CloudCrowd Reviews – Legit or Scam?

 


CloudCrowd.com
from 34 reviews Review It
CloudCrowd.com

 

CloudCrowd (www.CloudCrowd.com) is a new outsourcing, work at home agency that is taking a unique approach to freelance work. They provide their workers with small tasks, that are manageable in a short time frame and therefore easy to fit into almost any schedule, and they pay you the following day for the work you’ve completed.

Companies provide CloudCrowd with projects requiring a variety of services that range from language translation to writing and editing to online research, and more. CloudCrowd then takes these projects and breaks them into smaller, easier to manage tasks. They then list these tasks on their job pages.

When a member of CloudCrowd has time to work – say when your child is down for a nap – they simply sign on to their Facebook account and access their CloudCrowd application, looking for tasks they can complete in they time they have available. These tasks pay anywhere from $.01 to $14.95, depending on the length of time and expertise needed to complete the task.

All work that is completed by 5 pm Pacific Time will be paid by midnight the next day. In order to be paid, however, you must have a working PayPal account.

Is CloudCrowd a Scam?

On the contrary, actually. CloudCrowd is a respected crowdsourcing center that has been reviewed and praised by magazines such as BusinessWeek and Entrepreneur.

They respond to two different needs within the industry right now. First, companies that need to keep overhead down can do so by outsourcing major projects. Second, people who need work now can earn money by completing these projects for CloudCrowd on their own schedule.

CloudCrowd understands that certain tasks must be completed by humans – not computers – in order to be done well. So they have created an independent workforce of over 50,000 people and counting to do just that.

How You Can Be Successful with CloudCrowd

First, CloudCrowd rates its workers on a Credibility scale of 1-100. As a new employee, you are given a rating of 30 and you cannot exceed 50 until you have been an active employee for longer than one month. After the first month, your rating can go all the way to 100.

To raise your Credibility score, you must successfully complete your tasks in the correct way. This means following the instructions perfectly and providing the employer with the correct work they required. If you do the job incorrectly because you did not follow the instructions, or the work you provided was considered wrong or bad, it will lower your Credibility rating.

CloudCrowd also allows you to “Skip” a task after you’ve chosen it if you realize that you don’t know the answer or can’t complete it the way the employer needs. Choosing to Skip a task will not negatively affect your Credibility rating, but doing a task and failing it will. In addition, if you fail the task you are given, you will not be paid for it.

Also, CloudCrowd has certain tasks that anyone can do – like researching things online – or tasks that you must have “Credentials” to do. To get a Credential on CloudCrowd you must pass an online exam in that area. If you fail that exam, you will not be allowed to take it again, so make sure you are ready before you attempt it.

Overall, CloudCrowd is a great opportunity for those looking to fit some extra work into a busy schedule, or those who don’t have a full time job right and for whom every little bit helps.

If you're at Reviewopedia.com because you're looking for a way to make money online then check out our article "7 Ways to Make Money Online" - methods that anyone can use to earn an income from home.

 

 

Would you like to add your review for
Cloud Crowd ?
If so, click here
 
Share This Page!

 

Customer Responses, Reviews, or Complaints


Average Rating for " Cloud Crowd " is 2.06 out of 5 based on 34 reviews.

  • Rating
      
    CCHasBeenSold says:

    February 10th, 2014 at 3:37 pm

    As always, the big wigs get their money and the loyal slaves are shafted. There hasn’t been work in months. See what working for pennies gets you? Sign up with CrowdSource if you want a chance of seeing a few former CC clients put up work. I doubt it, though.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Reverend Fuck You says:

    February 10th, 2014 at 12:33 pm

    Good idea but awful execution thanks to the most anally retentive community of writers and editors I’ve ever seen. Trying to get into their clique at this moment is like sabotaging yourself.

    REPLY

    CCHasBeenSold says:
    February 10th, 2014 at 4:57 pm

    Why bother? You could have just created another account and approved your own work. That is what I did for the longest. Made thousands from them doing that.

  • Rating
      
    Abby says:

    October 17th, 2013 at 6:42 pm

    First off, please allow me to mention that I have a bachelor’s degree in English/communications with honors (Summa Cum Laude). My application for the Writer’s Credential was rejected because I had not put in line breaks on the first assignment and “didn’t follow instructions” on the second. (CC requested that I compare or contrast a topic of my choice to “Decisions You Like to Put Off.” Now, not only was this a stupid and vague topic, but I DID contrast the topic with the importance of making decisions sooner rather than later. If CloudCrowd doesn’t hire editors/reviewer smart enough to identify a contrasting subject, I have no interest in working for them. I think they should rename the site NincompoopsAreUs.com.)

