YouGov Reviews – Legit or Scam?

 


YouGov.com
from 30 reviews Review It
YouGov.com

 

YouGov.com is a website that allows anyone to become a panel member for free, in order to collect real peoples’ opinions from across the nation.

YouGov conducts polls and surveys about politics, public affairs, brands, and other topics of general interest. Once you become a member, you will begin receiving invitations for surveys. For every survey you complete, you will earn points.

The points you earn can eventually be exchanged for a variety of different rewards, including T-shirts, tote bags, gift cards, movie tickets, and sometimes even cash.

Not all surveys award points upon completion, however. Some surveys simply enter you into a monthly drawing for cash prizes.

A Different Kind of Market Research

Most market research companies are contracted by major corporations in order to discover what their target market is looking for in product development, advertising, or just general wants or needs.

YouGov.com, on the other hand, has a decidedly political aspect to their market research. They claim to be a non-partisan organization, whose surveys do not represent either a Republican or Democratic view.

However, YouGov does partner with outside organizations to gather opinions from their members. These surveys are completely confidential, and though your responses will be provided to an outside organization, none of your contact information will be.

When you sign up with YouGov, though, you must provide your accurate home address for two reasons. First, they need to know where to send your prizes once they’ve been redeemed. Second, some of their political surveys are specific to a region or voting population.

YouGov Surveys and Prizes

The average survey at YouGov.com will only take about 5-7 minutes to complete, though surveys can vary in length. YouGov says their longest survey will not run longer than 20 minutes to complete.

As for their rewards and prizes, you must become a member of YouGov before you can see how many points you must accumulate in exchange for a prize. Currently, though, they are giving new members a welcome bonus of 1000 points, so hopefully it won’t be too time consuming to earn a prize.

 

Would you like to add your review for
YouGov ?
If so, click here
 
Share This Page!

 

Customer Responses, Reviews, or Complaints


Average Rating for " YouGov " is 1.93 out of 5 based on 30 reviews.

  • Rating
      
    Me, London says:

    October 22nd, 2014 at 11:05 am

    Had been doing YouGov’s surveys for years without any problems.
    Then I stopped getting surveys for the last two months. I wrote to them to ask why and I have been told that I have entered my date of birth incorrectly 3 times, so have had my account suspended.

    Poppycock.

    Reading the newer reviews, it seems that I am not alone. Others are getting their accounts suspended for similar reasons. I also never received a notification to tell me this, just silence.

    I have 2000 points earned. I have just written to them to keep my points because they obviously mean so much to them. And I have asked them to delete my account. I would say to everyone – avoid avoid avoid! I suspect that youguv are now in financial trouble and do not wish to pay out, and this stupid banning/made up reasons are just a way to get free surveys done.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    andy says:

    October 20th, 2014 at 3:30 am

    Got to 4300….was looking forward to withdrawing my £50 for some xmas shopping…then i got banned. they said i didnt answer truthfully!!! wtf how do they know what my opinions are. big con, they should be banned

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    barg says:

    September 22nd, 2014 at 11:30 am

    They stopped sending me surveys saying I had put my date of birth in wrong, I had got 3500 points which they wiped out a big con

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Roberto says:

    September 14th, 2014 at 10:25 am

    Was a member for 3 + years, encountered a technical problem about a month ago and contacted them multiple times to get their assistance in getting it corrected. Problem still exist and have not received a response from them. I have noticed several other areas of concern with them and am going to cancel my account. Would not advise anyone else to get involved with them.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Terrence says:

    August 13th, 2014 at 7:36 am

    Very similar to Elizabeth’s review. I too have been a member of yougov.com for several years and in the past redeemed my 30k points for movies tickets. At first the movie tickets arrived in less than two weeks or so. I’ve written now 3 times to no avail for my latest redemption. Both my wife and I have redeemed our points for movie tickets several months ago and are still waiting. It all comes out in the wash and it’s obvious that there’s little management. I simply quit responding to the surveys which I’m sure will be the case with many others.

