MyLife.com Reviews – Legit or Scam?

 


MyLife.com
from 65 reviews Review It
MyLife.com

 

MyLife.com is a familiar name to many people, due to their extensive television advertising.  My Life is a website that claims to be able to connect you with past friends and acquaintances, and also to let you know who is searching for you online.

MyLife often claims that it will let you know who is searching for you “for free.”  Technically, this is true.  Once you enter your name into their site, it will give you information like “5 Men and 11 Women are searching for you” including one more specific example, such as, “A 32 year old woman who lives in Anytown, USA and attended American University is looking for you.”

However, to get the specific names and details of those that are searching for you – or the details of the people you are searching for – you must become a paid member of the site.

What Do I Get as a Paid Member of MyLife?

Generally as a paid member of MyLife.com you get a big headache.  The complaints about this company are all over the internet, and the accusations being made are fairly serious.  They include, but are not limited to:

  1. MyLife provides search results that are inaccurate and sometimes even made up, just to entice you to become a member.
  2. MyLife “hacks” your email account and spams your contact list with invitations from you to join MyLife.com.
  3. MyLife asks you to authorize your credit card to be charged a certain amount, but then charges you far more and more often than they said.

The first claim charges that My Life provides you with a glimpse of people that are looking for you to entice you to become a paid member.  After you do become a paid member, however, you receive a list of names that you are completely unfamiliar with.  Angry customers say this is because MyLife is making up the list of people who are searching for you.

One customer was so convinced of this, he entered his name as gibberish, similar to “sfg shgshdhsg,” and was informed that seven people were searching for him.

Secondly, the privacy policy of MyLife.com does admit they will scan your email contacts and send invitations out to those who aren’t yet members of MyLife.  However, they claim they will only do this with your permission.  While the argument has been made that simply becoming a member of MyLife is the act of giving permission, many complaints have been filed by people who say they never become a paid member of MyLife, but their email accounts were hacked anyway after they visited the website.

Finally, the Terms and Conditions policy states that when you sign up for their services, you are also signed up for the services of third party institutions, though these third parties and the cost of their services are not listed.  In addition, the Terms claim that only some of the website’s functions are considered free with membership, while others incur additional fees.  However, nowhere on their website do they explain which functions are included and which cost extra.

This is why customers have experienced signing up for membership on one day, and sometimes within 24 hours their credit card has been charged with over $60 of extra fees.  Other customers say they expected to pay a low amount for their monthly membership and ended up with almost $200 in charges after the month subscription was up.

All these claims and more have been outlined in a class action lawsuit currently filed in the state of California against MyLife.com.  If you are looking for a way to reconnect with former co-workers and classmates, you should probably stick to the more established search engines and social networking sites.


 

Would you like to add your review for
My Life ?
If so, click here
 
Share This Page!

 

Customer Responses, Reviews, or Complaints


Average Rating for " My Life " is 1.11 out of 5 based on 65 reviews.

  • Rating
      
    Leon f Jackson h says:

    May 22nd, 2016 at 2:30 am

    If you have money in your checking account and say, hey look it’s mylife .com for only $7.95 a month! Let me try it for a month or two! &16! That ain’t bad! But when you click it, they charge your punk a$$ for a full year! Oh yeah like $119 whizzed away! Yay!!! So you’re thinking okay, well, let me look up ONE long lost friend. Get his address, phone #,guess what, they bring you to some other “page”, as if you’re non legit, or not a member, ask for MORE MONEY OF COURSE., it’s very exciting to discover how they give you pretty much, (NOT A THING) for your hard earned $119. but just pretent you went to the casino! So then you start to see….. Oh yeah… You’ve been had….. So if you’re thinking of giving them a try, go ahead and go to the dollar store first, get one large thing of Vaseline, and grease/lube it up real good, front and back end. You’ll be glad you did! And remember, remain calm, go home and take your fluoride. And watch more TV.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Leon f Jackson h says:

    May 22nd, 2016 at 2:13 am

    If you have money in your checking account and say, hey look it’s mylife .com for only $7.95 a month! Let me try it for a month or two! &16! That ain’t bad! But when you click it, they charge your punk a$$ for a full year! Oh yeah like $119 whizzed away! Yay!!! So you’re thinking okay, well, let me look up ONE long lost friend. Get his address, phone #, but heck nope, can’t do it! So then you start to see….. Oh yeah… You’ve been had….. So if you’re thinking of giving them a try, go ahead and go to the dollar store first, get one large thing of Vaseline, and grease/lube it up real good, front and back end. You’ll be glad you did! And remember, remain calm, go home and take your fluoride. And watch more TV.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Brooke Clifford says:

    April 26th, 2016 at 11:23 pm

    You have me at 60 years old but it’s okay because I’m trying to get out of debt and by getting married and having my man change this information, i will neve have to pay all of my debts. lol

