SavingStar.com Reviews – Legit or Scam?

 


SavingStar.com
from 108 reviews Review It
SavingStar.com

 

SavingStar.com is a new website/app that’s putting a unique twist on coupon grocery shopping in the digital age. The idea is to consolidate the source of coupons and allow shoppers easy access to offers without having to physically print out and carry around paper coupons.

The company has been growing rapidly, quickly reaching over 1 million registered users and partnering with over 100 retail chains and countless brands to offer their users savings and a wide variety of shopping locations.

So How Does SavingStar Work?

The technology behind SavingStar.com is based on the founders eCoupon work at Upromise.com. First off and most importantly the service is free to use, all you have to do is logon to the site and create a profile.

The next step is to register your grocery and retail store loyalty cards with SavingStar. This allows them to digitally link those cards with their coupon offers. Simply enter your zip code to see a list of participating stores in your area.

Once you have registered your loyalty cards you’re ready to shop. Any eCoupon that you select from the site is automatically loaded onto the loyalty card so you don’t have to bring anything extra to the store with you.

How do you Redeem Your Savings?

It is important to note that your discounts will not show up instantly at the checkout counter or be visible on your receipt. Instead all your savings will be accumulated in your SavingStar account. This can take anywhere from 2-30 days.

Once you reach five dollars in savings you can choose one several ways to cash out. Your options are a direct deposit into your bank account, PayPal, Amazon giftcard, or charity donation.

Is SavingStar Right for You?

If you’re someone who consistently uses coupons to save money at the grocery or drug store then this is definitely a service you can try out. There’s some setup involved in the beginning but once all your loyalty cards (i.e. CVS card) are registered the coupons link directly to those cards so you can save directly at the store with no paper coupons to worry about.

You can also use their IPhone/Android app to activate eCoupons while you’re at the star which is helpful in case you’ve forgotten to do so ahead of time or have forgotten which coupons you’ve already selected.

 

Would you like to add your review for
Does SavingStar Really Work ?
If so, click here
 
Share This Page!

 

Customer Responses, Reviews, or Complaints


Average Rating for " Does SavingStar Really Work " is 3.14 out of 5 based on 108 reviews.

  • Rating
      
    Jolyne Dunn says:

    June 27th, 2015 at 3:28 pm

    As long as stores report purchases and Savingstar records submitted store receipts, everything is fine. If a problem arises, good luck getting a response from them!

    REPLY

    SavingStar says:
    June 30th, 2015 at 9:25 am

    Hi Jolyne, I’m sorry you are waiting for a response from customer service. Please note that we do reply to all emails. Currently, we are responding within about 6 business days due to high volume, but you will receive a reply shortly. Thanks, Josh from SavingStar

  • Rating
      
    Dawn says:

    June 16th, 2015 at 2:14 pm

    Savingstar is pretty easy to use. Love the produce offers!

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Michelle says:

    June 8th, 2015 at 6:24 pm

    Savingstar use to be good….Not anymore. I absolutely HATE it! Ever since the update, their camera feature delivers nothing but “blurry” images. Have no problem whatsoever with taking pics for other sites. Horrible customer service! Have tried for 2 weeks to get an email response to a problem. NEVER get the credit I am supposed to get. They will stall and give you the run around..anything to stall in adding money to your account. Not worth the hassle. There are too many other really good coupon/money back apps out there, to have to deal with this one!

    REPLY

    SavingStar says:
    June 12th, 2015 at 8:22 am

    Hi Michelle, I’m sorry to hear the camera in the app is not working well for you. You can also submit a picture of your receipt through our website if that works better for you. We do answer every email we receive, but due to high volume we are currently replying within 6-8 business days. Thanks, Josh from SavingStar

  • amber says:

    June 2nd, 2015 at 11:48 am

    i bought a 14 pack of nicoderm patches step 2 I was sopose to get 5 dollars on savingstar but it would not take the item I bought it is the right item there is no other I emailed savingstar no response I also had my tomatoes on the same receipt and now they have expired.they should have a phone number to call with problems because of the dates you are limited too

    REPLY

    SavingStar says:
    June 4th, 2015 at 10:31 am

    Hi Amber, If you purchased the product before the expiration date you will still get credit. We are currently replying to all emails within 6-8 business days due to high volume, but we do reply to everyone and will get back to you soon. Thanks, Josh from SavingStar

  • Sonia B. says:

    May 25th, 2015 at 7:08 pm

    How do I get out of this program? It is not for me since I don’t have an Iphone. Sonia

    REPLY

    SavingStar says:
    May 26th, 2015 at 8:29 am

    Hi Sonia, You don’t need an iPhone to use SavingStar. You can use our website as well. If you want to cancel your account you can login through the website and go to your Profile Settings to cancel. Thanks, Josh from SavingStar

  • Rating
      
    Judith Poulos says:

    May 24th, 2015 at 3:29 pm

    I have a question. Is Saving Star still offering the free item every Friday? I haven’t received anything in a month or longer about this.
    Thanks for your help.

    REPLY

    SavingStar says:
    May 26th, 2015 at 8:28 am

    Hi Judith, Freebies will now occur periodically rather than every Friday. (We sent out an email announcing the change. I’m sorry if you did not see it). Thanks, Josh from SavingStar

  • Sam says:

    May 16th, 2015 at 7:55 am

    My account is temporarily unavailable and has been for several months. I was told to send a screenshot of my account page and the tech team will resolve the issue. I was also told to clear my cache. I have sent several emails to ask if there is a fix in place. I asked for a paper check for my account balance since I can not access the funds. There was no response to that question.

    REPLY

    SavingStar says:
    May 18th, 2015 at 8:38 am

    Hi Sam, Have you tried logging in on a different browser? If you contacted our customer service, we will get back to you in the order your email was received. Thanks, Josh

  • Rating
      
    April B. says:

    May 14th, 2015 at 3:16 pm

    I love Savings star, no problem since I started using last August. and it does not take long to see your savings in your account.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Vanessa says:

    May 8th, 2015 at 3:52 am

    I wanted to start using this a couple days ago but it doesn’t seem like it’s well put together. If you don’t get everything right the first time your pretty much screwed. I put in my CVS card number and logged out. I tried logging back in and it stayed my password was wrong. So I resent the password to my email then logged back in to find my CVS card still wasn’t attached so I tried to attach it again and it said it was already attached to another account. I don’t know who’s because I only made one account. So I tried deleting the account to start over but of course more issues. I had to contact them but again as all customer support it takes forever! There isn’t a call customer support only email that doesn’t even get responded to. I’m guessing you have to have a lot of patience with this app and do it right the first time or your screwed. Extremely frustrated and will NOT be recommending to anyone.

    REPLY

    SavingStar says:
    May 11th, 2015 at 3:59 pm

    Hi Vanessa, I’m sorry you experienced an issue. It sounds like you have 2 different SavingStar accounts. If you email us your CVS card number we can look up the email address associated with it. Thanks, Josh from SavingStar

  • Rating
      
    Cathy says:

    May 5th, 2015 at 10:10 am

    I have been using SavingStar for about a year and up until the last couple of weeks I have been extremely happy. Suddenly I can’t see my account balance or cash out. The only response back from SavingStar is “I am sorry that you have experienced a problem! We’re aware of this issue and are currently working on fixing it. We hope to have it resolved soon. Thank you for your patience!” If you contact them you will get this exact quote too. I guarantee if there was a problem that was costing them money as opposed to this one that is costing us money it would have been resolved quickly.

    If/when it comes back up I plan to cash out and stop using it. There are too many other sites out there to put up with bad customer service.

    REPLY

    SavingStar says:
    May 6th, 2015 at 10:41 am

    Cathy, This issue has now been fixed. I’m sorry that you did not like our response. Fixing an error on the service is not something that can be solved in seconds. Our product team needs to investigate the cause of the issue, fix the error, and then have our QA team make sure the fix works properly on all browsers. We have now fixed the issue and you get see your account balance and cash out. Thank you, Josh

  • Rating
      
    Sue says:

    May 4th, 2015 at 8:59 am

    Pretty easy to use.Just tap the offers and scan your loyalty card or take a picture of your receipt.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Bridget says:

    April 28th, 2015 at 11:58 am

    I only use Savings Star for the grocery stores that do NOT require me to scan the receipt. I choose the coupon on the Savings Star website ahead of my shopping trip. I usually shop at Ingles & my savings have been credited to my account every time. Thus far have saved over $24 & plan to continue saving $$$$$$$$$$ with this great site.

    I probably will not use with stores that require me to scan receipt (like Krogers) as is too much of a hassle.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    John says:

    April 23rd, 2015 at 8:58 am

    I just discovered this app, but have saved over $5 in the first month. Pretty good so far.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Tundog says:

    April 22nd, 2015 at 2:40 pm

    Why won’t they let you put 0 stars? Of all the apps this is the worst! It is a huge pain! First, the offers don’t always activate on the 1st – 5th try. The app is ALWAYS crashing. They can’t read your receipt. I literally tried uploading to the site with no luck either! I submitted the SAME receipt to two other apps (different purchases) and they CAN read the same receipt, credit you in 24 hrs.

    I really don’t have the time to come home from the grocery store, scan each product attempt to take a photo of the receipt 3-4 times for them to reject it. I have emailed them on several occasions well over 2 weeks ago and have not heard anything back and I have a dedicated email for each app I use so I can also tell where spam comes from. They do good on that one but I should have credit for 9.00 and I have credit for .55.

    REPLY

    Michelle says:
    June 8th, 2015 at 6:28 pm

    I feel the exact same way as you! I HATE savingstar. All they ever offer is excuses and looks like they just gave you another excuse. Not worth my time either.

    SavingStar says:
    April 23rd, 2015 at 8:49 am

    Hi – I’m sorry to hear you had a problem. The most common reasons receipts are rejected are if we don’t receive the UPCs of all the products you bought or we did not receive clear images of the entire receipt from top to bottom. We do reply to all emails and currently are replying to emails within 7-10 days. If it’s been 2 weeks, I suspect you missed our reply which would would have come from support@savingstar.com. Please search your email for that email address. Thanks, Josh

  • Rating
      
    Sara says:

    April 21st, 2015 at 7:10 am

    This is a great way to save with little effort.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    paul hamilton says:

    April 20th, 2015 at 5:29 am

    Love the savings somtimes them getting back to you is and issue but i guess it is because of them being super busy saving people money thanks

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Olivia says:

    April 16th, 2015 at 11:20 am

    I love SavingStar. Have already saved on many items with their grocery coupons and online mall.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Dee C says:

    April 15th, 2015 at 9:04 pm

    I have emailed saving star at least 6 times, sent 3 Facebook messages and made 1 phone call and have not spoken to a human being yet. I have never had so many issues trying to receive credit for my purchases.

