BeenVerified.com Reviews – Legit or Scam?

 


BeenVerified.com
from 63 reviews Review It
BeenVerified.com

 

BeenVerified.com is online database that allows anyone to perform background checks. Using just a name and a state of residence, Been Verified can provide a variety of resources on a new neighbor, a prospective date, or anyone you wish.

Been Verified is not a credit agency or a private investigator service. The records you access at Been Verified are simply a collection of publicly available records on the person in question.

You may receive one background check at a cost of $19.95, or you may become a member of the site. Members may request unlimited background checks throughout the duration of their membership.

A membership begins with a free 7 day trial, and will result in no charges if you cancel before the trial period ends. Memberships have a monthly subscription fee based on length of subscription: $8/month for 12 months, $13/month for 6 months, or $16/month for 3 months.

Do you have experience with BeenVerified.com? If so, please leave a review below.

If you're at Reviewopedia.com because you're looking for a way to make money online then check out our article "7 Ways to Make Money Online" - methods that anyone can use to earn an income from home.

 

 

Would you like to add your review for
Been Verified ?
If so, click here
 
Share This Page!

 

Customer Responses, Reviews, or Complaints


Average Rating for " Been Verified " is 1.55 out of 5 based on 62 reviews.

  • Rating
      
    mailgurl says:

    September 20th, 2014 at 6:02 pm

    HUGE ripoff!!!! Do not give them your money. You can find more info for free & some of the services they allude to are included in your “membership” are given at an up charge.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Randy Wolfe says:

    June 6th, 2014 at 3:04 pm

    Not sure why I didn’t look at reviews before I decided to use them. They make all these claims of information they have and it’s complete lies. They show you a compiled list of “nothing found”. For fun I decided to see what it said about myself and SERIOUSLY they don’t even have that correct. What a joke don’t bother wasting your money or time. I think this will most likely apply to all the background check services offered on the internet. When I called them they could only defend themselves by stating the use all the public information out there that is already available to you for pretty much free anyway….. oh well it was worth a try I guess but I would tell anyone else don’t bother wasting your time and money!

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    MAD says:

    June 3rd, 2014 at 3:01 pm

    SCAM SITE!
    Paid money, ordered 3 court runners and after a whole month of waiting no reports have been made! All they say “it is pending”. NEVER ORDER ANYTHING FROM THIS SCAM SITE. I AM TAKING THEM TO A SMALL CLAIMS COURT AND THIS FAKE ORGANIZATION MUST BE SHUT DOWN. None of their reports are real. STOP THIS SCAM BAGS FROM OPERATING PEOPLE!

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Sandra Wilson says:

    May 31st, 2014 at 10:05 am

    This is a scam.
    1st. The info that it gives you on a background check is very generic and could be any where from a possibility of 10 persons or 100 persons.

    2nd. The most important, it is impossible to cancel your membership. I tried to cancel but unless you have the initial 9 digit membership number, you can’t. You can’t get a real person on the phone, just voice prompts.

    3rd. The amounts they tell you you will be charged is also incorrect. I’m being charged $19.95 from my checking acct. every month, and they are charing me $22.95 every month on my credit card. And I only signed up for a one time only verification.

    This has been going on now for over 6 months, they are making a killing off of people. It should be illegal, but you can’t get in touch with anyone. So, I reported them as Credit Card fraud to my credit card company, so I’ll see if that worked on my statement next month. But still working on getting the auto-payment stopped from my checking acct.

    THIS IS A TOTAL RIP OFF, THEY ARE GETTING ALMOST $50.00 A MONTH FROM ME AND I ONLY REQUESTED A ONE TIME BACKGROUND CHECK. THIS HAS BEEN GOING ON FOR 7 MONTHS ALREADY.

    DON’T DO IT……….

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Den says:

    May 20th, 2014 at 9:06 am

    I have used been verified to research basic information and potential leads to find persons. I am not trying to witch hunt certain people for criminal records, etc. I do know that some incorrect people get linked in error and even searching myself has errors but those errors were caused elsewhere and are then collected by been verified. I have been satisfied that it works for my needs.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Judy says:

    May 10th, 2014 at 12:45 pm

    Nothing in their review is complete. Total waste of time and money. They want to add fees for each individual area you want to see. The one I saw was only partially correct. Save your time and money.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Gabriel Sawnson says:

    March 21st, 2014 at 9:05 pm

    I did the 19.62 monthly subscription, its kinda 50 50 for me some info wasnt their but then other times it did surprise me with how much there was. So I opted my name out and when I called to cancel they gave me a better price for the year so I stayed. Its pretty good for what its worth wouldnt pay full price but still satisfied.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    cathy says:

    March 13th, 2014 at 2:02 pm

    What a ripoff! The information I received in March 2014 was only as recent as 2009. I know for a fact that there was more recent criminal activity. What happened to the last five years of information? My advice, do not use PeopleVerified!

    REPLY

    Bill. says:
    June 3rd, 2014 at 10:40 am

    Seems all the internet background checks are the same but i’m keeping away from this one.

    Johnny Depp says:
    March 21st, 2014 at 8:55 pm

    PeopleVerified?

  • Rating
      
    Lisa says:

    February 2nd, 2014 at 12:49 pm

    I signed up to find out the criminal history of a guy my daughter was dating. I just had a bad feeling about him. Well Beenverified showed no criminal history. However I continued to search on my own. WOW he was and is a real criminal. He is actually in jail awaiting trial and Beenverified is still showing no criminal history. I even searched a person I know served time and once again it said no criminal history. Needless to say I cancelled!!!

    REPLY

    Bob says:
    March 26th, 2014 at 9:25 pm

    I got in to minor trouble and I had no criminal record. I searched for people who had felonies and serves time behind bars,still no criminal record. It’s a joke.

