Harris Poll Online Reviews – Legit or Scam?

 


HarrisPollOnline.com
from 25 reviews Review It
HarrisPollOnline.com

 

Harris Poll Online is the online division of Harris Interactive, a global market research company which gives individuals a chance to “influence important decision makers in government, business, and non-profits.”

When you join Harris Poll Online, you’ll be enrolled in their appreciation program, which allows you to earn HIpoints when you complete surveys. HIpoints may then be exchanged for prizes and gift certificates.

Members can sign up at HarrisPollOnline.com for free, as long as you are at least 13 years old, with a verifiable mailing address and email address, and you can unsubscribe from their service at any time.

Participating with Harris Poll Online

Members will typically receive 3-4 survey invitations per month, with each survey taking anywhere between 5 and 25 minutes to complete. Each survey will reward members with a different amount of HIpoints.

Some members with certain areas of interest or special characteristics, such as certain medical conditions or backgrounds, may qualify for more surveys than other members on a month to month basis.

Not every survey you take will be rewarded with HIpoints, but Harris Poll Online promises that surveys which don’t award points will be the exception.

In addition to acquiring HIpoints, Harris Poll Online also has opportunities for members to be enrolled in their HIstakes sweepstakes. These sweepstakes give members the opportunity to win cash prizes anywhere from $250 up to $10,000.

Issues with Harris Poll Online

Harris Poll Online does have a problem with imposters and scammers using their name for illegal purposes. Ads have posted online from Harris/Decima offering free cash or gifts for mystery shopping or quality assurance studies.

These ads are false, and in no way associated either with Harris Poll Online or Harris Interactive. If you see any of these ads, you should contact the company directly at 800-600-2493 and report them.

All the information you provide the Harris Poll with, both contact and personal, will be kept confidential. The Harris Poll Online promises to never release your personal information to any other person, company, or organization without your permission.

If you're at Reviewopedia.com because you're looking for a way to make money online then check out our article "7 Ways to Make Money Online" - methods that anyone can use to earn an income from home.

 

 

Would you like to add your review for
Harris Poll Online ?
If so, click here
 
Share This Page!

 

Customer Responses, Reviews, or Complaints


Average Rating for " Harris Poll Online " is 1.44 out of 5 based on 25 reviews.

  • rsr says:

    November 22nd, 2014 at 3:09 pm

    We all should get together and do a class action lawsuit…

    REPLY

    Alan Weissberger says:
    December 19th, 2014 at 11:38 am

    After you complete a survey for Financial Advisors, you are promised a $15 or $20 Amazon gift card after 6 to 8 weeks. But you don’t get it and they don’t reply to email enquiries. I’m filing a complaint with BBB- Upstate NY

  • Rating
      
    David S. says:

    September 29th, 2014 at 5:42 pm

    Seemed legit at first but had same experience as many other have posted.
    Wasted lots of time on surveys giving info only to be told I didn’t qualify. Took a couple of surveys that were supposed to be for 200 points, each took me over 15 minutes, never got points.
    Spent 20 minutes on one survey, page crashed, when I tried to get back in it said survey was closed. Rewards page doesn’t even show what point values are needed to get real, non sweepstakes, rewards, so I assume it must be very high.
    Basically they have ripped me off for my time and information, sold that information for their gain and profit
    So that makes them scammers

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Diana B says:

    September 3rd, 2014 at 5:56 pm

    I guess I have also been “deleted” from Harris and I’ve been a member for years!!! I can’t even get a response from them & I still had Hi-Points. I noticed there were problems with the website when I couldn’t finish surveys(their fault!) & they started sending me 4 and 5 requests a week. I don’t have that much free time on my hands. If you ask me it appears they are “culling the herd” for some asinine reason. Needless to say I won’t be praising their company and will be sure to let all know that there are not to be trusted!!!! Join Crowdtap, it’s much better and better rewards!

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    PatriciaM says:

    September 2nd, 2014 at 12:56 pm

    I have been a member for over 10 years, doing surveys, collecting my points, and very occasionally test-marketing a product at home. Last week, I could not log in to collect my point balance, so I contacted their help desk.

    Today I received the following in an e-mail:
    Thank you for contacting us. Per our last email notification to you, we explained that further poor survey quality would result in termination of your membership. The reputation of the HPOL panel as a trusted source for public opinion, and the integrity of Harris Interactive, is based on the honest participation of our panelists. Since we can no longer count on the honesty of your participation, all known instances of your membership will be removed from the Harris Poll Online panel, pursuant to our Terms of Use.

