Ebates Reviews – Legit or Scam?

 


Ebates.com
from 108 reviews Review It
Ebates.com

 

Ebates.com is a rewards website where members can earn up to 25% cash back on their online purchases at over 1,200 online stores without having to redeem points, mail in forms, or pay membership fees.

Rewards websites like Ebates earn a commission when you purchase an item from one of their partner stores. In turn, they pay part of that commission to you to ensure you continue shopping through Ebates at their partner stores.

When you initially register at Ebates.com, you will be asked to choose a bonus $10 gift card. This gift card will be awarded to you after you have earned your first $25 in cash back.

Earning Cash Back

Whenever you are hoping to earn cash back with Ebates, you must use either their website or their downloadable toolbar to access their partner stores.

Even if you have purchased at that store through Ebates previously, you must access that store through Ebates every time to get credit. If Ebates does not receive credit for your purchase then you cannot earn cash back.

If you refer friends and family members to use Ebates, you can also earn cash back on their first purchase through Ebates.

Unfortunately, returns and exchanges of purchased items will cancel out your cash back earnings. When you exchange an item, the store will consider that a brand new purchase not done through Ebates, so you won’t be able to earn cash back.

Getting Your Cash Back

As long as you have earned more than $5.01, you will receive a cash back payment every 3 months in February, May, August, and November. If you have earned less than $5.01, your earnings will be carried over to the next check.

You can have the check mailed to you or directly deposited into your PayPal account. You can also have the check mailed to a charity or a family member, if you choose. Simply make sure to set up your account to reflect how you want your earnings paid out.

If you're at Reviewopedia.com because you're looking for a way to make money online then check out our article "7 Ways to Make Money Online" - methods that anyone can use to earn an income from home.

 

 

Would you like to add your review for
Ebates ?
If so, click here
 
Share This Page!

 

Customer Responses, Reviews, or Complaints


Average Rating for " Ebates " is 2.86 out of 5 based on 108 reviews.

  • Rating
      
    Diana says:

    June 17th, 2014 at 11:12 pm

    I have used ebates quite a bit in the last year and I have not had any problems with it. When I get to a certain amount of “cash back” they have sent a check pretty quickly. They also get some good prices and coupons on specials on the internet. I would highly recommend them.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Amber says:

    May 29th, 2014 at 8:55 am

    I have used ebates for close to two years now and love it. I have accumulated over $200.00 back from making my usual purchases online. I have never had trouble with their site. Sometimes it takes a significant amount of time for my credit to be added. I give it about a week and use the “Where’s my credit” option and it immediately adds my credit. No complaints from this gal.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Grandma D says:

    March 25th, 2014 at 1:37 am

    I used this site and got 1 check from a couple of purchases made. No problems then. Now I cannot get through the page to the site. The Ebates #___ just keeps running and running without going to the site I have chosen.
    Anyone know shy I can’t get through. I emailed Ebates and they told me ‘what to do’ but it didn’t change. I would like to use Ebates!

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Jennifer says:

    March 7th, 2014 at 6:31 pm

    My purchases rarely show up in my cash back even though I click through properly. When I inquire about it, I’m routed to an offshore “customer service center” that asks me to send in documentation, even when it has been logged on their site. Why should the customer be the one to manage missing cash back? What a rip off.

    REPLY

    Beth says:
    June 30th, 2014 at 12:41 am

    Actually Aramando,

    You can be ripped off! Since this is a marketing tool, your personal info is shared through mass retailers and marketing. Essentially it is not free money, but a reward for allowing them to use you as a data set in research analysis. It is not a favor, you are doing THEM a favor, it is no different then being paid to do online questionnaires. It is also not a issue of not using the site accurately. One should not “have to” request. . . “Where is my money”, ever. It should not take weeks to receive nor should you have to continually question issues. Before trashing others, I suggest you learn a little about marketing gimmicks and data.

    Beth

    Armando says:
    June 11th, 2014 at 8:47 pm

    You must be quite special. You cant be ripped off anything that was not yours in the first place. They are doing you the favor by giving you discount, coupons, and cash back. I have received over $200 with no issue. If I do have questions they reply promptly. You just do not know how to use the site. That’s your only problem.

  • Rating
      
    SHARON JENKINS says:

    February 12th, 2014 at 4:10 am

    I CONSTANTLY HAVE TO FIGHT WITH THEM TO GET THE CREDIT I DESERVE. IT’S ANNOYING & TIME CONSUMING! I REFERRED 1 PERSON & SHE HAD THE SAME BAD EPERIENCE & QUIT EBATES. SAID IT WAS NOT WORTH ALL THE TIME YOU HAD TO FIGHT FOR CREDIT EARNED. IF THERE IS ANOTHER CO. THAT WOULD RU IT MORE HONESTLY I WILL JOIN IT AS I AM DONE WITH THOSE SCAMMERS EBATES!

    REPLY

    BH says:
    March 7th, 2014 at 6:27 pm

    So true. The credits only post about 10% of the time and they make you jump through so many hoops to get proper credit. I’ve had to fight with them for weeks, and they keep asking to get receipts and other documentation even though it shows up in their system! Not worth the hassle. I think they do this on purpose to cheat people of out their money.

  • Rating
      
    D's Mom says:

    December 15th, 2013 at 2:10 pm

    Misleading! Ordered a pair of expensive shoes for my mother as a gift and used Ebates and ShoeBuy because of the discount and free exchanges. Figured there may be a problem with sizing and I was hoping the shoe would solve a serious foot problem. Needed to exchange the shoes for another size and lost the rebate!! After a couple of emails I was pointed to the bottom of the help page that had the question:

    “What if I want to return or cancel an order?”

    At the end of this they tell you that exchanging will also negate your rebate. Why not put that right up front? If I’d known ahead of time I would have ordered multiple sizes and returned what didn’t fit. They say, “cancel and re-order” through them but the special has expired. Buyer beware.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Works for me! says:

    November 13th, 2013 at 1:57 pm

    I’ve received consistent paypal deposits for about 2 years now, so I’m pretty happy with it. Bunch of trolls commenting up there. It’s not much but after a few months it does add up. Typically I order from the kids’ clothing stores. Zulily only gives like 2% so it’s only cents each time but it’s better than nothing! Kohls and Old Navy etc. a few bucks here and there, again better than nothing. I don’t log in there every day to catch the really high deals but it works well for what I use it for. :)

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Eddy88 says:

    September 13th, 2013 at 5:16 am

    Placed an order at home depot through e-bates, by using there suggested link for a percent off. Received my order and it did not show up on e-bates. Asked them to check on it and they told me to wait a week for it to shows up in my e-bate account. Never showed up and now they say I did not place the order through there site! What a rip! Now I find that this has happened to more people than I can count! RIP OFF!!!!!

    REPLY

    Milo says:
    August 18th, 2014 at 12:03 pm

    They are ripping you off because they advertise mainly based on their cash back program.

    If their offer is a gift card on sign up and coupons for consumer use, why entice people with an offer of cashback.

    If the retailers are paying a commission to ebates that is supposed to be shared with the consumer, Ebates is getting paid for you to shop at a store you would use regardless of Ebates existence. I don’t believe in adding unnecessary steps in the producer to end user chain, because every step is added expense for the consumer.

    Armando says:
    June 11th, 2014 at 8:54 pm

    You guys make no sense! Must be a bunch of ____ (fill in the blank). How are they ripping you off? You are getting the items you ordered and coupons that apply. Even if you don’t get money back, you are paying the regular price you would have in the first place. Nothing lost nothing gained. Enough said.

    BH says:
    March 7th, 2014 at 6:29 pm

    Same experience. The do this on purpose, I think.

    SHARON JENKINS says:
    February 12th, 2014 at 4:14 am

    YOU ARE SO RIGHT! I’M HEARING THE SAME NEGATIVE COMMENTS! THEY CHEATED ME MORE THAN ONCE!!

