Weiss Research Reviews – Legit or Scam?


from 36 reviews Review It


Weiss Research, at www.WeissInc.com, is a financial newsletter publisher that provides research and analysis to their members, so they can make independent decisions about their investment opportunities.

Weiss Research, founded by consumer advocate and financial author Martin Weiss, was founded in 1971 and currently has over 500,000 active readers, making it one of the most widely read investment newsletters available.

What Weiss Research Offers

Weiss Research has five different divisions they offer their members, each providing a different service useful to independent investors. It provides two free newsletters, Money and Markets and Uncommon Wisdom.

WeissInc.com claims that Money and Markets contains unbiased daily market commentary, while Uncommon Wisdom provides daily email updates on growing your wealth and profit opportunities.

The remaining three divisions offer a variety of specific features. The Weiss Money Network provides internet television programs which offer financial and investment advice.

Weiss Ratings offers accurate ratings of businesses and other investment institutions, while their Weiss Watchdog feature will send you email alerts concerning the change of ratings on ten different companies you choose to monitor.

The Bottom Line

Generally speaking, financial newsletter publishing companies can be dangerous things. They tend to offer personal opinions as guidance for investors, and they have no legal responsibility to you if you follow their advice and things turn out badly.

It’s very troubling that many of these companies let people with no real financial experience or training contribute to their newsletters. In the worst case scenario, many of these companies are paid to bring investors to certain companies.

Weiss Research, however, does not accept payment from any company for their ratings or reviews. Still, they are currently using a “Financial Doomsday” video at www.Crisis3.com to market themselves to new customers, which is a questionable tactic.

The bottom line when dealing with any financial newsletter publishing company is to remember that you should do your own research regarding where and how to invest your money – never act wholly on the advice of one of these free internet newsletters.


Would you like to add your review for
Weiss Ratings ?
If so, click here
Share This Page!


Customer Responses, Reviews, or Complaints

Average Rating for " Weiss Ratings " is 1.72 out of 5 based on 36 reviews.

  • Rating
    neal weintraub says:

    November 2nd, 2015 at 4:31 pm

    You need to understand that Weiss deals in media tonnage.

    They can flood the Internet with thousands and thousands of hype.

    You cannot and most financial firms merely ignore them.
    Why won’t you

  • Rating
    Chuck Inglewood says:

    October 27th, 2015 at 3:15 am

    Larry Edelson and Martin Weiss are scam artists… money-grubbing low lives walking in the footsteps of convict Marty Armstrong who stole hundreds of millions from Japanese investors in his pyramid scheme. These greedy bastards should all be sent to prison!


    Don Bain says:
    October 27th, 2015 at 3:19 am

    Weiss and Edelson’s crash of world governments beginning October 7th was just another scam to frighten naive investors into buying his timing service. Yes, there will be a crash, but not based on Edelson’s dates! He’s just an idiot trying to dupe investors into the fear trade. If your worried, just buy gold for insurance and don’t send Weiss or Edelson any of your money. They don’t know shit!

  • Rating
    Duffy says:

    October 20th, 2015 at 6:45 am

    Followed the advice of a Stanberry predictor Steve Sj****** to buy FXI, Chinese mutual fund, Invested $20K for 400 shares, based on Steve’s advice. Within 3 weeks he was sending e mails to SELL, and lost $3600.00. No more Stanberry or other investment Gurus who claim to know it all.

  • Rating
    Rolf Paul says:

    August 24th, 2015 at 4:04 pm

    Because their information was only ‘hot air’ I canceled several times.
    They still sent me their publication and now charged $ 198,00.

    When I read all the negative comments its clear that they need this
    money because they lost a lot of clients?


    neal weintraub says:
    September 23rd, 2015 at 9:17 am

    They are a direct mail house. Nobody would hire them as a money manager. I know most of the writers and almost took a job there. Larry is a disgrace to the business. Thank goodness they did not hire me.
    So thank you, thank you , thank you.
    For not offering me a job.

  • Rating
    anon says:

    August 23rd, 2015 at 3:07 am

    Do some research people. Weiss is a scam operation.

  • Rating
    John Smith says:

    August 8th, 2015 at 3:58 pm

    Any outfit that claims to be selling investment advice that has to resort to invasive, univited spam several times a day, is tantamount to Vinnie the used cars salesmen down at Vito’s A1 Used Cars – Cash or Instant Credit – Your credit is Good with Us!

  • Rating
    FM says:

    August 7th, 2015 at 12:18 pm

    As far as a “one off” that Brad Hoffman from Weiss nailed his Tesla prediction. He released his special report strongly praisi.g Tesla…and it quadrupled within a month…!