    Further, all of the HIpoints and /or other cash incentives associated with your accounts have been rendered void. Please note that you are prohibited from accessing or using the Harris Poll Online site, including participating in the Harris Poll Online panel, at any time in the future.
    Sincerely,
    Alex
    Survey Helpdesk

    I never received an e-mail from them prior to this, and I am very offended at this treatment. I let them know I will share my opinion about them with everyone, and I also filed a complaint with the BBB.

    REPLY

    rsr says:
    November 22nd, 2014 at 3:06 pm

    I got the same thing…We should get together and do a class action lawsuit.

  • Rating
      
    john says:

    July 28th, 2014 at 6:27 pm

    complete ripoff do not waste your time. I was promised a $50 Amazon gift card to complete a survey on logistics and shipping. I spent 30 minutes on line and 1 hour on the phone. Guess what i never received the gift card. Sent over 10 emails to info@ or research@ and received one reply assuring me that once the survey was closed i would get the gift card. That was over 9 months ago and still no gift card and no replies to emails . Avoid this company
    John

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Maureen says:

    March 3rd, 2014 at 4:55 pm

    I cashed out my Hi-Points for two E-Gift cards in December, and have been fighting to get them. I encourage every respondant who ordered E-cards to contact the NY BBB. They gave a $900,000 severance package to a former president. Surely, they can send oout my two E-cards.

    http://www.bbb.org/new-york-city

    REPLY

    Maureen says:
    March 14th, 2014 at 2:55 pm

    Maureen, I tried filing my complaint to the NY BBB…to no avail. They simply ignored them.

    Warning signs that there was a cash flow problem was when they set up a “casino atmosphere” trying to entice respondents to redeem their Hi-Points for cash prizes. I wonder how many Hi-Points are / were wasted chasing after a big award. Same odds as Vegas. Also, they still mention automatic entry into the Hi-Stakes drawing, HOWEVER, the website shows they haven’t paid out the top prize since the first quarter of 2012.

    Perhaps Harris should do a poll as to what their respondents think of being treated. AC Nielson, which just took over Harris, needs to dump current management, and infuse it with the much needed cash to keep whatever respondents they still have.

  • Rating
      
    Sue says:

    October 2nd, 2013 at 12:00 pm

    I am getting the same thing as the rest of you, but one thing I have to add is that when I type my email to get my points or look at rewards they change the il in hotmail to the color red when I login. This makes it invalid and I have emailed them about it with no response so far. Beginning to think there are management problems and we are all going to get scr**** out of our points. I have earned a substantial amount and was going to use it for gift cards to the gap or old navy.

    REPLY

    Glynn says:
    October 3rd, 2013 at 1:40 am

    Thank you!! All of you that have commented. I had just signed up today (yesterday) and will be sure and unsubscribe immediately. You all have saved me a lot of grief and probably others as well. I’m so sorry that you all have put in much hard work only to be treated the way they are treating you. :(

  • Rating
      
    Kennedy says:

    June 3rd, 2013 at 9:56 am

    Don’t sign up… not worth your time. They will randomly take away points too! You won’t earn enough in a decent amount of time to make your effort worth your time.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    HonEbaby says:

    May 31st, 2013 at 11:16 am

    I’ve been with Harris Poll for about 7 years now. I’ve filled out countless surveys in hopes to be rewarded with one of the “bigger” prizes (specifically I was hoping to cash in on one of those golf bags they were offering at one point).

    Then the tides changed and their policies changed along with whoever was originally running the business. My point balance (all of almost 5000 of it) was deleted by them.

    I contacted the company via the only contact form they provide and asked why this occured – they claimed they’d only provide me with half of my original points. Then they proceeded to credit my account with 6000 points.

    Today I logged in and they’ve since taken away 4500 points again and left me with LESS than half of my points to proceed.

    I am considering possibly making an attempt to “Cash in” on whatever I have left and then just canceling my account. My advice – don’t sign up now. The company stinks!

    P.S. They ARGUED with me over my points balance. Yes… ARGUED!!

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Growlybear says:

    May 4th, 2013 at 1:34 pm

    I have received many useful items over the years and looked forward to answering the polls. I too have failed to qualify for most surveys. The other day I went to the website and found that I had 5,000 points. I can’t redeem them or contact them as all of the links are broken. I looked up the phone number for Harris and left a message. I probably won’t hear from them.