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Dogman says:

    April 20th, 2016 at 6:57 pm

    I have never used or heard of this service. They tried to get $95.40 from my PayPal account today, with a payment order dated from 2010. Filed a complaint against them.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    C Giefer says:

    March 27th, 2016 at 5:41 am

    I was engaged to be married into a prestigious family. I was linked to his family member on a social site. He came home one night, after meeting his family and started accusing me of “lying” to him. He would not explain. I went online and searched my name to find that someone had written false information, using my name, in MyLife.com. The information stated that I was married to a man in the US who had been incarcerated with me.
    Total fabrication that caused me enormous, unnecessary grief and a postponement of marriage.
    I had to pay to get to the files. I spoke to staff at MyLife and was told that all would be erased, but I would not be refunded.
    The information was not erased. I subsequently had to pay again, to see that the information was still there.

    I believe someone did put the information in. A woman named Dorothy who had stayed at my house for a few weeks and I had her removed by police because she was stealing, among other things, and the name she put was a false name I had given her for my maiden name.
    Mylife accepted the listing from a total stranger who does not have correct details about my life.
    CG

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Annonymus says:

    March 14th, 2016 at 11:46 am

    This website is a complete scam. The information they have about me is not even close to reality. Do not waste your time and money trying to find out about people. Only people with little brain will register will believe that this website is useful.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Anonymous says:

    March 11th, 2016 at 9:45 am

    This company is awful. Stay away. First of all, they do not protect your privacy, they put it out there so it keeps them in business. The completely violate everyone’s privacy and lie about their services. When you sign up, editing your information does nothing. I asked them to remove my information and they gave me the run around. The overcharged me. The customer service is AWFUL. They just keep reading from a script and don’t actually help. I would stay away and protect yourself. They should be taken offline to protect all of us. One of the worst businesses I have ever had the displeasure of dealing with.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Uncle Fred says:

    March 6th, 2016 at 2:00 pm

    In addition to totally slimy feel of the site, I find it disdainful that when I read through the information they are trying to sell, the pages load very quickly. When I get down to the place where it says, “Deactivate my account” the page loads more slowly than a turtle running through peanut butter.
    STAY AWAY!!!

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Krystal Lechner says:

    February 25th, 2016 at 8:38 pm

    Scam. Stay away!

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Maria says:

    February 14th, 2016 at 8:01 pm

    I have started a petition to close MyLife after I was billed close to $200 for a one-time search. You can read my story and sign the petition at http://www.thepetitionsite.com/557/560/063/shut-down-mylife.com-fraudulent-and-deceptive-billing-practices/

    I need all the signatures I can get. The letter is going to be sent to 19 different places, including state representatives and senators, consumer agencies, and news media. I am asking for an in-depth investigation of the CEO, Jeff Tinsley.

    REPLY

    Sally says:
    April 18th, 2016 at 6:56 pm

    I’ve been getting these emails from mylife.com that warn me that people have been looking at my info for years, and now I’ve gotten one that shows my age and the town I live in, AND says I have a rating of less than 3 1/2 out of 5 stars. I’m livid because I’ve never committed any wrongdoing of any kind, or even been accused of any. I’ve only gotten two standing traffic violations, within 20 years. One that was for parking in front of the cleaners for a few minutes, and the other was for parking on the wrong side of a residential street – that I didn’t even know was a violation! Everybody does that in my neighborhood btw. But I paid both, of course. Anyway, So now it appears I’m supposed to PAY mylife.com to find out who’s apparently lying about me in some way and giving me a bad rating – it’s one thing to look me up for a fee, but I had no idea somebody could just go on some site and badmouth somebody and that the victim would have no recourse but to pay to find out what’s going on, let alone clear the record – this amounts to extortion. Sorry to go on and on, and I will gladly sign your petition. Perhaps somebody with my particular grievance has one going. Good luck!

    Maria says:
    March 11th, 2016 at 7:12 pm

    Copy and paste this address and it should bring you to the site:

    http://www.thepetitionsite.com/557/560/063/shut-down-mylife.com-fraudulent-and-deceptive-billing-practices/

    Anonymous says:
    February 26th, 2016 at 2:24 pm

    How do I find the petition

  • Rating
      
    Julie says:

    February 2nd, 2016 at 7:20 am

    I asked my life to to cancel my account and stop stealing money from my account but instead they out me in public records that I’m now dealing with credit bureaus! I can’t close my account cause I’ve been using it for almost twenty years. I don’t even know where to contact them anymore since I couldn’t access my account but keep taking money from my bank account. Would anyone please help me to contact them? I’m pissed off!!