  • Rating
    Matt Schuster says:

    August 4th, 2015 at 4:04 pm

    Ecclesiastes 9:11New American Standard Bible (NASB)

    11 I again saw under the sun that the race is not to the swift and the battle is not to the warriors, and neither is bread to the wise nor wealth to the discerning nor favor to men of ability; for time and chance overtake them all.

    I do have negative experiences with Weiss “advice” from some years ago. It is loaded, bloated and coded. The persons they will make 6 times richer with the super-cycle predictions is their favorite charity.


    Bill K. says:
    August 25th, 2015 at 5:23 pm

    Indeed, life under the sun is consistently characterized as vanity, and your quote from Ecclesiastes is a prominent example. Contrast it with Solomon’s descriptions of life under heaven in the same book. I highly recommend this alternative: a time and a season for every purpose committed to heaven’s authority. Luck isn’t a player there.

    I’ll have to read more about Mr Weiss and the interests that keep him in the field. I’m pretty cautious about these companies, so we’ll see how I fare over the next year.

  • Rating
    Hank says:

    July 30th, 2015 at 12:55 am

    Yeah, I tried Edelson’s gold and silver trader for a while, but lost money and cancelled the service for a full refund. He would recommend a trade and give us a sell stop below the entry price. Most of the time we would get stopped out and lose money. He says “I know these markets like the back of my hand”, but I would say that, most of the time he doesn’t know the difference between his … and third base.
    Now he is marketing “Supercycle Trader”, with prophesies of impending doom based on the debt crisis. Agreed, the debt situation seems untenable in the long run. But I would not have much confidence in his recommendations, based on my experience. Also the price of the service is exorbitant, over 3K.
    The only service that I give at least partially positive reviews to is the “Ultimate Portfolio”. It administered by Martin Weiss himself. I had it for a while, and more than half of the recommended stocks went up. There were a couple of turkeys however, and I opted out of the service to get my full refund.
    If they were really confident about their services would they offer you a full refund, even after a year?

  • Ray Douglas says:

    July 2nd, 2015 at 1:11 pm

    Subscribed to ETERNUM on a whim but just bagged it based on all these terrible reviews.


    Chris Confe says:
    July 25th, 2015 at 5:08 pm

    I used to get Money and Markets Newsletter. Weiss predicted around 2001 – 2002 the imminent collapse of Japan. Don’t think it happened until 2008 along with everyone one else’s economies. He also said in 2008 – 2009 that interest rates would go up any month and when that would happen all Hades would break loose in the economy. Still has not happened. Probably will in the next 18 months or less, but to be off by 7 years is pretty bad. So, he’s correct on the direction of macro trends some of the time but more often than not, it is not tradeable information in the short to medium run. I do have to give him credit on Glamis Gold recommendation which went up and puts on Progressive Insurance in 2001 but other misses ending up wiping out my account like puts on GM and Delta after nineelevne. He didn’t figure they would get backstopped by the government and did not go down–went sideways at best. I asked them if they could at least extend the premium service that recommended these bad puts and they laughed. Live and learn and do your own research.

  • Rating
    Scared says:

    June 21st, 2015 at 5:01 pm

    Do your own research is better than any paid or free services


    Don G. says:
    September 18th, 2015 at 12:35 pm

    Irene: I have been to there and back over the years. A few years ago a friend who has authored several books about business and finance suggested I read John Bogle’s book…..The Little Book of Common Sense Investing. You can read it in a day if you’d like, and there is no need to digest every ounce of detail in the calculations presented unless you feel compelled to do it. The factual evidence you will find in this book will put you in a wonderful place mentally and financially for a lifetime. The simplicity is remarkable, and in this case the numbers do not lie. You do not have to be a genius to appreciate that as you move from page to page.

    When you have finished the book, call the folks at Vanguard to talk with them and establish your account. If you have the same experience I have had, along with friends who have been with them for decades and family, you will know you have the ammunition that will enable you to sleep well and not worry about big losses. Time and consistency and keeping costs very low will pay off. the track record outlined in the book will show that.

    Here’s wishing you the very best!

    irene says:
    August 22nd, 2015 at 2:40 pm

    how do research. Who is a good advisor on investments or protecting and making money?

  • Rating
    Mark says:

    June 17th, 2015 at 4:28 pm

    I’ve never seen so many negative ratings on any organization. In fact, there was not even one subscriber with a good story. Recently I read two of his books and started looking at his videos but the series of videos are like the dance of he seven veils; it just never gets to the point. It’s got to be hard to feel compelled to foretell the future daily. More often than not, many cycles last for quite a while such as the uptrend in the domestic markets and the downtrends but I’m not sure that there is enough big action to justify daily prophecy but I’d bet that he calls tops and bottoms of the major indices fairly well if only I could find some data. At the end of the day, whether its a $20 book or a $1000+/year subscription; nobody is selling the goose that lays the golden egg.