  • Rating
      
    ruth says:

    December 12th, 2013 at 9:14 pm

    Beware! This is a total money scam!!! I signed up only for a free 7 day trial. Was not satisfied with their services as they did not find any results for what I was looking for. I then cancelled the free trial with the understanding they would charge .99 to my account. First bank statement they charged.99 and 7 days later there were two additional charges the same day…one for 19.95 and another for 19.99. I did not catch this the first statement(my fault). The second month 2 more charges appeared the same day for 19.95 and 19.99. When I called them they said I had not cancelled the order and I had not recieved a confirmation from them verifying I had. When asked about the two 19.00 fees was told one was membership an one for identity theft protection I did not sign up for. Why was I charged the .99 cancellation fee if I did not cancel and then still charged membership fees. These people are totally bogus and I hope they will be out of business very soon. maybe this will save someone else from having their bank account drained by these crooks!

    REPLY

    Bob says:
    January 4th, 2014 at 1:53 am

    Thanks for information!
    I think they are scam.

    Monica says:
    December 23rd, 2013 at 10:29 pm

    Thanks for the feedback! I won’t use them either.

    Jim says:
    December 23rd, 2013 at 12:09 pm

    Thank you. I won’t use them.

  • Rating
      
    Suzanne says:

    November 24th, 2013 at 1:45 am

    I see here that lots of people don’t like this company. I’m not sure what I think, I think its a good way to do reverse cell phone look ups, but when I looked up my own numbers it said they belonged to 2 people, not myself.

    Then I wanted to see whats in my background report, considering I do have a felony dui, but it says I have no criminal history!!! yay! I just hope that’s what all these other companies say too! needless to say though, I canceled my free trial since the info it did produce for me seemed very inaccurate.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Dawn Marschall says:

    September 18th, 2013 at 1:04 pm

    I went and did an online background search on myself with Been verified.
    The result was devastating. There was false, inaccurate information
    which showed me to be in a very unfavorable position.
    The Federal Trade Commission has placed a law on the books that there
    needs to be an opt/out of the websites search engines. However, you
    must first go online, pay a fee, and then get the opt/out.
    The question I have as do many from other customers state that their
    reputations are harmed to the point where they look unemployable.
    The opt/out process is way to late. The information about you could have been out there long before you realized it was there. How many
    people have reviewed your personal information before the OPT/OUT
    process is a nexus. Also Been Verified gave me back a refund, but
    Instantcheckmate will not. The same inaccurate, misleading info was found there as well. I OPT/OUT and wanted a refund, but they refused.
    So, I am filing a legal suit against all background search engines
    who sell personal information that is inaccurate, and harmful to a
    persons reputation. A Class Action is warranted here and the Federal
    Trade Commission needs to get tough about refunds for consumers who have been scammed.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Lauren says:

    September 6th, 2013 at 11:28 am

    This is a complete waste of anyones time!!! They claimed they had found records but after I payed for a months membership all the sudden no records were found!! Imagine that!! They were quick to refund my money but this is a scam!!!!

    REPLY

    Dawn Marschall says:
    September 18th, 2013 at 1:15 pm

    I really agree with you, if you read my comments about what you went
    through then you might be interested in joining a Class Action against
    the search engines who buy your personal information for pennies on a
    dollar and then sell it back to you through the various online background search engines. Yes, you can OPT/Out, but usually it is way
    to late because people have already bought the info about you and the
    harm is already done. Try and get unemployment with some of the false
    inaccurate info about you. A prospective employer will not give you the
    time of day. The background search engines will not always give you
    your money back. What they sold you was unverified personal data.
    Write to the Federal Trade Commission and place your story in writing.
    If hundreds of harmed customers do this more can happen to these
    scammers.

  • Rating
      
    Don Waddell says:

    August 6th, 2013 at 5:07 pm

    This site should be renamed as “Been Had” and relate to their victim customers. It had very little information and when I called I was told that the criminal or court information I wanted was not available unless I paid an additional fee. The additional fee was for someone to go to the court in question and get the information. The trouble with that is that I had to know which court might have been involved in all 50 states for that to be of any value.
    The information I was given in the report was at least 50% wrong.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Jean says:

    July 24th, 2013 at 4:27 pm

    Unbelieveable – DON’T DO IT!!! Didn’t help me find the person I was looking for and then tried to charge me again for another 3 month period saying I had signed up for their membership. I have had this happen to me before where I thought I was signing up for a 3 month period only to find out the membership rolls over into another 3 months without any warning. Called to cancel and have my money returned to me and they said I had signed up for the roll-over service which I clearly did not! I was very careful NOT TO because of what has happened to me on other sites. Anyway, they state they will refund my money and that I will receive an email stating so. We’ll see because if I do not have it returned to me within two weeks they will be hearing a lot of noise from me. Waste of time!!! Rip OFF site and decietful!!! If I do not get my money back I will go to BBB and Seven on your side!! They have to stop ripping people off….it is dispicable!

    REPLY
  • andy says:

    June 23rd, 2013 at 7:05 am

    Absolutely wouldn’t use this service…PERIOD!! I ran a large number of searches over a 3 month period…most of them had inaccurate information either in terms of old address, phone numbers and associates….the biggest issue was the criminal side. I ran searches on people I knew had criminal issues….some of them serious…..and most of the people came back clean. One in particular had a couple of issues listed at beenverified but actually had 10 other arrests for DUI, assualt, battery and the like that never showed up. No problem, I found it all out myself a week later when the person went drunk & wild. I actually sent them the information and they cancelled my service immediately! DON’T deal with these guys except for very basic address info which you can find elsewhere.

    Or if you are using them also use mugshots.com or something like that!

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    UNHAPPY W/ THIS COMPANY says:

    June 19th, 2013 at 6:30 pm

    Not satisfied at all. I tried the $1.95 deal for 7 days + found no new or usable info. I will cancel my membership immediately

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Maria C says:

    June 15th, 2013 at 12:53 pm

    This is a total rip off. They give you initial information and lead you to believe they have lots more if you pay $20. Well, being the sucker I am, I paid the $20.00 and all I got was an address and phone number which I had already. Everything else was additional information. I have requested my money back and will see just how honorable they are!