    REPLY

    SavingStar says:
    April 23rd, 2015 at 8:57 am

    Lisa, I’m sorry to hear you experienced a problem, but we are not a scam. We’ve been operating since 2011 and our app has a 4.2 out of 5 rating with over 15,000 reviews. We work with major brands and grocery stores nationwide who would not work with us if we were not rewarding our members. If you need any assistance, please email us at support@savingstar.com. Thanks, Josh

    Lisa H. says:
    April 20th, 2015 at 2:21 am

    Dee: Don’t bother any more. They’re a scam! Be careful — they make you think they’re really saving you money and helping fix your problems. But they’re not at all. Trust me. I’ve given up myself..

    SavingStar says:
    April 16th, 2015 at 9:22 am

    Hi Dee – I’m sorry to hear experienced an issue. At this time all customer service is handled by email. If yo contacted our customer service team, you should have received a response as we do answer every email that comes in. Please search your email for support@savingstar.com. Thanks, Josh

  • Rating
      
    Lisa H. says:

    April 9th, 2015 at 3:40 pm

    I have been using SavingStar for a little over a month for online purchases. It’s worked for sites such as Harbor Freight, Home Depot, Living Social, Groupon, FTD, Medex Supply, Grainger, Priceline, and Staples, and I just received my first deposit into my bank account. I’ve made quite a few purchases from Rakuten.com and have never received my rewards, so that’s disappointing because I was expecting to receive them.

    As far as the grocery coupons, I tried using the One or Many SC Johnson Home Care Save $5 off $30 purchase, but the products I wanted to purchase weren’t included in the offer even though they are pictured right there on SavingStar ad. Thank goodness I scanned the barcodes in the store with my phone before buying $30 worth of items that didn’t even qualify.

    Overall, I’m happy with SavingStar for online purchasing, but as far as grocery store purchases, it’s too complicated. I don’t live in an area where there is a particpating grocery store and that complicates things too.

    REPLY

    SavingStar says:
    April 13th, 2015 at 8:40 am

    Hi Lisa, If you scanned an item that is pictured, it should be included in the offer. Inside supermarkets the internet connection or lighting can affect the app’s ability to properly determine if an item is included. If you purchase an item that is specified in the offer text, then it is part of the promotion. If you have any questions about your account or your Rakuten purchases, please email us at support@savingstar.com so we can help you out. Thanks, Josh

  • Rating
      
    Aris says:

    April 6th, 2015 at 3:58 pm

    I have been using Saving Star and I really like it. Especially I like the veggies rebates and the freebies on Fridays. However I have had a couple of issues in the past couple of weeks and I have emailed them but I have yet to receive a response. Without a phone based customer service I feel like I’m talking to air. My experience with it would be much better if I had some kind of contact when needed.

    REPLY

    SavingStar says:
    April 7th, 2015 at 8:34 am

    Hi Aris, Thank you for emailing us. You should have received an automatic response that we are currently responding to all emails within 6-8 business days. We do respond to every email in the order they are received and will get back to you soon. Thanks, Josh from SavingStar

  • Rating
      
    Dan says:

    March 30th, 2015 at 9:03 am

    This is a great service. Been using it here and there for years but now that they added Walmart I use it all the time.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Dee says:

    March 26th, 2015 at 5:19 pm

    Funny you should mention problems now in March. I have been using this site for years with no problem. NOW……since March 2015 they are not credited my account with purchases!!!!!!!!!!!!

    And even saying I don’t have an account.

    REPLY

    SavingStar says:
    April 20th, 2015 at 2:19 am

    Let me personally fix this problem for you. Give me a call 1-800-618-3893 or email again at support@savingstar.com. Thanks, Josh

    SavingStar says:
    March 30th, 2015 at 8:40 am

    Dee – It sounds like you need assistance logging in to your old account. Please click the forgot password link and if you cannot remember the email associated with your account, then email us at support@savingstar.com so we can help you out. Thanks, Josh

  • Rating
      
    plaidperfect says:

    March 23rd, 2015 at 10:25 am

    I’ve been using SavingStar for nearly six months and am really like it. I’ve gotten many of the Friday Freebie items as well as most of the Healthy Offer items; have also gotten many of the “One or Many” offers. I use the automatic savings (store card) as well as receipt only store programs. I’ve only had one goof-up, which was the savings not being credited as it should; I contacted SavingStar and Customer Service took care of it within two days. An earlier review mentioned problems with uploading receipts; I’ve never had that problem. I’m very glad I use SavingStar and I’ve recommended it to many people.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Darin says:

    March 13th, 2015 at 3:37 am

    Waste of time: Receipts aren’t recognized. A nuissance to email them about receipts and to hope they respond, wastes my time and not worth the pennies. Don’t try… or you’ll regret.

    REPLY

    SavingStar says:
    March 24th, 2015 at 8:31 am

    Hi Darin, I’m sorry to hear you experienced an issue. The most common reasons a receipt are a rejected are if all the UPCs were not submitted or the pictures did not capture the entire receipt from top to bottom. We’re happy to help you out if you email us at support@savingstar.com. Thanks, Josh

  • Rating
      
    Brenda says:

    March 4th, 2015 at 9:36 am

    I’ve used SavingStar for a while now and love it. It could use more grocery coupons, but I’m grateful for the savings especially the freebies. Just got a free box of brown sugar last week.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Tina says:

    February 24th, 2015 at 12:30 pm

    It is a good site.But I wish they offered more grocery items some items are what people normally shop for and the buy 3 offers are really not good deals for homes on a budget

    REPLY

    SavingStar says:
    March 3rd, 2015 at 6:05 pm

    Hello Tina, Tell us what kind of items you’re looking for, and we promise we’ll make it happen! Give us a call 1-800-618-3893 or email us your ideas at support@savingstar.com. Thanks, Josh

  • Rating
      
    Alice says:

    February 19th, 2015 at 11:31 am

    This is my favorite grocery app. The savings add up quickly. Glad I found it.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Brit says:

    February 17th, 2015 at 12:56 pm

    Let me first say that I am not someone who buys the Sunday paper to clip coupons, but SavingStar is so easy to use that I find myself using it all the time. So far I’ve saved over $200. Would recommend to everyone.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Crystal says:

    February 15th, 2015 at 8:18 pm

    This is NOT how Savingstar works any more. You don’t “automatically” get a rebate – you have to go thru a whole lot of hassle – photo’s of all bar codes of all the items purchased that you want rebate on (oh – don’t forget to do this before you eat something & throw away the package – you can’t get that rebate, because you don’t have the bar code). THEN you have to take photos of your receipt & the app covers up the last 2-3 lines of the photo you have just taken so it makes it very difficult to determine where you are on your receipt to exactly line it up.
    AFTER you’ve done all this, there is a better chance than not that you’ll receive an email stating that you didn’t do something properly & have to go thru all this AGAIN.

    This WAS easy, when it worked the way described above. Believe me I used it all the time.

    Now – not so much & as soon as I can ‘cash out’ my account I’m NEVER coming back!

    REPLY

    SavingStar says:
    March 3rd, 2015 at 5:53 pm

    Hi Crystal, Have we resolved your issues? If not, give us a call 1-800-618-3893 or email us at support@savingstar.com. Thanks, Josh

    mark says:
    March 3rd, 2015 at 2:43 am

    I agree with the above. Some of my submittals were rejected after multiple attempts. Other submittals look like they should work but than nothing happens (no credits, no acknowledgement, nothing). If it is rejected later on, or I need to resubmit, I will no longer have the product in order to scan. Ibotta is a much better app. You get immediate feedback, easier to use, more products, easy rebates, etc.

    SavingStar says:
    February 17th, 2015 at 11:47 am

    Hi Crystal, You can take multiple pictures of the same receipt if you need to in order to capture the entire receipt from top to bottom. If you have any questions about your credits, we’re happy to help if email us at support@savingstar.com. Thanks, Josh

  • Rating
      
    Sam says:

    February 13th, 2015 at 9:44 am

    Great program to save some money. Like being able to get the grocery coupons on my phone.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Tex says:

    February 12th, 2015 at 6:08 pm

    I am moving my rating to a whopping two. I was finally able to get my $1.60 from them, but the reason the rating will stay a very low two is because of the amount of time and effort it took to get what I should have gotten and more importantly because none of their replies to me have ever bothered to explain what it is that I did “wrong” or why my receipt was rejected

    I was finally just awarded points after repeated post on this forum and on their facebook page telling people they should expect and not be surprised they are having issues with credits if they are sending in receipts via photo

    SavingStar was nice enough to remove those replies from facebook of course and then finally I received an email that simply stated I was being credited. This is a great way to build confidence in a potential user that they will have a smooth transaction as they attempt to get to $5.00 so they can cash out and move on to something more productive.

    Not a scam as of today. but clearly not worth the time and effort and not responsive to issues or to offering ways to prevent future issues or helpful in instilling confidence in the service functioning smoothly in the future……two stars tops

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    amy m tester lewis says:

    February 5th, 2015 at 5:50 pm

    ATTENTION JOSH:on my ordeal i had bought the sparking ice $1.00 01/11/2015 and the and nutella and go $1.50 on the 01/18/2015 and i bought them both at walmart I had to my reciept and had the barcode number on both ENTER INFO WITH NO PROBLEM UNDER THE STORE WALMART LIKE I ALWAYS HAS WHEN ADDING THE STORE and BUT IT WAS I THOUGHT IT was accepted 1st problem i have had so far and i want my 2 credits for the 2 items mention up in the letter.JOSH PLEASE FIX MY PROBLEM THAT IS ALL I NEED JUST WANT THAT FIXED AND I HAVE LEFT TO MESSAGES ON SAFEWAYS ANSWER MACHINE W/NO LUCK I HAVE LEFT MY CONTACT PHONE NUMBER AND EMAIL TWICE WITH NO RESPONSE. PLEASE HELP JUST THE AMOUNT NEED IN MY S.STAR ACCOUNT THAT WILL DO TO ME WHEN I HAVE BOUGHT OTHER ITEMS FROM SAME OR ANOTHER STORE FOR ANOTHER FREEBIE IT TOOK IT IN MATTER OF 2-3 DAYS BUT THIS IS ALMOST A MONTH FOR THE SPARKING ICE AND NUTELLA AND GO AND STILL NO LUCK FOR THESE 2 ITEMS ADDED. i been looking on my account daily and making phone calls it see if it has been added but no. thank you for your help and i hope to see results as quick as possible and funds added to my s stat account.and hopefully this want happen again.