    Audrey says:
    July 2nd, 2015 at 10:49 am

    Thank you Mark. I like the dance of the seven veils description. I think I will listen to myself then.

  • Rating
    Guy says:

    April 10th, 2015 at 10:06 am

    I haven’t tried weiss yet but I have had favorable results with Motley Fool

  • jarlath delval says:

    March 16th, 2015 at 3:56 pm

    Does anyone know about Nilus Mattive and his advice?


    Bill K. says:
    August 25th, 2015 at 5:13 pm

    I just subscribed to the SOcial Secuirty info they have and the price was good, the info accurate, not deep; seems appropriate for folks who don’t want to get in the weeds. He has a conservative portfolio and some funny stories, and I chuckle when he refers to his dad’s account–I view it is a mythical one, but it could be true….

    I’ve not seen anything in the products so far to cause me concern. I’m giving Nilus’s options product a shot because I know it is possible to sell puts and calls and pace them to make pretty good returns in up and stable markets–curious about the next four months (25 Aug – THanksgiving 2015). I’m basically paying for setups I would need a couple years practice learning how to do and another voice for when it’s a bad time to trade. If I spend $1700 and make $5K this year, I’ll consider it worth my time and money, and I’ll have picked up a trading skill. If I make $10K or more, more power to me, and I’ll stick with him a few years. I’m 63, by the way.

  • Rating
    Maclay says:

    February 27th, 2015 at 2:34 pm

    I am so glad that people are not afraid to tell the experiences they have had with different newsletters. I have found none that have helped me, but have found several that seem miraculous with their calls. Have spent thousands on different news letters only to be disappointed and poorer for the experience, (including James Dines).The only person I have ever found who I think has some smarts about the markets and makes sense is Martin Armstrong. I cant afford the 5 million or so he charges annually to his corporate clients, but Funny enough, he makes his blogs available to anyone at no charge. You can read and try to understand what he is saying and then make a decision for yourself which direction you should go.
    I think I seem to be like everyone else, looking for just a little bit of assistance with which direction the market may be heading, but severely disappointed with the newsletters I can afford as they seem to know less than I do and trust me, I don’t know that much!
    Anyways, thanks for letting me rant, I am just very disappointed with people that scam other people and think it’s ok.
    I do listen to Michael Campbel on CKNW in Vancouver Canada (money talks) he has interesting opinions and interviews many people, including Martin Armstrong, and ferrets out their opinions and research to get general directions.
    Dies anyone have a newsletter that they would be able to recommend and have had success with that we may be able to look at? I, as well as several others I’m sure would appreciate it.



    Don G. says:
    September 18th, 2015 at 1:05 pm

    Maclay…. I would encourage you to read my comments to Irene (above). NO, I do not work for Vanguard. I do, however, share some of your experiences with financial advisers and newsletters. When you absorb the
    facts presented in Bogle’s book, I guarantee you will say to yourself……Where has this been all of my life. Also…..Check out Warren Buffet’s comments on investing in Vanguard’s LOW COST funds. He is not the only expert who will recommend them, but he’s not a bad source. :)


    Don G.

  • Rating
    DE says:

    February 2nd, 2015 at 1:06 pm

    I have been a subscriber on three programs with Weiss. and I git already full refund for tow of them. I am still a subscriber to the ultimate portfolio which is moderated by Mr. Weiss himself. I like their rating, and I double check their actual entry to the market. Almost all of their recommendations to buy at market price were when the stock was at all time high. So I am setting my own parameters for entry. In a few cases the stock dropped 15%-20% after they recommended to buy. I waited and as a result have better performing portfolio.

    It seems that they based past performance on back testing which can be useful if combined with proper technical analysis.I will run few more months with this service and then decide on refund. for the ultimate portfolio they refund 100% during the first year.

  • Rating
    Tablet says:

    January 26th, 2015 at 11:55 pm

    Given the various reviews for subscription services at Weiss, has anyone considered the ultimate stock option service? 4500 for a year? Whaddya think?


    Don G. says:
    September 18th, 2015 at 1:09 pm

    WOW! I hope you will read my comments above. Good luck!

  • Rating
    Mark Scott says:

    January 12th, 2015 at 2:21 pm

    Just an update, here are recent recommendations in Weiss’ Global Resource Hunter:

    Was just looking at some recommendations made by James DiGeorgia of Weiss Research, as I’m cleaning out my mailbox.
    And it’s staggering how bad they are.