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    bjc says:

    June 10th, 2013 at 5:32 pm

    Don’t do it is my warning. I signed up for what I thought was the 7 Day Free Trial….to find classmates contact information for an upcoming reunion…..almost all of the phone #’s they had were disconnected, no wonder, since people have gone to cell phones. I immediately canceled in what I thought was the 7 day trail period, unbeknownst to me I apparently checked a box agreeing to terms and conditions and something that involved background searches or something to that effect at the $29.95 rate….needless to say, fool me, shame on me…..Again, this is not an honorable company….don’t do business with them. YOU’VE BEEN WARNED!

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    rob says:

    May 23rd, 2013 at 3:52 pm

    I tried beenverified and was not pleased with the repeated charges. Asked to be reimbursed and was promised to be but have not been yet. Oddly, within 2 days of signing up my credit card was used in four different locations around the globe. Be careful, I suspect they are selling more than just your information!

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    KI Baby says:

    May 20th, 2013 at 1:02 pm

    What a rip off!!! You can find more on the Internet surfing than “Been Verified” provides. Should be named, “Been Screwed.”

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    georgia blue says:

    May 12th, 2013 at 11:12 am

    tried your 7 day free trial cancled it got bill on credit card for 96.00 dollars want took care of do not appericate at all Georgia blue

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Pissed says:

    April 9th, 2013 at 9:16 am

    I am not related to ANY of the people listed!

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Gene Anderson says:

    April 7th, 2013 at 8:28 am

    Run from this site fast. I opened it and looked around, next thing I knew they got ahold of my creditcard number somewhere and billed me $39.95. WOW! what dishonest people that they have to steal from people.
    Stay away from this site, they are bad news.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Anon says:

    March 28th, 2013 at 3:41 pm

    So I signed up for the 7 day trial. I was able to find most of the people I was looking for, but I didn’t get very much good information from it. I was interested in criminal records, just for fun really, and it only found criminal information on one person. I know some of the others had at least some minor issues recently, and the records didn’t come up.

    Overall it’s easy to use.

    I used it for about 30 minutes then cancelled. I called the 888 number, hit option 1 to cancel, then entered my 9 digit member number (which came in an e-mail when I registered). It canceled the service straight away, and an e-mail confirmation arrived about 1 minute latter.

    No harm as far as I can tell (I used an e-mail address that I don’t generally check, so if they spam me, it’s ok).

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Topsy Kretts says:

    March 24th, 2013 at 3:28 pm

    I have been arrested 3 times in my 30 years one of those arrests were for disorderly conduct, I have no felonies on my record but spent 31 months in a state prison for my first case from 2003/2004 “Theft”. I ended up with 4 counts one of them being “prowling and loitering at night time” (because I was walking down a street after curfew) I actually never even committed a crime the first time I was arrested but I was with a friend who did and the super cops thought they would be hero’s and make us out to be the ring leaders of a string of car thefts that were taken place in this one horse town that I was unfortunately born in. They gave us 33 counts( all which were dropped because lack of proof and my charges were dropped down to only 4.

    If I had been a little older and wiser I would not have given up my rights and signed any statements against myself. Anyway It was my first offense and I was on probation for two years consecutive and the first year I violated curfew and my lawyer said that I was going to get maxed out 9 months because my judge was not a friendly judge, me being young and very stupid / scared I decided to run away. And I did, went to New Orleans and stayed until Hurricane Katrina and then moved to NYC 7 days after the storm. I was on the run a total of 4 years and seen a lot, met famous people and traveled to places I always dreamed about, I ended up turning myself in and the judge was not happy with me so he gave me the max penalty with my record, 6-12 months on each count and I had 4 of them. He ran them all consecutive with each other.

    I spent 29 months in a maximum state correctional facility and 3 months in a halfway house and 16 months on state supervised parole, and I did it with no write ups. I finished my parole in May of last year and met a wonderful girl that I am madly in love with, she knows all about my background history and I told her we should sit down and talk to her family about it, after 10 months and pre-engagement ring you would think these blue collar intelligent folks would understand this was 10 years ago when I was very much an adolescent and I served my time plus some I think to society. Well the woman I loved did not want me to do this and I did not want to disrespect her wishes and not too long ago I pissed somebody off by a video I posted http://youtu.be/e4wVG725ZXU (the bartender) and she decided to IM the mother of the woman I deeply love and tell her some nasty lies about me and also she told her to just do a background check and she will see for herself.

    Now I don’t know if that was the real cause of the background check but this bartender knows me personally because I used to work with her there and she messaged me and told me she was going to ruin my life and good luck with my future relationship, not more then a week later the mother of my darling did the background check and let me tell you something, Oh my Oh my, this website been verified made me look like Manson himself, they were not correct about a lot of stuff and added a ton of unnecessary stuff like “dismissal’s”,preliminary hearings that were just waived, guilty plea…ect ect.. they call these “OFFENSE’S” and said that I have 31 offenses. That is not the truth that is a lie and I think now that I have printed out my own copy I will take it to a lawyer and see what they say about this “slander”, “defamation of character”.

    Since the mother of the woman I adore payed the $20 to get this information my girlfriend was so embarrassed by it and her family so upset, they want nothing to do with me and they want her to have nothing to do with me, she has moved out back in with her mom and took the ring off. We still love each other madly and see each other behind her family’s back which is tearing our relationship apart. I’m moving in three day’s to another state for work where the plan was for her to follow or at least we visit back and forth, but now I’m moving alone. This website has ruined my life plans because of how horrible it made me look, I was no saint growing up but I have payed my dues and changed my ways as a man and have never had 31 criminal offenses.