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Jed says:

    September 30th, 2013 at 1:22 pm

    The site is a nightmare to maneuver through. I signed up 4 times, it lost my password and I end up in a loop landing on the same page over and over again.
    This site’s emails are going into the “spam folder”.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    john says:

    September 23rd, 2013 at 2:39 pm

    Hi, well I heard about Cloud Crowd and decided to give it a try. Firstly, it isn’t very well designed and newcomers often leave because of this. I stuck around and tried a writing task, since I wasn’t sure about the company I didn’t put too much effort into it. Not surprisingly the task failed and I though okay I’ll try again but do my best. That task failed because I misused a comma (wow), I have written thousands of articles/blogs/website content and have NEVER had a single complaint, EVER, not until I tried CC that is. I was shocked that the second article failed for quite pedantic reasons, but I had lost interest by that time. I’m making a lot more money working elsewhere so their loss in my opinion.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Exclouder says:

    September 20th, 2013 at 10:18 pm

    Absolute waste of time.

    This site is as goofy as it gets. Rude “reviewers” hanging around the forums deliberately posting misinformation.

    Hint: They don’t want you there taking their work. They desperately need every penny because earning actual $$$ is near impossible.

    Tests are completely vague in their instructions. They demand clear and concise work for pennies, yet half of the text on their website is incomprehensible gibberish.

    The editing test is just stupid. You are instructed to edit a document that reads as if it were written by a five year old. To properly edit it, you would have to rewrite the entire thing from scratch, otherwise it still looks like horse pucky when you are done.

    You would be better off searching the web for blogs with a ‘submit article’ button. It would pay more per hour.

    REPLY

    Jill says:
    January 3rd, 2014 at 2:52 pm

    I am so glad I found the honest reviews on this site before joining.

    Cloudcrowd sounds like an absolute nightmare. Whoever came up with the bright idea of asking your “competitors” to review your work and thus decide whether or not you stand to earn any money?

    I most certainly will not be wasting my time signing up!

  • Rating
      
    TheUser says:

    July 3rd, 2013 at 11:01 am

    Product Attribute task does not work. Huge waste of time. I literally tried every combination on the last one I did and it still would not let me submit it. Most credential tests are never available so the amount of work you can do is very limited. The site is a huge waste of time with a very small pay out. I ignored all of these reviews thinking they were exaggerating. They are telling the truth. This site is terrible. Try it if you want. I always give everything the benefit of the doubt but this site is very disappointing. The people praising it are either working for the main offices, paid to praise, or got in when this site must have been ran better. Because I cant see anyone using this site praising it. Me and 3 people I know just tried it for the past week and we are all done with it.

    REPLY

    Sheela says:
    July 3rd, 2013 at 2:06 pm

    Notice all of the generic websites advertising the company. Whenever I google “cloudcrowd” I run into a lot of these sites.

    Sheela says:
    July 3rd, 2013 at 1:09 pm

    I spent a lot of time that was pretty much wasted. What I think all of the praise sites are doing is some form of MLM. They get $5. for every person that signs up, so if 100 sign up they’ll get $500. It appears that folks are working it from that end. Maybe if someone is an excellent writer they do decent with this site, but it smells to much like an MLM scheme to me.

  • Rating
      
    Apple says:

    January 14th, 2013 at 12:17 am

    I started working on cloudcrowd last September. Familiarizing the platform as well as the task instructions were hard for me. I earned only $250 dollars that month. The next month to present were a lot easier! I learned the platform, was able to deal with all the “check tasks”, and worked on extended hours to earn extras! Guess what, I earn from $700-900 per month! That is very big here in my country with only a minimum wage of around $200.

    The work is for everyone, believe me. You don’t need a bachelor’s degree or what. I invited many friends but quit on their first week. Man, you won’t earn fast money on your first week and earnings will not be consistent because it is project based. Just be patient and you’ll get hooked to working like it’s your regular office job!

    REPLY

    Kaykay says:
    February 13th, 2013 at 5:19 am

    Just read your views on Cloudcrowd.I am genuinely interested in working for CC.Can you guide me a little more on this?

