LowerMyBills.com Reviews – Legit or Scam?

 

Lower My BillsLowerMyBills.com is a website that claims to provide you with quotes from competing companies to ensure that you can get the lowest possible monthly payments on everything from mortgage to car insurance.

In order to provide you with these quotes, Lower My Bills must acquire from you a vast amount of personal information.  Your address, phone number, email address, social security number, credit score – the list goes on and on.

After you have provided them with this information, Lower My Bills promises to provide you with the best possible quote.  Yet, after submitting all your information, instead of receiving a quote from Lower My Bills, you are told you will be contacted within 24 hours with a quote.

How Does LowerMyBills Work?

LowerMyBills.com essentially collects your information and then sells it to everyone they can.  Their Privacy Policy states plainly that your information will be given to all companies or partners that can provide you information that you requested – say, information on lowering your car insurance – and every company they partner with who can give you information on products or services you may be interested in.  This last line basically gives them the ability to disseminate your information to anyone they wish.

Many customers complain that they were led to believe through the company advertisements that they would be provided with information and quotes online.  However, after their information was submitted, they received no information online, rather they began receiving multiple phone calls a day from various salespeople who had their information and were hoping to sell them a service.

What You Should Know About LowerMyBills

First, Lower My Bills attempts to attain a large amount of personal and financial information from you on their website.  Perhaps the biggest issue with Lower My Bills is that there is no such thing as “submitting” your information. As you go through the process of filling out your info, you are given vague messages urging you to answer further questions and fill out more and more information.

But what you don’t realize is that every time you move forward in the process, the information that you have filled out is collected and given to salespeople to use to contact you.  It doesn’t matter if you quit halfway through the process or one minute into the process – whatever info you filled out is considered submitted, and then taken and given out to salespeople.

Another issue with Lower My Bills is that because they are linked to mortgage institutions and therefore have the ability to collect large amounts of personal financial information over the internet, their Terms page states that they cannot and will not “delete” your information.  Because of the Federal Financial Privacy Law, they must store your financial information for a set period of time.

Therefore, if you contact them and ask them to “delete” your information, your request will go ignored, and you will continue receiving phone calls and emails from advertisers and salespeople.  Instead, request that they stop sharing or selling your information to their partners or other companies.

Finally, though LowerMyBills.com claims to be an Experian company, they are considered an entirely different branch of the corporation, so any phone calls to Experian requesting help or assistance in dealing with Lower My Bills will be ignored.  In order to deal with Lower My Bills directly, please send all requests in writing to:

LowerMyBills.com
Attn: Law Department
4859 W Slauson Ave #405
Los Angeles, CA 90056


 

Would you like to add your review for
Lower My Bills ?
If so, click here
 
Share This Page!

 

Customer Responses, Reviews, or Complaints


Average Rating for " Lower My Bills " is 1.26 out of 5 based on 23 reviews.

  • Rating
      
    Lynn Pierce says:

    September 26th, 2014 at 8:12 am

    After readings all the reviews I want to thank you all!! I just wanted a lower payment on my car and would have done it if I didn’t read all your reviews.I can not thank you all enough!!!!

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Nevertryagain says:

    July 14th, 2014 at 12:03 pm

    Dreadful only because there are no lower ratings. If you have poor credit for whatever reason they transfer you to a “lawyer service” where you talk to a paralegal who will “give you tips to better your credit rating” which means they charge you $99/month to “to clean up your credit report.” I asked the paralegal how that is supposed to happen and her response was very questionable. Nothing guaranteed and you still wait for months until hopefully they are somewhat successful at removing some of the negatives. Also, as stated in the article above, you don’t even need to complete the entire application, they call you anyway.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Black Bird says:

    March 15th, 2014 at 10:45 pm

    These people are total SCAMS.

    They advertise that they will tell you a little known secret on how to lower your insurance rates if you just tell them your ZIP.

    But they never do. You just end up getting unwanted phone calls from agents selling insurance at over inflated prices.

    Just stay with AAA!

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Jason says:

    January 18th, 2014 at 11:16 am

    I used to love LowerMyBills 5-10 yrs ago when they used to actually provide many online quotes. I used them many times to find auto, home, and mortgages. Back then, I used to get a few calls from banks which I appreciated since I was very actively looking for rates (this was before bankrate.com and Google mortgages).