    REPLY

    andy says:
    June 23rd, 2013 at 6:56 am

    Go to your local police department and get your actual criminal background. I’ve used this site for a few months now and it’s fairly accurate in terms of finding people and their last physical addresses and list of phone numbers associated with the person. IT IS NOT AT ALL ACCURATE ON CRIMINAL BACKGROUNDS – I just did a background on someone and it showed 1 DUI…..it didn’t show the other 10 arrests for DUI and DUI related offenses that would have told me this person had a serious drinking problem….which showed up live and unfriendly a week after the report I relied on was run.

    Have your girl look at the actual report and not this one! I terminated my service.

  • Rating
      
    paul says:

    March 14th, 2013 at 8:34 am

    0 Stars. It’s a scam.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    yadira says:

    March 13th, 2013 at 3:37 pm

    This is not accurate at all. So don’t waste neither your time, not your money. When you call to say that it is not accurate they will tell you, in the Terms of use said so.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Jim says:

    March 6th, 2013 at 9:20 am

    I always leave reviews good or bad when I find a service I am excited to use, and man was BeenVerified a disappointment. I searched my own name having had three addresses in this state, paying utilities at each and living at each for more than 5 years a piece. In addition, I have some misdemeanors on my record in two different counties in the state.

    The BeenVerified report only showed one address, no criminal charges and frankly no data whatsoever besides my last address and name. I don’t know how they are in business, they are worthless. My only hope is that future employers will use this service because it is so bad.

    REPLY

    Topsy Kretts says:
    March 24th, 2013 at 3:30 pm

    at least it didn’t say you were a hardened criminal like it did me.

  • Rating
      
    Joe says:

    February 1st, 2013 at 2:44 pm

    Paid $20 for a background check on my horrible step father who is a pathological liar. I know that hew imprisoned in Ohio, North Carolina, and West Virginia for a fact before I even started researching on my own. After a little digging on the internet, a few phone calls/emails/faxes I had complete records of his time in these states. I decided that I would buy a background check to make my life easier and when looking at the criminal history it only returned a fraction of his time in Ohio (may I mention that North Carolina’s Department of Public Safety’s information is the first result when googling his first and last name only!)

    I just don’t see this being effective or useful in any way if you can Google a first and last name, use the “I’m feeling lucky” button and come out with more information.

    I definitely do not recommend beenverified.com to anyone!

    REPLY

    Rod Warrix says:
    April 24th, 2013 at 5:18 am

    I agree with you when you said “I just don’t see this being effective or useful in any way if you can Google a first and last name, use the “I’m feeling lucky” button and come out with more information.” Thats about it!!! My 7 day free trial is over 30 mins after I tried it! Their may be some spotty information their that was not exactly pulled up right away with search engine but some one that barely even tried to do this would come out with probably more! I have a criminal history and it brings back nothing!!! Kind of recent too. Wow the trial is ok but paying for the membership is out of the question!

    Jake Jilg says:
    February 2nd, 2013 at 9:07 am

    I wouldn’t be surprised if your step father was on the BeenVerified support team staff.

  • Rating
      
    Adam says:

    February 1st, 2013 at 5:20 am

    I signed up for a free trial on 7/24/2011 and cancelled shortly after, I called to cancel and also sent multiple emails for my own protection. As of today I have been charged $48.00 on 7 occasions totaling $336.00 in fraudulent charges. I have not logged in or used their service since the date I signed up and cancelled yet they continue to charge me! Apparently this company feels they can just take people money and disregard the law. I will be seeking legal action against them if my money is not returned and advise any one considering the free trial to stay away.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Jake Jilg says:

    January 27th, 2013 at 2:36 pm

    I got suckered into the 7-day trial scam. It says background checks are free for 7 days, but you have to create an alert to actually get any information which takes a minimum of a month to collect. They have my credit card number, there is no option to revoke my number. I have to call during their business hours to cancel, probably do a long satisfaction survey or put up with more sales pushes. I could not even find my therapist or my doctor by entering name, state, and city. I managed to find myself, but the only information was the fake information I have on my public Facebook page (name, siblings, dob).

    REPLY

    Jake Jilg says:
    January 27th, 2013 at 3:20 pm

    The support service is automated, press 1 + account number + # to cancel account, you will receive a confirmation email shortly, says the voice. I ran the thing, got an email asking me if I would like to have another 30 days free, but no confirmation link or anything. I ran the phone call again, and it said the same message as if it didn’t know I was already canceled. I don’t see my name at the top of page anymore. This is because I changed billing name and address to ‘void’, so it says “Welcome back Void”. I tried to enter void for the card number, but it would not accept nonvalid numbers, so I entered fake number using algorithm and changed the expiration date of my card to this month. The have no right to keep my real credit card number.

    Beenverified.com is a $96 mirror site to browse public-only Facebook profiles.

  • Rating
      
    Walter says:

    January 24th, 2013 at 7:47 pm

    Complete waste of time and money and not worth what I paid. BeenVerified spent loads of money on TV ads and nothing on content. It dredges up already old public information that is free for anyone. Why pay for it? I doubt BeenVerified will be around in a year.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    shyam says:

    January 16th, 2013 at 8:06 pm

    scam money maker it fools you, you can not even cancel, and not helpful at all facebook does better than that

    REPLY

    Carla says:
    January 23rd, 2013 at 12:49 pm

    Hi there,
    I’m the manager of BeenVerified’s customer support team. I’m sorry to hear you had any trouble with the service. Please feel free to contact us directly at 1-888-579-5910 or at support@beenverified.com for assistance. We’d be happy to work with you to answer any questions you may have and see if we can’t make things right.

    We offer a few different ways to sign up, as this article describes. We offer options to purchase reports upfront, as a pay-as-you-go customer. We also offer a 7-day trial to unlimited reports, allowing you to try out the service before paying for a subscription. If you cancel during the trial period, you are not billed for a subscription. You can cancel by calling us at 888-579-5910 or emailing us at support@beenverified.com.

