved for our loan we applied for , the loans are not secured, so he said I would need to be able to verify that I had $350, so to go to the giant eagle, and call him as soon as I get there, and stay on the phone with him til I was leaving, he is going to tell me what card to get to download the money on and then he will need the pin number to put into his computer to verify that there is $350, He said since the loans are unsecured this is the only way to verify that you have enough income to pay for your loan once received, h said after that once I give him the pin, he will put it in and if the pin goes through, the funds will be deposited into my account, IS THIS LEGIT? I am kind of Leary but we really need the loan right now, Thanks in Advanced


    fooled once says:
    September 19th, 2014 at 9:40 am

    I was told the same thing and after purchasing green dot card and giving him the code number from the card he told me to wait 10 minute and the money would be in my bank.after waiting 10 minute he told me he would switch me to his supervisor and the 5000.00 plus the 200.00 I put on the card would be in my account.the supervisor told me I needed to send them another 454.00for security.I stated I was not going to send him anymore money.he stated I was not getting my money back,and began cursing at me.called green dot and they seem like a scam they asked me the code and stated that the money was gone but to go back to Cvs and add 200.00and they would return me 400.00 .Both parties had Indian accent.I get at least 15 calls a day now from scams stating I have been approved for a loan.

  • Rating
    Gail says:

    August 20th, 2014 at 1:58 pm

    I must say I have been a customer for five years and the services have been excellent at each time at Advance America #3059

  • Rating
    wayne says:

    August 14th, 2014 at 3:11 pm

    I have benn going to advance america for years and i am very happy with everyone there at 3205 s. 14th st in abilene texas they are so friendly and nice and I am out quickly fast service is great keep up the good work.

  • Rating
    gary says:

    July 30th, 2014 at 7:18 pm

    Hi all tried to secure a loan of 6000 was told to go to walgreens to get a vanilla reload network card once i got the card with the 435.00 to call them back got a man by the name of harry gave him the pin # of card he then told me it would take ten minutes to transfer the 6435 .00 to my bank account after about 15 mins he told me their was a red flag on bank accounts in the area i lived in and he could send the money wester union if i paid a 333.00 fee with another prepaid card told i could not do that and i wanted to cancel loan he told me i would have to get a card for 135.00 to do this got me for 435.00 the name of the company is cash advance america pay day loan phone #512-309-5008 why is the better business bureau letting this company stay in business


    Lucy Carter says:
    December 12th, 2014 at 8:56 pm

    This is NOT Advance America..these are scammers using a variation of the name…NO PAY DAY LOAN COMPANY WILL ASK YOU TO SEND MONEY TO BORROW MONEY..EVER.
    No payday loan company is going to give you a loan more than $2000…EVER.
    I have worked for Advance America for 6 years and we have NEVER asked for money top lend money..unless you were paying off a loan and renewing..WHY WOULD YOU SEND MONEY TO BORROW MONEY???

  • Ce says:

    July 29th, 2014 at 2:15 pm

    Rec’d email from Advance America stating that I have been approved for $3000 installment loan. All I needed was a “guarantee” although they do not “believe in any upfront in form of cash, credit, or debit card.” However, Adam advised that because they are adhering to the FTC ACT, I need to purchase a VANILLA Reload Network Card {$150}; provide him with info from receipt, (not card) before funds would be made available. I am extremely skeptical. Been burned in the past with GREEN DOT Money pak.


    Lucy Carter says:
    December 12th, 2014 at 8:58 pm

    Advance America DOES NOT NOW, NOR HAVE THEY EVER asked for this….this person was not employed at Advance America, but a scammer..

  • Rating
    Debby says:

    July 24th, 2014 at 8:56 pm

    I don’t know how they get away with this! I have been stupid enough to trust 2 different companies ( after they swore on their children’s lives they were legit) I have been scammed out of $300, I was on the phone crying because they’d taken all my money,they still wanted more! They are heartless! They said they would return my money, never happened! They all seem to have Indian accents with American names, but they will have to answer to a higher power, what goes around comes around!