    Any other suggestions or just wave goodbye to my points and stop wasting my time.

    Growlybear

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    ellowe says:

    April 24th, 2013 at 12:03 pm

    The Harris Poll survyes used to be great but are a total waste of time now.

    They do a long, time-consuming pre-screening which leads you to believe you’re earning points, then it says you don’t qualify and boots you out after you’ve already spent time answering questions. They frequently try to get other members of your household to participate, but say they aren’t able to give them any rewards.

    You used to be able to earn Amazon or other retailer $5 gift cards, which wasn’t a lot but certainly helped. Now you have to earn lots of points before being able to get anything other than worthless sweepstakes points.

    They frequently waste your time sending out e-mails saying how they’ve improved their process out of respect for your time, but nothing ever changes. In addition it’s much harder to access your HiPoints now since they changed the website and you can’t personalize your password.

    Just wanted to pass this on for anyone considering which options would have the best payout for the time investment. I’m not sure if there’s been a change of hands, but Harris Poll is pretty much a joke and a scam now. I advise you not to waste your time with them.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Gavioli says:

    April 22nd, 2013 at 10:46 am

    I have been a member of Harris Poll Online for about 2 months and they are easily the most frustrating and nasty survey organisation that I have ever been involved in. I have received about seven or eight invitations to surveys, none of which has seen me actually qualify.

    They are very good at leading survey takers on to a belief that this time they have been accepted, only to be kicked off after getting a raft of information from the participant. I would certainly not and under no circumstances at all, recommend them to anyone hoping to build up a portfolio of survey organisations.

    I find it impossible to believe that there are worse survey outfits. Even a poor outfit must be loads better than this dire outfit.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    kimberly says:

    April 22nd, 2013 at 9:45 am

    I have only been a member a few months and I get surveys and points all the time, I am at 450 points but I cannot look at the reward catalog…the website does not allow me too, also I cannot email them either the website will not allow me too… any suggestions

    Thanks

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    AJ says:

    April 18th, 2013 at 7:42 am

    I just signed up because I got an email from them at work. The subject line said it was for educators so I thought it was just some survey I could fill out that’s similar to other ones I fill out about my teacher education program or something. Well, after I signed up I began the first survey. They started asking about how many children I had and their ages which started making me feel uneasy. I should’ve stopped right there, but thinking that it still could be legitimate for marketing purposes, I continued. Then they asked for the names of my children!!! Are you kidding me??? I am now terrified that some creepers on the other end of this website are out to take my kids.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Dave says:

    March 30th, 2013 at 8:34 pm

    Like many noted before, Harris Poll used to be good. They offered acceptable merchandise, magazines, etc. The surveys were actually a worthwhile endeavor. Now it is a scam. I ALMOST completed 3 sruveys the other day only to be informed I am not qualified.

    I switched ISPs last month. My e-mail with my former ISP will die shortly, thus dies Harris. Good riddance.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    sylvia says:

    March 25th, 2013 at 12:16 pm

    they get all the info they need for a poll, just to inform you after wasting your time, that you do not qualify. I left them after a few months, do not like to be taken for a fool

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Peter says:

    March 24th, 2013 at 10:26 pm

    A total scam. After having you answer anywhere from 10 – 20 questions which allows them to gather the info they want for their poll, they tell you that you do not qualify. A total waste of your time

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    TopDog says:

    February 24th, 2013 at 11:51 am

    I have been a member of Harris Online Surveys for a little over 10 years. It used be outstanding. As of a year or so ago it has become a total scam. First they have you answer questions to qualify for a survey. Once you do that you start a survey and after answering a bunch of questions all of a sudden after they have a lot of answered questions from you it pops up and says you dont qualify. Total SCAM!