    On Aug. 25 he recommended buying PWE (Penn West Petroleum) at $7.35 a share. It’s now $1.82.
    On Oct. 3, he did a huge analysis (at that point was down 17%) on how undervalued it was. To quote:
    With that said, if you do not yet own shares in PWE, I suggest buying them now. With them trading under $7 a share, they are an absolute must-have.

    On 12/24, he recommended doubling own on PWE at $2.21, right at the top of a small bounce. Again, it’s at 1.82.

    A day later, after a prior recc that ended up buying SolarCity (SCTY) at $80, and then adding more at $65, he sold some call options at $72.50, saying it was a $150-200 stock. It’s now under $50. He did sell covered calls on 10/14. Quote then:
    I think it’s worth it to hang in there and give SCTY a month or two to base. and we’ll be back in the high-$60s as the macro dangers ebb.

    Also on 10/3, after recommending buying GTLS in July up to $75, and then down at $47 (37% loss), again did a long analysis of how it was undervalued and everyone else was clueless about it.

    Quote: We have a current “Buy Under” price of $75. But if you haven’t gotten positioned yet or you’re looking to average down your cost basis, I am revising our “Buy Under price to $60 or better.
    On 12/18, he said:
    • New GTLS Buy Under Price: $37.50
    He did say: The GTLS December $75 Puts, however, are arguably the worst recommendation I have made in years, despite being made for all the right reasons.
    GTLS is now at $30.11.

    And on 12/31, he said to bail out of GTLS at the market, which was $34.20, so he saved $4.
    Headline on 11/14:
    Oil is likely to break out of its recent funk.


    Truly, one could make fortunes taking the other side of these bozo’s trades.

    Another service they have recommended Cree on 9/5 at $45.55.

    After losing 35%, they sold out on 10/22, THE EXACT LOW OF THE MOVE at under $28. Since then it’s rebounded to 31.84.
    Recommended buying again on 12/19 at $31.21.

    Truly pathetic.


    Don G. says:
    September 18th, 2015 at 1:17 pm

    Watch their turnover of “experts” over a few years as well as how well their portfolios do. Also, watch to see how many of their “services” are terminated and replaced with new ones due to poor performance. It is truly staggering! They follow the same game plan as many financial services do as they create fear then offer a fix.

  • Rating
    Mark Scott says:

    November 29th, 2014 at 12:59 pm

    Have tried a couple of Weiss “services”, and they’re all pathetic. Mike Larson is supposed to be an interest rate guru, his trades were all terrible. Have tried several of the newsletters to see the past results, and then cancelled them all during the trial period. Stansberry Research is just as bad. Just look at Jeff Clark’s S&A Short Report – Jeff has made some good overall calls, such as the rally and subsequent drop in coffee. But when it comes to doing actual trading, particularly using options, the performance is pathetic and losing. Most of the recommendations from all of these “guru traders” are poorly set up, executed and followed. Once they get into a trade and it starts going bad (which is usually immediately), it gets forgotten, no talk of exiting, stop loss-ing out, etc. They just ignore it and hope no one notices. Time to sell my physical gold and silver, it’s dead money and probably will be for many years.

  • Joe says:

    November 29th, 2014 at 11:45 am

    John is the word. I to dumped Larry after bad calls and only read his letter to do the opposite. Funny how the rest of the world is dumping the dollar and buying gold and silver like there is no tomorrow. The only people that think that gold sucks are those people who have none. Soros will win this call and continue to destroy the dollar. History will prevail. Soros will move to China when he is finished with the dollar. China, Russia, India, Germany and soon to be Swiss reject the dollar and look to the future with gold and silver. Keep on spinning Larry. Much later!


    John says:
    August 2nd, 2015 at 1:13 pm

    Larry has had a lot of bad calls that I’ve lost money on. I briefly tried Gold and Silver trader and after losing money, requested a full refund. However I went all in on his ZSL and GLD options recommendations and tripled my Ira and brokerage accounts in two different instances following his Real Wealth Report. He does know gold and silver and it’s hard not to spend the $89 a year for his newsletter with those results. He has great big picture advice that I use to do my own thing.

    Gold bull says:
    July 29th, 2015 at 3:43 pm

    I’ve been following Larry for sometime, he has been very accurate at forecasting the rise in dollar and the drop in gold & silver. Funny how you could have made a small fortune, instead presumably you held gold & it tanked. I’ll be buying gold when it drops below $1000. Maybe you will listen to Larry then!

  • Rating
    roger says:

    November 27th, 2014 at 12:32 am

    never trust anybody with your money.


    Butch says:
    December 7th, 2014 at 5:45 pm

    Nobody cares more about you or your money than you do. Nobody.