  • Rating
      
    Sue says:

    August 12th, 2013 at 7:01 am

    I wrote about the problems with Ebates and Overstock not getting my coupon discount. I contacted Overstock and they adjusted my bill directly since the computer wasn’t doing it. Then Ebates also attended to the problem. So my first experience was difficult but ended with great satisfaction.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Sue says:

    August 11th, 2013 at 3:59 pm

    Today I tried to use a coupon with Ebates for Overstock.com for free shipping but on my bill they charged
    for shipping. I told Ebates and all of a sudden that coupon was no longer valid even though it was sent to
    my email address today. Then I tried to use a $15.00 off coupon through Ebates to use at Overstock and
    didn’t get $15.00 off my bill as the coupon suggested I would. SO TAKE A CAREFUL LOOK AT YOUR BILLS
    BEFORE PAYING THEM AND MAKE CERTAIN THE PROMISED OFFER IS DISCOUNTED AS MINE WASN’T. JUST
    A WARNING!

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Amy Windus says:

    July 31st, 2013 at 4:55 pm

    I think your website sounds too good to be true! I never believe anything off of television! Ebates has to be pulling something up your sleeve to consumers! I will stick with shopping at Walmart and where I know that I don’t get ripped off!

    REPLY

    Oh, please.... says:
    October 25th, 2013 at 5:54 pm

    Let me get this straight-you think WalMart DOESN’T rip people off?

  • Rating
      
    Trace says:

    July 30th, 2013 at 2:55 pm

    These guys are definitely legit and not a scam. I have been a customer of theirs since 2004 and have collectively gotten $600+ back from them. Why the three stars? Lately I’ve been having trouble automatically getting credit for my purchases. I actually keep a list of my purchases on my phone to make sure that I get credited. I usually have to end up emailing them to have the purchase manually credited to my account. They always end up crediting me, it’s just annoying to have to submit a request for it.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Eaton Sheppard says:

    July 23rd, 2013 at 11:14 pm

    I am very pleased with Ebates. We’ve received multiple checks (totaling $160 so far, albeit over 4 years), so I can assure you that it’s not a scam. On the negative side, they did used to have problems recognizing when I’d used their gateway, but every time I e-mailed them about it, they corrected it, and my account was credited. With their browser app, I’ve recently found it far easier to make sure that I take advance of the cash back whenever possible. I realize you can’t know me from Adam, and maybe I sound too much like a company plant, but I am honestly happy with the savings.

    REPLY

    Eaton Sheppard says:
    July 23rd, 2013 at 11:19 pm

    clarification: Although I’ve had Ebates for 4 years, I only started using it in earnest last year, so all $160 was from the last 15 months.

  • Rating
      
    Tried and tested says:

    July 23rd, 2013 at 8:46 am

    More or less a fraud. Made two big purchases, never got anything. They claimed that I never made any purchase through them though I gave them their site generated code.
    Dont waste your time.

    REPLY

    SHARON JENKINS says:
    February 12th, 2014 at 4:24 am

    I’VE BEEN WITH THEM FOR YEARS AS WELL. NEVER HAVE TROUBLE GETTING $2 AND UNDER CREDIT. WHEN I MAKE HUGE PURCHASES WHERE I GET A BIG CREDIT, FORGET IT ! I SPEND HOURS SENDING THEM ALL INFO TO PROVE MY PURCHASE & STILL NO CREDIT! I’LL GUARANTEE OVER TIME YOU’LL BE SCAMMED!! THEY ARE MAKING MONEY OFF OF YOUR PURCHASE AND THEY DON’T WANT TO GIVE YOU WHAT YOU DESERVE! SHAMEFUL!!!

  • Rating
      
    Bdawg says:

    July 9th, 2013 at 1:01 pm

    All these negative reviews…I’m glad I looked a little deeper.do you realize jellybean is the only happy customer.owner?employee?

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    chris says:

    July 4th, 2013 at 7:25 pm

    This is just sickening. Why are a few trolls (employees ) allowed to reply back to low ranked reviews, like they are the arbiter of amything while we know most were never given these cash back rewards they were priomised.
    Now i hear they acquired fatwallet.
    ..what next?
    Pretty pathetic
    …..

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    serenity says:

    July 4th, 2013 at 10:16 am

    I wouldnt even give them a 1. I never got my promotional gift card. Ive made numerous purchases and went through the ebates site and it was never recorded. It’s bull. How can you have a site that works when it wants… not worth my time. Emailing customer service sucks! Good luck everyone!! I’ll stick to my best buy rewards zone online shopping & get my points for that!! :)

    REPLY

    SHARON JENKINS says:
    February 12th, 2014 at 4:26 am

    AMEN!!!

  • Rating
      
    khb says:

    June 21st, 2013 at 3:34 pm

    I have been a member of Ebates for over two years and have received multiple checks. Trust me when I say that there are some websites that seem too good to be true, but Ebates has proven to be consistent when sending out checks. Thank you Ebates!

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    cathrine says:

    June 16th, 2013 at 7:43 pm

    This is not a website you need to trust. Ebates promoted for 14% of cash back from Nordstrom last month. I complete the purchase and them they said they cannot give me any cash back, because Nordstrom didn’t give them any commssion finally. I checked with Nordstrom, and they said they never have this kind of deal with Ebates. Ebates did not post the real cash back deal. Don’t be fool by them again for a bigger promotion. Don’t wastes your time with Ebates and disclosure your information to them.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    anon says:

    May 24th, 2013 at 12:24 pm

    Ebates isn’t worth the time and frustration. there are several cashback sites out there, do research, read reviews, take advice…don’t use ebates.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    paulakindlefire says:

    May 10th, 2013 at 2:53 am

    I have been using ebates for less than a year and have gotten $80+ back. I have recommended it to many friends. Everyone has gotten their initial reward card and I have received my bonus for referring them. No problems, no issues, just extra money. Who can complain?

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Tom says:

    May 9th, 2013 at 3:03 am

    So far so good. Just joined and made a couple purchases to see what will happen. Will keep everyone posted.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    fran says:

    April 30th, 2013 at 3:49 pm

    I joined ebates and got a check for $5.00 and nothing for the order I put through Amazon. I was told it was because Amazon does issue anything off on the product I ordered. So I only got $5.00 and my order does not count for anything . In simple words, I got nothing from ebates even though it said it would on their sight

    REPLY

    Jackie says:
    June 28th, 2013 at 12:16 pm

    Which department of amazon though? It specifically states under amazon certain departments DO NOT pay.

    I for one have not had issues with ebates. I haven’t received unwanted emails, ive received my cash back. Like someone said, you do want to keep track to make sure you receive credit, but this is nothing new to me. Lots of companies you have to keep up with.

  • Rating
      
    This guy says:

    April 21st, 2013 at 10:17 am

    Jillybean is obviously one of the vultures that works for this website. I don’t feel as they’re trustworthy and would avoid at all costs

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    me! says:

    April 11th, 2013 at 8:31 am

    I have already received 2 checks from Ebay, plus a gift card for Target. I have $62 pending right now and should get that next time checks are cut. The only issue I have is sometimes my cash back is not credited so I keep a list of items I should get cash back for, and email them if I dont see it in a day or so. I use ebates all the time as I order all supplies online for business, and i order personal stuff online too.

    REPLY

    No beleiv eit! says:
    November 6th, 2013 at 9:37 pm

    Something is wrong or fishy here. No company will just give away money for nothing without making money. I’m sure if you dig deep and researched further you’ll find the answer. No thanks! I’ll shop for sales and discounts son my own.

  • Rating
      
    DrLogic says:

    April 10th, 2013 at 7:56 pm

    All,

    I’ve only been on Ebates for 2.5 years and I’ve had only minor issues getting cash back. I order online ALL THE TIME! So, it was in my best interest to do something like this. Anyway, in all, I’ve received $241 back in that time span. To the newbies or the ignorant of how it works, you MUST 1) go thru their web portal or use their toolbar, 2) get a tracking ticket number {usually done automatically}, 3)surf the vendor site, 4) pay for the order online. As soon as the order clears, you should get an email about how much cash back you earned. 5) Then wait for every quarter for your “Big Fat Check”. To be honest, even with as much as I order online, the checks aren’t really that big. But every little bit helps.

    The only issue I’ve had are when I forget to go thru their portal or get a tracking ticket number. Without that, they have no way to track your order, I think. The couple of times that I did have an issue, they were very quick to respond, once I gave them the tracking ticket number. They are legit, and I don’t get any more junk mail from their vendors than I would get anyway.

