ShopAtHome.com Reviews
Is Shop At Home Legit or a Scam?

 

Shop At HomeShopAtHome.com is another website offering coupons and discounts to customers who shop at their website instead of directly at the store.  Shop At Home claims to link its customers to over 3,000 different retailers and over 700 different magazines and e-newsletters.

In addition to offering coupons and special deals, Shop At Home has a Cash Back rebate program where they allow you to earn up to 35% of the money you have spent shopping on their site in a rebate check.  You may get a rebate check up to 12 times in one year, though you must wait until you have accrued at least $20.00 in your Cash Back account before you can request a check to be mailed to you.

While many customers seem satisfied with the number of retailers linked to ShopAtHome.com and the various coupons and discounts they provide, there are some complaints about ShopAtHome.com worth mentioning.

First, people have claimed that they have difficulties receiving the rebate checks once they’ve requested them.  One customer commented that he requested a check when he had reached $28, but he never received the check and his account continued to grow with each new order.  But once his account reached $35, suddenly the balance dropped to $0 and he never received a check.  After multiple calls to Shop At Home, this issue still hadn’t been resolved.

Another customer complained that after trying multiple times to order a product online and being told her card was declined, she called customer service and the service rep told her it was a website malfunction and he would place the order over the phone.  A week later, her card was charged over $2,000 for her repeated attempts to order the product online.

When she called Shop At Home customer service, she was told that it was her responsibility to cancel each individual online order, even though she had originally been told that her card was not accepted, therefore no order was made.  When she asked why the customer service rep who placed her order never explained that to her, she was told that the rep wouldn’t give that information unless “specifically asked.”

In general, it seems that Shop At Home’s biggest problem is its customer service department.  Customers generally report good satisfaction with their stores and discounts, but when they do have a problem and must deal with customer service, that’s when the problems begin.


 

Would you like to add your review for
Shop At Home ?
If so, click here
 
Share This Page!

 

Customer Responses, Reviews, or Complaints


Average Rating for " Shop At Home " is 1.75 out of 5 based on 75 reviews.

  • Rating
      
    Lee says:

    August 19th, 2014 at 6:02 pm

    It is clear Shopathome gets paid for click throughs and doesn’t pay out when it’s received. On several occasions, I had to follow up to find out why. Apologetically, they say they are crediting it my account but state they never got paid for it. Why is this only happening with Shopathome and not Fatwallet, Topcashback, MrRebates or Discover. When this issue is raised to Customer Service Manager Annette Nueske, Manager personally, she states those are all courtesy credits. Really? How about paying out without people having to submit a ticket on it. Additionally, on one occasion, they advertise 4% cashback at TigerDirect but in the fine print it say 4% is for “targeted Samsung products” and everything else is 1%. So, 1 item out of 1 million items allows them to post 4% is the payout. Why not post the 1% as the main payout and 4% for a select few items. She states it is within their right to post “up to 4%”. Don’t know about you but that’s pretty deceptive in practice. Clearly good customer service starts from the top down and when the manager feels such practices are legit, it makes you wonder. Judging by all the poor reviews here and other places, it shows where Shopathome stands on customer service. I for one will not be choosing them for primary cashback. Fair warning for other’s-when you see their creative “UP TO” listing on cashback. Make sure you realize you’ll probably get the lowest possible payout on your item and that the max is reserved to 99.9% of orders placed. Don’t fall for that trick! There are plenty of other sites who pay the full percentage without all the fine print to hide behind.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    trebor says:

    August 18th, 2014 at 11:32 am

    Placed an order. Got an EMail order confirmation. No notification of shipping status or how to track status of the order. Called both customer service and the phone order lines multiple times but got a recorded message that they unavailable. Very poor customer service. In the meantime I don’t even know if they are shipping my order. Bad way to do business!

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    sandy says:

    August 11th, 2014 at 2:59 pm

    I have been using Fatwallet’s site for cash back since 2008 and have never had an issue. There are several stores that Fatwallet doesn’t have or Shopathome.com has significantly higher % back. I started using them 3 years ago and have had my two largest purchases not receive any cash back.
    Purposefully, I don’t have any software installed from any cash back sites, so that my purchases don’t get hijacked by another site inadvertantly. I always shut down all windows and add items fresh to the cart.
    Even though shopathome.com has the track back dates, time, site, and number (they coincide with my purchases), they have said I purchased these two items thru another site. I’m so over this site.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Tina says:

    July 29th, 2014 at 11:48 am

    I have used ShopAtHome for years with very little issues, but for about the last year, I have had nothing but problems with them. I hardly ever get credited with my purchases, so I will have to email them. You have to wait thirty days to email them about any missing cash back and then they MIGHT credit you! It has become too much of a hassle to use them! There are other cash back sites that give you your money quicker and have better customer service!

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    baad_vibes says:

    July 26th, 2014 at 1:28 pm

    They suckered me in with an offer of a coupon that I searched for on line and then when I had installed this annoying toolbar, the coupon was not there. THEY ARE BAIT AND SWITCH FIENDS. I recommend staying away from this bogus coupon source. I can’t say anything about the rebates. I haven’t tried it and I won’t. STAY AWAY!!!

