PeoplePerHour Reviews – Legit or Scam?

 


PeoplePerHour.com
from 34 reviews Review It
PeoplePerHour.com

 

PeoplePerHour is a website that connects small businesses with freelance workers from across the internet to help them complete small projects quickly and affordably.

According to PeoplePerHour.com, thousands of small businesses use them to hire remote, freelance workers to complete small projects, or just to work for a few hours a week. They claim this allows small businesses to stay flexible.

PeoplePerHour says this benefits small businesses because they can create virtual teams of people across the country – or even internationally – “without the red tape, cost, and bureaucracy of traditional employment.”

They have seven main categories of projects: IT/Programming, Marketing/Sales, Design, Admin/Secretarial, Writing/Translation, Accounting/Legal, or Other. Each category is broken into smaller, more specific categories so workers can something that works for them.

Both businesses and workers can register at PeoplePerHour.com for free. The website does take a small fee from workers, however, when they successfully book a job.

Do you have any experience with PeoplePerHour? If so, please leave a review below.

 

Would you like to add your review for
People Per Hour ?
If so, click here
 
Share This Page!

 

Customer Responses, Reviews, or Complaints


Average Rating for " People Per Hour " is 1.71 out of 5 based on 34 reviews.

  • Rating
      
    Sarah says:

    September 12th, 2014 at 1:30 am

    I actually have something good to say about PPH as a genuine freelancer on their site. I have had the opportunity to work with some wonderful people on projects and thoroughly enjoyed doing so. I will admit my first project was a scam, I was asked to do reviews for a company, reviews completed the girl started asking for my paypal login details and stated I had not completed the job. I refused of course, sent a message to PPH customer services and received a message back within 24hours. She was removed from the site, I was paid.

    You do need to be a little bit savvy on the site and use common sense, yes their are scammers out there for sure and I will only bid on jobs that are paying what I am happy to work on after PPH fees are taken away. It’s never taken 3-5 days for my money to clear and i’m perfectly happy with this.

    The reason for just 4* is the fees charged, 15% + VAT is high but as I said above I charge to cover this cost,plus I claim it back on my tax. If used properly, there is competition but there is in the ‘real world’ for jobs also.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Francesco says:

    September 11th, 2014 at 9:26 am

    This platform is great for any creative con artists – as I experienced having commissioned a job for a Adam in US who actually turns out to be a Abdelouahd in Morroco who simply could not deliver what was detailed and put together what he thought you needed which was culturally very different to what I expressed.
    I rejected the work midflow as it was not what I requested. The Escrow service is in place to protect both parties but PPH made the payment to the con artist on my behalf!
    After a number of emails with PPH support adviser called Panos, expressing how sorry they were but, they were unable to refund the funds back.
    In reality, they had broken the Escrow conduct by making a payment on my behalf without my consent.

    So, not only does the place exist for con artists who want to make a quick buck either as they will always get a slice of the price but PPH itself works with the same policies.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Tiffany says:

    August 18th, 2014 at 11:48 am

    I had a horrible time with PPH is started with only one guy was serious on there, the rest of them was talking about sex and to was horrible. When someone finally did actually want a job however, I found out they they intended to pay me by giving me my own website, in which I don’t have any need for and if I did I have someone that could make me one. I would advise to stay away from them and do not let any one else do it either, I personally think the website should be shut down.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Petra says:

    July 22nd, 2014 at 5:26 am

    I had a very bad experience with PPH and with a client who lied to me and refused to pay me. In the end, PPH did not provide any protection whatsoever. Plus, the commissions charged are very high compared to what the website’s offering.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Ivelin says:

    July 17th, 2014 at 8:22 am

    Worst experience ever. Do Not use!

    I was asked to pay a huge amount is escrow account for design service. The “designer” send me a picture of Mickey mous and said that this is his concept.
    I asked for refund, the seller disputed and PPH decided that he is right and gave him the money.

    It is a scam!

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Real Scam and Real Spammers says:

    June 29th, 2014 at 10:57 am

    once you’ve given them your details, that will be the last of your clean inbox. you would get constant spam through your email. doesn’t matter how many times you contact them, they will not remove your email from the spam list (mailing list). I contacted them several times and asked them, warned them, sword at them and nothing worked. I simply blocked them and reported their emails as spam.

    bunch of idiots who are new to the world of development and internet running peopleperhour and they won’t be around long.

    so do yourself a favour and keep away from them at all cost.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Ron says:

    June 24th, 2014 at 4:29 pm

    My advice. Steer well clear of this site. Any personal details you register with them will be splashed all over the internet. If you commission work, you will across as a temp agent if your name is googled. Furthermore, your details will be locked in and even if you de-activate your account, your details will remain online. Dodgy site, and certainly don’t entrust your money to them.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Taylorlondonxxxx says:

    April 21st, 2014 at 8:09 am

    Atrocious and appalling are the nicest things I can say!

