Arrow Outlet Reviews – Legit or Scam?

 

Arrow OutletArrowOutlet.com is a new penny auction site.  A penny auction, if you haven’t heard of one before, is a type of auction where you purchase bids – priced at $.50 each at Arrow Outlet – to use in attempt to win brand new, popular items at extremely discounted prices.

Unlike regular auctions, you are not given the ability to bid your own price.  Instead, you simply make a bid, which raises the “cost” of the item by a few cents.  Once the clock has run out and someone has won the auction, the winner must pay the final price of the item, despite whatever costs they have already paid in bids.

In addition, the clock functions differently at a penny auction website than at traditional auction websites.  Here, every time someone bids, the clock is reset, meaning that the auction can go on indefinitely as long as people are actively bidding.  Like most other penny auction websites, if you lose your auction, you have the Buy It Now option of simply purchasing the item at full retail cost, less part of the costs of the bids you already spent during the auction.


So is Arrow Outlet Legit?

Arrow Outlet is what would happen if you crossbred a casino and a standard penny auction site.  They have so many things going on, it’s hard to know where to begin.

First, all penny auctions are heavily criticized for a variety of reasons.  Perhaps the most well known and popular criticism stems from the fact that penny auction sites are both the seller and the auctioneer, which means that the sites themselves benefit greatly from having the auctions continue as long as possible.  This tends to create many bad feelings between the buyers and the site, especially if there are ever technical or clock glitches.

But, beyond the standard criticisms of penny auction sites, Arrow Outlet has some issues that are unique to them.  First and foremost, they have the Bid-O-Matic, which is a bot they encourage their users to utilize.  The Bid-O-Matic places bids for you, and you don’t even have to be at home.  It starts and stops and bids as often as you program it to.

In addition, the more you bid, the more you “Level Up,” and each time you “Level Up,” you are given a grab bag prize which you can either accept or exchange for further bids.

Both of these features are obviously meant to encourage frequent and potentially mindless bidding, keeping in mind that each bid costs $.50.

But perhaps the biggest red flag at Arrow Outlet is their Buy It Now feature.  Unlike the way Buy It Now works at other sites, here it only takes $.10 of each bid into account when you buy the item at retail price.  For example, say you are bidding on a $50 item and use $40 in bids (which is already a bad idea).

If you lose the auction and would then like to Buy It Now, you will only be given credit for $8 toward your Buy It Now item.  So you spent $40 on bidding and $42 on the item, meaning you just paid $82 for an item that retails for $50.  It seems that there are better ways to spend your money.

Note: If you are visiting our website because you’re looking for a way to earn an online income, then check out Reviewopedia’s 100% free, no hype Guide to Making Money Online.


 

Would you like to add your review for
Arrow Outlet ?
If so, click here
 
Share This Page!

 

Customer Responses, Reviews, or Complaints


Average Rating for " Arrow Outlet " is 1.5 out of 5 based on 28 reviews.

  • Rating
      
    Jenn says:

    September 25th, 2012 at 11:50 am

    ArrowOutlet.com is CLOSED and out of business! I checked today but who knows how long they’ve been gone. Good riddance to another penny auction! Spend your time and money on better things people!!!

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Jack says:

    March 3rd, 2012 at 8:09 am

    I have never been to this site and never used it. But I was shocked when my bank card was declined at two stores. Turns out there was a hold put on my card for fraudulent activity. They found a charge from ARROWOUTLET THAT DIDN’T FIT MY USAGE. I never gave them my card numbers so how did they get them? Watchout!

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    ArrowOutletInfo says:

    February 1st, 2012 at 3:38 pm

    Mathematicians at the University of California, San Diego discovered that ArrowOutlet.com uses robots and wins 70% of their own auctions. Collected data shows that each month, ArrowOutlet fools 1,000 real users and takes $130,000.00 from them.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Mestrada says:

    January 24th, 2012 at 8:39 am

    Complete Scam……………they tried charging my credit card also and the card company reported it as a fraudulent activity..

    DO NOT GO ON ARROWOUTLET.COM

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Chris says:

    November 3rd, 2011 at 4:25 pm

    I promise you will lose every penny at this site. The site tempts you with high end electronics but they have shill bidders everywhere, just check out the BBB rating that the few people who took the time out to complain. Quibids is the most legit site out there. If you don’t believe me just try Arrowoutlet and you’ll see what a waste of money.
    I hope the government comes down hard on these criminals.

