FreeScoreOnline.com Reviews – Legit or Scam?

 


FreeScoreOnline.com
from 40 reviews Review It
FreeScoreOnline.com

 

FreeScoreOnline.com claims to give you all three of your credit scores – TransUnion, Equifax, and Experian – plus your 3-in-1 report for just $1.00.

Once you sign up for FreeScoreOnline, you will be give a 7 day free trial period in which to view your credit scores and reports. If you do not cancel their services within the free trial period, you will be signed up for a monthly subscription.

Currently, FreeScoreOnline does not publish the cost of their monthly subscription fee. Their Terms & Conditions page says this fee can change without notice.

If you are not interested in being signed up for a subscription, you must make sure to cancel within the free trial period. The trial period is measured in 24 hour intervals, so if you signed up at 10:00 am, your trial would be over at 10:00 am 7 days later.

In addition, you can choose to sign up for notices and special offers from Score Sense, which is a credit tracking agency that also offers identity theft protection.

Do you have any experience with FreeScoreOnline? If so, please leave a review below.

Related: Understanding Your Credit Score: What You Need to Know

 

Would you like to add your review for
FreeScoreOnline ?
If so, click here
 
Share This Page!

 

Customer Responses, Reviews, or Complaints


Average Rating for " FreeScoreOnline " is 1.33 out of 5 based on 40 reviews.

  • Rating
      
    Alex Calinagan says:

    July 12th, 2014 at 4:46 pm

    This is a SCAM! don’t fall for it.

    REPLY
  • Sharon says:

    June 16th, 2014 at 3:55 pm

    THANK YOU ALL SO MUCH FOR POSTING! I started to fill out info, then thought I’d better check some reviews first. You have all saved me time, money, frustration, headaches and a possible drained bank account. Thank you so much for saving me from this. I’m sorry you all learned the hard way though

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    brenda says:

    February 4th, 2014 at 10:57 pm

    So I stupidly gave these ppl my info. I immediately cancelled my card, and when I called to cancel my membership (not even 10 mins after signing up) a representative stated he was unable to locate my info. My card as well did not go through, but was charged $1….is anyone else having an issue with representatives stating they aren’t a member, but still getting charged?

    And if I can’t cancel my so called ‘membership’, and have cancelled my card, are they going to try and bill me through mail?

    REPLY

    Raul says:
    July 15th, 2014 at 12:20 am

    Hi ehme. No I kept calling and they said I wasn’t in their system so I checked my bank statement and it looked like they charged me 1$ twice and then credited back.. I’m just sketchy because I gave them all my info . smh.

    ehMeSeL says:
    July 13th, 2014 at 9:24 pm

    Hey, Raul.

    I was just seeing if you were able to cancel your subscription. I tried signing up too, and it wouldn’t let me pass the payment method page like everyone else on here. Were you able to do anything?

    Raul says:
    July 5th, 2014 at 5:32 pm

    Hi, I just did the foolish mistake to give my info and cc number to this company and I called to cancel not even 5 minutes later after being charged 4$ and got nothing.. Did you finally cancel your subscription? If so what number did you call?

  • Rating
      
    Mike says:

    January 18th, 2014 at 7:37 pm

    I had shopped at Target and attempted to signup for their free year of credit monitoring. After typing in the address given in Target’s email, I missed a Dot in the address and was directed to this site. Had Target’s “Bullseye” logo so I thought all was good. Went through the process, giving them personal information as requested. When I got to the final step they requested a credit card number for a refundable $1.00 charge. Bells started going off because I thought Targets offer was “Free” and this didn’t look right. Tried to back out so I could delete the information but was unable to do so. Closed out hoping that would end it, no such luck. Next day recieved an email apologizing that I had trouble completing the process and asked that I complete it now. This is BS. Could Target be aware that this company is piggybacking on their troubles? Ideas???

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Brian92104 says:

    November 11th, 2013 at 12:10 pm

    Clicked the ad which was on my Yahoo email page as a sponsored advertiser so thought it would be legit. Thankfully I googled the company and saw these reviews before doing anything. I am going to complain to Yahoo.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    J K says:

    October 20th, 2013 at 12:32 pm

    They got my info and I got no free scores. Now my identity is out there but they didn’t get my credit card number. If you have done this, immediately freeze your credit in Experian, Trans Union, and Equifax

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    kelly says:

    August 24th, 2013 at 8:16 pm

    Just like everyone else tried to get a credit report and submitted my information so to be on the safe side I disconnected my card and reported them.