  • Rating
    Steve says:

    November 14th, 2014 at 3:13 pm

    If you’ve ever watched any of the Weiss “webinars”, you quickly see that they’re nothing but well rehearsed, scripted commercials for their products being presented under the guise of interviews. Phonier than a 3 dollar bill. Stay clear. They’re all frauds.


    Butch says:
    December 7th, 2014 at 5:44 pm

    You are absolutely correct.

  • Kochese says:

    November 9th, 2014 at 6:21 am

    The latest site that I can bring up was written in 2012.
    Even when I put in 2014 or 2015.
    Things change yearly or during the year.

    I have no rating to give them.

  • Rating
    neal weintraub says:

    October 29th, 2014 at 6:00 pm

    give you money to charity or you will become one.
    Weiss is a disgrace to our religion.

  • Rating
    Ralph C. says:

    October 16th, 2014 at 7:34 am

    Weiss is the worse. Stay away. I too subscribed to the Gold and Silver Trader report. What a scam. This guy can’t hit the broad side of a barn. Loss after loss after loss. He misses all the big moves. In fact he can’t hit a small move. A real blow hard. Save your money. This is supposed to be a trading service. Your supposed to catch the swings. He can’t catch a cold. How could he be any good if he several different news letters he has to be responsible for. Go with a service that is dedicated to one news letter. These people juggle too many balls and are dropping them all over the place. There are many better services out there.


    neal weintraub says:
    October 23rd, 2014 at 3:48 pm

    Take any of these guys resumes and see if anybody would hire them.
    Could they work for the Federal Reserve Bank?
    Do they have a track record?
    Yet, I am so grateful to Weiss Research.
    Thanks goodness they did not hire me.
    Yet, they block our the sunshine with fear and false hope.
    Do they make money?
    See how easy it is to rob people without a gun.

    neal weintraub says:
    October 22nd, 2014 at 1:26 pm

    These guys sell “paper.”\Do you think anybody would hire them.
    So why are they successful?
    It is called media tonnage.
    They market all over. And when you have these many suckers it is a great business?
    Think of the margins. Nearly 95%
    No wonder Larry is out of the country.

    Neal weintraub

  • Rating
    John says:

    October 14th, 2014 at 1:18 pm

    Larry Edelson (as well as the rest of the Weiss People) are pathological liars and con men. All the brilliant calls they claim to have made are lies to sucker in new subscribers. They makes tens of millions of dollars off subscribers for services that consistently lose lots of money. Thats why the SEC fined them $2.1M. Larry now lives outside the US to escape further prosecution. If you believe them and follow their advice for any of the Weiss services, you will lose money.


    Steve says:
    November 14th, 2014 at 3:04 pm

    Agreed. After years and years of paying for Larry Edelson’s failed predictions in the gold market in his Real Wealth Report, I canceled. He’s all into “models”, “war cycles”, phases of the moon, days ending in the letter “y”…..the last couple of years he was constantly making predictions and then following up the next month with excuses as to why his predictions went wrong. So much for his models, expertise, divining rods, etc. He knows nothing.

  • Rating
    ziggy says:

    September 25th, 2014 at 9:56 pm

    They sell paper.
    And you buy it.
    Typical con operation.
    That is the price you pay for freedom of the press.
    If they really know where the market is going, they would not need you.
    Buy a good financial paper that is legit.

    Give your money to charity.
    Not these middle aged guys in Florida.

  • Rating
    Joe G says:

    September 18th, 2014 at 4:26 pm

    Larry Edelson had me really fooled. This guy gave a clear and cogent
    presentation on why gold had hit bottom. He made perfect sense. But all I have to show for his wretched advice is losses, even on The Euro, which now is a little better than his entry price. I have heavy losses in GLD, SLV, and TBT(short twenty year bond ETF). Man, he recommended that in the 70s, then was stopped out in the mid 60s,
    then again in the high 50s. Thousands of dollars in losses. TBT was in
    a clear intermediate to long-term downtrend. The long side(TLT) went
    straight up. Possibly TBT has now bottomed around 53.90. Also Mike Larson of Weiss Research kept pitching higher interest rates all this time. Charles Goyette also talked me into buying SLV around 20+
    Man, these guys know how to con, even people like me who have been in the markets for over 50 years. What a racket! There are also many other losing positions-TNTC(too numerous to count)

  • Rating
    Torsten says:

    June 29th, 2014 at 9:05 pm

    Seems like a con man to me, I suppose any “guru” has his ups and downs but I find his claims to fame suspicious and not adding up, for example:

    “Moreover, if you think I’ve lost my mind, consider this: My best forecasts have always been accompanied by the same shrill voices of others telling me I’m nuts.

    When I foretold of the 1987 stock market crash months ahead of time, they told me I was crazy.

