SavingStar.com Reviews – Legit or Scam?

 


SavingStar.com
from 45 reviews Review It
SavingStar.com

 

SavingStar.com is a new website/app that’s putting a unique twist on coupon grocery shopping in the digital age. The idea is to consolidate the source of coupons and allow shoppers easy access to offers without having to physically print out and carry around paper coupons.

The company has been growing rapidly, quickly reaching over 1 million registered users and partnering with over 100 retail chains and countless brands to offer their users savings and a wide variety of shopping locations.

So How Does SavingStar Work?

The technology behind SavingStar.com is based on the founders eCoupon work at Upromise.com. First off and most importantly the service is free to use, all you have to do is logon to the site and create a profile.

The next step is to register your grocery and retail store loyalty cards with SavingStar. This allows them to digitally link those cards with their coupon offers. Simply enter your zip code to see a list of participating stores in your area.

Once you have registered your loyalty cards you’re ready to shop. Any eCoupon that you select from the site is automatically loaded onto the loyalty card so you don’t have to bring anything extra to the store with you.

How do you Redeem Your Savings?

It is important to note that your discounts will not show up instantly at the checkout counter or be visible on your receipt. Instead all your savings will be accumulated in your SavingStar account. This can take anywhere from 2-30 days.

Once you reach five dollars in savings you can choose one several ways to cash out. Your options are a direct deposit into your bank account, PayPal, Amazon giftcard, or charity donation.

Is SavingStar Right for You?

If you’re someone who consistently uses coupons to save money at the grocery or drug store then this is definitely a service you can try out. There’s some setup involved in the beginning but once all your loyalty cards (i.e. CVS card) are registered the coupons link directly to those cards so you can save directly at the store with no paper coupons to worry about.

You can also use their IPhone/Android app to activate eCoupons while you’re at the star which is helpful in case you’ve forgotten to do so ahead of time or have forgotten which coupons you’ve already selected.

 

Would you like to add your review for
Does SavingStar Really Work ?
If so, click here
 
Share This Page!

 

Customer Responses, Reviews, or Complaints


Average Rating for " Does SavingStar Really Work " is 3.13 out of 5 based on 45 reviews.

  • Rating
      
    jewels319 says:

    July 10th, 2014 at 4:47 pm

    As I stated in previous review…I would rate higher. Yes! I got my deposit. So far so good.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    jewels319 says:

    July 6th, 2014 at 2:54 pm

    I have been using savingstar for a few months now. Today is the first time I’ve cashed out, putting in the request to have funds transferred to my checking account. If all goes well with that and I have no residual issues I will re-rate higher. I have saved $32. I will continue using this program providing, like I said, there are no issues following my first deposit.

    REPLY

    SavingStar says:
    July 7th, 2014 at 2:16 pm

    Thanks for using SavingStar Jewels! -Josh

  • Rating
      
    Dawn says:

    June 10th, 2014 at 11:06 am

    I have many items that I have never been credited for that are months old. Is that just my loss?

    REPLY

    SavingStar says:
    June 24th, 2014 at 1:55 pm

    Dawn, If you have any questions about your account, please contact us at support@savingstar.com. We’d be happy to look into your account. All savings post within 2-22 days depending on the store you shop. Thanks, Josh from SavingStar

  • Rating
      
    Dennis says:

    May 17th, 2014 at 7:28 pm

    Ok this is more a question than a review. I am new to Savingstar. I did my first purchase at a Kroger brand store(Fred Meyer on the 10th of May. This has not been credited. I made another purchase of an item that I normally would not have purchased. I guess I am nervous about this program until I actually see the credits in my account.

    REPLY

    SavingStar says:
    May 20th, 2014 at 12:59 pm

    Dennis,

    Savings post within 2-22 days depending on the store. Kroger purchases can take up to 10 days to post. You’ll receive an email as soon as they post.

    Thanks,

    Josh from SavingStar

  • Rating
      
    Wanda says:

    May 7th, 2014 at 10:43 am

    I have been very happy with Saving Star, so far it has been Saving me because I had a stroke and don’t have an income. This allows me to pay my $20.00 doctor co-pay without having to “ask” for anyone’s help. I get the Pay Pal usually within 48 hours. Thanks Saving Star!