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Richard says:

    February 23rd, 2013 at 6:08 pm

    I am a long time member. My story is similar to what you will read below. The links for redeeming points do not work. Thus you spend significant time answering polls and in the end cannot cash in. I have stopped participating

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    BOB ANONYMOUS says:

    February 21st, 2013 at 2:03 am

    They trick you into participation with a promise of points, then after you finish they inform you that you won’t get points after all. Stay far away, they are not a “scam” but are very dishonest. I had this happen 3 times in my first 2 weeks. Sometimes I even did qualifying questions, was told I qualified, then did the whole survey, then was told I was not eligible. Screw you Harris, follow through on your promises.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Carol says:

    February 11th, 2013 at 2:50 pm

    I have been taking Harris Poll surveys for years. Last year I finally cashed in my 7000+ points for something I really needed, because I was out of work. I have continued to take their surveys but it has become increasingly frustrating. I get 1 or 2 surveys per week. 9 out of 10 of the surveys I no longer qualify for. Or I am informed that I do qualify for the survey, so I continue answering the questions. Usually 7 to 10 questions later I find out that again I don’t qualify and last weekend I had 3 invites to the surveys. I only answered 2 of the 3 and lost 400 points. This has happened on more than one occasion over the last 2 years or so. I am so close to cancelling the survey program, but I did get something great for my 7000+ points. I used to not qualify for maybe 1 in 10, now its the other way around. Thanks

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Long Time User says:

    February 3rd, 2013 at 11:03 am

    I have been a member for a long time now and never really looked to see that I was receiving the points I should have.
    When I finally did, I cashed in $30 for an Amazon E certificate. It was not emailed to me after over a month and I had to contact them. They did finally send it to me.
    Most recently, this last week, I did a very long survey which I was to receive 200 points for. The last page, after this one grueling survey, said there was an error and that my answers hadn’t gone through. I contacted them about this.
    They said that I did finish the survey and will receive the points in 24 to 48 hours but I still haven’t. So I’ve had to email them again. Conveniently, they pretty quickly sent me another survey for 100 points which I did receive the points for.
    I am wondering what has happened to all the points I should have earned all these years. I think this polling company has a huge problem with honesty.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    justaz says:

    January 24th, 2013 at 12:04 pm

    I have been doing their surveys for about a year. So I just did one it was all about winter outerwear. I answered a bunch of questions about purchasing preferences. I spent about 15 minutes on it. All of a sudden I get a I do not qualify, so of course no points. This has happened a number of times. I complained a couple of times and they added the points anyway. This time I unsubscribed. 10 minutes later guess what I received. An email from a winter outerwear company trying to sell me their goods. I have never heard or purchased from this company before. Looks like they are now using the survey to sell to online product marketers.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Jay says:

    October 3rd, 2012 at 9:20 pm

    Ier 10,000 worthless points. I tried to redeem my points for magazines because I have read how horrible iGift cards are to deal with and most likely will get ripped-off. Well guess what I am getting screwed by Harris Poll Online (DBA Harris Interactive) When trying to redeem points it goes to a dead page. ALL of them not just one mag but ALL of them. STAY the hell away from these shysters. I hope that the people behind this scam burn in hell.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Stacee says:

    April 2nd, 2012 at 8:39 pm

    HarrisPoll used to be a great site. I would take surveys to kill time, get rewards, and go on with my life. Now, I noticed that every time I take a survey…I get kicked off RIGHT before the final window telling me how many points I earned appears. So basically, I end up taking the entire survey for free. This site has turned into one big scam. At first I thought I was having issues with my computer or internet connection. However, I just took yet another 20-minute survey. After the, “Would you take another survey in next 3 months” question, I get kicked off to the main page.

    Won’t be wasting my time on the site anymore.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    cj says:

    February 20th, 2012 at 5:26 pm

    Harris USED to be excellent, but recently have changed the survey options significantly. Previously, simply taking the time to respond and answer some questions netted at least a few points, even if you didn’t qualify. Lately, however, a large number of polls seem to have shifted to where I feel that they’re gaining useful feedback, along with a number of categorization questions, all taking up a fair amount of time, only to be told that I didn’t qualify…and no points were forthcoming. It would be more honest if they would point out that points were only available upon qualification before I spend 5 or 10 minutes providing information for nothing.

    REPLY

    Stacee says:
    April 2nd, 2012 at 8:41 pm

    Interesting. I always seem to get qualified for the surveys although the initial questions are annoying. However, even after taking the surveys, I don’t get the points. And GT, I’m with you on the unsubscribing part.

    GT says:
    March 2nd, 2012 at 9:38 am

    I totally agree with the observation made by cj. There are far too many survey questions posed before you’re greeted with sorry you do not qualify. I’m guessing someone figured out that they could save money and still get the base survey questions by disqualifying after they had a significant amount of data. One more of those surveys and I’ll be unsubscribing.


Add Your Review



Your Comment:

Choose a Rating

Please Write Your ReviewRead Review Guidelines