Toluna.com Reviews – Legit or Scam?

 

Toluna.comWe’re all familiar with the concept of taking online surveys in order to make money.  Toluna.com is a market research company offering you the chance to do exactly that, with a couple of twists.

First, Toluna.com does not give you direct payouts for every survey you complete like other companies.  Instead, they work on a point system.  You are given 500 points simply for signing up and at least 1,000 points for every survey you complete.  Once you reach 60,000 points, you can redeem these points for cash payouts.

Secondly, they also reward you with being a part of their social network, where you can create polls and opinion forums.  The more people respond to your polls, the more points you receive.

Finally, in addition to survey completion, Toluna.com also enters you into a drawing each month for the chance to win up to $2,500 just for being a member.  If you choose to, you can exchange 500 of your earned points for an extra entry into the monthly drawing.

So is Toluna.com a Scam?

The rule for determining if a survey company is a scam is whether or not you are charged for participating in surveys.  Toluna.com doesn’t charge their members for anything.  Your membership and participation are completely free.

Also, Toluna doesn’t make any outright earnings promises.  They don’t claim you can quit your day job, they just say you can make extra money.

But there are a couple things to keep in mind for being successful making money for taking surveys online.  First, make sure to sign up for multiple companies.  Surveys will only be given to you if you fit a very specific demographic.  Each survey company may only get a couple of surveys each month for your particular demographic.  If you sign up for multiple free survey sites you will be far more likely to get the number of surveys needed to actually make a couple extra hundred dollars a month.

Second, you need to do the research to see exactly how that survey company handles payouts.  With Toluna.com, you need to earn points before you can get your payout.  With other companies, you need to complete a certain number of surveys before you can be paid out, and with still other companies you need to reach a specific dollar amount before you can be paid out.  This is information you should have before you begin spending you can make money taking surveys.

If you're at Reviewopedia.com because you're looking for a way to make money online then check out our article "7 Ways to Make Money Online" - methods that anyone can use to earn an income from home.

 

 

Would you like to add your review for
Toluna ?
If so, click here
 
Share This Page!

 

Customer Responses, Reviews, or Complaints


Average Rating for " Toluna " is 1.81 out of 5 based on 69 reviews.

  • Rating
      
    pompeypaul says:

    August 10th, 2014 at 3:04 pm

    I’ve been waiting over a month for my Amazon vouchers , every other survey company I know sends e- vouchers within 2-3 days, I won’t be doing any more Toluna surveys

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Helen says:

    July 21st, 2014 at 9:59 am

    I must agree with the others that have a poor opinion of Toluna. Surveys take forever, with very little reward. It’s infuriating to be screened out at the END of a survey, something that Toluna seems to specialize in. To even earn enough points for a $20 check takes a LONG time. To add insult to injury, your points expire! Thought I was getting very close to my reward. Logged in one day to find THOUSANDS of points gone. Contacted Toluna, and responded with a “so sad, too bad” email. NEVER AGAIN!

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    shauna says:

    July 16th, 2014 at 10:58 am

    I have been using Toluna for about 8 months. I always receive surveys but when I go to take them, I get screened out and dont receive any points for it. The very few surveys that I do get to complete, I only earn, on average, 40 points. Sometimes its less, sometimes its a little more but ive never received 1000 points for a survey as you have said in your review. I do not believe you have ever used toluna or your review would not be boasting about them. Toluna is horrible! Prizes are nearly impossible to reach and the Gifties thing they have is crap too! I have not seen anyone that has gotten a real prize from gifties and I have done lots of research on them. Toluna IS a scam!

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Cathy says:

    June 24th, 2014 at 5:34 pm

    Thanks for the info everyone. I was thinking of joining this panel, but have decided against. It sound a lot like mypoints.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Chrissy says:

    June 23rd, 2014 at 3:28 pm

    Absolute rubbish! Allow you to almost complete SURVEYS and then screen you out. Also keep asking for the same medical information each time they screen you out! They are a scam in that they get loads of personal info absolutely free and probably use it!

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    jannelee says:

    April 29th, 2014 at 8:30 pm

    As mentioned, the rewards are way too low for the time put in. But beside that,I believe they get most of the info they need without paying. I’ve spent a great deal of time on surveys, (ten minute survey, spent 10 minutes on it) only to be told AFTERWARDS that they had all the respondents needed. So I didn’t get rewarded. I’ve complained and gotten ‘sorry’ answers. Survey must have filled as I was completely the last question…I’d feel stupid to continue with them.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    kent says:

    January 29th, 2014 at 2:46 pm

    I am sorry to disappoint the person who called me a liar before I wrote this, but I have no reason to doubt Toluna’s intentions. They are similar to the other survey companies, but differently organized. Since each person here has different needs, Toluna may not be the right fit for everyone. Fortunately, there are many survey companies, each a little different from the others. I would think that these companies in general would offer something suitable for each of you.

    REPLY

    shauna says:
    July 16th, 2014 at 11:09 am

    Have you even used toluna?! I dont think you have or you would know that they are not like other survey companies! They claim to be but they’re not!

  • Rating
      
    Gary says:

    January 12th, 2014 at 3:27 pm

    I have been a member of Toluna for several years and haven’t been happy with the survey process for some time. I have been screened out of most surveys, some after spending 10 or 15 minutes or more in the survey. You don’t get a lot of points for doing surveys and if you do the math you won’t be happy at dollar amount you got for completing most surveys. Sometimes when you get into a 1400 10 minute survey for example, the site takes you to a 2000 point 20 minute survey. A few weeks ago I got started on a 1200 point 2 minute survey that went on for 10 minutes and I was screened out of it. There are better sites out there for surveys imho. After I redeem my next reward I will quit using the site most likely.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Robert says:

    November 30th, 2013 at 11:45 am

    Over the past couple of months I’ve done several surveys and been screened out of many. I was never sure of the payment plan was. What I do know is that Toluna floods my email inbox. I was wondering whether Toluna was a waste of time so today I was determined to find a review site like this one and see what others are saying.