    REPLY

    Josh from SavingStar says:
    May 14th, 2014 at 1:04 pm

    Thanks for using SavingStar, Wanda! -Josh from SavingStar

  • Rating
      
    Rich says:

    May 6th, 2014 at 5:33 pm

    Total scam, nothing but emails all day long and I haven’t saved a dime. There are much better ways to save money in less time. RS.

    REPLY

    SavingStar says:
    May 14th, 2014 at 6:23 pm

    Rich,

    I’m not sure why you would say we are a scam. Have you tried using the service? Please see this link which shows our high ratings from real members, promotion from supermarkets that work with us, and promotion from brands that work with us. https://savingstar.com/blog/savingstar-reviews/

    As to the emails we send, we absolutely never send more than 1 email per day. In fact, we currently send 5 emails per week – 3 of them to announce new grocery coupons (Healthy offer of the week on Tuesday, new eCoupons on Thursday, and Friday Freebie on Friday, and 2 to announce new deals in the Cashback Mall, 1 on the weekend, and 1 on Wednesday). You can always edit your email settings in your account if you want to opt out of any of the newsletters.

    Thanks, Josh from SavingStar

    Josh from SavingStar says:
    May 14th, 2014 at 1:02 pm

    Rich,

    I’m confused when you say we are a scam. Select the offers you like, buy the products at the store, and you’ll receive money back in your account, like just like all of our members.

    We absolutely never send more than 1 email per day. In fact, we currently send 5 emails per week – 3 of them to announce new grocery coupons (Healthy offer of the week on Tuesday, new eCoupons on Thursday, and Friday Freebie on Friday, and 2 to announce new deals in the Cashback Mall, 1 on the weekend, and 1 on Wednesday). You can always edit your email settings in your account if you want to opt out of any of the newsletters.

    For more reviews of SavingStar, see this link:
    https://savingstar.com/blog/savingstar-reviews/

    If you have any questions, contact us here:
    https://savingstar.com/contact/new

    Thanks, Josh from SavingStar

  • Rating
      
    Sandra says:

    May 2nd, 2014 at 10:16 am

    It does not take my password I’LL get the runaround back and forth when I’ LL TRY TO SIGN UP CANNOT GET PASS MY PASSWORD IT WON’t accept it even if I’LL ALREADY SIGN UP IN FACEBOOK IT STILL WON’T accept my password. Can you help me to get start and move on please thank you.

    REPLY

    SavingStar says:
    May 14th, 2014 at 6:25 pm

    Sandra,

    Please click the link that says forgot password in order to reset your password. If you still need assistance, click the Contact Us link on our website.

    Thanks,

    Josh from SavingStar

    Josh from SavingStar says:
    May 14th, 2014 at 12:59 pm

    Hi Sandra, You can go here to reset your password:
    https://savingstar.com/users/password/new

    If you have additional questions, please contact our customer service team here:
    https://savingstar.com/contact/new

    Thanks,
    Josh from SavingStar

  • Rating
      
    Brian in Madtown says:

    April 6th, 2014 at 1:18 pm

    I have been using the SavingStar service for about 1 year and have accumulated nearly $70 dollars in savings and have recently started using their cashback mall. I know other websites also offer cashback for clicking through their sites, however, using the coupons along with the cashback allows me to cash out sooner. I shop at Copps and the savings show up in my account in about 2-3 days. I haven’t used the service at any other business. My only request is to get a greater variety of coupons on the website.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Rachel says:

    March 21st, 2014 at 9:03 pm

    I’ve used this site for a couple years without any problems. Easy to use and love the new deals this year on produce.

    REPLY

    Josh from SavingStar says:
    May 14th, 2014 at 1:04 pm

    Thanks for using SavingStar, Rachel! -Josh from SavingStar

  • Rating
      
    vikkif says:

    March 20th, 2014 at 1:52 pm

    3 weeks so far nothing in my account…….Yet I get at least 2 emails from them a day.So far I would say don’t bother.Lots of spam and no return

    REPLY

    SavingStar says:
    March 26th, 2014 at 6:19 am

    Vikkif – Some stores can take up to 22 days to post. Others take only a couple days. If you are missing any credits, please click the Contact Us link on our website and our customer service team will help you out. As to the emails we send, we absolutely never send more than 1 email per day. In fact, we currently send 5 emails per week – 3 of them to announce new grocery coupons (Healthy offer of the week on Tuesday, new eCoupons on Thursday, and Friday Freebie on Friday, and 2 to announce new deals in the Cashback Mall, 1 on the weekend, and 1 on Wednesday). You can always edit your email settings in your account if you want to opt out of any of the newsletters. Thanks, Josh from SavingStar

  • Rating
      
    chimera says:

    March 1st, 2014 at 11:14 am

    This outfit has developed something that “looks” legit but is designed to make them money. The way their program is designed, which is to accumulate “points” instead of actually creating savings at the register, will inevitably lead to many many users failing to ever redeem these credits; thus the savings will escheat to this greedy outfit.

