UserTesting.com Reviews – Legit or Scam?

 


UserTesting.com
from 10 reviews Review It
UserTesting.com

 

UserTesting.com is a website dedicated to finding your website’s biggest problems in one hour, and then providing you with the information and feedback you need to improve your site’s usability.

UserTesting.com gives you the ability to create a test for your website and then have real people take the test and give you feedback via video recording, while they are using the site. You can also ask them follow up questions for further information.

For each participant you would like to test, you must pay $39, with a current coupon of $30 off orders over $100 for new clients. Also, if you are looking for extra income from home, UserTesting.com allows people to sign up as website testers.

Testing Your Users

You can choose to create your own test, or use a test template based on the area of your website you would like to examine. You can also test competitor websites, prototype sites, Facebook games, or mobile sites and applications.

Once your test is created, you can choose a market to test, either from picking participants from the UserTesting.com site, which will allow to pick the demographics of the market you would like tested, or from a pool of your website users, or you can arrange to have new users to your site prompted live to see if they will participate.

Finally, after you have received and compiled all your data from your test participants, you can edit, make notes, create clips of the videos, combine the clips into a highlights reel, and then share the reel and the notes with the coworkers who will help you improve your site based on your new information.

The Work at Home Opportunity

You can also choose to work as an at home User Tester for the website if you are looking for a way to make some extra money. UserTesting.com will pay you $10 for every website you test, and each test averages around 20 minutes.

You must be at least 18 years old with your own PC or Mac that has the ability to record your voice via microphone. In addition you must have a high speed internet connection and be able to successfully complete a test run with your equipment for UserTesting.com.

If you meet all these qualifications, you then must fill out a one page questionnaire with all of your demographic information – such as age, race, ethnicity, region of the country you live, education level, and sometimes more. This information is important as it is what is used to see if you qualify for certain website testing, depending on what market the client is targeting.

If you're at Reviewopedia.com because you're looking for a way to make money online then check out our article "7 Ways to Make Money Online" - methods that anyone can use to earn an income from home.

 

 

Would you like to add your review for
UserTesting.com Coupon ?
If so, click here
 
Share This Page!

 

Customer Responses, Reviews, or Complaints


Average Rating for " UserTesting.com Coupon " is 2.8 out of 5 based on 10 reviews.

  • Rating
      
    Northeast US Tester says:

    April 23rd, 2015 at 11:09 am

    Some good, some less good.

    I have been doing tests for UserTesting.com for about two months, and have earned about $300 in that time. Most (not all) of my test reviews have rated five stars.

    On the plus side, Usertesting always pays on time, and certain longer tests or moderated sessions, where the tester is interviewed by one or more people, can pay somewhat more. For the time invested, it’s pays better to do these whenever possible.

    Although one may be presented with a number of tests, they nearly always screen for a certain kind of tester(my favorite screening question so far: “Do you have prostate cancer?”) and 95% of the time you will not qualify. Even if you’re at your computer all day, you will be lucky to qualify for one test, rarely for two, some days not at all. And even if you do qualify, they may have already received enough responses. The only way this can work for a tester is if you’re at your desk all day, even into the evening, and can drop whatever you’re doing for a test as soon as it comes up.

    The tests themselves are a mixed bag. Occasionally tests are poorly designed and difficult to understand or carry out. Sometimes the instructions are written in barely literate English and are almost incoherent. Other tests are well thought-out and a pleasure to work on. Most fall somewhere in the middle

    If you need to contact UserTesting, you will always receive a cheery canned reply (“Hi! We hope you’re having a wonderful day, and we’ll get back to you as soon as we can!”), but seldom will you receive a real reply actually dealing with your problem. Do not expect much personal attention.

    Although one can make some money doing this, it won’t be a great deal (think of it as “beer money,” or whatever equivalent may work for you). It can be enjoyable to do the tests, and it’s nice to know that you may be helping someone to create a better website.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Elera says:

    April 15th, 2015 at 4:25 am

    I can’t use the mobile app properly. It would be better if there would be clearer instructions on how to test using mobile phone/ tablet since most of the tests they sent me should be done through mobile.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    TiffanyK says:

    March 18th, 2015 at 9:18 pm

    I’m surprised there are bad reviews!! First of all, I’ve never taken a survey online where I was able to get paid like promised. But with User Testing each test I’ve taken (even one where something went wrong and I didn’t answer all the questions) I’ve been paid $10 for. So far I’ve made a total of $50 and more pending right now. I know you don’t get a ton of tests because you may not qualify for all of them. Obviously they need a wide variety of users testing different apps and sites. I love User Testing. I have only been doing this for just over 2 weeks and $50 already. If I was really trying hard to get all the tests that I could I know that I would have been paid more. Some days I don’t have time to look at User Testing. I try to check it out most evenings when I can. I think they are very fair. I would highly recommend.

    REPLY

    Maritza says:
    April 14th, 2015 at 11:37 pm

    I have been doing this for three weeks. They actually do pay you 7 days to the minute after your testing is done. Some tests pay more. I have had $20 dollar tests as well. A couple tests only paid 3 bucks. I have made 148 dollars over a three week period.