    Thanks to the power of internet information, I will begin what looks like a process to remove Toluna from my inbox and my life. Thanks reviewers. Almost all reviews are negative.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    World Traveler says:

    November 15th, 2013 at 10:58 am

    It it only me, or has anyone else noticed Toluna surveys becoming ever longer for much lower incentives? Imagine, 1,800 points ($0.60) for a 30 minute survey! I have seen less than $1.00 for an hour survey lately as well. That is third world pay scale. They must be seriously out of their mind. I’m so done!

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    quantum says:

    September 26th, 2013 at 12:04 am

    Scam scam scam. They are bunch of indian people trying to make a penny out of people.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Deborah Meade says:

    September 24th, 2013 at 12:41 pm

    I have done Toluna surveys for over a year and gotten checks and other rewards without any problems. I like Toluna and recommend it to others.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Lin says:

    August 30th, 2013 at 1:31 am

    Lately it seems I answer a lot of questions & then told I have screened out, if I answer more than my basic info such as age, location etc I should be paid at least a token gesture of points instead of just a prize draw entry. An example of this was today I started a survey & answered a number of questions related to the topic which totalled 5 answers after my demographic questions then I was screened out. Seriously thinking about closing my account because they are not being fair to their members by doing this because no other survey company treats me like this one.

    REPLY

    Bill W. says:
    September 21st, 2013 at 1:48 pm

    Happens to me all the time. I screen out at least 99% of the time after basic questions.

  • Rating
      
    Rebecca says:

    August 15th, 2013 at 2:17 pm

    I have been a member of Toluna for 2 years now I have had 10 rewards of £15, I do not go on all the time I have times when I log on a lot and others when I hardly ever register. I really like Toluna and am very happy with the site.

    I look forward to product testing (around 20products been sent from surveys mostly crisps from a popular brand)I enjoy this but the part of the site I get the most rewards out of are the community sites I am invited too – I have been part of 3 communities.
    The first was for an Ice Cream Company 4 weeks of commenting on adverts and getting £120pounds worth of amazon vouchers
    A cinema community talking about adverts for 6 weeks of logging on 3 times a week for 10 minutes I got £30 cash.
    Another Ice cream company and adverts and I got £40 Amazon vouchers for 8 Hours work over 2 weeks.

    These are not on the toluna site and you can not just opt in I got invited by filling in surveys and then being asked if I would like to take part I wouldn’t have found these had I not been on Toluna and I find the rewards appealing.

    REPLY

    Bill W. says:
    September 21st, 2013 at 1:52 pm

    Hi! Toluna site has been down for maintenance quite awhile. I’m okay with the site but would enjoy seeing my point balance. Can’t do that if the Toluna page is not available. Can’t do other activities as well. I got to wonder what happened.

  • Rating
      
    Joe says:

    August 1st, 2013 at 8:54 pm

    I have unsubscribed from toluna over 100 times in the last two months. Each time I get a screen that states “Your Toluna account has been successfully deactivated.” They are liars! I have filed over 100 spam complaints as I do not want their up to 10 a day emails in my box; they are spammers! These jerks should be closed down. Too bad there is not a zero or, better yet, a minus rating to give to these sleaze bags.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    mburnhauser says:

    July 30th, 2013 at 10:08 pm

    i have been with tons of research panels for a couple of years never had any problems with collecting the money and i just won beats by dre headphones on the gifties noramlly i would never be able to afford 500+ dollar headphones lets see if it really comes

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Tim says:

    May 1st, 2013 at 7:04 pm

    Been using Toluna for a few years doing surveys and had a few rewards

    I gave up for a while as so many surveys answering a dozen questions each time then it tells you ‘don’t qualify’

    (While sites such as Maximiles will give you some points even if you don’t qualify)

    Recently started doing the surveys again with Toluna and noticed some points missing, in the terms it says they remove unused points at the end of the month after 16 months.

    I had over 40000 points and 3 months running they have been removing my points

    When you contact them they just give a standard responce.

    How are you supposed to build you points up?

    Toluna is a waste of time

    REPLY

    Vic says:
    August 7th, 2013 at 8:20 am

    I am having the same experience, then realized they have a lot of information about me, and I have no points. HA, they are getting FREE marketing information, wasting my time, and now they can really target the client for specific products.

  • Rating
      
    Arell says:

    April 8th, 2013 at 10:02 am

    As said above I spend ages trying for survey’s that I never, ever are part of the demographic they say they want but only after I’ve given them 5 – 10 minutes of answers to their questions. Its a lot of information to collect for nothing!!
    Also I’ve never been able to log in and see details, all I get is requests for more and more personal information! Time to try and delete it all I think.

    REPLY

    Vic says:
    August 7th, 2013 at 8:22 am

    That was my conclusion after about the 5th or 6th set of questions I answered and then “halfway” through, they don’t “need” me. I realized how much personal information I have given them for nothing. Scam, in my opinion.

  • Rating
      
    Ron says:

    April 6th, 2013 at 10:39 pm

    I’ve been doing surveys for Tuluna for a few months now and I have allready recieved a $20.00 cash out check from them and one more on the way. I have had good luck with this company, and hope to continue the same luck.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Amelia says:

    March 1st, 2013 at 8:01 am

    This is unbelievable, I have been completing surveys for this company for 8 years. A few days ago I was unable to log in, when I contacted customer service, they told me that my account was suspended forever. They say that I was completing the surveys faster than the time, and this is not true, I have been completing all the surveys on time, I always count the time on every single survey. Conclusion, I’m happy because I was really upset of the low incentives and excessive questions, now I feel “free”. Stay away, it’s a scam.