    I’ve been using PPH as both a seller and buyer for quite a few years now. I was so amazed with the type of things on offer initially. However, as I started purchasing and selling. I started to see the huge cracks within the company. It is all one big sham to con consumers out of their hard earned cash.

    I also use other freelancing sites and some of them offer verification of employees through ID checks etc. This offers much more transparency and accountability for the people you are potentially going to work with. While they all differ in the ways they are run. They all operate on a similar model by offering to be an escrow to ensure that as a buyer your work is complete and as a seller your money is received. However, due to numerous complaints and shoddy service. I have also witnessed major changes in the way things are done.

    Firstly, they used to offer a telephone number and the people answering seemed very unprofessional and like they come from the council estate side of town. They would often fob you off with short answers and just keep you on the phone repeating sorry they can’t do anything and how sorry they are. Remaining apologetic, brash, rude and quite brazen.

    My first bad situation was during a telesales campaign that I wanted to run. The seller was silly enough to use his real name and once I realised he was a convicted criminal. The scam all came to light. The escrow system doesn’t normally release the money straight away and it takes time to be released. This is used to protect sellers. However, on the other hand. If a seller releases the invoice and the buyer doesn’t reject it. The invoice and funds are unrecoverable and paid automatically. When signing up you do not need to put many details other than you name and email. This should show you that as a consumer if there is no such transparency. Why on earth would you purchase from the website.

    The telesales agent made fake follow up emails to show he had done the work and then charged me around £300 – £500 pounds. I soon did a background check with a simple Google search and found out that he was a conman. He had burned down a hotel and been in prison. I was absolutely flabbergasted and shocked to say the least. I called up PPH and they didn’t seem to care that much. They said they deactivated his account and cannot recover the funds. I said to myself that I will recover through PayPal, as they kept repeating their garbage. Pending the claim that I made to PayPal. Their account was frozen as a result and they sent me a very rude email saying why did you not ask us for help and in a very rude tone said why did you do that??! To which I thought what kind of low company is this.

    I also had solicitation through a fake call centre based in Dubai by an owner called Adam and another one who promised me targeted emails. They almost conned me and I was clever enough to see they were not genuine. There is a plethora of scam sellers online. Even the highly rated sellers are fake and with fake reviews. You will see so many similar names and it doesn’t take a genius to work it out. I believe that I was probably the only seller on there with real and genuine reviews!

    Furthermore, I also had a buyer change his order half way through for a £3500 project. I had already completed the work and was left out of pocket by £1500 pounds!

    I recently purchased a press release and it was completed and there were minor amendments. The buyer was highly rated on the site and so I felt that I was in good hands. However, the buyer quickly sent the invoice on first draft and I thought this was very cheeky and unprofessional. I didn’t reject the invoice, as I wanted to pay them and felt it was ok. The changes were just one or two words. The second part of the job was to send the PR. However, to date it has never been sent and I don’t even have a copy of the amended version. The invoice was then automatically released after 7 days and I was very busy. I thought he will reply and as a gesture of good will I didn’t reject it as we were having dialogue every few days. As soon as the invoice was released he has disappeared for around a month now. PPH state they cannot recover my funds. They are appalling and their behaviour is atrocious. They are one of the most unprofessional and low ended companies that I’ve ever had the pleasure of working with. As a seller of hourlies and popular featured services. I would often have sellers threaten me to give free work and they would not release the invoices. They would blackmail me to do extra work that was not included in the cost given. This website is a sham through and through for decent freelancers. The only ones that are making money are the big scammer owners at PPH and the scam sellers. Stay away from PPH at all costs!

    P.S. Your fees are extortionate! 15% is a joke!

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Rolfen says:

    March 20th, 2014 at 4:03 pm

    As a freelancer, I registered there, hoping to get some new work from there. Now I want nothing to do with them. I’ve never received work from there, but my impression is that their environment is not favorable for people like me. There is competition from people who try to do things at ridiculous prices, and emphasis is made on encouraging such practices.

    Now they are spamming my inbox, sending me thousands and thousands of “leads”, and I didn’t find a way to stop them from sending their crappy emails.

    If you’re dying to find a customer who will pay dirt for your work, and to work with a middleman (PPH) who will not treat you much better, register there.

    Personally, I’m not that desperate, and if it ever comes to that, I’ll prefer working as a shop assistant or something.