    The Ebates vendors that I buy from on a consistent basis online are: WalMart, Lowes, Home Depot, Sears, Oneida, Autozone, Advanced Auto, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, JC Penny, K-Mart, Kohl’s, Motel 6, New Balance, Office Depot, Office Max, Staples, Sam’s Club, Target, and Toys ‘R Us. Supposedly Ebay is on there, but I haven’t been able to figure out how to get cash back from there. I wish that Menards and Amazon.com were vendors, but I guess you can’t have everything.

    For the record, I really like Ebates and suggest it to those who do a lot of shopping online. Make sure you understand how it works before jumping in. …and for the record, I HATE toolbars, but their old one is ok. Their new toolbar add-on stinks, IMHO.

    Good Luck!

    DrLogic.

    REPLY

    Dr Logic says:
    December 9th, 2013 at 7:04 pm

    To “Oh, please”,

    I don’t work for Ebates…. and no, I didn’t get a “big fat check” for my glowing review. Don’t misunderstand:

    1. Ebates is legit. I have used them for 3 years now… “successfully”.
    2. You aren’t going to get rich by using them. You only get between 1% and 6% cash back, which most of the time is going to be less than the sales tax that you pay for the total purchase of each order.
    {e.g. I have spent over $4,000 in online orders in the past 3 years, and I’ve only gotten $274.44 cash back.}
    3. I would imagine the only way they can make money is thru the advertising they do for their vendors on their web portal.

    Oh, please.... says:
    October 25th, 2013 at 5:56 pm

    And how long have you worked for Ebates, sir? Have you gotten a “big fat check” from them for your glowing review yet?

  • Rating
      
    Ebates is crap says:

    April 7th, 2013 at 5:36 pm

    First off ppl, all the good reviews are ppl from ebates! It’s crap don’t waste your time

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    S says:

    April 7th, 2013 at 12:02 pm

    Ebates cheated us out of $200.

    REPLY

    jillybean says:
    April 9th, 2013 at 3:52 pm

    Please explain how so the rest of us can beware.

  • Muy says:

    March 28th, 2013 at 7:20 am

    No customer service, ugly layout. Inact me account that has 30 dollars. You cannot hope to get any thing you got back

    REPLY

    anon says:
    May 24th, 2013 at 12:22 pm

    muy, i agree. horrible customer service. i purposely made a purchase for the double cashback, and after 2 weeks of me asking about it, they said they couldn’t give it to me. and thats not the first time. 12 times this has happened, each time a different excuse why i dont get the cash back. customer service sucks, and they won’t work with you on anything. so jillybean, your advice isn’t so great.

    SDF says:
    May 12th, 2013 at 4:51 pm

    I’ve been using eBates for a few years now and they are not consistent. They will remove your “cash pending” with no explanation. The kicker is that they DO NOT have customer service. You cannot call them. They only accept emails for complaints, HOWEVER, the responses to your emails are never answers to your questions only boiler plate responses that do not resolve anything. I keep using them only because it’s free and sometimes they do send cash. I think it says volumes that they don’t provide answers to users questions, they obviously only want to provide cash if it works for them NOT if it works with the rules they post on their site. Frustrating!

    jillybean says:
    April 9th, 2013 at 3:54 pm

    You only get a check each quarter, mine always come promptly. I would email them with your issue, they always get back to me that way.

  • Rating
      
    Jeannie says:

    March 25th, 2013 at 1:15 am

    Ebates states that I have cash pending. They say that they have To have an address to mail check. However, there is no place that I could find where I can add my address. It is a complete run-around. I am beginning to not trust this site. Seems, after reading these reviews, I am not alone. I am being generous with a 2 rating.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Jenny says:

    March 19th, 2013 at 1:14 pm

    Sadly, this worked great, until my account information was stolen (or sold) and they stopped giving me credit for my online shopping. I have to “where’s my cash back” inquiry to make sure my account gets credited appropriately EVERY SINGLE TIME. Don’t use this site…it’s not worth the effort. There are other rebate companies that are better.

    REPLY

    jillybean says:
    April 9th, 2013 at 3:57 pm

    Can you tell the rest of us what those sites are?

  • Mk says:

    March 18th, 2013 at 11:14 am

    I was gonna use ebates to do some shopping but the reviews are mote bad than good. So Dan anybody recommend another site yo get payed to shop. Thanks

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Tina S says:

    March 17th, 2013 at 8:16 pm

    Made 2 different purchases online using Ebates. Both time I was asked to verify and confirm all of my information.I have never received any cash back as they promise.Both times customer care told me they didn’t have record of my purchase,even though I sent all the confirmation emails,with receipts.Very disappointed will no longer use this web site.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Maggie says:

    March 14th, 2013 at 5:56 pm

    They sell your email address….that’s were the money is….more new email address more money….works for a couple months…sell sell sell that screws

    REPLY

    jillybean says:
    April 9th, 2013 at 4:09 pm

    Never had that problem, and have never been solicited thru my email by anyone other than companies that I purchase from. But I would think most online shopping companies do this anyway. I’ve gotten emails from companies NOT thru Ebates, so they all do it. You’re right, it’s where SOME money is, but the minute you even look at some sites without even buying (and I’m talking other than Ebates) you’re sold. They ALL do it, so don’t single amyone out.

  • Rating
      
    Susan says:

    March 9th, 2013 at 5:25 am

    I made a purchase from Lowes.com thru the Ebates site for 900.00, three months ago. I have not been credited the 3 percent cashback from this purchase. I have emailed customer service twice and given them the order number, purchase date and price, and a copy of the receipt from Lowe’s and have they have not responded to either email. I am a very unhappy customer and will not use their site again.

    REPLY

    SHARON JENKINS says:
    February 12th, 2014 at 4:33 am

    MY LAST PURCHASE WAS $1700, THEY OWE ME $34! THEY WON’T GIVE IT TO ME & AFTER I SENT THEM ALL THE PROOF THEY STILL WON’T CREDIT ME & NOW THEY WON’T EVEN RESPOND TO MY EMAILS. THIS IS NOT THE FIRST TIME. THIS TIME , I FINALLY HAD ENOUGH! I’M DONE WITH THOSE SCAMMERS!

    Wendy says:
    July 30th, 2013 at 3:52 pm

    I’ve been an Ebates user for years and rarely had problems. Recently I made a large purchase through Lowe’s. It was over $1000 and they were giving 6% cash back from a ‘double cash back’ sale. I was entitled to over $60. I’ve contacted Ebates and they say they can not give it to me even though I have presented them with all the evidence they requested. I am also extremely unhappy with their customer service.

  • Rating
      
    Charles Martin says:

    February 28th, 2013 at 8:31 pm

    I was sent an email that I would receive 33.06, ok, not a lot of money. But I went thru the process to purchase items and when it came down to brass tacks, they put off and put off, please verify your paypal email address, over and over again. I do not trust these people at all.

    REPLY

    Sara smith says:
    March 2nd, 2013 at 11:10 am

    Sorry to hear this – i’ve gotten regular checks from them, mailed to my home address, with no problem whatsoever.

  • Rating
      
    Maria says:

    February 24th, 2013 at 10:18 am

    Yes, Ebates is legit. In less than two years, I’ve earned over $200 back. HOWEVER…….you must be vigilant about making sure they post every purchase you make AND make sure they post the correct amount. I have discovered numerous errors and omissions which, when I pointed them out, were immediately corrected. Disappointing!! Also, there is a 90 day window for notifying them about their errors, so if you don’t jump on it, you lose the rebate for that purchase.

    Let the buyer beware. Ebates is collecting commissions from retailers and in MANY cases they are not passing on the savings to the Ebates members who made the purchases. The proof is that they instantly credit you if you call them out on it.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    none says:

    February 6th, 2013 at 9:28 am

    I had an ok experience at first but when I didn’t receive my gift card they IGNORED my request for them to look into it. I begged them to respond and nothing…..I was going to recommend the site to my family and friend but no way now! By the way, even if you have multiple accounts you only get paid once per order….so you can’t scam them but apparently they can scam you

    REPLY

    Sean says:
    February 7th, 2013 at 6:39 pm

    And you didn’t think having multiple accounts might be why they ignored you? I don’t know, just my opinion.