    REPLY

    SavingStar says:
    February 6th, 2015 at 9:28 am

    Hi Amy – For any assistance with your account, please email us at support@savingstar.com or send us a private message on our Facebook page so we can help you out. (please note that calling Safeway will not be a good use of your time since they cannot assist you with your SavingStar account). Thanks, Josh

  • Rating
      
    Pam says:

    February 3rd, 2015 at 8:54 am

    Love SavingStar. A friend told me about it so I decided to sign up and glad I did. Very easy to use and have saved a lot on my groceries.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    christi says:

    February 2nd, 2015 at 1:38 am

    i have used saving star for a while with no issues then they added the cash back mall . i have had NOTHING but problems . i have contacted them many many times with nothing done. so i bought from walmart 1st week of January my account already had over 5.00 in it . it credited my account with 8.97 pending so the credit wasn’t in my money u i could see it would be there in 30 days . fine good great . 3 days later they took all my money i had in my account out saying i cancelled my order . i did not cancel my order which i later proved but even if i did they should have cancelled the pending credit not took my money . after 10 email over 2 weeks they decided my purchase didn’t qualify . thats all good they still took my money rather then cancelling the pending credit . to which i was told sorry nothing we can do you just have to wait 30 days till that pending credit hits to get your money . well that sucks . but what can i do??? so i had earned another 4.37 i went yesterday to check if the pending credit hit so i can finally get my money out . only to find they again took my money it says walmart again and they took everything. just crazy .i have never used there cashback mall again obiv after the last disaster . so they just stole my money again for no reason . if i ever get my money back im using swagbucks , ebates or anything but savingsstar

    REPLY

    SavingStar says:
    February 3rd, 2015 at 8:50 am

    Hi Christi, I’m sorry to hear about this. Please email our customer service team again so we can help you out. Thanks, Josh

  • Rating
      
    Amy says:

    January 27th, 2015 at 6:21 am

    At the moment my rating is poor! Not being contact ed back what so ever!!! I signed up for this alil while back however just started buying things off the deal offers this month… I did the pods deal spent $31 something to earn the $10 …did this the day befor the deal expired. Days later I received an email that they tallied only 6 of the 7 packs that was purchased at 4.44 a pack… I have Messaged them since asking why I did not get my saving and explaining I scanned/ sent a receipt and enter 7 barcodes! Been 10 or more days since contacting them thru the contact us message tab and I have yet to receive a response what so ever! Started thinking well maybe it is a scam …. However I see other people is having luck with this! Is there a # to call and talk to an actual person? I’m having no luck thru the contact us tab I added them to my email and all to insure I got the message yet still nothing .

    REPLY

    SavingStar says:
    January 27th, 2015 at 8:18 am

    Hi Amy, If you emailed us 10 days, I suspect you’ve missed our response since we reply to all emails within 5-7 days. Please check your email for support@savingstar.com or savingstar-support@savingstar.com. You can also send us a private message on Facebook so we can help you out. Thanks, Josh

  • Rating
      
    Linda says:

    January 25th, 2015 at 10:33 am

    I am loving Saving Star. Have used it for grocery coupons and online shopping and never had a problem. Have saved over $50 in the first couple months since I started using it.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Julie says:

    January 23rd, 2015 at 9:53 am

    Awesome site – free items every Friday!

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Tex says:

    January 22nd, 2015 at 11:00 pm

    so today is 1-22-2015 9:50 pm central

    I submitted my rejected receipt on 1-11-2015 at probably the same time of night. The next day they sent the rejection email (they were QUICK to do that!)

    I replied on 1-12-2015 at just past 10am central asking why two qualified purchases and receipt photos showing all the relevant info in one and three others showing the entire receipt top to bottom (in parts of course because the receipt is a mile long.

    So by my count even if you skip the 12th you have 13th, 14th, 15th, 16th (give them MLK day as a non-business holiday) and then the 21st, 22nd and today the 23rd so that is 7 business days excluding a “holiday” and still no reply from SavingStar.

    I think tomorrow I will contact Sparkling Ice and Old El Paso and let them know I an dissatisfied with their affiliation with savingsuck and I will no longer purchase their products until savingsuck either responds (and credits me) or until some other resolution is offered.

    Generally companies will dump some coupons on you to appease you (well except for savingssuck that fails give you what they are obligated to give you or explain why) so hopefully Sparkling Ice and Old El Paso will do so to my satisfaction and then I can continue to use their products and forget all about savingssuck because even if I get my $1.60 credit I am loath to use their silly purchase, photo, reject, email to ask why, and wait for a non-response (failed) “system” to get to $5.00 so can cash out (yea good luck with that check is in the mail oh wait no it is not) and forget they exist.

    SavingsStar sucks not worth the time or effort go with something else like coupons.com or ANYTHING else besides wasting your time with savingssuck

    REPLY

    Saving Star says:
    March 3rd, 2015 at 5:59 pm

    Hi Tex, Have we resolved your issues? If not, give us a call 1-800-618-3893 or email us at support@savingstar.com. Thanks, Josh

    SavingStar says:
    March 3rd, 2015 at 5:55 pm

    Hi Tex, Have we resolved your issues from January? If not, give us a call 1-800-618-3893 or email us at support@savingstar.com. Thanks, Josh

    natalie says:
    March 3rd, 2015 at 2:59 am

    I have had similar frustration with unexplained rejections and no response from customer service. Its not worth all of the effort. I won’t be using saving star anymore.

    SavingStar says:
    January 24th, 2015 at 7:13 pm

    Tex, This is not a support forum for SavingStar, so I cannot speak to the specifics of your account since I don’t know your email address. If you write back to our customer service team, we are happy to help you out. You already mentioned your brother has saved money with us, so you know we are a legitimate service. And, brands would not be working with us if we did not credit when purchases are made. Again, we’re happy to help you out with any questions through our customer service channels.

    Tex says:
    January 23rd, 2015 at 6:39 pm

    oh wow gee I did find that savingsux replied on the 20th, but I did not realize it was an actually reply because it was just the same BS as before…..”your purchases did not qualify”……..oh gee that helps me a great deal you sent the same non-answer as before…”they did not qualify”

    so here is the email I just sent to support@savingstar.com

    “”"”"I submitted these receipt photos on 1-11-2015

    the free offer was for a single purchase of Sparkling Ice in the exact size that I submitted

    the next offer was for the purchase of 3 old el paso products which could not be frozen, refrigerated or soup

    so I made one purchase that was exactly what it was suppose to be which is a single sparkling ice product 17oz

    and I made a second purchase of 3 old el paso products that were not frozen, refrigerated or soup

    why the fuck do you continue to tell mr that my purchases do not qualify

    WHAT THE F DOES NOT QUALIFY ABOUT THEM be more SPECIFIC YOU IDIOTS…….telling me “they do not qualify” does not CUT IT

    WHY DO THEY NOT QUALIFY”"”"”

    yes I realize that email is rude, but I personally find it RUDE that I buy a product (17oz Sparkling Ice) that meets the EXACT requirements and then I buy 3 old el paso products that are not frozen, refrigerated or soup and thus should in no way be excluded from an offer of “buy 3 old el paso products that are not frozen, refrigerated or soup” and the only answer I can get as to why I can’t get my damn $1.60 is “these purchases do not qualify”

    WHY YOU MORONS…..WHY DO THEY NOT QUALIFY WHEN THEY MEET EVERY SINGLE GIVEN CRITERIA FOR QUALIFICATION…..HOW ABOUT SOME CLARITY YOU STUPID DOLTS

    what kind of a stupid “savings program” is this it is more like a gambling program……hey go buy stuff and then if you get lucky we might say it qualifies and if you are unlucky we will just screw you and tell you it does not qualify with absolutely no explanation given

    savingstar sucks!

    SavingStar says:
    January 23rd, 2015 at 9:42 am

    Tex, As of today, we have already replied to all emails through January 16. We reply to every email we receive. Please check for support@savingstar.com or savingstar-support@savingstar.com for emails from us. You can also send us a private message on Facebook and we can help you out. Thanks, Josh

  • kati says:

    January 19th, 2015 at 3:32 pm

    I shop at kroger and for some reason when they changed the app I no longer have a kroger option under my area code also now that I can no longer use the site due to it not having my kroger option when I try to cash out it keeps telling me error.

    REPLY

    SavingStar says:
    January 20th, 2015 at 9:19 am

    Kati, You can still redeem offers at Kroger. Type in the zip code of the Kroger store to pull it up, or select All Stores. Thanks, Josh from SavingStar

  • Rating
      
    David says:

    January 16th, 2015 at 9:21 pm

    I like SavingStar a lot. I wish there were more coupons, but the freebies every weekend and the 20% off deals on produce add up. I’ve also used it for Cheerios and some other items that I would have bought anyway, so it’s a pretty easy way to save some more money.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Tex says:

    January 12th, 2015 at 10:17 am

    I tried this for the first time yesterday.

    I used the Free Sparkling Ice offer and the Buy Three Old El Paso products offer

    I made the purchase 1-11-2015 at Target and submitted a clear photo of the portion of the receipt with product, store, date and price info as well as three more photos that were clear showing the full receipt (in portions because the receipt is a mile long)

    Not surprisingly I was rejected because “products did not meet purchase requirements”

    The Sparkling Ice was 17oz Lemonade as stated eligible and the Old El Paso products were 3 cans of refried beans which are not a frozen, refrigerated or soup product (unless SavingsStar is the only people on earth that consider refried beans a soup)

    It is only $1.60, but my brother has had good luck with them, but I am off to a rough start I just emailed support asking for further clarification on how products that seemingly meet the requirements that were purchased and submitted with plenty of time do not qualify.

    I am already a member of too many of these things and so far Saving Star looks to be one of the ones I will ditch ASAP even if I do get the credit for this. I will wait until I get enough to cash out and be gone this is way too much of a pain in the rear to be worth it when there are others that are so much easier to use.

    So far highly dissatisfied

    REPLY

    SavingStar says:
    January 20th, 2015 at 9:36 am

    Tex, As I mentioned, we’re replying to all emails within 4-6 business days which equates to 7-8 calendar days. You should receive a reply soon. I apologize for the wait. Thanks, Josh from SavingStar

    Tex says:
    January 17th, 2015 at 2:07 pm

    well here it is the 17th and still no reply as to why my purchases were disqualified. SavingStar sucks as far as I am concerned and is a waste of time and a joke,

    SavingStar says:
    January 12th, 2015 at 2:58 pm

    Hi Tex, I’m sorry to hear you had a bad experience. If you have not done so already, for Target purchases, please make sure to submit the product UPCs (barcode numbers) and not the SKU’s which are listed on Target receipts. Our customer service team responds to all emails and will get back to you within 4-6 business days. Thanks, Josh from SavingStar

  • Rating
      
    Carmen says:

    January 6th, 2015 at 3:38 pm

    I used to love it. But when the app changed to the receipt scanning feature. Though I have added the offer and scanned I have not gotten any rewards. I used to use it all the time. This is more a waste of time now than anything.