    Now if I could find a way to stop them from sending spam… they’re flooding my inbox and making me risk missing legitimate business leads.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Sam says:

    December 9th, 2013 at 6:53 am

    I have been a member of PPH for a few months now. They are one of the worse freelancing websites that i even came across!

    why?

    here is why:

    quite simple, they hold on to your money which you worked so hard for, for as long as they can… even if its the case of releasing your money from their own escrow system into your account! This takes 3 days which is absolutely ridiculous!

    3 days for releasing your money into your PPH account and 3-5 days for transferring your money from Your PPH account to your bank account!

    they are keep bullsh!ting by saying we do this to protect our users which doesn’t make sense at all! how are you protecting “your users” by keeping their money in your accounts?!?

    I wasn’t born yesterday and I ran a freelacing website a year after PPH was established back in 2007… so stop bullshitting and admit that you are bunch of scam .

    their fee’s are so high I can’t even begin to explain. 15% plus VAT which is again ridiculous!

    I mean if you are charging that much fee’s then 1st- your website should be alot better in terms of security 2nd- your service should be alot faster than 7-8 days for withdrawal!!!

    their customer service is a few dummies who have no clue what they are doing and they are so quick to lie if any problem happens and they will disapeare if you ask for any help…

    all i can say is that stay well away from PPH!

    REPLY

    Elancer says:
    February 11th, 2014 at 4:51 am

    Well I thought I was the only one experiencing challenging.
    My work went around the world. Listen to this. I am new to the computer world, so I thought they are trustworthy. The business is new and I had little resources, money.

    The work went to India twice, had 2 different programmes. They swore blind they could do the job. The first programme held on to my work for 8 weeks. I decided to get my money back.I decided to go back to India and get a new Programmer. The guy also held on to my materials for 10 weeks. I felt I was in the boxing ring,I decided to register with Skype, only to discover that he could not speak bloody English.
    I decided to bring my work to England, the first programmer held on to my materials. She said no problems, work so easy. she held on to my materials for 10 weeks. Now the so called customer services got involved, saying this and that. I made it clear if I don’t get my work back I will shame the company until they bend down on their knees. The so called website programmer said her aunty died,then the cat died and then blamed it on Muslim, hacked her website.
    Finally my work material went to another programmer, in England, only to know that he went away on holiday for 2 weeks, not telling me. When judgment day came to produce the work. He thought my business was something else. He did not read the work. All he did was cut and paste. When I made so much noise with the manager of PPH and they so called arbitration Team,. I told them if I don’t get my money I would see them in court. PPH, gave the criminal £30.00.
    What have I learnt
    1 never to use PPH
    2.See your Website programmer in person
    3.Majority of the workers must be employees for Ninja

    website,liar.materials. first programme said his father died then celebration.aft

  • Rating
      
    Mike Samen says:

    November 22nd, 2013 at 2:23 am

    Hi there,

    I get scammed by PeoplePerHour.com two time. the take a lot of money in fees and now the steal my money and people money..

    Please check the screenshot that proof you this is not honest company for the freelance jobs:

    Case one about £480/$776: http://goo.gl/UY5hVN
    Case two about $718: http://goo.gl/fz26Ik

    Date: 22-11-2013

    Beware to not get deceived by this company (PPH) :(

    Thanks

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    AB says:

    September 11th, 2013 at 3:02 pm

    Do not use this website. It’s not worth the risk.

    I bought a service through PPH paying a designer to design a page with images and text to match my site and paid £80 via PayPal.

    The seller came back within 2 hours with some clip art put on a page and said do you like this?

    I replied saying no it looks nothing like our site and is just clip art. The seller then sent a revised copy which was even worse.

    I asked to cancel the job and the seller refused. The seller then raised an invoice for £60.

    PPH staff then sided with the seller and paid him £60.

    As a buyer I’m down £60 with nothing to show for it.

    Don’t risk using peopleperhour.com with shocking customer services who don’t care about anything but the fees they make. They are not interested in long term business or

    looking after buyers.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Alien says:

    July 31st, 2013 at 8:41 pm

    The complain:

    I gave up looking for a “real” job. Why? There I was stuck far beyond normal 8 hours work and had to endure the arrogance of all my superiors just to hear: “there are plenty of people in the row waiting for this job”.

    The reason:

    Since freelancing, I make far more money a month then on the “real” job and for the first time I don’t feel a free slave.

    The cruelty:

    As a freelancer, one have to be extremely competitive. No work, no food. Fighting cheap working professionals with every bid is common. But more experienced buyers looking for quality will always search for professionals and ignore lowest bids. Anyways, I made my previously one month’s salary in just two days working on PPH.

