MyLife.com Reviews – Legit or Scam?

 


MyLife.com
from 29 reviews Review It
MyLife.com

 

MyLife.com is a familiar name to many people, due to their extensive television advertising.  My Life is a website that claims to be able to connect you with past friends and acquaintances, and also to let you know who is searching for you online.

MyLife often claims that it will let you know who is searching for you “for free.”  Technically, this is true.  Once you enter your name into their site, it will give you information like “5 Men and 11 Women are searching for you” including one more specific example, such as, “A 32 year old woman who lives in Anytown, USA and attended American University is looking for you.”

However, to get the specific names and details of those that are searching for you – or the details of the people you are searching for – you must become a paid member of the site.

What Do I Get as a Paid Member of MyLife?

Generally as a paid member of MyLife.com you get a big headache.  The complaints about this company are all over the internet, and the accusations being made are fairly serious.  They include, but are not limited to:

  1. MyLife provides search results that are inaccurate and sometimes even made up, just to entice you to become a member.
  2. MyLife “hacks” your email account and spams your contact list with invitations from you to join MyLife.com.
  3. MyLife asks you to authorize your credit card to be charged a certain amount, but then charges you far more and more often than they said.

The first claim charges that My Life provides you with a glimpse of people that are looking for you to entice you to become a paid member.  After you do become a paid member, however, you receive a list of names that you are completely unfamiliar with.  Angry customers say this is because MyLife is making up the list of people who are searching for you.

One customer was so convinced of this, he entered his name as gibberish, similar to “sfg shgshdhsg,” and was informed that seven people were searching for him.

Secondly, the privacy policy of MyLife.com does admit they will scan your email contacts and send invitations out to those who aren’t yet members of MyLife.  However, they claim they will only do this with your permission.  While the argument has been made that simply becoming a member of MyLife is the act of giving permission, many complaints have been filed by people who say they never become a paid member of MyLife, but their email accounts were hacked anyway after they visited the website.

Finally, the Terms and Conditions policy states that when you sign up for their services, you are also signed up for the services of third party institutions, though these third parties and the cost of their services are not listed.  In addition, the Terms claim that only some of the website’s functions are considered free with membership, while others incur additional fees.  However, nowhere on their website do they explain which functions are included and which cost extra.

This is why customers have experienced signing up for membership on one day, and sometimes within 24 hours their credit card has been charged with over $60 of extra fees.  Other customers say they expected to pay a low amount for their monthly membership and ended up with almost $200 in charges after the month subscription was up.

All these claims and more have been outlined in a class action lawsuit currently filed in the state of California against MyLife.com.  If you are looking for a way to reconnect with former co-workers and classmates, you should probably stick to the more established search engines and social networking sites.


 

Would you like to add your review for
My Life ?
If so, click here
 
Share This Page!

 

Customer Responses, Reviews, or Complaints


Average Rating for " My Life " is 1.14 out of 5 based on 29 reviews.

  • Rating
      
    Johnk says:

    September 22nd, 2014 at 7:07 am

    The information provided an address for a person’s name but the address providedwas just to the city center of Vancouver, Wa. Total Rip OFF!!!

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Irene M. Jordan says:

    August 20th, 2014 at 8:41 pm

    Irene says: August 20th.2014 at 8:56P.M. They tell you they have 7 results for someone your looking for and 3 results are the person your looking for,the other 4 didn’t go to the same school. One might be the same age,the other 3 not near the same age, not the same town in fact are even from out of state. I’m not able to login to my account to review all details of the person I was looking for. So,I called to cancel my subscription and told them why.They weren’t going to give me a refund and I told them they’re nothing but crooks. I only had it for 2 days and I tried everything, including help from Customer Service but nothing worked.However, they will refund half of what I paid, although I think I should get a full refund.The company is nothing but a scam.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Terry Burns says:

    July 27th, 2014 at 10:39 am

    This site sent someone I considered a friend and alleged some invasion of privacy and even to the point of theft, shameful.
    They have not only damaged my name but a friendship.
    I think they are the lowest of low and warn others of their pitiful spam techniques.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Bubba says:

    May 2nd, 2014 at 6:50 am

    I was looking for my Deceased Mother’s Obituary…Found her on “My Life” as a registered user 84 and her location po box and address…my mother never owned or used a computer, never belonged to any social websites..they just took her information and popped it on there…disgusting that they steal information and put it on there as a data base to lure others into believing that she is a user and still alive…

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    John W. says:

    March 14th, 2014 at 10:44 am

    I’ve had serious problems with these guys. A class action lawsuit was recently filed over MyLife’s shady partnerships with third party vendors, and I’m thinking about joining it -

    http://www.prweb.com/releases/2014/03/prweb1166919…

    Class Action Lawsuit Filed Against Vertrue, MasterCard, MyLife.com, Oak Investment, and Others Regarding Allegedly Fraudulent “Membership” Fees for Bogus “Savings Clubs”

    Lawsuit claims that Defendants profit from charging consumers fraudulent fees for savings club “memberships”

    Atlanta, GA (PRWEB) March 13, 2014

    Atlanta law firm Webb, Klase & Lemond, LLC has filed a class action lawsuit against Vertrue, Inc., Adaptive Marketing, LLC, Velo Holdings, MasterCard International, Inc., MyLife.com, Inc., and Oak Investment Partners. The suit states that Vertrue partners with MyLife.com and other deceptive online businesses to trick consumers into unknowingly joining Vertrue’s “consumer savings clubs.”

    According to the lawsuit, most club “members” never make use of their savings club “memberships” and cancel their subscriptions immediately upon learning of the fraudulent charges. According to the lawsuit, MasterCard earns fees by processing Vertrue’s charges while knowing they are fraudulent and processing such plainly illegitimate charges violates MasterCard’s agreements.

    The lawsuit further states that Vertrue’s parent company, Velo Holdings, and MyLife.com’s investor-owner Oak Investment Partners, which invested $25 million in MyLife in 2007, also participate in Vertrue’s improper practices. The case, Chi v. Vertrue, Inc., et al., was filed in the United States District Court of the Northern District of Georgia, Atlanta Division, on February 28, 2014 and has been given case number 1:14-cv-00614-TWT.

    The lawsuit proposes a class action on behalf of all consumers nationally who have been harmed by these practices.

    The new complaint alleges that Vertrue’s “savings clubs,” administered by its subsidiaries such as Adaptive Marketing, LLC, include At Home Rewards, At Home Rewards+, BusinessMax, Cross Country Savings, DealMax, Home Savings Mall, Food and Flix, Getaway and Save, Leisure Exclusives, My Great Deals, Passport to Fun, Passport to Fun+, SavingsAce, SavingSmart, Shopping Essentials, Shopping Essentials+, Simply You, Today’s Escapes, Today’s Escapes+, ValueMax, and Your Savings Club.

    The lawsuit states that when consumers purchase goods and services from MyLife.com and Vertrue’s other online partners they encounter confusing, obscured ads for Vertrue’s “savings clubs.” Consumers click through these ads without realizing that they have accidentally “joined” one of Vertrue’s clubs, according to the lawsuit. The lawsuit also states that consumers who accidentally join Vertrue’s clubs are charged recurring monthly fees of $20 or more until they affirmatively cancel their “memberships.” Vertrue’s entire business model is based around this deceptive practice, and Vertrue’s co-conspirators, including MasterCard, knowingly facilitate and profit from Vertrue’s fraudulent activities. The lawsuit states that MasterCard approves such unauthorized charges, and profits from them, even though this violates MasterCard’s own rules regarding protection of private customer credit card data.

    The suit asserts that the other Defendants are vital to the improper billing scheme. First, Vertrue transmits a consumer’s credit card data to the related credit card network, which the complaint alleges was MasterCard. MasterCard verifies the consumer’s identity and, the lawsuit states, analyzes the transaction to determine whether it is fraudulent. MasterCard transmits the relevant data to the cardholder’s issuing bank which, if it authorizes the charge, sends a verification message to MasterCard, which then informs the issuing bank that the charge has been authorized, according to the suit. The suit claims that the issuing bank then informs Vertrue of the authorization, at which point the purchase is completed and the issuing bank and MasterCard subsequently “clear” and “settle” all of Vertrue’s charges for that day, at which point the illicitly obtained funds are sent to Vertrue. The suit contends that all the Defendants are well aware of the illegal scheme, but they nonetheless participate in order to obtain substantial transaction fees.