    REPLY

    Len3015 says:
    April 19th, 2016 at 2:20 pm

    Worse comes to worse, close your account but let your bank know of the situation. Then reopen a new account with the same banking institution. That way, MYLIFE won’t have access and continue to dip into your bank account. As long as your current account is open and active, MYLIFE can continue to rob you.

    Flame says:
    February 16th, 2016 at 2:22 pm

    1-888-773-9132 that’s the number on the sight hope it helps

  • Rating
      
    TERRIBLE says:

    January 4th, 2016 at 11:13 pm

    TERRIBLE!!!!!!!!!!

    REPLY

    Flame says:
    February 16th, 2016 at 2:20 pm

    1-888-773-9132 that’s the number on the sight. Hope it helps

  • Rating
      
    james says:

    January 1st, 2016 at 9:55 pm

    I keep getting emails “claiming” that people are searching for me. Then when I try to see who, I get a list of people from all over the country! Why would someone I don’t know, living in a state I’ve never visited be searching for me? Answer is, they wouldn’t!! Complete scam

    REPLY

    anonymous re:classmates says:
    May 9th, 2016 at 8:54 pm

    I think that is how I ended up on mylife, they are committing extortion I’m pretty sure, they make you pay to get off their “web site” when you have never ever entered your name in the first place, and this is probably how a mentally deranged ex friend?? of mine has been able to stalk me since 2005, I have moved several times and tried to keep my infor,mation unpublished in any way but she always finds me, she if from another country and into their form of witchcraft, and has followed me as I’ve moved at least 5 times this website is a trailwreck.

  • Rating
      
    Brenda says:

    November 1st, 2015 at 11:57 am

    Is it even legal to send emails without an unsubscribe button at the bottom?

    I couldnt find any unsubscribe buttons in their emails from Mylife.com. So I called the 888 number and asked rep to unsubscribe me and deactivate my account. She continued to read off her script of what a great service they provide / i had to continually interrupt her to ask her to stop reading and please unsubscribe and deactivate me.

    She told me it would be 7-10 business days before i stopped receiving emails and my
    Account ( never paid) would be taken down.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Sarah says:

    October 18th, 2015 at 11:08 am

    I have been getting several emails per day from this company telling me about people searching for me and about my 7.5 rating. I cannot get them to stop emailing me but thank heaven I never gave them a credit card number. Do not do business with these obvious scammers. I am so glad I read the reviews and thanks to all who wrote reviews.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Don says:

    October 13th, 2015 at 6:29 am

    Opps. Inaccurate data. Sorry Jesse from Portland Oregon but some of your posted information is mine and I do not or did not have anything to do with MyLife. It appears they just entered any information to bolster their data base. And I can’t find any way to get my stuff off of Jesse’s (whoever this person is – probably a fake too) profile. I have a sinking feeling this will end with some other means to correct

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    JeffreyTinsleyisevil says:

    September 26th, 2015 at 8:45 am

    Found via a simple search that me and my family’s had “public profiles” setup, with a personal review rating of 7.5 by someone I had never met. It listed all my addresses and immediate relatives. I clicked “This is Me” and proceeded to a create an account. After navigating the prompts asking for your credit card information, I clicked “My Account” and “Deactivate account” with warnings telling me it will remove my public profile. So it seemed my public profile had been removed but it was back up after a few hours. This website is dreadful and should be shut down.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Nan Ohlinger says:

    September 20th, 2015 at 1:43 pm

    I clicked unsubscribe. Site said it would take a number of days for it to go thru. So we’ll see if I am actually able to unsubscribe.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Evangelia Strongilos says:

    September 20th, 2015 at 1:12 pm

    This a fraudulent listing of a name that does not belong to me and “My Life” keeps contacting me at my real name email with constant reminders that my info is exposed and people are looking at it, etc..They keep ignoring my request to unsubscribe this falseness.

    REPLY

    jimmie says:
    March 12th, 2016 at 8:33 am

    wow

  • Rating
      
    L.B. says:

    August 23rd, 2015 at 11:21 am

    I joined once. Now constantly get e-mails warning me that my reputation score is 7.5 out of 10. I think it is an enticement or rather scare tactic in order to find out what was said. I think it’s b.s. Also, I noticed the so called people who are searching for me are from the same City and State that lo and behold I had searched for in the past.

    REPLY

    JE says:
    September 10th, 2015 at 2:20 pm

    I tried them a year ago for family tree research. Now it constantly emails me sending me “Look what we discovered about Wendy Lastname” and “Your reputation score is 7.5…” I am not curious enough to pay them to see what this is about. If anyone is really looking for me, they can easily find me on other social media.