    At the depths of the 1987 crash when I said that the stock market would see new highs merely two years later, they wanted me committed for life. Yet that’s precisely what the stock market did.”


    Now here he is in a recent video sounding astounded like everyone on Armstrong’s 1987 forecast, so it just doesn’t sound like he made those forecasts back then, but Marty did:


    Makes you wonder how many of his other claims to fame are frivolous or only half truths – unfortunately it’s not easy to go back in time and check someones track record.

  • Rating
    Neal Weintraub says:

    May 22nd, 2014 at 7:42 pm

    They are a marketing company.
    They sell fear and greed.
    If you ever want my opinion, e mail me at willymette@gmail.com
    I have been there.
    And met the staff.


  • Rating
    Seifert the Scarred says:

    April 18th, 2014 at 9:20 pm

    Have been with Edelson’s Real Wealth Report for a couple years–a topsy-turvy experience; some good gains exited way too soon (MPEL), mediocre advice re gold in 2012 (long DRD, KGC, SA all stopped out as losers; but ZSL & GLL were lucrative); bad PKX pick loser, good ITT results.
    Fact is, I pick many stocks outside of Edelson’s reco’s, and couldn’t buy all of his choices. Still, I’m pretty sure his Real Wealth portfolio has too many wealth leaks in it, would expect a net loss from his choices.

  • Rating
    Gold & Silver Trader says:

    March 29th, 2014 at 11:59 am

    I joined Larry Edelson’s Gold and Silver Trader several months ago, and boy have I been dissappointed. I joined because Larry was one of the few gold guru’s that called the sharp decline in gold and was warning gold has topped since 2011, and if your a gold trader you know how hard it is to find someone that is not a gold bug or permabull insisting gold only goes up and any minute now it will rocket to over 10K/oz because the world is coming to an end.

    However, since joining this service Larry is been wrong trade after trade on when to take long and short positions, 95% of recommendations shortly get stopped out. I have only been watching how he works and didn’t actually take his advice, luckily.

    Recently gold just hit a double bottom after the Fed announced tapering end of December 2013 – and Larry had his subscribers going agressive short even though gold was not breaking 1180 and bounced. It is basic TA and common sense that there is a high probability of a forthcoming rally. Instead his “sophisticated” computer models were forecasting declines into January 2014 and a bottom of $950ish. So after everyone already got crushed going short, and missing the big rally in gold and especially miners, he finally gets on the horn and says this is just a sucker rally and “cycle inversion”, but also talks out both sides of his mouth indicating the bottom could very well have been 1180 end of Decemeber.

    At this point he doesn’t sound sure anymore on direction and it makes it hard to trust him blunder after blunder, and the last one being BIG.

    Any other not so great experiences with this service?


    Steve says:
    November 14th, 2014 at 3:08 pm

    Me too. I just ended my subscription to Real Wealth Report after watching Larry tap dance for a few years. The last couple of years, his “analysis” can be summed up thus: gold might go up, and it might go down. He’s been nothing but a fence sitter, and each issue has been full of explanations as to why last issue’s reco’s didn’t pan out. He’s a fraud.

    Torsten says:
    June 29th, 2014 at 9:08 pm

    Agree on his trading calls, just terrible. When I signed up for Real Wealth Report and a customer service instant messaged me to enroll in the Gold and Silver Trader I should have known that was a red flag. Expensive and crappy advise. See my post above.

  • Rating
    King Ralph says:

    March 6th, 2014 at 1:15 pm

    I currently subscribe to Real Wealth Report. While Larry Edelson correctly predicted the big sell off in gold and precious metals, he has a tendency to move his target prices when the market doesn’t do what he predicts it will do. His technical analysis is somewhat complicated and he gives great credence to cycle theory even though it is notoriously unreliable in my opinion. Instead of going with the trend Mr. Edelson tends to fight it as he is now doing with the stock market and precious metals. He has been expecting a huge correction in the stock market for months now but it just keeps going up. Various technical indicators point to the fact that precious metals have bottomed but Mr. Edelson is expecting one last leg down. He could turn out to be right afterall but so far he has been wrong on all accounts.

  • Rating
    Sandra Meyer says:

    June 13th, 2013 at 11:54 am

    BUYER BEWARE! Under the Weiss organization I signed up for Larry Edelson’s “Real Wealth Report.” It was for one year and I was very disappointed. I sold GLL at his recommendation way too soon as gold prices continued to drop dramatically. Also, I purchased stock at his recommendation, only to find they had immediatelly fallen thhrough his suggested “protective stops.” ECT for example. Do your own homework and follow your own instincts!!!


    stay away from financial gurus!!!! says:
    November 24th, 2013 at 3:02 am

    Listen all. Weiss makes their $ by selling subscriptions based on erroneous claims of past success. They have 50, 000 subscribers. A subscription costs $1, 250.00. They earn 62, 000, 000 per year in subscriptions. Thats 62 million! They have a case against them by the SEC.