    In addition, they advertise savings, but when you go to use it, you discover the reason why it didn’t work: in fine print which is not just small but also in a grayed-out color that makes it both hard to notice and hard to read, the exceptions are stated. And the exceptions are the supermarkets that are far and away most popular.

    Cheaters. Un-enroll yourself if you already signed up, and avoid them if you haven’t.

    REPLY

    Josh from SavingStar says:
    March 19th, 2014 at 1:51 pm

    You also wrote this comment on Amazon, and after I explained SavingStar more in depth to you, you deleted the comment. SavingStar is 100% not a scam. We pay out real money to help you save on your groceries. Here’s a link that shows our ratings from thousands of real SavingStar users:
    https://savingstar.com/blog/savingstar-reviews/

  • Rating
      
    thinking says:

    February 7th, 2014 at 4:31 pm

    I put 3 only because I am just trying to learn how it works before I sign up. How is it different than essentially “store credit” rebates, such as some major drug store chains and a larger retailer now give? Instead of Paypal, you have credit to spend in a store for a certain amount of time. Is it worth signing up? Have the delay issues been resolved?

    REPLY

    Josh from SavingStar says:
    March 19th, 2014 at 1:53 pm

    Hi – SavingStar is not a store credit. When you buy the products for which we have eCoupons, you get money back in your SavingStar account. You can then send that money to your bank or PayPal account, or get an Amazon gift card. We have new deals every week including our Healthy Offer of the Week for fresh fruits and vegetables, and Friday Freebies for 100% cash back in your account. We’re an easy way to save!

  • Rating
      
    Gary says:

    January 22nd, 2014 at 9:33 pm

    SavingStar is legit and I like it cause I can’t be bothered to clip coupons but they fund my paypal for things I already buy! In a few short months I’ve received $206.55 in my account, and thats like a wholes months groceries for a single guy.

    REPLY

    Josh from SavingStar says:
    May 14th, 2014 at 1:05 pm

    Thanks for using SavingStar, Gary! -Josh from SavingStar

  • Rating
      
    Mark says:

    January 22nd, 2014 at 3:55 pm

    A lot of RED FLAGS with SavingStar. Number 1 Flag is that SavingStar is on EVERY website that has Reviews on them. They constantly tell people they are “Legit” on ALL Review sites.
    Seems kind a strange don’t ya think?

    REPLY

    Josh from SavingStar says:
    March 19th, 2014 at 1:56 pm

    Mark, often people have questions about SavingStar which is why we are on various sites. We want to help answer any questions so that users can understand the service. Please see this link which shows our high ratings from real members, promotion from supermarkets that work with us, and promotion from brands that work with us. https://savingstar.com/blog/savingstar-reviews/

  • Rating
      
    Pat says:

    January 13th, 2014 at 11:50 am

    I have used SavingStar for several months and have never a problem. I love it!

    REPLY

    Josh from SavingStar says:
    May 14th, 2014 at 1:06 pm

    Thanks for using SavingStar, Pat! -Josh from SavingStar

  • Rating
      
    Amanda says:

    November 21st, 2013 at 7:26 pm

    The only reason I did 3 stars is because I haven’t used it yet I just have some questions. I accidentally pushed the coupon and it automatically activated, is there anyway to undo that or will it not effect
    Me at all? And can you group this app with in store coupons? And last is it safe to have it direct deposited into your bank account because I am very hesitant to do that. Thank you for whoever answersy questions! I’m excited to start using this app!

    REPLY

    SavingStar says:
    December 10th, 2013 at 11:01 am

    Hi Amanda,

    There is no penalty for not redeeming a coupon, so don’t worry about accidentally activating one. Yes, you can use our coupons with in-store coupons. For the bank deposit, we encrypt all the information as soon as you enter it. Even SavingStar employees cannot access this information.