    Lucy Carter says:
    December 12th, 2014 at 9:00 pm

    once again…legitimate payday loan companies will NEVER ask for money to lend money..Advance America adheres to strict Federal and State loan laws…My advise…if someone contacts you about applying for a loan…RUN..GO to the office…that is the ONLY way Advance America will give you a loan

  • Rating
    Zandra says:

    June 25th, 2014 at 1:43 pm

    I just spoke with a man by the name of Mike. He said I was approved for a loan of $3000.00. I told him I only needed $2000.000. He then said I needed to pay up front $183 to veryify my ability to pay the monthly installments. He then said I would receive it back along with my loan for $2000.00 through Green Dot. I’m not sure if this is legit, but I really need the money. I’m not going to take the chance.


    Trisha says:
    July 20th, 2014 at 8:11 pm

    I’m not a stupid person, but desperate people forget intelligence, I did this just 5 days ago with a different company. So I’m out 260.00 which of course I cant afford and according to Green Dot it is non-refundable. This other company wanted another 395.00 because of my credit report had a non secure on it that had to be paid off. I explained I just gave you the last of my money, I told them I wanted a refund they said no, we will just keep your file open until you come up with that money. Yeah that’s not going to happen. btw stay away from CASH ADVANCE USA, and don’t speak to Mike, Sam Wilson, or any guy with an American name with all have middle eastern accents. The other thing is I got a call from Alex, with some law firm stating that a warrant will be issued for me because a loan company for a loan I supposedly taken out 300.00 loan 2 years ago I didn’t pay off. They, again 2 guys mid eastern accents acting as lawyers in Washington DC, really? I would have to send them 400.00 to not be arrested. Again, that’s not gonna happen. Apparently there are a lot of these companies in our country trying to rip us off. I’m completely broke after being terminated from a company a year ago I worked for almost 17yrs. Haven’t found employment, guessing my age, so I am desperate, but be careful out there. Make sure the company is legit.

  • Rating
    robert says:

    February 24th, 2014 at 3:16 pm

    I needed a loan for $1500 they wanted me to get a money card, with $150 on it. Through up red flags right away, they had all my personal info, bank info everything. I never applied for a loan through them. I asked him legitimate questions, like “why do i need to prove anything if I have a good credit score” and such, he got very nervous and hung up, and tried calling a few more times. The last call I received and said if you do not remove me and delete my info, I will be getting in touch with my local police department. That was the end of that.

  • Rating

    December 5th, 2013 at 3:59 pm

    I have a man that is offering me a $4000 loan but says that i need to purchase a vanalla reload network card first in order to receive this loan of $4000 @5%…. this is unreal with my credit score!! I am wandering is this ligit or a scam. The name of the company is Advance America Payday Loan. And the persoN I talked to is name James Thompson @ 979-6639-7734. please reply all!!!


    cynthia p. says:
    February 22nd, 2014 at 7:38 pm

    noooo this is a scam!! i hope you didnt follow through with it. if you need money fast its best to get to a loaning company in person, dont do it over the phone or online, because if you think about it you never know whose on the other side, and besides loaning companies usually give you the money first and then you pay it back with interest.

  • Rating
    sandra clark says:

    November 29th, 2013 at 8:42 am

    i paid the transfere fee and the insurance for the loan and i never received the loan i need to find ot how i go about getting my money back the was given to them i have the phone number and the contract but i never received the money in my account

  • Cecil Fallon says:

    November 28th, 2013 at 11:10 pm

    I need this loan to pay bills& fix my car.