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Nicole says:

    July 15th, 2014 at 6:34 pm

    This is the worst!! My true rating is really a zero but it wasn’t one of the choices. ShopAtHome was installing on my computer and never seemed to complete installation so I proceeded to uninstall. Now it is installing and uninstalling at the same time and my computer is acting all @#$%&! up. I was not the one who tried installing it in the first place and I can’t even do damage control as it is impossible! I will probably have to bring my computer in to get it serviced thanks to this bs ShopAtHome.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Lisa says:

    July 1st, 2014 at 7:22 pm

    They promise coupons (five in this case), but require you to sign up just to see them. I was foolish enough to do so – then they say they have nothing for the business I want, but they have lots more…. (Now that they are ;in’ my computer, I just hope they are not going to wreak havoc.) *** BEWARE – SHOPATHOME IS JUST ANOTHER A SCAM! ***

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Texas Spartan says:

    June 12th, 2014 at 2:25 pm

    Avoid this site…They install software (spyware) on your computer and then it is impossible to remove…

    REPLY

    Leah says:
    August 2nd, 2014 at 6:00 pm

    I have recently looked into shopathome to try to save some money as I am a single mother of 2 going to nursing school full time. Although Shopathome appears to be a wonderful deal for someone like me, I am no sucker. So I did my homework and feel upon these comments. My specific question is, has the spyware caused any issues with your computer or accounts. Do you know of any legit coupon sites?
    Thank you!

  • Rating
      
    irritated says:

    May 20th, 2014 at 7:56 pm

    This site is a total creep. The site kept asking me if I wanted the “new” version or continue with the old. I ignored this for weeks and then finally it wouldn’t go away so I just picked continue with old version. Well, it quickly changed my choice to new version before it clicked out.

    TOTAL SCAM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    KITTY CAT says:

    March 30th, 2014 at 8:42 am

    DOWNLOAD EVERYTHING ASKED FOR AND NOTHING THIS SITE SUCKS, THEY ONLY WANT YOUR INFO. TO GET MANUFACTURERS TO USE THEY…

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    John P says:

    March 26th, 2014 at 1:36 pm

    Shopathome has been fine for me. They have sent me roughly $800 in the 6 months I’ve been using them. The credit card issues other reviews mention don’t make sense as shopathome doesn’t process your payment, it’s a link to the site your purchasing from… say target.com and you are given a percentage for going through shopathome.
    Payments are behind about 2 months that’s true but it is usually for example January purchases pay out on March or April 1st. I have returned online purchases and I think the 2 month delay is for these kinds of adjustments.
    Regarding the coupon toolbar… I have not used it.. but for purchase rebates, all is good for me.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    SeptemberMoon says:

    February 18th, 2014 at 12:37 am

    Worst coupon site ever. Every time you go to print coupons it asks you to install the toolbar even if it’s already installed and then the coupons don’t print. Customer service is no help whatsoever. AVOID!!!!

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    bethany says:

    February 10th, 2014 at 8:54 am

    Horrible…..they want you to install this, install that and then the coupons do not print! Big mistake on my part! grocerycouponcart.com ios way better!! Uninstalling now!!!

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    yvonne says:

    February 9th, 2014 at 8:33 pm

    Well first I don’t like having my whole toolbar row on top of screen full of things I can’ get to. Have tried 4 times to get coupons and still have nothing. I just want rid of this lovely(joke) site forever.Will never have a good word to say about this except for goodbye.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Carol says:

    January 12th, 2014 at 4:40 pm

    How can I get rid of it????????????????????

    REPLY

    suspicious.. says:
    January 16th, 2014 at 12:01 pm

    DO NOT SHOP OR DOWNLOAD
    ***SCAM***
    First, go to ur e-mail and create ‘rules’ for incoming e-mail and block them AND anyone else who is sending u unwanted e-mail. Now, START to complain!! persistance is a must…start taking names, dates and times, don’t forget to Block ur phone # b4 you call… *67 then their number
    or the qickest easiest way is to just get another email account and ignore it, good luck!!
    Did u know that if the B.B.B. gets 5 complaints in a week they actually investigate the company!
    ***SCAM***

    suspicious.. says:
    January 16th, 2014 at 11:46 am

    first, go to ur e-mail and create ‘rules’ for incoming e-mail and block them AND anyone else who is sending u unwanted e-mail. Now, START to complain!! persistance is a must…start taking names, dates and times, don’t forget to Block ur phone # b4 you call… *67 then their number…
    or the qickest easiest way is to just get another email account, good luck!!

  • Rating
      
    VegasSmitty says:

    December 12th, 2013 at 6:56 pm

    Any company that needs to install something on your computer prior to purchase is trying to rip you off. If you can’t see that, you shouldn’t be online!

    REPLY

    suspicious.. says:
    January 15th, 2014 at 5:23 pm

    i was concerned when they asked me to unblock them from ‘SPAM’ e-mail..!! get smart people…

  • Rating
      
    Jessica says:

    December 10th, 2013 at 1:07 am

    First I think its ridiculous to have to install a particular “coupon printer”, which I did and was still prompted to do 3 more times. After I finally managed that dilemma, I was told I did not have Java (that I had actually downloaded 20 minutes prior for another site). Now before I can move on to print I am being asked to “run” the toolbar which I did not agree to install. Upon pressing do not run, or simply “x” out I am taken back to the home page to start over. I am also getting a script error which I have never had on this computer or any other websites before. I have come to the point of giving up. Not worth anymore of my time. I will never use or recommend this horrible site to anyone! I feel this is almost “virus-like” to have on my computer.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    jane says:

    December 4th, 2013 at 12:19 am

    I cant get it off my computer

    REPLY

    suspicious.. says:
    January 16th, 2014 at 12:08 pm

    just get another e-mail address…

  • Rating
      
    Oni says:

    December 2nd, 2013 at 11:14 pm

    Their extension was installed on my PC without my express permission, this is unacceptable.

    Only a scam would resort to shady tactics like that.