    Thanks,

    Josh from SavingStar

  • Rating
      
    Rhonda S. says:

    November 8th, 2013 at 4:09 pm

    I have never had a problem with savingstar. Its a great service. Sometimes I’m in a hurry and I don’t clip coupons, but I can still use savingstar :) I’m not paid to write this either :)

    REPLY

    Josh from SavingStar says:
    May 14th, 2014 at 1:06 pm

    Thanks for using SavingStar, Rhonda! -Josh

  • Rating
      
    Scarlett says:

    August 25th, 2013 at 3:28 pm

    SavingStar only picked two stores in my area, ones I never shop at, so it was useless as far as the coupons. But as soon as I entered my email to sign up, I started to receive about 30 spam emails per day. Horrible.

    REPLY

    Julie says:
    October 11th, 2013 at 1:19 pm

    Scarlett – Did you sign up for something else at the same time as signing up at SavingStar? I have been with them for awhile and never received any spam.

    SavingStar Grocery Coupons says:
    September 12th, 2013 at 9:35 am

    Scarlett – SavingStar does not send any spam. We send one email per week with our new coupons. We never sell or rent your email either. Your spam must be from another company. -Josh from SavingStar

  • Rating
      
    Rachel says:

    June 27th, 2013 at 10:05 pm

    I’ve used this site for a while and have saved enough money to cash out twice. great service!

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Jason says:

    June 19th, 2013 at 1:38 pm

    SavingStar is simple to use since the grocery coupons go onto your loyalty cards. Pretty easy way to save extra money.

    REPLY

    SavingStar says:
    October 1st, 2013 at 11:57 am

    Felicia,

    Savings post in 2-22 days depending on the store. If you have any questions, please contact us on our website and we’ll be happy to help you out.

    Thanks,

    Josh from SavingStar

    Felicia says:
    September 20th, 2013 at 10:17 pm

    I made purchases with coupons loaded to my cvs and Kroger cards and it’s been a few day…nothing. I will say that I have had one credit loaded from August 2013, but have been checking everyday and not one of my coupons have been credited.

  • Rating
      
    Robert says:

    June 3rd, 2013 at 3:39 am

    I’ve never had a major problem with Savingstar. Any problems I have had customer service corrected them within 2 days. I have received over $64 in payments to my Paypal account. Usually the same day requested. The only thing I don’t like is the amount of time it takes for Kroger purchases to be credited. Can take more than a month. Food Lion purchases are always credited within 1 week. I have to think this is a fault of Kroger and not Savingstar.

    REPLY

    SavingStar says:
    June 7th, 2013 at 2:42 pm

    Thanks for using SavingStar Robert! Each store is on a different schedule in terms of how quickly they post, between 2-22 days. Food Lion posts within a few days, Kroger can take up to 22.

    Josh from SavingStar

  • Rating
      
    Rose says:

    May 26th, 2013 at 10:39 am

    Savings showed up at first but as soon as I hit $4.90 I stopped getting credit for the coupons I used. No customer service. Total waste of time.

    REPLY

    SavingStar says:
    June 7th, 2013 at 2:38 pm

    Rose,

    We absolutely respond to all emails within 2 business days. If you prefer you can contact us directly on Facebook. Please note that savings post in 2-22 days depending on the store you shop.

    Josh from SavingStar

  • Rating
      
    James says:

    May 25th, 2013 at 11:38 am

    Spent $30 on Charmin with the promise of getting a $5 reward back from Savingstar. No confirmation of my purchase in their system, and when I emailed them they tell me I have no store cards in my account. However I can see all of my store cards listed when I log into my account. I will stick with more reliable programs such as Ibotta and endorse which have been spot on with all my savings and rebates. Savingstar is not worth the hassle. Wish I could give it Zero stars!

    REPLY

    SavingStar says:
    June 7th, 2013 at 2:40 pm

    James,

    If you are seeing your store cards and our customer service is not, it means that you have 2 SavingStar accounts. If you email us your card number which can look up your account for you to get everything straightened out.

    Thanks,

    Josh from SavingStar

  • Rating
      
    JDefore says:

    May 11th, 2013 at 10:41 pm

    I love SavingStar. I have had a few issues where the item I purchased wasn’t transferred over from the store to SavingStar. I contacted them and within two days my account was credited for it. I love receiving actual money back for items that I already use. So far I have received over $50 back.