  • Rating
      
    Elizabeth says:

    January 28th, 2013 at 4:09 pm

    I’ve been using ebates for several years, and I have never had any problems with it. All purchases have shown up within a few days at most. I always go to the website I’m shopping at, get all the items I want in my shopping cart, then close the window and go back to the website through the ebates website. I do this, like another reviewer said, because I figured my tracking ticket would be less likely to have issues if I go directly from ebates to checking out. Apparently this is the way to do it if you want to receive all your cash, based on seeing low ratings from people who don’t do this but high ratings from those who do.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Tee says:

    January 19th, 2013 at 10:27 am

    I did a bit of my Christmas shopping through Ebates and had no problem. Apparently my $15 cheque is in the mail, which I’m pretty excited about. I received an e-mail from Ebates on one occasion indicating that they were having problems with shopping done through one of their partners, but to send them a message if your purchase was not appearing in your Ebates account. I did that and they requested that I forward along my order number and purchase amount. My Ebates reward was added shortly after. No complaints here!

    REPLY

    Staci says:
    January 24th, 2013 at 7:31 pm

    What email did you send your info to? I have tried to get my credit for a purchase and have sent several messages with no responses.

  • Rating
      
    J says:

    January 17th, 2013 at 4:52 pm

    I have been an Ebates member since 1999 (about when they started). To date I have received over $1,400 back from them.

    One thing I’ve always done, as a previous post mentioned, is to visit the store I’m buying from directly and get everything in my shopping cart. Then I open a new browser session, go to the store via the Ebates site, and check out.

    Ebates and the stores each track your purchase by the initial URL. I always figure the more pages I go to before I check out, the bigger chance there is that my referral URL will be “lost”.

    I made almost all my Christmas purchases through Ebates, and some post-Christmas, and so far everything has gone through fine. Remember, you can also use coupons with Ebates, as long as it’s just a code you enter at check-out. If your coupon is URL based, you won’t be able to use both since Ebates is URL based too.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Allie says:

    January 11th, 2013 at 5:51 pm

    I signed up for Ebates in November of 2012. I received my first Big Fat check and $10 gift card 4 weeks later, just in time for Christmas. I used Ebates for all of my Christmas shopping and referred a few friends at the same time. After all of that, I have managed to rack up over $40 for my next cash back.

    Ebates updates me with new coupons and cash back percentages. Plus, their tracking tickets go through, usually, in less than a day and my cash back is added to my account.

    I love using Ebates as I am an avid shopper so it makes it easy and a little bit cheaper for me. And let’s not forget that the referral system is great. Thanks Ebates, for being so great!

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    B says:

    January 4th, 2013 at 12:36 pm

    Well someone referred me through the refer a friend program. For the holidays I shopped like a drooling walker haha. So the places I shopped were Victoria Secret, Sephora, Walmart,Sally’s Beauty and I even did a purchase through Symatec. Yes my virus protection expired so it seemed like a great idea to purchase through them. Well lets just say not only did they not send the $10-$25 gift card that was promised upon signing up but they only gave me credit for one purchase. I also shopped through ebay which supposedly had a 1% rebate but didn’t receive that either. I feel like this was a waste of time clicking around like crazy just for under a $5 rebate check that is apparently in transit as I type this. So all in all I’m not pleased. Sure I’m $5 richer but I’d pay $5 to avoid the extra steps. Ohh and to add if you send a request form back it asks for “sub total” yet when they put it in pending to confirm it states “full total”. If I had know that I would have given the the exact amount I spent not the sub total. This is what I mean.They obviously do this so they can rebate less than the agreed amount. Again too much work for minimal results. I could have spent time doing those funny surveys and hoping to win a $100. lol

    My suggestion is that you can do it and hope for the best. If your page crashes make sure to go back to “tracking tickets” so it forwards you back to the site to make purchases. If it works or not well you’ll have to see in the end. Be prepared to have all your receipts saved in a neat folder to copy and paste in the ” didn’t not receive rebate” form.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    NEOHIO says:

    December 30th, 2012 at 8:49 am

    I have used Ebates for several years and had no problems until the last several months.
    Only one of my purchases showed up on their site- I had to contact them for 7! They sent an email correcting the issue and putting the owed money in my account for all but one of them. They said I did not go thru their site properly which I did. Now today I get an email that they took another purchase out of my pending money due to cancellation. The order was never cancelled– it was placed in mid November at Foot Locker and the shoes were delivered and are being worn– never cancelled!
    I really think this is the end of Ebates. They seem to be looking for any reason not to pay and their tracking of tickets is pretty much non-existent.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Sara F says:

    December 22nd, 2012 at 4:15 pm

    I was excited when I read about this website. I did all my Thanksgiving and Christmas shopping online – thousands of dollars in total. I used Ebates.com every time and always followed directions perfectly. I opened up the store window via Ebates, immediately purchased my items and checked out. There were no delays, computer was not put to sleep then re-started, I did not navigate away from the store site. There was only two windows open for the duration of my purchase, the Ebates window, and the store window.

    Guess what? Only ONE of my purchases was recorded as a sale, there was over a dozen which were not. I noticed this early on and contacted them, they apologized and credited the first two to me within a few days. I started following up on subsequent purchases and the response time got longer. Now only three have been credited.

    I believe this website to be a scam. They are collecting commissions on referrals and not passing them onto all shoppers. My guess is they’re hoping people won’t always notice.

    Either that or the system is totally flawed and doesn’t work.

    I was super excited when I read about this website and now I’m sorry I wasted my time.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Stephanie says:

    December 22nd, 2012 at 8:29 am

    So far, so good.

    My recommendation would be to look at the site and do your price comparisons first- you can even add them to the cart (most sites will save). Then clear everything else, pull up Ebates, and then go to the site via Ebates and pay for it. I do this with the Walmart store, and I purchase anything that I can do free store pickup, and my cart can remain for days before I finally pull ebates to track it.

    Will update if I encounter any problems.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    DaveT says:

    December 11th, 2012 at 4:30 pm

    Made my first purchase lately with ebates. After being told to wait a week for the cash to appear I have received nothing. I have tried unsuccessfully to contact them as to why and have not received a reply. This will be the first and last time I try this site. Appears to be a scam. Fooled me once but not again.

    REPLY

    DaveT says:
    December 14th, 2012 at 11:34 am

    Ebates came through. They replied to me and the money is in my account. Happy customer and restored my faith in them.

  • Rating
      
    Brittney says:

    December 11th, 2012 at 3:14 pm

    Card identity stolen right after my first use here… Do not use this site.

    REPLY

    Alan says:
    December 12th, 2012 at 12:38 am

    Ebates still hasn’t contacted me after I wrote them. Waiting on my new credit card. Sorry to hear you had the same problem but glad to have someone back me up

  • Rating
      
    Cllynn says:

    December 11th, 2012 at 6:38 am

    I have not had any problem with eBates. I’ve received payments as said, and even in advance. If a purchase doesn’t come up in my account after a couples days I just write to them with the order number and amount paid and I usually receive the credit right away. I do a lot of online shopping so it is well worth it for me to get cash back. I have it sent to my Paypal account. Not a scam at all.

    REPLY
  • none says:

    December 9th, 2012 at 2:08 pm

    A lot of people try to scam Ebates as well… like having more than one account. When clearly you are only allowed to have one account. Then they wonder why they don’t get their cash back.. hmmm I wonder why?

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Alan says:

    December 8th, 2012 at 10:09 pm

    Tried this for the first time and my credit card is now worthless. It has been used successfully once and tried at least two more times. And it is time for Xmas shopping. Nothing but a scam or very dishonest employees.

    DO NOT USE

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Sam says:

    December 4th, 2012 at 9:33 pm

    I used ebates for awhile now. At the beginning it was very good and promptly paid, however, lately it’s been a horrible experience. They are suppose to send out a check every 3 months, and i had accumulated over $200 in cash back, however, it was not sent out in August & November. I contacted customer service 3 times, and have not received any response from them yet still.

    By reading these reviews, i guess they only pay out when you first become a member and as time goes by, they stop paying you.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Barb M says:

    December 4th, 2012 at 12:14 pm

    I’ve been using Ebates for several years. The past year or so, about every other purchase “disappears.” I have to keep going back, and it’s always the same old, same old, send your order confirmation page, and then maybe we’ll pay. You MUST keep right on top, and even then it’s not going to be easy. I do a lot of online shopping, and almost exclusively tried to shop through Ebates.