    REPLY

    ansi says:
    September 21st, 2014 at 12:03 pm

    hi, I tried a billion time to redeem but link on reward page don’t work. Tried to contact them but never got the answer. I will surely remove my account but need to cash my 50$, I spent a lot of time with them. Any advice?
    Thanks

  • Rating
      
    Come On says:

    August 6th, 2014 at 11:27 am

    This site is clearly working for retail and commerce and not for the well being of citizens. All of the surveys that I have done were about my shopping habits. What a scam. I was really hoping that this was a productive and healthy organization but of course the almighty dollar is again the focus.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Elizabeth says:

    July 12th, 2014 at 9:10 pm

    I have been a member of yougov for about 4 years. I was getting rewards until 3 months ago. I was to receive 2 free movie tickets and waited 3 months for it to come. I contacted yougov 4 times. I first time someone did respond and said they would look into it. That was 2 months ago. I emailed them asking what is going on. On the forth email I said if they didn’t get back to me I was going to post that people need to beware and close their accounts. Well here it is. I am canceling my account and I think anyone else that has an account do the same. I belonged to reward port.com as well when their scam came up. Do not put up with this crap.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Dan Owen says:

    May 25th, 2014 at 7:13 pm

    Appears to be a total scam.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Juan R. says:

    April 25th, 2014 at 11:19 am

    WOW
    After reading all the messages here I am so glad I decided to do my own research. Most online surveys are scams! Take for ever to get points, when you actually get them and even worse to get the rewards. Lets avoid them all.
    Thanks for sharing. I wont waste time with this one.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    mickers says:

    March 29th, 2014 at 2:05 am

    It kills five minutes while your boss isn’t watching and soon enough it adds up….

    if you want to get more points, do every survey you get from them, they ask qualifiers in some surveys so if you don’t so one survey that has a qualifier in it, your missing out on two sets of points.

    I got up to 5000 points and fifty quid in about 6 month.

    Gonna try answering more left wing as some other people have said that might get me more surveys to do, but I doubt it, some people think everything’s a conspiracy. YEEHAW!

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Kurt J says:

    March 23rd, 2014 at 3:28 pm

    You will get more surveys (and more gifts) if your answers fall into the liberal category. Conservative profiles do not qualify for Political Polls, the methodology is to build a Left of Center profile base and then refer to it as broad spectrum or across the board. You can test the validity of this by registering under several different names and creating a right-center- and left profile. Your left leaning profile will get the most polls. If you do that don’t ask for gift redemption’s as it’s ethical. The Democratic Party and the Obama Administration, among others, then use these poll results to justify their actions. Even the name “YouGov is misleading
    Note that after you sign up with YouGov you will continue to receive occasional e-mails no matter what actions you take.

    REPLY

    Andrew says:
    June 2nd, 2014 at 4:57 am

    What a pile of rubbish.

    Juan R. says:
    April 25th, 2014 at 11:05 am

    Kurt, thanks for being honest and helpful!!!
    The lefties are always trying to scam people!

    mickers says:
    March 29th, 2014 at 2:07 am

    Hey Kurt, ironic you getting mixed up between what’s ethical and what’s UN-ethical, huh?

  • Nick says:

    March 15th, 2014 at 11:25 pm

    Daaaaaaamm thanks guy’s I was gonna join but now I wont

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    raincntry says:

    March 5th, 2014 at 6:09 am

    I have been taking YouGov surveys for over 7 years. I finally accumulated 100,000 points and cashed them in for a $100 visa gift card. That was in August. It took me 4 months and about 20 emails, including threatening to take them to court. Each email was met with a very helpful “We’re sorry and the card has been reissued”. I’d wait 3 or 4 weeks, and nothing. We played that game 3 times before it actually showed up. So, they are real, they do give out rewards, you just need to stay on top of it and continually bug them.

    REPLY

    Sick1234 says:
    September 21st, 2014 at 11:55 pm

    who rates the comments and if i can rate a few how do i do it here?

    Sick1234 says:
    September 21st, 2014 at 11:30 pm

    I been with them 2 plus years and only have 28500 points. I do EVERY survey and only have enough for a t-shirt after all this time. after I do cash out, I think i am done with them raincentry, your case,is my case in point, it took u 7 years to earn $100 and months of emails to finally get paid I do many other sites and have earned thousands of dollars in the time for me to make these lousy points.

    ansi says:
    September 21st, 2014 at 12:06 pm

    HI, can you give me the best email to get to them as the support email, never got the answer. So depressing.

