Bigger Bidder Reviews – Legit or Scam?

 


Bigger Bidder
from 26 reviews Review It
Bigger Bidder

 

Bigger Bidder is a new penny auction website. You may register at BiggerBidder.net, though they also hold the URL BiggerBidder.com.

A penny auction site, as most of you, auctions off new and in demand items at deeply discounted prices. Each bid you place raises the price of the item by 1 cent, or in the case of Bigger Bidder, 5 cents or 10 cents depending on the particular auction you are bidding in. If you win the auction, you must pay the final auction price in order to receive your prize.

The trick with penny auctions is that you must pay for the bids you place. Most penny auction sites charge you 60 cents for each bid that you place, but Bigger Bidder charges 68 cents on average for bids. Interestingly, though, the site offers many different promotional bid packages, so the price you pay for bids will vary.

Is Bigger Bidder Worth It?

Like all penny auctions, Bigger Bidder has been the target of a lot of criticism. Unlike traditional auction houses, like eBay, Bigger Bidder is both the seller of items and the auctioneer, which has made it very difficult for people to trust them. They are accused of using bots and scripts to bid on the auctions, as well as having a group of employees bid on the auctions as well.

None of these accusations have been proven or verified in any way, and these types of accusations befall all penny auctions.

As far as how Bigger Bidder compares to other penny auction sites, the truth is not well. Their bids are more expensive, at an average of 68 cents per bid instead of 60 cents, and depending on how in demand an item is, their bids can be in increments as high as 10 cents. This means higher auction prices the winners must pay.

In addition, many of their auction items have something called a Reserve Price. This is the minimum price they will allow that item to auction for. If you win an auction with a winning price that falls under the Reserve Price, you will required to pay the Reserve Price instead.

Finally, they do have a version of the Buy It Now feature called “Second Chance,” but these items routinely retail for much higher than regular stores’ discounted prices.

 

Would you like to add your review for
Bigger Bidder ?
If so, click here
 
Share This Page!

 

Customer Responses, Reviews, or Complaints


Average Rating for " Bigger Bidder " is 1 out of 5 based on 26 reviews.

  • Rating
      
    victor says:

    March 22nd, 2014 at 9:03 am

    Bigger Bidder owes me over $14,000 dollars for 28,000 bids compiled when the site was shut down. I have had not success contacting them. In the process of a lawsuit at this time. If they re-open site I would suggest you stay far far away.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Taken says:

    March 29th, 2013 at 3:33 pm

    This is a “Rip-Off”. DO NOT GET INVOLVED WITH THIS AUCTION SCAM. I had the some problem that other reviewers have had with the “Reserve Price”, which you find out after you have won the bid, and the product’s “Estimated Value” nutshell trick.

    REPLY

    victor scurlock says:
    March 22nd, 2014 at 8:59 am

    Bigger bidder shut down their site leaving me holding 28,000 bids. I am in the process of suing them now for $14,000 DOLLARS OWED TO ME AT A PRICE OF ONLY .50 CENTS PER BID.

  • Rating
      
    SANDy says:

    November 11th, 2012 at 10:55 am

    Big Scam website…waste of time!!!!!!!!! NO deals!!

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    R.T. says:

    November 6th, 2012 at 11:27 am

    Scam at best! This site needs to be shut down. Frankly i cant believe it’s still in operation.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Stacey says:

    May 1st, 2012 at 3:13 am

    Scam. I just got an email from this company that said, “You’ve won a $1,000 gift card to Best Buy. Just
    click on the link to our website and enter in your confirmation number to receive.” Haha yeah right I work for a credit card company so I always read the terms and conditions. Plus I have had hundreds of people call in to my job to dispute charges from this site and others just like it. Scam, scam, SCAM! Oh
    and you can try to dispute this with your credit card company but, it will mos
    t likely not be sided in your
    favor because they keep their scam nice and legal by putting it all in the terms and conditions. Not
    reading what you’re agreeing to is no ones fault but yours. Sorry.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Sam says:

    March 29th, 2012 at 1:26 pm

    After starting their registration process and receiving page after page of “offers”, I stopped when it became clear to me that this was not a legitimate offer of “Winning an ipad”. Unfortunately the damage was done and I am now receiving DOZENS of telemarketing calls to my cell phone.