    I do believe this is their way of paying out as little as possible, by simply neglecting to post a valid, done by the rules cash rebate.

    I am looking for a different site to purchase through. Does anyone have any suggestions?

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Shell says:

    November 23rd, 2012 at 7:29 pm

    It started off good, but lately it been so-so. Sometimes I will get credited for purchases, sometimes not(I do a lot of online shopping). I have the toolbar downloaded. I’ll click on cash back available, and it will say available. When it is time to place an order, it will go back unvailable. 0_0 You really have to pay attention. It wasn’t like that at first.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Clancey says:

    November 21st, 2012 at 7:44 pm

    LOVE EBATES! If you are going to buy online, why not get a percentage back at no extra charge. Have used ebates for over 5 years and have always gotten a check! NOT A SCAM!

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Kali says:

    November 13th, 2012 at 5:07 pm

    I’ve been using ebates for about 2 years. It’s easy to use & I’ve never had an issue getting credited. I always recommend it to people.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Blu Scarab says:

    November 11th, 2012 at 5:38 pm

    I absolutely love ebates and is a part of my online shopping every time. My total ebates so far is $2282.04 and I have another $192 pending! I also use mrrebates.com because their cash back is often a little higher. But you have to carefully read the exclusions next to the store links.

    Also be warned: DO NOT USE the safari browser. These online cash back sites cannot track your purchases if you use the safari. I also had problems with Amazon cash back on a safari browser so I know its the browser and not the technology that ebates uses. Ever since I switched to Internet Explorer, my rebates have been flowing in like water. YAY EBATES!

    REPLY

    eg says:
    December 4th, 2012 at 7:06 pm

    I only use safari, and it always works, Maybe it has something to do with your browser settings. I love ebates too!!

  • Rating
      
    Amy C. says:

    November 9th, 2012 at 5:01 pm

    Love love love Ebates…been using them for about a year and a half and absolutely love them. Big purchases and small…I always get a Big Fat Check!

    REPLY

    Jim trousers says:
    December 4th, 2012 at 8:27 pm

    Scam

  • Rating
      
    Felicia says:

    November 9th, 2012 at 11:40 am

    I’ve been using ebates for 3-4 months now and I just recieved my first Big Fat check straight to my PayPal account. I’ve used ebates for purchases ranging from $10-$150, which included book rentals for college, clothes, and a universal laptop charger. I’ve only bumped into one instance where my cash back experience wasn’t reflected into my account and as soon as I contacted the customer service team, they fixed the problem and sent me an email reflecting my new account balance. I love ebates and will continue to use it. I can’t wait for my next Big Fat check! Great service. By the way, I am a real person, not someone paid by ebates to write a review.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Jason says:

    November 1st, 2012 at 6:57 pm

    I signed up for this service, and then bought a computer from dell.

    They would not honor my purchase. I purchased the computer online, but ran into many problems with the coupon codes. Mainly they were considered expired, even though the expiry date was for the future. So during my purchase I called dell customer support. They helped me out. But because I spoke with dell over the phone:

    “EBATES.COM did not honor the purchase”

    In addition they would not give me the gift card that they offer upon signing up to the site. They said that because I have not purchased anything, according to them, then I am not a full member of the site and thus I’m not elligable for the gift card… that they said they give to people for signing up.

    In summary, this site is dreadful, and will try and weasel out of any and all legitamate purchases you make.

    REPLY

    megan says:
    January 14th, 2013 at 4:08 pm

    im thinking of using ebates but im not sure is it a scam

  • Rating
      
    spartan44duck says:

    October 28th, 2012 at 10:55 pm

    I have been using ebates for almost a year now and have received nearly $100 in rebates from them. They send a check every few months. I have had no problems with them and check their site before making any online purchases. I also receive an email within 24 hours after making any purchases through their site. I can keep track of all my purchases.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Cathy says:

    October 28th, 2012 at 12:55 am

    I guess I’m goin to stick with small purchases I’m just starting now n found out bout this site

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    F says:

    October 27th, 2012 at 11:16 am

    I have only been using ebates for the past couple months, but to date have had no issues!

    I received a 10$ gift card in the mail after I spent my first 25$ as advertised on the site. Then I had a check come in for $12 after I had made a few purchases. Some of the other reviews are saying they did not get their money – maybe I have just been lucky so far, but I would recommend that people at least try out this site for their normal purchases and see for themselves.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Jane says:

    October 18th, 2012 at 12:56 pm

    Like other reviewers I too received cash back on small purchases. However, on a recent $300 purchase at ebags.com I never received the 6% cash back offer which would have been $20. They denied my cash back eventhough I visited the site the proper way. I even had an Ebates tracking ticket number!!

    They claim that I did not follow their rules because I viewed the product at a seperate website while shopping. But you know, 99% of people will do this…it’s called price comparison. This site is a total scam.

    REPLY

    Anony says:
    February 4th, 2013 at 6:55 pm

    It’s not a scam, but it is a very sensitive system.

    You should do all of your pricing and price comparisons BEFORE opening your tracking ticket. In addition, all items should be in your online shopping cart on the site already prior to opening the ticket. Often, when you open other sites while your ticket is open, they have phishing links which can interfere with the Ebates referral link, and take away credit for the purchase.

    To get credit, only have two browser windows open: Ebates, and the site you are purchasing from. Have your shopping cart updated and ready to go on the site, then close it and open your Ebates tracking ticket. Then, go directly to your shopping cart and purchase (do not continue to shop around on the site, and by all means, do not go to other sites to price compare).

    Can it be tedious? Yes. Is it worth it for the big fat checks? You decide.

  • Rating
      
    Mike says:

    October 15th, 2012 at 7:06 pm

    I have been a member for the past year. Ebates have been prompt on updating my cash back except for whenever I make big purchases from Dell. I sometimes have to beg for my cash back($100-$200) I keep emailing them and they needed to await confirmation from merchant before crediting myaccount.

    Ebates is great, not a scam, very legit. I’vereceived $600 in the past year with my biggest single cash back being $270:)!

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Sally says:

    October 11th, 2012 at 10:54 am

    I love this sight and haven’t had any problems using it. I just have to remember to shop through them..I sometimes forget. I received checks just as promised. I’ve purchased small and large items. I constantly use this sight. Every extra dollar helps. :)

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Robyn says:

    October 7th, 2012 at 8:36 am

    I’m very happy with this site. I am only buying things I would buy anyway, so any money I may receive is a bonus.

    Here are a couple of observations: It is important to watch your account to be sure the transactions are posted when they are supposed to be and not wait until you are expecting a check. I had one transaction that was not posted, but when I alerted the company all I had to do was forward my receipt and it was credited to my account the next day. (Their website makes it very easy way to get them the information they require.) Also, if you are using an Apple, make sure you have another browser as some sites cannot track through Safari. I use Firefox for those.

    One of my referrals signed up and the bonus posted right away. I have made close to $100 through this site, but of course I am a frequent online shopper. I don’t purchase everything this way, but the bonus is usually enough to make it worth it.

    The bottom line is that, like anything, attention to detail is important to make money this way. Like any online process, there are bound to be glitches, but with a little organization the hassle can be minimized.

    REPLY

    Jim trousers says:
    December 4th, 2012 at 8:30 pm

    Go to other places and get stuff cheaper don’t be a tool

  • Rating
      
    NB says:

    September 15th, 2012 at 4:13 pm

    I have been getting regular checks for about three years with never a problem from their end. Sometimes I do forget to go to ebates first–before I order.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Gail says:

    September 14th, 2012 at 2:06 pm

    4 hours ago I would have put a 1 star rating… but I found the secret to getting their customer service to work. We purchased phones via ebates wireless in June. Of course the cash back wasn’t credited to our account. We waited the “allotted 2 weeks” to make sure it wasn’t just waiting for our return day to pass. Then we contacted ebates. We got the form letter reply… then again we contacted them 3 weeks later… again another form letter reply. I contacted them again and no response… then again two days ago.. no response. Finally I was about to post a horrible review but I decided to post on their wall on Facebook. Within 1 hour we had a message back to email their facebook dept. I did and guess what… the rebate magically appeared in my account. Guess you have to draw attention to their “marketing team” in order to get help!