  • Rating
      
    paula harding says:

    August 21st, 2015 at 6:18 pm

    they are horrible but this is how my ex husband finds me every time I move for free no less so I asked to be taken off but only happens for 48 hours or so then i’m back up

    REPLY

    Leslee says:
    November 8th, 2015 at 8:57 am

    Paula, I read your comment on the Consumer Affairs site. This is very disturbing. I am worried about your safety as obviously your husband is a threat to you. Take this to your State General Attorney!

  • Rating
      
    Carolyn Bishop says:

    August 21st, 2015 at 4:33 pm

    I use to be on Classmates.com then somehow this My life .com got on my emails they have buged me for the longest that my Reputation is runied , and my info is out there for everyone to see . How in the heck did they get all this ? i want to be in on a law sui , because i payed for classmates.com

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    jay tee says:

    August 20th, 2015 at 5:59 pm

    Man I just found out I was registered on this site! I never even heard of them till now. Now I know how collection companies for bills I never had are calling me!

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Michael says:

    August 19th, 2015 at 10:52 am

    Complete scam. They didn’t make it clear I would be charged $60 after the trial expired and you can only call to cancel, you can’t do it on line. And what they do isn’t worth that amount of money for 6 months. SCAM SCAM SCAM

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Judy O'Brien says:

    June 13th, 2015 at 1:14 pm

    While I had a paid subscription, MyLife was supposed to remove many sites where my info was posted only removed 2-3 according to page posted removal numbers. Since I am no longer a subscriber my risk alert is off the wall. It seems money is involved here. All of a sudden I am high risk, well no wonder everyone in the world as my personal info many more than before. I cannot even find a phone number where you are able to speak to a live person. I do not trust this company.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Reagan says:

    June 5th, 2015 at 2:24 pm

    I got emails from this place saying people were searching for me. And that I had a pag the page had my email name city and “age” which was wrong because I’m 11 not 14. It’s an overall scam

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    MN says:

    June 2nd, 2015 at 10:04 pm

    Whole reason I joined mylife was because it said someone was searching me. However I also found another account bearing my name, address, and e-mail while stating that I formerly lived on a street I did not even know existed. I’m also scared for those that I care about because for at least some of them this website allow anyone to see their exact location, phone number, and e-mail. I don’t know if they put it there or the website did and if they even know their information is exposed.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Totally Livid says:

    May 23rd, 2015 at 11:37 am

    All I did was type in an address that wasn’t even mine and my name came up from mylife.com. I checked it out and it has ALL my info on there!! I don’t want all that info on the internet! Some of it isn’t even true. I think that is so wrong for them to post all that personal info without my knowledge or consent for the whole world to see!! Total BS. That company needs to be shut down!!!

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    unknown says:

    May 21st, 2015 at 8:07 pm

    Yeah they dug up personal information about my great aunt. And I highly doubt she posted any of that information herself as she is in her 90s. I am not done with this. You go after some helpless 90 year old then you will have to deal with me.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    John Tate says:

    May 15th, 2015 at 2:01 pm

    Exploitative aggregator the compromises the integrity of personal information. Scam.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    lisa hern says:

    May 12th, 2015 at 1:20 pm

    Yea My Life is a acam I asked them many many tines, first when I called they say 10 days the next time they said 10 days the next time it be 6 weeks and again then they ttold it would be 6 weeks another six weeks then it would 8 weeksx5 , you try to call and is just recorder , I taking every thing they have on my tablet to the police,
    And , let them take over and shut theiir asses dowm.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    David says:

    April 18th, 2015 at 1:52 pm

    I got annoyed by their constant e-mailing and scare tactics. After reading more about this scam, I simply tagged My Life.com as a spam so I’ll no longer see it in my main e-mail account. Good riddance…….

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Random User says:

    April 17th, 2015 at 11:42 am

    MyLife.com is a scam site, and it’s easy to see for yourself. So you can avoid getting caught in the trap of simply visiting the site, read on…

    If you want to search for yourself or anyone else, you’ll have to supply your name. As soon as you do this, they create a “profile” of you that is searchable in Google results (it appears pretty fast, which is scary in itself). They display the profile they’ve created without warning and without your permission, featuring a “Remove Profile” button. To remove the profile, you need to pay up. Instant blackmail on the Internet!

    Nuff said?

    - RL

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    BEWARE of AirBnB using MyLife says:

    April 2nd, 2015 at 12:18 pm

    BEWARE: Home rental web-site AirBnB gambles with your personal security

    I am extremely careful with my personal data. Unfortunately, the web-site “AIRBnB” utilizes MyLife.com to verify people’s identities.

    When you sign up for AirBnB they need to verify who you are for the safety of people you may rent from. Of course I understand this. However, no where in their FAQ’s does it say they will verify your information with MyLife.

    I didn’t realize it had happened until I was too far in the process and couldn’t back out. The damage was done. MyLife now had my name, address, e-mail and telephone number. Now I get those threatening e-mails from MyLife on a regular basis.