    Juan R. says:
    April 25th, 2014 at 11:07 am

    Actually after reading your message it is loud and clear this is a scam!
    7 years for just $100 visa card and you have to fight to get it? come on! That is a waste of time and energy.

  • Rating
      
    GL says:

    February 21st, 2014 at 10:30 am

    DO NOT USE YOUGOV! IT IS A SCAM! Waiting for & chasing payment since November. They do not reply to emails. On the rare occasion that they have replied they just say they will look into it & get back to you but then you hear nothing. I would AVOID this company at all costs. I think its safe to say now I will not be receiving my payment. The surveys are time consuming & payment is non existent. Its all a BIG CON.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Dave says:

    February 16th, 2014 at 11:42 pm

    I am down 2,500 points since I have started keeping track. They don’t even respond to you about your missing points. It’s very disappointing.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Laura says:

    February 13th, 2014 at 6:39 pm

    They often fail to award points so you have to keep your own personal count of your points.

    Their respondents seem to be overwhelmingly right-wing, which means their results are heavily skewed. There seems to be no oversight of what polls they’re sending whom so we place no stock in their supposed results.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Frank View says:

    November 14th, 2013 at 9:30 pm

    How reliable can a poll be from an organization that only allows their members to take part in polls???

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Rashadhi says:

    November 12th, 2013 at 1:58 am

    I got my 50$ yesterday in UAE. Thank You – YouGov

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Bob says:

    September 25th, 2013 at 7:39 am

    I could care less about the “prizes”. I’m concerned about the personal info they sk for.
    In every survey Yougov throws in a question or two that has nothing to do with the subject but is personal about you. Age, Gender, Annual income, et
    It is the sort of information that if it were all ask on ONE survey, you’d NEVER dream of giving it all to some unknown person on the internet.

    It doesn’t take very long (a half dozen or so surveys) before they could have amassed a marketer’s “dream database” about you.

    How do we know that aren’t selling our personal info to spammers … or worse?

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Laraine says:

    August 15th, 2013 at 3:44 am

    Hi there,

    I submitted my claim for £50 at the beginning of April 2013, and understand it could take up to 28 days to get payment, but as of today 15/8/2013 I have received nothing despite as others, sending emails and only getting an auto response. I did get one reply which said they had problems with their April payments and were looking into it, but this is ridiculous.

    I though they were a reputable company obviously not so.

    REPLY

    GL says:
    February 21st, 2014 at 10:28 am

    I claimed payment in November. I have emailed chasing it so many times. Was told at first the finance department had a backlog. Now I only get ‘we’ll look into it & get back to you emails’ & guess what…they never do. Seems like the whole thing is a con.

  • Rating
      
    DIANITA says:

    July 20th, 2013 at 5:29 pm

    I DIDN’T GET MY CHEQUE TOO!
    Redeemed on April 9, 2013, until now, nothing, emails ignored!!!!
    So pissed off. Stopping my survey until I got paid.
    Few years I did the surveys!!

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Carolyn Gum says:

    June 18th, 2013 at 3:58 pm

    After reading these reviews, I know now that I am another victim of yougov. I joined this survey site over 4 years ago and just got to 100,000 points in early May. I am still waiting as of today, June 18th 2013. I have also sent emails and no response from yougov. I am very disappointed because it took all this time to build up enough points to finally redeem for only 100 dollars. It was not worth it. How dare they ignore all these loyal members. Whoever these people are, they represent what is wrong with this world. People walking over others to get what they want and then just ignoring them when they dare to complain. Shame on you. Shame on me for not researching before this to see if there were complaints about yougov before I invested so much of my time.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Liza G says:

    June 17th, 2013 at 3:38 pm

    I have also been with yougov for 4 years now and like everyone else here, i have had problems with yougov on redeeming my points. It has took me 4 year to earn a measly 35,000 points. I redeemed them for a $15.00 amazon give card and it has been more than two months since i redeemed them. And like you all here, I’m sure i won’t receive it either. I am very pissed off that you can honestly do their stupid surveys that don’t make sense, and they lead you to believe that you are earning points for alright prizes (believe me , not everything is good prizes. I would want to be caught dead with a yougov tote bag or t- shirt) and all in the end you get nothing.