    REPLY
  • Erica says:

    February 28th, 2013 at 11:00 pm

    Worst site ever!!!! Don’t waste your time! I never qualify for surveys after 10 minutes if entering info and you will never get paid! This site needs to be banned! SCAM!!!! Beware!!

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    sammy says:

    February 26th, 2013 at 7:46 pm

    They seem to be the only panel that points expire in one year. It takes many surveys to reach the point of cashing in for $20.00. In addition, many survey are not credited for weeks. I have been with this panel for 4 years and though I have received a few products to test, I have yet to get paid. Instead my points expire over and over. I keep thinking I will finally have enough, but it never happens before they expire.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    awyatt62 says:

    January 31st, 2013 at 8:19 am

    Have just tried to redeem 80000 points for a £15 Love2Shop Voucher – this was done on 8 Dec 2012 and yet it is still “Processing”. When I contacted them via their link, I was told they had been delayed due to “Unforseen Circumstances” – now the only unforeseen circumstances I can think of, are Toluna not having enough money to pay Love2Shop for the Vouchers. I am awaiting a furtherv response from Toluna after I suggested this, but they are by far rhe worst of any survey company I use.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Ian says:

    January 26th, 2013 at 6:21 am

    I have just recently had my account blocked by Toluna when I have amassed over 1,000,000 points since doing surveys since June 2012.
    They stated that they have discovered that some data is inaccurate and quoted their T@C’s.
    This is totally unethical and unfair and at worse if there were some surveys that failed a quality check the points for them should have been forfeited not all of my points.
    I carried out these surveys in good faith and am gutted by Toluna’s behavior as I believe this is a tactic to just not pay.
    I have also had no reply to my emails.
    My recommendation is to stay away from this company as you will be wasting your time and energy on a totally unethical company

    REPLY

    Malcolm Wood says:
    April 23rd, 2013 at 10:02 am

    I too had a similar experience. I have been doing them religeously. I put up with the screening out and the low pay out as I do a lot of different survey companies. However last week I had trouble logging on. Thought it was because I was at work. So requested a password and didnt think anthing of it. Then I recieved the longwinded email saying I had breached some terms of conditions about surveys. What they fail to realise is that if they pay so little the accuracy and time spent on them will be lower.

  • Rating
      
    Marc Turner says:

    January 19th, 2013 at 10:12 am

    This company act in an underhanded and unfair way in the following instances :
    1) They deduct points from your account after a set period if you have not used them and don’t tell you of this before it happens.
    2) They will ask you fill out the surveys to the last screen and then confirm you have not been selected to provide information. ie they have the survey completed but do NOT award any points.
    3) The worst thing is that when you do claim your vouchers you will have to wait for weeks whereas most companies just let you have them immediately by email. These can take 8 weeeks or more and the customer services do not give a damn.

    Conclusion : choose another survey company if you want better service.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    J says:

    January 11th, 2013 at 3:25 pm

    Tried the surveys, never qualified….I think our information is being used as a marketing tool….soon we might get a lot of ads in our junkmail…..I get lots of surveys in my in-box. I am going t deem them as junk mail so I cant see them…I am also going to cose my accoung…I just googled the site to see find reviews…after being not accepted for the surveys that I answered. I normaly check things out before signing up. This time I went ahead and sign up for toluna. It looked like a great opportunity to make some extra cash…NOT!, I am out of there no more surbeys for me….Good luck to all.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    chris. says:

    December 24th, 2012 at 5:33 pm

    Its funny, after toluna jack me for my time and money, they try to get me to do one of their crappy surveys on other sites, I alwasys skip them, truly worthless, any one who says they get money from them is a liar or payed by toluna to say so, save your time for something, like living your life and starting a family, anybody who gives this crap site above 2 stars is a liar, Dont say I didn’t warn you.

    REPLY

    Robin says:
    November 6th, 2013 at 6:31 pm

    No name is the grammar police. Someone call the spelling police!

    no name says:
    March 6th, 2013 at 3:12 am

    Love the huge running sentance.

  • Rating
      
    Bozon says:

    December 23rd, 2012 at 10:11 pm

    I just have one question that I doubt if anyone also have.
    I checked the points I have earned and found it exceeds 6,000 already so I redeemed it. And of course the points showing decreased after redeemed.
    About one month later, I found the points had been “gradually” increasing to more than 6,000 again because the completed surveys done recently finally been authorized, too. I was happy. I redeemed the points again. And the points shown in my account decreased again. But the check I redeemed previously had not been delivered.
    After about two weeks, the first check arrived. I logged on to do surveys as usual. And I checked the status of the second check.
    There was no status of the second check. Toluna system only showed that the status of “one” check has be completed.
    This has happened three times.
    I am not sure the decrease and the increase showing by Toluna means the same part of my points….or Toluna just intends to combine my redeems…

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Richa says:

    December 10th, 2012 at 1:47 am

    Hi, I have just joined Toluna a month ago. Please do not fall for their gifties idea – its a gimmick. I have spent 10K points in gifties and got nothing. Moreover whatever survey they sent you, the quota will always be full…

    Friends do you know of any other website where one can register and earn?

    REPLY

    Jeni says:
    December 18th, 2012 at 4:52 pm

    Valued Opinions (www.valuedopinions.co.uk) is the best I’ve ever come across.

    I used to be a member of toluna about 3 years ago.. firstly I redeemed 60,000 points in exchange for a Debenhams voucher that I was going to buy a Christmas gift with, and I never received it. I kept emailing them about it and never got a helpful reply (just kept being told over and over again that vouchers were delayed). I continued anyway, thinking perhaps I’d just been unlucky, on and off for a couple more years. I signed in one day and noticed about 50,000 points had been wiped off my account. I couldn’t believe it so I queried it with them… I got a reply saying it’s their policy. I closed my account and I will not be using them again.