    REPLY
  • Peter Wolfe says:

    October 7th, 2011 at 1:06 am

    Personally I invested $50.00 and won $15.00 Amazon gift cards in level up and one $10.00. If you intend on going here READ all documentation on arrowoutletcentral.com and review websites like this one in the future. Also, bid agressively with people of your statuer not advancewd players lie Dutchess 63, M-Flat, and E2yanci and others. Don’t think you will win $1500.00 computers each time either and go online late at night. Look at the vulnerable fish that are obvious beginners and crush them like flies are my best advice to you guys. I agree the deck is stacked against us but with great risk is great gains true in capitalism and in lottery no different on penny websites.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    jhumur says:

    September 20th, 2011 at 11:20 am

    I stumbled onto ArrowOutlet a couple of weeks ago. Can’t remember how now, but it probably was a banner ad that attracted to the place. Normally, I wouldn’t be interested in spending any money on such a site, because my common sense tells me that it’s really a waste of money. But, I saw an item- a Cuisinart Cookware Set- that I have wanted for a long time but couldn’t afford it at Amazon prices. So, I decided to give it a try. I purchased a bidpack for $20 and set my eyes on the item. Over the next 10-12 hours, I tried to win some bidpacks, and the item, but never succeeded. $40 later, I decided to cut my losses and vowed to never try another Penny Auction site. I think you’re just wasting your money. There are a few observations I made that echo the comments of others here that I would like to share.

    1. It seemed that a few bidders were consistently winning all the bids that I participated in. It was amazing how one bidder (whose ID I didn’t record) kept winning bidpacks one after another. Whenever I saw the bidder bidding on an item, it was almost a given that the bidder would eventually prevail. And the same bidder would be active on multiple bids at once. I didn’t understand that could be possible when I was struggling to keep my grasp on one bid. There were a numbers of bidders like that.

    2. A dozen times or more, I was sure I had won a bid only to see it go to someone else. It was almost like my keystroke wasn’t recorded. I noticed the same momentary “pause” that others have mentioned here many times. It came an instant before the clock ran out. So I happened that I would place a bid a split-second before the clock ran out, sure that I got it right, but the bid went to someone else.

    3. Now the big one: I got a call from my Bank this morning saying that there were suspicious activities on my account. There were 4 charges on my card that they thought were suspicious and they wanted to confirm if I had made those charges, or if I lost my card. The charges added up to over a thousand dollars. The charges were denied and the card was deactivated. Of course, I can’t really say that this had anything to do with ArrowOutlet, but it’s an odd coincidence. I do a lot of online shopping; have done so for years. But, this was the first time I got caught up in an online fraud.

    My parting words would be: Don’t waste a penny on these Penny Auction sites, in the hope of finding a great deal. Save your money instead, find a good sale, and buy that thing that you want.

    Finally, I totally agree that all these penny auction sites should be thoroughly investigated, prosecuted if necessary, and strictly regulated.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    MATT SCHWERIN says:

    September 5th, 2011 at 9:00 pm

    YOU CAN’T GIVE THEM A ZERO HERE? WHAT IS THAT ABOUT? THESE PEOPLE. THE Arrogance. it’s disgusting. Then they have the gal to have these robot stooges post these b.s. positive reviews.

    REPLY
  • Floyd Florence says:

    August 23rd, 2011 at 2:26 pm

    I just saw this huge banner ad while reading my Yahoo Mail. It was a large banner (approx. 200×600) for Arrow Outlet. I’m an information provider and I have blog, etc. and list members… I’m always on the look out for, either a potential quality affiliate partner or some quality information I can pass on to my members.

    Seeing this ad and the good potential buys there, I thought it would be a great resource for my members, with the economy being the way it is and all… However, I am real particular about making any kind of recommendations to my members. I will only recommend something if I truly believe it would be of value to someone. With that in mind, I did a quick search to check out the site first (search engine).

    I haven’t even been to their site yet and 99.9% of the time, no matter how many negative review I see, I am one who has to evaluate the product for myself. However, time is of the essence and this is one of those .1% of the times that I won’t invest the time to further evaluate the product.