    REPLY

    suspicious.. says:
    January 16th, 2014 at 12:17 pm

    B.B.B

    jane says:
    December 4th, 2013 at 12:22 am

    please take me off. uninstall please

  • Rating
      
    Amy says:

    September 9th, 2013 at 6:03 pm

    I think the people who are giving ShopAtHome.com a bad rating are just confused or not using it properly… It’s not actually very hard to use, though. I have used it many times and never had ANY trouble. I recently got a check for $23. I use it for all of my online purchases, because it’s so easy. It’s legit!
    I know there is another website called Shop At Home that is DIFFERENT and not affiliated with ShopAtHome.com – maybe that is where some of the confusion is coming from? Anyway, I have only had good experiences.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    john says:

    July 26th, 2013 at 9:04 am

    These guys were part of the downloads from a site spoofing mycokerewards.com that put malware on my PC and auto subscribed me to a $9.99/mo text site. Watch out – they’ve got to be scamming since they’re associated with other bogus sites and fraud.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Sandra says:

    June 21st, 2013 at 2:56 pm

    I began using shoptathome and I accumulated roughly $200 in two months time (I spend ALOT) and thought ‘hey, this website provides cashback on my purchases, this is great’. Last week, I received an email stating they were closing my account for some odd reason and they were not going to send me a check for the amount I accumulated in my shopathome account. If I had known they were just going to close my account, I would have used other sites like mrrebate or ebates. I’m never using this site again and I highly recommend others to keep away as well.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    LAJ says:

    June 19th, 2013 at 12:18 am

    OMG- what a terrible mistake I made! I should have looked at this website 1st!! Something I did notice that I thought was interesting- ALL of the high reviews somehow manage to give a lecture on the correct process of using the website. How coincidental is that!? (We are on to you!!!) I am totally down with the “the only people who write good reviews are people who work for the company” theory! It’s just a nightmare for the average person- WHY DOES A CONSUMER HAVE TO WORK SO HARD TO TRY TO GET WHAT THE COMPANY AGREED TO GIVE THEM?!

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    gloria says:

    June 3rd, 2013 at 8:06 pm

    I don’t know how this toolbar was installed on my computer. I don’t even use coupons! Horrible!

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Jack says:

    May 29th, 2013 at 3:12 pm

    Puts programs on your pc that you DON’T WANT

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Charles says:

    April 21st, 2013 at 4:16 pm

    Kelly porbably does get the money she says she does, its more than likely what they are paying her to help them con more people into downloading their spyware.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Charles says:

    April 21st, 2013 at 4:04 pm

    I think it should be illegal to do what shop at home does, once you install their software, they have you, you can not simply uninstall it, i had to reinstall windows to remove it from my computer. I fail to understand why people would say this is a good thing, it is an invasion of privacy, a background program gathers information from websites that you visit and sends the info somewhere over the internet. This is better known as spy-ware. They gather info about you from the websites you visit, and it wouldn’t supprise me if they don’t have info about your friends from your address book from what ever email account that you use.

    REPLY

    suspicious.. says:
    January 16th, 2014 at 12:15 pm

    omg, I thought it was an easier fix,I just felt uncomfortable removing them from spam, there is a reason I have it going to spam b4 I even signed up!

  • Rating
      
    Angel says:

    April 5th, 2013 at 4:19 pm

    NEVER SHOP FROM THIS SITE :

    This website looks like a SCAM to me, they don’t issue the cashback points in your account, by giving some false reasons. It has happened in my case, I contacted the merchant from which I had ordered few items via shopathome.com, and the merchant told me that they have made the payment already to shopathome, and these crappy guys are keeping my money by saying that the merchant has an issue with the cashback rebate. Worst customer service ever! They even issue the certain amount of cashback in the account first, send the email and delete it from the account after few days when they see that the total is approaching to $20 and they would have to issue the cashback checque to the customers. Sheer bullshit! They must improve their customer service or else the day wouldn’t be far when they have to close the doors.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Judy Ann says:

    April 5th, 2013 at 11:26 am

    I’ve received all my checks and when I’ve notified them that another rebate site is higher than theirs, they quickly match plus give me another 1/2% extra. I have been using this site for over a year and they are almost always a percent higher than other sites. You do have to realize that you are responsible for online charges/declines – that really doesn’t have anything to do with Shop At Home; they are merely a link to online retailers. I’ve been very happy with them.

    REPLY

    ejchi says:
    July 14th, 2013 at 1:13 pm

    sorry to tell you but you wonderful company is scamming you (or yourself). They are giving this person 110%.
    ((Miranda says:
    February 7th, 2013 at 9:29 am )

    I love Shopathome.com. I have rec’d over $200 in checks from them already and I have only been a member for less than a year. They also have the “find a better cash back offer, we’ll beat it 110%”. I have used that option many times and I have rec’d the additional cash back. I shop online all the time, I might as well get paid for it. Just remember that you MUST verify your address and that your cash back has to be a minimum of $20 to get a check mailed to you.)

  • Rating
      
    Bob says:

    March 31st, 2013 at 10:05 am

    I always chose them for my cashback purchasing since they promised higher rates than anyone else on my merchant choices. Unfortunately after accumulating aorund $40, they claim to have mailed my check to my verified address but after a month nothing has shown.

    This is in line with what other reviews warned me about. It would have been smarter for me to take a smaller check from a more reliable cashback site. I would have been much farther ahead.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    katie carlson says:

    March 30th, 2013 at 9:30 pm

    I tried to get a restaurant coupon & they asked for my cell number so they could give me a pin # to enter for the coupon. First of all the pin didn’t work & most importantly, they stole $9.99 from me on my cell phone. These people belong in jail. They just want to get as many cell phone numbers in whatever lie they can think of & then illegally charge you for something you did not agree to at all. THEY BELONG IN JAIL.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Karensky says:

    March 24th, 2013 at 11:25 pm

    After reading the other comments, I am so glad I did NOT install the toolbar. I “unsubscribed” the same day that I subscribed — too many problems & too much garbage started appearing immediately on my computer–I could not believe it! Of course, there is the fine print that says even after you UNSUBSCRIBE, it may not take place for up to 6 weeks! So, I still have all of these ads & crap popping up all the time & there is no way to stop it. What happens after 6 weeks and it is still there? I have been looking for someway to contact the company (you know — a real street address), but haven’t found it yet. I would certainly like to write and give them a piece of my mind. I wish I had never heard of this company.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Jeremy says:

    March 12th, 2013 at 12:01 pm

    Also, I want to note that if it asks for your cell phone number, please do not give it. I was told I would receive a coupon for Texas de Brazil if I enetered my cell phone. Just got a charge for a subscription. Never received the coupon. I do not know if this was a popup or actually their website. Either way, that would not have happened if I would have just never installed that toolbar. Plus 2 out of 5 for a review is a very poor rating. Wish I would’ve looked at this first.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Jeremy says:

    March 12th, 2013 at 11:44 am

    Please do not install. It is difficult to remove the toolbar.
    I was also charged $9.99 for a subscription from a pop up that occurred. While this might not happen to everyone, it happened to me and caused me a headache to have to call my carrier to remove the charges. If you want coupons, you will have better luck buying a Sunday paper. There has to be something illegal there.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Kimmi says:

    March 11th, 2013 at 10:06 am

    I always find good coupon codes for on-line shopping. Just got my first rebate check from Christmas shopping. You do have to make sure they have your address and checks are sent like 4 times a year according to their website. I even got cash back on Walmart purchases thru their toolbar.

    REPLY

    beaverhead says:
    July 23rd, 2013 at 1:00 am

    you work for the company. get a life.

  • Rating
      
    Jay says:

    March 4th, 2013 at 8:16 am

    Get off this site & stay away from it at all cost!!!!!

    BIG SCAM!!! YOU NEVER GET PAY> ALL THE 5-STAR RATING HERE ARE BY THEIR EMPOLYEE……JUST READ AT THEM & YOU SEE THEY ARE FORM WRITTEN BY SAME PERSON!!!!

    USE ebates, mrrebates, fatwallet or BigCrumbs. This site is definitely a scam if you compare to any of those I listed.

    How the hell the government allow such scam to state in business!!!

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Miranda says:

    February 7th, 2013 at 9:29 am

    I love Shopathome.com. I have rec’d over $200 in checks from them already and I have only been a member for less than a year. They also have the “find a better cash back offer, we’ll beat it 110%”. I have used that option many times and I have rec’d the additional cash back. I shop online all the time, I might as well get paid for it. Just remember that you MUST verify your address and that your cash back has to be a minimum of $20 to get a check mailed to you.

    REPLY

    ejchi says:
    July 14th, 2013 at 1:11 pm

    You say their website offers 110% but why did this other reviewer only get 100 + 1/2%? ((Judy Ann says:
    April 5th, 2013 at 11:26 am
    (I’ve received all my checks and when I’ve notified them that another rebate site is higher than theirs, they quickly match plus give me another 1/2% extra. I have been using this site for over a year and they are almost always a percent higher than other sites. You do have to realize that you are responsible for online charges/declines – that really doesn’t have anything to do with Shop At Home; they are merely a link to online retailers. I’ve been very happy with them.)

    LM says:
    April 21st, 2013 at 11:48 am

    Sure.

  • Rating
      
    chris says:

    February 4th, 2013 at 1:59 pm

    Up until today I would have given a higher rating- but now I can’t even get to their website and the only phone number listed rings 3 times then disconnects. I hope they are legit becuase I have almost #30 in rebates coming.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Kelly Risse says:

    January 30th, 2013 at 7:31 am

    To me there’s nothing better than earning cash to use websites I am going to purchase things from to begin with. The only downside is going through Shop At Home isn’t enough. You also have to use their code. Don’t expect cash back if you use another code from another source, even the store itself. This is seldom a problem.

    ***** Also there is a process that is simple to get your check! IT IS NOT SENT AUTOMATICALLY. READ THE DIRECTIONS!

    REPLY

    ejchi says:
    July 14th, 2013 at 1:14 pm

    Thank you Mrs. ShopAtHome.com

  • Rating
      
    Peggy says:

    January 25th, 2013 at 3:31 pm

    I gave up with this site and all similar websites. Never received
    any check from them. All of them are the same — the time and
    effort put in to calling customer service is not worth my time

    REPLY

    ejchi says:
    July 14th, 2013 at 1:16 pm

    reply to Kelly below: if you must follow the directions ( which is why others are not getting their rebates… how did you have errors and still get it?

    kELLY says:
    January 30th, 2013 at 7:34 am

    I have earned $250. Even once there were some errors on my part. I sent receipts and got my cashback! There are direction you must follow, that are easy, to get your check.

  • Rating
      
    Robert B. says:

    January 1st, 2013 at 4:28 pm

    It’s a scam designed to lure unsuspecting web shoppers into it. Don’t install!

    REPLY

    Charles says:
    April 21st, 2013 at 4:13 pm

    Kelly is one of the people that rate shop at home 5 stars. she is probably working for shop at home. The people that work for shop at home should be procecuted. what they do should be illegal.

    kELLY says:
    January 30th, 2013 at 7:35 am

    For what reason are they luring people?

  • Rating
      
    Diana says:

    December 11th, 2012 at 10:11 am

    How do I get this toolbar off my computer I went to add and remove programs but could not find it. This is a pain! If you have any sense at all run and get away from this site.

    REPLY

    ejchi says:
    July 14th, 2013 at 1:18 pm

    Kelly… ask you boss how.