    Again, I’m very sorry to hear this was your experience. It would be helpful for us to know exactly what happened when you tried to use the service and what trouble you ran into when trying to contact us. I encourage you to contact us directly so we can work with you to resolve this for you.

    Kind regards,
    Carla
    BeenVerified Customer Care
    1-888-579-5910
    support@beenverified.com

  • Rating
      
    unsatisfied says:

    January 13th, 2013 at 3:48 pm

    I used the site and checked most of the peoploe on my facebook. (boredom does funny things.) I was unable to find some people even when I knew the information I typed was correct. Many of the people who I knew had criminal reccords because they had told me about it but they were showed to be clean, infact, maybe 1 or 2 people even showed up to have a criminal history out of the hundreds of searches I did. a few of the searches did turn up intresting things but the vast magority did not.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Fooled by product says:

    January 12th, 2013 at 9:49 pm

    Do not waste your money with this. It pretty much gives you the same information as listed in a white pages search…old address, old phone number, and many inaccurate numbers. Dreadful indeed, I feel sick to my stomach for being fooled by this service and having to pay anything. Don’t.

    REPLY

    Carla says:
    January 23rd, 2013 at 12:58 pm

    Hi there,

    I’m the manager of BeenVerified’s customer support team. I’m very sorry to hear the service was not helpful for you.

    As the article above describes, we provide a searchable database of aggregated public records. Public records are collected through official government records such as mortgage deeds and court records, and through sources such as magazine subscriptions, warranty cards and utility bills.

    As it sounds like you experienced, sometimes the information they collect is not always 100% correct. However, we can only work with the information provided to us within public data. The amount of current and accurate information you are able to locate for an individual can depend on the amount of information collected on that individual by various government and private agencies, and the laws regarding public information in the state where the individual resides. We are constantly updating and expanding our database to provide the most current and up-to-date information we possibly can.

    If you feel like you didn’t get what you paid for, then we’d be happy to work with you to make this right. I encourage you to contact us directly at 1-888-579-5910 or at support@beenverified.com so we can provide additional assistance. We look forward to hearing from you.

    Best,
    Carla
    BeenVerified Customer Care
    1-888-579-5910
    support@beenverified.com

  • Rating
      
    needed help for restraining order says:

    January 3rd, 2013 at 11:07 pm

    Not very helpful.
    There was no info. on at least 3 – 4 phone numbers I tried.
    Personal info. was also out of date and inadequate.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Dale Burns says:

    December 27th, 2012 at 12:08 pm

    Scam. After signing up you are asked to pay more for more information. Typical Bait and Switch.

    REPLY

    Carla says:
    January 23rd, 2013 at 1:31 pm

    Hi Dale,

    I’m the manager of BeenVerified’s customer support team. I’m sorry to hear this was your experience.

    We provide a few different ways to sign up and access our service. You can sign up as a pay-as-you-go customer and just purchase one report with no commitment, or sign up for a subscription. We also offer different kinds of reports, depending on what you need.

    Our 7-day trial and paid subscriptions give you access to run unlimited background reports. These include personal and contact information, property reports, email searches, relatives and associates, as well as criminal records, bankruptcies, judgments and liens, and more. We also offer an option to upgrade your report to search additional databases to return information in other categories such as: watercraft ownership, gaming licenses, UCC filings and more. As you can imagine, there are many individuals for whom there would be no results in these categories. It costs us to provide this service, so at this time we offer these at an additional purchase. We are always expanding and updating our service based on the feedback from our customers, so perhaps we will provide different ways to access and pay for this information in the future.

    It would be helpful for us to know exactly what information you felt was not included in your report and required an additional purchase. I encourage you to contact us directly at 1-888-579-5910 or at support@beenverified.com so we may provide additional assistance. If you found something unclear when signing up – then that is important feedback for us to hear as we continue to improve our services.

    If you have any additional questions, please feel free to contact us.

    Kind regards,
    Carla
    BeenVerified Customer Care
    1-888-579-5910
    support@beenverified.com

    James B. says:
    December 28th, 2012 at 4:51 pm

    The same thing happened to me. It offered me a one time search for $1 then charged me an additional $19.95. It showed that I had 24 searches left (out of 25) and I was never given the chance to put in a birthdate. The one person it found was not even close. I tried to get my money back and custumer service said it would be taken care of. No money has been returned to my account almost a week later. Total SCAM from my experience.

  • Rating
      
    Anonymous says:

    November 29th, 2012 at 10:31 am

    As a retired federal agent who occasionally conducts contract security inquiries, I have been pleased with the results of Been Verified.

    Remember, it will only tell you information that is of public record. It appears they have access to certain credit reporting information. Not all arrests are recorded because many times the arrested party never gets to the conviction stage. Therefore there will be no public record of a court conviction.

    There will always be people with identical names and sometimes with the same birth date. Therefore, you must be aware of duplicate hits. Use your best judgment.

    It does not have access to social security information – even federal investigators have a hard time getting this data from the Social Security Administration without a subpoena.

    Overall, I have had good success with Been Verified.

    REPLY

    eric says:
    January 13th, 2013 at 5:25 pm

    mark just because one knows how to use the site doesnt mean they work for them

    Mark says:
    December 28th, 2012 at 3:04 pm

    How long have you been working for this company ?

    Mark says:
    December 28th, 2012 at 3:02 pm

    How long have you been working for beenverified.com ?

  • Rating
      
    Larry says:

    November 15th, 2012 at 9:34 am

    Tries the iPhone App, and looked for a friend from High School who I have been trying to locate for the better part of 20 years.

    Entered the name, scanned the list to the approximate age, and recognized his brother & sister. Took 45 seconds, and he is now found.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    JN says:

    July 18th, 2012 at 8:06 am

    Every time I try to call the customer service number I get a message that an error occurred and can’t cancel my membership sucks

    REPLY

    Carla says:
    January 23rd, 2013 at 2:11 pm

    Hi JN,

    I’m the manager of BeenVerified’s customer support team. I hope that you were able to reach us directly shortly after this comment and that we were able to resolve this for you.