    REPLY

    SavingStar says:
    May 25th, 2013 at 7:56 pm

    Thanks for using SavingStar JDefore! Rewards should be automatic, but in the rare case that something did not post, we’re always happy to give credits for any purchases you make.

    Thanks,

    Josh from SavingStar

  • Andrew says:

    May 5th, 2013 at 5:59 pm

    Why don’t they auto-load coupons to your account based on what you buy? Do they pocket the ones you don’t find?

    REPLY

    SavingStar says:
    May 25th, 2013 at 7:55 pm

    We don’t autoload your coupons because brands require our users to select the coupons rather than give them rewards automatically. This shows your intent to purchase the product after seeing it on our service.

  • Rating
      
    Kim A says:

    May 2nd, 2013 at 8:09 am

    Won’t be using them anymore! Requested a paypal payment of $7.50 that was in my account. Been over a month and I still haven’t seen that money. I’ve sent two emails requesting to know if there is a problem and all I’ve gotten so far is an automated reply that says they’ll contact me. I don’t think I’ll hold my breath and I know I will not be using Saving Star any longer. A waste of time!

    REPLY

    SavingStar says:
    May 25th, 2013 at 7:46 pm

    Kim – We send payments within 24 hours of being requested. We also reply to all customer service emails within 2 days. It sounds like you are not receiving our emails for some reason. Please message us on Facebook or Twitter and we can help you out.

    Josh from SavingStar

  • Rating
      
    jnd says:

    April 25th, 2013 at 12:05 pm

    worked great for me! ive recvd over $15 in moeny on paypal just from buying things I was going to anyway – smart ones frozen meals, yogurts, etc at Kroger. It took a couple of weeks (maybe 2) for each credit to post, but they email me when its ready to post and so its not hard to keep up with. Its free money to me!

    REPLY

    SavingStar says:
    May 25th, 2013 at 7:47 pm

    Thanks for using SavingStar! Savings post in 2-22 days depending on the store you shop.

    Josh from SavingStar

  • Rating
      
    Sue says:

    April 10th, 2013 at 10:41 am

    SavingStar truly works. It is easy to select your coupons, email a list to yourself, and shop at the designated stores. Make sure you shop at a participating store (list is on SavingStar’s website). I’ve had a few purchases that for whatever reason didn’t show up in SavingStar, and there’s not really anything you can do other than buy the item again, or return the item. I have not had a problem with getting deposits directly to my checking account. Very easy & user-friendly. Would be a rating of 5 if not for the handful of times that my purchase didn’t show up on SavingStar. If you don’t use a coupon you are not penalized, and you can jointly use paper coupons or the store’s reward card promotions with the SavingStar promo. So glad I found this program!

    REPLY

    SavingStar says:
    May 25th, 2013 at 7:56 pm

    Thanks for using SavingStar Sue!

    Josh from SavingStar

  • Rating
      
    SamanthaRey says:

    March 12th, 2013 at 10:36 am

    I see comments above talking about how long it takes to get credit for purchases. I’ve never had an issue. I just had $1.40 credited to my account not three days after going to the store to buy the items. My One or Many updated spending was also posted just as quickly.

    I haven’t saved a ton through savingstar versus store sales and coupons, but I’ve saved enough over the year or so that I’ve been using the program to add up to about $25 in Amazon gift cards that I put towards Xmas shopping last December. It would be nice to get even more coupons on the site, but I have seen the site expand to include new offers and the One or Many deals over the time I’ve been using it.

    I really like what this site provides – and it’s free!

    REPLY

    SavingStar says:
    May 25th, 2013 at 7:48 pm

    Thanks for using SavingStar SamanthaRey!

    Josh from SavingStar

  • Rating
      
    Cathy says:

    January 25th, 2013 at 4:07 pm

    I gave it a try. This one will not be around long. Waited past the 30 days to get credit and nothing. Customer Service doesn’t exist. I started using ibotta and it actually works.

    REPLY

    SavingStar says:
    May 25th, 2013 at 7:49 pm

    Cathy, I’m sorry if you had a bad experience. Please note that we respond to all email within 2 business days. Please message us on Facebook or Twitter if we can be of further assistance. We’re happy to research any missing credit to make sure you get what you deserve.