    REPLY

    brenda says:
    February 4th, 2014 at 10:46 pm

    after you disconnected your card did you continue to be billed, have they tried contacting you through mail? I immediatly cancelled my card and called to cancel my membership, but the rep stated I wasn’t in their membership file.

  • Marion Lee says:

    July 26th, 2013 at 4:45 pm

    Free score online took all my information but did not process my payment. No phone number. Does not look legit.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Erik C. says:

    July 2nd, 2013 at 11:51 pm

    I never got to see my credit score and lost $28.95 plus $1.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Pamela says:

    June 6th, 2013 at 5:53 pm

    I signed up, they kept saying my credit card did not go through so I submitted it again, I got the same response. So I submitted it again knowing my card was at a zero balance and they billed my card all three times.

    It is not a lot of money but that is not the point! Plus I’m not sure if I have to cancel three times or will I be billed three times for the same month @ $29.99 per month?

    I am not pleased and did not even get my credit scores, a total rip off!

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Kenny says:

    June 3rd, 2013 at 10:45 am

    Same thing happened with me only I feel violated and p’od so I am having my secretary report them to the proper authorities (i.e., government officials, etc.) I too, gave them my SSN# so I guess I will be reporting them to this agency as well. DO NOT USE THIS SITE – THEY ARE HACKERS, SCAMMERS ETC. Thank you. AGAIN DO NOT USE!!!!

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    bill says:

    May 9th, 2013 at 9:12 am

    Unfortunately this site was reccomended to me … This has got to be a scam. Like everyone else, I provided my personal info and then the system came back and said it could not validate me. wtf.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    sarah says:

    April 4th, 2013 at 12:54 pm

    Does this sound free? “By submitting your secure order you will be immediately charged a $1 refundable processing fee, be eligible to receive your 3 free credit scores, and begin your trial membership in ScoreSense® credit monitoring. At the end of the 7-day trial period, your credit/debit card will be charged $29.95 on a monthly basis unless and until you call 1-800-972-7204 to cancel your membership in ScoreSense.” posted on FreeScoreOnline.com after you give them all of your information and are asked for a credit card number…

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Michael O says:

    March 5th, 2013 at 11:07 am

    I went through the entire process. I tried two different credit cards and it responded denied each time. I checked with my bank, there is plenty in each. I think it’s a scam to get your info.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Laurie says:

    February 15th, 2013 at 8:03 pm

    Like an idiot, I gave them sensitive info including SS#, address, birthdate, etc. Even my phone number. After jumping through all of their hoops they said they could not provide a credit score with the info I gave.

    REPLY

    beverly says:
    November 3rd, 2013 at 9:43 am

    If they are such crooks? Why are they still allowed on this site? I even had clearance from my Norton secure Internet. Just unethical people everywhere. I will be contacting authorities and Norton.

    Mana says:
    June 16th, 2013 at 4:28 pm

    same here!!!

    cara says:
    March 19th, 2013 at 8:31 am

    Me too I just did this and computer gave me an error message. Then I get charged 30 bucks and never saw my credit score or report. When I tried to cancel the customer service guy wanted to offer it to me for $12 a month. I refused and told them I didn’t want ANY of their services and I wanted a full refund

  • Rating
      
    Don C. says:

    February 12th, 2013 at 2:58 am

    Gave a credit card that I use daily. 20k limit on it. Never had a problem with it in 10 years. They came back and said there was a problem with the care I used and to enter a different on. If they won’t take a VISA card like this, I’m sure not going to give them another one. SCAMMER ?

    REPLY

    Mike says:
    April 18th, 2013 at 6:24 pm

    Thank you, sir.

    I got the ad through my gmail while emailing myself confirmation of payment on my card I use all the time (though your limit is a smidge higher than mine).

    What made me a bit suspicious was the website saying they HAD to have my home address to “get the correct scores,” which is bullshit, since debt is not tied to address, not counting property taxes home ownership blah blah.

    So I hit the ol’ google button, your review was one of the first I found, and I felt validated. So no business from me.

    the government site you can apply to once a year is not slick, but I’m stickin with it.