    Conclusion:

    I don’t care about the fees, I don’t mind security checks, I am not bothered by Ninja’s arrogance as long as my pays far exceeds what I can make in a “real” job.

    Don’t bother commenting, I’ll do it for you:

    “Liar! You are not real.”

    “Surely, a ninja.”

    “WOW, what an arrogant!”

    “A beginner, just wait and see.”

    “Words, prove it!”

    “Pervert!”

    My answer: go get a “real” job ;)

    REPLY
  • A concerned user says:

    July 22nd, 2013 at 5:13 am

    From reading most of the comments. In short I would say that almost 90% of the people commenting here are all who had issues or dispute on PPH and either they lost or things did not go their way and what they are complaining here is all SOUR GRAPES…

    Try get a real poll from people working or getting their worked done through PPH and then place these posts for people to see instead of falsifying and creating a bad name for the platform helping thousands abroad and at home in grudge.

    God bless you all !

    REPLY

    Taylorbabyxxx says:
    April 21st, 2014 at 8:11 am

    That is rubbish and you must be the CEO of PPH. If you had thousands of pounds stolen I think you would have quite a different view.

    ET says:
    July 29th, 2013 at 10:01 am

    I’ve earned several thousand pounds through PPH over the last few years and never had an issue or a dispute. The sourness is not from sour grapes, but from seeing the customer service get worse, the fees get higher, new schemes introduced that benefit PPH financially but add no overall value for either the freelancer or the client, and the growing feeling that PPH has lost touch with the people who earn them their living. When you see a poster enthusing over PPH, nine time out of 10 it is a new member who has just discovered the platform. As time goes on and they hit problems with payments, problems with being scammed, problems with PPH being incapable of arbitrating fairly, etc, and most of all when they discover just how low priority customer support is, the shine wears off. As you say, a real poll from people who have used PPH regularly over a period of time would be very interesting.

  • Rating
      
    Bk says:

    July 11th, 2013 at 10:46 am

    As a freelance web developer.
    My suggestion is don’t waste your precious time with PPH.
    Guru.com is the best.
    Safe for both ends.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    snelgoedkoop says:

    July 9th, 2013 at 5:02 am

    scam: peopleperhour does not read disputes but just goes 50/50
    so if one bids on a 2000 job and do not deliver, u still get 1000 paid

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Garos says:

    June 20th, 2013 at 11:29 am

    Very poor service

    I posted a job, and awarded to a provider. But after 2 weeks, it appeared that the provider did not know how to do the job, so I asked him to cancel the project, It was cancelled but the deposit was not refunded, because the provider did some work (I got screenshots only). So if you get a provider that can not deliver you will loose your money.

    same thing as previous review

    CHOOSE YOUR PROVIDER WELL, Or put no deposit in.

    REPLY
  • Timea Szabo says:

    June 20th, 2013 at 6:17 am

    Hi everyone,

    My name is Timea Szabo and I am the community manager of PeoplePerHour.

    We appreciate that everyone has different business needs and PPH is not right for everyone but we are here to listen and to help resolve any outstanding problems.

    There have been a couple comments which we would like to address, although regrettably due to the anonymity of all the reviews we cannot crosscheck users in our database and resolve inquiries unless you decide to contact us directly (please do, we would love to help) via support@peopleperhour.com.

    As an open marketplace where Sellers and Buyers alike can sign up for free, the challenge is to create a quality website without compromising our ethos and infringing too much on organic communication between Buyers and Sellers and it goes without saying that the safety of our marketplace is paramount. As part of our security measures we occasionally have to undertake extra steps to verify payments made on our site. As is standard practice this can involve asking for trusted forms of identity where it has not been possible to sufficiently verify a payment through other means. Due to the systems we have in place this level of verification is rare, but when it is necessary we aim to complete this step as quickly and as painlessly as possible to minimise any inconvenience for the parties involved.

    When choosing to work with a freelancer, we strongly suggest to take into consideration their profile quality, number of sales, customer satisfaction score, portfolio, user status, and endorsements, in order to select the freelancer that best suits your needs and budget and one that will deliver to the highest standard. Much like other online marketplaces, on PPH purchasing a service for cheaper than the market rate or without any reviews is taking a chance that could pay off and this also allows new Sellers to get started and expand their clientele. But given that many of our Buyers are cash-strapped small business owners and our new freelancers are keen to offer their services at a better price-point to establish themselves, it all works out at the end. Meanwhile, there’s also room for getting your complex job done with some of the most talented freelancers out there either by posting a Job or purchasing a top rated Hourlie.