    Scam scam shame shame. I’m thinking of complaining to the FTC because it is illegal to robot-call cell phones.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Rupal says:

    March 28th, 2012 at 12:34 am

    Total Scam….I received following message after I won iPad bid at 0.07

    Thank God I didn’t waste single penny. They gave me 20 bids for signup. After their message, I quickly did google and find out their review on this page. Thank you everyone.

    Auction Won…Reserve NOT met! Action Required.

    You have just won a Bigger Bidder auction for the item listed above.

    However, your winning bid of $0.07 did not meet the reserve price listed by the seller of $600.00.

    If you wish for this auction to go ahead, you must pay 599.02 plus shipping and handling.

    Here’s how this amount breaks down:

    Estimated product value: $600.00
    Reserve price set by seller: $600.00
    Amount Bigger Bidder will pay for you: $0.98
    Amount you must pay to meet reserve: $598.95
    Your winning bid: $0.07
    Total due for this auction: $599.02

    Pay Pal is the only accepted method of payment at this time.

    If you choose not to meet the reserve price, the auction will be cancelled and your bids will be refunded to you.
    Click here to pay or to decline payment.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    davy says:

    February 29th, 2012 at 12:51 am

    everything they all said is true! I just wish there was someway to close them down and make them pay big $$$ for scamming all these people who are just looking for a small piece of the pie without trying to rip off people. I pray that they get what is coming to them. thanks davy

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    pibe says:

    February 16th, 2012 at 5:39 am

    they will send this message when you win an auction …

    this is a scam…

    Auction Won…Reserve NOT met! Action Required.
    You have just won a Bigger Bidder auction for the item listed above.
    However, your winning bid of $0.16 did not meet the reserve price listed by the seller of $500.00.
    If you wish for this auction to go ahead, you must pay 497.76 plus shipping and handling.

    Here’s how this amount breaks down:
    Estimated product value: $500.00
    Reserve price set by seller: $500.00
    Amount Bigger Bidder will pay for you: $2.24

    Amount you must pay to meet reserve: $497.60
    Your winning bid: $0.16
    Total due for this auction: $497.76

    Pay Pal is the only accepted method of payment at this time.

    If you choose not to meet the reserve price, the auction will be cancelled and your bids will be refunded to you.
    Click here to pay or to decline payment.

    Questions? Please see our Help page or Contact Us.
    Help : http://www.biggerbidder.com/help.php
    Contact Us : http://www.biggerbidder.com/contact.php

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    dougmore says:

    January 30th, 2012 at 12:21 am

    Stay away from biggerbidder. just won a 500 gift card but the undisclosed reserve was not met. Turns out it will cost me 497.50 for the gift card and that is before paypal fees. On the front page of the site it shows the winning bidder, me, saved 99%. Right….How do they figure that when I have to pay 497.50 for a 500.00 gift card. Strange math they use! Stay away!

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    fg says:

    January 18th, 2012 at 3:40 pm

    This website is definitely a scam. What bidding site keeps raising the time Everytime someone bids. The point of bidding is bid at the countdown then win then its automated bc they bid at every 3 seconds left on the clock. Total scam

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    boovert says:

    January 16th, 2012 at 2:26 pm

    I won a five hundred dollar amazon gift card to Walmart and when the e-mail came through on purchase
    Instructions the reserve was also five hundred dollars. Bigger bidder offered to pay around fifteen dollars
    But I had to pay the auction price of $4.18 plus the rest of the reserve. So after 20 minutes of bidding
    I would have the choice of buying the card at a savings of about three percent.

    This is a ripoff. However, if you choose to reject a purchase all of your bids are returned to you. They
    Have a feature called the “second chance mall” and if you make a purchase from the mall, you do get a discount.
    The discount is related to the number of bids you have won, and the savings is competitive to other sites.
    However, there are easier and surer ways to get a discount.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Nick says:

    January 10th, 2012 at 2:00 pm

    Agree with everyone else. I signed up and didn’t realize they automatically charge you 39$ just for signing up. I couldn’t get them to refund the charge or respond to my inquiries.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    DL says:

    December 23rd, 2011 at 1:53 am

    This is soooo stupid. I agree with everything that’s stated above. I should have checked out the reviews before I wasted 50 bugs. I hope you read this before you register. DON’T DO IT!!!!