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Kathy says:

    August 29th, 2012 at 12:31 pm

    I had the same experience as many of the above posters. The first check came easy it was for $5.00 gift card never arrived. I made a few purchases and had to beg for the ebates owed to me, eventually the smaller amounts were credited to me but now that I have made a large purchase and am entitled to a larger ebate, I have had to jump through hoops to prove I made purchase. And in the end they decided that I didn’t follow rules and didn’t credit account and rules are not that hard to follow. Good idea, terrible customer service.

    The small amount that I usually receive isn’t worth the time or hassle of having to beg. Terrible customer service.

    REPLY

    mj says:
    December 12th, 2012 at 12:43 am

    I am new to ebates. Went looking for a toll free customer service number to contact them re a similar mix up. Used their text service, got an form email saying that high volume will cause a delay of reply for 2-3 days. Absurd!

    Terrible customer service is right!

  • Rating
      
    Meana says:

    August 24th, 2012 at 2:25 pm

    I hope that some day some smart lawyer files a class action against the Ebates scam service. I am sure a lot of customers will gladly participate and I will be the first. They do pay for random small transactions, but if the payment is more than $10, be advised that they will stall you forever and never pay.

    REPLY

    Diana Albers says:
    December 9th, 2012 at 2:49 pm

    I am right with you guys!!!

    Christine says:
    October 20th, 2012 at 4:54 am

    I had the same experience! I had a $16 credit cancelled and have been going back and forth with customer service. Not worth the hassle!

  • Rating
      
    Harry says:

    August 23rd, 2012 at 2:31 pm

    looks like ebates workers are reviewing here……………………….sounds too phony

    REPLY

    Jennifer says:
    November 27th, 2012 at 10:57 pm

    I was thinking the same exact thing! Too many references to big fat checks! 0 rating from me.

    Jason says:
    November 1st, 2012 at 6:58 pm

    totally agree with you. i give them a ZERO.

  • Rating
      
    Evetta says:

    August 22nd, 2012 at 2:42 pm

    Ordered two air tickets on Expedia through ebates in April. At the time, the cash back was 1%. Ebates did not credit the purchase saying that the credit will appear in 35 days after the actual travel occurs. Just out of curiosity, I set my calendar and contacted them in 4 (!) months. Now, the credit is $1.25)) per air travel. False advertising and scam!!!

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Sarah Johnson says:

    August 8th, 2012 at 4:59 pm

    Nagging them all the time for any payout, denial for any amount over fifty dollars… I am not sure it is worth the five dollars they begrudgingly give me. Scam? Probably.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    ann marie says:

    July 23rd, 2012 at 8:16 pm

    Enacted doesn’t seem to record my larger purchases. Not worth their hassle, you get a better deal threw the merchant original website coupons.

    REPLY

    Sarah Johnson says:
    August 8th, 2012 at 4:58 pm

    Exactly! They have refused all of my bigger purchases, so I am thinking they are scamming me now.

  • Rating
      
    Kiko says:

    June 8th, 2012 at 9:14 pm

    It’s free money! I’ve received over a hundred dollars back from everything I buy online!!!!!!!!

    REPLY

    Lisa says:
    December 13th, 2012 at 5:12 pm

    are u one of their employees? Ebates = Big Scam

  • Rating
      
    AuntieMaim says:

    June 6th, 2012 at 4:46 pm

    I have had a few problems with eBates.

    I never received the gift card promised me when I signed up and whenever I make a large purchase they try to make me jump through hoops to get my rebate then don’t even send me the money!

    Their policy states that the total dollar amount that they will issue a rebate for doesn’t include shipping but when I make a relatively small purchase, the rebates are for the total including sales tax and shipping. I’ve made two big purchases though that they asked for proof of the sale for. The first one was an absolute nightmare that included replies that didn’t make any sense or address what my concerns were, REALLY rude responses AND tracking tickets that were generated for small purchases right after I made the large one disappearing from my account. So actually there have been QUITE A FEW purchases I made that I was contractually promised rebates for that I never received.

    I couldn’t really call eBates a scam, but they’re miles away from delivering what they promise. Caveat emptor!

    TIP: Yes, they use cookies to track your purchase and a “tracking ticket” with a unique number will open when you click the store’s link on their site. BUT when a window opens, it will probably only be valid for an hour or so, maybe even less. If you intend to make a purchase but step away from your computer for awhile, you should probably generate another tracking ticket.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    C Ray says:

    June 2nd, 2012 at 3:49 pm

    I love ebates! I have never had an issue, and get my checks like clockwork! I recommend it to everyone who enjoys online shopping.

    REPLY

    Anon says:
    November 7th, 2012 at 9:39 pm

    lol I agree with B.S

    B.S says:
    September 23rd, 2012 at 1:10 am

    I think your an ebates employee.

  • Rating
      
    Greene says:

    April 30th, 2012 at 11:31 pm

    Total bait and switch scam. You’ll get your first payment in a flash and then you’ll have to hunt them down like a bill collector for anything else. They even tried to pull the old “we tried to pay you but you need to update your address” runaround. Funny since A) my address hadn’t changed and B) I was set up to get payments through paypal using my email address (which they obviously have). If you’ve gotten your first giftcard, do yourself a favor and quit while you’re ahead. Getting money from ebates will never be worth the stress.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Megan says:

    April 27th, 2012 at 5:45 pm

    I was skeptical at first. But I got my check and the $10 store card.
    The gift card took longer to reach me.. About a month. I think you have to “earn” a certain amount before they mail that out.

    When I received the card (Target) I used it and the transaction went through.

    As from my experience as well as some friends of mine.. This is all legit.

    REPLY

    Capt. Obvious says:
    December 11th, 2012 at 6:08 pm

    Megan obviously works for ebates and tried to make her review real.

  • Rating
      
    K says:

    April 26th, 2012 at 9:33 pm

    I wouldn’t bother using them. It was a hassle. I referred my wife and several of my relatives and ebate wouldn’t credit them as referrals saying it’s all one person. $10 gift card on your first purchase is a scam, never received it even asking for it several times. Stay away!!!

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Diane says:

    April 14th, 2012 at 8:50 am

    It is a real hassle to get your money back. It doesn’t happen automatically, you have to track it, contact them after a couple of weeks, and then hope for the best. Sometimes you get it back, sometimes they ignore you, and sometimes they tell you that there is no guarantee that ebates will ever actually give you their money. I think a lot of affiliate marketers are posting good reviews for ebates falsely and get paid for it.

    REPLY

    Ray says:
    April 24th, 2012 at 1:19 am

    No, it really does work really well for me. The system uses tracking cookies, so like others have said on here, you just have to be sure you follow the path to your purchase. If I find something I like online, I copy (higlight, Ctrl+C) the item title, close that browser session, open a new one, log in to Ebates, click on the store website (within Ebates), paste (Ctrl+V) the item on the store website Search box, and buy it. It’s that easy. I’ve had to follow-up with Ebates Customer Service on multiple purchases from a single session, but they gave me the credit no problem. It’s true that you get cents on the dollar, but it adds up, especially if you do online purchasing for a business. That’s how those people have the big checks for large amounts.

  • Rating
      
    shawn says:

    April 6th, 2012 at 9:53 pm

    Ebates is excellent, and I have received check several times, it is paid every three month.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    cricket says:

    March 21st, 2012 at 9:41 am

    I’ve been looking @ all of you people who claim ebates great and how you get cash back,but there’s something wrong here,for example…have any of you people seen the TV commercial where 2 women say,,I just got a check from ebates for $1104.65 and the 2nd women saying my check was $704.00.I have yet to see anyone come close to their cash back quotes,has anyone seen some thing even close to that,I,d really like to know especially from those who say I LOVE EBATES.

    REPLY

    kim says:
    July 18th, 2012 at 7:30 pm

    I have seen it.. and it promises all this money which i think anyone with a brain would kinda know this is a scam… i figured it was a pretty small amount if any at all. Bottom line is if you have enough money to spend the amount to get a larger check back you are NOT on this website!!!