    REPLY

    Mabel says:
    March 3rd, 2015 at 5:56 pm

    I agree this is A BIG WASTE OF TIME. HIGHLY **DON’T** RECOMMEND!

    SavingStar says:
    January 7th, 2015 at 8:57 am

    HI Carmen, Receipts from Kroger stores can take up to 10 days to process. If it’s been longer than that and you did not receive credit, you might have missed an email where we said that we could not process your receipt. The most common reasons for a receipt to be rejected are if it is blurry or did not include an image of the entire receipt from top to bottom. If you have any questions about your credits, please email us at support@savingstar.com and we can help you out. Thanks, Josh

  • Rating
      
    Julie says:

    January 4th, 2015 at 2:46 pm

    Just started using SavingStar a couple months ago but love it so far. The mobile app is great.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Lori says:

    January 2nd, 2015 at 5:16 pm

    Great site…easy to use with deals on products I already buy.

    REPLY
  • SavingStar says:

    January 2nd, 2015 at 3:42 pm

    Someone is posing as SavingStar on this service. If you need any assistance, please email us at support@savingstar.com and we can help you out.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Maureen W says:

    January 1st, 2015 at 10:33 pm

    I set up my account and linked in my boy’s. I was about to Down Load the app to my computer but already had my cell set up and ready to go. JUST before Down Load all of this – to my home computer, I decided Google reviews on, ‘SavingStar – Grocery Coupons’.

    After reading over 10 or so remarks, this seems like too much WORK. Yes, it takes work to save money and remember all your rules, etc but this is too confusing (I have a bachelors degree and even THAT was of no help in trying to understand your concept and steps needed to use this app).

    A site this LARGE should have a number to call. If I have an issue, I want to talk to someone -at that moment- not email and wait a month or so for a reply. It makes me feel like something shady is going on -and- NO number to call. A phone would make your current clients feel happy and fuzzy using your Saving Star. I do not feel happy nor fuzzy in using this app so please remove me.

    Also, this site, is a mess. Your navigation is so very confusing, you are all over the place and again, missing a phone number. I am sorry, I wasted my time on this, setting up an account, writing this email (BUT in writing this I was hoping to SAVE OTHERS time), etc before reading reviews. I was just trying to get some coupons and save some money. This is too much like work thus making the few dollars saved HERE, not worth it. I will use a different app and cut coupons, as just being here on your site, frankly just made me feel kind of DIRTY in a way I can not describe. We are talking coupons here. Maybe I feel dirty because I was excited about saving money as I read on, making my account only to find my time has been wasted and NO phone number to make me feel warm and fuzzy, etc and again, this is too much work and I can save money way easier then your way and waiting weeks for refunds.

    Thanks for your time and again, I hope others reading this will understand me. Again, thanks for allowing me, my words of advice – if you, Josh would like any, mail ME and I can help YOU to help your site but then, I might be out shopping with coupons from another app and with THEIR coupons. :)

    REPLY

    Janet says:
    January 17th, 2015 at 8:14 pm

    Contact them at SavingStar, Inc.

    Phone: (800) 618-3893
    Fax: (781) 209-5557
    Address: 400 Totten Pond Rd., Suite 300, Waltham, MA 02451

    Andrew says:
    January 11th, 2015 at 12:07 pm

    Maureen, don’t feel bad. I’m halfway through my masters in information management and I agree it is too much work for the return. I can’t tell you how much time I spent yesterday trying to get $0.20 for some pears we bought at FredMeyer. The perfectly clear, top to bottom receipt showing the pears keeps getting kicked back.

    In my opinion not worth the time and believe me I spend a lot of time out of my day looking for savings. Not worth it.

    SavingStar says:
    January 2nd, 2015 at 3:41 pm

    I see that someone is posing as SavingStar named Joey. Joey – if you need any assistance, email us at support@savingstar.com and we can help you out. Thanks, Josh

    SavingStar says:
    January 2nd, 2015 at 8:35 am

    HI Maureen,

    If you are looking for reviews, I would suggest looking at our Android reviews with a 4.20 rating out of 5 and over 12,000 reviews. Once you start to use SavingStar, you will see how easy it is to use.

    Josh

  • Rating
      
    Lyn says:

    December 27th, 2014 at 12:38 pm

    Saving Star’s customer service is SLOWWWWWW. They wrongly denied my offer claim and have not responded to three messages of mine. Saving Star needs to hire more and/or better employees.

    REPLY

    SavingStar says:
    December 29th, 2014 at 10:12 am

    Lyn, We are currently replying to all customer service emails within 4-6 business days. If you wrote in to us, we will get back to your shortly. Thanks, Josh

  • Rating
      
    Crystal says:

    December 26th, 2014 at 4:20 pm

    I tried using the scanning bar at my chosen grocery store and they could not get it to scan which means I did not get any of the discounts I put on the site. I also put my CVS card in and though I have purchased the items to qualify for a $10 rebate it does not show that I have purchased anything. Sorry but I do not find this site appealing. It seems like more work then its worth….

    REPLY

    SavingStar says:
    December 29th, 2014 at 10:11 am

    Crystal, CVS purchases post automatically within 4 days. If you just registered a new CVS card in your account it can take up to 11 days to post. If you used a “raincheck” at CVS, we do not receive that purchase data automatically from the store. CVS purchases post in 1-4 days, so please email us at support@savingstar.com so we can help you out. Thanks, Josh

  • Rating
      
    Brenda says:

    December 24th, 2014 at 10:44 am

    I shop at Kroger and ever since they switched from loyalty card to scan receipts, my claims have been denied! It tells me over and over that I have to activate the offer before I purchase. I DO!!! I select what I want then use it as a shopping list. That is what a ‘shopper’ does! I am so over it! People who want to save money…USE ANOTHER APP! There are so many better!

    REPLY

    SavingStar says:
    December 29th, 2014 at 10:10 am

    Brenda, It sounds like you can use some assistance. Please email us at support@savingstar.com so we can help you out. Thanks, Josh

  • Rating
      
    Chris K says:

    December 20th, 2014 at 4:57 pm

    I submitted a receipt for the weekly freebie, but I received an auto reply email stating “You have not met the purchase requirements.” I double checked my purchase and my receipt, submitted again, and received the same response. No response yet to my emails to SavingStar support. What a crock.

    REPLY

    SavingStar says:
    December 22nd, 2014 at 4:21 pm

    Hi Chris,

    If the receipt was not processed correctly and you emailed our customer service team, we’re happy to help you out. Currently we are replying to all customer service emails within 4-5 business days and will get back to you soon.

    Thanks,

    Josh

  • Rating
      
    Mona says:

    December 17th, 2014 at 3:53 pm

    I have been super frustrated with this app lately. I have submitted several receipts….all clearly showing store name, date, item purchased, etc. The items were a “match” when I scanned them. However, I get repeated e-mails stating, “Unfortunately, the offers on the receipt you submitted did not qualify for savings.” I try resubmitting and get the same response. I have contacted customer service twice with no response. Other rebate apps credit my account very quickly……some almost immediately. This app needs a major overhaul if it is to compete with others.

    REPLY

    SavingStar says:
    December 18th, 2014 at 11:11 am

    Hi Mona, I’m sorry if you experienced an issue. We are currently replying to all emails within 4-5 business days so you will receive a response from our customer service team shortly. Thanks, Josh

  • Rating
      
    DARLENE M says:

    December 14th, 2014 at 11:03 am

    I LOVE IT ITS GREAT BUT LATELY I CANT SIGN ON WHEN I GO TO CASH OUT I ENTER THE RIGHT PASSWORD AND WHEN I GO TO RESET THE PASSWORD IT SAYS IM ALREADY SIGNED ON …SO WHATS GOING ON WITH THAT

    REPLY

    SavingStar says:
    December 15th, 2014 at 9:24 am

    Hi Darlene, Please send us a message at support@savingstar.com so we can help you out. Thanks, Josh

  • Rating
      
    matt says:

    December 4th, 2014 at 1:12 pm

    Ive had a pretty good run with Savingstar but have unfortunately run into problems recently. Several cashback mall purchases were not recorded and my last payout never made it into my paypal account. Its been over a month and Ive tried emailing customer service three times with no response. I see that Josh is responding to all complaints by advising to email customer service but I have yet to get a response from them.

    REPLY

    SavingStar says:
    December 5th, 2014 at 9:34 am

    Hi Matt, We reply to all customer service emails within a few days so it seems you are not receiving our responses. Please check your spam and add support@savingstar.com to your email address book. You can also send us a private message on Facebook with your email address and we’ll be happy to help you out. Thanks, Josh

  • Rating
      
    Amy says:

    November 28th, 2014 at 7:55 am

    I have been a user for years, and I cannot fathom not having savingstar. I use the ecoupons on there in conjunction of any other coupon I have. I also use the Cash Back Online Shopping tool. I purchase a lot through living social and groupon, so when a promo code comes out for them, I layer the already half priced deal with the 15% promo code, with the 10% cash back. I also use it to purchase travel off price line. Usually is cheaper to bundle hotel and flights. But when I click through savingstar, I get like 6% cash back off the $500 I just spent. There’s ebates and shopathome that also do cash back, but I find that savingstar offers more cash back when it comes to these services.

    REPLY

    Andrea says:
    January 3rd, 2015 at 12:10 pm

    I agree with Amy’s comments. I have been using saving star for quite some time and find it easy to use. I just click all the offers as they come out, some I buy and others I don’t. Easy money. But, the best part is shopping online through the saving star browser…get a %age back when shopping online for things you were going to buy anyway? Yes, please!

    Fisherman says:
    January 2nd, 2015 at 3:01 pm

    Amy’s review sounds like a paid testimony… or a fake review.

    Thanks for showcasing the shadiness of SavingStar with us!

    Thanks Josh for sounding like an automated response machine and not really helping anyone with their problems.

    SavingStar says:
    December 1st, 2014 at 9:49 am

    Thanks for using SavingStar, Amy! -Josh

  • David says:

    November 24th, 2014 at 1:46 pm

    Tried to sign up and choose a grocery store. It shows a check. I hit next and it removed the check and told me to pick a grocery store. Your site is screwed up—I’ll pass.

    REPLY

    Lori says:
    December 28th, 2014 at 9:36 pm

    I had the same issue..