    GOOGLE, ‘money and markets is a scam’ and you will get the bad news about their trading history.

    I do read some of their articles because in investing you need to hear differing perspectives. I listen and read them all. From Krugman, to his arch nemesis Peter Schiff.

    Do your homework, research, diligence and stay “nimble”.

    palm bch baby says:
    July 8th, 2013 at 1:15 pm

    total scam stay away!

  • Rating
    Guy Wisedup says:

    March 19th, 2013 at 9:08 am

    There’s a famous story about the National Enquirer’s late sham prognosticator, Jeanne Dixon. Every January, she would publish 1,000 vague predictions, of which, by sheer luck, three or four (generously interpreted) would come true. And the next year, she’d publish 1,000 more, boasting about the three that came true last year as proof of her accuracy.

    So it is with Weiss. He’s a professional doomsayer, who has “correctly predicted” the last 3 market corrections. 20 times.

    Feeds on fear and gullible people. Search Google for his name and the word “doomsday” to get copies of his prediction of an “all but certain” stock market crash. Anyone who followed his advice then is much poorer.

  • Rating
    J Wolf says:

    January 27th, 2013 at 11:51 am

    Weiss scare technique = clue one
    Long, repetitive video = clue two
    His way or highway = clue three
    Loose facts backing past “predictions” = clue four
    China not buying gold = clue five

    Weiss isn’t going to get richer off of this guy.

    And reading presentation slides is painful to the audience, especially with that annoying voice and monotone.

    Just a little advice back atcha.

  • Rating
    Jenny Tulwortz says:

    January 3rd, 2013 at 8:21 am

    I got some bad advice, now I’m paying for it.


    Heywood Jablomi says:
    January 14th, 2013 at 1:56 am

    Sorry to hear that Jenny.

  • Rating
    Andrea says:

    October 26th, 2012 at 12:39 pm

    What happened to that million dollar program initiated a year ago with that German financial guru which needed $1 million to start with and that you would be able to see just what he was investing in? I believe he was to open an account with Fidelity. How successful was that??


    David says:
    December 13th, 2013 at 4:02 pm

    A total sham! My father signed up for this fraud (against my advice) and my rule was: Whatever he does, do the OPPOSITE and you will make money! It was laughably true! Hey, nobody is right all the time, but the worst part was, they NEVER EVEN ACKNOWLEDGED that they were failing miserably, while the market was up 30%, they were DOWN 30%. I even asked in their “weekly forums” (full of shills) and they NEVER would respond to why they were performing poorly, what did they incorrectly theorize and why it is different now. That is how one can see they are total fraudsters. If they really put a million dollars in there, they were losing it, but the real money was in their “membership” which was a worthless sham. At least my father is conservative, so he only wanted to trade the account with 1% of the million ($10k), so he didn’t get hit too bad, but the fees are where all the money is. Th

  • Rating
    Mike Shaunessy says:

    September 7th, 2012 at 5:47 pm

    I have paid for Weiss services for over two years; Monty Agarwal, Million $$ Portfolio, and Larry Edelson Power Portfolio.


    Just a short overview:

    I was getting advice from Agarwal starting in Oct 2010 at the time I had been doing well with SLV up 168% in all accounts.

    I did not use the trades from Agarwal, as he was not in anything making money at the time. His portfolio had a lot of losses, promised better results.

    I was getting Uncommon Wisdom (oxymoron) from Edelson. He has been a bear of precious metals for over 2 years, but professing faith that is the direction of the future.

    I was slated to get out of silver at the end of April on a cyclical trend. Edelson’s bearish advice scared me so bad I bailed out six weeks early, leaving over $200,000 in gains on the table and silver continue to go up after the first of may.( from $33 to $49)

    Because of Edelson’s mistiming and error in trend calling, I tried to work with Agarwal for another year, but his advice was more than horrible and so, so, wrong; missing every up-trend and every down trend by a mile in equities. If he got us in, it was only after the run was 90 % over and if shorted, a market only to see it rise, more losses.
    Results- Agarwal LOSS! LOSS! LOSS!!!!!! Stay away, your money is in jeopardy!!!

    Back to Edelson, because on the surface he, and with the charts, made sense. The fact is, believe it or not, he is worse than Agarwal.

    He has missed every call this year so far, likes to short everything with double-shorts on ETF’s and future contracts. THIS IS LOSS! LOSS!! LOSS!!! SAVE YOUR MONEY!