    This is the first time I went back looking for auto insurance and found the scam is to not give you any online quotes. I have no interest in talking to sales guys one on one to get rates, so needless to say this is the last time I will use their service.

    BTW, there are many apps that screen calls for you.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    CousinOfBartFarcus says:

    January 5th, 2014 at 12:32 am

    lowermybills?…more like LowerYourPants…then bend over & pray it’s over quickly :O

    Shame on whichever credit bureau it happens 2 b whose behind this scam. On the bright side…job security for those working @ the FTC….sick’em FTC….sick’em!!

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Eric says:

    December 10th, 2013 at 1:49 pm

    Another disturbing trend I see in these “banner ads” are the use of “President” and even Barack, Obama, Democrat, Tea Party, Republican, etc. It would seem to me that if there was a sleazy company like this that has such a broad reach in today’s digital world, they would be told to cease using these names to float there own bottom line (which I’m still not quite sure is made up of a legitimate revenue stream and not just a front for the Leftist agenda promoted so forcefully by not only the “President” quoted in many of the ads (that would be Barry Obama) but the cesspool that is modern day mass media. Eat your heart out Noam Chomsky

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Neil Sandford says:

    November 16th, 2013 at 2:19 pm

    I have no problem with catchy ads to try to get your attention, but I deeply resent advertising that is blatantly false or misleading. That is what lowermybills does. They claim after you go through a long process giving them all kinds of information that you can receive a quote online. They claim you can get that on the next page and the next page just sends you to other companies that require the same information all over again. Don’t be fooled by this deceptive scam!!!

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Max64 says:

    October 11th, 2013 at 6:46 pm

    For all the people defending this horrible company, they use misleading rates and premiums to get people to click on their ads. None of the terms they offer are legit. This is illegal and they should be shut down by the FTC.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Denise says:

    August 12th, 2013 at 12:43 pm

    When I started asking questions about their business they hung up on me. They already had my phone, address and info about my car. I don’t want to have anything to do with this organization – how is this legal and why does Experian have anything to do with them?

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Reality says:

    August 6th, 2013 at 2:42 pm

    Their whole business is based on using deceptive ads to trick consumers into filing out forms. What I don’t understand is how companies like this are allowed to show offers for things like mortgages and insurance when they do not offer these products. They advertise rates and premiums that aren’t available. Some Banks and Insurance companies also use bait and switch tactics but if caught they can get in serious trouble. Plain and simple companies should not be allowed to advertise financial and insurance products that they do not offer. If you take that away from companies like this they will go out of business.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Christi says:

    February 8th, 2013 at 11:54 pm

    I put in all my stuff even Ssn . Wasn’t paying attention . So far nothing has happen. They say it is secured the security On it are legit . So I’m pretty sure my Ssn number is safe . But the company is bogus other than it being safe .

    REPLY

    ALFONZO says:
    July 10th, 2013 at 7:34 am

    Just another bunch of Azzholes looking for your info to spread all
    over either by e-mail or U.S.Post Office.And Phone.

  • Rating
      
    Tony Lee Graves says:

    November 17th, 2012 at 11:56 am

    ***Review Continued***
    At this point it is 0822 hours and I have still not received any Auto Insurance Quotes” and as a matter of fact, the lowermybills.com web page is still (with the common loading icon) processing my information. I will leave this site on my Computer and I will not shut it down for any reason what so ever, until the lowermybills.com owners provide to me what they promised me and my wife, a Auto Insurance Quote, (promised to us immediately upon receiving all the personal information that they’ve requested). Further, I will upon finishing this review be contacting all the companies and corporations that have associated them selves as per the Logos on the website. Three examples are eTrust, Verisign Secured and The B.B.B. I will be reporting my experience with them and lowermybills.com to The Federal Trade Commission, Dunn & Bradstreet, as well as the local and Federal Authorities in each respective jurisdiction, as these Companies and Corporations are bound by their phisical locations, be it City, County or State License or Incorporation. Finally, as I type it is now 0840 hours on this day 17 Nov. 2012 and the lowermybills.com website has not kept their contractual agreement and promise to me and my wife, and the “Swirling Loading Icon” continues to say their “Processing my Information”… I can’t help but to notice this “Swirling Icon” they have chosen to give my wife and I instead of the Auto Insurance Quote they Promised resembeles a “Clock”… “A Clock that “they” have chosen that is Counting Very Rapidly Down to that Final Hour that they will inevitabley be going out of the business of Corupt and unscrupoulos Profiting by means of Extorting, Cheating and Preying upon The Average American Consumer… Shame on you “lowermybills.com” and Shame on anyone associated with “lowermybills.com”… Signed Tony Lee Graves…