    If you have any questions or comments, please do get in touch with us via email.

    Best regards,

    The PPH Team

    REPLY

    Rolfen says:
    March 20th, 2014 at 8:00 pm

    Would you please stop spamming mail inbox, that’s all I am asking.

    Sam says:
    December 9th, 2013 at 7:14 am

    get lost and close that scam website of yours ASAP! I’m in the process of going public and I mean proper public via media as a friend of mine works in evening echo news papers and I can assure you that I will try everything in my power to bring you scams down as people clearly had enough of your BS…..

    Garos says:
    July 2nd, 2013 at 5:13 am

    BS!Your only motivation is GREEED. Any derision taken it dictated by profit, and no respect to users what so ever.

  • Rating
      
    Kathi says:

    June 14th, 2013 at 8:48 pm

    I worked with People Per hour for quite some time. I found their web designers cheap, but you get what you pay for. The good ones that you can actually communicate in English with, you could find more cooperation and knowledge dealing with U.S. web design companies. I would NOT use another people per hour web contractor, it was a nightmare. I tried several, by the way, same story with all.

    But the worst is, once they have your money, they do everything in their power to keep it. I deposited extra funds to cover upcoming artist contract work that I was going to be doing, just to eliminate having to constantly pay the invoices and deposits. What a mistake. They said they couldn’t convert my “Wallet” money to pay anything but American dollar invoices. But they had no trouble taking my US dollars and converting them when they actually had a real invoice. My wallet money was “stuck” in their system and I could not get it back. Then they gave me six hours to respond to them if I wanted it back — six hours during a weekday, business day, when I wasn’t and couldn’t be on the internet to respond. So they turned it into British pounds and took a hefty service charge out to convert the money — when I specifically asked for a refund and NOT to convert the funds at that point. BE CAREFUL, THEY WILL KEEP YOUR FUNDS AND YOU WILL PLAY HELL GETTING YOUR MONEY BACK, AND THEY WILL TAKE A SERVICE CHARGE OUT EVERY TIME YOU TURN AROUND, UNTIL THERE’S NOTHING LEFT!!!!

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Colette says:

    June 8th, 2013 at 4:26 pm

    As a freelancer you will only make (some) money with People Per Hour if you earn over £178 per month at least. Under that, you will pay up to 18% of what you earn. On top of that, if you want to get an employer to be interested you have to pay to be featured.

    Advice:If you apply for a job, make sure it is for over £200 per job deliverable and payable within one month.

    People Per Hour are the biggest pimps in the business.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Sam D says:

    May 7th, 2013 at 6:47 am

    Before anyone suspects cheerleading or the like, you can look me up as a valid user on the site.

    I have been using PPH since Nov 2012. The only challenge I found was getting the ball rolling but otherwise, I have never had payment issues or anything.

    If I think a buyer is offering too little I don’t go for it but quite honestly, I have secured writing 20 articles per week for £5 each to writing 2 articles per month for $100.

    I think PPH are excellent and if you are struggling to get jobs, maybe you should focus on writing strong proposals – that’s what I did and it helped.

    REPLY

    ET says:
    June 16th, 2013 at 5:11 am

    PS – Well done on getting the PPH Ambassador badge Sam!
    (PPS – on your profile – relEvant not relAvant)

    ET says:
    May 26th, 2013 at 9:23 am

    No disrespect Sam, but are you implying that £100 a week for churning out four articles every day is a good rate?

  • Rating
      
    Rita says:

    May 7th, 2013 at 6:00 am

    They are not helpful at all when you need them to. They take ages to look into dispute and they are not protecting the parties when they could.
    I have also come across people collecting proposals for their own sake, and PPH have done nothing about that either.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Anthony says:

    April 10th, 2013 at 5:08 pm

    @Rich you’re an interloper and no one is fooled by your cheer-leading.

    PPH is a great platform for contractors and clients but they have a cultural problem in their customers services department which leads to an unnecessary churn rate (@Rich is a typical example).

    I have used PPH as a supplier and customer and have not suffered any issues, but very few of the ~70 folk I have exchanged business with have been so lucky.

    Some have left PPH in frustration over money matters. Surely a sacred duty to a platform which relies on the honour system to survive. Without trust PPH is nothing.

    They interpret “escrow” incorrectly too. There is no subjective meaning to the word. The money is not theirs, it is a tool of their trade and like anyone who wants to be recognised as a proficient tradesmen they must learn how to use their tools properly.

    Whingers!
    =========

    And for the person who is fed up with all the whinging about PPH I suggest he stops using Google to look for them because he won’t have any time free to whine about the whingers.