    I’m not familiar with the error message you received, but you can always select to speak with a representative. Customer service is available at 1-888-579-5910 8am to 9pm Mondays – Fridays and 12pm – 8pm Saturdays and Sundays. You can also always email us at support@beenverified.com.

    If you have any additional questions, please feel free to contact us.

    Best,
    Carla
    BeenVerified Customer Care
    1-888-579-5910
    support@beenverified.com

    ANONYMOUS says:
    December 14th, 2012 at 11:12 am

    Call ur credit card company and tell them its an unauthorized charge.

    Call the consumer fraud division of your state attorney general and advise that they keep charging your card with no way to contact them. I have had the same experience.

  • Rating
      
    mark smith says:

    July 14th, 2012 at 10:11 am

    Waste of money

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Nick says:

    May 28th, 2012 at 11:01 am

    I’ve witnessed the person I’ve checked on been verified get arrested so many times. Been verified could not show anything, this is a gimmick, and ripped off, a fraud, I want my money back.

    REPLY

    eric says:
    January 13th, 2013 at 5:19 pm

    yea same thing happened to me but i just called back and asked for a refund and they gave it to me but i wouldnt sign up again

    vero says:
    December 5th, 2012 at 1:34 am

    theres a reason why theres a view coverage area button on the criminal tab. maybe if people would read before they spend money on something they would learn a thing or two

  • Rating
      
    Raw says:

    April 24th, 2012 at 12:54 pm

    I tried it to find info on a potential renter, and decided to try the free trial. First, you can do searches on social security info, which would be more accurate. Second, I ran numerous searches on family and friends to try it out and test the accuracy.

    The inaccurate amount of info is awful. Strange alias names, strange family members or associates, i tried to do a search on a social site that someone belongs to, by email, and it didn’t bring up any info that it should have. I couldn’t even change that email to a different one to check the other emails.

    The service is horrible. I complained 2 days ago, still no response. Save your money. I’ve done a lot of these searches online and i do a better job!

    REPLY

    obvious says:
    November 3rd, 2012 at 2:48 pm

    it public records not government issued info its more for fun and if you read the dos and donts it tells you that you cant use it for tenant screening

  • Rating
      
    Sarah says:

    April 18th, 2012 at 1:40 am

    This site sucks. I tried using my own name just to check and see if it’s legit. I put my age, my middle name, city, state, first and last name.It couldn’t even find me! I tried looking up a couple other people I know (all there info) and NOTHING! This site is crap!

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    smarter thanatvad says:

    April 12th, 2012 at 2:18 am

    Of course it’s a scam people. Holly hell. How can a company run a background check on anyone without a social security number? its impossible…not to mention that this information they claim to offer is supposed to be handy by mobile phone apps. You have got to be kidding. If you fell for this, you obviously were not thinking it through fully. At least mylife.com seemed a little believable.

    PS mylife.com is a scam as well.

    Lesson of the day: The internet is not safe..

    ….oh yeah it never was duh.

    REPLY

    Righteous says:
    January 6th, 2013 at 8:25 am

    Yes the Internet is the devil and the devil is a liar …. Duh!

    obvious says:
    November 3rd, 2012 at 2:51 pm

    its public info why would they have a spot for ssn thats more government if anything do you people know how to read

    DamnSkippy says:
    June 12th, 2012 at 12:06 pm

    Told just as it should be. People are so gullible any more. It’s all about the money people and by any means necessary to get it!

    By the way the internet is the “DEVIL”…lol

  • Rating
      
    Marty says:

    April 1st, 2012 at 2:09 pm

    This website is an obvious rip off, there customer service appear to be the same staff from X Plane.The same scam.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Nick says:

    March 29th, 2012 at 9:44 am

    I’m sorry but all of you people who say it’s great are blind. They give FALSE INFORMATION. I searched myself, and it said I was a 56 year old man with several DUI’s and that I was a child molester.. I don’t know about you, but I’m ayoung christian man who’s never touched alcohol. And having such intimate acts with an adolescent is just sick and wrong in my opinion. Then I called to cancel and they said to check their site. One of their policies state that you can’t get a refund if you used the product during the free trial period. Now if you ask anyone in the world, they’ll all say the same thing. That policy right there clearly shows it’s a scam. Do not sign up with beenverified. They are an EVIL corporation just out there to get your money. They are still billing me to this day, and I started the free trial a year ago. Thank you for taking your time to read this.

    REPLY

    I cant believe that i live in this world of idiots says:
    November 3rd, 2012 at 2:56 pm

    Their criminal records are by name i hope your not so dumb that you believe your the only person with your name so of course there going to show everyone with that name that has a record you dont see your name and date of birth its because its NOT you.

  • Rating
      
    bell says:

    March 26th, 2012 at 12:14 pm

    What A SCAM!!! I signed up for the 1 week trial…..and 6 MONTHS LATER after cancelling several times, Im still being charged!!!! $58 on my credit card each time!!!! Beenverified.com is a total scam!!! They won’t respond to written communication and won’t answer their phones. Good Luck if you sign on with this nightmare.

    REPLY

    veronica says:
    December 5th, 2012 at 1:38 am

    58 dollars isnt even a been verified charge…get your prices and ur facts staight before righting a review sweetheart. im almost CERTAIN u never called to cancel the trial cuz 99 percent of people dont

  • Rating
      
    Dennis G says:

    March 25th, 2012 at 3:05 pm

    Folks, any site like this can be useful, if you are only using it as a starting point. It is up to everyone that uses these types of services to do a little fact checking. If I am writing a book report and using a known information website, I will verify the information with that of other resources to find out the accuracy of the information. One should never use the information given as a final statement of fact. As one user said, these are data dump sites. That is not necessarily a bad thing. It is very easy to pay a couple of bucks and find out some information and then go from there.