    One of the reasons I take this approach is, for example, I recommend a free product to my members (and it is an absolute free business) but before doing so, I checked it out just as I’m doing this product. When I read the reviews and read what the site says, I realized all the negative reviews (every last one of them) were biased in some way and each one of them failed to read the site thoroughly as the site owner provided the information upfront. Basically, it was a way to make money from a free business. I signed up and did it and it worked exactly as the site described but you had to do your part.

    However, in this case, I will not be investigating this potential business further. All my inherent alarms, bells and whistles are going off and blaring like something crazy… Yeah, in this case, I’m going to trust my instincts (remember that tool that everyone one gets when they enter into this world)… Instincts now, not paranoia… that and the overwhelming negative reviews!

    Oh and I did take a quick peek at their affiliate offer, which is somewhat attractive. However, even if I gave them the greatest benefit of doubt and if I thought they were an ok company and perhaps misunderstood (no I’m not saying that) there is still the fact of all these negative reviews, and that’s troublesome at best. So in closing, regardless to me what this company is or isn’t, it definitely is not worth the effort for me and mine!

    Thanks everyone for your views opinions and may I offer a suggestion… If you have any doubt, check it out!!!

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Chantal says:

    August 14th, 2011 at 9:06 pm

    DO NOT REGISTER ON THIS SITE ! ! ! I REPEAT DO NOT REGISTER ON THIS SITE ! ! ! THIS SITE IS A COMPLETE SCAM ! ! !

    1. Okay just like ebay when your registering you have to provide your name, email, bank information etc.

    2.Next thing you know they take an unauthorized $99 from you bank acount claiming you purchased a large bidpack.

    3. I know for fact i did not purchase this bidpack this charge happened as soon as i finished registering. I did not even know what a bidpack was, i was just looking for a site similiar to ebay then i ran into this SCAM.

    4. I did some research and their contact information is completely FALSE. No phone number and address is most definetly made up.

    5. So finally ive found them on BBB review website and found a phone number to call. So i call and the first time it goes to answer machine . Even on their answer machine they explain for customers not to call them with problems like they already know their going to receive complains. Ignoring that, i call a second and somebody picks up the phone TOTALLY UNPROFESSIONAL. I state who i am and explain my problem with the site and this guy keeps talking over me, doesnt want to listen to what i have to say, keeps telling me not to call this number, keeps telling me to go to bogus customer support on the site,and ends up hanging up on me when i talk about complaining to higher authority.

    6. For anybody that this have happened to this is the correct way to get your money back.

    Step 1 : Call your bank, Speak to a customer service rep and explain to her/him what happen.
    Step 2 : They will assist you with options on how to handle this and they will tell you to file a claim .
    Step 3: File the claim so they can investigate the website, they will see that its a bogus website, and the money will credited back into your account.
    Step 4: Also, so this wont happen again. You can actually make a seperate account made for online selling / buying such as ebay. Therefore, These websites wont access to your direct funds or money.

    REPLY
  • mo says:

    August 10th, 2011 at 2:39 am

    I have no rating but ALMOST SIGNED UP! I tried another site before and found the same result so I’m very cautious about these sites. I just wanted to get a kindle and perhaps replace my ipod but being unemployed, I can still read a book and save the 100 bucks they’re trying to extort from everyone.

    Sorry all the real reviewers had these experiences but I for one appreciate your taking the time to post. Also, great IDEA to complain to the BBB!! I think the 5 star reviews are also just shills. I could see the bots from the sample auctions thus making me check into it. Thanks again and use those chargebacks with your banks.

    Mo

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Sarah says:

    August 7th, 2011 at 7:49 am

    This website also allows users to use stolen credit card #s…I know this because someone just stole my #s and cleaned me out here. I never heard of this place before the incident.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Karri says:

    July 29th, 2011 at 11:31 pm

    There are certain people that stay on this site all hours of the day and win. They have a lot of live auctions at once on this site, plus bidpacks. But you have a very very slight chance of winning a big bidpack on here. There are about 5 different users that win ALL the time. I mean like thousands at a time. Which makes it almost impossible to win against them. If they win 3 500 bidpacks in a row, they will still go for them all. And the usually win them all. If you don’t believe me, sign up and look at ended auctions. All the 500,200,100 bid packs are usually won by Dutchess63. Its like ridiculous. If hes not on than you MIGHT have a chance. I would tell people to stay away from this site!!!

