BidRivals.com Reviews – Legit or Scam?

 

Bid RivalsBidRivals.com is a new penny auction site that has been getting a lot of attention.  Penny auctions are a specific niche in the online auction community that have been getting progressively more popular recently.

These websites have risen in popularity because they promise in demand, expensive items at unbelievably low prices.  But often what isn’t advertised, is the specific way in which penny auctions work.  In a penny auction, you are only allowed to bid a single penny at one time.  The prices that these items “sell” for is so unbelievably low because the bids are done in increments of one cent.

However, for each bid you place, you pay 65 cents to BidRivals.com.  That means if an item is sold for $20.00 on BidRivals.com, Bid Rivals actually makes $1300 for the sale of that item.


So is Bid Rivals a Scam?

In my opinion, people would be better off to avoid all penny auctions, regardless of their reputation.

BidRivals.com and other penny auction sites require people to pay for the option to bid, but don’t allow them to bid in increments of their choosing.  This places Bid Rivals in direct control of the price that the consumer will ultimately be paying them, while they are acting as though they’re a non-interested third party.

On other auction sites, like eBay, the seller and buyer have the auction monitored by the website, which is a trusted third party.  On BidRivals.com, there is no trusted third party.  Bid Rivals is both the seller and the auctioneer.  It benefits them – and only them – to drive the price up in these tiny one cent increments.

Bid Rivals tries to get favor from their customers by offering a “Buy It Now” option, which allows you to take the amount of your failed bids and put them toward the retail price of the item you were bidding on. This way, you are not supposed to feel as though you “lost” your money… well, except for the shipping and handling and potentially processing fee that Bid Rivals will charge you.

But if you’re not willing to part with that extra money (not wanting to pay full retail price for that item was probably what brought you to BidRivals.com in the first place), then you’re simply out your money with nothing to show for it.

In generally, people would be much better off sticking to legitimate auction websites like eBay, instead of spending lots of frustrating time and money on penny auctions like BidRivals.com.


 

Would you like to add your review for
Bid Rivals ?
If so, click here
 
Share This Page!

 

Customer Responses, Reviews, or Complaints


Average Rating for " Bid Rivals " is 1.46 out of 5 based on 24 reviews.

  • Rating
      
    Tim says:

    May 23rd, 2012 at 2:23 am

    The curtains have finally closed on this site. The behavior of management while this site was on its death bed was dreadful. They first took the site down claiming they were under attack (DoS maybe). The management seem to have mastered the art of being cryptic, they never give any straight answers.

    I have already initiated chargebacks through Paypal.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    rosen says:

    March 26th, 2012 at 10:21 am

    I don’t think it’s scam, I won a Canon Digital Camera with 75 bids, you just need to watch the auctions closely and bid wisely.
    Proof – http://www.rtsoft.net/uploads/03-26-12-bidrivals.jpg
    Do not just go and bid on everything, when there are 10 minutes of an auction remaining, do not bid – wait till the last seconds, wait and bid in the right time.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Tom says:

    March 13th, 2012 at 2:05 pm

    The site is a well thought out scam. Even if you manage to win an item, they are unlikely to send it. You have to repeatedly email their dreadful customer service for them to even consider sending it. They bank on most people giving up as any item not sent is pure profit.

    Most of the items are won by their “VIP” customer, who essentially get bids cheaper than anyone else so place a lot of bids.

    If you value your time and your money stay well away from this site.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Mike says:

    March 1st, 2012 at 11:48 am

    I don’t think bid rivals is a scam but you do need a lot of patience and an endless supply of bids to use, there is also a strategy to bidding. Don’t get involved in a bidding war. using bid agent is not the best use of bids. I have yet to win an auction on bidrivals.Some bidders use hundreds of bids and still don’t win.Also I see the same bidders bidding on the same type of items that they’ve already won.