  • Rating
      
    CloudCrap says:

    January 7th, 2013 at 5:17 pm

    I was put on probation for having a Categorize Business task rejected. From what I’ve read this was a task placed specifically to catch people out that may be cheating. However, when I looked at the review URL and compared it to both my own submitted URL and the business information supplied with the task, I found that my submitted URL was an entirely accurate match for both the name and address details. The review URL on the other hand, was not. I repeatedly tried to appeal the task only to receive an error every time.

    Additionally, it seems some of the people reviewing my Categorize Business tasks couldn’t tell the difference between B2B and B2C businesses and repeatedly rejected businesses that I classified correctly as B2B. It seems a strange system that one person should be rewarded for incorrectly reviewing another’s work. Who watches the watchers, I ask you?

    I have yet to try any of the longer Writing or Editing tasks. But given my poor experience with the Categorize Business task I’m not sure it is worth investing longer periods of time only for incompetent people to deny me fair compensation.

    REPLY

    Apple says:
    January 14th, 2013 at 12:19 am

    I encourage you to air out your concern in the forum. Workers do learn a lot from there. I have been rejected a lot in categorize business but learned my lesson. Reviewers were also getting better. The support forum will help a lot to get rid of bad reviewers.

  • Rating
      
    Just Wow says:

    January 6th, 2013 at 6:11 pm

    So, based on a reviewer saying that it was “worth it”, I tried Cloud Crowd. You start out with a “confidence rating” of 30. I passed their English Comprehension test and was allowed to do a task in categorizing for five cents! The task was to google search a company name and enter the URL where you find the company’s address and categorize the type of business it is. The problem is they were FOREIGN companies, and the websites were not in English. So using Google translate, I did the best I could. You’re supposed to put the companies in the “most relevant” category, and I put a company that said their “activities” were installation and repair of HVAC equipment and plumbing in an Electrical/HVAC category. Apparently that was wrong. I didn’t know that I was already on probation for getting the first one wrong when I attempted this ill-fated task another time, this time putting a company that said their business was community service in the non-profit/community service category. The next time I tried to click a task, I learned that my account had been deactivated. What a waste of time and aggravation! Their task was obviously impossible, and I’m glad I didn’t waste any more time on a more time-consuming, higher-paying project for them to reject it, refuse to pay, and summarily dismiss me. Don’t waste your time! They just expect miracles for pennies.

    REPLY

    Albert Hall says:
    February 11th, 2013 at 2:06 pm

    Looks like Apple is the only one who likes CC — wonder why …

    Apple says:
    January 14th, 2013 at 12:20 am

    From January 1st to present, I already earned $500 dollars for Categorize Business task alone. Hey air out your concern in the support forum. Be a little more patient. Get mad and get back to work after. :)

  • Rating
      
    Frank says:

    January 1st, 2013 at 10:50 pm

    There are several places on-line to find work as a freelance writer. CC, in my opinion, is the absolute worst of them.

    Their so-called editors fail to follow their own style guides; rejecting work that is done properly. Trying to appeal their failures is a waste of time.

    The end result is a dreadful combination of low pay (because writers don’t get paid when editors screw up) and endless frustration.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Analyst says:

    December 25th, 2012 at 9:56 pm

    Very quick review:

    CC is legitimate, but it is very poorly run. It is OK if you need some quick money, but don’t count on it in the long term. It cannot possibly be profitable at the amounts of work that are coming in, and it does not have enough freelancers to complete big jobs on time. The concept is a good one, but it is far from original. Someone will soon do it better, knocking CC out of the running and eating its lunch in the process.

    The management has been alienating contributors lately by suddenly withdrawing worthwhile work to force people to work on unpalatable projects, and the peer review system is not well thought out. I get the feeling it is managed by a bunch of ornery teenagers, although it is supposedly run by “veteran tech entrepreneurs.”

    Don’t get sucked into the whole “community” thing and waste time on the forums. CC uses and abuses its freelancers – use it to make quick money and let CC go to hell when you have something better to do.

    REPLY

    Analyst says:
    December 25th, 2012 at 9:59 pm

    I also have full credentials and no ax to grind. I have had my good days at CC, but you cannot rely on it and there are better platforms out there.