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Tony Lee Graves says:

    November 17th, 2012 at 11:20 am

    At approximately 00730 hours on November 17th, 2012 and while I was surfing the Internet to find out if my wife and I should qualify for a “Lower Auto Insurance Rate”, I encountered the “LowerMyBills.com website. I was asked a series of questions of a very personal nature, regarding my spouse and I. At this point I became cautious and proceeded, but not before I looked for signs that this “LowerMyBills.com” website was a trusted site. I found that there were three “Logos” of a “very distinct” nature that I , as a consumer, have been known to trust. These three Company Logos and the Statements at the bottom of the first page on their website (lowermybills.com), which claims that they (lowermybills.com), “won’t Sell or Share any of the personal information that they collect”, convinced me that I could safely continue filling out their various questions. I was promised from the onset that I would be receiving a Auto Insurance Quote immediately upon answering their questions. ***Please see my continued review, I will submit this review in separate submissions due to it’s length and the sensitive nature that will surely result in “Official Legal Litigation”***

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Me says:

    November 6th, 2012 at 10:06 pm

    I wish I had read this first. I stopped giving my info when social was requested. Real pieces of garbage.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    mark says:

    October 16th, 2012 at 3:01 pm

    This website is a scam. First clue is the “this one trick” LIE. This is a know tag line to get stupid people to give their personal information for the scam website to sell to whoever will pay. This includes identity thieves, Scammers, whoever will pay. There are thousands of website who gather personal information and do the same thing. NEVER give personal information over the web.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Bart Believer says:

    October 12th, 2012 at 1:09 pm

    I like the way you think. Don’t listen to dumdass, his name says it all. My experience was exactly the same as Mike Ellington ie. quiting when they asked for my SSN, etc.
    I’m prepared for the calls,… I, just as rudely, tell them to take me off their list and stop calling me or legal action will follow. Usually that does the trick.
    Message to all,… Don’t be affraid to abruptly cut these sales people off and tell them to take your number off their list and never call you back. E-mails are directly reported as spam.
    Caveat Emptor – Buyer truely BEWARE.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    ME says:

    September 21st, 2012 at 12:39 pm

    Awful! Horrible un-American moneymaking scam!

    REPLY
  • ME says:

    September 21st, 2012 at 12:38 pm

    Why did you write five stars!

    REPLY
  • Linda says:

    September 5th, 2012 at 8:23 am

    Dont give out any information. I was hacked they got my password it was a mess if it looks to good changes are they are after your id or money

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Gearge Hall says:

    August 27th, 2012 at 3:29 pm

    This review is almost completely fictitious. I used to work for this company, and they have to abide by the same rules & regulations that any bank has to comply with concerning consumer data. They don’t collect data until a consumer completes the process, and they are not allow to use any information that’s not submitted in full. Furthermore, they don’t collect any additional data or any personal financial information “over the internet” from any other mortgage institutions. They are part of Experian, (One of the “big 3″ credit bureaus) so all data is kept in strict secure measures mandated by federal law. If you want to not be contacted by mortgage companies, they will contact each company on your behalf to stop. I know this company has helped a lot of people get a better deal on their mortgage, car insurance, and other services, so if you’re looking for competitive bids, it may be something to try.

    REPLY

    B says:
    December 5th, 2012 at 1:32 am

    To “T” – when you clicked no thanks, you were saying it to putting in your SSN, not to stop the process entirely. there are different forms of leads that are given to mortgage companies. there is nothing illegal about what they are doing in any way. when you start inquiring, you will get information – that simple

    T says:
    November 23rd, 2012 at 1:21 pm

    You are delusional!!! I STOPPED the online process, by clicking on “No Thanks” when I was asked to provide my SS#, and within a half an hour received two phone calls from different loan agencies informing me that they received my phone number from lowermybills.com. Apparently they have changed their process sense you left the company.

