Online Writing, Editing, and Proofreading Jobs

 

You can take two different approaches to starting an online writing career. You can submit your content to ad-revenue share writing sites or pursue a more traditional freelance writing career where you get paid per assignment.

If you’re pursuing the revenue sharing route, then it may help to learn a bit of SEO (Search Engine Optimization). The reason for this is that you want your articles to get as much publicity as possible.

The more views that your article gets the more you’re likely to earn. You don’t have to become an SEO expert, especially since you’re not working on your own website, but a little bit of knowledge can go a long way.

Below you will find a list of revenue share writing sites, freelance writing websites, and online companies that will pay you for proofreading & editing work.

Revenue Share Writing Jobs:


If you decide to go the more traditional route then you don’t have to worry about anything other than submitting correctly written assignments. But before you start bidding on freelance writing jobs, you should prepare a few things.

The most important thing to have is several examples of your writing. Choose your best pieces and try to have examples that fit the type of writing that your new employer is looking for.

You should also have a list of referrals that you can show employers to help you land the more desirable jobs. A lot of freelance websites allow clients to rate freelancers so you can refer potential employers directly to your profile, provided that you have great reviews.

Traditional Fee-Based Freelance Writing Jobs:

Work at Home Editing and Proofreading Jobs:


 

Additional Work at Home Jobs:

 

Would you like to add your review for
Writing Jobs ?
If so, click here
 
Share This Page!

 

Customer Responses, Reviews, or Complaints


Average Rating for " Writing Jobs " is 4.4 out of 5 based on 20 reviews.

  • Rating
      
    Angela says:

    July 14th, 2014 at 12:45 pm

    The article was direct and touched on the major concerns anyone exploring this area would be concerned with. It also provided useful details about the different types payment for writing jobs as well as useful websites to explore. I found it very informative.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Susan says:

    July 13th, 2014 at 11:34 pm

    Just to update readers, Associated Content is long gone. It changed to Yahoo Voices which will end July, 2014. All work there will be erased from the internet. We got notices early July.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Dan Delaney says:

    March 27th, 2014 at 9:11 pm

    Great Site, thank you much..helps to know an old time, young mind can still find areas to str…e…tch

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    AWW says:

    December 24th, 2013 at 11:10 pm

    Excellent information. Thank you.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    yyvskiy says:

    November 1st, 2013 at 1:12 am

    Thank you so much for all of your articles. You are fantastic.
    As a writer/blogger myself, who read this article to find a source of additional income, I have learned a very important lesson from you, which will benefit me alot in future- you are providing a huge value for people who come to your website and your writing is perfect. I for sure will mention your website as a top rated for online income information on my blog and everyone I know.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Diane says:

    May 7th, 2013 at 12:26 am

    DAN – thank you for the awesome advise that you have given to all of us in your reviews!! You’re a very good writer and I wish you much success. With all the knowledge and wisdom that you have, have you considered writing your own articles of HOW TO BECOME A SUCCESSFUL WRITER or similar? You would have a great following if you did!!! And if you already have, could you please send me the link?

    Thanks so much!

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    mani says:

    March 27th, 2013 at 1:34 am

    thanks for this informantion

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Randy says:

    February 16th, 2013 at 1:55 pm

    Personally, I feel Dans’ replies to the reviews are better than the reviews here!!! Yeah Dan! Not only that, the info he provided you guys was valuable. That makes him the best writer on this site!

    Can I get a job reviewing replies? No better yet, I want a job at a news paper, where I can, start a sentence with Yeaa, And, or Going forward. I’ d like to use bad grammar, and run-on sentences that are 2 paragraphs long. Most of all, I want to make the article so not related to the title.

    Thanks Dan for the info on back sites !

    REPLY
  • alagu says:

    January 31st, 2013 at 9:16 pm

    Hi guys:)i have been searching for the work at home jobs for long time and finally found this site…Hope this will help me:)Thnkx for ur valuable info…I’m from INDIA…can I use these to earn money from india or tell me the site which is good to earn money from india…plz reply guys…

    REPLY
  • Hashim Hassan Mahdi says:

    December 26th, 2012 at 6:01 pm

    i am searching many jobs I’ve been researching a lot of different virtual assistance jobs but don’t get any because i have only pre d egree. now i see this ad, i am interested also cause it is home work really work from home,be grateful.Thank you

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    sameer khan says:

    November 14th, 2012 at 9:28 am

    i want to get income from internet through writing

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Justina says:

    November 10th, 2012 at 2:09 am

    Hi there,

    I started to look into “work at home” topic since yesterday as I will soon end my service with my current employer. The result is awesome!! I got so many useful information about what actually “work at home” is, scams that offer sky high promises and above all, THIS SITE is a great help for me to understand more, especially on writing job. Thank you so much!!
    One question pops up, I am Indonesian, will I be eligible to send my writings to the sites mentioned in this article ?