    Charles says:
    April 21st, 2013 at 3:48 pm

    I can’t help but be suspecious of the people that rate shop at home so highly, i don’t see any reveiws that indicate that shop at home is good, only the ones that say it is exceptionally great. All the reviews are one extreme or the other. I cant help but believe that the great reviews are from people that work for shop at home.

    kELLY says:
    January 30th, 2013 at 7:39 am

    I have earned $250. Even once there were some errors on my part. I sent receipts and got my cashback! There are direction you must follow, that are easy, to get your check. Customer service always send answers or instructions that i inquire about.

    I am actually trying to find out how to reinstall it after changing computers. I need to write them. It is an alert that there is cashback for the item or company your are buying from. It is fabulous if you want my opinion.

    Linda says:
    December 30th, 2012 at 11:43 am

    When you learn how to Please let me know too. I am so annoyed by this pop up. I believe its a scam.

    Linda Rangel

  • Rating
      
    Paula L. says:

    December 9th, 2012 at 9:58 pm

    I tried other rebate websites previous to Shop at Home and had a lot of trouble collecting my rebates, I was constantly writing to them requesting a search as to where my money was. I signed up with ShopatHome.com in December of 2010 and have received over $420 in rebates from shopping through their site. I keep a list of my purchases to keep a record of the date of purchase, order number, percent rebate I am due, which store I purchased from & my trackback numbers. If my rebate does not show up within 45 days, I contact them with the costomer service email form that requires all the information that I record. I have had very good results with my requests, but one does have to be diligent about keeping track of purchases.

    REPLY

    Charles says:
    April 21st, 2013 at 3:50 pm

    Why would you have to be so diligent about what they already owe you?

  • Rating
      
    M Mitchell says:

    November 13th, 2012 at 1:02 pm

    How can I get rid of this garbage on my computer?

    REPLY

    Charles says:
    April 21st, 2013 at 3:43 pm

    I would suggest reinstalling windows, or what ever operating system you are using, its the only way that worked for me.

  • Rating
      
    Alicia Brown says:

    October 28th, 2012 at 7:43 pm

    The local coupons are terrible. Never heard of any of the stores. Can’t print coupons because they tell me I don’t have the toolbar. When it says download toolbar and I get to it there is no toolbar to download only an app. I agree with everyone else that it is a scam and they are trying to find out info on you. Be careful.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Bonnie says:

    September 8th, 2012 at 11:16 am

    They dont have a good reputation. They either build or contract out with fake site spammers like kohlscoupons2012.net,kohlscouponsx.net, thecouponhustler.com awww.couponruby.com, to collect your phone number and to get you to install their toolbar.

    You’ll see sites like these common. They build them overnight – get’s banned in google and then another peculiar site pops up under a different name.

    One common theme they use is trying to lure customers into signing up for their “50% Off Coupon.” The truth is that this coupon is a unicorn – it doesn’t exist.

    REPLY

    ejchi says:
    July 14th, 2013 at 1:21 pm

    Kelly: how do you use a coupon daily that is offered as a sign up promotion?

    kELLY says:
    January 30th, 2013 at 7:48 am

    Hmmm… Not true. I use it daily, and have made $250, and it would be much more if i remembered to use it. That is why the toolbar is important. A lot of people do not read directions, which explicitly states how to claim your money. Just be sure you go through their website and use their code! I am actually trying to find out how to reinstall it the toobar after changing computers. It has an alert that there is cashback for the store you are shopping at.

  • Rating
      
    cl says:

    August 16th, 2012 at 9:25 am

    Run as fast as you can. I was trying to get a coupon and they robbed my computer. Everytime I try to pull up a website they grab me. They are a fraud. Should be illegal. Please stay away from this group of scum!!!

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    gleebs says:

    August 6th, 2012 at 2:22 am

    They sell your personal information even before you agree to their membership (EULA) terms. STAY WELL AWAY OR YOU WILL BE SPAMMED THEN SCAMMED! Once type in your email you might as well wipe your hard drive clean (reinstall windows),cancel your cell phone plan (pay the ETF it’s worth it). Don’t forget to change your email account too. Might as well change your name and move to Argentina.
    Interesting how BBB gives them an A+ rating with only 27 complaints since 2006? Both are in CO. what a coincidence. I guess they put a block on outgoing email to BBB after you install their software. Can’t contact them either. Their contact:http://www.shopathome.com/Contact.aspx NOT A VALID EMAIL. Go to there site www.shopathome.com and choose a menu option. Good luck!
    Save your money for anti-virus software… Corporate criminals are everywhere. Nice country America.

    REPLY

    ejchi says:
    July 14th, 2013 at 1:23 pm

    Kelly: you confuse using the site and working for the site.

    kELLY says:
    January 30th, 2013 at 7:50 am

    I’ve been using it for well over a year and have not experienced anything you have said.

  • Rating
      
    Kali says:

    July 31st, 2012 at 8:41 pm

    One star for the trolls. In all seriousness, I tried this company, and didn’t like the system. The rewards are vague and seem sketchy to me, frankly. I also had issues with getting rebates on offers through Shopathome, which was the point that I uninstalled the toolbar.

    I’ve used Ebates successfully, and decided to give this one a trial run. I’ve since gone back to Ebates, though I am still willing to try other similar sites.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Stan says:

    July 20th, 2012 at 1:02 pm

    Well, Donna… as inarticulate and crude as you are, I appreciate your feedback and commentary; I will take it to heart. This is the problem with online reviews, and the Internet in general: ANYONE can comment, including store and company employees.

    They’re what’s known (in the old days, for all of us old-timers :0) as “shills” – in sales; a shill is defined by Wikipedia as “noun: 1.) A person who poses as a customer in order to decoy others into participating, as at a gambling house, auction, confidence game, etc. 2.) A person who publicizes or praises something or someone for reasons of self-interest, personal profit, or friendship or loyalty.