  • Rating
      
    Sherry says:

    December 15th, 2012 at 9:54 pm

    CC is just ok. They pay three cents a word, which is pretty poor, but much better than Textbroker. The only thing that makes it not worth it is if you get stupid rejections by smarty pants editors that think that they know it all. There are some easy projects sometimes and you can find yourself making a one or two hundred dollars a day sometimes…but it isnt consistent. All in all, if you are a good writer, you should be making at least triple the pay from what they expect from you sometimes.

    I managed to score the editing, writing, and marketing credentials, so this isnt sour grapes. I just find it amusing how some writers and editors on the forum are good workers, yet work all day on CC for shit pay. Some workers seem like they make this their full time job…spending hours on the site and forum, posting comments in order to be “helpful”. I’m sure most think that they are earning brownie points with this. But CC is a dead end gig.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Reggie says:

    November 30th, 2012 at 12:59 pm

    I have earned thousands of dollars from Cloudcrowd already. This month, I’m on course to earn more than 2000 dollars, which is 10x my salary when I was still working at an office. I’m not a native English writer but I’m very good with words having won several writing contests locally and abroad. As long as you are a good writer and can follow instructions, then you can earn big money from CC. I had my fair share of rejections, some of which I felt were unwarranted or wrong, but I never lost hope.

    REPLY

    Abby says:
    October 17th, 2013 at 6:31 pm

    I do not believe this is a legitimate review.

    Reggie says:
    December 6th, 2012 at 7:45 am

    Ngoc Anh, you need to take the Editor credential test. Then they will review your work to see if you pass the test.

    Ngoc Anh says:
    December 4th, 2012 at 4:26 am

    Can you tell me how to get a Credential of Editor.I don’t understand a require of this?

  • Rating
      
    Anne C. says:

    November 19th, 2012 at 8:32 pm

    I detect a hint of sour grapes with all these “published authors” who couldn’t make the grade at CC. I have a high school education and I’m making decent money there. It’s true that the editors are sometimes rude and unprofessional. I have had to appeal a few decisions and some have gone in my favor and some have not. They pay every day. They pay better than the other content mills. Those facts alone are worth the BS that I sometimes have to put up with. While some of the editors are real jerks, some of them take extra time to offer helpful advice that I have used to my benefit, and I’m grateful for their time. People are people, you know. Peer editing can be a PIA, but it’s part of the reason CC is able to pay a higher rate, which benefits the writers in the end. Over all, I’d have to say that if you are a native English speaker with a semi-decent grip on the more common grammar issues, you can make a decent living with CC, provided they have the work available. Sure, sites like Textbroker will give you great reviews and stroke your ego, but at 1.4 cents a word they can afford to do that. Give me the blunt criticism of CC along with the chance to actually improve.

    REPLY

    Abby says:
    October 17th, 2013 at 6:33 pm

    It’s interesting that Reggie is the only one who responded to your post. The fact is there are many legitimate complaints about how reviews are handled on this website.

    Reggie says:
    November 30th, 2012 at 1:04 pm

    I agree with you. I’m not a native English writer, though, but that didn’t stop me from earning decent money from CC.

  • Rating
      
    Ceridwen says:

    November 15th, 2012 at 3:51 pm

    Given the supposedly emphasis on language quality, CloudCrowd’s own job instructions are a semi-comprehensible joke. The tasks I tried involved tagging a product description with a size descriptor. This was pure guesswork! I classed a wall picture as medium and was penalized because it was supposedly large. No criteria whatsoever were provided regarding sizing. The tone of the email telling me that my work had been rejected totally offensive. At that point, I deleted the app from my computer forthwith.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    RosalieG says:

    November 12th, 2012 at 8:43 pm

    I did product reviews and they want you to choose an answer from the multiple choice that isn’t in the list. I don’t get it. What is the real motive behind this product info thing – to give that website clicks?

    For instance, let’s say it asks what the size of a 40 inch dog bed is and the choices for the answer are XL, L,M,S. I go to the attached URL and it says it is a medium bed. I choose medium. But CloudCrowd rejects it and says the answer was 40. How the heck do you choose 40 when there is no 40 in the choices. So not only do I not earn my $0.02, but I have credibility deducted.

    What is the point?????

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    LT says:

    October 25th, 2012 at 2:27 pm

    Disclaimer: I am one of the many editors who work for CC; however I have not been paid for this.

    CloudCrowd is still going strong, and it has recently upped its pay. CloudCrowd is a legit site, and I have been paid by them for over two years. I can honestly say that CC does not use rejected work, and I’ve had plenty over the years.