    You wait and wait and eventually you try and contact them and all they do is ignore you. Which in the end it gets you more pissed off. I can say that as of today i am not doing any more surveys for them and I am deleting my account with them. They can fuck off with that gift card I ordered. I don’t even want it because I am not desperate for it. I’m just really mad that they lied to me and everyone else that’s a member with them. If you are reading this Yougov.com I can tell you this….

    LEAVE ME ALONE!!!!!!!!!!! Don’t email me any more surveys and once I delete my account,don’t ask me to come back like you always do.

    REPLY

    mickers says:
    March 29th, 2014 at 1:56 am

    oooooh I love a good break up!

  • Rating
      
    Debs57 says:

    May 8th, 2013 at 8:24 am

    I worked for 3 yrs to obtain 100,000 points with yougov.com. Redeemed them for the $100.00 check well over 6 weeks ago and have never received my check. My emails are ignored.
    I reported them to the BBB in Palo Alto, CA – where their U.S. office is located. There are hundreds of online complaints about them not paying out rewards. They appear to be a HUGE rip-off. I would not recommend yougov surveys to anyone. I DO recommend that everyone who has been scammed by them to file a report (online)with the BBB.

    REPLY

    Liza G says:
    June 17th, 2013 at 3:46 pm

    Thank you for doing your research with them. I did not know that they did not pay out like they are suppose to. I went online to see if they had any complaints and sure enough they did. I would not waste my time with them any more. I have many other sites that i am a member with and they sure pay out and pretty well too.

    beth says:
    May 20th, 2013 at 4:34 pm

    I also have been waiting 5 weeks for my cash reward and my e-mails have been ignored! Can someone give me a phone number to call? I am feeling very ripped-off!

  • Rating
      
    Margo Jackson says:

    March 24th, 2013 at 8:30 am

    YouGov obviously doesn’t care what I think about anything other than bloody brands (in which I have no interest whatsoever). All I get is surveys asking stupid questions, such as: Would you be proud to work for one of these brands? or Would you recommend this brand to a friend? YouGov is a completely boring and long way to get £50

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Sheila says:

    March 7th, 2013 at 2:36 am

    It can take quite a long time to accumulate enough points to get £50 but I’ve recently claimed mine. It was paid into my bank quite quickly.
    I do find that survey invitations are not as frequent as some other survey sites but, once you are offered one, you don’t get screened out, ( an annoying feature of some sites}. Some of the surveys can be quite long and repetitive but I’m prepared to take all that are offered to build up points. You have to be careful at the end of each survey to decline the offer of redeeming points for entry to the prize draw if you want to save the points.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Daniel says:

    December 27th, 2012 at 10:54 am

    It is a slow process to get enough points for a reward but you only have to sit in front of computer for about 10 minutes 3 or 4 times a week. I have redeemed points several times and never had a problem. I have received movie tickets. restaurant vouchers and cash rewards. it takes about 4 weeks to get them.

    REPLY

    n13 roy says:
    January 8th, 2013 at 6:42 am

    Ironically, since I posted my comment on here, I have now recieved the £50 from You Gov, which went into my acoount recently. WHY it has taken so long is a bit of a mystery though, as I’ve not actually recieved any explanation at all. Very odd indeed…….

  • Rating
      
    Elaine Guardiani says:

    November 18th, 2012 at 9:11 am

    I have found th surveys from You-Gov okay but reached the 100,000 point of completed surveys and redeemed the points for the $ 100.00 cash award. I have never received the check and keep sending emails but do not receive a reply. They keep sending me new surveys to complete and I can’t believe they would do that after not paying out the prize money they have promised. I would say don’t waste your time if you are doing the survey for the eventual cash prize.

    REPLY

    Debs says:
    May 8th, 2013 at 8:15 am

    I have experienced the exact same thing with yougov. I worked for 3 yrs to obtain 100,000 points. Redeemed them for the $100.00 check well over 6 weeks ago and have never received my check. My emails are ignored. I reported them to the BBB in Palo Alto, CA – where their U.S. office is located. I would not recommend yougov surveys to anyone. There are hundreds of complaints online about them. They appear to be a HUGE rip-off.

    n13 roy says:
    January 4th, 2013 at 5:02 pm

    I’m having the same trouble with You Gov at the moment too in the UK, I requested my £50 cash reward way back in November 2012, and am STILL waiting for it to be credited to my account, despite MANY E-Mails to them, as of today, I have not received a sensible reply to explain WHY !!!!……

    Jacquelyn says:
    December 14th, 2012 at 9:05 pm

    Did you ever recieve the cash prize? because i have did the same as you and haven’t received it either, it says it can take 4 to 6 weeks. if i don’t see by the sixth week then i think we should look them up on the better business bureau. i am so angry at them and you are right, they keep on sending surveys and the one i just completed was about what happen in ct. which is very sad what had happened.