    SavingStar says:
    November 25th, 2014 at 10:30 pm

    David, I’m sorry if you experienced an issue while selecting your grocery store. We are not aware of other users experiencing a problem, so I would encourage you to try again. If you need any assistance, we’re happy to help if you email us at support@savingstar.com. Thanks, Josh

  • Rating
      
    Linda C says:

    November 6th, 2014 at 8:29 pm

    I have been a Savingstar user for quite a while. Just lately I have had problems. Savingstar didn’t pick up some of my purchases on a loyalty card that I have registered and I had to write them. I did receive a response and it was in my favor. Just today I received an email from Savingstar saying that I have already gotten credit for the items on a receipt but the problem is that on that very same receipt I have items from another offer. I have tried repeatedly today to send an email back to support@savingstar.com but my emails are returned saying that my account has been disabled so my issue can’t even be resolved. This is very frustrating and I don’t know what to do.

    REPLY

    SavingStar says:
    November 7th, 2014 at 3:34 pm

    Hi Linda, Unfortunately, we are not able to properly respond to questions about your account through this website. Please contact us directly at support@savingstar.com or through our website: https://savingstar.com/contact/new Thanks, Josh

    Linda says:
    November 7th, 2014 at 9:32 am

    My mistake – my emails to support@savingstar.com about their not giving me proper credit for my purchases are still being returned saying my account has been disabled. I don’t get it.

    Linda says:
    November 7th, 2014 at 9:19 am

    Today my email to support@savingstar.com finally went through without being returned to me. And I also got a Savingstar email saying 2 of the 4 Glade items that are on my receipt are going towards my goal of spending the $20 but I spent over $20 on Glade products in that receipt and their system is not picking up the other 2 items I purchased and so I resent my receipt and barcodes. I would like to know why.

  • Rating
      
    Kristin says:

    October 26th, 2014 at 3:56 pm

    Of the various cash back sites available, savingstar cash back mall is the worst. Their website used to indicate that you could contact customer support if the cash back didn’t post with 22 days. It shouldn’t take that long, but I can deal with 22 days. Now the site indicates it may take 8-10 weeks!!! I’m not happy as it is because i should not have to follow up with customer service every time, but to wait 8-10 weeks? Forget it. I will not be wasting my time on this site again

    REPLY

    SavingStar says:
    October 27th, 2014 at 12:06 pm

    Kristin, You are confusing the timetable for grocery rewards and cash back mall rewards. Grocery rewards post within 22 days, and most stores post within 10 days. Cash back mall purchases typically post within 10 days, but some online purchases can take longer to post such as travel sites. If you have any questions, please email us at support@savingstar.com and we can help you out. Thanks, Josh

  • Rating
      
    Doreen says:

    October 19th, 2014 at 3:28 pm

    Love it! Have saved over $200 so far using it for a couple years.

    REPLY

    Joe says:
    January 2nd, 2015 at 3:05 pm

    Wow! $200 over 2 years? Or $100/year, or a saving of $8.33 a month.

    I guess that’s 1 combo meal at a fast food joint a month.

    Hmm…

    SavingStar says:
    November 25th, 2014 at 10:31 pm

    Thanks for using SavingStar, Doreen! -Josh

  • Rating
      
    Lesley says:

    October 16th, 2014 at 6:46 pm

    I think that there are better savings apps out there. I have had a few successes with getting credit for items I purchased with my loyalty card, but my receipt scan purchases keep getting rejected which is very frustrating. Also I am yet to actually see any benefit because the deposit that was supposed to be credited to my paypal account a week ago hasnt happened. Makes me think it is a scam. No response from customer service after 72 hours.

    REPLY

    SavingStar says:
    October 17th, 2014 at 8:37 am

    Hi Lesley, All PayPal payouts happen within 24 hours, so I’m wondering if you entered the correct PayPal email. We reply to all customer service inquiries within 2-4 days depending on volume so you should receive a response shortly. If you are having trouble with the receipts, please let us our customer service know and we can help you out. Thanks, Josh

  • Rating
      
    Carol S says:

    October 15th, 2014 at 11:46 am

    I had not used my card in while this was like appling for a bank like it never happened…………

    REPLY

    SavingStar says:
    October 16th, 2014 at 12:04 pm

    Hi Carol, I’m not sure what your comment means, but we’re happy to help you out if you email us at support@savingstar.com. Thanks, Josh

  • Rating
      
    Catherine says:

    October 11th, 2014 at 12:35 pm

    Jewel-Osco no longer uses the preferred card, yet it keeps saying I have to register a card. Is it possible to submit Jewel receipts instead?

    Thanks

    REPLY

    SavingStar says:
    October 14th, 2014 at 8:55 am

    Catherine,

    The good news is that you can still continue to use your store card to redeem SavingStar offers. Just scan your card when you buy the products and your SavingStar savings will post to your account within a few days. We understand that not all store cashiers and service desk attendees will be aware of SavingStar and may tell you that you do not need to scan your card. However, it is important to note that the cashier must scan your card when checking out in order to redeem SavingStar offers. If you no longer have a card, contact the stores’ customer support team at 877-932-7948. Please let them know that you use SavingStar and you will need to be issued a “Upromise keytag”. Customer support will ask for your information and you will then be sent a keytag in the mail which you can register in your SavingStar account as the loyalty card number for Jewel-Osco.

    Thanks,

    Josh

  • Rating
      
    jill s says:

    October 7th, 2014 at 12:55 pm

    It wouldn’t scan the items, the receipt was denied three times saying it wasn’t legible. I use a couple of other sites similar to this one and they accepted my receipt just fine. This site seems to be a waste of time!

    REPLY

    SavingStar says:
    October 14th, 2014 at 8:53 am

    Hi Jill,

    If you email us at support@savingstar.com we can help you out and make sure you get credit. Please email us the UPC number if you still have the item.

    Thanks,

    Josh

    Jill s says:
    October 10th, 2014 at 7:04 pm

    I just tried to use this site again today. I purchased an Almond Joy, which is supposed to be the Friday Freebie. It tells me that the item is not eligible, but its is the 1.61 oz size.

    SavingStar says:
    October 7th, 2014 at 2:45 pm

    Hi Jill, I do apologize the sometimes the camera in the app seems to take a blurry picture. This seems to only happen on certain phones and we are working hard to fix this. Please note that you can also submit a picture of your receipt through our website. Just click the Submit a Receipt button above the top right coupon. Thanks, Josh

  • Rating
      
    Kelsey says:

    October 1st, 2014 at 3:16 pm

    Currently, I have an offer for bagel bites in my account- spend $15, get $5 back. I bought four boxes a few weeks back, which I received credit for. Since receiving credit, I only needed to spend $5.04 more to reach $15. On 9/22/14, I purchased $5.99 more towards this offer & received credit this morning. However, now my first four boxes & credit of $9.96 towards this- vanished. It now shows I’ve only bought $5.99 towards this instead of reaching putting me over $15. I can see in my account history where I spent $9.96 & again where I spend $5.99. I still haven’t heard back from customer support. It’s very frustrating to me that there isn’t a number to talk to anyone directly to fix problems like this.

    REPLY

    SavingStar says:
    October 2nd, 2014 at 12:02 pm

    Kelsey, We respond to all emails within 2 business days so our customer service will get back to you soon. Thanks, Josh

  • Rating
      
    J Silk says:

    September 26th, 2014 at 9:41 pm

    Between store sales, e-coupons at my favorite stores, traditional paper coupons and SavingStar, I have saved a lot of money on groceries. I LOVE the Friday Freebie.

    REPLY

    SavingStar says:
    September 29th, 2014 at 8:42 am

    Thanks so much for using SavingStar! -Josh

  • ray says:

    September 24th, 2014 at 9:16 am

    I cannot cancel this because they have changed the phone number and do not give the new number. all I want to do is cancel the membership.

    REPLY

    ray (follow-up) says:
    January 17th, 2015 at 8:16 pm

    SavingStar , Inc.
    Phone: (800) 618-3893
    Fax: (781) 209-5557

    SavingStar says:
    September 24th, 2014 at 3:08 pm

    Ray, We have never had a phone number for SavingStar. To cancel your account, either email us at support@savingstar.com or click My Account -> Profile — Cancel Account. We hope you’l stay with us as we’re always adding more stores and more deals. Thanks, Josh

  • Rating
      
    Gale Marie says:

    September 19th, 2014 at 6:55 am

    I should’ve heed the warnings in other reviews.once I signed up, tried to scan my Giant food card, which is the only food store I shop, it doesn’t except it. Then when I kept typing in my Giant account number and it doesn’t accept it either. So I’m stuck from the jump.

    REPLY

    SavingStar says:
    September 22nd, 2014 at 8:24 am

    Gale, If you cannot register your card, it means that you have previously registered the card under a different email address. If you email us at support@savingstar.com with your account number we can look up your other email address. Thanks, Josh

  • Rating
      
    barb Cameron says:

    September 1st, 2014 at 4:59 pm

    Hate it!

    REPLY

    SavingStar says:
    September 2nd, 2014 at 3:28 pm

    Barb, Can you please provide more feedback on the service? All you need to do to save is register your store loyalty card or take a picture of your receipt. Thanks, Josh from SavingStar

  • Rating
      
    sophie maziarz says:

    August 26th, 2014 at 1:28 pm

    reset link will NOT allow password resent.

    the reset link brings me to the face page to log in
    since I don’t remember the password how can I log in ??

    just requested link again no response

    REPLY

    SavingStar says:
    September 2nd, 2014 at 7:55 am

    Sophie, Please check your spam for the email and if you don’t see it, write to us at support@savingstar.com so we can help you out. Thanks, Josh from SavingStar

  • Rating
      
    Sarah says:

    August 22nd, 2014 at 10:43 am

    I have added the deals to my Harris Teeter VIC card, I have not gotten any credit yet and it has been about 8 days, it would be nice to just get an email alert letting you know that SavingStar picked up that you used the deals and that you will get credit soon, this is my first time using the service so now I am nervous that my card is even hooked up to SavingStar even thought I used the same card number on my reciepts.

    REPLY

    SavingStar says:
    September 2nd, 2014 at 7:50 am

    Sarah, Purchases from Harris Teeter can take up to 22 days to post. Thanks, Josh from SavingStar

  • Rating
      
    Karen Lambert says:

    August 18th, 2014 at 6:03 pm

    I just filled out my profile ( a few days ago) and scanned my first reciept. this morning when I loged on to saving Star the page came up and said that I had saved $8.34. But somehow that just vanished….poof….gone! Your explanation of how to redeem is very confusing….How do I redeem the $8.34 that vanished? What is a Loyety Card and how do I get them?