    Liar says:
    October 16th, 2012 at 11:10 am

    “They don’t collect data until a consumer completes the process, and they are not allow to use any information that’s not submitted in full.” This is utterly and ridiculously false. Friend of mine foolishly provided information up until a social security number was requested, that’s when they closed their browser. They had already provided their phone number, which has been called 3 times in the last 2 hours by company of yours.

  • Rating
      
    rori says:

    July 12th, 2012 at 8:23 am

    I hadnt given any personal info other than my car make and model but something made me stop and google peoples reviews of that services im that I did because these people are awful selling your info and houndind you with calls. Everyone seems to lack professionalism today its discouraging as you cant really trust anyone anymore.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Mike Ellington says:

    May 20th, 2012 at 7:09 pm

    I started entering my information for lowermybills.com’s website. When the form asked me for my social security number I was uneasy so I tabbed to Google and searched for anything about the company. The first 10 hits were complaints about the company ranging from slightly irritated to very upset and seeking revenge. After reading these reviews I decided that submitting the last page with my SSN would be a bad idea so I opened the tab where I had stopped before clicking on the “Continue” button and low and behold the page had grabbed the information and was now displaying the next steps. I am positive that I did not hit “Enter” or click “Continue”. Now I can look forward to hundreds of phone calls from jerks trying to sell me something. Even though I didn’t submit the information and the company is less than honest, I am such an idiot for even following the original link.

    Shame on you lowermybills.com for your unethical scripting practices and shame on me for falling for it. I know much better.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    High Treason says:

    May 19th, 2012 at 6:04 pm

    Can anyone tell how to prevent the ads from lowermybills.com to appear ?

    I find them unbecoming for an American citizen.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Awful says:

    March 23rd, 2012 at 3:31 pm

    The ads are so incredibly annoying as well. Can any legal action be taken against them for false advertisement?

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    bart farcas says:

    March 20th, 2012 at 7:10 pm

    I am retired and spend hours at a time filling out the forms for lowermybills with fictitious information. I have nothing else to do so I send them tons of made up info to screw with the system. Maybe if they get enough bogus info, they will go away.

    REPLY

    BartFarcas for Prez says:
    December 10th, 2013 at 2:05 pm

    I have not laughed that hard in a long time! And to “dumbass”: if your talking about the countless mid to lower level people that were involved in allowing these ridiculous loans to be pushed through the system for people that had no history of even decent money management as well as no current or immediate future assets/income to allow for the aforementioned predatory loans as long as they were collecting a commission and “tee-ing up” the next sucker until the whole thing finally got pulled out from underneath them and to this day still lingers as the biggest reason for are financial recession and all the BS piled on by are esteemed representatives in the government? I would to you that nobody is crying over spilled milk when it comes to that POS Industry.

    me says:
    November 6th, 2012 at 10:10 pm

    Excellent! Paying them with the same b s. keep it up.

    Roger says:
    October 17th, 2012 at 3:22 pm

    How does someone calling you to discuss your quest for information on some sort of financial issue make them a “jerk”? I work for a mortgage company and speak to people all day that have legitimately requested information on rates, programs, costs, or any number of questions that they might have.

    If someone is merely seeking information, that is what they will get. If they want a new mortgage, they can get that too. My experience has been that most people get upset with the volume of phone calls that they get when they go to a website to check on rates or programs. I would agree that this could be annoying, but I am merely trying to make a living and someone does not want to talk to me, I say thank you for time and hang up. I find it hard to figure out how this makes me a jerk.

    Dirty Dan says:
    September 3rd, 2012 at 3:54 pm

    Good work, Bart! Keep it up.

    dumbass says:
    August 16th, 2012 at 1:42 pm

    You’re an idiot. You know who ends up paying for that??? Mortgage people that are working hard and paying their hard earned money to get legitimate leads of people that actually need help with their mortgage. go get a hobby you moron.

    Splee2you says:
    August 15th, 2012 at 8:50 am

    You are awesome!!


Add Your Review



Your Comment:

Choose a Rating

Please Write Your ReviewRead Review Guidelines