  • Rating
      
    JP says:

    February 1st, 2013 at 8:43 pm

    I logged in from the gmail adv link and signed up. Then I got a message that it could not retrieve my credit score after I entered all my personal information.
    When I tried to login again, it did not let me.
    Beware!!!

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Leon Rogson says:

    January 17th, 2013 at 12:20 pm

    It does not inform you of the conditions of their offer. Watch out for a gift horse.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Mike Moomey says:

    January 8th, 2013 at 6:54 pm

    A scam is a scam no matter what language you use. STAY AWAY from these guys that tell you it’s free. Nothing is ever free, you some how will always pay. Sometimes it takes you a long time to figure out that it’s a scam then it’s too late they have you by the short hairs.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Adam Swenson says:

    January 5th, 2013 at 7:37 pm

    I used something like this once, only to find 1 year later when I went into over draft on an account that I rarely used… they drained about 600 dollars out of the account before I realized what the Hell was going on. I had the bank get a legitimate number for them and they were willing to give back most of the money, I didn’t ask for all of it at first, just half, and they obliged, then I thought that was dumb of me not to ask the full amount, so I requested the remaining money later and they would only give me half of that.

    Good luck if you’ve made the mistake.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Bill Williams says:

    January 4th, 2013 at 1:43 pm

    AVOID THIS SITE!It leads you to believe this is free. NOT. At the end of the forms to give your info they will ask for your credit card info. You may think this is so they can validate your ID. Wrong you will be charged and a subscription to some service will start. If you read the fine print you have 7 days to cancel the monthly fees but you must telephone them to cancel. You will still be charged one dollar. Total scam. You can get this free with no charge at legit sites.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Peter says:

    December 28th, 2012 at 8:33 pm

    Pure scam. Can someone tell me what number i should use to call this “company”. They cant even let me to log back in with my email which they claim its the wrong one. I feel so frustrated , someone please tell me their number

    REPLY

    Aly says:
    January 9th, 2013 at 5:48 pm

    1-800-972-7204 is the cancelation number on their website.

  • Rating
      
    Shirley Mette says:

    December 28th, 2012 at 8:12 am

    This group is a scam. After giving ALL my personal information, including credit card numbers and all, I was told I “was not eligible for this service!” No other explanation. Now I need to worry about what will happen to my personal information.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Analyst says:

    December 24th, 2012 at 10:47 am

    Website throws a message contact theed th credit Bureaus. It has collected the personal info. Is it a scam site?

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Patricia Gruber says:

    November 20th, 2012 at 7:14 pm

    I accidentally went on to this site for my credit report instead of
    Experien. When I was all finished they said they would email me the report. That immediately put up a red flag to me. Email a credit reort! I then relized I went to the wrong website. Stupid I know–blame it on rushing. I immediately put fraud protection on my credit
    reporting agencies because what concerns me is that they have all very crital info including social security No. I noticed that didn’t seem to be much of a concern in most reviews I read. Everyone just seemed concerned about being overcharged, which yes, who wants that but the worser concern to me is itentity theft. Does anyone have any knowledge that I don’t have. Is this not something I need to be concerned about?

    REPLY

    Jeff D says:
    December 18th, 2012 at 4:46 pm

    Do not put any SOcial security number info or credit card info down for a site like this its a SCAM. They want your card # and SSN to screw with you

  • Rating
      
    junetobi31 says:

    November 20th, 2012 at 3:40 pm

    Are the sores accurate on the site, because mine should be way higher than what’s shown

    REPLY
  • Tom says:

    November 10th, 2012 at 6:28 pm

    I was stupid and thought it would cancel automatically not an opt out program. I am within the cancellation period. I hope the phone number works to opt out. Is there anyone out there that was able to cancel and how

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Guy says:

    November 8th, 2012 at 8:08 pm

    Call it what you want, but it is INTENTIONALLY misleading. You would have to be NAIVE to NOT think this is a scam. This “business” amounts to them electronically looking up your credit score and then trying to get people for a recurring 30/month charge. That’s not a service, that’s crazy. The strategy (scammy) is that people will either not be able to cancel, forget or not realize it.

    I think this deserves the title of “legal scam.”