    Valued opinions offers honest monetary rewards (up to £5 per survey) for each survey you complete. You tend to get about 50p per 10 minutes. After you’ve earned £10 (the money is updated to your account almost immediately) you can trade it in for a gift voucher. I always choose Amazon since the voucher is emailed to you instantly and you can get almost anything with it.

    Just for the sake of argument – I don’t work for valued opinions! I’m just passionate that rip-off sites like toluna should be stopped. They’re not upfront with exactly how much, in terms of money, that you’re getting paid per survey and their rewards take ages to come, if they ever do come (mine never did!). On top of that I used to take surveys that I’d almost complete and then get kicked off of the page before the end, therefore not getting my reward!

    I’d advised anyone and everyone to steer well clear of toluna.

    x

  • Rating
      
    kiran says:

    December 6th, 2012 at 5:17 am

    The good news is they are paying. I am a part of toluna since long time now. I have so far earned 1400/- Rs. (Indian) from them in terms of online shopping vouchers.

    Bad thing about toluna is They took a long time (more than 1 month period)to credit survey points to your account and once you request for withdrawal same number of period ( more than 1 month) to just issue you our online shopping voucher. This irritate me lot. I mean to wait more than 3 months for a very short little Amount and that too is not hard cash is just an irritable feel. Also price incentive is very poor compare to survey length.

    I am working for few more survey sites where is survey incentive is much more big, instant, and also good options to withdraw it even in hard cash. So these things are makes toluna little back foot than other survey sites.

    REPLY

    Lori says:
    April 8th, 2013 at 1:56 pm

    Hi Kiran and all,

    appreciate the information on toluna! I have a slight disability and unemployment has run out. My physical disability leaves me no option other then to try to make money from home. I have never done this before and there are SO many out there. Does anyone know of a site that does pay cash (don’t need gift vouchers – doesn’t pay rent) for surveys, product testing, etc?

    Thanks for your help :)

  • Rating
      
    K.D. says:

    November 13th, 2012 at 5:13 am

    I’ve read tons of reviews of Toluna on multiple sites — Probably 99% of them terrible. Personally, however, I haven’t had many problems with them…yet. I’m not sure why my experience with them has been so drastically different from everyone else.

    THE GOOD: I joined in June of 2012 and have successfully received a $40 virtual Visa (120k points), a $25 Tango card (75k points), and just redeemed another $40 virtual Visa. I’ve avoided a physical check as they take a long time to arrive (the virtual rewards showed up within two days), plus past experiences with other survey sites’ checks being iffy as well as many other people claiming to not be able to cash them. Like all survey sites, you do get the whole “you’ve been screened out” or other excuses quite frequently, often near or at what should be the end of the survey. It hasn’t been any worse through Toluna than other survey sites I’ve used though. As far as surveys go, I generally qualify for two a day, which successfully complete. Occasionally it’s more, sometimes less. Some people complain about not getting adequate compensation the longer surveys. As long as it’s actual points, I don’t care, since I would probably have spent the time I used on the survey doing some other activity that pays nothing. Probably should mention that I enjoy doing surveys… so I might be more tolerant than those just in it for rewards. I’ve had the chance to participate in product testing that was made available through the site, which was great (more points and free products). Note that I never qualified for any before using Toluna.

    THE BAD: I will say that their customer service is quite sub-par, if it even actually exists. I’ve attempted to contact them for general questions and I’ve only ever gotten generic “your question has been forwarded to the appropriate area” type of emails back, when I’ve gotten any response at all. Luckily for me it was never over a pressing matter, like being paid. The cash out threshold is somewhat high too, which is a problem if you aren’t qualifying for many surveys. Also, it can take over a month for points to be credited to your account. They claim that, among other “factors”, you have to wait until the survey has been closed to receive the promised points. The oldest survey I currently have listed as “pending” is from October 20, 2012. Patience is the name of the game in the survey taking department. Lots of people who still use the site complain loudly about the “Gifties” redemption offers the site has been pushing. Basically, you buy a virtual item that has the “chance” to become real, like any other lottery or sweepstakes. While this does happen, I’m certain the chances are extraordinarily low. You’d do better to save for a real reward, even if it seems like a long way off. You could easily spend all the points you need for a check (60k) on Gifties and never have one turn real. Do note that the price of said Gifites are usually in the 50-500 point range, depending on what it is. I do buy them rarely, when I have a few hundred points I feel like wasting. But that’s the limit — A few hundred points. When you are screened out you generally get a consolation prize entry into sweepstakes which are essentially worthless. Once again, though, this occurs with many survey websites.

    CONCLUSION: I gave Toluna three stars due to the facts that I’ve earned points regularly, have had successful cash outs, very few problems with surveys (aside from the normal gripes of being screened out at horrible times), and had product testing opportunities through the site. Awful customer service, high cash out threshold, long wait periods for points to be credited, and “rewards” of entries into sweepstakes/drawings keeps the score from being higher. All in all, mediocre survey site, but I’ve had decent results thus far. This, of course, could change at any time. I’ll keep my hopes up. Good luck to anybody else who gives them a try!

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    tacoisafraud says:

    November 8th, 2012 at 9:17 am

    Thank you everyone! I was thinking of rejoining! I was a member before they became toluna. I do not remember what it was before but I loved it then and then they switched to toluna and I hated the way you had to earn cash.

    Now I can see it isn’t worth my time since they are just as bad now! Thanks!