    REPLY
  • Jim says:

    November 25th, 2011 at 1:56 am

    This ‘blog’ site is probably run by them as well. This was the first site that i found when trying to sere if bidrivals was a scam www.bidrivalsscam.com

    REPLY

    yup says:
    December 14th, 2011 at 4:16 pm

    It’s a scam for sure lost too much there…

  • DC says:

    November 21st, 2011 at 4:14 pm

    I just got suckered too…..bought the bids and placed a bid agent to buy an IPAD2…..my max price was 3 times higher than what the IPAD supposedly sold for, so I thought maybe it was because I placed a number without identifying CAD ( Canadian dollar), so today I specified 350.00CAD and the live auction opened a pick box saying “”max price must be a positive number”". I just emailed them, but have not heard back…..I think its a scam. Good thing I didnt buy a huge amount of bids.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Jose Argentina says:

    October 8th, 2011 at 10:39 am

    BidRivals.com is probably one of the sneakiest scams at taking people’s money than any other scheme I have encountered on the internet. The site promotes you to use BidAgent in case you cannot be online when the auction is conducted. BidRivals.com lures you into thinking that whatever maximum price you are willing to pay for an item will be honored through what you set up in BidAgent. Well, sorry to say, YOUR MAXIMUM PRICE IS NEVER HONORED, and I have several examples to prove my theory where an item was sold for probably half of what my maximum price through BidAgent was set at. This leads me to believe that the userIDs that I competed against were all bogus and there wasn’t really any product that I was bidding on to begin with….just a glamorous shot of a nice, desirable product that never existed. I have also tried to find bidding histories for high dollar items (laptop computers) that I had bidded on (through BidAgent) and the item never appeared in the ‘Closed’ auction section. Based on the lack of evidence or any areturn email from BidRivals.com regarding my protests I must call this site a real scam!! Don’t be lured into the slaughter!

    REPLY
  • Dana says:

    September 29th, 2011 at 10:32 am

    Thanks everyone for all the info! I will skip this site and stick to ebay!

    REPLY
  • Esam says:

    September 23rd, 2011 at 2:04 pm

    Here is what I got from a seller on Craigslist his name is Chad. and he is sending the same email to every one that wants to buy an Iphone or a laptop from him.

    body: Hey, sorry for the delayed response, but someone already bought the iPhone and picked it up. You might want to try and buy one where I bought mine at. It’s an auction site kind of like ebay that has quite a few iPhones.

    I am usually able to pick them up there for under $120, I think it’s so cheap because the site is newer and there aren’t many bidders yet. Anyways, I’d recommend you shop there if your still in need of an iPhone. The site is called Bid-Rival.com. I just checked and it looks like they have one ending soon and the bid is at $55 so far.

    Hope this helps you!

    -Chad

    REPLY

    Kelsey L. says:
    December 31st, 2011 at 5:35 pm

    oh my god thats so scary i got the same email from this girl when i inquired about an iphone and this is what she said…and i even chekced out the sketchy site too..

    Ava Martinez avamartinez@mailmodo.com
    10:46 PM (15 hours ago)

    Hi there

    Sorry someone picked it up earlier, but I can actually tell you where I got.
    I just got 3 from www.bidrivals.com and I sold them on craigslist for extra money.

    Since the sites really new there’s like nobody online, nobody is bidding, its like xmas all over again haha. The secret is to bid right when the counter gets to 4 seconds and you win all the time.

    Kindly,
    Ava

    Tiarra says:
    October 10th, 2011 at 10:58 pm

    I have received the same email when I inquired about an IPAD from craigslist. I was directed to use the dealfun.com website…also which had bad reviews online. I’m feeling like all of these sites are scamming people!

  • Rating
      
    expat says:

    August 29th, 2011 at 7:46 am

    They list their address as the Empire State Building Suite 5900 350 Fifth Ave, NY.

    This is the same address as lawyer Javier A. Solano.

    Does that tell you anything?

    Be careful

    REPLY
  • Butch says:

    August 22nd, 2011 at 4:46 am

    “The safe approach to a penny auction site is to bid on the items that you would want to buy anyway, that way you don’t lose any money with the bids you placed. Its then just a chance to get something for really cheap, if not you buy it anyway. Lets face it, if you take the time to study it, people do pick up real bargains…”

    This is true but it also adds to ripping the rest of the people off even more, because a person coming to the site determined to buy anyway will continue to bit and drive the price up as long as he makes a profit – however small.