    To Mimi: They only make you wait with the first test. They have to review it and make sure you are doing them correctly. After they review it, if you have done well, they will send many more.

    The higher your rating; the more tests they send.

    Mimi says:
    April 11th, 2015 at 8:25 am

    Tiffany is it true that they only allow 1 test per day? I just did my first one yesterday, and they didn’t allow me to do any other test for the next 48hrs.

  • Rating
      
    FT says:

    January 4th, 2015 at 5:08 pm

    I have been a tester for over a year. I have nothing but good things to say about the company. The support is phenomenal. You can get help by chat, messages, or in the help section. I have performed tests that sometimes didn’t operate properly and as long as I explained the problem and followed the directions I got compensated for the tests. My earnings for the year with this company are equivalent to a part-time job. User Testing recently added a platform that allows testers the ability to perform mobile tests directly from their smart phone without having to use a webcam. PC tests pay $10 and mobile tests pay $15. I love being a tester for User Testing!

    REPLY

    Lyn. says:
    March 3rd, 2015 at 9:54 pm

    I Just started with them. The first 3 test showed $10 but when it came to paying me it ended up at $3. I emailed and asked why they explained seemed legit but I also added it seems shady to say $10 after I finished the test only paying me 3$ Why don’t you just say $3 to begin with. I am now getting paid $10 for the tests. This company seems kinda shady if they thought they could get away with just paying me $3 till I said something. Also it doesn’t say anywhere $3. But it does say $10.

  • Rating
      
    Fetullah says:

    December 9th, 2014 at 8:39 am

    As other users experienced,i have experienced this too. Their typical cheat i will explain now. They are taking you to job as a tester,you are doing your first test and when you are doing it even before your completing to upload you are taking an email your upload was unsuccessful we gave this test to another tester. However when you upload it you see that your upload is successful and they are congratulating you. Then you are sending an email and explaining it,they want your log files you are sending and 2 days later they are sending your money to your account,until here everything is normal. But when you continue to you still have this problem you are uploading records but your test is given to another tester you get these emails and then you are sending emails to them and including your log files,after your ten test they are giving answer and saying thank you,we are trying to fix your problem unfortunately we cannot pay your tests which you have already completed. I am sure i have uploaded them successfully and other users had this situation as i see now so

    THEY ARE CHEATERS I HAVE UPLOADED IN TOTAL 10 TESTS AND I GOT ONLY ONE TEST MONEY IF YOU WANT I CAN SHARE MY EMAILS FROM THEM AND ALSO MY SCREENSHOTS TOO.

    REPLY

    Lyn. says:
    March 3rd, 2015 at 9:58 pm

    They were only giving me $3. It started out at the $10 but when it tranfered to paypal I only got $3. I took a screenshot of when it said $10 pending. Then sent an email asking why? They said In regards to your email, we apologize about the confusion. Please note, Peek tests have a payout of $3. However, these payments will initially appear as $10 payments. Once the payment has processed, the correct $3 payment will appear. This is what caused the decrease in your “Pending Payments” section. We hope this clarifies any confusion you may have had!
    I wrote back and said that was shady. Just say $3 to begin with. I now get $10. This company seems shady if you ask me.

    Della says:
    February 20th, 2015 at 9:06 am

    I think the problem is that you talk like a child and they can’t understand any of your reveiews.

  • Rating
      
    Kiran says:

    November 21st, 2014 at 9:54 pm

    I hate it. I have been using it for a week and there is absolutely NOTHING TO DO. everything I click it says, “sorry we have received the responses we needed”
    I think it was probably a good site once but it SUCKS big time now.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    sonia says:

    October 25th, 2014 at 1:46 pm

    I just now enrolled in the testing process.. when ever i click on view tests i always gets the message as ” Sorry, but we’ve gotten all the responses we need for this test”

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Kim says:

    July 11th, 2014 at 3:22 am

    I’ve been doing tests for them for around 6 months now and it’s been great. I haven’t really had any problems that they weren’t able to help out with through their support. All around I’ve had a really positive experience with them.

    Tests are generally quick and the feedback I have gotten has been very good.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    JD says:

    April 2nd, 2014 at 5:10 pm

    From my experience as a tester, I think they need to be more professional. They don’t always give clear instructions and the test questions are usually vague. This is okay for pocket change.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    JJ789 says:

    June 9th, 2013 at 11:48 am

    I did test samples many times. Yet, I always get my application rejected with a suggestion to do it again. My reviews have gotten so good that their test video sucks in comparison. Yet, I still find myself getting rejected. It seems as though this company uses you

    REPLY

    Ethan says:
    July 1st, 2013 at 10:14 am

    Hi JJ789

    I am sorry to hear that you are frustrated with our application process. The most common reasons an application video gets rejected are: Audio problems, not speaking your thoughts, and not following directions. Feel free to email me at ethan at usertesting dot com and I’ll take a look at your video personally to see if I can help get you approved onto our panel.

    Regards,
    Ethan
    Fulfillment Manager
    Usertesting.com


Add Your Review



Your Comment:

Choose a Rating

Please Write Your ReviewRead Review Guidelines