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    randy says:

    July 29th, 2011 at 9:58 am

    It’s not a scam and they don’t steal your money. YES, it’s very very very tough to win an item, but for instance I was lucky to an apple macbook pro for 24 dollars yesterday and with the $150 in bids I purchased, I got a 1300 dollars machine for 174 dollars total. That’s a GReAT bargin. But, like I said, it’s not easy to win. And you will lose more auctions than win, so be selective. And just because you dont win doesn’t make it a scam.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    mdmd says:

    July 22nd, 2011 at 9:27 pm

    so upset. i was so happy that i found this site but i always like reading reviews and thank goodness i found these cause i was about to fall for it. Thanks for saving my money!!

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Gotcha says:

    July 19th, 2011 at 8:15 am

    Anybody who thought they would get an Ipad2 for $22.53 deserves to get ripped off. How can people be so gullible?
    If you dont read the fine print before you dive in to something like this, don’t blame anybody but yourself !!
    Now, go to Walmart !!

    REPLY
  • Lynn says:

    July 9th, 2011 at 6:39 pm

    Absolute scam. Was charged almost 100.00 to my bank account and did not even know I was buying bids. Having my bank investigate this charge as there is no number on the website. Do not give your credit card info to this site!!!

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    mike voelker says:

    July 9th, 2011 at 3:02 am

    Listen do yourself a favor and dont try this site. I thought i was bidding a penny a bid then come to find out it was .50 cents! I’m like where the hell did this come from? Next thing I knew I was billed 100 dollars. I emailed and complained and guess what no refund but offered me more bids on them. 200.
    Of course I was so outraged I could do nothing to get my money back and I certainly wasn’t interested in bidding on items that keep resetting when the timer gets down to the last few seconds. It’s literally useless and goes on and on forever. SO if you’re reading this.. It’s a HUGE SCAM. No brainier.. run as fast as you can from this site. Learn from my mistake.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Ivan Ivanovich says:

    July 4th, 2011 at 12:49 pm

    What is objectionable about Arrow outlet, is that they market items for an attractive price on search engines. Then, you are automatically directed to a site with expensive bid packs. I would encourage everyone to file complaints with the Federal Trade Commission. ftc.gov or 1-877-382-4387. Also, the Better Business of Boston, MA and the Atty General for the state of Mass. Don’t waste your time with this bunch

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Hugo says:

    July 4th, 2011 at 9:59 am

    I’m really disappointed thought it was a good penny website but all its done is that i lost $100.00 for nothing in return, supposedly I received a $3.00 level up price for amazon back on April 30th but to this date I have not received it. I sent messages to them to complain about it and no luck as of yet. I’m going to complain to the better business bureau instead maybe they will listen this way.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Erica says:

    July 4th, 2011 at 9:18 am

    OMG I wish I would have seen these reviews first. This site is HORRIBLE. I purchased 40 bids for $20 and I used 11 bids and realized that it was a complete rip off! Every time the clock would get to 2 seconds left, someone would bid and keep extending the time. The bidding just goes on and on. You never win anything just waste money. I asked for a refund of my remaining 29 bids and will write a review regarding that procedure since they claim its so easy to get your money back. DO NOT USE THIS SITE. If it seems too good to be true, IT IS!

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Abid Muammar says:

    July 2nd, 2011 at 4:06 pm

    Although the color scheme could use a little work, this is one of the best sites for penny auctions I’ve found. I personally know a few of the high rollers on the site and they are legit people for sure.

    REPLY

    chris says:
    November 3rd, 2011 at 4:30 pm

    Don’t listen to this comment, I know arrowoutlet is doing damage control. DO NOT VISIT THIS SITE, READ ALL OTHER USERS WHO LOST BIG!!!