    Vertrue is a subsidiary of Velo Holdings, an investment group also named as a Defendant in the lawsuit, that acquired Vertrue in 2007. According to the lawsuit, Velo and Oak Investment, MyLife.com’s senior investor-owner, were fully aware that Vertrue’s business model relied on consumer fraud when they acquired their positions in these online companies. The suit asserts that these investors nevertheless controlled, participated in, and profited from Vertrue and MyLife for years while doing nothing to curb the companies’ highly illegal business practices.

    If you have unknowingly joined one of Vertrue’s savings clubs and wish to discuss this action, or if you have any questions concerning this press release, please contact Webb, Klase & Lemond by e-mail at contact@WebbLLC.com or by calling (770) 444-9325. Webb, Klase & Lemond, LLC is a law firm that practices complex litigation with a focus on litigation arising from wrongful deprivations by corporate and government entities.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Hanna says:

    July 21st, 2013 at 11:06 pm

    I don’t even see where to contact them.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Hanna says:

    July 21st, 2013 at 11:02 pm

    I absolutely hate this web site. I googled my name and seen myself on here. I don’t recall allowing these people to display my information or to even have it to begin with. So today I claimed my profile to take control of the account. I am now trying to figure out how to delete this mess.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Lola says:

    May 29th, 2013 at 7:21 am

    I googled my name and found it on this site.
    I have never heard of this site and definitely never signed up, and my name is on it.
    I haven’t lived in the country stated for over 7 years and I only lived there for 1 year and never shared this information on any social media site.
    This site is disgusting and I hope people are smart enough to avoid paying money for misleading information.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Mark Cooley says:

    May 23rd, 2013 at 6:20 pm

    Tis site may not be everything it says it is but it was the only way I was able to find some one from my past. I did not make contact with them but I’m not sure if that was their choice or the way the site works. I do think it does overstate what it can do and I have not come to the point where I try to end my contract yet but so far it has been useful in finding people no other site has found.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    tim says:

    May 7th, 2013 at 6:17 am

    its a scam…….run……faster

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    mb says:

    April 27th, 2013 at 10:34 am

    One day I giggled my name. My picture and my info came up in mylife.com. How did they get my info and picture have no idea, but I never signed up with them. To me it looks like they stole my picture from Facebook years ago when it was on my profile. The info is 80% accurate. I do not want them to keep my picture and info up, wondering what should I do?

    REPLY

    MB says:
    April 27th, 2013 at 10:40 am

    Googled my name I meant :)

  • Rating
      
    paul says:

    April 22nd, 2013 at 11:42 am

    they rip me off i was in their site on my tablet and for some reason the tablet went haywire and charge me 95.40 and they would not give me a refund back they are a scam at 100% whatever you do do not go to that site and you will feel sorry.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Ihatespam says:

    February 6th, 2013 at 7:16 pm

    The only thing you get with the basic paid membership is a slightly bigger profile (which you can NEVER delete) and the right to pay for even more “subscription” services. Fortunately, I used PayPal and not a card. Tip – since you can’t delete/remove your profile online, go into your profile before you dump this scam site and over-type all the info you can.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Robert G Green says:

    January 6th, 2013 at 9:57 pm

    After signing up for this service I checked my own information to find it 13 years out of date. I immediately called to cancel and demand a refund which was granted. It is a waste of time and money.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    April Dreeke says:

    December 29th, 2012 at 3:43 pm

    Do NOT sign up for MyLife. It’s a waste of money!!!! It does not offer any services that are useful.