    Marie says:
    March 22nd, 2012 at 1:07 am

    I’m not sure how anyone would get THAT much in one single check (and I haven’t seen that commercial; I don’t really watch tv). For me, it’s more of getting checks in smaller amounts over time as you buy things. I’ve been a member since sometime in 2010 and I’ve made $109 so far, receiving like 5 or 6 checks so far. My last check was for $28.28. I have no problem receiving or cashing my checks, so I’m not sure what others are complaining about.

  • Rating
      
    Dave says:

    March 19th, 2012 at 3:18 pm

    I have the same opinion as other users. First check came ok. After that I have to contact customer service for every purchase in order to get credit. I find it to be a hassle and not worth the time it takes to contact them and keep track of all my purchases, email confirmations, and find the ebates confirmation number.

    REPLY

    Jo says:
    March 28th, 2012 at 9:52 am

    I agree 100%. First check came early, with an added bonus gift card. Since then, I have to contact them every time to inquire about my cash back (so far 3 separate purchases, I was denied 2 of the 3).

    It is a hassle, not worth the time, and when I was denied I was not given a reason as to why. I had the tracking ticket number and I was careful to buy immediately after opening ebates.

    Scam.

  • Rating
      
    Yuliya says:

    March 19th, 2012 at 3:21 am

    I signed up for Ebates last year. First cashbacks I’ve received, ok. All them were under $10. Later I tried to receive cashbacks for larger purchase – it is useless to try. Every time ebates customer care send me the same formal answer about “15 days to llok into the matter…” They say they don’t receive order confirmation from seller. But I contact with sellers too – they answer they give all purchase information equally, for small and expensive orders the same. At the present time I wait for cashbask for 8 purchases ($1.040), and for every I write to ebates customer service every 15 days.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Erika says:

    March 13th, 2012 at 1:30 pm

    Prefer other sites. Their customer service is a joke. Their terms and conditions are not clearly stated within the store page. When I inquired about missing cash back I was given a blanket “condition” which did not apply to my purchase. Clearly a waste of my time and energy to use a website that does not honor customers accordingly. Fatwallet and shopathome are much better and clearly state ALL conditions on their site.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Jan says:

    March 13th, 2012 at 1:52 am

    I have received 2 payments into my PayPal account. The latest was $59.10. I used to go through My Points for points but switched to Ebates for cash. Love it and would recommend it to everyone. People not knowing what they are doing are the ones claiming it is a scam.

    REPLY

    Diane says:
    April 14th, 2012 at 8:51 am

    People getting paid for giving good reviews are continuing the scam.

  • Rating
      
    Jenny says:

    February 24th, 2012 at 10:26 am

    Wish more online retailers would participate in ebates. All in all, it is a good program as long as you remember to go their website for each website before buying online.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Kathy says:

    February 19th, 2012 at 9:33 pm

    Easy …. Getting paid to shop…awesome! I have made over $500 so far and get my checks pretty much on time.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    EFritz says:

    February 14th, 2012 at 1:47 pm

    I signed up with Ebates last year and I am very impressed so far. My husband also signed up, we both got our gift cards and each have gotten checks over $50.
    We have had no issues with large purchases. I bought a $900 camera and received my ebate with no issue. They respond very quickly to questions and have been extremely helpful. I have recommended a few other people tot he site and they have not had any complaints. I check a couple of coupon sites but always make sure to use the ebates link and save my tracking email until it hits my account properly.
    Also, I work a 40 hour a week job. It IS at a financial institution so maybe I pay better attention to my money than some of those who have gotten burned.
    Also to buy things just to get a portion back in rebate form seems a bit counter-productive. I only use ebates for things I would have already bought.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    BlueSpark says:

    February 8th, 2012 at 1:36 pm

    I love eBates. If you do everything RIGHT you will get your cash back with no problems. I did couple of mistakes on the beginning just going to ebates.com and making purchases WITHOUT signing in. Of course they cannot issue cash back to anonymous buyer :) After I’ve realized my mistake I never had any problem. Even more, Macy’s had some issue with tracking online purchases made through ebates. After receiving email from ebates recommending me to check if some records are missing I went to Macy’s website and found one order back from November 2011 which wasn’t listed under my ebates account. I sent my email to customer support and received respond in 2 minutes with good news that my missing cash back is added immediately.
    I get my checks on regular base with very accurate amount issued. Cannot complain, you get small gifts back for purchases you make anyway. Just be sure that you do everything right and follow ebates instructions.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Shanae says:

    February 7th, 2012 at 4:02 pm

    I agree that the past 6 months or year ebates has taken longer to credit my purchases, I have usually had to copy my purchase order and send them a tracking ticket number. They have always paid! If someone opens up a tracking ticket, then you have a way to track your purchases. The people who say that ebates is a scam are the ones doing it incorrectly! Don’t delete an email confirmation from the place you ordered and you can always track your tickets until ebates credits your account. They are legit, they do pay you! You just have to be really patient sometimes. Also always keep your proof, u email the confirmation from your order, and find your correct tracking ticket, and you will always be credited! I would have rated a 5 if it wasn’t for the delayed credit and having to sometimes prove my purchases. But at least it is money back I’m my wallet. I LOVE EBATES.COM!!

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Sue says:

    February 4th, 2012 at 5:56 pm

    I’ve been a member since 2003 and have earned over $230 in rebate dollars. It’s become a habit for me to go through ebates to find my retailers first before doing any online shopping. I’ve never really had any problems not getting my rebate and I’ve always referred my family and friends to use ebates. A lot of them are now repeated users as well. It’s a simple process that allowed me earn money I otherwise wouldn’t have. There are many rebate sites out there like ebates but ebates has the most extensive list of retailers I’ve seen.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Ray1999 says:

    February 4th, 2012 at 11:16 am

    Been a member over 10 yrs now never had a problem with them & received nearly $2,000 cash back. None of the ebates are paid until the return period has passed,otherwise the retailer and/or ebates puts themselves at risk. Please remember if you leave their link you can loose your rebate. By the way one rebate sale netted me $106.31 cash back.

    (To:Diane December 6th, 2011 at 11:47 am) I am neither a housewife nor a househusband & I agree with “HOUSEWIFE”Housewife” says:
    December 13th, 2011 at 3:10 pm

    Your response shows your impatience, arrogance, condescending and ignorant attitude towards housewives, and apparently inability to read.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    John says:

    January 23rd, 2012 at 10:45 pm

    This is a joke right…I made 1 purchase to try out the site on 11/28/2011…and each time I checked on my account there was a $10.00 balance that was going to be distributed to me on January 15, 2012…well that date has come and gone and to this date no $10.00 credit…when I contacted Ebates customer service they said they had no record of my purchase through their site…what a scam…I have been dealing with BIG CRUMBS since 2010 and have had absolutely no issues…I would advise people reading your review to try BIG CRUMBS and not to waste their time and money with Ebates

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Hector says:

    January 17th, 2012 at 5:09 pm

    It’s a scam, plain and simple. After making several purchases that netted small amounts through ebates, I took advantage of a subscription offer to ValueMags.com that promised a 51% return on my subscription purchases. As my order totaled over 80.00, the promised return was the sole reason I subscribed to several of the titles listed. Lo and behold, no return was forthcoming and my repeated inquiries were met with requests for additional information including my initial validation ticket number from ebates and the confirmation email from Valuemags.com (both of which I immediately forwarded to ebates). Nearly seven weeks later my followup inquiries have been met with an apparently impersonal, auto generated form email from a “Thomas” in “Customer Care” that informs they are looking into the matter and haven’t “forgotten’ about me. Insulting – and rest assured I’ll be following up on this nonsense.

    REPLY

    Mike says:
    March 3rd, 2012 at 5:08 pm

    check it out further bcuz I got check for $19.10.when you purchase make sure u go through the site first.

  • Rating
      
    Lisa V. says:

    January 16th, 2012 at 5:40 am

    My first purchase was made on black friday 2011. To prove that ebates wasn’t a scam ebates sent me my big fat check before the February pay date. Received check & target gift card!!

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Disappointed Shopper says:

    January 12th, 2012 at 7:29 am

    I have used ebates for years and probably gotten close to $100 cash back. With a recent 10% promotion, we made a bigger purchase that should have netted $200+ cash back and suddenly I have been getting the run-around. If you use them, use them for little things. For bigger things, stay very far away. I’m changing to a different affiliate site now that I’ve been burned.