    Thinkers!
    =========

    If you are thinking of joining PPH I suggest you do – but go in with your eyes wide open. Unless you are some-kind of demigod in your trade you will be competing against people just like you except many of them will charge a button for what you want to charge a dollar.

    The reason I think it IS a good place to work and/or to buy is it is a great platform to find new business partners.

    Against PPH rules but with care I have squirrelled more than $200k in the last year that I would have lost if I attempted to use their escrow system – they lose a lot this way but that’s down to their lack of acumen and common sense.

    They force your hand due to ridiculous rules and constant intervention in your business, holding payment to your supplier and thus obliging your supplier not to deliver or complete a project.

    Or maybe your customer/supplier’s account is frozen because they suspect a rule has been broken (common, they are neurotic). As an innocent bystander you lose money or a supplier and its completely out of your control unless…

    Get an email address or phone number right at the beginning and take it offline then YOU remain in control.

    And never never engage a supplier or take on a new customer until you have spoken to them on the phone.

    I have never had a contract go bad and I put that down to vetting the other person by phone first, you can tell a lot by asking a few simple questions but if you never speak to them you will never know.

    If you decide to work together swap IM and email addresses too.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Dave says:

    March 31st, 2013 at 6:52 am

    A creative director I know used PPH recently for some storyboard work, what they got back looked like a 12 year old had done it. PPH is clearly full of people who won’t cut it in the real world, the work had to be done again properly.

    REPLY

    Rich says:
    April 8th, 2013 at 7:36 am

    Your creative director friend should have gone for a more experienced professional then, rather than a lower ‘bid’. PPH is full of highly talented professionals and freelancers. Or did he get work from all sellers on the site? No. Just slating because of one!

  • Rating
      
    clark says:

    March 24th, 2013 at 11:34 am

    It is really bad. I am a game developer, people are paying 50 pounds for a 2.5k project. One of the people I was dealing with, were also dealing with my friends company. They were given a budget of 4.5k and they offered the entire job, everything… for 200 pounds.

    As a freelancer, you are used by the clients, used by the PPH and if anything goes wrong, you get the full scale of the blame.

    Avoid it like the plague.

    REPLY

    Rich says:
    April 8th, 2013 at 7:40 am

    Surely as an open marketplace it is down to the users, not the site which rates are set?!

    It is a highly competitive market, and sites such as PPH and Freelancer do not help that aspect, but at the same time they also put buyers and seller together.

    You get what you pay for. If someone is able to do the work for £200 to a high enough standard, and THEY are happy with that amount – what is the issue?

  • Rating
      
    Eric says:

    January 15th, 2013 at 11:47 am

    I have been a contractor on PPH and always received four-five stars. Always satisfied the client. But to protect myself, I only took jobs with 100% pre paid funds in the PPH escrow system.

    So you’d think that escrow means that you’ll get paid if you complete the work right?

    Well not on PPH. On Elance.com, if you do the work, and the customer is satisfied, and the funds are in escrow, you do get paid.

    Again, not on PeoplePerHour.com. After I completed the job, and After the buyer gave me five stars, then they told me that they wanted to hold my $140 payment until they could re-verify the buyer.

    Remember, PPH has the funds in escrow. … so what’s the hold-up?

    I’ll stick with Elance.com. Their escrow means that Elance holds the funds, and all fraud checks are complete. If I do the work, and the customer is satisfied, I’ll get paid.

    Eric

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Tiffany says:

    December 19th, 2012 at 3:11 pm

    I truly agree with other participants I hired a fake Paralegal with no experience. False work histories and she wasnt reliable to write a malpractice letter or provide codes. She kept apologizing but never produce any real time results. I demanded a refund for the partial fee upfront low fee 30.00. Bottoming line you pay for cheapest is what you might get in return for most case scenerio. I never receive my refund the worker ignore messages.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    samantha Logan says:

    December 14th, 2012 at 1:56 pm

    Complain Complain Complain..thats all I get to ever hear about it from losers. I have been with People Per Hour for nearly six months. They are honestly the best aution website I have ever worked with. My Company CEO loves People Per Hour and their support team.

    I suggest you all get your facts checked. Yes, there are always rooms for improvement and they are getting there. No Auction website has bent over backwards like they do for freelancers.

    You talking of them charging higher fees.. grow up! the price of an employee has shot up too! you ought to increase your payout to freelancers as well. If you are looking for a 12 page WordPress website with all the complexities for $100 or a little more than you are the scum..not they.

    Feel free to quote me – Respect the people who gets your work done and respect the people who give you the resources where as you be paying through your nose.