    The rest of the players will have no chance to get the product as long as your determined buyer is in the game.

    These people willing to get the product by any means necessary are the worst enemies to those seeking to get what bidrivals promises.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Jack says:

    August 21st, 2011 at 7:42 pm

    I think it’s a scam, If you want something cheap. You might have a chance.. However, if you want something like an Iphone or Ipod or a good electronic, you’re chances of winning are extremely low.. I truly do believe they use auto bots, I seen the same users bid for hours at least 200 to 400 times.. They are obviously bots despite the company putting it in writing they don’t use bots, I think it’s a lie!!!!

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Homebrew says:

    July 30th, 2011 at 7:34 am

    Here’s my email from Chad, which came from the address (ham1pi2r3bwre@gmail.com) Hey, sorry for the delayed response, but someone already bought the Macbook and picked it up. You might want to try and buy one where I bought mine at. It’s an auction site kind of like ebay that has quite a few Macbook’s.

    I am usually able to pick them up there for under $400, I think it’s so cheap because the site is newer and there aren’t many bidders yet. Anyways, I’d recommend you shop there if your still in need of a Macbook. The site is called Bid-Rival.com. I just checked and it looks like they have one ending soon and the bid is at $115 so far.Hope this helps you! -Chad

    P.S. Here is a little secret I’ll pass on to you. Right now there is a glitch/hack on the site that will allow you to block other people from bidding on the item. When you place a bid, hold down the enter key until the auction counts down to 0. This should allow you to win any auction instantly. But I’m not sure how long it last, I’m sure the site is working on fixing the glitch/hack.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    joann says:

    July 26th, 2011 at 3:18 pm

    Okay this was his response to the MacBook air I was interested in:

    Hey, sorry for the delayed response, but someone already bought the Macbook and picked it up. You might want to try and buy one where I bought mine at. It’s an auction site kind of like ebay that has quite a few Macbook’s. I am usually able to pick them up there for under $400, I think it’s so cheap because the site is newer and there aren’t many bidders yet. Anyways, I’d recommend you shop there if your still in need of a Macbook. The site is called Bid-Rival.com.

    I just checked and it looks like they have one ending soon and the bid is at $115 so far. Hope this helps you! P.S. Here is a little secret I’ll pass on to you. Right now there is a glitch/hack on the site that will allow you to block other people from bidding on the item. When you place a bid, hold down the enter key until the auction counts down to 0. This should allow you to win any auction instantly. But I’m not sure how long it last, I’m sure the site is working on fixing the glitch/hack.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    joann says:

    July 26th, 2011 at 11:52 am

    I received a email as well in regards to these spammers I was looking for a MacBook air on craigslist and he msg me back stating it has been sold but then recommended me to bidrivals I googled it and read these reviews thank god I didn’t fall into those scammers!

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    John says:

    July 24th, 2011 at 12:42 pm

    Chad from Craigslist struck again, this time offering a Macbook Air. I checked his link, saw how it got forwarded and knew it was some sort of affiliate scam. Google brought me here. BTW, his spam domain is registered to an Allen Jenson, maybe Chad’s real name.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    not a fool thanks to these reviews says:

    July 19th, 2011 at 11:16 am

    So I also went on craigslist to get an iphone and THE EXACT same thing happened to me that happend to Raj!! I got the exact same email back just yesterday. Thankfully i googled reviews of the site before signing up and found this thread. Thanks Raj! You probably saved me lots of time and money and maybe even saved me from ID theft!

    *Folks make sure to google email addresses/ emails from strangers before you act on them.

    This is the email I got from “Chad” namenska0c@gmail.com

    Hey, sorry for the delayed response, but someone already bought the iPhone and picked it up. You might want to try and buy one where I bought mine at. It’s an auction site kind of like ebay that has quite a few iPhones.