    REPLY

    April Dreeke says:
    December 29th, 2012 at 4:08 pm

    I called them twice. The second time I just kept saying that it did not work, that is the services promised were not delivered. I also mentioned the class action lawsuit, the numerous complaints online, and the FTC. She said they are giving me a full refund and apologized for not being able to help me.

  • Rating
      
    Rob Clark says:

    December 17th, 2012 at 3:08 pm

    I wish that I had read the above reviews. I joined yesterday as I was looking for an old friend in California.I was told that I had one free search. I received two notices from Mylife welcoming me as a member. I was double billed. They make it a difficult as possible to cancel. I will have to wait and see if they do cancel as promised.If not I guess I will join the class action law suit.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    robert rebuth says:

    October 12th, 2012 at 4:04 pm

    scam scam scam join and see how easy it is for someone to steal your id

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    robert rebuth says:

    October 12th, 2012 at 3:59 pm

    looks like nothing more then a good set up to steal your id i have tried to change my profile or remove it and they expect me to PAY to do that the whole site should be considered NOT user friendly and a perfect way to get the info needed to steal someone elses id

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Isabella says:

    September 20th, 2012 at 4:54 pm

    Regarding public record information, it’s everywhere! Not only does MyLife contain peoples personal information but so do other websites! The term itself explains it- PUBLIC records. Everyone can obtain this information not just this measly website.

    Another thing, yes very true that this website is SHADY. Honestly, what business isn’t nowadays? Sadly, the rich and powerful gain there riches and fortune by screwing low income people and can get away with it.

    Please read everything on websites before putting in payment information. The fine print is the true to what terms and conditions exist! It’s best to take time and read than have to deal with large amounts of money being taken.

    Please don’t kid yourselves, if a website promotes “FREE” trials and subscriptions yet ask for payment information, trust, it isn’t free!

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    anonymous says:

    September 5th, 2012 at 7:49 pm

    don’t just complain online but also write complaint/ anonoymous complaint to the FTC ftc.com

    REPLY

    anonymous says:
    September 5th, 2012 at 7:58 pm

    mylife.comlawsuit@hushmail.com
    Class Lawsuit join or already know of one

  • Rating
      
    Tyler A says:

    August 9th, 2012 at 7:59 pm

    I found mylife.com when I searched myself on Google. I followed a link to mylife.com and it listed my age, all the place I’ve lived for. and the people I am related too.

    I then registered myself following their instruction in order to take my information off — it verified me with the EXACT addresses where I lived and then there is option to hide my profile unless I become a paid member. And it tells me there are EIGHT other websites that have my information where I must also pay monthly fees to remove it.

    This is simply ripping people off by gathering your public information then sell it back to you. Not that I dont care about my privacy, I just dont want to pay a penny to these people.

    For those of you wanting to pay. Dont do it. You are just making them rich and they can simply copy your information to another website so you can pay again.

    I think there should be a limit as to how long and how detailed your public information can be gathered by someone who has no business to access them.

    I have no idea how to fight them legally, if anyone does, please post here so that we can fight together.

    REPLY

    MB says:
    April 27th, 2013 at 10:48 am

    Same problem here. I wonder if its legal stealing ppls info and post it on their website

    anonymous says:
    September 5th, 2012 at 7:51 pm

    write anonymous complaint to ftc.com

  • Rating
      
    Kyle says:

    August 5th, 2012 at 4:50 pm

    I went to mylife.com and saw that there was some one looking for me. After paying the fees there was no one it was a name match that just happen to be my dad that I talk to daily. Total scam

    REPLY

    anonymous says:
    September 5th, 2012 at 7:50 pm

    file anonymouse complaint with the FTC right away!

  • Rating
      
    TIred says:

    July 14th, 2012 at 4:15 am

    People fail to realize that even if you aren’t on any social media sites this site still compiles the data from public records and puts it all on their site. So those who think they are safe simply because they aren’t on Facebook or Myspace or any other online social network You are seriously mistaken. I have been trying to get them to take down my information which stalks me all the way back to my childhood home. If anybody finds a lawyer willing to take action to get these people to take down the information they are being asked to take down I would gladly join in on that suit. Forget the money. I want my personal information taken off this site!