    REPLY

    Alicia Brown says:
    October 28th, 2012 at 7:46 pm

    Bullcrap

  • Rating
      
    Roger G. says:

    June 21st, 2012 at 12:09 pm

    Shop At Home is legitimate. I have been dealing with them for 3 years and got back about $200 (cash back). The cash back % is usually higher than with any other cash back websites. However I prefer Ebates. I have never had any problem with Ebates, they always and promptly credit my account. I have experienced many problems with Shop At Home: either they don’t credit my account at all, or they give me less than expected. For example, a few days ago, I placed an order on Kohl’s though Shop At Home and the cash back % was 10%. They only gave me 2%. I had to contact them. I do believe that all the mistakes they make are not… mistakes. They are intentional. This is the reason why I am very careful when I deal with them and I make sure I get what I deserve.

    REPLY

    Charles says:
    April 21st, 2013 at 4:22 pm

    You’re as bad as they are, and i think you should be procecuted too.

  • Rating
      
    KT says:

    March 15th, 2012 at 8:15 am

    A scam for sure!!! Never did get samples or coupons, just a lot of junk mail!!!!!

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    T McTavish says:

    March 14th, 2012 at 6:08 pm

    I have not had any problems with shopathome or its toolbar.I have recd my checks on time.You must verify your address before they will send you your monthly check.Keep reviewing your acct before the end of the month,after you do,you have to check your mailing address and it will show verified after you look at your acct.anything over $20.00 is sent to you each month.It is sent after the end of month is over.You can delete toolbar anytime,as I have not had any problems deleting toolbar. It just sounds like a lot of frustrated customers too anxious to delete toolbar,and not doing something right.Same with the cash back,you must verify your mailing address before end of month,or no check will be mailed out,the amount will roll over the next month.Anything under $20.00 is not sent out til it reaches over 20.00 and after it reaches it,anything over $20.00 is mailed out,but only after it reaches $20.00 and over each month.This is my first time to try anything like this with coupons,and I have not had any problems getting points added up correctly.I have been told I should not load the toolbar onto my computer,only use it when I want the points when shopping.I add it to bookmarks,and use it when I am shopping online as needed.Only yourself are suppose to uninstall your own toolbar from your computer.It just takes patients to understand what to do.Sorry everyone is having a tough time with shopathome site.I really have no complaints.

    REPLY

    ejchi says:
    July 14th, 2013 at 1:29 pm

    Ah ha the reason no one ‘real’ is getting a check if because they only send them out “after the end of the month is over” … kind of like tomorrow, it is always a day away!

    Charles says:
    April 21st, 2013 at 4:27 pm

    I agree with Donna. you shouldn’t have to be a computer expert to uninstall their software, it took patience for me to backup all the data on my computer before reinstalling windows, repartitioning and formatting my computer and reinstalling windows was the only way that i could completely remove the software.

    donna says:
    May 8th, 2012 at 5:07 pm

    screw you ……you work for them guys are just happy to see people end up with a virus on their puter……..your a chump you chump!

  • Rating
      
    Renee says:

    March 8th, 2012 at 9:51 am

    I gave this site 4 stars because I use it for coupon printing ONLY. I would have given them 5 stars, except it isn’t user friendly. They have combined the coupons that I usually have to go to different sites to access. I have not ordered anything through them, and based on these reviews, I won’t. I’ve used Ebates for a few years with no problems. Their customer service is the best, and they quickly sent a check to replace the one I’d lost.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Daniel Deweese says:

    February 2nd, 2012 at 10:14 pm

    How in the world do you get off their list. I do not want anything they have and it is really a pain every time I try and open an email they pop up. Help Help get rid of them.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    paul says:

    January 27th, 2012 at 5:16 pm

    This site sucks in spades .. Good luck getting it out of your PC…

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    hotsir says:

    January 10th, 2012 at 10:18 pm

    site sucks, steer clear or keep close tabs on your purchases and get ready to waste a lot of time following up

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    stephanie says:

    January 8th, 2012 at 12:29 am

    I added the toolbar as well, and if you use it you get less of a rebate than if you go straight through their site…To get rid of the toolbar click on tools, manage add-ons, and then find the shopathome toolbar and disable it. I have been tricked with their promises of high rebates only to find out my purchase was only good for a smaller rebate. You have to check the specifics of each purchase. I like EBATES the best. They cut you a check even if you only earned a few bucks. And they are honest, and true to their promotions.

    REPLY

    Renee says:
    March 8th, 2012 at 9:55 am

    I too like Ebates. They send you a check when you’re account has reached $10, and their customer service is the best!

  • Rating
      
    Dan says:

    November 23rd, 2011 at 1:11 am

    My experience with the service has been excellent. Particularly purchasing more expensive items for the cash back. Purchases are not made through shopathome.com. The merchants pay shopathome a commission and then shopathome shares that payment with it’s members. If a purchase goes awry that would be an issue between the buyer and merchant. It does take a while to get your check, and you do need to get past a certain amount before a check is cut. The account section is pretty good at showing your purchases, balance and payment schedule. My one dealing with customer service was reasonable. I haven’t installed the toolbar.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Merry says:

    October 19th, 2011 at 9:28 am

    Just had to add my recent experience. I’ve used Ebates for approximately 10 years now with no problems–until this year. I noticed that all my purchases made through Hot Topic (over $4,000) were not being credited. After days of finding some way to contact customer service–which was no easy task–I was told I had to go into my account w/HT and match all purchases w/Ebates tracking numbers and fax them. After tons of work, they finally agreed to send me $160 as a settlement amount.

    They blamed Hot Topic for not paying them. Then, when I mentioned that I was contacting HT, they said it was a setting on my computer. Somehow, I have some mystery setting that does not effect any other site purchases?? It is still happening. I thought I’d try to do my yearly shopping through them again, as this was the only issue I’d ever had, hoping it would work out. The same thing has happened. I am now owed $80, and they are stating flat out that they will not be paying.