    AirBnB should be ashamed of themselves. We already know that MyLife knows they are scammers so they have no conscience, but AirBnB should be held accountable as well. I think it’s criminal to have all this information in one spot. It makes me feel unsafe in my own home.

    REPLY
  • Mark says:

    February 22nd, 2015 at 3:17 am

    Honestly, I have never heard about these people until I unexpectedly got an email from them saying people were searching for me. They did not tell me who was. Then I thought it was absurd because even on the internet it is hard to find me. I think they are lying, so I deleted the email.

    REPLY

    Whyvian says:
    March 29th, 2015 at 4:01 pm

    You should have marked it as spam so that hopefully, email systems eventually learn to stop that.

  • Rating
      
    joe d says:

    November 21st, 2014 at 8:24 pm

    they sent me the same information that i had used to log in to metlife so i believe they may have scammed into metlife to get information about the metlife customers. the showed my full name my location said they had my cell number but did not show it and street address… the only place i have left this recently was at metlife i am convinced they are hacked into metlife or in some way connected to the metlife site..no other way to explain what just happened today… thanks joe d

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Jane Doe says:

    October 21st, 2014 at 6:29 pm

    Why are they allowed to still be on the internet when they are a dishonest company.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Johnk says:

    September 22nd, 2014 at 7:07 am

    The information provided an address for a person’s name but the address providedwas just to the city center of Vancouver, Wa. Total Rip OFF!!!

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Irene M. Jordan says:

    August 20th, 2014 at 8:41 pm

    Irene says: August 20th.2014 at 8:56P.M. They tell you they have 7 results for someone your looking for and 3 results are the person your looking for,the other 4 didn’t go to the same school. One might be the same age,the other 3 not near the same age, not the same town in fact are even from out of state. I’m not able to login to my account to review all details of the person I was looking for. So,I called to cancel my subscription and told them why.They weren’t going to give me a refund and I told them they’re nothing but crooks. I only had it for 2 days and I tried everything, including help from Customer Service but nothing worked.However, they will refund half of what I paid, although I think I should get a full refund.The company is nothing but a scam.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Terry Burns says:

    July 27th, 2014 at 10:39 am

    This site sent someone I considered a friend and alleged some invasion of privacy and even to the point of theft, shameful.
    They have not only damaged my name but a friendship.
    I think they are the lowest of low and warn others of their pitiful spam techniques.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Bubba says:

    May 2nd, 2014 at 6:50 am

    I was looking for my Deceased Mother’s Obituary…Found her on “My Life” as a registered user 84 and her location po box and address…my mother never owned or used a computer, never belonged to any social websites..they just took her information and popped it on there…disgusting that they steal information and put it on there as a data base to lure others into believing that she is a user and still alive…

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    John W. says:

    March 14th, 2014 at 10:44 am

    I’ve had serious problems with these guys. A class action lawsuit was recently filed over MyLife’s shady partnerships with third party vendors, and I’m thinking about joining it -

    http://www.prweb.com/releases/2014/03/prweb1166919…

    Class Action Lawsuit Filed Against Vertrue, MasterCard, MyLife.com, Oak Investment, and Others Regarding Allegedly Fraudulent “Membership” Fees for Bogus “Savings Clubs”

    Lawsuit claims that Defendants profit from charging consumers fraudulent fees for savings club “memberships”

    Atlanta, GA (PRWEB) March 13, 2014

    Atlanta law firm Webb, Klase & Lemond, LLC has filed a class action lawsuit against Vertrue, Inc., Adaptive Marketing, LLC, Velo Holdings, MasterCard International, Inc., MyLife.com, Inc., and Oak Investment Partners. The suit states that Vertrue partners with MyLife.com and other deceptive online businesses to trick consumers into unknowingly joining Vertrue’s “consumer savings clubs.”

    According to the lawsuit, most club “members” never make use of their savings club “memberships” and cancel their subscriptions immediately upon learning of the fraudulent charges. According to the lawsuit, MasterCard earns fees by processing Vertrue’s charges while knowing they are fraudulent and processing such plainly illegitimate charges violates MasterCard’s agreements.

    The lawsuit further states that Vertrue’s parent company, Velo Holdings, and MyLife.com’s investor-owner Oak Investment Partners, which invested $25 million in MyLife in 2007, also participate in Vertrue’s improper practices. The case, Chi v. Vertrue, Inc., et al., was filed in the United States District Court of the Northern District of Georgia, Atlanta Division, on February 28, 2014 and has been given case number 1:14-cv-00614-TWT.

    The lawsuit proposes a class action on behalf of all consumers nationally who have been harmed by these practices.