    Josh from SavingStar

  • Rating
      
    sucked in says:

    January 11th, 2013 at 2:00 pm

    very unhelpful site i did buy the ice cream at shaws and waited to pass 30 days and they claim shaws didnt card me but yet i PAID the sale price they should run after shaws and still pay me the promised or so i thought $5 for spending over $12

    but yet they want me to send a receipt which i made worse for me but i shouldnt be running around printing reciepts they should talk to where i was REQUIRED to pay and buy it from so stay away from savingstar the name dont fit them at all it should be scamstar if u ask me

    REPLY

    SavingStar says:
    May 25th, 2013 at 7:53 pm

    If you read our Facebook page comments and reviews on major coupon websites, you will see that SavingStar is a legitimate service. We’ve been operating for over 2 years. And, we power the grocery coupons for Upromise, another service with millions of members.

    We’d love to make sure you’re happy with us. Please email our customer service and we’ll do our best to help you out.

    Thanks,

    Josh from SavingStar

  • Rating
      
    michelle says:

    January 1st, 2013 at 10:58 pm

    I have had no problem with saving star. It does take 2 -4 weeks for your coupon to deposit to your account but hey I’m not going to complain about a free service that gives me money.

    REPLY

    SavingStar says:
    May 25th, 2013 at 7:53 pm

    Thanks for using SavingStar Michelle!

    Josh from SavingStar

  • Rating
      
    Lee says:

    December 7th, 2012 at 7:41 pm

    When I first signed up, the savings showed up really quick and then I could get the money deposited to my paypal account. Then, I started noticing it was taking longer and longer for my purchases to show up, many times not showing up at all. This last time, they told me to wait another few weeks, which ended up being 6 weeks and after emails, they manually credited my account. I redeemed for a paypal deposit and now the paypal deposit is not showing up, I guess that will take another 6 weeks.

    REPLY

    SavingStar says:
    May 25th, 2013 at 7:59 pm

    Lee,

    All PayPal deposits are made within 24-48 hours. If you are not seeing it, the email address you submitted for your PayPal account may have been incorrect. Please email our customer service so we can help out. As to your savings taking a long time to post to your SavingStar account, the issue that occurred in the fall has been fixed and all savings post in 2-22 days.

    Thanks,

    Josh from SavingStar

  • Rating
      
    d says:

    December 7th, 2012 at 12:55 pm

    Not a bad program. I will admit it takes a loooong time for the rewards to show up in your account. I mean 2 months almost for me. BUt when they finally posted i received my email that I had recieved $5 went to the website and got my offer for a $5 amazon card.

    REPLY

    SavingStar says:
    May 25th, 2013 at 8:00 pm

    Thanks for using SavingStar! The issue that occurred in the fall where savings took a long time to post has been fixed and all savings now post in 2-22 days.

  • Rating
      
    Firecracker says:

    December 2nd, 2012 at 1:58 pm

    I liked the fact that I could get extra savings on things that were already on sale and coupon-friendly. I was hesitant about not getting instant savings, but having to “wait” for it to appear in my account.

    My first time using Savings Star I purchased enough to put 2.85 in my account. It took a long time to appear, a couple of weeks from what I can remember. I did e-mail them and eventually it appeared. But you need at least $5 in your account to cash out to your Pay Pal, so I purchased enough products to equal a $11.00 refund. Well that was several weeks ago and I’m not even sure I still have my receipt. I have just e-mailed about this recent problem.

    I’m frustrated at this point that Savings Star is holding my money hostage. This must be how they benefit – people get annoyed and give up – multiply that by how many thousands of participants leave $3-2 in their accounts and never return.

    REPLY

    SavingStar says:
    May 25th, 2013 at 8:02 pm

    Firecracker, if you requested a PayPal payout, that would occur automatically in 24-48 hours. I wonder if the email address you entered was not your PayPal email. Our customer service will answer any question you have within 2 business days to help make sure you are all set.

    Thanks,

    Josh from SavingStar

  • Rating
      
    Ron says:

    November 29th, 2012 at 8:55 am

    Purchased a lot of items I never would have purchased without the Saving Star coupon, and like others, nothing credited to my account. Contact them and told they were having some problems posting credits to accounts and everything should show up, and I’d receive email, in a week. If it didn’t contact them again. It didn’t, I did, and this time asked for receipts. From 2 months ago, are they kidding? Had a feeling it was a scam when I signed up and looks like it is.

    One thing I will say when checking reviews, be cautious pf those who praise a company and seem to go against what most others say. Anyone can submit reviews and some folks make money by submitting favorable reviews for companies. If it sounds too good to be true, it most likely is. Heck, employees from the company can submit them.