    I would appreciate any inputs from you guys. Thank you and have a good day..

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Susan says:

    November 2nd, 2012 at 3:06 am

    I don’t understand – you don’t say how to actually search using the traditional method and finding jobs to be paid per assignment. Anybody got any suggestions?

    REPLY
  • geethu says:

    November 1st, 2012 at 8:37 am

    i am searching many jobs, but don’t get any because i have only pre degree. now i see this ad, i am interested also cause it is home work

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Luis Cabello Jr. says:

    September 30th, 2012 at 2:05 am

    This site is definetly the site to remedy your time on layoff. Thanks for the tips and research you provide to access a decent job. So far your making me feel safe job hunting on the internet. Hope I get to make some cash pronto.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    eric says:

    September 19th, 2012 at 3:38 am

    is virtual bee a good site to work with

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Bert Knabe says:

    May 11th, 2012 at 12:44 am

    You need to check your links. One jumps out immediately: writtingcareer.com is misspelled. Other than that, good article, putting it to use now. :^)

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Bettina says:

    April 10th, 2012 at 5:09 pm

    I recently lost my job due to an illness and this site has been a blessing. There are so many “sites” promising you can work from home and offer nothing but promises. I need to find work soon to support my family…if anyone knows of more Legitimate sites where one can really work from home, I’d be grateful.

    Thank you kindly for your time!

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    jp says:

    March 19th, 2012 at 11:53 am

    Another good site that these forums seem to miss is cracked.com. They’re a mainly article based comedy website – you sign up, leave a post saying your interested and they update your profile so that you can get through to their workshop area where you put your idea forwards and workshop with other writers and the cracked editors. Once the editors clear your article, I think you get paid a fixed amount for the article upfront and then ad revenue based on how many hits you get. It’s a legit site that you can make a lot of money from and gets a lot of traffic, but you do need quality work.

    REPLY

    jen says:
    August 6th, 2012 at 10:30 pm

    thank you so much for the info! I love that site, pretty hilarious. I’m truly touched that there are so many people out there looking out for their fellow jobhunters. I have found so much helpful advice and/or warnings here.

  • Rating
      
    Saras says:

    February 15th, 2012 at 2:43 am

    Thank you for all the information provided. God bless!
    Here I would like to mention one more website which pays us for writing stuff. Its http://www.iwriter.com/

    Basically we start as Standard writers where a 500 words article fetches us $2.43 and so on.. We are rated by the requester for every article we write. When we cross certain number of articles and maintain good ratings we are promoted to Premium writers position where the same 500 words article can fetch us $4.05 and so on..

    Saras

    REPLY

    Kenni says:
    August 28th, 2013 at 8:29 pm

    Writersdomain.net does 200 word articles at 3-3.30 a piece. Content writing is pretty dull, but they have never given me a score I did not agree with and they put the $$ in my paypal on the 5th of the month, or give me a pay me now option when I strike 100$. It ain’t great pay but no one in my area seems to be hiring atm so… it beats no pay.

    Dan says:
    October 24th, 2012 at 4:27 pm

    Saras… Iwriter sounds like a garbage site to me. Even fiverr.com pays better than that, and after a week of writing on Fiverr.com I just let my last gig or two go. I dont even care about negative ratings there. Why? ‘cuz I’m done with em.

    You can create gigs for $5. Later on you can have addons for a little more money. Thing is, I live in California, and minimum wage here is $8.00 an hour.

    Fiverr keeps $1 out of the $5 you are paid. And then you get to pay taxes on top of that. Also, many of the people on Fiverr that buy gigs are cheap as hell. I had a gig up for rewriting up to 1000 words – NO copyscape services, only increased readability if desired.

    First job somebody sent me ~415 words to rewrite, then cried that I only gave them back 397 words. They basically wanted me to just fill in another 600 words for them, when the gig very clearly states they are *REWRITES OF EXISTING CONTENT ONLY*. And it just went on from there.. Every – single – last – person that ordered from me had to whine and cry. One guy said an article I rewrote didn’t pass copyscape (never said it would!), and when I googled pieces of what I had rewritten I had got hits left and right. No exact matches, because I did in fact manually rewrite the article, but it was already so spammed up on the ‘net that it would take some real effort to differentiate the garbage they sent me for a rewrite to the point of passing copyscape uniqueness. It was a joke.