    Some reviewers want you to hire a private investigator. That is all well and good (I am a private investigator) if you have the money to spend and the time on your side that it takes to gather all this info, but don’t think for a moment that your investigator wont use the exact same site for some quick information. I have spoken with people that have hired other investigators and the client raves about how quickly they received information from their PI, usually within an hour of hire. How did the PI do that? With many people living in an average of 2 to 3 counties in their life times, how did the PI take payment and drive to the courthouses of two or three different counties, look up the information, review and analyze it, drive back to the office, type up the report and contact the client in under an hour? I will tell you, he didn’t. He used an data site like this. I have done it myself. However, I also verify the information with a trip to the courthouse to find out all the details of a case. My background checks may take a week or more because I am making phone calls, faxing releases, travelling to the courthouse, interviewing neighbors and friends, etc.

    So, before putting down these sites and calling them scams, understand what they are and how their usefulness fits into what you want to achieve and how much time and money you want to spend.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Annie says:

    March 23rd, 2012 at 3:52 am

    I signed my company up for the free 1-week trial. We wanted to check it out for future employees, new customers, etc.

    I put in the name of someone I know who has 1) criminal, 2) bankruptcies (2 of them!) and 3) liens against him. I was thrilled that all the ones I knew about came up.

    We’ve checked out quite a few people we know and it seems pretty good overall. We’re keeping the service for 12 months because we think it will be helpful.

    REPLY

    veronica says:
    December 5th, 2012 at 1:39 am

    make sure they dont know that ur using it for employee backround, they will cancel it

    trust me its not says:
    November 3rd, 2012 at 3:00 pm

    its not an employee because its says its illegal to use that site for employment purposes

    Really? says:
    July 4th, 2012 at 8:26 am

    Pure BS probably written by an employee

  • Rating
      
    Aaron R says:

    March 18th, 2012 at 11:58 pm

    I signed up for the “FREE TRAIL” (ya OK) BEFORE THREE DAYS before my trial was going to end, I called to cancel, the number they had on the website went to an answering machine,( I called at 2pm on a Tuesday) I left my information it said it would get back to me the next day, nope waited another day then called back at 11am same thing, I called later that day got someone on the phone, they told me I had to wait for the last day of the trial, I told them NO I want to cancel anytime, I told them it said call anytime to cancel as I was LOOKING AT IT ON THE SITE WHILE I WAS TALKING, “Greg” told me NO it doesn’t I stated I was looking at it, he HUNG UP ON ME. I called back talked to “Samantha” she told me the same thing I has to wait until tomorrow, I asked to speak with a Boss, she told me NONE were their, not busy, but not in the BUILDING…I told her I did not beleive it and she said ” guess you cannot prove it, now can you” I wanted to jump through the phone! Then she hung up on me also ( I was not rude at all, how I managed to be is beyond me) so I decided to call the nest day, so I did and guess what, It was to late because they BILL ON THE 7th day, I told them NO, it does not state that in TOS (terms of service) and she (I think I spoke to a Carmen) told me “Sir, I doubt you read the entire Terms, no one does” I told her I wanted the charges reversed, she said it was impossible. I told her Fine I will call and dispute it from Credit Card Company. Sh e Giggled and said Sir, You called yesterday and signed up for the 3 Hundred some odd Dollars for like three years. Long Sorry short, believe me it was short the story I told you, MY CC company got my money back, Been verified then sent me three bills before I ended up called the BBB and took the advice I was given, the billed stopped, but its still on my credit report. DO NOT SIGN UP WITH THIS COMPANY, IF YOU WANT TO WASTE YOU MONEY THEN I HAVE A FEW THINGS I WOULD LIKE AND YOU CAN SPEND IT ON ME, OR JUST TOSS IT OUT YOUR WINDOW!!!

    REPLY

    j dog from los angeles says:
    April 4th, 2012 at 2:12 pm

    aaron r,
    I don’t work for beenverified. I tried their service in 2010 and cancelled in four days with no problems.
    On Sunday, March 31 2012, I agreed to try the 7 day free trial again. With a different credit card and I used a fake name on their enrollment website. I was ready again. Their site does not ask for your real name on your card. They do not ask for your social security. Their system is primarily focused on your card number not your real name. This is the loop hole in your favor should you ever want to dispute with the three (3) major credit bureaus.
    On April 4, 2012, I cancelled with Gladis at BeenVerified at 9:07AM. The procedure is simple. Call their 800 number. Have your ID number ready and type it in when asked. They will forward you to a live operator. Tell him/her you want to cancel. The person will cancel. Simple. You will get a email to your email address that you have on file with BeenVerified that your account was cancelled. That is your proof. Now if you used your real name or not it does not matter. Your account was cancelled on time. Furthermore, BeenVerified has to remove adverse marks from your account or be charge 1500 from the credit bureaus. Look it up.
    Why do I care? Because I have free time to write and know business and how to fight adverse marks on credit reports. So your story does not sound valid. I agree that the some information on BeenVerified are outmoded, but the trick is to have a list of everyone you need information on. Even if it is 1000 people. You have six (6) days, just to be safe, to research everyone.
    My profession consist of doing background searches on people that I may do business with, and people from the pass on a personal level.
    So in conclusion, the site is not bad. I personally will never pay for it because some of their data have not changed since I first used it in 2010.
    I hoped this helped you.

  • Missy says:

    March 18th, 2012 at 8:51 am

    Thanks for all the tips especially the one from the NYPD. I won’t be being buying Been Verified now!