    REPLY

    SavingStar says:
    May 25th, 2013 at 8:05 pm

    Ron, The issue that occurred in the fall has been fixed and all savings post in 2-22 days automatically. I can assure you we are a legitimate service and you will see many coupon sites and our own Facebook page with favorable reviews about SavingStar. Brands would not be offering coupons on our site and retailers would not work with us if the service was fake. I hope you’ll start using our service again so you can save on your groceries.

    Josh from SavingStar

  • Rating
      
    Mary says:

    November 26th, 2012 at 1:24 pm

    Haven’t seen anything show up in my account yet. It sounded too good to be true….should have known better…

    REPLY

    SavingStar says:
    May 25th, 2013 at 8:06 pm

    Mary,

    The issue that occurred in the fall has been fixed and all savings post in 2-22 days automatically. If you have any questions about us please contact our customer service and we’ll make sure to reply within 2 business days.

    Thanks,

    Josh from SavingStar

  • Rating
      
    David D says:

    November 25th, 2012 at 5:49 pm

    I must admit, SavingStar worked a lot better than I expected. Sure I’d like to see more coupons, but it is free and super easy. I used two different local grocery stores, and both recorded my coupons within a couple days. When I asked for my first payout (I chose the Pay Pal option), it was credited within 24 hours!

    I’m sure people will have differnet experiences, but for me it worked great!

    Pros:
    – Quick confirmation of coupons used
    – Ability to send an email of the coupons you activated (I sent it to my phone so I could double check at the store)
    – It keeps track of your purchases for those offers that can be purcahsed in “one trip, or many”

    Cons:
    – There could be more coupons

    REPLY

    SavingStar says:
    May 25th, 2013 at 8:06 pm

    Thanks for using SavingStar David!

    Josh from SavingStar

  • Rating
      
    life is good says:

    November 18th, 2012 at 6:54 pm

    Jamina D sounds like a ringer. Do you notice that she does not talk her “reward” $ from savingstar.com? She mostly talks about how savingstar.com works. And who calls the store cards “supermarket affinity cards”, except for marketing geeks or paid sycophants?

    REPLY

    SavingStar says:
    May 25th, 2013 at 8:08 pm

    I don’t know Jamina D, but SavingStar never uses the term “supermarket affinity cards” – we call them loyalty cards.

    Josh from SavingStar

  • Rating
      
    Laura says:

    November 6th, 2012 at 2:32 pm

    When I first signed up for saving star I had a few issues with my local grocery store. They have a reputation for not being very coupon friendly in the first place. After 30 days when I did not see any credits added to my account I sent an email to saving star. They looked into my problem and credited my account. They also gave me credit for a saving star item I had purchased but had overlooked on their site and forgot to add to my account. I really like the idea of saving star and find them to be very helpful and user friendly. I have not had any other issues and use it all the time.
    Hope this helps anyone else looking for some honest input

    REPLY

    SavingStar says:
    June 7th, 2013 at 4:54 pm

    Thanks for using SavingStar Laura!

    Josh from SavingStar

  • Rating
      
    Was Not Credited says:

    November 4th, 2012 at 12:44 am

    Bought items and was not Credited. So I don’t think it’s worth getting into it. Maybe a new way of saving, but it just won’t work. It is a good idea to sell to some huge company, and make few mill. :) Good Luck Guys. Please post if you have luck with it!!

    REPLY

    SavingStar says:
    May 25th, 2013 at 8:09 pm

    Hi,

    The issue you experienced in the fall has been fixed and all savings post to your account in 2-22 days depending on the store you shop. Hopefully, you’ll try us out again to save money on your groceries.

    Josh from SavingStar

  • Rating
      
    Disappointed Shopper says:

    November 2nd, 2012 at 2:35 pm

    I too have bought several items listed on Savingstar’s site that were well within the time limits, and had saved several shopping cards at their site. I was NEVER credited for any of those items.

    In my opinion, they are gathering information about people’s spending habits and selling that infomation to vendors. That would be ok with me as long as the information they provide to vendors does not include names and addresses of us suckers who register with them (I hope they are not giving our specific information to vendors). AND, more importantly, if they actually would credit my account with the coupons I use.

    I want to cancel my registration with SavingStar, but there is no place on their site, that I can find, where I can do that. I’ve written to them telling them to cancel my account and to let me know when they do so. I’m sure that they will be really helpful because they been so good about crediting my account (sarcasm).