  • Rating
      
    Jim says:

    June 23rd, 2011 at 12:05 am

    This is a MAJOR SCAM. I ran some quick stats for a few days on certain user names that always seem to be bidding. Five users racked up thousands of dollars worth of bids. These are obviously bots that are put in place to make sure that people don’t win. There is no way one user would use over $100 worth of bids on ten different auctions at one time. Not worth the discount in the end.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Jon Hammonds says:

    June 18th, 2011 at 11:11 am

    I’ve used a lot of penny auction sites. ArrowOutlet is one of the better ones if not the best. I would rate them this way:
    Product selection – 3/5
    Ease of winning – 4/5
    Customer service – 5/5
    BBB rating – A-

    Their customer service really is top notch and helped me figure out some issues with my shipment.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    barb says:

    June 16th, 2011 at 10:34 am

    there are some pro bidders on this site but otherwise i havent seen anything bad about the site. won about five different items from them and three level up prizes, they were all shipped within 24 hours and delivered by the end of the week…

    REPLY
  • Chanman01 says:

    June 14th, 2011 at 8:39 pm

    Thanks for the reviews I almost fell for it

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Sam says:

    June 10th, 2011 at 9:42 am

    So bad i don’t even want to talk about it

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Monica says:

    June 10th, 2011 at 7:57 am

    I spent 47.00 for nothing funny first bid pack i bid on i won in seconds (lol) which i now think was fixed anyway after 150 bids i won nothing. I tried all the small ones couldn’t even win a lousy candle. (lol) There’s at least 5 people bidding that are on day and nite 7 days a week running up the bids. (which i now think are bots) Trying to buy even a bid pack is near impossible w/ these people bidding on every bid pack that comes up. If there’s 10 bid packs up for auction they’re on everyone. I have done many penny auctions and have won many things but not on this site. My response from them was a sorry research how to bid (lol) I will be deleting my account as soon as i waste the last 9 bids i have left. Stay away from this site u will win nothing !

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Jimmy says:

    May 25th, 2011 at 9:56 pm

    This site is a scam. They use fake bidders, it’s in plain sight. The idea of “winning” an item so cheap blinds you from seeing the reality of what is going on. Before you even think about bidding, keep an eye on some of the names that pop up in the bidding wars, like NewMember12345fghsjd111 ect. You bid on items and just when you are about to win, obviously fake names (like the ones I mentioned) show up and extend the bid and it just goes on and on and on. I fell for the scam, please learn from my mistake. The only thing you can win is more bids.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    sana says:

    May 16th, 2011 at 2:38 am

    COMPLETE RIP OFF, THIS WEBSITE IS A SCAM! RUN RUN RUN, DON’T EVEN TRY IT! THEY RIPPED ME OFF BIG TIME AND ALL I GET IS EMAILS FROM THEM. THEY ARE LIARS AND SCAMMERS DON’T WASTE YOUR TIME OR MONEY. IF YOU LIKE PEOPLE STEALING YOUR MONEY THEN GO TO ARROW OUTLET

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Andy says:

    May 5th, 2011 at 11:41 pm

    There was no warning of any charge. I was not asked to agree to any terms and conditions. I foolishly gave them my credit card thinking that this would be charged when I won a bid, so it is partly my fault that I didn’t research more before giving them this info. But they charged me $99.95 for 200 bids without any advanced warning that I was doing this. How can they get away with practices like that! Disgraceful!

    I immediately tried to get my money back, but their process takes you in a circle that goes nowhere. I have filled in a customer service form and will cancel the charge with my bank as soon as it goes out of pending status.

    I tried calling the number that appears next to the charge on my online banking, and received the message that the number doesn’t accept messages and everything must be done via the website. Undoubtedly the worst site I’ve ever stumbled upon and I will be very much more cautious in future. Scam or not, AVOID THIS SITE!

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Dale Woods says:

    April 23rd, 2011 at 4:22 pm

    RIP OFF. RIP OFF. RIP OFF. I am so angry I got manipulated into trying this website. I lost twenty bucks. This is a scam and I assume they are making quite a bit of money off of people like me.
    ARROW OUTLET STEALS YOUR MONEY AND THERE IS NO MONEY BACK GUARANTEE!

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    mario pate says:

    March 11th, 2011 at 12:22 pm

    I am trying to get logged on since 8 A.M. this morning. I have been sending e-mail to the support group, plus calling them I haven’t heard anything yet. what’s next?

    REPLY

Add Your Review



Your Comment:

Choose a Rating

Please Write Your ReviewRead Review Guidelines