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    ivy says:

    March 17th, 2012 at 11:21 pm

    not helpful at all, they even don’t have marriage states.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Mark says:

    February 15th, 2012 at 7:27 pm

    Says everywhere that it’s all free, but if you want to search something you have to pay two payments of 19.95. Garbage

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    miri says:

    January 30th, 2012 at 9:31 am

    showed the guy to have 3 criminal records with ages that are older than he is today. made no sense and didnt show any details about criminal record unless i pd an additional 19.95

    REPLY

    Aaron R says:
    March 19th, 2012 at 12:10 am

    Do nor use this service, see my review above, BUT, I have to use these sites all the time, better ones than this one, It could be right, this is why, A It could be a Diff. person with the same DOB, that person could have used fake DOB and other info, as many felons have and do. The ages are estimates when using trial version!! Or could have hit people with the same name but diff. DOB. Not sure why you are looking…but be careful, if you are doing this on a boyfriend, you need to ask yourself, why would you go out with someone who you have to do a background check on….if its for safe dating then good for you. Type in Top Ten reviews of background check websites, and go with those!
    Hopes this helps

  • Rating
      
    saddie says:

    January 27th, 2012 at 4:00 pm

    It doesn’t really give very much info, if it is even available, which was the case on many of my reverse phone number look up. I cancelled, they gave me a hard time about cancelling and then they charged me anyway. Don’t use this site, it’s not worth the trouble!

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Another Real Detective says:

    January 21st, 2012 at 11:09 am

    Sites like BeenVerified are “data dumps” that simply act as pipelines to readily available public information. They provide nothing special that a person with a little knowledge about how and some time can’t do better, and for free, on their own.

    Further, since this data dumping provides little filtering ability the data you get could, and usually is, chock full of misinformation that not only would be of no use to the user, it could actually defeat the purpose of using such a site in the first place (being, one would presume, getting an accurate picture of someone you are going to have dealings with).

    So save your money and simply learn how to access public information from your local agencies providing same. if you have to have an indepth criminal background check learn how to file a “Freedom of Information Act” request and give it time to go through channels.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    stacey jones says:

    January 15th, 2012 at 8:04 pm

    I need to know what my background is good or bad

    REPLY

    Jones says:
    January 25th, 2012 at 7:50 pm

    You should probably already know that, just stop lying to yourself haha

  • Rating
      
    Real Detective Sal says:

    January 11th, 2012 at 1:33 pm

    Folks, Dont waste your $$ I’ve been a career investigator NYPD DETECTIVE for over 30 years. These websites are scams. If ya really need hard core crime recs check. hire a P.I or go to the Jurisdiction and file FOIA request. in NYC You can use WEBCRIMS a free search by NYS Unified Court System. A county crime recs check can start around $70.00 retail Just check your local crime courts ect. Do your home work first dont get ripped off. (My good deed for 2012) Do a little phone detective work first by asking WHERE this nfo can be obtained. Good luck folks. (remember some crime recs can be sealed & you ll never get the info.) same holds true for adoption recs.

    REPLY

    DamnSkippy says:
    June 12th, 2012 at 12:29 pm

    Seriously?

    Every damn company out there is wanting your hard earned money. From the gas company all the way down. You are FORCED to fork out the monies you break your very back for. Problem is is that most folks don’t use common sense. If it looks funny, smells funny or simply sends you doubtful vibes then use your inner sub-conscience and run in the other direction. Giving out personal information such as a credit card #’s should only be used through confirmed safe business sites.

    Hey it’s your money…do what you want with it. Seriously though if you just want to toss it out the window…you could simply give it to a better cause and help a homeless person for a change.

    Stop Scam..... says:
    January 29th, 2012 at 5:29 pm

    I agree……. It’s sad to say these types of websites are all about ripping the public.

  • Rating
      
    Ryan g says:

    December 22nd, 2011 at 2:05 pm

    Do not trust them! I searched my name and not one thing was correct! They had all my info wrong and made me look like a career criminal, all my charges were dropped for a littering charge and they state I was found guilty! News to me since I remember beating that charge, dates are all wrong and the same with the findings, don’t trust them or go by their completely wrong info

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    John says:

    December 17th, 2011 at 1:57 pm

    Had my girlfriend check just for fun. It said I was a child molester. Almost Lost my girlfriend until I explained a molester would have to register. We checked and sure enough not even in any data base. They suck don’t use, These people.

    REPLY

    Bill says:
    April 5th, 2012 at 9:05 am

    Then why did you give them a two star review? Just sayin’.

  • Rating
      
    Sam W. says:

    December 2nd, 2011 at 12:50 am

    I joined under the free trial period, ran about 20 background checks then cancelled on the 6th day with no hassle. Great service.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    George Roux says:

    September 26th, 2011 at 8:56 pm

    I signed up for the free trial offer. Sent them an email asking to cancel (well within the allotted time). Get a bill on my credit card for $120. Tried to dispute it, but lost. The kicker…now I’ve resolved myself to the fact that they have screwed me out of a hundred bucks plus, so I went to use it a couple of months later (remember..I bought a years membership)…and they want to charge me $19.95 per look-up!!!! They say I am not a member.

    REPLY

    John Doe says:
    January 16th, 2012 at 11:26 pm

    You sound like a rep for the website, this site is a complete rip. They tried to charge me after I had canceled the “free” trial 2 days before it ended saying I did not give enough notice. If they thought you would actually use their service after you tried it for free, then they wouldn’t get your credit card info so they can charge you when you forget to cancel their “free” trial. Almost every person I have spoken to about this site said information is inaccurate and or false, I agree.

    To add another note, if your going to write a review and expect people to take your comments seriously, at least try to use a little grammar…

    Jeff C says:
    October 19th, 2011 at 5:22 pm

    I used it for the free period, forgot to call on the 7th day of the free trial, but on the 8th day called and they still gave me my money back, no hassle, no problem. I’m actually thinking of joining up for real now that I need a service like that, as when I was nosing around in the free period all the information on family and friends was astoundingly accurate and more to the point, complete. Liens, tax records, criminal stuff. I just tried Spokeo and they don’t offer any of that, plus 80% of their basic info was incorrect or out of date


Add Your Review



Your Comment:

Choose a Rating

Please Write Your ReviewRead Review Guidelines