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Pamela says:

    November 1st, 2012 at 12:12 am

    I am sorry I every signed with Toluna. I did dozens of surveys with them and didn’t get credited. They make it difficult to contact them, including sending out survey invitations where the “Unsubscribe” link at the bottom didn’t work; isn’t that illegal? It took months and numerous complaints just for me to be unsubscribed from them. A real waste of my time and I do consider them a scam.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Sandy says:

    October 30th, 2012 at 5:56 pm

    They are stealing all your information and then booting you at the very end of the survey. It has not been the same since they changed there Web Site.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    NotHappy says:

    October 28th, 2012 at 11:36 pm

    i really hate toluna. takes forever (i mean almost literally) to get enough points for a reward… now any points i get i spend on gifties… never won a giftie. i have probably spent over 10,000 points on gifties so far… which for 150 point giftie… i would have chosen the giftie approx 66 times… (by the way gifties are a virtual item that can become real, its a bit like entering a prize sweepstakes). i would rather get proper rewards but like i said it takes forever to get them. toluna is a waste of time. there are much better survey sites then toluna for sure.

    REPLY

    tacoisafraud says:
    November 8th, 2012 at 9:18 am

    Then why did you give them 5 stars?

  • Rating
      
    n says:

    September 28th, 2012 at 11:24 am

    I have been a survey taker for a long time at this site. It is not for earnings – how much do you earn any way – may be $70 /year?

    But I am finding weired issues too. I got an email for a two week ailment diary survey which is supposed to pay 28000 points. Logged in for two weekd and completed each day- the last day- I cannot log in to Toluna any more.
    I requested password and found that I was entering the correct one. When I wrote to Toluna, they replied that my account has been violated and earnings forfeited because I was not taking enough time to complete surveys! I believe they are doing one of two things – avoiding payments/ taking minority survey takers off their list.

    I am planning to complain to BBB unless I get a detailed report of survey time expected and my time to complete. Most of the time if they say 20 min, the surveys take a good 30 min BTW!

    REPLY

    Eric says:
    January 22nd, 2013 at 1:26 am

    It’s interesting, the same happened to me about 3 months ago. The last day of the ailment diary my account was suspended. When I contacted customer service about 15 times, they replied back telling me that I violated their terms and conditions. I did a complaint with the BBB and still fighting my money, they don’t want to re-activate my account. And beware, they are lying in the response they provided on the BBB. They say that I was typing the url to get my points without completing their surveys and this is not true. I completed every survey taking the right amount of time. This company is a waste of time, fraudulent, and a scam with their members, they lie to the BBB. They should disappear

    Pickles says:
    January 3rd, 2013 at 6:52 am

    that is funny the same happen to me this week and it happen to my friend as well, so i have decided not to waste any more of my time with this site as there are much better sites then this one and also pay better on time and also reply back to your complaints and even email you if the survey crashed on you and give you the points. So i am giving Toluna a wide berth and i new there was a reason why i never recommended them to anyone they are a wast of time

  • Rating
      
    seema says:

    September 28th, 2012 at 9:30 am

    Like most other reviews, I had a terrible experience with Toluna too!!! First of all it takes the longest time to get a pittance out of all the surveys successfully completed as compared to a lot of other good survey sites. Secondly their customer service SUCKS big time! They just dont care! After accumulating a whole lot of points, one day I just could not log in. INspite of writing to them a number of times, there was no response absolutely, then after the longest time they send back the same login and password, with which its not able to log in.

    And no answers to all the points in my login! Just gone! No explanations!!

    Please avoid TOLUNA!!!!!! Its a SCAM!!!!

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    James says:

    September 26th, 2012 at 1:08 pm

    Having taken about 20 or 30 Toluna surveys I thought I would just find out how much I had earned so I logged in to my account, or at least I tried to. Each time I put in my username and password “Incorrect username or password” came up even though I knew the details I’d entered were correct. So I used the “Forgot your password” tab and a little later in return from Toluna I got my password, which just happened to be the same password I had tried already. This continued to happen 5 or 6 times so I emailed them explaining the problem, they emailed me back with the opening line “Please Log in to your account …… Mm, clearly the recipient at Toluna had not understood that I couldn’t log in to my account so I sent another email explaining why I couldn’t log in to my account. Guess what Toluna replied? Correct “Please Log in to your account …… This was repeated four or five times before I got the reply “Please use the contact us button at the bottom of the page on our website, first log in to your account”.

    This nonsense had been going on for weeks when I finally received the message “If this problem persists you may have to open a new account and your balance will be transferred”. Progress? Well no. Their next email in response to my agreement to set up a new account was really informative “Thank you for contacting us, from now on you can reply to this email regarding your login issue. As far as we can gather from your complaint, you are unable to login. Please find enclosed your login details: and guess what these were, yes right again the log in details I couldn’t log in with.

    Well from here it doesn’t get any better but I have neither the time nor the patience to explain all the nonsense replies “We can’t find anything wrong”, “You should be able to log in”, “I’m waiting for our technical department to get back to me”. Suffice it to say that months later I have got nowhere.
    Is Toluna a scam? In my opinion definitely yes. I don’t believe anyone can be as genuinely stupid to write the emails I received, it can only be a deliberate method of Toluna prevaricating to such an extent that people just give up in frustration and then they don’t have to pay out for surveys. Don’t waste a minute of your time Toluna.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Gail says:

    September 19th, 2012 at 9:30 am

    In the past I have gotten 2 $20 checks from Toluna, so they are legit. Nothing since early 2011. Recently, I am having problems with the surveys. Spend 20 minutes on a survey and find out that I have been screened out. Also, the payoff is terrible now. Most surveys pay less than $1.00 (3000 points) and take at least 15 minutes to complete. Just not worth it anymore

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    L says:

    August 10th, 2012 at 5:12 am

    I would avoid Toluna. It takes ages to build up points and then takes a futher 6 weeks to receive your reward. They also, at any point will suspend your account and give no warning. Personally I have fought with them over this, and to this day, they can not provide me with a legit explaination as to why they done this. Had over 120000 points and 2 vouchers pending. Total waste of time to be honest.