    The new complaint alleges that Vertrue’s “savings clubs,” administered by its subsidiaries such as Adaptive Marketing, LLC, include At Home Rewards, At Home Rewards+, BusinessMax, Cross Country Savings, DealMax, Home Savings Mall, Food and Flix, Getaway and Save, Leisure Exclusives, My Great Deals, Passport to Fun, Passport to Fun+, SavingsAce, SavingSmart, Shopping Essentials, Shopping Essentials+, Simply You, Today’s Escapes, Today’s Escapes+, ValueMax, and Your Savings Club.

    The lawsuit states that when consumers purchase goods and services from MyLife.com and Vertrue’s other online partners they encounter confusing, obscured ads for Vertrue’s “savings clubs.” Consumers click through these ads without realizing that they have accidentally “joined” one of Vertrue’s clubs, according to the lawsuit. The lawsuit also states that consumers who accidentally join Vertrue’s clubs are charged recurring monthly fees of $20 or more until they affirmatively cancel their “memberships.” Vertrue’s entire business model is based around this deceptive practice, and Vertrue’s co-conspirators, including MasterCard, knowingly facilitate and profit from Vertrue’s fraudulent activities. The lawsuit states that MasterCard approves such unauthorized charges, and profits from them, even though this violates MasterCard’s own rules regarding protection of private customer credit card data.

    The suit asserts that the other Defendants are vital to the improper billing scheme. First, Vertrue transmits a consumer’s credit card data to the related credit card network, which the complaint alleges was MasterCard. MasterCard verifies the consumer’s identity and, the lawsuit states, analyzes the transaction to determine whether it is fraudulent. MasterCard transmits the relevant data to the cardholder’s issuing bank which, if it authorizes the charge, sends a verification message to MasterCard, which then informs the issuing bank that the charge has been authorized, according to the suit. The suit claims that the issuing bank then informs Vertrue of the authorization, at which point the purchase is completed and the issuing bank and MasterCard subsequently “clear” and “settle” all of Vertrue’s charges for that day, at which point the illicitly obtained funds are sent to Vertrue. The suit contends that all the Defendants are well aware of the illegal scheme, but they nonetheless participate in order to obtain substantial transaction fees.

    Vertrue is a subsidiary of Velo Holdings, an investment group also named as a Defendant in the lawsuit, that acquired Vertrue in 2007. According to the lawsuit, Velo and Oak Investment, MyLife.com’s senior investor-owner, were fully aware that Vertrue’s business model relied on consumer fraud when they acquired their positions in these online companies. The suit asserts that these investors nevertheless controlled, participated in, and profited from Vertrue and MyLife for years while doing nothing to curb the companies’ highly illegal business practices.

    If you have unknowingly joined one of Vertrue’s savings clubs and wish to discuss this action, or if you have any questions concerning this press release, please contact Webb, Klase & Lemond by e-mail at contact@WebbLLC.com or by calling (770) 444-9325. Webb, Klase & Lemond, LLC is a law firm that practices complex litigation with a focus on litigation arising from wrongful deprivations by corporate and government entities.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Hanna says:

    July 21st, 2013 at 11:06 pm

    I don’t even see where to contact them.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Hanna says:

    July 21st, 2013 at 11:02 pm

    I absolutely hate this web site. I googled my name and seen myself on here. I don’t recall allowing these people to display my information or to even have it to begin with. So today I claimed my profile to take control of the account. I am now trying to figure out how to delete this mess.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Lola says:

    May 29th, 2013 at 7:21 am

    I googled my name and found it on this site.
    I have never heard of this site and definitely never signed up, and my name is on it.
    I haven’t lived in the country stated for over 7 years and I only lived there for 1 year and never shared this information on any social media site.
    This site is disgusting and I hope people are smart enough to avoid paying money for misleading information.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Mark Cooley says:

    May 23rd, 2013 at 6:20 pm

    Tis site may not be everything it says it is but it was the only way I was able to find some one from my past. I did not make contact with them but I’m not sure if that was their choice or the way the site works. I do think it does overstate what it can do and I have not come to the point where I try to end my contract yet but so far it has been useful in finding people no other site has found.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    tim says:

    May 7th, 2013 at 6:17 am

    its a scam…….run……faster

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    mb says:

    April 27th, 2013 at 10:34 am

    One day I giggled my name. My picture and my info came up in mylife.com. How did they get my info and picture have no idea, but I never signed up with them. To me it looks like they stole my picture from Facebook years ago when it was on my profile. The info is 80% accurate. I do not want them to keep my picture and info up, wondering what should I do?