    It has paid me a fair bit of money over the past two years, and for most of that, I’ve been part time.

    We don’t care about qualifications. All we care about are two things: Can you follow instructions, and can you write reasonably compelling error-free work? If you refer to a company as a plural entity, use the wrong quotes, or misspell words, you’re not likely to pass. If you use US English, follow our style guide, and follow instructions, you will pass.

    It’s not a scam, and there are a lot of regular workers on the platform. If you do take the tests–and they have changed drastically in the past month–read the instructions carefully.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    JojoMonster says:

    September 20th, 2012 at 3:18 pm

    CLOUDCROWD still up and going strong ..

    Yes it may be crappy for the past years.. but it did survive?
    unlike others that disappear right?

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Bea says:

    August 26th, 2012 at 11:23 pm

    I’m sorry for all of the bitter commentators but stating CloudCrowd as a scam is unfair because CC is not. Although, I agree with the faulty rejections other reviewers commit but other than that I have no problem with CC. $1 is equivalent to 40+ in our country so we love to work for CC.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Well Then says:

    August 5th, 2012 at 4:13 pm

    I have been working through CloudCrowd and haven’t managed to get much of anything out of it and frankly have had difficulty scrolling through its credential test and work areas, appears they have some script problems they need to correct.

    They do seem to have some admins that are working on the problem of lame corrections / rejections which is a top ranking problem area on their support forum. Based on what I have read there. So maybe that will change and maybe it will not.

    That aside,

    My question to the other commenters / reviewers here is,

    Well Then.

    If CloudCrowd isn’t good (relative to various cloud-based services) then what is? what is a good cloud-based service? any thoughts at all on this?

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Cloudcrowder says:

    July 31st, 2012 at 8:58 pm

    Cloudcrowd is a complete scam. Many (most??) of their employees are non-native English speakers and will reject work for things that aren’t actually errors. I would stay far away from CC unless you’re desperate.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Taffy says:

    May 22nd, 2012 at 11:43 am

    Pretty much what everyone else has said. They expect perfect work for slave wages. Reminds me of piece work or a cyber sweatshop. I will not work it! Just my opinion….decide for yourself, of course.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    katie says:

    May 15th, 2012 at 8:45 am

    from reading all the reviews it seems Cloud Crowd is a bad employer – best to stay away

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Anonymous says:

    April 18th, 2012 at 4:15 pm

    Has anyone ever considered these “editors” reviewing the submitted work are located in another country and were educated from outdated books while sitting around a village camp fire?

    REPLY

    Frank says:
    January 1st, 2013 at 10:52 pm

    This is quite possibly the best explanation for the way CC that I can think of.

  • Rating
      
    Sapphire says:

    April 17th, 2012 at 8:25 am

    I signed up to Crowd Cloud some time last year. I completed three tasks and had two of them rejected. One which was rejected was the Editor Credential. It was rejected because of two minor mistakes. When I say “minor mistakes”, the fact of the matter is that one wasn’t even a mistake. It was whomever had edited my edit who had cited a spelling error because they did not know that both my version and theirs were correct (I had looked it up).

    It also seems that you need to have a really high score to do anything and some of the tasks are impossible.

    The pay is pretty much worthless but, apart from that, if they decide that one article isn’t good enough then they will remove points and they won’t always pay what you have already earned.

    I have also been writing for a long time. I was first published when I was 14 years old (that’s about 17 years ago). I write for several well-established websites.

    While I am happy to have constructive criticism regarding my work, I did not see the problem with the work I did for Cloud Crowd.

    I have discovered that they have made some changes and am going to give them one more chance. Although, when I only have a score of 23, this isn’t going to be easy.

    REPLY

    dee says:
    July 13th, 2012 at 4:34 am

    what sites do you write for?

  • Shaun says:

    April 5th, 2012 at 10:13 am

    I can’t say anything that hasn’t already been said, but I do agree that they pay. The problem I have is that they are clearly using work that I have submitted that was rejected.

    REPLY

    Frank says:
    January 1st, 2013 at 10:53 pm

    If you have proof of this, sue their asses.

    Analyst says:
    December 25th, 2012 at 10:06 pm

    Do you have proof of this? They deny it and I believe that they are correct. CC is not dishonest, just mismanaged.