    Again, the merchant hadn’t paid them–not true. Now, as of yesterday, we’re going back to blaming my computer settings–not true. I’m now trying to find a site that will honor what they say. Hot Topic is now involved and is assisting me into looking into this. FatWallet flat out states, “You may not get paid, if we don’t get paid”. One customer review on Disney states they never got paid. I think this is the way of these sites now. A big rip off! If anyone knows of a true legit site, please let me know!

    REPLY
  • Otis MyDoggie says:

    October 19th, 2011 at 9:25 am

    I too, wanted ONLY the coupons. But before I downloaded the toolbar, I read the reviews. Just as I expected! They will NOT get me to join in their SCAM. Sorry for the rest of you guys. Hope they get shut down for cheating the people.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Soo says:

    October 12th, 2011 at 3:12 pm

    I was looking for grocery coupons and made the mistake of downloading their toolbar, which was a requirement of getting access to the coupons. Now every time I type an address into my address bar I wind up at the shopathome web site instead of where I want to go. Miserable. Oh – and their coupons stink, too.

    REPLY

    Charles says:
    April 21st, 2013 at 4:34 pm

    i wish you could just delete it, you have to format your computer and reinstall windows.

    barb says:
    November 21st, 2012 at 9:55 pm

    to adam, DUH…..you can’t get rid of it. you can uninstall but its useless. STAY AWAY FROM SHOP AT HOME!!!!!!!! DO NOT PUT TOOLBAR ON YOUR COMPUTER BECAUSE IT HIJACKS YOUR COMPUTER AND YOU CANNOT GET IT OFF!!!!I HATE THIS PLACE WITH A PASSION, I HAVE SPENT HOURS TRYING TO GET GOOGLE SEARCH BACK ON MY COMPUTER BUT TO NO AVAIL.

    gleebs says:
    August 6th, 2012 at 2:45 am

    It’s pretty obvious reading 95 percent of these posts that this outfit is simply a ripoff and not worth the trouble to say the least. Sorry for all your troubles everyone except for Adam who did not hear the announcement to not drink the red Kool Aid.

    Adam says:
    July 26th, 2012 at 4:13 pm

    if you have that big of a problem with it just delete it then.

  • Rating
      
    Peter G says:

    October 11th, 2011 at 1:05 pm

    Forget this site and use Ebates / BigCrumbs instead, they are definitely more reliable. I had to repeatedly hound customer service to credit my cashback for $20.

    After sending 3 emails to customer support via the online form, 70 days later, I gave up and send an email directly to service@shopathome.com. I stated in the email that I would file a ripoff report if the cashback wasn’t credited. Got a reply the next day in the email and was subsequently credited for the cashback amount.

    The whole customer experience left a bad taste in my mouth and I’d never use them again, despite the higher than average cashback advertised on the site.

    REPLY

    Mike W. says:
    October 27th, 2011 at 8:44 pm

    You can try us as well at Nanoosa.com. We have been in business for a year but we have received very high ratings from our members. We have fast customer service and some of the highest cashback rates in the business.

  • Rating
      
    Daniel says:

    October 11th, 2011 at 12:37 pm

    The Better Business Bureau is a great way to lodge a complaint. Make sure you follow through to the BBB via their website/email if they send any responses. If you don’t follow-up, they will close it as “resolved.”

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    shopathome says:

    October 10th, 2011 at 9:03 pm

    Used this site a few times, noticed my cash back wasn’t appearing after I purchased through their links, costumer support was non-existent. Ebates and nanoosa are much more dependable, these scammers at shopathome won’t be getting anymore business from me.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    mimi says:

    October 7th, 2011 at 11:08 am

    I, too, feel it is a SCAM. Very few merchants that I made purchases through actually show a rebate. I probably have purchased $1000 to $2000 and haven’t seen it show up as a rebate. Emailed shop at home with the tracking numbers and all info and have heard nothing!!! Wonder why legal action is never taken against this website. The way I see it many users aren’t getting the money they were promised. If the retailers agree to offer cash back to the customers that purchase through this website, then where is that cash back money going? I haven’t seen any of mine and it isn’t even listed under my account yet I made the purchases with tracking numbers. Yes, I believe a scam, and either their Customer Service dept needs some fixing or someone needs to investigate this company and give the money back to us consumers that made purchases with a promise to receive money back.

    REPLY

    ejchi says:
    July 14th, 2013 at 1:35 pm

    Lindsey: you have it backwards… a few people are not having problems millions are.

    Lindsey Moats says:
    July 26th, 2012 at 4:12 pm

    Just because an item is on Shopathome’s website does not mean it has affiliated cash back. If you choose not to read the fine print then it is nobody’s fault but your own. With a company this size, this many partnerships, and over 3 million fans, it is physically impossible for it’s business to be a scam. Just because a handful of people out of millions run into an issue doesn’t mean the company is illegitimate.

  • el marco says:

    October 4th, 2011 at 2:21 pm

    help!!! I accidentally down-loaded this tool bar.. i get an error message that i do not have access to delete.. any advice would be appreciated.. thanks

    REPLY

    Zee says:
    November 10th, 2011 at 4:38 pm

    Try to do System Restore
    Start/All Programs?Accessories/System Tools/System Restore.
    Let the computer do its stuff and hopefully it will be uninstalled.

  • Rating
      
    Kim says:

    September 20th, 2011 at 11:37 pm

    How can I get rid of that tool bar, and uninstall this junk?

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Melissa says:

    September 17th, 2011 at 8:45 am

    I have been using Shop At Home for a few years now. Their cash back is typically higher than most other cash back sites, which is a plus. I have gotten MANY rebate checks from them without any issues. You do have to accumulate $20 to be paid and there is a 30-60 day waiting period before you will receive your check.