    You’ve been warned.

    REPLY

    mj says:
    December 12th, 2012 at 1:09 am

    If the game is bait and switch, this current administration likes to intervene for the voting masses, as we are so helpless without the liberal agenda. Any time there seems to be unfairness in the marketplace, their feelers are out there.

    When trust is broken there is sometimes great biterness from some. No one likes feeling like they have been taken advantage of.

    Any ethical outfit works hard to keep their supporters happy.

    Has anyone had any luck contacting the online retailer about their difficulties with ebates?

  • Rating
      
    Nick Patel says:

    January 11th, 2012 at 2:34 pm

    I have been a member since 2000 and have gotten cash back from them for years. You go to ebates.com, find a store there like the Gap or Apple (the have like a 1000), then buy something. That store pays Ebates and Ebates pays me. Generally like 3 or 5 percent of the purchase price. Walmart is 1%. But who cares it’s money I get that I would not otherwise have. I love ebates and recommend it to all my friends. The also have coupons on Ebates.com so I can get extra mounts off in addition to the Ebates Big Fat Check they send – which is the Cash back I get every 3 months.

    REPLY
  • crystal says:

    January 10th, 2012 at 4:28 am

    I have received about 100 dollars total. I haven’t had any problems with supposedly deletion of tracking tickets. You do have to follow the rules and click on the link before purchase, so if you forget to they’ll ask for proof. However this past year it has taken longer to get the cash added to my account. I had a problem with cash back getting applied I had to wait about a month after purchase for them to consider the issue. Well see when the next check is due.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Nick says:

    January 9th, 2012 at 7:23 pm

    I’ve been an Ebates member since 2000! I’ve only had one issue and they corrected it (I had two accounts with 2 email addresses) other than that have been getting quarterly checks from them for 11 years with every rebate right on every time.

    So if you think it’s a scam, you are wrong – it can be something that you do wrong.

    They are A+ rated by the BBB – soo they must be doing something right!

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Amoolaza says:

    January 9th, 2012 at 12:40 pm

    I’ve gotten back hundreds through the years from Ebates. I’ve even used coupon codes. However, it’s important to read a store’s restrictions when shopping.

    Never had any issues, and always get my quarterly rebate quickly.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Elle says:

    January 6th, 2012 at 4:21 pm

    Ebates will give you credit, as long as it’s under $10 for each purchase. For a large purchase where you will be getting over $100 cash back, forget it. They will claim the vendor credited another “affiliate site”, which is a blatant lie because I do not use any other cash-back or credit sites.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Kelly says:

    December 31st, 2011 at 7:41 pm

    I have used this site quite a bit, and I’m very organized in keeping track of my purchases. They REPEATEDLY do NOT give me credit for my purchases, and I have to email them with proof. This happens on average every 3 times I use them. I think they do this on purpose. In fact, I had to email them about 7 times to get a big credit ($27) for a travel ticket I bought through one of their affiliates. In the new year, I’m going to join a different site. this one totally rips you off.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Chris says:

    December 29th, 2011 at 9:47 am

    I signed up for Ebates during the Black Friday/Cyber Monday shopping weekend and I was excited to get 10% cashback on my purchase. I got emailed a tracking code from Ebates after my purchase and I was truly excited to get my cashback.

    Then a month later I haven’t heard anything so I log onto the site and there is no record of my previous purchase. So I fill out a request asking where is my cashback and I get a response almost immediately saying that “we do not have a record that you clicked through the Ebates link to this store on the date you selected on our form”. Well I filled out that form correctly so I replied back and included the text with the tracking code that was emailed me from the day I made the purchase.

    Now I’m hoping they honor their cashback because it looks like Ebates just conveniently deleted my tracking code from their website. Therefore I would say this site is a scam. Stay away and instead use a credit card cashback site as those companies have your business to lose if you they refuse to honor your cashback.

    Any company that just deletes their tracking codes is not to be trusted!!!! I am just glad that it was my first purchase because that’s the only purchase where they email you the code, otherwise I would have nothing to show for my purchase.

    On a side note, stay away from giftcardmall.com too as they rip you off as well.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Gina says:

    December 27th, 2011 at 11:52 am

    I love it! A few times I’ve had cash back that hasn’t posted, but I have emailed them and they post it same day. I’ve gotten over $100 so far. All those little percentages really add up!!

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    jrzeegrrl says:

    December 15th, 2011 at 3:47 pm

    I try to use it around the Holidays and love it. I’ve rec’d almost $300 so far. If you’re making a large purchase that is available online you get a rebate. Very few stores are not listed.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Kipper says:

    December 10th, 2011 at 8:17 am

    They are fraudsters
    Payed me 35 cents on a small purchase, but when I used
    ebatates on a larger order from lowes.com I received nothing
    Sent them several inquiries, haven’t got the cashback
    Lost almost $40 in cashback, stay out of them, fatwallet at least pays

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Chris says:

    December 9th, 2011 at 6:04 pm

    I have used Ebates since 2008. Make sure you pay close attention to your orders and the amounts you spent. I just ordered a $2300+ TV and other items from one of their stores (BuyDig.com). This purchase was NOT honored. At 3.5% this really burned my a$$. Done with Ebates after a lame email, tap-dancing around why they did not pay. I sent receipt after receipt to them with no results. I’m not saying it’s a terrible site but, beware… like myself, you will NOT get all that’s coming to you. Look for another, similar site, like I am. No more ebates for me. I will be contacting all the sites I shop in regards to this.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Mindi says:

    December 7th, 2011 at 2:01 pm

    I have used their services for years and LOVE it. I get my money back every 3 months. You can still stack coupon codes on the actual web sites in addition to your cash back which is awesome. I have only had one rebate not show up (out of hundreds) but after a simple email and 14 days later my rebate was listed on my account as well. I can only say to the reviewer above, if you didn’t stay on the link they generated but went to another window and shopped there, then they couldn’t track your purchase. This is what happened with my one order. I had opened another window to find a coupon code and I think I used that window instead of the original one ebates created. Nonetheless since I had created the link, ebates just contacted the vendor, confirmed I had made the purchase at the same time and credited me another $21.00 back. So far my Feb check already has $70 on it and I still have a ways to go!

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Diane says:

    December 6th, 2011 at 11:47 am

    Scam.

    They bait you in with rewards (mine was $10 Target card)…and then send you scripted emails when you have questions, don’t post your pending rebates, basically ignore you. At least that’s been my experience. I don’t think I’m doing anything differently than anyone else using it.

    Made 3 purchases on Black Friday and one on the Sunday of same weekend. Pending rebates still say $0, I don’t receive anything except a canned response when I email with questions. My “account” still looks like it hasn’t been used, even though I have all the tracking tickets needed to prove my purchases.

    If you ask me, this thing is only good for housewives who have nothing better to do than to write emails and track their rebate amounts all day to make sure they all show up. Me? I am a very busy person who THOUGHT I could save a few bucks on some purchases. Not worth my time or effort anymore. I guess I won’t even see my $10 Target bait card either….

    Thanks for nothing, Ebates. TRY AT YOUR OWN RISK!!

    REPLY

    Amoolaza says:
    January 9th, 2012 at 12:42 pm

    Following their rules and reading all requirements, this housewife has gotten hundreds back from ebates over the past several years. Gosh, this poor, dumb housewife has even used my cash back to buy homeschool supplies to teach my daughter how to read….

    jrzeegrrl says:
    December 15th, 2011 at 3:44 pm

    None of the ebates are paid until the return period has passed. This makes sense to me, otherwise the retailer and/or ebates puts themselves at risk (for obvious reasons). I’ve been using ebates for YEARS and love it.

    "Housewife" says:
    December 13th, 2011 at 3:10 pm

    Your response shows your impatience, arrogance, condescending and ignorant attitude towards housewives, and apparently inability to read.

    Anna says:
    December 12th, 2011 at 9:48 pm

    If you read further on their site it says that some ebates do not show up until the return period for an item has passed. It’s up to each individual vendor on when they’ll confirm your order.


Add Your Review



Your Comment:

Choose a Rating

Please Write Your ReviewRead Review Guidelines