    REPLY

    Pickles says:
    January 3rd, 2013 at 6:57 am

    that has happen to me i wish i had now this at the time and did not waste so much of my time on the stupid site

  • Rating
      
    JustME says:

    July 25th, 2012 at 11:58 am

    DO NOT USE TOLUNA OMG i had over 100,000 points that were PENDING for months, then one day i logged into my account, and the account was deleted. when i inquired to why my account was deleted, they failed to respond. AVOID THIS SCAM! PLEASE! do not waste your time and energy taking their surveys. your paying their salary and you’ll never be reimbursed.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Gail San Filippo says:

    July 25th, 2012 at 11:10 am

    They are an interesting scam. Not completely an all-out evil rip off. That’s how I believe they stay in business. This is what I think they do – they reimburse you some of your rewards then mess up others so they don’t have to pay you. I won’t go into the gory details of what I’ve been through trying to sort out a reward I was supposed to get since March 2012 but my “case” has involved 25 emails with the case finally being dropped this morning because it was past the deadline! But the deadline passed because of them! Anyway, I’m closing this account. They are a bad company.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    sanjeev says:

    July 20th, 2012 at 1:12 pm

    I have been a member of Toluna.com survey site for the last few months.But now I have realized that this site (Toluna.com) is cheating people every day.When we take part in a survey 7/10 times they don’t give us incentive points.They give prize draw ticket entry.They say you were screen out.A person can’t be screened out after completing a survey it should in the beginning. I have attached a screen shot of a successfully completed survey but they say you are screened out.Stay away from this site.They are cheat and fraud.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Ethel says:

    July 15th, 2012 at 4:43 pm

    Toluna sucks!

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    NW says:

    July 12th, 2012 at 3:34 pm

    with every toluna survey I tried, I was always ‘kicked out’ for various reasons (survey closed even though I just received it and clicked on it, disqualified for unknown reasons, halfway through survey again disqualified.) It seems I didn’t qualify for ANY toluna survey. Very frustrating and not a money maker in my opinion.

    REPLY

    Amy Huber says:
    July 26th, 2012 at 5:09 pm

    I agree completely! I have tried to qualify for like 30 survey’s and after completing the whole list of questions it will say that i don’t qualify for that survey or that they have reached there quota….I just signed on to the site but i am done with this company already….

  • Rating
      
    Sarah says:

    July 6th, 2012 at 5:08 pm

    I give this site an F-. They sent me a bad check! I was a member of this site for about a year and a half when I’d finally earned enough points for a $40 check. I tried to cash it at Walmart, but they refused to cash the check and I had no problem cashing a check from another survey site. I contacted Toluna about the issue and had to wait over two months to hear from them. All they said was that yes a check was mailed to me and it is waiting to be cashed. This was weird because I never said that I’d never received the check but that I had trouble cashing it. I asked them if I could just get a voucher instead, but they never responded. I deleted my account after waiting for over three months. Avoid them at all costs.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    cody says:

    June 28th, 2012 at 5:47 pm

    They’re not so good, I finally managed to get enough for 25 dollar voucher, and what do know my account was deleted, no voucher, I contacted them and got a automated email. Skip them if you value your time.

    REPLY

    JustMe says:
    July 25th, 2012 at 12:02 pm

    i didn’t even make it to the voucher redemption and they pulled the same crap. deleted my account. i had over 100,000 points. such a scam. i feel your pain and return it with a renewed sense of outrage. i want to tell everyone to avoid being a victim by this site. it’s terrible.

  • Rating
      
    Lira says:

    June 21st, 2012 at 11:29 am

    You spend 20-30 minutes doing a survey and at 99% complete it says you were screened out and you do not get credit. There is a limit on the number of surveys you can take a day.

    REPLY
  • Alice says:

    June 13th, 2012 at 9:02 am

    I’m of a totally opposite opinion to everyone here. I have been a member of Toluna for just over a year now and in my time I have received two Amazon vouchers, one for £20 and one for £15. When you work it out it’s probably not much for what you’re doing but I was happy enough as I just fill out the surveys when I get a few free minutes now and then.

    REPLY

    Pickles says:
    January 3rd, 2013 at 7:06 am

    well you are one of the lucky ones but i thought the same until the deleted my account without warning

  • Rating
      
    the truth says:

    June 9th, 2012 at 2:01 am

    its terrible. EVERY survey, I was screened out of. some, after spending half an hour on. The payouts arent even all that great. go to opinion outpost if you want a legitimate survey site.

    REPLY
  • Diana S says:

    June 4th, 2012 at 4:03 pm

    There is no customer service on toluna they are malicious, uncaring people that send you emails with copy paste messages without offering the help that members need, for the ones that haven`t had bad experiences with them beware they can turn around and accuse you of fraud – without proof or anything relevant quoting some God forsaken rules tight and unfair – and that because YOU are an active member and taking their money – SHAME ON YOU people don`t matter we are treated like cattle. TOLUNA is a bottomless pit – a trap – it eats up your time with the promise of paying you, you wait months for your vouchers to come… never again TOLUNA YOU HATE YOUR MEMBERS USE THEM AND CAN HARDLY WAIT TO GET RID OF THEM BOOOOO

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    scottme says:

    May 30th, 2012 at 6:12 am

    Toluna are rubbish. They flood me with surveys, but frequently, after spending several minutes answering numerous questions, I find I am screened out and get nothing for my time. I probably get through to the end of only about 10% of offered surveys. Yet I am sure they are getting paid for the information they gather from me even when I’m screened out.

    After nearly a year of religiously doing all the surveys they send I am still less than 50% of the way to a minimal payout. In contrast, MyVoice has just sent me my second £20 voucher, and I do nothing like as many surveys for them (and they’re shorter, more interesting and more relevant, too).