    I don’t even understand the second example in this post. To my knowledge, all orders are placed through other retailers, not Shop at Home directly. You are directed to other websites. So if someone’s card was charged for placing an order, it was not through Shop At Home, and their beef would be with the retailer where they placed their order?

    Also, for people who are complaining about not getting cash back on some offers, you always need to read the fine print. Sometimes there are exclusions or the cash back has tiers for different items.

    REPLY

    ejchi says:
    July 14th, 2013 at 1:37 pm

    hey why not get your manager (he is just down the hall from you) to explain that to the person with the problem.

  • Rating
      
    gearkat says:

    August 14th, 2011 at 5:51 pm

    Here is the phone number I tracked down for ShopAtHome.com. 303-843-0302.

    They are located in Greenwood Village, CO, here is the full address:

    Shop at Home
    7100 East Belleview Avenue
    Suite 208
    Greenwood Village, CO 80111

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Jennifer says:

    August 10th, 2011 at 4:40 pm

    I purchased a dishwasher from Sears through Shopathome when they were having a promotion of 20% cashback on all purchases through Sears, which would have equated to about $120 cashback! Guess what, cash back never showed up. I emailed their customer service numerous times without ever getting a response. SCAM. Will be taking my business to another affiliate website.

    REPLY
  • J. Smith says:

    August 5th, 2011 at 12:43 pm

    Any website, including a coupon website, that asks you to download a toolbar, DON’T DO IT. It’s a scam. Once you download the toolbar, they can track the websites you visit, and take that information and sell it to other companies, thereby getting FREE information about you just to make a buck. Not surprisingly, you will have a difficult time getting rid of that toolbar.

    INTERNET SURFER BEWARE !

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    maggie says:

    July 28th, 2011 at 8:53 am

    Like a fool I downloaded the Shop At Home tool bar…and now I have never been able to get coupons and the worst thing is I CAN NOT get this site to uninstall..SCAM??????

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Cassy Schlesman says:

    July 26th, 2011 at 12:46 pm

    Used to use it all the time without problems- but lately not as much.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    phamduyminhthuy1 says:

    July 9th, 2011 at 8:28 pm

    my first payout on 06/30/2011 in the amount of 85usd..been 10days now no sight of the 85usd check anyway..i wrote 2 emails to customer services and still have not got any reply..at the point i do believe they just scammed me out 85usd. to make matter worse i still had 160usd remaining balance :(:(..any suggestion how to get my money back pls help

    REPLY

    suspicious.. says:
    January 16th, 2014 at 12:05 pm

    c last reply 01/16/14

  • Rating
      
    Carolyn says:

    June 7th, 2011 at 7:25 pm

    I found buy one get one free museum coupons. When I try to purchase I end up at ticket master wanting the full price. I wrote customer service and I got a non-answer. I won’t be back at shop at home.

    REPLY
  • mike says:

    May 5th, 2011 at 11:51 pm

    they do not reply to my emails

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Amy Levesque says:

    May 5th, 2011 at 12:54 pm

    All I wanted were grocery store cupons, specifically Lean Cuisine. The website claimed to have 6 separate cupons. I had to download a toolbar, then it requested that I download a “cupon printing software” as well. After looking at the cupons, they were all site-switchers to other cupon sites, or to the Lean Cuisine site (which has no frigging cupons, I already knew that). This site is just gathering our info to sell I bet.

    I use ebates.com and love them for online shopping; I just want to download grocery store cupons.

    REPLY

    ejchi says:
    July 14th, 2013 at 1:40 pm

    at Lindsey (the shop at home rep), why does not being able to spell coupon make them unable to be scammed and leave a valid negative review? are they getting too close to the truth?

    Lindsey Moats says:
    July 26th, 2012 at 4:05 pm

    If you can’t even spell the word “coupon” right then you have no business leaving a negative review for a company.

  • Anonymous says:

    April 30th, 2011 at 4:28 pm

    For a very good rebate / rewards program try erewards

    REPLY
  • Karen says:

    March 6th, 2011 at 11:06 pm

    I had the exact same issue. Once my account reached $35, suddenly the balance dropped to $0 and he never received a check.

    BEWARE!

    THEY ARE CHEATING!!!

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Cheryl Tocci says:

    March 2nd, 2011 at 8:37 pm

    I made all of my purchases through shop at home this past christmas and it never fails, the big purchases are always denied for rebates. I had 3 purchases that totaled over $500.00 and I was told that they contaced the merchants and that I did not use the site for the purchases. Now why would I use the site for all the other purches even the ones that did not give rebates back for and not the 3 with the most totals?? I used the toolbar faithfully and double checked to make sure I was in the site.

    They play these games and offer no resolutions so I am just warning people to be careful, you may not get the rebates you were looking for and will get only an email that tells you you did not use the site. It is a disgrace the trouble you have to go through to file a claim for each purchase with the amount and tracking number for the purchases that you did not get credit for and and each claim is put on a different form. It is nothing more than a waste of time.

    REPLY

    Harish says:
    February 19th, 2013 at 3:34 pm

    I agree. I had a similar experience. I would not trust Shopathome with big purchases. They will eat the cashback and tell you you did not follow guidelines. I was denied cashback in a large amount because they claimed I had reached the lifetime max for cashback at the retailer that I purchased from. They didn’t even bother checking my account history to see how much cashback they had paid me from that retailer. It was $0. So they are totally unjustified in saying that I have reached the lifetime max (which happens to be $1000 for this retailer).
    And also, every time I make a large purchase, I have never seen it post automatically. I have had to file a request and only then it sometimes gets credited and at other times get denied with some vague reason.


Add Your Review



Your Comment:

Choose a Rating

Please Write Your ReviewRead Review Guidelines