    I am usually able to pick them up there for under $120, I think it’s so cheap because the site is newer and there aren’t many bidders yet. Anyways, I’d recommend you shop there if your still in need of an iPhone. The site is called Bid-Rival.com. I just checked and it looks like they have one ending soon and the bid is at $55 so far.

    Hope this helps you!

    -Chad

    P.S. Here is a little secret I’ll pass on to you. Right now there is a glitch/hack on the site that will allow you to block other people from bidding on the item. When you place a bid, hold down the enter key until the auction counts down to 0. This should allow you to win any auction instantly. But I’m not sure how long it last, I’m sure the site is working on fixing the glitch/hack.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Nate says:

    July 19th, 2011 at 9:44 am

    Got this email from someone I contacted on cragslist about purchasing their xbox 360.

    LOOKS IDENTICAL TO THE EMAIL RAJ GOT (above) FROM “CHAD” FOR HIS CRAIGSLIST IPHONE STORY

    Hey, sorry for the delayed response, but someone already bought the Xbox 360 and picked it up. You might want to try and buy one where I bought mine at. It’s an auction site kind of like ebay that has quite a few Xbox 360′s.

    I am usually able to pick them up there for under $130, I think it’s so cheap because the site is newer and there aren’t many bidders yet. Anyways, I’d recommend you shop there if your still in need of an Xbox 360. The site is called Bid-Rival.com. I just checked and it looks like they have one ending soon and the bid is at $55 so far.

    Hope this helps you!

    -Chad

    P.S. Here is a little secret I’ll pass on to you. Right now there is a glitch/hack on the site that will allow you to block other people from bidding on the item. When you place a bid, hold down the enter key until the auction counts down to 0. This should allow you to win any auction instantly. But I’m not sure how long it last, I’m sure the site is working on fixing the glitch/hack.

    After seeing Raj’s post I knew this was a scam. I will not be using this company. Oh and holding enter makes you an instant winner! please… do I look stupid to you chad?

    REPLY
  • indy says:

    July 19th, 2011 at 9:06 am

    Yeah i have gotten the same e-mail from chad who seems to be a nice guy. I think that he is just a spammer promoting the site. Chad told me to go to bidrivals for a wii.

    REPLY
  • Scam says:

    July 17th, 2011 at 5:48 pm

    BidRivals belongs to Johan Lofstrom, a Scammer who lives in malta.

    Hes got lot’s of guys working for him… Spamming the hell out of news sites!

    One of these guys is an Egyptian guy from cairo. Who goes by the name of Supernova, Supernova10,… Search google for that name and it will appear in freelancing websites looking for people to work for him as Spammers. They say it is for “commenting on websites” They have a huge network of spammers, spamming news sites mostly in the USA.

    Be careful with Supernova, Supernova10… the Egyptian guy, is jobs are for spamming and he will scam you. Search google for Supernova10 + job and you will see!

    Stay away from BidRivals, Supernova10 and Johan

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Ian says:

    July 14th, 2011 at 2:03 pm

    Like others, I tried BidRivals. What a waste of time and money. At the close, the computer auctioneer goes Going One, Going Two, Going…A number of times I bid during the Going (final chance) in order to minimize the bids, only to find it not accepted, whilst other times it’d accept, but another “bidder” jump on top. I genuinely think this is a fraud. Items predominantly won by BidRivals own bidding bots and locked out (presumably sold) only when a BidRival bot is the “winner”. That way, the same item is auctioned up multiple times, which makes the already expensive item even more lucrative for BidRivals…….perhaps the only thing that actually exists is the pretty pictures of an imaginary item. Now how do I start a web auction like this :-)…That’d be the only way to secure a real winner!

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Raj says:

    July 9th, 2011 at 6:53 pm

    My story started because I was looking for iphones on craigslist and contacting people based on their listing prices. I got the following response from a stranger: “Hey, sorry for the delayed response, but someone already bought the iPhone and picked it up. You might want to try and buy one where I bought mine at. It’s an auction site kind of like ebay that has quite a few iPhones.