    Karen fishngrin@aol.com

    REPLY

    SavingStar says:
    August 19th, 2014 at 8:35 am

    Karen, If you are not seeing the $8.34 it means you logged in with a different email address or created a new account. Please email us at support@savingstar.com and we can help you out. Thanks, Josh from SavingStar

  • Rating
      
    jewels319 says:

    July 10th, 2014 at 4:47 pm

    As I stated in previous review…I would rate higher. Yes! I got my deposit. So far so good.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    jewels319 says:

    July 6th, 2014 at 2:54 pm

    I have been using savingstar for a few months now. Today is the first time I’ve cashed out, putting in the request to have funds transferred to my checking account. If all goes well with that and I have no residual issues I will re-rate higher. I have saved $32. I will continue using this program providing, like I said, there are no issues following my first deposit.

    REPLY

    SavingStar says:
    July 7th, 2014 at 2:16 pm

    Thanks for using SavingStar Jewels! -Josh

  • Rating
      
    Dawn says:

    June 10th, 2014 at 11:06 am

    I have many items that I have never been credited for that are months old. Is that just my loss?

    REPLY

    SavingStar says:
    June 24th, 2014 at 1:55 pm

    Dawn, If you have any questions about your account, please contact us at support@savingstar.com. We’d be happy to look into your account. All savings post within 2-22 days depending on the store you shop. Thanks, Josh from SavingStar

  • Rating
      
    Dennis says:

    May 17th, 2014 at 7:28 pm

    Ok this is more a question than a review. I am new to Savingstar. I did my first purchase at a Kroger brand store(Fred Meyer on the 10th of May. This has not been credited. I made another purchase of an item that I normally would not have purchased. I guess I am nervous about this program until I actually see the credits in my account.

    REPLY

    SavingStar says:
    May 20th, 2014 at 12:59 pm

    Dennis,

    Savings post within 2-22 days depending on the store. Kroger purchases can take up to 10 days to post. You’ll receive an email as soon as they post.

    Thanks,

    Josh from SavingStar

  • Rating
      
    Wanda says:

    May 7th, 2014 at 10:43 am

    I have been very happy with Saving Star, so far it has been Saving me because I had a stroke and don’t have an income. This allows me to pay my $20.00 doctor co-pay without having to “ask” for anyone’s help. I get the Pay Pal usually within 48 hours. Thanks Saving Star!

    REPLY

    Josh from SavingStar says:
    May 14th, 2014 at 1:04 pm

    Thanks for using SavingStar, Wanda! -Josh from SavingStar

  • Rating
      
    Rich says:

    May 6th, 2014 at 5:33 pm

    Total scam, nothing but emails all day long and I haven’t saved a dime. There are much better ways to save money in less time. RS.

    REPLY

    SavingStar says:
    May 14th, 2014 at 6:23 pm

    Rich,

    I’m not sure why you would say we are a scam. Have you tried using the service? Please see this link which shows our high ratings from real members, promotion from supermarkets that work with us, and promotion from brands that work with us. https://savingstar.com/blog/savingstar-reviews/

    As to the emails we send, we absolutely never send more than 1 email per day. In fact, we currently send 5 emails per week – 3 of them to announce new grocery coupons (Healthy offer of the week on Tuesday, new eCoupons on Thursday, and Friday Freebie on Friday, and 2 to announce new deals in the Cashback Mall, 1 on the weekend, and 1 on Wednesday). You can always edit your email settings in your account if you want to opt out of any of the newsletters.

    Thanks, Josh from SavingStar

    Josh from SavingStar says:
    May 14th, 2014 at 1:02 pm

    Rich,

    I’m confused when you say we are a scam. Select the offers you like, buy the products at the store, and you’ll receive money back in your account, like just like all of our members.

    We absolutely never send more than 1 email per day. In fact, we currently send 5 emails per week – 3 of them to announce new grocery coupons (Healthy offer of the week on Tuesday, new eCoupons on Thursday, and Friday Freebie on Friday, and 2 to announce new deals in the Cashback Mall, 1 on the weekend, and 1 on Wednesday). You can always edit your email settings in your account if you want to opt out of any of the newsletters.

    For more reviews of SavingStar, see this link:
    https://savingstar.com/blog/savingstar-reviews/

    If you have any questions, contact us here:
    https://savingstar.com/contact/new

    Thanks, Josh from SavingStar

  • Rating
      
    Sandra says:

    May 2nd, 2014 at 10:16 am

    It does not take my password I’LL get the runaround back and forth when I’ LL TRY TO SIGN UP CANNOT GET PASS MY PASSWORD IT WON’t accept it even if I’LL ALREADY SIGN UP IN FACEBOOK IT STILL WON’T accept my password. Can you help me to get start and move on please thank you.

    REPLY

    SavingStar says:
    May 14th, 2014 at 6:25 pm

    Sandra,

    Please click the link that says forgot password in order to reset your password. If you still need assistance, click the Contact Us link on our website.

    Thanks,

    Josh from SavingStar

    Josh from SavingStar says:
    May 14th, 2014 at 12:59 pm

    Hi Sandra, You can go here to reset your password:
    https://savingstar.com/users/password/new

    If you have additional questions, please contact our customer service team here:
    https://savingstar.com/contact/new

    Thanks,
    Josh from SavingStar

  • Rating
      
    Brian in Madtown says:

    April 6th, 2014 at 1:18 pm

    I have been using the SavingStar service for about 1 year and have accumulated nearly $70 dollars in savings and have recently started using their cashback mall. I know other websites also offer cashback for clicking through their sites, however, using the coupons along with the cashback allows me to cash out sooner. I shop at Copps and the savings show up in my account in about 2-3 days. I haven’t used the service at any other business. My only request is to get a greater variety of coupons on the website.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Rachel says:

    March 21st, 2014 at 9:03 pm

    I’ve used this site for a couple years without any problems. Easy to use and love the new deals this year on produce.

    REPLY

    Josh from SavingStar says:
    May 14th, 2014 at 1:04 pm

    Thanks for using SavingStar, Rachel! -Josh from SavingStar

  • Rating
      
    vikkif says:

    March 20th, 2014 at 1:52 pm

    3 weeks so far nothing in my account…….Yet I get at least 2 emails from them a day.So far I would say don’t bother.Lots of spam and no return

    REPLY

    SavingStar says:
    March 26th, 2014 at 6:19 am

    Vikkif – Some stores can take up to 22 days to post. Others take only a couple days. If you are missing any credits, please click the Contact Us link on our website and our customer service team will help you out. As to the emails we send, we absolutely never send more than 1 email per day. In fact, we currently send 5 emails per week – 3 of them to announce new grocery coupons (Healthy offer of the week on Tuesday, new eCoupons on Thursday, and Friday Freebie on Friday, and 2 to announce new deals in the Cashback Mall, 1 on the weekend, and 1 on Wednesday). You can always edit your email settings in your account if you want to opt out of any of the newsletters. Thanks, Josh from SavingStar

  • Rating
      
    chimera says:

    March 1st, 2014 at 11:14 am

    This outfit has developed something that “looks” legit but is designed to make them money. The way their program is designed, which is to accumulate “points” instead of actually creating savings at the register, will inevitably lead to many many users failing to ever redeem these credits; thus the savings will escheat to this greedy outfit.

    In addition, they advertise savings, but when you go to use it, you discover the reason why it didn’t work: in fine print which is not just small but also in a grayed-out color that makes it both hard to notice and hard to read, the exceptions are stated. And the exceptions are the supermarkets that are far and away most popular.

    Cheaters. Un-enroll yourself if you already signed up, and avoid them if you haven’t.

    REPLY

    Josh from SavingStar says:
    March 19th, 2014 at 1:51 pm

    You also wrote this comment on Amazon, and after I explained SavingStar more in depth to you, you deleted the comment. SavingStar is 100% not a scam. We pay out real money to help you save on your groceries. Here’s a link that shows our ratings from thousands of real SavingStar users:
    https://savingstar.com/blog/savingstar-reviews/

  • Rating
      
    thinking says:

    February 7th, 2014 at 4:31 pm

    I put 3 only because I am just trying to learn how it works before I sign up. How is it different than essentially “store credit” rebates, such as some major drug store chains and a larger retailer now give? Instead of Paypal, you have credit to spend in a store for a certain amount of time. Is it worth signing up? Have the delay issues been resolved?

    REPLY

    Josh from SavingStar says:
    March 19th, 2014 at 1:53 pm

    Hi – SavingStar is not a store credit. When you buy the products for which we have eCoupons, you get money back in your SavingStar account. You can then send that money to your bank or PayPal account, or get an Amazon gift card. We have new deals every week including our Healthy Offer of the Week for fresh fruits and vegetables, and Friday Freebies for 100% cash back in your account. We’re an easy way to save!

  • Rating
      
    Gary says:

    January 22nd, 2014 at 9:33 pm

    SavingStar is legit and I like it cause I can’t be bothered to clip coupons but they fund my paypal for things I already buy! In a few short months I’ve received $206.55 in my account, and thats like a wholes months groceries for a single guy.

    REPLY

    Josh from SavingStar says:
    May 14th, 2014 at 1:05 pm

    Thanks for using SavingStar, Gary! -Josh from SavingStar

  • Rating
      
    Mark says:

    January 22nd, 2014 at 3:55 pm

    A lot of RED FLAGS with SavingStar. Number 1 Flag is that SavingStar is on EVERY website that has Reviews on them. They constantly tell people they are “Legit” on ALL Review sites.
    Seems kind a strange don’t ya think?

    REPLY

    Josh from SavingStar says:
    March 19th, 2014 at 1:56 pm

    Mark, often people have questions about SavingStar which is why we are on various sites. We want to help answer any questions so that users can understand the service. Please see this link which shows our high ratings from real members, promotion from supermarkets that work with us, and promotion from brands that work with us. https://savingstar.com/blog/savingstar-reviews/

  • Rating
      
    Pat says:

    January 13th, 2014 at 11:50 am

    I have used SavingStar for several months and have never a problem. I love it!

    REPLY

    Josh from SavingStar says:
    May 14th, 2014 at 1:06 pm

    Thanks for using SavingStar, Pat! -Josh from SavingStar

  • Rating
      
    Amanda says:

    November 21st, 2013 at 7:26 pm

    The only reason I did 3 stars is because I haven’t used it yet I just have some questions. I accidentally pushed the coupon and it automatically activated, is there anyway to undo that or will it not effect
    Me at all? And can you group this app with in store coupons? And last is it safe to have it direct deposited into your bank account because I am very hesitant to do that. Thank you for whoever answersy questions! I’m excited to start using this app!

    REPLY

    SavingStar says:
    December 10th, 2013 at 11:01 am

    Hi Amanda,

    There is no penalty for not redeeming a coupon, so don’t worry about accidentally activating one. Yes, you can use our coupons with in-store coupons. For the bank deposit, we encrypt all the information as soon as you enter it. Even SavingStar employees cannot access this information.