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    PJ says:

    September 17th, 2012 at 9:50 am

    In my book, FREE means FREE. FREE means $0.00, not $1.00! They take you through entering all of your personal information before mentioning the $1.00 (and about the trial period/$29.99 a month, etc.). The $1 is “refundable,” but only if you sign up for their monthly service — therefore there is nothing FREE about this site whatsoever — it is a total scam.

    I regret ever entering any of my personal information on this site. I stopped when I got to the credit card information, but they still have my social and all that. I don’t trust a site that can’t even do basic arithmetic (like ONE not being equal to ZERO). SMH.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    UNLUCKYONE says:

    September 15th, 2012 at 6:39 pm

    I to gave personal info. Like, address ssn etc. Just to fine at the end of my search that they were unable to process my request/search. So what are they doing with our info?? Don’t fall for it!!Now i’m being told i’m posing to fast. Slow down. What??? Unbelievable.

    REPLY

    Patricia says:
    November 20th, 2012 at 9:46 pm

    Just curious–did anything happen at all to your credit after you gave them all your personal information. I read their contract and
    disclaimer and it says they are not responsible for any breech of your information. It’s really scary. I accidentally went on the site today in error and they have all my personal information also. When it comes to social security No.’s it worries me. I thought I was giving the information to Experian, not freescoreonline. Just curious if you ever had a problem. Thanks Patricia

  • jennie says:

    September 10th, 2012 at 12:29 pm

    I love the internet. Sites like this protect me from being naive or stupid. Thanks for all the input.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Drid Williams says:

    August 15th, 2012 at 4:14 pm

    I think I’ve just been taken for a ride. After spending a half hour filling out what amounted to the same information over and over, I was finally told that my credit card was invalid — which is a load of rubbish. I’m going to report the site to the MN Att’y General. I hope they are penalized.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Seef says:

    July 16th, 2012 at 8:58 pm

    Does anyone know a number to actually call besides the 1-877 number? They give you NO option to speak to a customer service rep, NOR is there any way to actually cancel, please let me know, thank you.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Mary Boone says:

    July 14th, 2012 at 8:08 am

    I decided not to apply for the FREE Credit Report. The site would not allow me to delete my email address. I was able to delete all other information however. BUT, my conclusion is this has SCAM written all over it. I am waiting to see if the site contacts me since I was not able to delete the email address.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Arun says:

    June 28th, 2012 at 12:18 pm

    We understand it’s a business and nothing is free. Then don’t try to be smart and stop using the word “FREE”.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Chris says:

    June 26th, 2012 at 12:17 pm

    I don’t think people understand what “Scam” means because it’s thrown around constantly against legitimate companies. A scam would generally mean they are doing something illegal – such as telling you it’s completely free and then charging you without telling you, thus stealing from you. I haven’t signed up for this service, but I’m willing to bet that at some point during Registration there is a link or text somewhere that explains YOU ARE SIGNING UP FOR A SUBSCRIPTION BASED SERVICE.

    Your “free” report is free. They give it to you after sign up, and you get 7 days to view it. If you don’t cancel within 7 days, then you are going into a subscription to receive credit report updates on regular intervals for some kind of fee. No idea what that fee is, but I think someone said $30/mo?

    This is the internet. There is no such thing as “free.” If you think a company has setup a website to gather and present you very detailed information about your credit report for nothing, then you need to do more research. They are are business. Are there other websites that do this? Yes. Are there other websites that do this and make the information much more clear? Yes. Are there other websites that provide this service and much more (like monitoring and ID theft recovery) for much cheaper than what these guys charge? Yes. Should you stay away from this website simply because of what you get compared to what you pay? Yes.

    REPLY

    Keith says:
    July 11th, 2012 at 9:53 pm

    Somebody likes to use ‘term’ to avoid scam. Yes, it is. Term is there to tell you you will be charged after 7 days. But the advertisement never says about the binding but just telling you it is free. This is a clearly misleading which also called scam.

  • Rating
      
    Hugh says:

    June 20th, 2012 at 11:16 am

    I filled out the information form for the free credit score. They have my name, address, phone number, and social security number. After submitting that I am told. Gee this system isn’t working. Sorry.