    I am usually able to pick them up there for under $120, I think it’s so cheap because the site is newer and there aren’t many bidders yet. Anyways, I’d recommend you shop there if your still in need of an iPhone. The site is called Bid-Rival.com. I just checked and it looks like they have one ending soon and the bid is at $55 so far.Hope this helps you!-Chad – jitterydepictio@gmail.com

    P.S. Here is a little secret I’ll pass on to you. Right now there is a glitch/hack on the site that will allow you to block other people from bidding on the item. When you place a bid, hold down the enter key until the auction counts down to 0. This should allow you to win any auction instantly. But I’m not sure how long it last, I’m sure the site is working on fixing the glitch/hack.”

    Since we don’t know the actual e-mail address from craigslist, I assumed this as a genuine person trying to help me. When I heard the word bidding I assumed it to be the standard bidding we are all familiar with such as at ebay. First timers will definitely be fooled by the prices on their website very easily and I was one of them and registered with them and realized I need to buy bids package minimum 50bids @ 37.50$. Their meaning of word is even unsuccessful bids that means, all the info in there is so limited that you wont know whats going over there. You will see a clock running for 15 secs.

    IN TRUTH THIS WEBSITE IS NOT FOR SAVING MONEY FOR ANY CUSTOMER BUT IT IS A KIND OF LOTTERY. THEIR INTENTION IS NOT TO SELL STUFF BUT TO MAKE YOU BID HUGE NUMBER OF TIMES AND TAKE MONEY. FOR EACH 0.015USD (1.5 PENNY) PRICE RAISE YOU PAY) 0.75$ AS BID COST AND YOU HAVE NO OPTION OF CHOOSING HIGHER BID, WHICH MEANS THEY DON’T WANT YOU OR ANYONE TO SAVE ANYTHING. THEY ARE ACTUALLY MAKING MUCH MORE THAN THE COST OF THE ITEM FROM BIDDERS SIMILAR TO A LOTTERY WHILE THE ACTUAL BIG WINNER WILL BE THE BIDRIVAL.

    I SUGGEST YOU BE CAREFUL WITH BID-RIVALS AND THEIR ANONYMOUS SCAM EMAILERS WHO PRETEND AS IF A GOOD NEIGBHOR.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Rhonda Jones says:

    June 17th, 2011 at 12:41 pm

    I asked for a refund before I ever bid. They don’t have a phone number you can call so you have to e-mail them. THEY will not e-mail you back. I decided I might as well try them since I could not get my money back and right in the middle of bidding they shut off their server for maintenance and I sat there for an hour and a half. Finally it come back up but of course I had lost my money. Stay away from this site.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Terry says:

    April 21st, 2011 at 11:45 am

    I must be the biggest sucker that bidrivals has had. I keep believing them, when they say there going to ship my items. This is after i have given them what they ask for. A picture I.D. and a recent utilitity bill. They played me perfectly, by giving me some of my items when i first joined. Now forget it i have lost so much money, and now they have disconnected me from there site. If anyone needs me for a lawsuit, i am in. If anyone has look in to how to go about this, please write another review, i’ll be looking for it. I am so pissed, but at this time can only kick myself in the ass.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    David says:

    April 13th, 2011 at 9:30 pm

    I bought $100.00 worth of bids back in February, and won an Amazon gift card with $25.00 on 2/20. After a few weeks without getting it, I sent an email t the company. The responded by saying I needed to provide a valid mailing address and contact info. I sent what they requested back via email, and even put it in my bid rival account details. After waiting 3 more weeks and still not getting what I won, I sent them another email. They responded with the same as before, even thought the mailing address was in my profile. I sent them it again and will wait and see, but am not to optimistic. This company sucks and should be banned. DON’T DO BUSINESS WITH THIS COMPANY!