  • Fiona says:

    April 2nd, 2012 at 3:02 am

    As a professional writer with 20 years experience as a journalist and a writer of articles on just about any subject, my worst writing experience ever was at Cloud Crowd.

    Now, considering my clients never reject my work – ever, ever, ever – to have all the articles I wrote for Cloud Crowd rejected for reasons that were not correct was beyond disgusting.

    I wouldn’t touch Cloud Crowd if they were the last content farm on the planet. Awful place. Awful people.

    I would also guess, with the editing tests, they are using your editing for clients’ work,even after they have told you it’s not good enough. They’re just not paying the writer for it as your work was supposedly ‘rejected’.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    ProWorker says:

    March 13th, 2012 at 1:03 pm

    Hostile is the right word. Other workers are paid to find/imagine errors in your work. Then you don’t get paid. PITA.

    REPLY
  • radeeant says:

    February 28th, 2012 at 1:00 am

    Wayne, did they pay you for that comment? lol

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Victoria says:

    February 18th, 2012 at 5:49 pm

    I tried writing for CloudCrowd, but found it to be a hostile work environment. Considering I work from home, that’s saying something. It took me two tries to pass their level 1 writer test. I then wrote one article for them and did get paid promptly, but was denied a bonus payout because my article had to be “fixed up” — the editor workers here get paid by fixing up errors in the written articles, but there doesn’t seem to be anyone checking them to see if they actually fix anything. I saw the article they submitted and there were no errors corrected, only a few words changed around here and there.

    I tried to pass the editing test so I could see if the articles for the level 2 writers were any better, but I failed the editing test both times. They direct you to a Chinese or Korean web site to edit and give you an hour, telling you it will be 80-100 words, but they also say that if the site has five paragraphs or less that you must do the entire page. Both times in a row, I ended up with 750-1000 word pages to edit. The first time I was rejected because a direct quote on the company’s page didn’t make much sense in English (but there were no guidelines given for proofreading a direct quote) and the second time I was rejected because the editor did not like my use of parallelism in a series. The second rejection dropped my credibility too low to even write general articles anymore.

    I am not doing any more work for Cloud Crowd, and I highly recommend that writers interested in online content go elsewhere. This place does pay promptly, which is the only reason it is 2 stars, but almost every content writing site out there pays weekly now. There’s no reason to use Cloud Crowd for anything. The workers are expected to monitor other workers, which leads to a core group of individuals seemingly vested in keeping others out to reduce competition and to preserve their profits (since they make more money for rejecting people than for accepting them, it would seem.)

    REPLY

    Marianat says:
    June 13th, 2013 at 11:26 am

    You said you work from home. Do you have any better alternatives to cloudcrowd?

  • Rating
      
    Jessica says:

    February 6th, 2012 at 12:47 am

    My submissions to Cloudcrowd were rejected. The first submission had two errors that I should have caught before submitting. The second submission was excellent. After it was rejected, I submitted it to my former college English professor for review. She disagreed with the corrections made by Cloudcrowd, as did I. When I went to their forums to find out exactly who had passed these tests, I found postings with random capitalization, constant use of the word “loose” in place of “lose”, grammatical errors, spelling errors, etc. If the forums are any indication of who is able to pass these tests, I’d rather not be associated with this company – especially for jobs that pay a penny.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Exercise in Futility says:

    January 31st, 2012 at 6:31 pm

    I am a professional editor of technical books and have worked for a major U.S. publishing house for over 20 years, but I couldn’t pass their test for the editing credential. They gave me a Chinese website to edit, and the writing was so bad that being able to correct the English would involve at least knowledge of the subject area but, more importantly, the ability to query the author to learn what they are trying to say. Without either, I did the best I could, and I think I did a very good job, but they failed me anyway.

    REPLY

    Cloudcrowder says:
    July 31st, 2012 at 8:59 pm

    The person who reviewed your credential was probably Chinese. Not kidding. They farm most of their work out to south east Asia so the people correcting your writing don’t actually use English as a primary language.

    Suspicious says:
    May 24th, 2012 at 9:45 pm

    I LOL’ed when I read your post. First of all, because I am very relieved that even an editor with 20 years of experience could not pass the credential test (no offense intended against you though because I just felt so bad about myself for not having been able to pass). Secondly, because I thought the exact same thing you did when attempting the editing credential.