  • Rating
    Curious says:

    November 7th, 2013 at 6:45 pm

    Someone is using this company name or the company itself is a scam artist. The telephone number used is out of Jersey City, NJ the county of Hudson and the name is unlisted. It’s carrier is YMAX Communications Corporation. These individual(s)is some how is linked to the pay lenders and get your name once you apply for a loan. Then ask you get a Green Dot Card for payment. Pertains that your social security number has been red flagged. If America PayDay Loan is legit they will need to put a stop to these individual(s)

  • Rating
    Bob says:

    September 9th, 2013 at 5:33 pm

    I would like to know if it legitimate on my part to buy a greendot.card and put $500 on it. They want my account number and pin after I purchase it. This is advance america and I would like some assurance from somebody who did this if they will actually send my loan amount after getting the greendot card number and pin from me over the phone. Thank you.

  • Rating
    Craig Friburg says:

    August 6th, 2013 at 10:37 am

    I had a problem with a company called payday for America. I wired the only 400 dollars I had then while on the phone with them the line goes dead. He was an Indian guy claiming his name was Brian Johnson. If someone gets a call from 909-666-7868


    Terri says:
    August 26th, 2013 at 5:07 pm

    I actually got a call from that same guy but a different number and a formal letter. Did he take your money. I told him it sounded like a scam! I am very unsure about this.

  • BJ says:

    March 28th, 2013 at 1:49 pm

    I am looking for someone who had to put money on a greendot money pack paper card before receiving a loan from them, and did their bank charge a wire transfer fee? Help


    lj says:
    April 10th, 2013 at 12:23 am

    Hello I’m going the same situation I did the greendot money pack paper card then later be told that I had to pay 150.00 wire fee which I didn’t do. The people that I went through number is 818 850 5416. Please if anybody knows anything please let me know.

  • Rating
    Vevarae says:

    January 7th, 2013 at 9:51 am

    Up until a few months ago I would have given Advance America a stellar report. We had worked with them several times. However, suddenly my husband and I were both without jobs and I called them to make arrangements to pay out my loan in a timely manner. All was going fine until I had to change the account I was paying them out of… I called and asked to stop the automatice withdrawal that was coming out the next month and to change it to another account. They drew on the old account and it bounced. Then without contacting me at all they charged me with check fraud. Since I had closed the old account, I had no idea they had charged it and not the other account. The amount in the account they were supposed to take it from was so sufficient that I never noticed they hadn’t pulled the small amount we still owed. Not until I received a call from a check fraud company who were getting ready to serve a warrant on me, did I know this was even going on. Now, up until this I received monthly emails from Advance America, I called them monthly and maintained contact, there were no problems. I am extremely disappointed in this company and will not EVER be using them again.


    Xavier says:
    February 4th, 2013 at 9:12 am

    Im interested in getting a loan from these ppl did you have to put money on a card or something in order to get your first loan?

  • Mel says:

    July 12th, 2012 at 11:36 am

    Stay away from payday nation. They are scammers. Charge $1000 for a $500 loan.


    Justme says:
    August 28th, 2012 at 9:39 pm

    Not Advance America…they charge 17.50 in my state for $100.00. In my opinion, if I’m in a bind and need quick cash, I would rather pay that than have a $35 overdraft fee in my checking account. Car title loans are the bad ones.

  • Rating
    Mike says:

    July 9th, 2012 at 2:41 pm

    Comparing web marketing and an Online marketing niche is equivalent to researching oatmeal with grapefruits. Oranges and a melon are both berry. Web marketing and an Internet Marketing niche are types of Internet marketing yet as diverse since oatmeal are generally via oranges.

    The definition of ‘niche marketing’ signifies offering an unique product or service to some certain type of purchaser. You’ll find less competing niches compared to an online advertising market. Most niche investing arenas are more ready to accept the most up-to-date promoting strategies, too. Little niche financial markets are certainly not around stored with gurus and also wise males and so are much simpler for the starting marketer to get rid of in to. A distinct segment market place enables you to market your personal niche product or perhaps that of a niche affiliate merchandise. There exists a niche area with regard to everything imaginable. Precisely what it takes to get rid of into a specialized niche a very good idea, an excellent product or service developed by you as well as another individual which will entice selected people, a number of marketing as well as the want to do well.


Add Your Review

Your Comment:

Choose a Rating

Please Write Your ReviewRead Review Guidelines