    Thanks,

    Josh from SavingStar

  • Rating
      
    Rhonda S. says:

    November 8th, 2013 at 4:09 pm

    I have never had a problem with savingstar. Its a great service. Sometimes I’m in a hurry and I don’t clip coupons, but I can still use savingstar :) I’m not paid to write this either :)

    REPLY

    Josh from SavingStar says:
    May 14th, 2014 at 1:06 pm

    Thanks for using SavingStar, Rhonda! -Josh

  • Rating
      
    Scarlett says:

    August 25th, 2013 at 3:28 pm

    SavingStar only picked two stores in my area, ones I never shop at, so it was useless as far as the coupons. But as soon as I entered my email to sign up, I started to receive about 30 spam emails per day. Horrible.

    REPLY

    Julie says:
    October 11th, 2013 at 1:19 pm

    Scarlett – Did you sign up for something else at the same time as signing up at SavingStar? I have been with them for awhile and never received any spam.

    SavingStar Grocery Coupons says:
    September 12th, 2013 at 9:35 am

    Scarlett – SavingStar does not send any spam. We send one email per week with our new coupons. We never sell or rent your email either. Your spam must be from another company. -Josh from SavingStar

  • Rating
      
    Rachel says:

    June 27th, 2013 at 10:05 pm

    I’ve used this site for a while and have saved enough money to cash out twice. great service!

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Jason says:

    June 19th, 2013 at 1:38 pm

    SavingStar is simple to use since the grocery coupons go onto your loyalty cards. Pretty easy way to save extra money.

    REPLY

    SavingStar says:
    October 1st, 2013 at 11:57 am

    Felicia,

    Savings post in 2-22 days depending on the store. If you have any questions, please contact us on our website and we’ll be happy to help you out.

    Thanks,

    Josh from SavingStar

    Felicia says:
    September 20th, 2013 at 10:17 pm

    I made purchases with coupons loaded to my cvs and Kroger cards and it’s been a few day…nothing. I will say that I have had one credit loaded from August 2013, but have been checking everyday and not one of my coupons have been credited.

  • Rating
      
    Robert says:

    June 3rd, 2013 at 3:39 am

    I’ve never had a major problem with Savingstar. Any problems I have had customer service corrected them within 2 days. I have received over $64 in payments to my Paypal account. Usually the same day requested. The only thing I don’t like is the amount of time it takes for Kroger purchases to be credited. Can take more than a month. Food Lion purchases are always credited within 1 week. I have to think this is a fault of Kroger and not Savingstar.

    REPLY

    SavingStar says:
    June 7th, 2013 at 2:42 pm

    Thanks for using SavingStar Robert! Each store is on a different schedule in terms of how quickly they post, between 2-22 days. Food Lion posts within a few days, Kroger can take up to 22.

    Josh from SavingStar

  • Rating
      
    Rose says:

    May 26th, 2013 at 10:39 am

    Savings showed up at first but as soon as I hit $4.90 I stopped getting credit for the coupons I used. No customer service. Total waste of time.

    REPLY

    SavingStar says:
    June 7th, 2013 at 2:38 pm

    Rose,

    We absolutely respond to all emails within 2 business days. If you prefer you can contact us directly on Facebook. Please note that savings post in 2-22 days depending on the store you shop.

    Josh from SavingStar

  • Rating
      
    James says:

    May 25th, 2013 at 11:38 am

    Spent $30 on Charmin with the promise of getting a $5 reward back from Savingstar. No confirmation of my purchase in their system, and when I emailed them they tell me I have no store cards in my account. However I can see all of my store cards listed when I log into my account. I will stick with more reliable programs such as Ibotta and endorse which have been spot on with all my savings and rebates. Savingstar is not worth the hassle. Wish I could give it Zero stars!

    REPLY

    SavingStar says:
    June 7th, 2013 at 2:40 pm

    James,

    If you are seeing your store cards and our customer service is not, it means that you have 2 SavingStar accounts. If you email us your card number which can look up your account for you to get everything straightened out.

    Thanks,

    Josh from SavingStar

  • Rating
      
    JDefore says:

    May 11th, 2013 at 10:41 pm

    I love SavingStar. I have had a few issues where the item I purchased wasn’t transferred over from the store to SavingStar. I contacted them and within two days my account was credited for it. I love receiving actual money back for items that I already use. So far I have received over $50 back.

    REPLY

    SavingStar says:
    May 25th, 2013 at 7:56 pm

    Thanks for using SavingStar JDefore! Rewards should be automatic, but in the rare case that something did not post, we’re always happy to give credits for any purchases you make.

    Thanks,

    Josh from SavingStar

  • Andrew says:

    May 5th, 2013 at 5:59 pm

    Why don’t they auto-load coupons to your account based on what you buy? Do they pocket the ones you don’t find?

    REPLY

    SavingStar says:
    May 25th, 2013 at 7:55 pm

    We don’t autoload your coupons because brands require our users to select the coupons rather than give them rewards automatically. This shows your intent to purchase the product after seeing it on our service.

  • Rating
      
    Kim A says:

    May 2nd, 2013 at 8:09 am

    Won’t be using them anymore! Requested a paypal payment of $7.50 that was in my account. Been over a month and I still haven’t seen that money. I’ve sent two emails requesting to know if there is a problem and all I’ve gotten so far is an automated reply that says they’ll contact me. I don’t think I’ll hold my breath and I know I will not be using Saving Star any longer. A waste of time!

    REPLY

    SavingStar says:
    May 25th, 2013 at 7:46 pm

    Kim – We send payments within 24 hours of being requested. We also reply to all customer service emails within 2 days. It sounds like you are not receiving our emails for some reason. Please message us on Facebook or Twitter and we can help you out.

    Josh from SavingStar

  • Rating
      
    jnd says:

    April 25th, 2013 at 12:05 pm

    worked great for me! ive recvd over $15 in moeny on paypal just from buying things I was going to anyway – smart ones frozen meals, yogurts, etc at Kroger. It took a couple of weeks (maybe 2) for each credit to post, but they email me when its ready to post and so its not hard to keep up with. Its free money to me!

    REPLY

    SavingStar says:
    May 25th, 2013 at 7:47 pm

    Thanks for using SavingStar! Savings post in 2-22 days depending on the store you shop.

    Josh from SavingStar

  • Rating
      
    Sue says:

    April 10th, 2013 at 10:41 am

    SavingStar truly works. It is easy to select your coupons, email a list to yourself, and shop at the designated stores. Make sure you shop at a participating store (list is on SavingStar’s website). I’ve had a few purchases that for whatever reason didn’t show up in SavingStar, and there’s not really anything you can do other than buy the item again, or return the item. I have not had a problem with getting deposits directly to my checking account. Very easy & user-friendly. Would be a rating of 5 if not for the handful of times that my purchase didn’t show up on SavingStar. If you don’t use a coupon you are not penalized, and you can jointly use paper coupons or the store’s reward card promotions with the SavingStar promo. So glad I found this program!

    REPLY

    SavingStar says:
    May 25th, 2013 at 7:56 pm

    Thanks for using SavingStar Sue!

    Josh from SavingStar

  • Rating
      
    SamanthaRey says:

    March 12th, 2013 at 10:36 am

    I see comments above talking about how long it takes to get credit for purchases. I’ve never had an issue. I just had $1.40 credited to my account not three days after going to the store to buy the items. My One or Many updated spending was also posted just as quickly.

    I haven’t saved a ton through savingstar versus store sales and coupons, but I’ve saved enough over the year or so that I’ve been using the program to add up to about $25 in Amazon gift cards that I put towards Xmas shopping last December. It would be nice to get even more coupons on the site, but I have seen the site expand to include new offers and the One or Many deals over the time I’ve been using it.

    I really like what this site provides – and it’s free!

    REPLY

    SavingStar says:
    May 25th, 2013 at 7:48 pm

    Thanks for using SavingStar SamanthaRey!

    Josh from SavingStar

  • Rating
      
    Cathy says:

    January 25th, 2013 at 4:07 pm

    I gave it a try. This one will not be around long. Waited past the 30 days to get credit and nothing. Customer Service doesn’t exist. I started using ibotta and it actually works.

    REPLY

    SavingStar says:
    May 25th, 2013 at 7:49 pm

    Cathy, I’m sorry if you had a bad experience. Please note that we respond to all email within 2 business days. Please message us on Facebook or Twitter if we can be of further assistance. We’re happy to research any missing credit to make sure you get what you deserve.

    Josh from SavingStar

  • Rating
      
    sucked in says:

    January 11th, 2013 at 2:00 pm

    very unhelpful site i did buy the ice cream at shaws and waited to pass 30 days and they claim shaws didnt card me but yet i PAID the sale price they should run after shaws and still pay me the promised or so i thought $5 for spending over $12

    but yet they want me to send a receipt which i made worse for me but i shouldnt be running around printing reciepts they should talk to where i was REQUIRED to pay and buy it from so stay away from savingstar the name dont fit them at all it should be scamstar if u ask me

    REPLY

    SavingStar says:
    May 25th, 2013 at 7:53 pm

    If you read our Facebook page comments and reviews on major coupon websites, you will see that SavingStar is a legitimate service. We’ve been operating for over 2 years. And, we power the grocery coupons for Upromise, another service with millions of members.

    We’d love to make sure you’re happy with us. Please email our customer service and we’ll do our best to help you out.

    Thanks,

    Josh from SavingStar

  • Rating
      
    michelle says:

    January 1st, 2013 at 10:58 pm

    I have had no problem with saving star. It does take 2 -4 weeks for your coupon to deposit to your account but hey I’m not going to complain about a free service that gives me money.

    REPLY

    SavingStar says:
    May 25th, 2013 at 7:53 pm

    Thanks for using SavingStar Michelle!

    Josh from SavingStar

  • Rating
      
    Lee says:

    December 7th, 2012 at 7:41 pm

    When I first signed up, the savings showed up really quick and then I could get the money deposited to my paypal account. Then, I started noticing it was taking longer and longer for my purchases to show up, many times not showing up at all. This last time, they told me to wait another few weeks, which ended up being 6 weeks and after emails, they manually credited my account. I redeemed for a paypal deposit and now the paypal deposit is not showing up, I guess that will take another 6 weeks.

    REPLY

    SavingStar says:
    May 25th, 2013 at 7:59 pm

    Lee,

    All PayPal deposits are made within 24-48 hours. If you are not seeing it, the email address you submitted for your PayPal account may have been incorrect. Please email our customer service so we can help out. As to your savings taking a long time to post to your SavingStar account, the issue that occurred in the fall has been fixed and all savings post in 2-22 days.

    Thanks,

    Josh from SavingStar

  • Rating
      
    d says:

    December 7th, 2012 at 12:55 pm

    Not a bad program. I will admit it takes a loooong time for the rewards to show up in your account. I mean 2 months almost for me. BUt when they finally posted i received my email that I had recieved $5 went to the website and got my offer for a $5 amazon card.