    I’m going to cut my losses and give up on Toluna.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Sarah says:

    May 24th, 2012 at 1:56 am

    They are dreadful, not professional, and game players. I changed my user name because after they changed from Greenfield to Toluna, the email addresses would show up on the member’s page. For weeks I begged for help accessing my account, as when I changed user names, I was no longer allowed to log in.
    I finally filed a complaint with the BBB, and that made them mad. They never fixed my account so I had to get a new one. However, they are now harassing me via my new account by: removing my avatar. not sending me surveys or point making polls, and if they do send surveys they go to a dead page. I even had an IT member make fun of my Jewish user name. This has to be the worst. He should’ve been fired.
    I would not recommend them. I also had thousands of points pending my new account that have yet to show up. They have hundreds of thousands of members, yet they are focusing on my account

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    disgruntled says:

    April 23rd, 2012 at 10:49 am

    Spent 8 months taking surveys, asked for vouchers which i received but didn’t work. 4 months down the line toluna are still making excuses, they won’t refund my vouchers, they say they’ll exchange the vouchers but they don’t, and then they stop replying to emails. Absolute bunch of time wasters who should be reported – I can’t even do this as I’m based in the UK and they’re in France so the OFT won’t do anything!

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Michael says:

    April 17th, 2012 at 8:53 pm

    Definitely a scam. After two months my pitiful voucher/rewards that took loads of work to get were never processed or received. Most of the surveys have you go through loads of questions allegedly to pre-screen you, but they are obviously a survey unto themselves. So they always get lots of answers, but conveniently disqualify you.

    I also noticed the amount of spam I received in the email account associated with the account went up dramatically.

    Now instead of real real rewards, you will get pretend awards (cute icons)that you get the privilege of giving to the other suckers on the site.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    AC says:

    April 5th, 2012 at 3:26 pm

    This pitiful crap company is a front for a consumer research company. Mostly they give you offers for earning “points” and they flood your inbox with junk and also sell you address, I know because I had one email account for them which never received any spam email until these crooked schemers (GET A JOB) started emailing me. AND to top it off, I have unsubscribed TEN times already and STILL they send me the same stupid junk survey offers. Will be reporting them to BBB.

    REPLY
  • Brenda says:

    March 17th, 2012 at 2:35 pm

    i was given an offer to Toluna to get ‘cash’ for a Facebook game. Being the cautious person that i am, i googled toluna and almost immediately saw ‘scams’ so i checked out this site. I wanna thank all of you who posted your complaints. You kept me from making a time consuming frustrating mistake. Its obvious it was more nays than yays so i’m going with the majority. We must continue to voice our concern as consumers and look out for each other because there is a lot of games being played online and people being played. Thanks again for the ‘heads up!’

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Kamal chetry says:

    February 29th, 2012 at 7:48 am

    No.1 fake and scam site,i experienced

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Jon says:

    February 21st, 2012 at 2:50 pm

    I was a member of Toluna for a year when I started to be harassed by another member who accused me of being a member of a “gay agenda”. I reported this member to Toluna moderators. They told me to offer him a goodwill gesture. He continued to harass me, and the next day my account along with this other member’s was deleted. So as a result of being harassed they not only deleted my account but are refusing to pay me $20 they owe me.

    If you look at their boards, there are always complaints from members asking where their missing points are, why they haven’t received their voucher long after the minimum waiting period (which is 6 weeks, even for paypal payments).

    REPLY

    anon says:
    July 28th, 2012 at 6:36 pm

    I know the problems you had on the site. But I haven’t had anything like that, just suffered at the hands of the clones. You are lucky you are no longer a member on the site. Not much chance of earning points on there these days, since they introduced the Beta version.When I first joined the site I could easily earn two vouchers per month without any effort. After the takeover I managed one voucher per month, then it got to one voucher every 3 months, and God help me now. It will take a year to earn enough points to earn enough points to cash out. Beta sucks big style. I won’t be hanging around when I receive enough points to cash out for my final voucher.

  • Rating
      
    J says:

    February 7th, 2012 at 7:35 pm

    It’s legit but not member friendly. Any payment worth receiving requires you to save up tons of points. The problem is that they’ll expire your points to keep you from getting money. It pretty much leaves you with sweepstakes entries. Those entries are like getting nothing in return.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Sarah Freidin says:

    February 7th, 2012 at 2:32 pm

    I have received one (Amazon)voucher already, which took close to eight weeks to be delivered electronically. I have also done a free product trial by mail. Overall, I think it is a legit site and that it is paying, but the administration is so poor and time lagged that it makes the experience very unpleasant for the user.

    I am finding that it is taking over a month for survey points to be credited to my account. Like other reviewers, I have taken multiple surveys only to be dropped 5 to 10 minutes in. I have contacted Toluna about this, but they simply sent me an automated response. The site redirects you to other marketing companies websites/surveys, which sometimes ask you to perform downloads/ executables which put your computer at risk for viruses.

    After receiving the next voucher (couple of hundred points away) I think I will call it a day with this particular site.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    naz says:

    January 26th, 2012 at 9:17 pm

    though i havent recieved any money yet, but i am sure the site is reasonable and will pay me. This is my opinion in the light of experience with other sites how they operate. their surveys are interesting. And I have no problems enjoying myself in the free time.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    CSTACYHUCK says:

    January 21st, 2012 at 10:23 am

    Come on people give me what I’ve earned!