    Don’t waste your time with site.

    REPLY

    SavingStar says:
    May 25th, 2013 at 8:11 pm

    Hi,

    The issue you experienced in the fall has been fixed and all savings post in 2-22 days automatically. If we were not a legitimate service you wouldn’t see us working with major grocery brands and retailers. The service works. We also provide the grocery coupons for Upromise which is a service with millions of users. Hopefully you’ll try us out again to save money on your groceries.

    Josh from SavingStar

  • Rating
      
    gellegbs says:

    October 22nd, 2012 at 6:48 pm

    I bought several items and they never credited me. My shoppers cards are all saved and I made sure I bought the right items within the time limits, according to the offer at Saving Star.

    The reviewer who said “the small number of coupons offered are for junk or highly processed food items” is right. There is not much of a selection of “coupons” and you have to buy large amounts to qualify for any substantial amount of savings, which from my experience is a false promise.

    As for the reviewer who said she had a hard time with using the coupon binder shopping with kids, I see why. First off you have to be prepared, bringing a coupon binder is great for shopping alone or with a patient friend when you have loads of time to just browse sales. Otherwise you MUST MUST MUST have everything figured out before you hit the store. That is, what you are buying, how many and how much and double, triple and quadruple check the wording of the coupons and sales ads. I have 4 kids and Im a single mom and I coupon (not binder method) so I have PLENTY of experience. And yes you can save a ton and yes you get free or darn near close to free items almost every week. You just need to know how to shop and how to use coupons.

    REPLY

    SavingStar says:
    May 25th, 2013 at 8:12 pm

    Hi,

    The issue you experienced in the fall has been fixed and all savings post in 2-22 days automatically. If you search for reviews of SavingStar on coupon sites or check out our Facebook page, you can learn more. Hopefully you’ll try us out again to save money on your groceries.

    Josh from SavingStar

  • Rating
      
    Kesha T says:

    September 26th, 2012 at 1:48 pm

    Can it be a new way of saving?
    I think so~~~:)

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Andrea H says:

    August 9th, 2012 at 12:52 am

    I find that the small number of coupons offered are for junk or highly processed food items. I’m very disappointed with the small number of coupons offered, the quality of the food items, and the amount of time it takes for the savings to be posted to my account. I love the paperless concept, but they have to offer me many more coupons on a weekly basis to make me rave about it.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Jamina D says:

    July 1st, 2012 at 2:36 pm

    I have to admit, I’m not a big couponer. Going to the supermarket with 4 kids is already a challenge, and the last thing I need is to try to juggle a binder full of coupons. I tried it a few times and it just was not pretty. I had a 3 year old on one side tossing things into the wagon, a 2 year old on the other side tossing things on the floor,, a 12 year old who had wondered off and I had no idea where she was, and a 1 year old screaming his head off. On top of all of that I had a 2 inch binder full of tiny slips of paper that were suppose to save me loads of money… If only I could find the one that I needed right then, and right there. Yes! Found it! and my reward? A whole $.25 off when I buy 2. Nope. Couponing was just not for me.

    Imagine saving money on groceries with nothing to clip or print!!

    And then I found Savingstar. The difference with Savingsstar is that instead of lugging around coupons, they are uploaded to your supermarket affinity card. You know those little tag thingys we have on our keychains? You register with Savingstar with just an email and a password, and then type in the numbers from one of your loyalty tags. Then each week when new coupons come out you simply click and they are put on your loyalty card. No paper coupons to drag around.. No binders. No envelopes.

    And even better.. no meager savings of just $.50 here or $.25 there. Savingsstar pulls all of your savings together into a dollar amount (yes actual dollars not pennies) and then sends it to you either through paypal, Amazon gift card, or right into your bank account. Minimum pay out is only $5 and it’s just so much easier than paper coupons. You can also use their IPhone/Android app to activate coupons while you’re at the star which is helpful in case you’ve forgotten to do so ahead of time or have forgotten which coupons you’ve already selected. So if you’re in the store and need to buy something you can quickly scan the app, select the coupon and poof, its on your card and you get the savings.

    Easy to sign up- just an email, a password and a loyalty card number. Instant savings. Total convenience.

    REPLY

Add Your Review



Your Comment:

Choose a Rating

Please Write Your ReviewRead Review Guidelines