    REPLY

    MB says:
    April 27th, 2013 at 10:40 am

    Googled my name I meant :)

  • Rating
      
    paul says:

    April 22nd, 2013 at 11:42 am

    they rip me off i was in their site on my tablet and for some reason the tablet went haywire and charge me 95.40 and they would not give me a refund back they are a scam at 100% whatever you do do not go to that site and you will feel sorry.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Ihatespam says:

    February 6th, 2013 at 7:16 pm

    The only thing you get with the basic paid membership is a slightly bigger profile (which you can NEVER delete) and the right to pay for even more “subscription” services. Fortunately, I used PayPal and not a card. Tip – since you can’t delete/remove your profile online, go into your profile before you dump this scam site and over-type all the info you can.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Robert G Green says:

    January 6th, 2013 at 9:57 pm

    After signing up for this service I checked my own information to find it 13 years out of date. I immediately called to cancel and demand a refund which was granted. It is a waste of time and money.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    April Dreeke says:

    December 29th, 2012 at 3:43 pm

    Do NOT sign up for MyLife. It’s a waste of money!!!! It does not offer any services that are useful.

    REPLY

    April Dreeke says:
    December 29th, 2012 at 4:08 pm

    I called them twice. The second time I just kept saying that it did not work, that is the services promised were not delivered. I also mentioned the class action lawsuit, the numerous complaints online, and the FTC. She said they are giving me a full refund and apologized for not being able to help me.

  • Rating
      
    Rob Clark says:

    December 17th, 2012 at 3:08 pm

    I wish that I had read the above reviews. I joined yesterday as I was looking for an old friend in California.I was told that I had one free search. I received two notices from Mylife welcoming me as a member. I was double billed. They make it a difficult as possible to cancel. I will have to wait and see if they do cancel as promised.If not I guess I will join the class action law suit.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    robert rebuth says:

    October 12th, 2012 at 4:04 pm

    scam scam scam join and see how easy it is for someone to steal your id

    REPLY

    joe d says:
    November 21st, 2014 at 8:16 pm

    at 5am i went to check online about my car insurance policy, i went to metlife.com i entered my information to get access.. and checked on my car insurance. about 6 hours later i logged into my email there was the email from mylife.com saying my identy may be comprimised i believe they got the information from my log in to metlife…

  • Rating
      
    robert rebuth says:

    October 12th, 2012 at 3:59 pm

    looks like nothing more then a good set up to steal your id i have tried to change my profile or remove it and they expect me to PAY to do that the whole site should be considered NOT user friendly and a perfect way to get the info needed to steal someone elses id

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Isabella says:

    September 20th, 2012 at 4:54 pm

    Regarding public record information, it’s everywhere! Not only does MyLife contain peoples personal information but so do other websites! The term itself explains it- PUBLIC records. Everyone can obtain this information not just this measly website.

    Another thing, yes very true that this website is SHADY. Honestly, what business isn’t nowadays? Sadly, the rich and powerful gain there riches and fortune by screwing low income people and can get away with it.

    Please read everything on websites before putting in payment information. The fine print is the true to what terms and conditions exist! It’s best to take time and read than have to deal with large amounts of money being taken.

    Please don’t kid yourselves, if a website promotes “FREE” trials and subscriptions yet ask for payment information, trust, it isn’t free!

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    anonymous says:

    September 5th, 2012 at 7:49 pm

    don’t just complain online but also write complaint/ anonoymous complaint to the FTC ftc.com

    REPLY

    anonymous says:
    September 5th, 2012 at 7:58 pm

    mylife.comlawsuit@hushmail.com
    Class Lawsuit join or already know of one

  • Rating
      
    Tyler A says:

    August 9th, 2012 at 7:59 pm

    I found mylife.com when I searched myself on Google. I followed a link to mylife.com and it listed my age, all the place I’ve lived for. and the people I am related too.

    I then registered myself following their instruction in order to take my information off — it verified me with the EXACT addresses where I lived and then there is option to hide my profile unless I become a paid member. And it tells me there are EIGHT other websites that have my information where I must also pay monthly fees to remove it.

    This is simply ripping people off by gathering your public information then sell it back to you. Not that I dont care about my privacy, I just dont want to pay a penny to these people.

    For those of you wanting to pay. Dont do it. You are just making them rich and they can simply copy your information to another website so you can pay again.

    I think there should be a limit as to how long and how detailed your public information can be gathered by someone who has no business to access them.

    I have no idea how to fight them legally, if anyone does, please post here so that we can fight together.

    REPLY

    MB says:
    April 27th, 2013 at 10:48 am

    Same problem here. I wonder if its legal stealing ppls info and post it on their website

    anonymous says:
    September 5th, 2012 at 7:51 pm

    write anonymous complaint to ftc.com

  • Rating
      
    Kyle says:

    August 5th, 2012 at 4:50 pm

    I went to mylife.com and saw that there was some one looking for me. After paying the fees there was no one it was a name match that just happen to be my dad that I talk to daily. Total scam

    REPLY

    anonymous says:
    September 5th, 2012 at 7:50 pm

    file anonymouse complaint with the FTC right away!