    Larry Edelson has missed every turn in all markets from oil, metals commodities, the DOW and S&P move up the gains on shorting the EURO, all misses and losses

    My losses that I am responsible for, in my investment accounts and retirement accounts, are 26% and 37%.

    I have been pretty sharp at the general economic trends over the years’ and have a good understanding of the metal markets, as I am a CPA with 35 years work experience with quite bit of audit exposure in the Coeur d’Alene mining district of Idaho.

    I am embarrassed by the hammering I have taken and am bailing on the Weiss Group. I only went with them because as most brokers and planners only make you poorer.

    I have learned a lot from my poor experience with Weiss
    They are pretty much snake oil salesmen, incompetent at best and may have a financial gain on the other side of the clients (Goldman taught us that)




    I have nothing to gain by writing this rant but now have a clear conscious about warning fellow investors.

    I felt I needed some help and direction, their service is not cheap and all considering now it has been quite expensive in the end.

    So do yourself a big favor, STAY THE HELL AWAY OF THE WEISS GROUP!

    This is better financial advice then you will receive from the Weiss Group.

    Mike Shaunessy, CPA
    Spokane, WA


    marilyn b. says:
    December 20th, 2014 at 11:15 am

    Thanks. I have taken your advice and cancelled my subscription to weiss.

    Gold & Silver Trader says:
    March 29th, 2014 at 12:14 pm

    “Larry Edelson has missed every turn in all markets from oil, metals commodities, the DOW and S&P move up the gains on shorting the EURO, all misses and losses ”

    On the contrary Larry claims to have caught every major turn in the gold market since late 1970′s. Can anyone confirm going back that far?

    Steve Beckle says:
    February 17th, 2014 at 11:44 am

    Gotta agree with you on Edelson. I just canceled my subscription to Real Wealth Report yesterday after several years of frustration. Edelson claims to be an expert in the gold market, and all last year he was telling us that gold would bottom in January 2014. This was all according to his “models” which to hear him tell it are infallible. Last week he sent a flash alert warning us that gold will now bottom in early summer 2014, the recent runup from 1180 to 1320 is a head fake, and the next leg down will be a doozy. So, he really doesn’t know what he’s talking about and his last several publications of Real Wealth Report have been more news and opinion rather than sound advice. I got tired of his flip flopping and constantly changing opinions. I can get better insight from Peter Grandich or Seeking Alpha.

    Gerry says:
    December 6th, 2012 at 9:28 pm

    “and silver continue to go up after the first of may.( from $33 to $49)”

    If you’re talking about silver in 2011, it actually plummeted in May, 2011. So, I think you mean March. Given your complaint about accurate timing on such a short time scale, I would hope you would get something basic like that correct.

    But are you seriously being critical of advice that was 6-8 weeks early? The fact is silver did plummet after Edelson’s warning. I have trouble understanding how someone who “[left] over $200,000 in gains on the table” doesn’t know how to use protective puts, or at the very least a stop loss order. Silver did basically nothing other than go straight up from February to May. Its largest retracement during that period was during March and that wasn’t even 10%! If you really couldn’t figure out an appropriate course of action, then you have only yourself to blame for such poor management of your investments. I guess being a CPA doesn’t mean you know much about money.

    PS I’m not Larry, in case you were wondering.

  • Rating
    john says:

    April 27th, 2012 at 2:28 pm

    I was a subscriber a few years ago to safe money report and now am a subscriber again , I was shocked to find out two days ago about the SEC order in 2006 which I did not know about then when I was a customer. I was never a premium 1,000 , 5,000 member . The SEC report shows that actually customers lost money by following the recommendations. The advertising claims were not honest per the SEC.

    Recently I also subscribed but soon cancelled Weiss , Nilus Mattive letter who claimed 20, 30 40 % average returns and kept pointing out in ads that these were average returns..The actual return per the newsletters own schedule was 2% ..so apparently losses were not included? I called Weiss co about the 2% actual vs the ad claims..I am very dissapointed in the Weiss Group and wish I had known back in 2006 as a subscriber about the SEC Cease order re advertising


    Richard Fox says:
    May 17th, 2012 at 7:08 am

    Seeing the SEC is a tool of the US Government, how can we believe anything they have to say. The US Government is what got us all where are today. The question one has to ask is are we better off today than we were 10 years ago. The SEC has thrown many business’s under the bus in the name of fair & balance judgement. I personally have seen China’s growth in products be sold in the US. Take a look for example “Auto Supplies anything from the smallest parts to the largest parts are made in China”. What I am saying is: Maybe the investment part of Weiss is disappointing, the prediction of China being the leader down the road is real, which The Weiss Group reports. This alone is a Rating of 5 just for education value.

Add Your Review

Your Comment:

Choose a Rating

Please Write Your ReviewRead Review Guidelines