    REPLY

    Rolfen says:
    March 20th, 2014 at 8:10 pm

    Oh wow some zealous fans you are…!

    Rich says:
    April 8th, 2013 at 7:45 am

    I have been using PPH for about 6 months too.
    Within a week I had 2 jobs paying about £250 each. Not my full rate, but hell – £500 for what is essentially 3/4 days work.

    I think freelancers should stop being greedy and be grateful of such trading platforms. What is the other alternative? Close the site down? Will they be better off then? I think not!!

    Pie Acorn says:
    February 28th, 2013 at 4:19 am

    Bend over backwards for freelancers????

    Paying through the nose I agree with.

    Of course prices go up but that is not a reason to increase the percentages. PPH takes 18% of earnings as commission and provides zilch customer service, they do not respond to queries, they ignore all your messages and hope you will go away. The only way to get any sort of response is to post on facebook and normally your post is removed very quickly but sometimes you do get a reply.

    PPH is probably still ok for clients but for freelancers it is a disaster, soon the only ones left will be the ones who cannot get work any other way. And the quality will go down.

  • Rating
      
    Colina says:

    November 27th, 2012 at 8:31 pm

    This used to be a great workplace. But since Peoplperhour launched its new, extremely aggressive incentive,I can no longer afford the extortionate 20% rate that they charge their freelancers.

    Peopleperhour doesn’t give a damn about its freelancers who are,after all, the ones keeping the organisation afloat – in a row-boat as opposed to a fancy cruise ship – but afloat all the same.

    The CEO and his acolytes are inspired by the teen-aged jargon of Urban Dictionary,and they are so arrogant, that they really feel they are above having their wrists smacked for a serious breach of copyright

    They offer (accurately) about 300 000 freelancers for rougly 2200 jobs – so from a client’s point of view – he/she/it can’t lose.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Robert Dimer says:

    November 6th, 2012 at 1:47 pm

    I have used People Per hour both as a ‘Buyer’ and as a ‘Seller’. I find the whole thing suspect and massively unprofessional. People Per Hour is run by some faceless online team who haven’t a clue what they are doing, and its owner is a shady Greek entrepreneur (which hardly inspires confidence). The organization is a shambles; as a freelancer, it’s a nightmare getting paid, the fees are desperately low, and the ‘support team’ is 100% uninterested in the site’s users. As an employer, I have found that all the freelancers applying for work are amateurs who probably can’t get a ‘proper’ job. To be honest, both freelancers and employers could be absolutely anyone – they are never vetted by People Per Hour. The whole business is desperately unprofessional – I suspect it was set up by someone wanting to make a ‘quick buck’. If you’re a professional person, avoid People Per Hour; there are infinitely better and more professional sites that actually know what they are doing. People Per Hour? Disastrous!

    REPLY

    Dude says:
    September 14th, 2013 at 10:55 am

    Criticize the business and the entrepreneur, fine. But, what does his ethnicity have to do with it? Seriously, that mention weakens your whole argument.

    Also, if you know better sites, why not list some of them? Do you prefer elance, Guru, Craigslist, LinkedIn, what?

  • Rating
      
    childish on fiverr says:

    November 2nd, 2012 at 10:39 am

    After reading all comments I created an account (just for fun )but I have got instant order and paid.not bad.

    REPLY

    Rich says:
    April 8th, 2013 at 7:46 am

    +1!
    Enough said really.
    I think all of the comments are the people who cannot write a decent proposal and have had bugger all work. Either that or they are working for competitor sites!

  • Rating
      
    Marie I (ex provider) says:

    October 7th, 2012 at 5:42 am

    Wish there was an option of giving zero stars as a rating of 1/5 is a very very generous one. I am a professional WordPress Web Developer working since 11 years. I decided to join this peopleperhour recently.
    Within a month I had a 100% rating and 7 glowing reviews from clients and of course had paid a huge share of my earnings to peopleperhour. I once left the UK to visit my home country. Peopleperhour called my home & my family member not well versed in English could not answer the phone as was expected by the arrogant peopleperhour team. Without sending me an email notification, they blocked me and wrote next to my profile that I had been banned

    I started receiving skype messages from concerned clients asking why I was kicked out. When I wrote to peopleperhour to explain, I received several messages from them from different so called ‘ninjas’ saying contradictory things!!! No one apologised and they are a truly unprofessional, mismanaged company who need to have a basic lesson in etiquette before continuing to work. The rude ninja Sebastian thinks he owns the company – or probably in reality does own it. His attitude is unbelievably arrogant.

    The ninjas need to learn to say the word SORRY when required. I have left peopleperhour for good as they do not respect us providers. A very strange attitude to not respect provides who are in fact their clients who PAY THEM. No wonder most reviews here are negative – a big eye opener.