    REPLY

    SavingStar says:
    May 25th, 2013 at 8:00 pm

    Thanks for using SavingStar! The issue that occurred in the fall where savings took a long time to post has been fixed and all savings now post in 2-22 days.

  • Rating
      
    Firecracker says:

    December 2nd, 2012 at 1:58 pm

    I liked the fact that I could get extra savings on things that were already on sale and coupon-friendly. I was hesitant about not getting instant savings, but having to “wait” for it to appear in my account.

    My first time using Savings Star I purchased enough to put 2.85 in my account. It took a long time to appear, a couple of weeks from what I can remember. I did e-mail them and eventually it appeared. But you need at least $5 in your account to cash out to your Pay Pal, so I purchased enough products to equal a $11.00 refund. Well that was several weeks ago and I’m not even sure I still have my receipt. I have just e-mailed about this recent problem.

    I’m frustrated at this point that Savings Star is holding my money hostage. This must be how they benefit – people get annoyed and give up – multiply that by how many thousands of participants leave $3-2 in their accounts and never return.

    REPLY

    SavingStar says:
    May 25th, 2013 at 8:02 pm

    Firecracker, if you requested a PayPal payout, that would occur automatically in 24-48 hours. I wonder if the email address you entered was not your PayPal email. Our customer service will answer any question you have within 2 business days to help make sure you are all set.

    Thanks,

    Josh from SavingStar

  • Rating
      
    Ron says:

    November 29th, 2012 at 8:55 am

    Purchased a lot of items I never would have purchased without the Saving Star coupon, and like others, nothing credited to my account. Contact them and told they were having some problems posting credits to accounts and everything should show up, and I’d receive email, in a week. If it didn’t contact them again. It didn’t, I did, and this time asked for receipts. From 2 months ago, are they kidding? Had a feeling it was a scam when I signed up and looks like it is.

    One thing I will say when checking reviews, be cautious pf those who praise a company and seem to go against what most others say. Anyone can submit reviews and some folks make money by submitting favorable reviews for companies. If it sounds too good to be true, it most likely is. Heck, employees from the company can submit them.

    REPLY

    SavingStar says:
    May 25th, 2013 at 8:05 pm

    Ron, The issue that occurred in the fall has been fixed and all savings post in 2-22 days automatically. I can assure you we are a legitimate service and you will see many coupon sites and our own Facebook page with favorable reviews about SavingStar. Brands would not be offering coupons on our site and retailers would not work with us if the service was fake. I hope you’ll start using our service again so you can save on your groceries.

    Josh from SavingStar

  • Rating
      
    Mary says:

    November 26th, 2012 at 1:24 pm

    Haven’t seen anything show up in my account yet. It sounded too good to be true….should have known better…

    REPLY

    SavingStar says:
    May 25th, 2013 at 8:06 pm

    Mary,

    The issue that occurred in the fall has been fixed and all savings post in 2-22 days automatically. If you have any questions about us please contact our customer service and we’ll make sure to reply within 2 business days.

    Thanks,

    Josh from SavingStar

  • Rating
      
    David D says:

    November 25th, 2012 at 5:49 pm

    I must admit, SavingStar worked a lot better than I expected. Sure I’d like to see more coupons, but it is free and super easy. I used two different local grocery stores, and both recorded my coupons within a couple days. When I asked for my first payout (I chose the Pay Pal option), it was credited within 24 hours!

    I’m sure people will have differnet experiences, but for me it worked great!

    Pros:
    – Quick confirmation of coupons used
    – Ability to send an email of the coupons you activated (I sent it to my phone so I could double check at the store)
    – It keeps track of your purchases for those offers that can be purcahsed in “one trip, or many”

    Cons:
    – There could be more coupons

    REPLY

    SavingStar says:
    May 25th, 2013 at 8:06 pm

    Thanks for using SavingStar David!

    Josh from SavingStar

  • Rating
      
    life is good says:

    November 18th, 2012 at 6:54 pm

    Jamina D sounds like a ringer. Do you notice that she does not talk her “reward” $ from savingstar.com? She mostly talks about how savingstar.com works. And who calls the store cards “supermarket affinity cards”, except for marketing geeks or paid sycophants?

    REPLY

    SavingStar says:
    May 25th, 2013 at 8:08 pm

    I don’t know Jamina D, but SavingStar never uses the term “supermarket affinity cards” – we call them loyalty cards.

    Josh from SavingStar

  • Rating
      
    Laura says:

    November 6th, 2012 at 2:32 pm

    When I first signed up for saving star I had a few issues with my local grocery store. They have a reputation for not being very coupon friendly in the first place. After 30 days when I did not see any credits added to my account I sent an email to saving star. They looked into my problem and credited my account. They also gave me credit for a saving star item I had purchased but had overlooked on their site and forgot to add to my account. I really like the idea of saving star and find them to be very helpful and user friendly. I have not had any other issues and use it all the time.
    Hope this helps anyone else looking for some honest input

    REPLY

    SavingStar says:
    June 7th, 2013 at 4:54 pm

    Thanks for using SavingStar Laura!

    Josh from SavingStar

  • Rating
      
    Was Not Credited says:

    November 4th, 2012 at 12:44 am

    Bought items and was not Credited. So I don’t think it’s worth getting into it. Maybe a new way of saving, but it just won’t work. It is a good idea to sell to some huge company, and make few mill. :) Good Luck Guys. Please post if you have luck with it!!

    REPLY

    SavingStar says:
    May 25th, 2013 at 8:09 pm

    Hi,

    The issue you experienced in the fall has been fixed and all savings post to your account in 2-22 days depending on the store you shop. Hopefully, you’ll try us out again to save money on your groceries.

    Josh from SavingStar

  • Rating
      
    Disappointed Shopper says:

    November 2nd, 2012 at 2:35 pm

    I too have bought several items listed on Savingstar’s site that were well within the time limits, and had saved several shopping cards at their site. I was NEVER credited for any of those items.

    In my opinion, they are gathering information about people’s spending habits and selling that infomation to vendors. That would be ok with me as long as the information they provide to vendors does not include names and addresses of us suckers who register with them (I hope they are not giving our specific information to vendors). AND, more importantly, if they actually would credit my account with the coupons I use.

    I want to cancel my registration with SavingStar, but there is no place on their site, that I can find, where I can do that. I’ve written to them telling them to cancel my account and to let me know when they do so. I’m sure that they will be really helpful because they been so good about crediting my account (sarcasm).

    Don’t waste your time with site.

    REPLY

    SavingStar says:
    May 25th, 2013 at 8:11 pm

    Hi,

    The issue you experienced in the fall has been fixed and all savings post in 2-22 days automatically. If we were not a legitimate service you wouldn’t see us working with major grocery brands and retailers. The service works. We also provide the grocery coupons for Upromise which is a service with millions of users. Hopefully you’ll try us out again to save money on your groceries.

    Josh from SavingStar

  • Rating
      
    gellegbs says:

    October 22nd, 2012 at 6:48 pm

    I bought several items and they never credited me. My shoppers cards are all saved and I made sure I bought the right items within the time limits, according to the offer at Saving Star.

    The reviewer who said “the small number of coupons offered are for junk or highly processed food items” is right. There is not much of a selection of “coupons” and you have to buy large amounts to qualify for any substantial amount of savings, which from my experience is a false promise.

    As for the reviewer who said she had a hard time with using the coupon binder shopping with kids, I see why. First off you have to be prepared, bringing a coupon binder is great for shopping alone or with a patient friend when you have loads of time to just browse sales. Otherwise you MUST MUST MUST have everything figured out before you hit the store. That is, what you are buying, how many and how much and double, triple and quadruple check the wording of the coupons and sales ads. I have 4 kids and Im a single mom and I coupon (not binder method) so I have PLENTY of experience. And yes you can save a ton and yes you get free or darn near close to free items almost every week. You just need to know how to shop and how to use coupons.

    REPLY

    SavingStar says:
    May 25th, 2013 at 8:12 pm

    Hi,

    The issue you experienced in the fall has been fixed and all savings post in 2-22 days automatically. If you search for reviews of SavingStar on coupon sites or check out our Facebook page, you can learn more. Hopefully you’ll try us out again to save money on your groceries.

    Josh from SavingStar

  • Rating
      
    Kesha T says:

    September 26th, 2012 at 1:48 pm

    Can it be a new way of saving?
    I think so~~~:)

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Andrea H says:

    August 9th, 2012 at 12:52 am

    I find that the small number of coupons offered are for junk or highly processed food items. I’m very disappointed with the small number of coupons offered, the quality of the food items, and the amount of time it takes for the savings to be posted to my account. I love the paperless concept, but they have to offer me many more coupons on a weekly basis to make me rave about it.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Jamina D says:

    July 1st, 2012 at 2:36 pm

    I have to admit, I’m not a big couponer. Going to the supermarket with 4 kids is already a challenge, and the last thing I need is to try to juggle a binder full of coupons. I tried it a few times and it just was not pretty. I had a 3 year old on one side tossing things into the wagon, a 2 year old on the other side tossing things on the floor,, a 12 year old who had wondered off and I had no idea where she was, and a 1 year old screaming his head off. On top of all of that I had a 2 inch binder full of tiny slips of paper that were suppose to save me loads of money… If only I could find the one that I needed right then, and right there. Yes! Found it! and my reward? A whole $.25 off when I buy 2. Nope. Couponing was just not for me.

    Imagine saving money on groceries with nothing to clip or print!!

    And then I found Savingstar. The difference with Savingsstar is that instead of lugging around coupons, they are uploaded to your supermarket affinity card. You know those little tag thingys we have on our keychains? You register with Savingstar with just an email and a password, and then type in the numbers from one of your loyalty tags. Then each week when new coupons come out you simply click and they are put on your loyalty card. No paper coupons to drag around.. No binders. No envelopes.

    And even better.. no meager savings of just $.50 here or $.25 there. Savingsstar pulls all of your savings together into a dollar amount (yes actual dollars not pennies) and then sends it to you either through paypal, Amazon gift card, or right into your bank account. Minimum pay out is only $5 and it’s just so much easier than paper coupons. You can also use their IPhone/Android app to activate coupons while you’re at the star which is helpful in case you’ve forgotten to do so ahead of time or have forgotten which coupons you’ve already selected. So if you’re in the store and need to buy something you can quickly scan the app, select the coupon and poof, its on your card and you get the savings.

    Easy to sign up- just an email, a password and a loyalty card number. Instant savings. Total convenience.

    REPLY

Add Your Review



Your Comment:

Choose a Rating

Please Write Your ReviewRead Review Guidelines