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Kay says:

    April 15th, 2012 at 2:41 pm

    I did NOT sign up and after reading the reviews I am glad I didnt! I have no respect for crooks. Poor eatings lead to terrible business. As far as I am concerned Spokeo, Classmate, Mylife are ALL scams!! Dont do it

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Reporting mylife.com says:

    April 15th, 2012 at 12:41 pm

    1. I opted out of all major credit bureaus over a year ago, and my “subscription” doesn’t run out for another 3 years. Selling, sharing, and holding my information without consent from me is a federal crime. So how the hell did these people get my information legally? Hmm?

    2. This website has conducted in false advertising (law), invasion of privacy (law), harassment (law), and more.

    If anyone knows a lawyer, judge, politician, et cetera who may be able to help out, please pass this website’s existence under their gaze for scrutiny and judgement. Businesses like this purchase and steal information by utilizing loop holes in our laws and they make a regular habit of screwing up. They then try to turn around and sell this information with false terms and conditions, even going so far as to pretend this is legal. I read my EULA’s, I read my terms and conditions, and I let places know they are forbidden from selling my information… That means that when this website put up my information, they broke state and federal laws. I hope the owner gets locked up for this kind of putrid data theft. All he and anyone assisting him are doing is aiding identity thieves and criminals – no one who is legitimately trying to find someone else’s information will be able to do so with this screwed up website.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Judy Shope says:

    April 10th, 2012 at 8:04 am

    They scammed me out of $95.40 when I signed up for a one month, one time only $11.95 different service. The charges were one second apart on my card. ONE SECOND!!!!! I called within 48 hours when I noticed the problem and they did the “oh, let me see my supervisor”.

    They have not refunded the $95.40 and I will not rest till they get it straightened out. I say to all others be warned, this company is deceptive at best and a scam in my opinion.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    myLifeIsAScam says:

    March 2nd, 2012 at 9:51 pm

    Warning stay away. Scam.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Samantha says:

    February 5th, 2012 at 2:46 pm

    Jeffrey Tinsley and those who work with him are crooks. The company continues to run commercials saying you can find out if anyone is searching for you … for FREE! I checked out mylife.com, and wound up with a $300 charge to my credit card. I called them immediately and told them I had just seen the commercial offering a “quick check” for free. The woman I spoke to said brusquely “we don’t offer any service for free.” After some back and forth conversation I demanded that the charge be removed from my credit card, or I would go to the credit card company and report it as fraudulent. Eventually, after checking with her “manager”, she offered to cancel the $300 charge if I would pay for that one month – $30. I agreed (just to end this nightmare), and they removed the charge, but kept e-mailing me saying people were looking for me. Interestingly, during my “paid month” they gave me addresses for two people I have been unable to find through any other source. Both addresses, of course, were fraudulent.

    REPLY
  • James says:

    January 4th, 2012 at 8:19 pm

    Crooks and Thieves. They helped themselves to an unauthorized amount of $131.40 for a subscription I knew nothing about!!
    What they do is intentionally mislead people to get a 1 month subscription for $12.95 then they help themselves to your credit card.
    These complaints are all over the internet. Sorry I didnt see them before I subscribed. I have no respect for the people that speak for them on the phone since they get paychecks from stolen money out of good peoples bank accounts!!

    REPLY

    Linda Torrence says:
    February 4th, 2012 at 4:05 am

    Thanks for your comments and alert to this scam company. I have found lately, that before you sign up with any business, especially on the internet or advertised on TV, do a search on reviews of the company. That way, just by reading your report along with many others, I know not to do business with them.

  • Rating
      
    john bowen says:

    December 28th, 2011 at 5:53 pm

    very poor. do not do it.

    REPLY

    alvis says:
    December 30th, 2011 at 12:15 pm

    A bunch of thieves tell me why you can go to prison for stealing a candy bar and yet people like this steal millions and nothing happens .look into it deep enough and its probably connected to some of our elated officials THE THIEVES


Add Your Review



Your Comment:

Choose a Rating

Please Write Your ReviewRead Review Guidelines