    REPLY

    Rich says:
    April 8th, 2013 at 7:48 am

    Why did they call your home phone? What on earth could the reason for that be? Nonsense. Piffle

  • Rating
      
    Simon says:

    July 16th, 2012 at 10:20 am

    I hired several freelancers using PPH and the results were mixed.

    What annoyed me was that I had a credit in the account which I left there for the next job, however when I returned to PPH after some time the account had been deleted and thus I lost the amount in the account.

    Whilst it was not a lot of money, nonetheless I feel disappointed that PPH should feel free to close my account and pocket the balance in the account.

    PPH: Not very professional or honest.

    REPLY

    Fatima says:
    October 8th, 2012 at 6:17 am

    I agree Peopleperhour is not an honest company. I have had a bad experience too. They take ages to respond to emails, keep sending emails about the same thing with different names. Its very unethical to pocket members’ money without their consent!

  • Rating
      
    Sonia says:

    April 27th, 2012 at 6:15 am

    The guys dont care about customer service I used it a few times and had problems with a guy who had no idea what he was doing. I informed them that he was not doing what I asked for my website. They never replied to the emails I sent saying they never received them when I phoned up, its a scam.

    Avoid like a plague

    REPLY
  • Jim A. says:

    April 18th, 2012 at 4:52 am

    People people…
    I am currently finishing my 5th job using http://www.peopleperhour.com
    I have received the payments for all the jobs I have finished…
    I have a good ranking…
    It is either you and a possible lack of quality or you are just a competitor disguised as a comment poster… Cheap trick..

    REPLY

    Rich says:
    April 8th, 2013 at 7:50 am

    I personally have completed about half a dozen web sites, a few logo designs. All with repeat work. No problems at all

    Andy says:
    May 17th, 2012 at 12:17 pm

    Jim, can you be more specific about the jobs you’ve performed for them?
    Are they IT projects???

  • Rating
      
    John says:

    April 2nd, 2012 at 5:14 pm

    Stay well clear of PPH, they are going nowhere. Having been a freelancer with them for a few months and won a couple of contracts I found them to be extremely inefficient and very poorly organized. I have been taken off the site on two occasions without so much as a by your leave, no explanation, nothing!! It appears that as soon as you request money from the client everything grinds to a halt, irrespective of the fact that the client had deposited funds. There are much better freelance sites out there with much lower fees and a lot less hassle getting paid.
    If PPH continue to treat their customers in this way then they will not survive and do not deserve to. My advice would be to use a more professional organization with a solid background.

    REPLY

    Rich says:
    April 8th, 2013 at 7:51 am

    This entire page screams of competitors writing false reviews.
    Thus – the down side of non verified reviews.

    PJB says:
    October 13th, 2012 at 9:52 pm

    There are much better freelance sites out there with much lower fees and a lot less hassle getting paid.

    - Examples?

  • Haru Chie says:

    March 14th, 2012 at 8:16 am

    I have been working as a freelancer at peopleperhour.com for quite some time…

    In the area of translation, where I am active the most, I could say that the payments are higher than any similar site I have used. Also, as it is now, I can find better financial rewards than my work in real life.

    If I was a client, I would also prefer it if I could, for a partial work.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    steve elphick says:

    February 15th, 2012 at 2:38 am

    i’ve given people per hour a fair rating because at least there are some jobs in there to be found….however what i do find quite soul destroying, being a small professional freelance business myself, is seeing interesting bread and butter projects outsourced for tiny amounts of money…amounts that would see my own business going bankrupt within months…it is not possible for me to see how this could be controlled, however i do not see it helping a struggling economy of small businesses in any way at all…..except perhaps to expand your portfolio….

    REPLY

    nsterken says:
    July 5th, 2014 at 2:19 am

    My wife and I are considering starting a website like this that only allows freelancers and buyers from the US. The whole problem is globalization: it’s financial suicide for the world’s population. If country’s would become more closed off to one another and become more self sufficient, things would drastically improve.

    I just tried joining the site and my application got denied: they asked me to please remove my website details and resubmit.

    So I resubmitted with this message:

    I work hard and I deserve my exposure.

    Remove my website details?

    No way. Go f yourself, PPH.

    cadav3r says:
    May 15th, 2012 at 11:19 pm

    its cause online work is dominated by people in developing countries.
    people in india work online, get payed in usd and spend it in a country where $1 gets you like four times the product. lower cost of living in India and the Philippines dude


Add Your Review



Your Comment:

Choose a Rating

Please Write Your ReviewRead Review Guidelines