  • Rating
      
    TIred says:

    July 14th, 2012 at 4:15 am

    People fail to realize that even if you aren’t on any social media sites this site still compiles the data from public records and puts it all on their site. So those who think they are safe simply because they aren’t on Facebook or Myspace or any other online social network You are seriously mistaken. I have been trying to get them to take down my information which stalks me all the way back to my childhood home. If anybody finds a lawyer willing to take action to get these people to take down the information they are being asked to take down I would gladly join in on that suit. Forget the money. I want my personal information taken off this site!

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Kay says:

    April 15th, 2012 at 2:41 pm

    I did NOT sign up and after reading the reviews I am glad I didnt! I have no respect for crooks. Poor eatings lead to terrible business. As far as I am concerned Spokeo, Classmate, Mylife are ALL scams!! Dont do it

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Reporting mylife.com says:

    April 15th, 2012 at 12:41 pm

    1. I opted out of all major credit bureaus over a year ago, and my “subscription” doesn’t run out for another 3 years. Selling, sharing, and holding my information without consent from me is a federal crime. So how the hell did these people get my information legally? Hmm?

    2. This website has conducted in false advertising (law), invasion of privacy (law), harassment (law), and more.

    If anyone knows a lawyer, judge, politician, et cetera who may be able to help out, please pass this website’s existence under their gaze for scrutiny and judgement. Businesses like this purchase and steal information by utilizing loop holes in our laws and they make a regular habit of screwing up. They then try to turn around and sell this information with false terms and conditions, even going so far as to pretend this is legal. I read my EULA’s, I read my terms and conditions, and I let places know they are forbidden from selling my information… That means that when this website put up my information, they broke state and federal laws. I hope the owner gets locked up for this kind of putrid data theft. All he and anyone assisting him are doing is aiding identity thieves and criminals – no one who is legitimately trying to find someone else’s information will be able to do so with this screwed up website.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Judy Shope says:

    April 10th, 2012 at 8:04 am

    They scammed me out of $95.40 when I signed up for a one month, one time only $11.95 different service. The charges were one second apart on my card. ONE SECOND!!!!! I called within 48 hours when I noticed the problem and they did the “oh, let me see my supervisor”.

    They have not refunded the $95.40 and I will not rest till they get it straightened out. I say to all others be warned, this company is deceptive at best and a scam in my opinion.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    myLifeIsAScam says:

    March 2nd, 2012 at 9:51 pm

    Warning stay away. Scam.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Samantha says:

    February 5th, 2012 at 2:46 pm

    Jeffrey Tinsley and those who work with him are crooks. The company continues to run commercials saying you can find out if anyone is searching for you … for FREE! I checked out mylife.com, and wound up with a $300 charge to my credit card. I called them immediately and told them I had just seen the commercial offering a “quick check” for free. The woman I spoke to said brusquely “we don’t offer any service for free.” After some back and forth conversation I demanded that the charge be removed from my credit card, or I would go to the credit card company and report it as fraudulent. Eventually, after checking with her “manager”, she offered to cancel the $300 charge if I would pay for that one month – $30. I agreed (just to end this nightmare), and they removed the charge, but kept e-mailing me saying people were looking for me. Interestingly, during my “paid month” they gave me addresses for two people I have been unable to find through any other source. Both addresses, of course, were fraudulent.

    REPLY
  • James says:

    January 4th, 2012 at 8:19 pm

    Crooks and Thieves. They helped themselves to an unauthorized amount of $131.40 for a subscription I knew nothing about!!
    What they do is intentionally mislead people to get a 1 month subscription for $12.95 then they help themselves to your credit card.
    These complaints are all over the internet. Sorry I didnt see them before I subscribed. I have no respect for the people that speak for them on the phone since they get paychecks from stolen money out of good peoples bank accounts!!

    REPLY

    Linda Torrence says:
    February 4th, 2012 at 4:05 am

    Thanks for your comments and alert to this scam company. I have found lately, that before you sign up with any business, especially on the internet or advertised on TV, do a search on reviews of the company. That way, just by reading your report along with many others, I know not to do business with them.

  • Rating
      
    john bowen says:

    December 28th, 2011 at 5:53 pm

    very poor. do not do it.

    REPLY

    alvis says:
    December 30th, 2011 at 12:15 pm

    A bunch of thieves tell me why you can go to prison for stealing a candy bar and yet people like this steal millions and nothing happens .look into it deep enough and its probably connected to some of our elated officials THE THIEVES


Add Your Review



Your Comment:

Choose a Rating

Please Write Your ReviewRead Review Guidelines