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    steve says:

    March 25th, 2011 at 5:28 pm

    Guys. Those who bid in Bid rivals really are losing money. Whether it is legal or not is the point. It is the trick they are using to steal your money. These are programs coded to close the bids. Bid rivals do have thousands of fake agent ID’s created and they bid on behalf of Bid rivals whenever the bid is about to lock on external agent. It happens till they make a large profit on each item. As you can see from others calculations if you see 5.00 euros it is not just 5.00 euros. They are in the multiples. But Bid rival agents (fake system ID’s) bid in it till they get a profit from the external bidders. So it’s true that the final bidder wins the product and there are no law suits against them for not delivering the products. They deliver it so that no winner should go to court. But the normal bidders who could not win have lost 100′s of euros by then. Please take care.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    BidRivals Spams ME says:

    March 18th, 2011 at 3:21 pm

    I have been spammed by this CO and to get them to take this serious has been an issue. I am being spammed by people promoting their biz and directly by the biz. What ETHICAL CO condones spam? There is no means to call and speak with anyone. Chat and email are the ONLY means of contact. The company does not reside in the US. It is not a US co, so they are not registered with the BBB. Customer service if you can call it that is horrid. I am still being spammed.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    joe says:

    February 25th, 2011 at 8:18 am

    i think its a scam i seen people bid 600 dollars worth of bids on something worth 50 dollars looks fishy huh why not just stop and buy in now and save 530 dollars i really think they have robots bidding against you

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Carol says:

    February 18th, 2011 at 9:44 pm

    I’ve used a few penny action sites and never had a problem but bidrivals was a complete rippoff. I purchased a total pf $190 worth of bids and other than winning other bid auctions, I won four gift cards from amazon. The wins were from 12/10/2010 to 12/15/2010. After Christmas I communicated with them online, they told me it takes 21 business days to receive the cards. After the 21 days, they told me customer service would contact me. I waited 5 more days , nothing so I put a claim thru paypal. Paypal closed my case nothing they can do for virtual sales. Not only am I out the bid money, I also out the money I paid for the cards. Paypal did give me their customer service #. It’s some guy’s cell phone. Any one else out there been ripped off? I’d like to hear. I’d even be willing to go to the DA

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Chris says:

    January 28th, 2011 at 1:56 am

    If you’re looking for an expensive item for cheap – forget it.

    After a while of looking at these “Penny Auctions”, i decided to take the leap and check it out. I bought 100 bids at $65 dollars (yes, that’s $65 for the privilege to bid). I took my 100 bids into the ‘live auction’ section, and started to bid…

    It only took me a few bids to realize that the ‘high dollar’ items are almost impossible to get. Okay, so you can get a $2500 laptop for $200(if you are very lucky), but the time spent watching these items is ridiculous – 1 bid = 1 cent raise in price! Lets say you can get it for $200, that’s 20,000 pennies! The average bid lasts around 10 seconds – so multiply 20,000 by 10, and u guessed it – that’s 200,000 frustrating, eye pulsating seconds(over 2 days!!!!!!)

    Time to cut your losses…

    I started to look at the gift cards. They seemed to sell for considerably less, much less than everything else(and less time consuming). I blew the rest of my bids and won (4) $15 Amazon gift cards – the winning bids of all 4 totaled $10.38. At this point, I’m in it $75.38 – for gift cards totaling $60(ugh). Ever been to a casino and had that feeling of relief that u only lost $100 instead of $1000. Exactly.

    Wanna Gamble? go to a casino.
    Wanna afford cool stuff? Get a second job.

    Please, steer clear.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Brian says:

    January 21st, 2011 at 12:42 pm

    “That means if an item is sold for $20.00 on BidRivals.com, Bid Rivals actually makes $1300 for the sale of that item”…Your calculation is not correct, you don’t take into account what you already mentioned in the article, which is getting the bids back if you buy the item. The safe approach to a penny auction site is to bid on the items that you would want to buy anyway, that way you don’t lose any money with the bids you placed. Its then just a chance to get something for really cheap, if not you buy it anyway. Lets face it, if you take the time to study it, people do pick up real bargains…

    REPLY

Add Your Review



Your Comment:

Choose a Rating

Please Write Your ReviewRead Review Guidelines