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    garmati says:

    November 26th, 2011 at 7:24 am

    it s scam site dont register please end waste your time with tis group of thieves, i wasted 6 months of my time and survey with them in other to get nothing at the end, even with hundreds of surveys completed correctly

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Robby says:

    October 13th, 2011 at 7:40 pm

    Toluna is a very vindictive group of people huddled around a small table plotting how to get something for nothing, They totally robbed be of a piece of my life, after months of 30 cent surveys, I finally managed to piece together enough points for a 20 check after which they told I supposedly entered incorrect data, cancelled me on the spot, dropped me dead cold, thats messed up, won’t return my email, Like I said they are a very vindictive group of people who plot like witches. I urge you to skip them and give them the bird, or lose a piece of your life to these witches and warlocks.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Marcus says:

    October 12th, 2011 at 11:23 pm

    Stay away from this site ! THIS IS A SCAM !! Toluna really sucks. It will take forever to qualify for surveys and when you think you got one you will be disqualified closer to the end of the survey. Not to mention that you will get something like 50 cents for a so called 20 minutes survey which actually takes you 30 minutes or more to be completed !
    Boycot this company guys. Refuse their crappy surveys ! Stay Away !

    REPLY

    anu says:
    February 10th, 2012 at 4:37 pm

    truth

  • Rating
      
    freaky123 says:

    October 8th, 2011 at 6:12 am

    Please people do not waste your time with it! It’s a clever SCAM. Yes, i agree sometimes they pay out, to look like its not a complete SCAM and they would have some proof that they paid out, but i experienced the same thing as Dee, i complete surveys and after 15 mins, sometimes near the end, they say im not qualified. What?! Keep AWAY for all costs!!!

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    petra says:

    August 22nd, 2011 at 3:31 am

    You mentioned that Toluna does not require money. However, they require a substantial amount of time, mainly wasted as you will screen out of more surveys than you actually participate in. In order to receive a £15 voucher, you have to spend between 30 and 40 hours trying to find surveys (that makes a pay of £0.37 to £0.50 per hour) or create your own topics and polls (which they can remove at their own will, and without notification).

    It takes between 2 to 3 months to receive vouchers, in addition to having to wait up to 6 weeks for you points to be registered following the completion of a survey. This means that whenever you complete a survey, you have to wait a minimum of 3 months before you get ‘paid’. They also have issues with common Freedom of Speech regulations. You are not allowed to criticize Toluna, or you will be silenced by either having your comments removed, or being suspended.

    Coming back to your main issue: Is Toluna a scam. Yes, so absolutely. Like other scam companies, they do not have any transparency (do they actually have monthly prize draws?) in their dealings with their members, their customer service is close to non-existent, and they openly cheat in certain circumstances where they let people do surveys for up to half an hour before they tell them that they are not suitable (the surveys, however, are probably used in their marketing purposes). Their ‘pay’ is below the minimum wage of most 3rd world countries, and paid out at a time range that is regarded as unacceptable in the business world. Respectable companies do not operate like this.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    BUGged says:

    August 21st, 2011 at 6:31 am

    Initially I thought this site seemed good compared to other similar sites out there. On their website it says it takes up to 8 weeks to receive vouchers….in my case that couldn’t have been more wrong! I have now been waiting 15 weeks for one voucher and another for 10 weeks.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Dee says:

    July 21st, 2011 at 11:50 pm

    Toluna really sucks! I just did a survey with them, thinking I was going to get points with them. After about 15 minutes, I didn’t qualify! So, they offered me another survey, and again, the same thing happened. Toluna is very discriminatory as far as your location and your race. The second time they asked me for my race, it wasn’t even on there and I had to pick only one answer! For pete’s sake, I’m biracial, and with them doing that made me feel like I shouldn’t even been taking any of their surveys. As far as I’m concerned, Toluna and companies like them are a waste of time and they should be outlawed! Shame on you Toluna for raising people’s hopes up and then smashing them!

    REPLY
  • yin chiang says:

    July 11th, 2011 at 12:50 pm

    I ‘m with Toluna for 8 month, they aren’t willing to pay me, each time I try to cash out they rejected, rejected, and rejected, and never and ever reply to my email, very terrible. I’m still waiting for my check. if they don’t reply to my email, how do I know why they keep rejecting my payment??? I have contacted them 5 times, there are 5 open mails requested in my account waiting for answers, please any one from Toluna read this mail, please read my e mails ,please…

    REPLY

    Eileen says:
    February 3rd, 2012 at 3:17 am

    I have the same problem as Philip starting December 2011.

    My last two redemption requests were rejected due to “multiple accounts”, which is a ridiculous excuse since I only have one account with Toluna using the same email address as my Paypal account.

    The Toluna support staff who replied to my email — Daisy Windsor — informed me that Toluna is having problems with Paypal.

    But, if they don’t resolve their problems soon, I will be making a police report against Toluna.

    I think the Commercial Affairs Division of the Singapore Police Force or Interpol’s fraud division should be able to do something about this.

    philip says:
    January 20th, 2012 at 12:51 pm

    I have the exact problem like yours. hope they didn’t owe you too much money.
    they “rejected-multiple account” when you tried to redeemed your points to paypal, same as I tried 3 times in different months. I filed a request to paypal to review my account standing, paypal said the merchant has account problem, they need to review their account after they file a request to them. I filed a ticket to toluna, updated with paypal’s reply, 2 weeks with no reply.
    just unsubscribe today, decide to stay away from this company, this company does not operate their business on good faith.
    people if want to give others heads up, don’t forget about youtube too, I don’t see many comment about this on toluna youtube videos.

  • Rating
      
    rex says:

    June 11th, 2011 at 3:55 pm

    the fact u need to earn points doesn’t bug me. got my gift card, yes had to wait a month but i got it in the end so not complaining.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    bharathi says:

    April 19th, 2011 at 5:00 pm

    Toluna survey site is awesome I received my $20 check

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    James says:

    November 25th, 2010 at 7:28 am

    This is the point I was trying to get across in the article I wrote. Toluna is the exception to that rule your mum always told you about something being too good to be true it usually is. Toluna really is that good. I couldn’t be happier with all the free stuff!

    REPLY

Add Your Review



Your Comment:

Choose a Rating

Please Write Your ReviewRead Review Guidelines