    Then another schmuck sent me a document that was more than the maximum allowed word count for the gig, and the content itself was pure garbage. I happen to have 11+ years professional IT experience, and the article was all about ‘laptop security’ or stopping laptop theft or some such BS. Every last word in his article was just garbage.. I mean *GARBAGE*. It was all wrong.. extremely wordy (HUGE amount of extra, useless words).. and at that point I just through up my arms and said, to hell with this BS.

    So, yea.. iwriter? For less than $3 an article? That’s just flat-out INSANE.. If you live in Mexico or Thailand or something where $10 USD goes a LOT further than it does here in the USA, sure, fine.. great.. knock yourself out. If not? Go apply for a job at Target, you will make more money. Promise.

  • Rating
      
    Lynn P. says:

    January 29th, 2012 at 10:25 am

    As a writer for several sites in the past and one or two currently, I can warn others that many ad sharing sites that uses Google Ad Sense can drain your time and talent without giving you anything but pennies back, no matter how good you are. If you like writing as a hobby, then you will enjoy the exposure. If you are looking for an income, save your time. Speaking of income, there is one site that can produce one for you in the writing arena, and that is Textbroker.com. They pay per article, upfront. You can make a lot or a little, depending on the quality of your writing. You must pass a test to get qualified, and most articles of 500 words will bring around $7.00, give or take. You choose the article from a choice of hundreds that are being requested by bloggers and companies. Your money goes right into your Paypal account, with a $10.00 minimum for deposit. I have done this for a long time and have made good money. Someone can do this full time for a fair income from home.

    REPLY

    DavidM says:
    May 1st, 2014 at 9:36 pm

    As at May 2014 – Textbroker.com only accepts US writers, with verified US I.D.

    MonicaC says:
    October 6th, 2012 at 11:56 am

    Thanks so much for this information.

  • Rating
      
    jenise says:

    December 31st, 2011 at 4:38 am

    I’ve been researching a lot of different virtual assistance jobs. And I notice that all the blogs and virtual assistance website don’t have guidance for those who have little to no experience in those fields. Having said that, I feel that I’m stuck in a rock and a hard place. Where should one go to get experience working in these fields? As a college student, my time of studying, going to school and applying to different job(s) and volunteering center(s), online and offline it very important. Just like other before and after me, I enjoy writing and gaining experiences through working for another person/ website/ company.

    REPLY

    Eric says:
    February 22nd, 2012 at 3:08 am

    Hey Jenise, I understand your concern!

    A friend of mine was in your situation, what he did was he emailed one of his idols and asked if he could help him out.. for FREE.

    So not only did he get experience, he got it working for one of his heroes.

    In time, of course the story is he got regular work for him, so now he’s working for his idol and getting paid well at the same time.

  • Rating
      
    Frank Sanello says:

    December 2nd, 2011 at 9:57 am

    Thank for all the terrific leads for FEE-based writing jobs!

    I’m responding to warn readers/writers against ad revenue sharing sites like Suite 101 and HubPages.

    Unless you only want exposure on line and not an income, Suite 101 et al. are HUGE ripoffs.

    They literally pay pennies per posted article! I wrote more than 1,000 articles for HubPages and never got paid because they don’t pay until your earnings reach $100. Mine never did.

    Suite 101 paid me a whopping $10 for 50 articles.

    Both sites pay writers every time a reader not only clicks on the writer’s article, but also clicks on the sleazy ads that deface the text of the article.

    HubPages has a robotic censor that isn’t very sophisticated and unpublishes articles that contain legitimate words which the robot censor flags as obscene. I wrote an article on Sigmund Freud which HubPages’ robot unpublished!?

    Frank Sanello

    REPLY

    Dan says:
    October 24th, 2012 at 4:38 pm

    I have seen this come up a couple times and I thought I would correct some misconceptions. First of all, eHow and Hubpages, Squidoo, etc are *not* meant to be huge money makers for YOU. Sure, it is possible to make some cash by leveraging their existing domain age, authority, traffic, etc.. however.. as has already been said, “Made for adsense” type of stuff usually needs a *LOT* of traffic for all those pennies to start adding up. And then you are splitting it with hubpages, squidoo, or whoever.

    Thats not really the smart way to utilize those services. Those sites are best utilized for getting yourself backlinks to a site you really care about. For example you could have an IT consulting business and you could write a Squidoo lense all about how to protect your computer from viruses. Within the content you would link to your real site. I’m not going to waste my time explaining the ins and outs of backlinking, but that in a nutt-shell is what those sites are best leveraged for.

    als says:
    December 14th, 2011 at 5:40 am

    thanks for taking the time to tip others off.
    hope you earn according to your efforts soon


Add Your Review



Your Comment:

Choose a Rating

Please Write Your ReviewRead Review Guidelines