    REPLY
  • georgia green says:

    May 14th, 2012 at 1:50 pm

    if you see that i signed up by accident please remove me. this is the kind of scam that ruins peoples credit.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    mr x says:

    May 13th, 2012 at 11:08 am

    Terms and conditions as follows:
    IF THE SERVICES YOU CHOOSE INCLUDE A FREE-TRIAL PERIOD, YOUR FREE TRIAL PERIOD IS MEASURED IN 24-HOUR DAYS. FOR EXAMPLE, IF YOU SIGN UP FOR A 7-DAY FREE TRIAL PERIOD AT 10:00 A.M. ON MARCH 1, 2010, YOUR FREE TRIAL PERIOD WILL EXPIRE AT 9:59 A.M. ON MARCH 8, 2010.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    WiseOne says:

    April 21st, 2012 at 7:06 pm

    The Truth Teller makes a very good, if somewhat snarky, point…

    As with any transaction online (especially those involving credit cards) one must always look for and read the fine print – which is really easy to find, usually through highlighted hyperlinks before you click anything to continue. As with nearly every credit report/score/monitoring website, freescoreonline.com rather clearly states that the user is engaging in a trial period that must be cancelled within a certain timeframe or membership fees will be charged to the credit card provided at time of sign up. This is standard industry procedure and there is nothing shady about it. There is a quid-pro-quo… you have to do something in order to get something… In this case, you have to remember to send a very short email within 10 days of registering in order to avoid a fee for a service – the only thing this article’s author notes that I was unaware of is the exact time of day portion of the trial membership definition, something that should be more prominently displayed.

    Anyone who actually believes any of these companies wants to give them something for nothing is incredibly naive, at best. It’s a marketing tool, not a scam. They hope that you will like their service(s)/product(s) enough to stick around and pay for it/them (and I’m sure they’re hopeful some folks just forget to cancel). Unless you’ve lived under a rock for the past 10-15 years, you should know that. AND that you can get all 3 credit reports for free at annualcreditreport.com – as allowed by law. It’s the scores that are coveted and harder to obtain. Either jump through the easy hoops for a freebie or pay up if knowing the scores is important to you.

    REPLY

    WiseOne says:
    April 21st, 2012 at 7:11 pm

    I apologize…

    freescoreonline.com requires a phone call within 7 days for cancellation of trial membership, not an email within 10 days, as stated above (that was for myFICO).

  • Rating
      
    brandi says:

    March 30th, 2012 at 1:15 pm

    I was not aware of that you have to call in and cancel membership at certain time of the 7 day trail membership i thought as long as you call in within 7 days you would not be charged 29.95. on the website it does not indicate this information this is away for this company to take your hard earned money it is scam to get paid.

    REPLY

    The Sooth Sayer says:
    June 26th, 2012 at 12:41 am

    I don’t believe for a second that anyone who knows how to pour Piss out of a Boot reads 15 pages of deliberately obtuse (you may have to look that up) language telling you how to cancel an account. Duh, if a Online company can’t or won’t explain in simple terms, up front and straight forward the information you need IT SCREAMS SCAM. Is there anyone out there who remembers how it was when good service made a business successful? Good Service doesn’t exist on the Internet and I’ve been trying to find it since I started using the Internet in the 1970′s

    THE TRUTH TELLER says:
    April 17th, 2012 at 3:42 pm

    You should not be using a computer if you do not know how to sign up for items or services online. It has a place for you to click and read the terms and conditions…If you would have done that you would know that you have to cancel in 7 days. If you want to be mad at someone…Be mad at yourself. What do you mean scam?? I think the doctor scammed you out of your brain when you were born hahahahah

  • Rating
      
    dez says:

    March 9th, 2012 at 4:43 pm

    Its a scam free should mean free

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    barbara says:

    March 2nd, 2012 at 10:16 am

    when i signed on i thought that i was paying 1 dollar to review my credit profile i had no ideal that i would be charged 29.95 per month .i was not aware that i had seven days to cancel a membership that i did not know existed. i was an idiot never never ever put your credit card number on line. you can get your credit report for free by calling each of the credit bureaus and requesting it.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Waltz says:

    February 8th, 2012 at 6:22 pm

    IF IT SOUNDS TO GOOD TO BE TRUE, IT IS
    when they charge money to even let you see things for 7 days and do not inform you as to how much subscription fee amounts to; then you deserve to lose your money for being a sucker.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Shamithra says:

    January 13th, 2012 at 8:20 pm

    If its free, why do you need any credit card account?

    REPLY

Add Your Review



Your Comment:

Choose a Rating

Please Write Your ReviewRead Review Guidelines