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Anonymous says:

    December 20th, 2011 at 2:24 pm

    What a joke dont do it.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Uncle Sam says:

    December 9th, 2011 at 6:05 pm

    Sounds like another fraudulent business … Just like the Somalian scam that asks you to put up 5k to rescue 5M….They should be shut down along with their American naive cronies who have been talked into getting rich fast!!! Who built their website? They too are part of this fraud….?! NO ACCOUNTABILITY ! The principles are off shore….. They will milk this for as long as Greed rules … Their are enough dummies with money that will exercise their free will to lose money over and over again

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Disappointed in Wa. State says:

    December 9th, 2011 at 12:45 pm

    Got on BS Bidder 6 months ago , what a giant waste of my $$. Don’t do it! The same overpriced junk has been on 2nd chance mall as long as I’ve going on site. Don’t buy into their hype. If you are interested in anything on the net. BBB and read reviews. I made the mistake of not doing either. Save your hard earned $$ and don’t do it….submitted with respect and concern for my hard working fellow Americans

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Ahmad says:

    December 7th, 2011 at 7:08 pm

    Most appealing items have a reserve price on it. I signed up for it and got 25 free bids..i am glad i did not spend money on buying bids. I was ‘lucky’ enough to win an Ipad for about four dollars plus 20 bids, only to find out that the reserve price with the shipping was the same as retail or any other website. Meanwhile, the item got 400 clicks (4dollars) and even if you average each click to be fifty cents, biggerbidder made 200 dollars without selling the item. Stay away. It seems very tempting but it is nothing but a waste of money. Either believe it, or lose your money to find out for yourself.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    PB says:

    December 1st, 2011 at 1:37 am

    Absolute scam. This website is an absolute scam. Please do not register with this company.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Nancy Jackson says:

    November 30th, 2011 at 9:11 pm

    After 3 e-mails to biggerbidder they finally admitted the “reserve” price was almost always the full price. SO… if you win a $400 item for $2 you must pay the “reserve” of $380. How stupid is that? Plus almost every item including a $10 gift certificate has a “reserve”. Since a one penny bid costs 68 cents you end up paying more for the item than it is worth. Do not be takeninbythis site.They are very dishonest in their presentation of their site.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Disappointed in Wa. State says:

    September 23rd, 2011 at 12:19 pm

    Don’t do it. The old adages hold true. If its to good to be true,A giant waste of time. Don’t do it. The initial excitement is soon replaced with disappointment. Don’t do it.Bigger Bidders 2nd chance mall is a joke. It is filled with overpriced electronics that ship for way too much. Don’t do it. Save your hard earned money.You have better things to do with your hard earned free time and money.Or, go ahead and give them your money and see how disappointed you too can be.Respectfully Submitted,a concerned American Citizen.see you at the class action

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Fee says:

    September 21st, 2011 at 4:19 pm

    I won a Motorola xoom tablet at $14, OF COURSE the reserve price was not met.
    Reserve price: $999.99 !!!!
    Top Retail value: $499.00 !!!!

    They wanted $400 more than the best model is worth in stores.
    Seriously, this is the biggest crap website I’ve heard of.
    To top that, they wont even respond to my emails.

    DO NOT SIGN UP.
    I hope they get shut down and lose a lot of money.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    KC says:

    September 17th, 2011 at 4:18 pm

    Just won a $10 giftcard at $0.07. However, I must pay $10 reserved price at the end. So bigger bid will pay for $.98 and I must pay $9.02 to claim $10 gift card. What about my bids that cost me $0.65 PER bid? At the end it cost lots more than the value of the gift card. This is a FRAUD! DO NOT BUY BIDS!!!!

    REPLY
  • Jen says:

    September 16th, 2011 at 8:20 am

    What are some good penny auction websites? There’s so many it’s hard to know which to trust.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    CRW says:

    September 7th, 2011 at 9:35 am

    I bid on a $25 gift card on bigger bidder and won at about 14 cents. The reserve wasn’t met, so I was given the option to buy the gift card at the reserve price ($22!!) PLUS the $0.14 that I had bid up to. The winner does get all their bids back. So I have to pay $22.14 for a $25.00 gift card. It’s not a good deal like you can get on other penny auction sites. So I will not be using bigger bidder…

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    luma says:

    August 31st, 2011 at 11:05 am

    It’s a big ripoff on people, you’ll lose your money and time and never win. Or if you win you pay double the price for an item. Don’t trust this don’t lose your money and time.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    DM says:

    August 30th, 2011 at 3:35 am

    Bigger Bidder is a flat out scam. They bid on their own auctions, plain and simple. Don’t waste your time.

    REPLY

Add Your Review



Your Comment:

Choose a Rating

Please Write Your ReviewRead Review Guidelines