  • Rating
      
    L says:

    October 14th, 2012 at 6:55 pm

    I’m now convinced it’s a scam. After way too much time and work to earn the points for the $100 reward to begin with, it’s now been 6 months since I placed my redemption request, and I’m not getting any response to my inquiries into the missing redemption check never received. They seem to only be reachable via email – and don’t seem to respond to that if it pertains to owed money…..but my inbox is still regularly filled up with all their newly available surveys.

    REPLY

    Elaine Guardiani says:
    November 18th, 2012 at 9:16 am

    Hello L, I am having the exact same problem with You-Gov. I redeemed my 100,000 point level the beginning of October and have been waiting for the $ 100.00 reward check. I have been sending emails to their service department but they NEVER respond or acknowledge them. I tried to call one of their sales offices but was told they are individual companies who work for YouGov and have nothing to do with their policiies or procedures. I worked hard for that money and am very very disappointed all those ssurveys were for nothing! I guess we have been taken!

  • Rating
      
    Paul Pagliaeulo says:

    October 5th, 2012 at 6:30 pm

    I have been participating in YouGov polls for many years. The quality of their surveys continue to get poorer and poorer. It seems that there isn’t a real thinking person constructing their surveys but they seem robo generated lacking any real intelligence or survey best practices. I have never attempted to receive any kind of payment from YouGov as i didn’t participate in these surveys for any financial reasons. That said, however however, it would be nice if i could easily divert any financial remuneration i might earn to a charity of choice.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    mallory says:

    March 19th, 2012 at 10:29 am

    There are a lot of flaws with YouGov that I have discovered after many (at least five) years of membership. I am in the US so the point system I refer to is based on that scale.

    1) They will often times notify you about multiple surveys. You can see them under your list of “available surveys” but as soon as you complete one, the others will disappear and you will be notified that there are no surveys waiting. This happens more and more as your point accumulation increases.

    2) Very, very rarely do you ever get anything more than the minimum points for completion. I can only recall three surveys where I was awarded 1000 points, but typically no matter how long or detailed the survey, it’s 500 points.

    3) Customer service will respond to any question with “we will look into this and get back to you” but they will never EVER get back to you.

    4) They are very good about redeeming the low level point prizes, but not so good about the big point prizes. And the quality of the prizes has changed. I redeemed for a t-shirt awhile back and it was a cheap flimsy comparison to the shirt a friend of mine had redeemed for a year earlier.

    5) After 5+ years and only one other prize redemption, I am still no closer to the big money prize. I’m determined to stick it out but I would not recommend this particular site because of the amount of time it takes to get the top prize: 100,000 pts at 500 per survey = 200 surveys at 5-20 minutes each. That’s a ridiculous amount of time for $100.

    6)Finally, the surveys themselves need work. They will frequently repeat surveys and even repeat questions within the same survey. Quite often they are biased where almost any answer leads to the same idea, but you can’t skip questions.

    Other times they just don’t make sense. A question will ask you if you’ve tried a product and you might say no. The next five questions might ask you to choose words to describe or review the same product you just said you never used or heard of. You can’t skip the questions so you have to say something you’ve never tried is “better than other brands because it’s good quality” – doesn’t seem ethical.

    If you just love taking surveys and don’t care what happens to the information next you might enjoy it. I joined thinking I could complete a survey every week and earn some extra cash. Sometimes I go months without getting a survey. Or I get one and it’s very long and/or biased.

    Not worth the effort at all.

    REPLY

    Amanda says:
    September 22nd, 2012 at 12:38 am

    Thank you so much for the heads up! It’s much appreciated. I will not be joining now, because I hate wasting my time ;) Do you have any suggestions on sites you’ve found that really do work, and pay out?


Add Your Review



Your Comment:

Choose a Rating

Please Write Your ReviewRead Review Guidelines