    The English was so horrible that I had to think long and hard just to get a vague idea of what the writer was attempting to say. You are spot on! In order to do a good job, a person definitely must have a decent knowledge of the subject AND they need to communicate with the original author. Otherwise the only thing you can do is take a guess. And that is pretty much what I had to do in order to get the test done.

    And you should be pleased to know they rejected me for what was said to be “Awkward ESL phrasing throughout; comma errors” In fact, here is the work I actually did. I wouldn’t mind having a second opinion:
    ————————————————-
    Original Writing:

    Cangzhou City Hengtai Machine Co., Ltd. is an annex to set research, innovation, development, production and sales as one of the large-scale private enterprises, the company has passed the ISO9001 quality system certification, the company has special equipment and precision CNC foreign professional and technical personnel. ****Have the capacity to produce all kinds of Tuolian, Paixie machines, shields, cooling pipe products, and have the capacity to produce export products and domestic-made products needed in all areas of powerful, occupy the high ground of domestic and attracted domestic and users of peer – A high degree of concern, the company in the country similar products manufacturing industry has obvious advantages. Company covers an area of 5,600 square meters, the new plant is expanding and plans to introduce more advanced countries of the equipment, and train more staff to go abroad to learn new technology to the introduction of new equipment.****
    ———————————
    Edited Version:

    Our company has the capacity to produce Tuolian, Paixie machines, shields, and cooling pipe products. We have many advantages over the domestic manufacturing companies of our buyers. That is why we put a lot of focus on attracting international business and exporting our industry products to other countries.

    Cangzhou City Hengtai Machine Co. covers an area of 5,600 square meters and has plans to expand with a new plant. From there we will begin serving the equipment needs of even more developed countries by hiring and training more staff. This new staff will then go abroad to learn new technology. The newly acquired knowledge they gain will be used to create newer and better products.
    ————————————————-

    I am not saying my revision is perfect, but I think I did a pretty good job-especially given the original material. I have been rejected for credentials three times. Always for very minor mistakes that an editor could have corrected literally in a few seconds. If they want your writing to be absolutely perfect, they should only hire editors and let them do all the writing.

  • Rating
      
    Thinking out of the Box says:

    December 31st, 2011 at 9:32 pm

    Just curious as “Waste of Time” and “Noelia” were indicating…
    What’s keeping this company or any company for that matter from using your input, talents, writing skills? Then rejecting your projects claiming they are not adequate? Without paying you of course!
    Is there a tracking of the “job” that “you” can go back and verify what had actually been accepted?

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Waste of Time says:

    December 22nd, 2011 at 2:55 pm

    What respectable work site would expect you to read five to fifteen minutes worth of instructions before you start a $.10 (cents, not dollars) task that will take you another five to ten minutes to actually complete (this real example is the find quote task)? Even if you plan to do 10 of them, if they have that many available, that’s slave labor. Add to that the broken editorial system requiring constant appeals to get paid for your often wrongly-rejected work and you just have a colossal waste of time.

    I will browse it every now and then when better-paying sites are slow, but it’s out of morbid curiosity. There are most definitely better writing sites out there, even if you only have a small amount of time to work.

    REPLY

    Suspicious says:
    May 24th, 2012 at 9:06 pm

    I keep getting the feeling that they benefit more from your failure than your success. Even when doing the tests for writing and editor credentials, I have no idea if I am actually doing work for one of their clients which they will reject and yet still sell. Seems like a good way for them to get free writing done-especially if they already have more writers than they really need. Why wouldn’t they reject the new applicants and keep their work for themselves?

  • Rating
      
    Noelia says:

    December 17th, 2011 at 7:23 am

    I can’t tell if it is a scam when it comes to actually give you work or pay you because I never made it that. I am a professional translator yet all my credential work on cloudwork was rejected. The first time I let it pass because there were some typos on the work and it seemed fair, the second time my work was impeccable. I believe they favor Americans to Latin Americans when it comes to rating the work and prefer to keep rejecting you for nothing. A very bad experience in my case, that I wouldn’t recommend to people that can get other jobs. This is only for desperate workers whose reputation won’t be affected by the cloudwork community.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Wayne Pierelli says:

    October 13th, 2011 at 8:51 pm

    Great information. I am surprised that this website has so few relative workers. They offer a great service to their customers and to their workers. I haven’t made much money on the site yet but if you put in the time it is very do-able.

    REPLY

Add Your Review



Your Comment:

Choose a Rating

Please Write Your ReviewRead Review Guidelines